tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

23/05/2011 : EDGAR WAPPENHALTER, URPF LANZE & HELLVETE - Split ep

EDGAR WAPPENHALTER, URPF LANZE & HELLVETE

Split ep

MusicCD
AmbientDroneExperimentalIndustrial

[81/100]   

MORC Records
23/05/2011, Ward DE PRINS

EN

You’ll have to bear with me on this one. Experimental music sometimes defies conventions. And with three – erm – “compositions” on this EP from MORC Records, each from a different artist, describing how they melt into a single beautiful and coherent piece is not a straightforward proposition.

Urpf Lanze’s The Wandering Sick opens the proceedings. I'm teleported to an Arabian city, hot, tropically hot and extremely desolate. The (apparently) unstructured string strumming accompanies me while I wander around the deserted streets. Here and there I notice stumbling, mumbling heavy, zombies, luckily paying more attention to the ground than to me. The Oriental strumming and its threatening atmosphere set at a constant level for a few intense minutes. It draws me further and further into the city centre. Feelings veer towards oppression; panic is increasingly becoming my master.

Suddenly I'm in a fantastic courtyard, where fortunately I find some other people. The accompanying melancholic guitar by Edgar Wappenhalter brings me peace after the previous threat. But this is only short-lived as the others only complain about the demise of our world,amidst this unknown people (or rather non-humans).

I am tired of their talking and lie quietly in a hammock, sipping a mint tea, half-relaxing to Edgar's guitar playing on I Travelled among unknown people, and half-overwhelmed by the painful feeling of loneliness, that literally almost drips off this song.

During the tape loop experiments from Painted birds laugh in shades (second part of the song) however, the din and panic of the others grow in a crescendo, and force me to flee back into town. This time Hellvete helps me, he deceives me, or rather: his haunting ethereal soundscapes make me despair, stumbling round without clear direction, and I just see everything through a Droomoog. (Song title, Dutch for Dreameye)

The zombies notice me, and slowly gather all stumbling behind me while threatening violin loops multiply. They almost give me a heart attack through the intense threat that they’re creating.

Suddenly, out of the blue, salvation is near. Three men are waiting for me at a majestic gate. They let me in and close the gate before the zombies can enter...

These three men managed to create a coherent music piece with the threat of drones, loops, guitars and other musical instruments. An intense experience for those who dare to do some experimenting!

PS: those of you that can give me useful tips regarding the reviewing of experimental music, or those who may review this CD based on cuddly bunnies, please write to me, I would be pleased to treat you with a cool beer, an absinthe or a good (haha) conversation ;-)

Ward DE PRINS
23/05/2011


NL

Tracht me te volgen bij deze bespreking. Experimentele muziek vergt soms een iets minder conventionele benadering. En met de drie - erm - "composities"op deze EP van Morc Records, elk van een andere artiest, is dat niet anders, ook al vormen ze samen een mooi en samenhangend geheel.

Urpf Lanze presenteert het eerste nummer, The Wandering Sick. In een mum van tijd zit ik in een Arabische stad; warm, tropisch warm en uitermate desolaat. Het (ogenschijnlijk) non-gestructureerd snaargetokkel begeleidt me terwijl ik door de verlaten straten ronddool. Her en der strompelen er, zwaar mompelend, zombies rond, die echter meer aandacht voor de grond hebben dan voor mij. Het oriëntaals getinte getokkel en de bijbehorende dreigende sfeer zetten zich op een continu doch intens niveau minutenlang door. Het brengt me steeds verder en verder het stadscentrum in (denk ik toch) en geeft me een ontzettend beklemmend gevoel, de paniek maakt zich meer en meer meester over me.

En plots sta ik op een fantastische binnenplaats, waar ik gelukkig nog enkele mensen mag terugvinden. Het begeleidende melancholieke gitaarspel van Edgar Wappenhalter brengt me rust na de voorgaande dreiging. Helaas is die echter van korte duur daar de teruggevonden mensen enkel jammeren over de teloorgang van onze wereld, te midden van deze ongekende mensen (of beter non-mensen).

Ik ben de gesprekken beu en leg me, rustig sippend van een muntthee in een hangmat, enerzijds relaxerend door Edgar’s gitaarspel met de song I travelled among unknown men, en anderzijds toch overweldigd door het pijnlijke gevoel van eenzaamheid, dat zo van het nummer afdruipt.

Tijdens de tapeloop experimenten tijdens Painted birds laugh in shades (het tweede deel van de song) neemt echter het geroezemoes en de paniek van de overige mensen crescendo toe en noodgedwongen vlucht ik terug de stad in. Ditmaal begeleidt Hellvete me, of beter hij misleidt me want zijn zweverige doch beklemmende soundscapes doen me vertwijfeld en zonder duidelijke richting rondstrompelen, net alsof ik alles zie door een Droomoog.(song titel)

De bende zombies merkt me evenwel op en verzamelt zich al strompelend achter me, terwijl dreigende viool loops intensifiëren en me quasi een hartstilstand bezorgen door de immense dreiging die zicht zo opbouwt.

Maar plots, out of the blue, is de redding nabij. Er staan drie heren klaar aan een majestueuze poort. Ze laten me binnen en sluiten de poort alvorens de zombies kunnen binnenkomen...

Deze drie heren slaagden erin om dreiging met drones, loops, guitaren en andere instrumenten in een coherent muziekstuk te verwerken. Een intense beleving en aanrader voor zij die wel enig experiment aandurven!

PS: zij die een nuttige tip kunnen geven in verband met de bespreking van experimentele muziek, of zij die een bespreking van deze CD aan de hand van knuffelkonijntjes kunnen schrijven, trakteer ik graag op een frisse pint, een absint of een goed (haha) gesprek ;-)

Ward DE PRINS
23/05/2011


 

Next reviews
BLACK WEDDING • Black Wedding
FELIX MARC • Parallel worlds
XEX • Group:xex
SOL INVICTUS • The Cruellest Month
MATHON • Terrestre
INFRAWARRIOR / MONICA RICHARDS • The strange familiar EP
LYDIA LUNCH • 13.13
TYSKE LUDDER • Diaspora
HUMINOIDA • Whiter Album
THE EXPLODING BOY • The black album

 

Same combination of genres: AMBIENT + DRONE + EXPERIMENTAL + INDUSTRIAL
TROUM & RAISON D’ÊTRE • De Aeris in Sublunario Influxu

 

Same genre: AMBIENT
CELESTIAL NORTH • When The Gods Dance
ANALFABETISM • Rotvälta
LISA GERRARD & JULES MAXWELL • Burn
CRIPPLED BLACK PHOENIX • Ellengæng
COLIN EDWIN • POINTS OF ORIGIN
LUKE LUND • Hopium
VARIOUS ARTISTS • PERIHELION 2134
CLASS M PLANETS • Ravenswood
FUTURE PILOT AKA • Orkestra Digitalis
ROSE MCDOWALL AND SHAWN PINCHBECK • Far From The Apple Tree

 

Same genre: DRONE
STAATSEINDE • Crazy Earthlings Collab Tape - Episode II
THE MARY HART ATTACK • The Falling Sun
PHALLUS DEI • Black Dawn
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO & ALEXANDER HACKE • Perseverantia
NADJA • The Stone is Not Hit By The Sun, Nor Carved With A Knife
BLACKWOOD • As the World Rots Away
GLERAKUR • Can't You Wait
THORN 1 • The Leave of Leaves
MICHEL BANABILA • Early Works/Things Popping Up From The Past
RICARDO DONOSO • Quintesence

 

Same genre: EXPERIMENTAL
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN • 40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
DEAR DEER / EMBERS • Split
JESU • When I Was Small
ALSO • Live in Celovec
YATES AND YOUNG • Splinters Ep
NICK CAVE AND THE BAD SEEDS • Ghosteen (Ghosteen/Bad Seed Ltd.)
SIX HANDS // A-TOTA-SO • Bromance EP
I AM A ROCKETSHIP • Mind Grafitti
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Wake Up The Coma
PAS MUSIQUE • The Phoenix

 

Same genre: INDUSTRIAL
HOCICO • HyperViolent
MATT HART • Decimate
MATT HART • TALES OF TERRA & CHAOS RETOLD
300 000VK • Peter Paradox
IMPERATIVE REACTION • Mirror
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Mechanical Soul
IMPLANT • Phantom Pain
HA:PEOPLE.3.55 • El Dia de la Bestia, Part 2 : WAR!
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP 2
DIVE • Where do we go from here

Music reviews

24
09
KMFDM
Hyena
23
09
DEMI LOVATO
HOLY FVCK
22
09
MISERIA ULTIMA
Witch Heart Apparition
20
09
SYGO CRIES
In Outside Places
19
09
PARADOX OBSCUR
Intercourse
07
09
KILL SHELTER
Asylum

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
09
Today, exactly 35 years ago The Klinik released 'Plague'!
24
09
DIE KRUPPS members side project, DIE ROBO SAPIENS, launches debut album in October!
23
09
Dark electronic artist SINE addresses alternate reality with new EP, Mantis 2
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 30 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
18
09
Industrial Band 40 Octaves Below Brings Retribution In 'Splintered'
07
09
A Slice Of Life releases new album Tabula Rasa on 23rd September

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

14
09
LIA HIDE
Lia Hide & The Plato-Inspired New Album - An Interview
08
09
JOSIE PACE
Interview with Josie Pace
05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.

PHOTOS

25
09
LEAETHER STRIP
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen E-Tropolis Festival
25
09
PROJECT PITCHFORK
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen E-Tropolis Festival
25
09
COMBICHRIST
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen E-Tropolis Festival
25
09
SOLAR FAKE
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen E-Tropolis Festival
25
09
WINTERKALTE
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen E-Tropolis Festival
24
09
THE LEATHER STRIP
Not just another EBM day! De Casino
24
09
A SPLIT - SECOND
Not just another EBM day! De Casino

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

25
09
RAMMSTEIN
Sonne
24
09
KRAFTWERK
The Robots (Live, 2004)
23
09
TEARS & MARBLE
Outsiders
22
09
ESCAPE TO WHAT
Fake Messiah Syndrome
21
09
GOETHES ERBEN
Making Of Menschenstille
20
09
DRAB MAJESTY
Too Soon To Tell
19
09
STORY OFF
Life On Other Planets