tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

23/05/2011 : EDGAR WAPPENHALTER, URPF LANZE & HELLVETE - Split ep

EDGAR WAPPENHALTER, URPF LANZE & HELLVETE

Split ep

MusicCD
AmbientDroneExperimentalIndustrial

[81/100]   

MORC Records
23/05/2011, Ward DE PRINS

EN

You’ll have to bear with me on this one. Experimental music sometimes defies conventions. And with three – erm – “compositions” on this EP from MORC Records, each from a different artist, describing how they melt into a single beautiful and coherent piece is not a straightforward proposition.

Urpf Lanze’s The Wandering Sick opens the proceedings. I'm teleported to an Arabian city, hot, tropically hot and extremely desolate. The (apparently) unstructured string strumming accompanies me while I wander around the deserted streets. Here and there I notice stumbling, mumbling heavy, zombies, luckily paying more attention to the ground than to me. The Oriental strumming and its threatening atmosphere set at a constant level for a few intense minutes. It draws me further and further into the city centre. Feelings veer towards oppression; panic is increasingly becoming my master.

Suddenly I'm in a fantastic courtyard, where fortunately I find some other people. The accompanying melancholic guitar by Edgar Wappenhalter brings me peace after the previous threat. But this is only short-lived as the others only complain about the demise of our world,amidst this unknown people (or rather non-humans).

I am tired of their talking and lie quietly in a hammock, sipping a mint tea, half-relaxing to Edgar's guitar playing on I Travelled among unknown people, and half-overwhelmed by the painful feeling of loneliness, that literally almost drips off this song.

During the tape loop experiments from Painted birds laugh in shades (second part of the song) however, the din and panic of the others grow in a crescendo, and force me to flee back into town. This time Hellvete helps me, he deceives me, or rather: his haunting ethereal soundscapes make me despair, stumbling round without clear direction, and I just see everything through a Droomoog. (Song title, Dutch for Dreameye)

The zombies notice me, and slowly gather all stumbling behind me while threatening violin loops multiply. They almost give me a heart attack through the intense threat that they’re creating.

Suddenly, out of the blue, salvation is near. Three men are waiting for me at a majestic gate. They let me in and close the gate before the zombies can enter...

These three men managed to create a coherent music piece with the threat of drones, loops, guitars and other musical instruments. An intense experience for those who dare to do some experimenting!

PS: those of you that can give me useful tips regarding the reviewing of experimental music, or those who may review this CD based on cuddly bunnies, please write to me, I would be pleased to treat you with a cool beer, an absinthe or a good (haha) conversation ;-)

Ward DE PRINS
23/05/2011


NL

Tracht me te volgen bij deze bespreking. Experimentele muziek vergt soms een iets minder conventionele benadering. En met de drie - erm - "composities"op deze EP van Morc Records, elk van een andere artiest, is dat niet anders, ook al vormen ze samen een mooi en samenhangend geheel.

Urpf Lanze presenteert het eerste nummer, The Wandering Sick. In een mum van tijd zit ik in een Arabische stad; warm, tropisch warm en uitermate desolaat. Het (ogenschijnlijk) non-gestructureerd snaargetokkel begeleidt me terwijl ik door de verlaten straten ronddool. Her en der strompelen er, zwaar mompelend, zombies rond, die echter meer aandacht voor de grond hebben dan voor mij. Het oriëntaals getinte getokkel en de bijbehorende dreigende sfeer zetten zich op een continu doch intens niveau minutenlang door. Het brengt me steeds verder en verder het stadscentrum in (denk ik toch) en geeft me een ontzettend beklemmend gevoel, de paniek maakt zich meer en meer meester over me.

En plots sta ik op een fantastische binnenplaats, waar ik gelukkig nog enkele mensen mag terugvinden. Het begeleidende melancholieke gitaarspel van Edgar Wappenhalter brengt me rust na de voorgaande dreiging. Helaas is die echter van korte duur daar de teruggevonden mensen enkel jammeren over de teloorgang van onze wereld, te midden van deze ongekende mensen (of beter non-mensen).

Ik ben de gesprekken beu en leg me, rustig sippend van een muntthee in een hangmat, enerzijds relaxerend door Edgar’s gitaarspel met de song I travelled among unknown men, en anderzijds toch overweldigd door het pijnlijke gevoel van eenzaamheid, dat zo van het nummer afdruipt.

Tijdens de tapeloop experimenten tijdens Painted birds laugh in shades (het tweede deel van de song) neemt echter het geroezemoes en de paniek van de overige mensen crescendo toe en noodgedwongen vlucht ik terug de stad in. Ditmaal begeleidt Hellvete me, of beter hij misleidt me want zijn zweverige doch beklemmende soundscapes doen me vertwijfeld en zonder duidelijke richting rondstrompelen, net alsof ik alles zie door een Droomoog.(song titel)

De bende zombies merkt me evenwel op en verzamelt zich al strompelend achter me, terwijl dreigende viool loops intensifiëren en me quasi een hartstilstand bezorgen door de immense dreiging die zicht zo opbouwt.

Maar plots, out of the blue, is de redding nabij. Er staan drie heren klaar aan een majestueuze poort. Ze laten me binnen en sluiten de poort alvorens de zombies kunnen binnenkomen...

Deze drie heren slaagden erin om dreiging met drones, loops, guitaren en andere instrumenten in een coherent muziekstuk te verwerken. Een intense beleving en aanrader voor zij die wel enig experiment aandurven!

PS: zij die een nuttige tip kunnen geven in verband met de bespreking van experimentele muziek, of zij die een bespreking van deze CD aan de hand van knuffelkonijntjes kunnen schrijven, trakteer ik graag op een frisse pint, een absint of een goed (haha) gesprek ;-)

Ward DE PRINS
23/05/2011


 

Next reviews
BLACK WEDDING • Black Wedding
FELIX MARC • Parallel worlds
XEX • Group:xex
SOL INVICTUS • The Cruellest Month
MATHON • Terrestre
INFRAWARRIOR / MONICA RICHARDS • The strange familiar EP
LYDIA LUNCH • 13.13
TYSKE LUDDER • Diaspora
HUMINOIDA • Whiter Album
THE EXPLODING BOY • The black album

 

Same combination of genres: AMBIENT + DRONE + EXPERIMENTAL + INDUSTRIAL
TROUM & RAISON D’ÊTRE • De Aeris in Sublunario Influxu

 

Same genre: AMBIENT
PAULINA CASSIDY • Drawing Up A Storm
ABYSS X • Pleasures Of The Bull
KID KOALA • Music To Draw To (Satellite)
PIETER VERMEYEN • Inuit
ALICE IN NEVERLAND • L'ile aux Trésors
GLERAKUR • Can't You Wait
CARLO DE FILIPPO • Di Indomito Incanto
MICHEL BANABILA • Early Works/Things Popping Up From The Past
MYRKUR • Mausoleum
RICARDO DONOSO • Quintesence

 

Same genre: DRONE
THE MARY HART ATTACK • The Falling Sun
PHALLUS DEI • Black Dawn
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO & ALEXANDER HACKE • Perseverantia
NADJA • The Stone is Not Hit By The Sun, Nor Carved With A Knife
BLACKWOOD • As the World Rots Away
THORN 1 • The Leave of Leaves
BE • One
PALE THORNS • Somberland
EMPUSAE + KLANKDAL • Split album
YODOK III • Legion Of Radiance: Live At Dokkhuset

 

Same genre: EXPERIMENTAL
DAVID BOWIE • Low, Heroes, Lodger
CHRIS WATSON • Locations Processed
HA:PEOPLE 355 • One Bear, Two Bicycles And One Xylophone
MIRLAND/LARSEN • Disturbia
PARADE GROUND • Sanctuary
THE TEAR GARDEN • The Brown Acid Caveat
BRAND NEW • Science Fiction
THE PHYSICS HOUSE BAND • Mercury Fountain
HAUSCHKA • Live in the AB, Brussels | 07.04.2017
LILIUM SOVA • Lost Between Mounts and Dales/Set Adrift in the Flood of People

 

Same genre: INDUSTRIAL
KAISER IMAGO • The Whisper Of Darkness
ALVAR • I Sew A Blanket Of All The Broken Clouds
STIN SCATZOR • Industranquilizer
MORTAL VOID • Of shadows and mirrors
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH!! • Shatter
STACIAN • Person L
HEXHEART • Midnight on a Moonless Night
3TEETH • Shutdown.exe
DIVE • Underneath
LUXVID • Trench

Music reviews

19
10
CHRIS WATSON
Locations Processed
18
10
COLE VARGAS
Cole Vargas
16
10
DAVID BOWIE
Low, Heroes, Lodger
15
10
ALVAR
I Sew A Blanket Of All The Broken Clouds
15
10
BAUHAUS
Bela Lugosi’s Dead
14
10
VLIMMER
Angststand

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

19
10
Ancient Greek folk ensemble DAEMONIA NYMPHE have announced the re-release of acclaimed album Psychostasia!
18
10
Dive re-releases his fourth studio album 'Snakedressed' on double vinyl
18
10
'Write When You Get Work' screening at Philadelphia Film Festival this weekend - watch the trailer here!
17
10
Belgian post-punk outfit Whispering Sons has announced their long-awaited debut album 'Image'!
16
10
KOLLAPS ANNOUNCES EUROPEAN TOUR 2018
16
10
'A Midsummer Night's Dream' - a modern adaption of Shakespeare's comedy play - out on iTunes today!

Concert reviews

24
09
MODELE MARTIAL - AUTOPSIE D'UNE OMBRE - IAMTHESHADOW
B52 - Eernegem - 14/09/2018
14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018
16
07
COVENANT W/ STONEBURNER
Live @ Ivy Smokehouse, Washington DC, 15th April 2018
24
05
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

19
10
SONOLOGYST
A ‘Vertical’ Approach To Music
18
10
MERZBOW
Interview with Masami Akita (Merzbow)
17
10
ALVAR
The trend of 2018 has been 303´s - we sold ours!
03
10
A SLICE OF LIFE
Right before their performance at W-Fest A Slice Of Life released their debut album Restless which turns out to be an excellent post-punk record. Dark Entries was curious about the band’s history and the album, and had
06
09
STRONG PRODUCT, 0KONTROL
What RUSSIAN EBM and ATOMWAVE are all about

PHOTOS

16
10
STIN SCATZOR
Le Garage Luik
16
10
DOGANOV
Le Garage Luik
09
10
NEON ELECTRONICS
JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
09
10
APPARAAT
JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
20
09
PERSEPHONE
Théâtre Mercelis Brussels
23
08
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
SHE PAST AWAY
W-Fest Amougies

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

19
10
DEATH KOOLAID
Kids
18
10
PRECIOUS CHILD
Hollow
17
10
VNV NATION
When is the Future?
17
10
WARDRUNA
Raido
16
10
DUSK
The Next Me
16
10
DOOMSQUAD
Pyramids On Mars
15
10
NITZER EBB
Let Your Body Learn