tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

23/05/2011 : EDGAR WAPPENHALTER, URPF LANZE & HELLVETE - Split ep

EDGAR WAPPENHALTER, URPF LANZE & HELLVETE

Split ep

MusicCD
AmbientDroneExperimentalIndustrial

[81/100]   

MORC Records
23/05/2011, Ward DE PRINS

EN

You’ll have to bear with me on this one. Experimental music sometimes defies conventions. And with three – erm – “compositions” on this EP from MORC Records, each from a different artist, describing how they melt into a single beautiful and coherent piece is not a straightforward proposition.

Urpf Lanze’s The Wandering Sick opens the proceedings. I'm teleported to an Arabian city, hot, tropically hot and extremely desolate. The (apparently) unstructured string strumming accompanies me while I wander around the deserted streets. Here and there I notice stumbling, mumbling heavy, zombies, luckily paying more attention to the ground than to me. The Oriental strumming and its threatening atmosphere set at a constant level for a few intense minutes. It draws me further and further into the city centre. Feelings veer towards oppression; panic is increasingly becoming my master.

Suddenly I'm in a fantastic courtyard, where fortunately I find some other people. The accompanying melancholic guitar by Edgar Wappenhalter brings me peace after the previous threat. But this is only short-lived as the others only complain about the demise of our world,amidst this unknown people (or rather non-humans).

I am tired of their talking and lie quietly in a hammock, sipping a mint tea, half-relaxing to Edgar's guitar playing on I Travelled among unknown people, and half-overwhelmed by the painful feeling of loneliness, that literally almost drips off this song.

During the tape loop experiments from Painted birds laugh in shades (second part of the song) however, the din and panic of the others grow in a crescendo, and force me to flee back into town. This time Hellvete helps me, he deceives me, or rather: his haunting ethereal soundscapes make me despair, stumbling round without clear direction, and I just see everything through a Droomoog. (Song title, Dutch for Dreameye)

The zombies notice me, and slowly gather all stumbling behind me while threatening violin loops multiply. They almost give me a heart attack through the intense threat that they’re creating.

Suddenly, out of the blue, salvation is near. Three men are waiting for me at a majestic gate. They let me in and close the gate before the zombies can enter...

These three men managed to create a coherent music piece with the threat of drones, loops, guitars and other musical instruments. An intense experience for those who dare to do some experimenting!

PS: those of you that can give me useful tips regarding the reviewing of experimental music, or those who may review this CD based on cuddly bunnies, please write to me, I would be pleased to treat you with a cool beer, an absinthe or a good (haha) conversation ;-)

Ward DE PRINS
23/05/2011


NL

Tracht me te volgen bij deze bespreking. Experimentele muziek vergt soms een iets minder conventionele benadering. En met de drie - erm - "composities"op deze EP van Morc Records, elk van een andere artiest, is dat niet anders, ook al vormen ze samen een mooi en samenhangend geheel.

Urpf Lanze presenteert het eerste nummer, The Wandering Sick. In een mum van tijd zit ik in een Arabische stad; warm, tropisch warm en uitermate desolaat. Het (ogenschijnlijk) non-gestructureerd snaargetokkel begeleidt me terwijl ik door de verlaten straten ronddool. Her en der strompelen er, zwaar mompelend, zombies rond, die echter meer aandacht voor de grond hebben dan voor mij. Het oriëntaals getinte getokkel en de bijbehorende dreigende sfeer zetten zich op een continu doch intens niveau minutenlang door. Het brengt me steeds verder en verder het stadscentrum in (denk ik toch) en geeft me een ontzettend beklemmend gevoel, de paniek maakt zich meer en meer meester over me.

En plots sta ik op een fantastische binnenplaats, waar ik gelukkig nog enkele mensen mag terugvinden. Het begeleidende melancholieke gitaarspel van Edgar Wappenhalter brengt me rust na de voorgaande dreiging. Helaas is die echter van korte duur daar de teruggevonden mensen enkel jammeren over de teloorgang van onze wereld, te midden van deze ongekende mensen (of beter non-mensen).

Ik ben de gesprekken beu en leg me, rustig sippend van een muntthee in een hangmat, enerzijds relaxerend door Edgar’s gitaarspel met de song I travelled among unknown men, en anderzijds toch overweldigd door het pijnlijke gevoel van eenzaamheid, dat zo van het nummer afdruipt.

Tijdens de tapeloop experimenten tijdens Painted birds laugh in shades (het tweede deel van de song) neemt echter het geroezemoes en de paniek van de overige mensen crescendo toe en noodgedwongen vlucht ik terug de stad in. Ditmaal begeleidt Hellvete me, of beter hij misleidt me want zijn zweverige doch beklemmende soundscapes doen me vertwijfeld en zonder duidelijke richting rondstrompelen, net alsof ik alles zie door een Droomoog.(song titel)

De bende zombies merkt me evenwel op en verzamelt zich al strompelend achter me, terwijl dreigende viool loops intensifiëren en me quasi een hartstilstand bezorgen door de immense dreiging die zicht zo opbouwt.

Maar plots, out of the blue, is de redding nabij. Er staan drie heren klaar aan een majestueuze poort. Ze laten me binnen en sluiten de poort alvorens de zombies kunnen binnenkomen...

Deze drie heren slaagden erin om dreiging met drones, loops, guitaren en andere instrumenten in een coherent muziekstuk te verwerken. Een intense beleving en aanrader voor zij die wel enig experiment aandurven!

PS: zij die een nuttige tip kunnen geven in verband met de bespreking van experimentele muziek, of zij die een bespreking van deze CD aan de hand van knuffelkonijntjes kunnen schrijven, trakteer ik graag op een frisse pint, een absint of een goed (haha) gesprek ;-)

Ward DE PRINS
23/05/2011


 

Next reviews
BLACK WEDDING • Black Wedding
FELIX MARC • Parallel worlds
XEX • Group:xex
SOL INVICTUS • The Cruellest Month
MATHON • Terrestre
INFRAWARRIOR / MONICA RICHARDS • The strange familiar EP
LYDIA LUNCH • 13.13
TYSKE LUDDER • Diaspora
HUMINOIDA • Whiter Album
THE EXPLODING BOY • The black album

 

Same combination of genres: AMBIENT + DRONE + EXPERIMENTAL + INDUSTRIAL
TROUM & RAISON D’ÊTRE • De Aeris in Sublunario Influxu

 

Same genre: AMBIENT
VARIOUS ARTISTS • PERIHELION 2134
CLASS M PLANETS • Ravenswood
FUTURE PILOT AKA • Orkestra Digitalis
ROSE MCDOWALL AND SHAWN PINCHBECK • Far From The Apple Tree
PETER GUNDRY • V Ö L U R
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE • Endgame 69:
AIMA • Haiku Irregolari In Forma Di Musica
UMMAGMA • Compass (Leonard Skully Records)
LISA MORGENSTERN • Chameleon
UNIDENTIFIED MAN • Memento Mori

 

Same genre: DRONE
THE MARY HART ATTACK • The Falling Sun
PHALLUS DEI • Black Dawn
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO & ALEXANDER HACKE • Perseverantia
NADJA • The Stone is Not Hit By The Sun, Nor Carved With A Knife
BLACKWOOD • As the World Rots Away
GLERAKUR • Can't You Wait
THORN 1 • The Leave of Leaves
MICHEL BANABILA • Early Works/Things Popping Up From The Past
RICARDO DONOSO • Quintesence
BE • One

 

Same genre: EXPERIMENTAL
YATES AND YOUNG • Splinters Ep
NICK CAVE AND THE BAD SEEDS • Ghosteen (Ghosteen/Bad Seed Ltd.)
SIX HANDS // A-TOTA-SO • Bromance EP
I AM A ROCKETSHIP • Mind Grafitti
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Wake Up The Coma
PAS MUSIQUE • The Phoenix
HACKEDEPICCIOTTO • Menetekel
DAVID BOWIE • Low, Heroes, Lodger
CHRIS WATSON • Locations Processed
HA:PEOPLE 355 • One Bear, Two Bicycles And One Xylophone

 

Same genre: INDUSTRIAL
PORTION CONTROL • Head Buried
BLACK NEEDLE NOISE • Seed of Evil
THIRD REALM • The Art of Despair
BLAC KOLOR • Nephi
AIMAPROJECT • Di AimA Il Segno
GRENDEL • Ascending The Abyss
XTORT • Nothing is real
ACRETONGUE • Ghost Nocturne
HOCICO • Artificial Extinction
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III

Music reviews

09
08
TRANSPORT AERIAN
Big Heart
08
08
VIOLENT VICKIE
Blame
07
08
FAUST PROJECT
The Future Comes On Sleeping Pills
05
08
TECHNOLORGY
Carnivore
03
08
OST+FRONT
Ikarus
15
07
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Melancholic Maniac

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

10
08
Today, it’s exactly 33 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
08
08
Post-Punk Band THE FUNHOUSE COLLECTIVE Unleashes Cover Of GOLDEN EARRING's 'Twilight Zone'
03
08
Gothic Rock Band BLACK ANGEL Crafts Stories Of Love With New Album: Kiss Of Death
01
08
This month, 37 years ago, Nitzer Ebb recorded their first demo Basic Pain Procedure!
31
07
PROVISION Breaks Seven Year Silence With 'Hearts Turn Dark'
30
07
Electronic Act VEXILLARY Examines Surveillance Culture With New EP

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

10
08
BILL LASWELL
'Sometimes thing sort of “follow a path”...'
08
08
BLIXA BARGELD
'The way we work is so…traditional'
06
08
SUBJECT.2
'Love, Betrayal, Deceit' - A conversation with Subject:2 on their new album
04
08
STEVE VON TILL (NEUROSIS)
'The greatest sentence in prose would have no place in a song...'
02
08
VELVET KILLS
Velvet Kills Is A Paradox, Wrapped In A Mystery, Inside Of An Enigma…

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

12
08
GARY OLDMAN
The Man Who Sold The World
11
08
JACK MANIAC
No Fate
10
08
RED QUEEN
Insidious
09
08
DES AMES LIBRES
Cold Hands
08
08
BLACK FOREST
GREED
07
08
SUPERNOVA 1006
Dope
06
08
SIXTH JUNE
Nebo