tempobet yeni adresi
like this movie review

22/01/2013 : EDUARDO RODRIGUEZ - El Gringo

EDUARDO RODRIGUEZ

El Gringo

Movie


[63/100]   
22/01/2013, Didier BECU

A young man whose name we never know (Scott Adkins who is now starring in Zero Dark Thirty from Kathryn Bigelow) steals a bag of money from a drugdealer. He thinks that it’s a smart move, but he has forgotten the terrors that are awaiting him behind the Mexican borders. Everybody wants to have his money and he isn’t safe for one minute. He has to run away from dangerous gangs, a crazy sheriff and just like this isn’t enough, there’s also Lt. West (Christian Slater) who wants his skin as well. The gringo is involved in a dangerous cat and mouse play, but luckily enough he can hide himself into the lovely arms of the South-American beauty Anna (Yvette Yates).

Let’s be honest about it, El Gringo, (don’t confuse this one with the Mel Gibson-film Get The Gringo) isn’t the most original film you will find. It’s crystal clear that director Eduardo Rodriguez took his inspiration from the famous Robert Rodriguez-trilogy (El Mariachi, Desperado and Once Upon A Time In Mexico). From time to time he adds a bit of a spaghettiwesternflavour to this movie and if you count all these ingredients, you’ll have an entertaining movie that will please the fans from Tarantino. Perhaps it was much better to reduce the characters as the scenario is sometimes quite confusing. So yes, this is the kind of movie that has lots of fakeblood in it, so ideal stuff for a popcornevening.

Original? Far from it, but still this movie is synonym for 90 minutes of brainless fun and sometimes we need things as such, not?

El Gringo is released by Koch Media on both dvd and Blu-ray and is in the shops from 6th February on.

Didier BECU
22/01/2013


Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
08
Futurepop Act, Voicecoil Reflects On Strange Days With New Album
14
08
Darkwave Duo, Male Tears Addresses Nightlife Hypocrisy & Abuse With New Single
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 35 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
09
08
Electronic Band She 1 - Him 2 Addresses Breaking Free With New Single
08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

17
08
SISTERS OF MERCY
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
17
08
THE MISSION
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
SCHANDMAUL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
ROTERSAND
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
VNV NATION CLASSICAL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
COMBICHRIST
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

19
08
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE
Kali's Tongue
18
08
CASPIAN
Arcs of Command
17
08
FIELDS OF THE NEPHILIM
Moonchild
16
08
0KONTROL
Lullaby
15
08
AUSTRA
Utopia
14
08
THE SMITHS
There Is A Light That Never Goes Out
13
08
DRAB MAJESTY
39 By Design