tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this vinyl review

29/10/2015 : EL GUERRILLERO ROJO - Manifiesto LP 1983-1984

EL GUERRILLERO ROJO

Manifiesto LP 1983-1984

MusicVinyl
Analogue SynthMinimalSynthpop

[80/100]   
29/10/2015, Luki PUKI

EN

Despite the fact that El Guerrillero Rojo is making music for more than 30 years, I have to admit I’d never heard them. As the band’s Facebook only has 92 likes, I’m guessing most readers won't be familiar with them either. It’s a shame because sole band member Mr. L.G. Aleman’s contribution to minimal synth pop is quite unique and wonderful.

Manifiesto LP 1983-1984 starts off sounding quite martial. The vocals bring a police megaphone to mind. These are layered over lots of analogue synths, playing the theme to your favourite 8-bit scrolling computer game. By today’s standards, we would call this minimal synth, but in 1983 this was probably pioneering synth pop.

If that doesn’t sound your cup of tea: don’t dispair yet. On Side B, Aleman has started singing in a very camp Valentian Spanish accent about Russian women, while breaking out the hi hats and ramping up the early Depeche Mode synthpop sound. The latter are the songs I like to dance to on the album.

The LP cover looks like a Communist propaganda poster and with song titles like 1905, Revolucion and the afore mentioned Mujeres Rusas (Russian Women), coupled with the band name El Guerrillero Rojo (Red Partizan), I think its safe to assume the lyrics touch on Communism.

Unfortunately, for me, I don’t speak any Spanish, so beyond being quite taken with Russian Women, I’ll have to guess what the actual lyrical content is… but who cares when you have minimal retro synth pop that sounds this quirky, inventive and most importantly fun.

Manifiesto LP 1983-1984 is out now.

Luki PUKI
29/10/2015

https://youtu.be/iRDMM73SGxE

NL

Ondanks het feit dat El Guerrillero Rojo al zo’n 30 jaar oud is, moet ik toegeven dat ik nog nooit van ze heb gehoord. Tja, en als je ziet dat slechts 92 mensen op hun Facebook de band leuk vinden, dan veronderstel ik dat de meeste lezers de groep ook niet zullen kennen.

Het is jammer, want de bijdrage van Mr. L.G. Aleman aan de minimale synthpop is vrij uniek en ronduit prachtig. Manifiesto LP 1983-1984 klinkt in het begin vrij martial. De zang is met een megafoon gedaan, met daarbij analoge synths die het thema van je favoriete 8-bit-computerspel nabootsen. Vandaag noemen we dit minimal synth, maar in 1983 waren ze waarschijnlijk één van de vele pioniers uit het synthpopgenre.

Als je een afkeer hebt van dit soort dingen, hoef je nog niet te wanhopen. Op Side B zingt Aleman met een Spaans accent iets over Russische vrouwen, terwijl de synths iets weg hebben van het vroegere Depeche Mode-synthpopgeluid. Het soort nummers op de plaat waarop ik al eens graag dans! De hoes ziet er eerder als een communistische propagandaposter uit en de nummers hebben titels als 1905 Revolucion en het eerder genoemde Mujeres Rusas (Russische Vrouwen). En met een groepsnaam als El Guerrillero Rojo (De Rode Partizaan) denk ik te mogen stellen dat deze Spanjaarden rode rakkers zijn!

Helaas spreek ik geen Spaans, dus moet ik maar raden waarover de teksten gaan. Niet dat ik het mij aantrek, deze minimale retrosynthpop is eigenzinnig, inventief en vooral leuk.

Manifiesto LP 1983-1984 is nu verkrijgbaar.

Luki PUKI
29/10/2015

https://youtu.be/iRDMM73SGxE

 

Next reviews
THE SHOES • Chemicals
BRUNO KRAMM (DAS ICH) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
DIARY OF DREAMS • Grau Im Licht
SPATIAL RELATION • Beyond The Zero
THE BRITISH IBM • Psychopaths Dream In Black And White
SIX COMM • Fleischmaschine
MY DYING BRIDE • Feel The Misery
PROCOL HARUM • Shine On So Brightly
ILLUMININE & MICHAEL PRICE TRIO • Antwerp, De Roma, 22/10/2015
SALES/SINKANE • Gent, De Charlatan (25th October 2015)-Democrazy

 

Same genre: ANALOGUE SYNTH
JOHN FOXX • METAMATIC (2018 BOX)
SINE SILEX • Schachmatt
VARIOUS ARISTS • Liasons Dangereuses
SCHONWALD • Between Parallel Lights
METAL DISCO • Unearthly Vices
CLAUS FOVEA • Cyanide/King Ludd
NÖVÖ • Zeitgeist
ALLES • Post
VOID VISION • Sub Rosa
NON-HUMAN PERSONS • No Fear

 

Same genre: MINIMAL
STAATSEINDE • Fehlerlinie
PARADOX OBSCUR • Intercourse
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS • Live Happily While Waiting For Death
RADERKRAFT • Dust & Debris
THE RORSCHACH GARDEN • Dangerous Isolation Site
ABSOLUTE BODY CONTROL • A New Dawn
NICHOLAS LENS & NICK CAVE • L.I.T.A.N.I.E.S
MARTIN L. GORE • The Third Chimpanzee E.P.
STURM CAFE • Fernes Land
SYNTET • Hjärtats slag

 

Same genre: SYNTHPOP
VANGUARD • Spectrum
STAATSEINDE • Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
FRAGRANCE • Salt Water
MAGNETIC RUST • Multicolor
STAATSEINDE • Crazy Earthlings Collab Tape - Episode II
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Electropop 18 (Super Deluxe Edition)
IMPERATIVE REACTION • Mirror
ERASURE • THE NEON
ASSEMBLAGE 23 • Mourn
TUKT • Tukt

Music reviews

25
11
DEZ MONA
LOOSE ENDS
02
11
STAATSEINDE
Fehlerlinie
05
10
A SLICE OF LIFE
Tabula Rasa
28
09
THIS VALE OF TEARS
This Vale Of Tears
24
09
KMFDM
Hyena
23
09
DEMI LOVATO
HOLY FVCK

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

02
12
This month it’s 38 years ago Canadian industrial act Skinny Puppy released their very first EP Remission.
01
12
Dark Electronic Band, Hem Netjer Talks Of Releasing Inner Warriors With New Single
01
12
52 years of Ruckzuck with Kraftwerk!
30
11
Gothic/Occult Wave Duo, Raven Said Brings Alchemy To 'Chants To Dissolve'
29
11
Industrial Band Silence Embrace Drops The Dystopian Cyberpunk EP, 'Meta Queer Dolls'
28
11
Today it's exactly 42 years since Siouxsie and the Banshees, released their Christmas single 'Israel'!

Concert reviews

02
11
AKALOTZ - DREADFOOL - DELERITAS - WULF7
EBM NIGHT IN LIEGE...
05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

30
11
THE JUGGERNAUTS
Let’s leave the love dramas and (fake) feel good theme to pop music and the brain dead Tik-Tok generation.
29
10
PSY'AVIAH
Wanting to have everything under control is problematic, as is wanting to have nothing under control.
29
09
KEVORKIAN DEATH CYCLE
An interview with Kevorkian Death Cycle
28
09
SHE 1 - HIM 2
Interview with electronic duo, She 1 - Him 2
14
09
LIA HIDE
Lia Hide & The Plato-Inspired New Album - An Interview

PHOTOS

28
11
FAUN
Phantastischer Lichter Weihnachtsmarkt Dortmund
28
11
SKALD
Phantastischer Lichter Weihnachtsmarkt Dortmund
28
11
EKLIPSE
Phantastischer Lichter Weihnachtsmarkt Dortmund
25
11
QNTAL
Christuskirche Bochum
24
11
THE CURE
Sportpaleis Antwerpen
18
11
THE JUGGERNAUTS
Porta Nigra Autumn Passage
18
11
HEILUNG
Ruhrcongress Bochum

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

02
12
THE UNDERTONES
Teenage Kicks
01
12
MASQUERADE
Too Depressed to Dance
30
11
SOLDOUT
Forever
29
11
SLOVENSKA TELEVIZA
Muskiz
28
11
MAX LILJA
Twin Peaks Theme
27
11
WHISPERING SONS
The most beautiful Rock Rally-moment ever....
26
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH!!
Sense