tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this vinyl review

29/10/2015 : EL GUERRILLERO ROJO - Manifiesto LP 1983-1984

EL GUERRILLERO ROJO

Manifiesto LP 1983-1984

MusicVinyl
Analogue SynthMinimalSynthpop

[80/100]   
29/10/2015, Luki PUKI

EN

Despite the fact that El Guerrillero Rojo is making music for more than 30 years, I have to admit I’d never heard them. As the band’s Facebook only has 92 likes, I’m guessing most readers won't be familiar with them either. It’s a shame because sole band member Mr. L.G. Aleman’s contribution to minimal synth pop is quite unique and wonderful.

Manifiesto LP 1983-1984 starts off sounding quite martial. The vocals bring a police megaphone to mind. These are layered over lots of analogue synths, playing the theme to your favourite 8-bit scrolling computer game. By today’s standards, we would call this minimal synth, but in 1983 this was probably pioneering synth pop.

If that doesn’t sound your cup of tea: don’t dispair yet. On Side B, Aleman has started singing in a very camp Valentian Spanish accent about Russian women, while breaking out the hi hats and ramping up the early Depeche Mode synthpop sound. The latter are the songs I like to dance to on the album.

The LP cover looks like a Communist propaganda poster and with song titles like 1905, Revolucion and the afore mentioned Mujeres Rusas (Russian Women), coupled with the band name El Guerrillero Rojo (Red Partizan), I think its safe to assume the lyrics touch on Communism.

Unfortunately, for me, I don’t speak any Spanish, so beyond being quite taken with Russian Women, I’ll have to guess what the actual lyrical content is… but who cares when you have minimal retro synth pop that sounds this quirky, inventive and most importantly fun.

Manifiesto LP 1983-1984 is out now.

Luki PUKI
29/10/2015

https://youtu.be/iRDMM73SGxE

NL

Ondanks het feit dat El Guerrillero Rojo al zo’n 30 jaar oud is, moet ik toegeven dat ik nog nooit van ze heb gehoord. Tja, en als je ziet dat slechts 92 mensen op hun Facebook de band leuk vinden, dan veronderstel ik dat de meeste lezers de groep ook niet zullen kennen.

Het is jammer, want de bijdrage van Mr. L.G. Aleman aan de minimale synthpop is vrij uniek en ronduit prachtig. Manifiesto LP 1983-1984 klinkt in het begin vrij martial. De zang is met een megafoon gedaan, met daarbij analoge synths die het thema van je favoriete 8-bit-computerspel nabootsen. Vandaag noemen we dit minimal synth, maar in 1983 waren ze waarschijnlijk één van de vele pioniers uit het synthpopgenre.

Als je een afkeer hebt van dit soort dingen, hoef je nog niet te wanhopen. Op Side B zingt Aleman met een Spaans accent iets over Russische vrouwen, terwijl de synths iets weg hebben van het vroegere Depeche Mode-synthpopgeluid. Het soort nummers op de plaat waarop ik al eens graag dans! De hoes ziet er eerder als een communistische propagandaposter uit en de nummers hebben titels als 1905 Revolucion en het eerder genoemde Mujeres Rusas (Russische Vrouwen). En met een groepsnaam als El Guerrillero Rojo (De Rode Partizaan) denk ik te mogen stellen dat deze Spanjaarden rode rakkers zijn!

Helaas spreek ik geen Spaans, dus moet ik maar raden waarover de teksten gaan. Niet dat ik het mij aantrek, deze minimale retrosynthpop is eigenzinnig, inventief en vooral leuk.

Manifiesto LP 1983-1984 is nu verkrijgbaar.

Luki PUKI
29/10/2015

https://youtu.be/iRDMM73SGxE

 

Next reviews
THE SHOES • Chemicals
BRUNO KRAMM (DAS ICH) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
DIARY OF DREAMS • Grau Im Licht
SPATIAL RELATION • Beyond The Zero
THE BRITISH IBM • Psychopaths Dream In Black And White
SIX COMM • Fleischmaschine
MY DYING BRIDE • Feel The Misery
PROCOL HARUM • Shine On So Brightly
ILLUMININE & MICHAEL PRICE TRIO • Antwerp, De Roma, 22/10/2015
SALES/SINKANE • Gent, De Charlatan (25th October 2015)-Democrazy

 

Same genre: ANALOGUE SYNTH
JOHN FOXX • METAMATIC (2018 BOX)
SINE SILEX • Schachmatt
VARIOUS ARISTS • Liasons Dangereuses
SCHONWALD • Between Parallel Lights
METAL DISCO • Unearthly Vices
CLAUS FOVEA • Cyanide/King Ludd
NÖVÖ • Zeitgeist
ALLES • Post
VOID VISION • Sub Rosa
NON-HUMAN PERSONS • No Fear

 

Same genre: MINIMAL
SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS • Semiotics Department of Heteronyms
VIOLENCE • Le Flux de la Nature
CONSPIRACY COVEN • Conspiracy Coven
DARK DOOR • Inferno
FACTICE FACTORY • Lines & Parallels
PARADOX OBSCUR • Artifact
IVANKOVA • Ivankovà EP
MESSIER 39 • Venus Eclipse
STAATSEINDE • Neue Zyklus
BETA EVERS + SPATIAL RELATION • Split EP

 

Same genre: SYNTHPOP
APSURDE • See Me Coming
STORY OFF • Facing Forward
GLAARE • To Deaf and Day
HOCICO, FROZEN AUTUMN, SUFFOCATING MINDS, SOLITARY EXPERIMENTS, T.O.Y., MANOK, STRONG PRODUCT, UNITY ONE • XV Synthetic Snow Festival Moscow
MORTAL VOID • Of shadows and mirrors
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH!! • Shatter
SALLY DIGE • Holding On
MALA HERBA • Demo
PLEASURE TIME • Years About Us
ELEZORIA • Astray

Music reviews

18
11
THE COCKY BITCHES
MERCY
17
11
ALIEN VAMPIRES
Evil Twin Ep
16
11
DAVID J
Crocodile Tears And The Velvet Cosh (Reissue)
15
11
KLANGWELT
The Incident
14
11
ARMY OF THE UNIVERSE
Resin EP
13
11
BROKEN EGO
Getting Higher

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
11
New album by BORGHESIA - Proti kapitulaciji (Against Capitulation) - Out now!
17
11
Rise Of The Robots | Autobahn Reaches 44-Years
16
11
Varsovie present brand new video clip, Killing Anna!
13
11
Today, 37 years ago, New Order released its debut album Movement!
13
11
Today, 40 years ago, Siouxsie & The Banshees released their debut album Scream!
12
11
Ethereal alt-rock outfit Evi Vine presents 'Sabbath', a sweet and heavy preview of their long-awaited long-play 'Black Light White Dark'!

Concert reviews

16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018
24
09
MODELE MARTIAL - AUTOPSIE D'UNE OMBRE - IAMTHESHADOW
B52 - Eernegem - 14/09/2018
14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

17
11
DAVE INOX
I Am Never One Hundred Percent Happy With The Result Of My Works
15
11
RUSSIAN DARK COMMUNITY
New groups are always good, it is better to discover something new than to listen to what is already advertised on every site for the hundredth time.
13
11
HIDDEN FIGURES
Interview with the US newcomers 'Hidden Figures'
11
11
CAUSTIC
The Way America Is At The Moment I Realized I Needed To Say Some Things
09
11
MICHAEL CIRAVOLO ( BEAUTY IN CHAOS )
'Recording this album is vastly different than producing a new band. '

PHOTOS

10
11
SIGLO XX
Breaking Barriers, Depot Leuven
02
11
LENE LOVICH BAND
B52 Eernegem
02
11
MORGAN KING
B52 Eernegem
02
11
KIRSTEN MORRISON
B52 Eernegem
23
10
VNV NATION + HOLYGRAM
De Casino - St. Niklaas
16
10
STIN SCATZOR
Le Garage Luik
16
10
DOGANOV
Le Garage Luik

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

19
11
DARKHER
Ghost Tears
18
11
BLEIB MODERN
Paper Skin
17
11
PETER BJARGO (ARCANA)
To Replace My Sadness (preview 2016)
16
11
VARSOVIE
Killing Anna
15
11
SRSQ
Permission
14
11
FRONT 242
Controversy Between
13
11
AROMA DI AMORE
De Nacht en Zijn Kwaad