tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this vinyl review

29/10/2015 : EL GUERRILLERO ROJO - Manifiesto LP 1983-1984

EL GUERRILLERO ROJO

Manifiesto LP 1983-1984

MusicVinyl
Analogue SynthMinimalSynthpop

[80/100]   
29/10/2015, Luki PUKI

EN

Despite the fact that El Guerrillero Rojo is making music for more than 30 years, I have to admit I’d never heard them. As the band’s Facebook only has 92 likes, I’m guessing most readers won't be familiar with them either. It’s a shame because sole band member Mr. L.G. Aleman’s contribution to minimal synth pop is quite unique and wonderful.

Manifiesto LP 1983-1984 starts off sounding quite martial. The vocals bring a police megaphone to mind. These are layered over lots of analogue synths, playing the theme to your favourite 8-bit scrolling computer game. By today’s standards, we would call this minimal synth, but in 1983 this was probably pioneering synth pop.

If that doesn’t sound your cup of tea: don’t dispair yet. On Side B, Aleman has started singing in a very camp Valentian Spanish accent about Russian women, while breaking out the hi hats and ramping up the early Depeche Mode synthpop sound. The latter are the songs I like to dance to on the album.

The LP cover looks like a Communist propaganda poster and with song titles like 1905, Revolucion and the afore mentioned Mujeres Rusas (Russian Women), coupled with the band name El Guerrillero Rojo (Red Partizan), I think its safe to assume the lyrics touch on Communism.

Unfortunately, for me, I don’t speak any Spanish, so beyond being quite taken with Russian Women, I’ll have to guess what the actual lyrical content is… but who cares when you have minimal retro synth pop that sounds this quirky, inventive and most importantly fun.

Manifiesto LP 1983-1984 is out now.

Luki PUKI
29/10/2015

https://youtu.be/iRDMM73SGxE

NL

Ondanks het feit dat El Guerrillero Rojo al zo’n 30 jaar oud is, moet ik toegeven dat ik nog nooit van ze heb gehoord. Tja, en als je ziet dat slechts 92 mensen op hun Facebook de band leuk vinden, dan veronderstel ik dat de meeste lezers de groep ook niet zullen kennen.

Het is jammer, want de bijdrage van Mr. L.G. Aleman aan de minimale synthpop is vrij uniek en ronduit prachtig. Manifiesto LP 1983-1984 klinkt in het begin vrij martial. De zang is met een megafoon gedaan, met daarbij analoge synths die het thema van je favoriete 8-bit-computerspel nabootsen. Vandaag noemen we dit minimal synth, maar in 1983 waren ze waarschijnlijk één van de vele pioniers uit het synthpopgenre.

Als je een afkeer hebt van dit soort dingen, hoef je nog niet te wanhopen. Op Side B zingt Aleman met een Spaans accent iets over Russische vrouwen, terwijl de synths iets weg hebben van het vroegere Depeche Mode-synthpopgeluid. Het soort nummers op de plaat waarop ik al eens graag dans! De hoes ziet er eerder als een communistische propagandaposter uit en de nummers hebben titels als 1905 Revolucion en het eerder genoemde Mujeres Rusas (Russische Vrouwen). En met een groepsnaam als El Guerrillero Rojo (De Rode Partizaan) denk ik te mogen stellen dat deze Spanjaarden rode rakkers zijn!

Helaas spreek ik geen Spaans, dus moet ik maar raden waarover de teksten gaan. Niet dat ik het mij aantrek, deze minimale retrosynthpop is eigenzinnig, inventief en vooral leuk.

Manifiesto LP 1983-1984 is nu verkrijgbaar.

Luki PUKI
29/10/2015

https://youtu.be/iRDMM73SGxE

 

Next reviews
THE SHOES • Chemicals
BRUNO KRAMM (DAS ICH) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
DIARY OF DREAMS • Grau Im Licht
SPATIAL RELATION • Beyond The Zero
THE BRITISH IBM • Psychopaths Dream In Black And White
SIX COMM • Fleischmaschine
MY DYING BRIDE • Feel The Misery
PROCOL HARUM • Shine On So Brightly
ILLUMININE & MICHAEL PRICE TRIO • Antwerp, De Roma, 22/10/2015
SALES/SINKANE • Gent, De Charlatan (25th October 2015)-Democrazy

 

Same genre: ANALOGUE SYNTH
JOHN FOXX • METAMATIC (2018 BOX)
SINE SILEX • Schachmatt
VARIOUS ARISTS • Liasons Dangereuses
SCHONWALD • Between Parallel Lights
METAL DISCO • Unearthly Vices
CLAUS FOVEA • Cyanide/King Ludd
NÖVÖ • Zeitgeist
ALLES • Post
VOID VISION • Sub Rosa
NON-HUMAN PERSONS • No Fear

 

Same genre: MINIMAL
MORE EPHEMEROL • Obituary Templates
L'AVENIR • Requiem And Live
STAATSEINDE • Dreiheit
MEAGER BENEFITS • Crawling
RADERKRAFT • Smart Control
MANDIVULA • Nonsens
SELOFAN • Vitrioli
SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS • Semiotics Department of Heteronyms
VIOLENCE • Le Flux de la Nature
CONSPIRACY COVEN • Conspiracy Coven

 

Same genre: SYNTHPOP
GRENDEL • Ascending The Abyss
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
NEON ELECTRONICS • Apollo
FRAGRANCE • Now That I'm Real
ART DIKTATOR • Isola
ANGEL METRO • DARK DAYS BRIGHT LIGHTS
APSURDE • See Me Coming
STORY OFF • Facing Forward
GLAARE • To Deaf and Day
HOCICO, FROZEN AUTUMN, SUFFOCATING MINDS, SOLITARY EXPERIMENTS, T.O.Y., MANOK, STRONG PRODUCT, UNITY ONE • XV Synthetic Snow Festival Moscow

Music reviews

31
03
POUPPEE FABRIKK
Armèn
29
03
CHRISTIAN WOLZ
La Fore
28
03
JIMMY SWEENEY
Without You
27
03
FEU FOLLET
Le champ des morts
18
03
MANNEQUIN
From a distance
16
03
OCTOLAB
Mystery Park

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

04
04
14 years ago, Nine Inch Nails released ‘Every Day Is Exactly the Same’.
03
04
On this day, 18 years ago, Frank Tovey / Fad Gadget died at the age of 45.
02
04
41 years of Replicas, unleashed by Gary Numan's Tubeway Army!
01
04
On this day, 23 years ago, Rammstein released Engel!
01
04
On this day, 31 years ago, Front Line Assembly released Gashed Senses & Crossfire!
31
03
Red Zebra releases new single!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

30
03
JOE BOYD
Producer of Pink Floyd, Nick Drake, Nico, R.E.M, talks about the years of experience and his coming book.
29
03
AMBER TEASER
We Also Like Putting Some Strange Elements In Pop Music
19
03
DYLAN WITTROCK
'Sometimes I just write characters’ thoughts, like journal entries.'
17
03
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1
‘I Love The Belgian Scene’
14
03
COMMON EIDER, KING EIDER
‘The Dreams Of Capitalism Are Being Revealed As Smoke And Mirrors...

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

04
04
UNKNOWN LAND
CATHEDRAL
03
04
GOLDFRAPP
Strict Machine (Live at Glastonbury) [2017]
02
04
DIE KRUPPS
Chinese Black Die Krupps feat. Jyrki69 (Official Music Video)
02
04
DIESEIN
You
01
04
ILLUMININE
Dear, Eulogy (Live at Sundlaugin Studio)
31
03
DIVE
Underneath
30
03
NEAR EARTH ORBIT
INTERSTELLAR