tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this vinyl review

29/10/2015 : EL GUERRILLERO ROJO - Manifiesto LP 1983-1984

EL GUERRILLERO ROJO

Manifiesto LP 1983-1984

MusicVinyl
Analogue SynthMinimalSynthpop

[80/100]   
29/10/2015, Luki PUKI

EN

Despite the fact that El Guerrillero Rojo is making music for more than 30 years, I have to admit I’d never heard them. As the band’s Facebook only has 92 likes, I’m guessing most readers won't be familiar with them either. It’s a shame because sole band member Mr. L.G. Aleman’s contribution to minimal synth pop is quite unique and wonderful.

Manifiesto LP 1983-1984 starts off sounding quite martial. The vocals bring a police megaphone to mind. These are layered over lots of analogue synths, playing the theme to your favourite 8-bit scrolling computer game. By today’s standards, we would call this minimal synth, but in 1983 this was probably pioneering synth pop.

If that doesn’t sound your cup of tea: don’t dispair yet. On Side B, Aleman has started singing in a very camp Valentian Spanish accent about Russian women, while breaking out the hi hats and ramping up the early Depeche Mode synthpop sound. The latter are the songs I like to dance to on the album.

The LP cover looks like a Communist propaganda poster and with song titles like 1905, Revolucion and the afore mentioned Mujeres Rusas (Russian Women), coupled with the band name El Guerrillero Rojo (Red Partizan), I think its safe to assume the lyrics touch on Communism.

Unfortunately, for me, I don’t speak any Spanish, so beyond being quite taken with Russian Women, I’ll have to guess what the actual lyrical content is… but who cares when you have minimal retro synth pop that sounds this quirky, inventive and most importantly fun.

Manifiesto LP 1983-1984 is out now.

Luki PUKI
29/10/2015

https://youtu.be/iRDMM73SGxE

NL

Ondanks het feit dat El Guerrillero Rojo al zo’n 30 jaar oud is, moet ik toegeven dat ik nog nooit van ze heb gehoord. Tja, en als je ziet dat slechts 92 mensen op hun Facebook de band leuk vinden, dan veronderstel ik dat de meeste lezers de groep ook niet zullen kennen.

Het is jammer, want de bijdrage van Mr. L.G. Aleman aan de minimale synthpop is vrij uniek en ronduit prachtig. Manifiesto LP 1983-1984 klinkt in het begin vrij martial. De zang is met een megafoon gedaan, met daarbij analoge synths die het thema van je favoriete 8-bit-computerspel nabootsen. Vandaag noemen we dit minimal synth, maar in 1983 waren ze waarschijnlijk één van de vele pioniers uit het synthpopgenre.

Als je een afkeer hebt van dit soort dingen, hoef je nog niet te wanhopen. Op Side B zingt Aleman met een Spaans accent iets over Russische vrouwen, terwijl de synths iets weg hebben van het vroegere Depeche Mode-synthpopgeluid. Het soort nummers op de plaat waarop ik al eens graag dans! De hoes ziet er eerder als een communistische propagandaposter uit en de nummers hebben titels als 1905 Revolucion en het eerder genoemde Mujeres Rusas (Russische Vrouwen). En met een groepsnaam als El Guerrillero Rojo (De Rode Partizaan) denk ik te mogen stellen dat deze Spanjaarden rode rakkers zijn!

Helaas spreek ik geen Spaans, dus moet ik maar raden waarover de teksten gaan. Niet dat ik het mij aantrek, deze minimale retrosynthpop is eigenzinnig, inventief en vooral leuk.

Manifiesto LP 1983-1984 is nu verkrijgbaar.

Luki PUKI
29/10/2015

https://youtu.be/iRDMM73SGxE

 

Next reviews
THE SHOES • Chemicals
BRUNO KRAMM (DAS ICH) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
DIARY OF DREAMS • Grau Im Licht
SPATIAL RELATION • Beyond The Zero
THE BRITISH IBM • Psychopaths Dream In Black And White
SIX COMM • Fleischmaschine
MY DYING BRIDE • Feel The Misery
PROCOL HARUM • Shine On So Brightly
ILLUMININE & MICHAEL PRICE TRIO • Antwerp, De Roma, 22/10/2015
SALES/SINKANE • Gent, De Charlatan (25th October 2015)-Democrazy

 

Same genre: ANALOGUE SYNTH
JOHN FOXX • METAMATIC (2018 BOX)
SINE SILEX • Schachmatt
VARIOUS ARISTS • Liasons Dangereuses
SCHONWALD • Between Parallel Lights
METAL DISCO • Unearthly Vices
CLAUS FOVEA • Cyanide/King Ludd
NÖVÖ • Zeitgeist
ALLES • Post
VOID VISION • Sub Rosa
NON-HUMAN PERSONS • No Fear

 

Same genre: MINIMAL
RADERKRAFT • Smart Control
MANDIVULA • Nonsens
SELOFAN • Vitrioli
SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS • Semiotics Department of Heteronyms
VIOLENCE • Le Flux de la Nature
CONSPIRACY COVEN • Conspiracy Coven
DARK DOOR • Inferno
FACTICE FACTORY • Lines & Parallels
PARADOX OBSCUR • Artifact
IVANKOVA • Ivankovà EP

 

Same genre: SYNTHPOP
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
NEON ELECTRONICS • Apollo
FRAGRANCE • Now That I'm Real
ART DIKTATOR • Isola
ANGEL METRO • DARK DAYS BRIGHT LIGHTS
APSURDE • See Me Coming
STORY OFF • Facing Forward
GLAARE • To Deaf and Day
HOCICO, FROZEN AUTUMN, SUFFOCATING MINDS, SOLITARY EXPERIMENTS, T.O.Y., MANOK, STRONG PRODUCT, UNITY ONE • XV Synthetic Snow Festival Moscow
MORTAL VOID • Of shadows and mirrors

Music reviews

14
06
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES
Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
13
06
DEF ROBOT
Makers Of Mountains
04
06
THIS CAN HURT
Worlds Apart
03
06
RADERKRAFT
Smart Control
02
06
MASSIVE EGO
Church For The Malfunctioned
01
06
VUKOVAR
Cremator

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

20
06
The Joy Thieves Sign To Armalyte Records And Announce ‘THIS WILL KILL THAT’ EP
19
06
Toronto Darkwave Act DOUBLE EYELID Announces The Release Of 'A Means To An End'
18
06
Dependent Records Announces The Release of German Electronic/Industrial Act FIX8 SED8's WARNING SIGNS
15
06
Today it’s exactly 40 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
03
06
Today, 41 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!
29
05
UK's Electronic-Pop Band EMPATHY TEST Announce The Release of EMPTY-HANDED EP

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

21
06
DOUBLE EYELID
An Interview With Toronto's DOUBLE EYELID
20
06
TED PARSONS
'I got back into doing my artwork. And that makes me happy!'
17
06
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO
'I feel connected to other people because they understand the result of my thoughts.'
15
06
KENNEY JONES
'There's always an element of doubt in anything you do'
23
05
JAKE BURNS (STIFF LITTLE FINGERS)
'We were writing a songs about our own rights'

PHOTOS

24
06
MANGELEXEMPLAR SUPPORT SIGLO XX
Kulttempel Oberhausen Germany
24
06
SIGLO XX
Kulttempel Oberhausen Germany
24
06
ROB ZOMBIE
Graspop, Dessel
24
06
MINISTRY
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
STONE TEMPLE PILOTS
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
COMBICHRIST
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
EISBRECHER
Graspop, Dessel

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

26
06
EDITORS
Frankenstein
25
06
REIN
Can't Handle Me
25
06
ZARDONIC
Pure Power
24
06
SAIGON BLUE RAIN
L'Offrande
23
06
SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES
Israel - Live 1981
22
06
KRAFTWERK
The Robots
21
06
NEW ORDER
Restless