tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2016 : EL YUNQUE - Baskenland

EL YUNQUE

Baskenland

MusicCD
Noise

[73/100]   

Self-released
09/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Giel Cromphout , Kasper De Sutter, Jules Jordens and Matthias Jonniaux. Four names that you might not remember, but the music of this foursome from Hasselt (Belgium) on the debut album probably will be etched in your memory forever. The style? Well, noise rock, but we only say this because we can’t think of anything else. We hear some Swans, DNA or Swell Maps, but at least two thousand other noise terrorists as well.

After releasing two EPs, the band releases its first album which is recorded in five days. The opener Kaaiman slightly last longer than one minute, it's a primal scream. It pains your ears, but it also gives joy. Kassandra Esq. is less chaotic. The drums are played vibrantly with some witty guitars. It reminds us of Onmens, and that's a real plus! On the insane Noztect, you hear that the quartet carefully listened to great American bands as The Jesus Lizard or Melvins.

And then there's Kabeldraad. This track was released on the previous EP and lasted eleven minutes, on the album almost twenty (!) minutes. During 1121 seconds El Yunque immerses you in an ocean of musical noises. Some will label it as smallpox noise, others will see it as a catharsis. The guitars are violated, while you hear all sorts of strange Dutch phrases that are shouted. No man knows what it is about, but the music speaks for itself. This is the confrontation with yourself. The face that you do not want to see in the mirror. Music that hurts, the piece of glass that you're tapping into your skin. Inwardly, you cry your pain out, but you want to push your own limits. El Yunque does that as well. It's noise rock and you probably can find hundreds of comparable bands (noise, after all, always has a resemblance), but this band is mainly the musical puke of four tormented souls. It is beautiful? Not at all, but it impresses while a lot of (nice) things don’t.

El Yunque never will make pop, but if you want to introduce an unsuspecting person to this band, then choose the track Natwoord. The chance that he’ll embrace you with love is immensely small, but at least you tried!

Dredge is another attack on the eardrum, Neurosis is never far away! The CD ends with Und Dann, Die Kinder... No lullaby, as El Yunque does not compose lullabies, but another track that makes you bite the dust.

When it comes to originality, El Yunque fails, when it comes to having balls, this band is the first of its class!

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


NL

Giel Cromphout, Kasper De Sutter, Jules Jordens en Mattias Jonniaux. Het zijn vier namen die je wellicht niet zal onthouden, maar de muziek die dit viertal uit Hasselt op zijn debuut-cd brengt, zal wel voor eeuwig in je geheugen gegrift staan. De stijl? Nou ja, noiserock, maar dat zeggen we eigenlijk omdat we niets anders kunnen bedenken. We horen Swans, DNA en Swell Maps, maar minstens tweeduizend andere geluidsterroristen. Na het uitbrengen van twee ep’s komen de Limburgers met hun eerste langspeler op de proppen die ze op vijf dagen hebben opgenomen.

De opener Kaaiman duurt net iets langer dan een minuut, het is een oerkreet. Hij pijnigt je oren, maar zorgt tevens voor genot. Kassandra Esq. is minder chaotisch. De drums zijn loeihard met snedige gitaren. Het doet ons wat aan Onmens herinneren en dat is een pluspunt! Op het krankzinnige Noztect hoor je dat het viertal goed heeft geluisterd naar grote Amerikaanse broers als The Jesus Lizard of Melvins.

En dan is er Kabeldraad. Op hun ep die vorig jaar uitkwam, stond deze track ook al en duurde toen elf minuten, op de lp bijna twintig (!) minuten. 1121 seconden lang dompelt El Yunque je in een oceaan van muzikaal geweld (woorden die je letterlijk dient te nemen). Voor de ene zal het een niet te beluisteren pokkenherrie zijn, anderen zullen het als een catharsis ervaren. De gitaren worden bijna misbruikt, terwijl men allerlei vreemde zinnen schreeuwt. Geen mens die weet waarover het gaat, maar de muziek spreekt voor zich. Dit is de confrontatie met jezelf. Het gezicht dat je niet in de spiegel wil zien. Muziek die pijn doet, het stuk glas waarmee je in je vel zit te boren. Innerlijk schreeuw je het uit van pijn, toch wil je je eigen grenzen verleggen. Dat doet El Yunque ook. Het is noiserock en je kan wellicht honderden bands vinden om ze mee te vergelijken (lawaai heeft immers altijd wel een gelijkenis), maar deze band is vooral de muzikale kots van vier getormenteerde zielen. Is het mooi? Helemaal niet, maar het imponeert en dat kan je van een heleboel (mooie) dingen niet zeggen.

El Yunque zal nooit pop maken, maar als je een nietsvermoedend iemand kennis wil laten maken met dit stelletje ongeregeld, kies dan de track Natwoord. De kans dat je met liefde za worden omarmd is immens klein, maar je hebt het ten minste geprobeerd!

Dredge is alweer een aanslag op het trommelvlies, Neurosis is nooit ver weg!

De cd wordt afgesloten met Und Dann, Die Kinder… Geen slaapliedje, want zoiets componeert El Yunque niet, wel alweer een track die je murw slaat.

Als het op originaliteit aankomt, dan wordt El Yunque naar huis gestuurd met een slecht rapport, als het op ballen aankomt, dan is deze band met verve de eerste van de klas! Het is jouw beslissing welk kindje je wil.

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


Music reviews

14
06
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES
Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
13
06
DEF ROBOT
Makers Of Mountains
04
06
THIS CAN HURT
Worlds Apart
03
06
RADERKRAFT
Smart Control
02
06
MASSIVE EGO
Church For The Malfunctioned
01
06
VUKOVAR
Cremator

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

20
06
The Joy Thieves Sign To Armalyte Records And Announce ‘THIS WILL KILL THAT’ EP
19
06
Toronto Darkwave Act DOUBLE EYELID Announces The Release Of 'A Means To An End'
18
06
Dependent Records Announces The Release of German Electronic/Industrial Act FIX8 SED8's WARNING SIGNS
15
06
Today it’s exactly 40 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
03
06
Today, 41 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!
29
05
UK's Electronic-Pop Band EMPATHY TEST Announce The Release of EMPTY-HANDED EP

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

21
06
DOUBLE EYELID
An Interview With Toronto's DOUBLE EYELID
20
06
TED PARSONS
'I got back into doing my artwork. And that makes me happy!'
17
06
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO
'I feel connected to other people because they understand the result of my thoughts.'
15
06
KENNEY JONES
'There's always an element of doubt in anything you do'
23
05
JAKE BURNS (STIFF LITTLE FINGERS)
'We were writing a songs about our own rights'

PHOTOS

24
06
MANGELEXEMPLAR SUPPORT SIGLO XX
Kulttempel Oberhausen Germany
24
06
SIGLO XX
Kulttempel Oberhausen Germany
24
06
ROB ZOMBIE
Graspop, Dessel
24
06
MINISTRY
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
STONE TEMPLE PILOTS
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
COMBICHRIST
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
EISBRECHER
Graspop, Dessel

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

24
06
SAIGON BLUE RAIN
L'Offrande
23
06
SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES
Israel - Live 1981
22
06
KRAFTWERK
The Robots
21
06
NEW ORDER
Restless
20
06
RUMOURS
Cover
19
06
MEAGER BENEFITS
No Regrets
19
06
CREMATORY
Haus Mit Garten