tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

29/08/2014 : ELIO PETRI - L'assassino

ELIO PETRI

L'assassino

Movie
Crime

[84/100]   

Arrow
29/08/2014, Didier BECU

EN

When L’Assassino came out in 1961, you can say that the Italian cinema was in its golden years. The grey neo-realism made place for majestic works like La Dolce Vita by Fellini or La Notte by Antonioni. You don’t hear the name from Elio Petri that much, but he made great masterpieces like The Tenth Victim (the cult classic Ursula Andress) and Investigation of a Citizen Above Suspicion (that won in 1971 an Oscar for Best Foreign Movie).

Just like in almost every other Italian classic the leading role is performed by Marcello Mastroianni who plays this time the antique salesman Alfredo Martelli. Petri certainly hasn’t made a sympathethic character from him. In the very beginning we witness how he gives a poor grandpa just some pennies for a rare worthy clock. The situation where he lands in however is a different piece of cake, you don’t even wish your enemies such a hell! On a morning the cops arrives and the man is guided to the police station. He doesn’t know yet that his elder girlfriend Adalgisa (Micheline Presle) is dead. In a couple of minutes he’s aware that he’s being accused of manslaughter. The accused is caught in a Kafkian web. In a great mixture of traditional film noir and Italian grandeur we investigate through flashbacks if Martelli is guilty or not.

You probably won’t find any movie with Marcello Mastroianni in where he’s not excellent. The same goes for L’Assassino. The Italian Don Juan is both charming and someone who makes you puke, as after all he’s a charlatan. In the many flashbacks this movie is structured from, Petri isn’t afraid to show the dark side of Italian history. In 1961 the director reminds his people that two decades ago a part of Italy was fascist.

The photography is mind blowing, the story touching and once the movie ends you just keep on wondering why L’Assassino isn’t mentioned more as an indestructible monument.


Arrow is not the type of label that just reproduces old classics on Blu-ray. The transfer you can find here is the restored (splendid) one from the Cineteca di Bologna.

Another element that is important to buy an Arrow-release is of course the bonus section. On L’Assassino the film lover is once again treated with a magnificent selection. First of all there is the informative introduction by Pasquale Iannone who tells you why this movie is such an important classic. The greatest treasure you’ll find is the almost one hour-long-documentary Tonino Guerra: A Poet in the Movies. An unknown for many, but this Italian grandmaster wrote over hundred (!) scripts, many of them are classic milestones by Fellini, Tarkovski, Angelopoulus, the brothers Taviani and Antonioni. In this special, the man looks back on his career and the directors he worked with.

Didier BECU
29/08/2014


NL

Toen L’Assassino in 1961 verscheen beleefde de Italiaanse cinema zijn gouden jaren. Het grauwe neorealisme werd in de kast gezet en moest plaats maken voor majestueuze werken zoals La Dolce Vita van Fellini en La Notte van Antonioni. Minstens even goed is deze thriller van Elio Petri. Je hoort zijn naam wel niet vaak, maar met films als The Tenth Victim (een cultklassieker met Ursula Andress), Investigation of a Citizen Above Suspicion (die in 1971 de Oscar voor Buitenlandse Film won) en deze L’Assassino verdient deze cineast meer dan zo maar een voetnoot in de filmgeschiedenis.
 

Zoals in bijna elke Italiaanse klassieker is de hoofdrol opnieuw weggelegd voor Marcello Mastroianni die antiquair Alfredo Martelli speelt. Deze handelaar wordt door Petri zeker niet sympathiek voorgesteld, want de snoodaard vindt het helemaal niet erg om onwetende oudjes met een habbekrats de laan in te sturen wanneer zij hem een kostbare antiquiteit aanbieden. De situatie waarin de louche zakenman terechtkomt is wel meelijwekkend. Op een morgen wordt hij door de politie opgepakt. Hij weet nog niet dat zijn oudere vriendin Adalgisa (Micheline Presle) dood is aangetroffen wanneer hij van doodslag wordt beschuldigd. De beschuldigde zit vast in een kafkaiaans kluwen, hij heeft alle bewijzen tegen zich. In een prachtige mix van de traditionele film noir en Italiaanse grandeur verneemt de kijker door middel van tal van flashbacks of Martelli het monster is of niet.
 

Wellicht zal er geen enkele film bestaan waarin Marcello Mastroianni niet schittert en dat is in L’Assassino niet anders. De Italiaanse charmeur wekt tegelijkertijd haat (hij is een charlatan) en medelijden op. In de vele flashbacks schuwt Petri geenszins de zwarte bladzijden uit de Italiaanse geschiedenis en dus wordt de Italiaanse kijker er in 1961 fijntjes aan herinnerd dat heel wat landgenoten twee decennia terug met de fascisten mee heulden. De fotografie is ronduit verbluffend, het verhaal meeslepend en eentje die je nadien nooit meer uit je filmgeheugen zal kunnen wissen. Het enige wat je je na afloop afvraagt is hoe zo’n klassieker niet dezelfde bekendheid heeft als vele andere Italiaanse soortgenoten.


 Arrow is niet het label dat zomaar oude producties op een Blu-ray gooit. De transfer die je op deze (origineel vrij toegetakeld) vindt is de gerestaureerde versie die door de Cineteca di Bologna volledig werd gerestaureerd. Het zal moeilijk zijn om ook maar één streepje of vlekje op deze uitgave te zien. Het geluid is mono, maar ook hier hoor je geen geruis. Let ook trouwens op de knappe jazzy score.
 

Een Arrow-release koop je nooit voor de film alleen, ook voor de uiterst interessante extra’s. Bij L’Assassino wordt de cinefiel royaal op zijn wenken bediend. Allereerst is er de introductie van filmkenner Pasquale Iannone die je uitlegt waarom L’Assassino zo’n mijlpaal in de Italiaanse filmgeschiedenis is. De mooiste extra is evenwel de documentaire Tonino Guerra: A Poet in the Movies die net geen uur duurt. De naam zegt je misschien niet zo veel, maar de man schreef wel meer dan honderd scenario’s voor baanbrekende films van Fellini, Tarkovski, Angelopoulus, de broertjes Taviani en Antonioni. In deze documentaire blikt de oude man terug op zijn carrière en heeft hij het over de beroemde cineasten, vooral hoe ze als mensen waren.
 
Deze restauratie van deze wat vergeten Italiaanse klassieker is een cinefiele must die iedereen in de kast moet hebben. Smaken verschillen, maar jawel mijnheer: dit is kunst!

Didier BECU
29/08/2014


29/08/2014 : ELIO PETRI - L'assassino 29/08/2014 : ELIO PETRI - L'assassino 29/08/2014 : ELIO PETRI - L'assassino 29/08/2014 : ELIO PETRI - L'assassino 29/08/2014 : ELIO PETRI - L'assassino 29/08/2014 : ELIO PETRI - L'assassino 29/08/2014 : ELIO PETRI - L'assassino 29/08/2014 : ELIO PETRI - L'assassino 29/08/2014 : ELIO PETRI - L'assassino 29/08/2014 : ELIO PETRI - L'assassino 29/08/2014 : ELIO PETRI - L'assassino 29/08/2014 : ELIO PETRI - L'assassino 29/08/2014 : ELIO PETRI - L'assassino 29/08/2014 : ELIO PETRI - L'assassino 29/08/2014 : ELIO PETRI - L'assassino 29/08/2014 : ELIO PETRI - L'assassino

Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

14
08
Darkwave Duo, Male Tears Addresses Nightlife Hypocrisy & Abuse With New Single
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 35 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
09
08
Electronic Band She 1 - Him 2 Addresses Breaking Free With New Single
08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album
06
08
Post-Punk Artist Daniel Ouellette Brings Life To A Haunted House With New Album

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

13
08
BLUTENGEL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
LORD OF THE LOST ENSEMBLE
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
SOLITARY EXPERIMENTS
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
LACRIMAS PROFUNDERE
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
10
08
TYSKKE LUDER
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
10
08
OSTFRONT
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
10
08
NOISUF-X
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

14
08
THE SMITHS
There Is A Light That Never Goes Out
13
08
DRAB MAJESTY
39 By Design
12
08
COCTEAU TWINS
Hazel
11
08
IN STRICT CONFIDENDE
Somebody Else´s Dream
10
08
DOWNLOAD
Neuron Proper
09
08
WE NEVER MET
Come Play With Fire
08
08
ROSARUBEA
Window Pain