tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd (ep) review

11/10/2019 : ELM - Death Of The North

ELM

Death Of The North

MusicCD (EP)
EBMElectro

[88/100]   

Alfa-Matrix
11/10/2019, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

EN

ELM released a teaser for his upcoming new album Extreme Unspoken Tension. A 5 tracks EP titled Death Of The North which offers us even more and brand new and ruthless solid electronic ELM EBM.

Those who are familiar with ELM’s earlier work will not be surprised of, their yet again, very strong sound. Inspired by many old school EBM legends, this gentleman is inexhaustible. Nitzer Ebb and DAF regularly influences resound when you let ELM's music vibrate deep into your veins. Strong rhythms, aggressive basses and a powerful voice.

On this EP we are presented with three different versions of the title track ‘Death Of The North’ ; a 7 inch version, a single edit and the ultimate truth mix version. One by one extremely sturdy and peppered with great electronics that take them each to another level. The latest version is fed with some mysterious synths and samples, without losing power. Yes, ELM succeeds in making us look forward to that upcoming full album!

Also on the menu there's the song ‘Thoughtcrime (Mean Mugger Mix)’. Same ingredients, and again with a great aggressive bass. As a bonus there is ‘Thin Line’. An infectious song that tends to sound a bit more like dark-wave. A bit more moderate in terms of brutality, but this gem also elicits some hip wiggling while listening.

Like said before, with this download EP, ELM makes us more than curious about their likely EBM masterpiece coming up soon!

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
11/10/2019


NL

ELM laat een voorsmaakje los van het op til zijnde nieuwe album Extreme Unspoken Tension; de 5 tracks bevattende EP Death Of The North. ELM kondigt daarmee nog meer gloednieuwe en meedogenloos stevige electronische EBM aan.

Wie de eerdere muziek van ELM kent zal niet verbaasd zijn dat het weer heel stevig klinkt. Geïnspireerd op de old school EBM gaat het heerschap onuitputtelijk zijn gang. De betere en oudere Nitzer Ebb en DAF klinken regelmatig door als je ELM’s muziek tot diep in je aderen laat doortrillen. Stevige ritmes, agressieve bassen en een krachtige stem.

Death Of The North krijgen we in drie verschillende bereidingen voorgeschoteld. De 7 inch versie, de single edit en de ultimate truth-mix. En die zijn allen één voor één uitermate stevig en doorspekt met geweldige electronica die ze net weer een brug verder brengt. De laatste versie is gespijsd met wat mysterieuze synths en wat samples, die op geen enkele wijze afbreuk doen aan het feit dat het heel erg solide blijft doordrammen. In alle geval slaagt ELM er in om ons te laten uitzien naar dat full album.

Verder op het menu de song Thoughtcrime (mean mugger mix). Dezelfde ingrediënten, met een geweldig agressieve bass. Als extraatje is er Thin Line. Een aanstekelijke song die wat meer darkwave klinkt. Wat gematigder qua brutaliteit, maar toch ontlokt ook dit pareltje enig heupgewieg bij het beluisteren.

ELM maakt ons met deze download-EP méér dan nieuwsgierig naar een naar alle waarschijnlijkheid nieuw EBM-meesterwerk dat er staat aan te komen.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
11/10/2019


Music reviews

23
02
THE HEAT INC.
EP
23
02
PIG
Pain Is God
22
02
ANTHONY JONES
Farewell To Flesh
18
02
WULF7
Dark Hate
17
02
DEAR DEER / EMBERS
Split
06
02
J:DEAD
A Complicated Genocide

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

05
03
44 years ago Kraftwerk released Trans Europe Express!
04
03
Electro/Industrial Artist I YA TOYAH Unleashes New Single & Video, 'Out Of Order'
04
03
Firestarter | Celebrating The Sound Of The Prodigy And The Impact Of Keith Flint who past away 2 years ago.
03
03
MATHLOVSKY ANNOUNCES NEWEST SINGLE AND LP
02
03
DINOSAUR JR. ANNOUCE NEWEST LP TO BE RELEASED IN APRIL
02
03
Through The Looking Glass | The Siouxsie & The Banshees Masterpiece Released 34 Years Ago Today!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.
07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

05
03
THE ARCH
Alien Ann
04
03
MERCIFUL NUNS
Broken Column
03
03
BLOODY KNIVES
Reflection Lies
02
03
GAVIN FRIDAY
It's All Ahead Of You
01
03
THE BREATH OF LIFE
CRIME PASSIONNEL
28
02
LCN (LE CHOCOLAT NOIR)
N'Écoutez Pas Tous Les Conseils De Vos Amis (Official Music Video)
27
02
ANTIPOLE
Part Deux