tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd (ep) review

11/10/2019 : ELM - Death Of The North

ELM

Death Of The North

MusicCD (EP)
EBMElectro

[88/100]   

Alfa-Matrix
11/10/2019, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

EN

ELM released a teaser for his upcoming new album Extreme Unspoken Tension. A 5 tracks EP titled Death Of The North which offers us even more and brand new and ruthless solid electronic ELM EBM.

Those who are familiar with ELM’s earlier work will not be surprised of, their yet again, very strong sound. Inspired by many old school EBM legends, this gentleman is inexhaustible. Nitzer Ebb and DAF regularly influences resound when you let ELM's music vibrate deep into your veins. Strong rhythms, aggressive basses and a powerful voice.

On this EP we are presented with three different versions of the title track ‘Death Of The North’ ; a 7 inch version, a single edit and the ultimate truth mix version. One by one extremely sturdy and peppered with great electronics that take them each to another level. The latest version is fed with some mysterious synths and samples, without losing power. Yes, ELM succeeds in making us look forward to that upcoming full album!

Also on the menu there's the song ‘Thoughtcrime (Mean Mugger Mix)’. Same ingredients, and again with a great aggressive bass. As a bonus there is ‘Thin Line’. An infectious song that tends to sound a bit more like dark-wave. A bit more moderate in terms of brutality, but this gem also elicits some hip wiggling while listening.

Like said before, with this download EP, ELM makes us more than curious about their likely EBM masterpiece coming up soon!

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
11/10/2019


NL

ELM laat een voorsmaakje los van het op til zijnde nieuwe album Extreme Unspoken Tension; de 5 tracks bevattende EP Death Of The North. ELM kondigt daarmee nog meer gloednieuwe en meedogenloos stevige electronische EBM aan.

Wie de eerdere muziek van ELM kent zal niet verbaasd zijn dat het weer heel stevig klinkt. Geïnspireerd op de old school EBM gaat het heerschap onuitputtelijk zijn gang. De betere en oudere Nitzer Ebb en DAF klinken regelmatig door als je ELM’s muziek tot diep in je aderen laat doortrillen. Stevige ritmes, agressieve bassen en een krachtige stem.

Death Of The North krijgen we in drie verschillende bereidingen voorgeschoteld. De 7 inch versie, de single edit en de ultimate truth-mix. En die zijn allen één voor één uitermate stevig en doorspekt met geweldige electronica die ze net weer een brug verder brengt. De laatste versie is gespijsd met wat mysterieuze synths en wat samples, die op geen enkele wijze afbreuk doen aan het feit dat het heel erg solide blijft doordrammen. In alle geval slaagt ELM er in om ons te laten uitzien naar dat full album.

Verder op het menu de song Thoughtcrime (mean mugger mix). Dezelfde ingrediënten, met een geweldig agressieve bass. Als extraatje is er Thin Line. Een aanstekelijke song die wat meer darkwave klinkt. Wat gematigder qua brutaliteit, maar toch ontlokt ook dit pareltje enig heupgewieg bij het beluisteren.

ELM maakt ons met deze download-EP méér dan nieuwsgierig naar een naar alle waarschijnlijkheid nieuw EBM-meesterwerk dat er staat aan te komen.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
11/10/2019


Music reviews

18
11
AD:KEY
Resonanz
17
11
SWANS
Children Of GodFeel Good Now
16
11
ERASURE
THE NEON
14
11
ASSEMBLAGE 23
Mourn
19
10
DREADFOOL
Atoms for peace
18
10
ANNA VON HAUSSWOLFF
All Thoughts Fly Sweden

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

23
11
The Public’s Image Of Metal Box | The PiL Classic 41-Years On
21
11
The Last Beat of My Heart by Siouxsie and the Banshees was released 32 years ago!
21
11
Isn't Anything (album) by My Bloody Valentine turns 32 today!
17
11
40 years of Grotesque by The Fall
17
11
Lord Of The Lost release Fears - 10th Anniversary Edition -
13
11
Today, 39 years ago, New Order released its debut album Movement!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing
31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

14
11
PROYECTO MIRAGE
I Think We Needed A Break
21
10
DELERITAS
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... Deleritas!
20
10
WULF7
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... WÜLF7!
19
10
LISA GERRARD (DEAD CAN DANCE)
'I love the innocent dangers that can be experienced in musical performance...'
18
10
SERAPHIM SYSTEM
A Glorious Return To Form

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

23
11
FOETUS
Here Comes The Rain
22
11
A SPLIT-SECOND
Flesh
21
11
LIEF HALL
Roses for Ruins
20
11
FEAR FACTORY
Expiration Date
19
11
WULFBAND
Kalt Blut
18
11
NINE INCH NAILS
Closer
17
11
BLACK NAIL CABARET
My Casual God