tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd (ep) review

11/10/2019 : ELM - Death Of The North

ELM

Death Of The North

MusicCD (EP)
EBMElectro

[88/100]   

Alfa-Matrix
11/10/2019, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

EN

ELM released a teaser for his upcoming new album Extreme Unspoken Tension. A 5 tracks EP titled Death Of The North which offers us even more and brand new and ruthless solid electronic ELM EBM.

Those who are familiar with ELM’s earlier work will not be surprised of, their yet again, very strong sound. Inspired by many old school EBM legends, this gentleman is inexhaustible. Nitzer Ebb and DAF regularly influences resound when you let ELM's music vibrate deep into your veins. Strong rhythms, aggressive basses and a powerful voice.

On this EP we are presented with three different versions of the title track ‘Death Of The North’ ; a 7 inch version, a single edit and the ultimate truth mix version. One by one extremely sturdy and peppered with great electronics that take them each to another level. The latest version is fed with some mysterious synths and samples, without losing power. Yes, ELM succeeds in making us look forward to that upcoming full album!

Also on the menu there's the song ‘Thoughtcrime (Mean Mugger Mix)’. Same ingredients, and again with a great aggressive bass. As a bonus there is ‘Thin Line’. An infectious song that tends to sound a bit more like dark-wave. A bit more moderate in terms of brutality, but this gem also elicits some hip wiggling while listening.

Like said before, with this download EP, ELM makes us more than curious about their likely EBM masterpiece coming up soon!

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
11/10/2019


NL

ELM laat een voorsmaakje los van het op til zijnde nieuwe album Extreme Unspoken Tension; de 5 tracks bevattende EP Death Of The North. ELM kondigt daarmee nog meer gloednieuwe en meedogenloos stevige electronische EBM aan.

Wie de eerdere muziek van ELM kent zal niet verbaasd zijn dat het weer heel stevig klinkt. Geïnspireerd op de old school EBM gaat het heerschap onuitputtelijk zijn gang. De betere en oudere Nitzer Ebb en DAF klinken regelmatig door als je ELM’s muziek tot diep in je aderen laat doortrillen. Stevige ritmes, agressieve bassen en een krachtige stem.

Death Of The North krijgen we in drie verschillende bereidingen voorgeschoteld. De 7 inch versie, de single edit en de ultimate truth-mix. En die zijn allen één voor één uitermate stevig en doorspekt met geweldige electronica die ze net weer een brug verder brengt. De laatste versie is gespijsd met wat mysterieuze synths en wat samples, die op geen enkele wijze afbreuk doen aan het feit dat het heel erg solide blijft doordrammen. In alle geval slaagt ELM er in om ons te laten uitzien naar dat full album.

Verder op het menu de song Thoughtcrime (mean mugger mix). Dezelfde ingrediënten, met een geweldig agressieve bass. Als extraatje is er Thin Line. Een aanstekelijke song die wat meer darkwave klinkt. Wat gematigder qua brutaliteit, maar toch ontlokt ook dit pareltje enig heupgewieg bij het beluisteren.

ELM maakt ons met deze download-EP méér dan nieuwsgierig naar een naar alle waarschijnlijkheid nieuw EBM-meesterwerk dat er staat aan te komen.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
11/10/2019


 

Next reviews
NICK CAVE AND THE BAD SEEDS • Ghosteen (Ghosteen/Bad Seed Ltd.)
EMPUSAE • Iter In Tenebris
AMY STUDT • Happiest Girl in The Universe
NUMB • Mortal Geometry
JE T'AIME • Je T'aime
FOXY • X-Ray Spex Tribute
GRENDEL • Ascending The Abyss
SUICIDE COMMANDO • Hellraiser
W - FEST, AUG 18TH 2019
MEAGER BENEFITS • Crawling

 

Other reviews from ELM
ELM • Kampftrinker

 

Same combination of genres: EBM + ELECTRO
PORTION CONTROL • Head Buried
ARMAGEDDON DILDOS • Heut Nacht
M73 • Tainted
PLASTIKSTROM • Beton Gegen Angst
GRENDEL • Ascending The Abyss
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1 • Harbringer
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES • Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
MASSIVE EGO • Church For The Malfunctioned
DIVE • Live Maschinenfest 2017
EMPIRION • I Am Electronic / Red Noise

 

Same genre: EBM
UNITCODE:MACHINE • Paper empires
GHOSTING • The Flanders EP
STRIKKLAND • Predatorial Right
POUPPEE FABRIKK • Armèn
REALITY'S DESPAIR • Melancholic Disposition
MISERIA ULTIMA • Graygarden
SIGNAL AOUT 42 • Insurrection
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
ZWEITE JUGEND • Elektronische Körpermusik
PARADE GROUND • Life [Live In Frankfurt]

 

Same genre: ELECTRO
BOYTRONIC • The Robot Treatment
6TH CROWD • Самозванцы (Samozvantsiy)
MASSIVE ATTACK • Massive Attack vs Mad Professor Part II | Mezzanine Remix Tapes
STAATSEINDE • Dreiheit
CHEMICAL BROTHERS • No Geography
STATIQBLOOM • Asphyxia
UMMAGMA • Caravan -Backed With Ty i Ya
VARIOUS ARTISTS • A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Wake Up The Coma
PAS MUSIQUE • The Phoenix

Music reviews

05
07
JAYE JAYLE
PRISYN
03
07
PORTION CONTROL
Head Buried
02
07
AIMA & THE ILLUSION OF SILENCE
Music for certain rituals
28
06
VARIOUS ARTISTS
PERIHELION 2134
24
06
COLD IN MAY
Isolation songs
19
06
UNITCODE:MACHINE
Paper empires

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

04
07
Industrial Band RIOTLEGION Announces The Release Of Machine Liberation
03
07
I Wanted To Tell Her by Ministry turns 37 years this month!
15
06
Today it’s exactly 41 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
11
06
29 years of Kraftwerk in The Mix
11
06
Sieben covering David Bowie's Heroes live + new CD album 2020 VISION releases this Friday, 12th June!
10
06
29 years of Family Man!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

04
07
LAIBACH
When they banned Laibach, we said 'great, let's move further'!
27
06
BURTON C.BELL (FEAR FACTORY, ASCENSION OF THE WATCHERS )
'It all comes from my head – whatever I’m feeling, whatever I’m thinking of.'
27
06
RODNEY ORPHEUS / THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
I Think I’m Still As Revolutionary And Opinionated As Ever...
25
06
THE COLOURS OF SILENCE
Isolation Is Good For Art. Embrace It And Use It
13
06
LAST INFLUENCE OF BRAIN
L.I.O.B. Has Always Been Such A Distraction For Us

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

05
07
GOLDFRAPP
Winter Wonderland
04
07
LORDS OF ACID
I Sit On Acid
03
07
DEAD CAN DANCE
Eleusis
02
07
LIAISONS DANGEREUSES
Los niños del parque
01
07
HORD
Lines
30
06
U.R.A.N.
Geo Logo
29
06
MISS KITTIN
Bassline