tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

15/09/2015 : ELVYA - Untold Stories

ELVYA

Untold Stories

MusicCD
Ethereal / Heavenly VoicesFantasyFolkNeoclassical

[90/100]   
15/09/2015, Ron SCHOONWATER

Elvya releases an album filled with beautiful fairytale folk. The Belgian Liesbeth (voice and dulcimer) had help from an impressive list of musicians. The voice of Arjen Lucassen (Ayreon) is for instance used during the intro and outro. Untold Stories is an epic, atmospheric story. In contrast to a lot of other bands and acts in this genre, Elvya isn’t using a bombastic synthesizer wall of sound, but uses real instruments. The result is phenomenal. Production wise, musically and vocally it all perfectly fits.

Nature is the biggest inspiration, but with a magical, fantasy view behind it. It is in fact a reflection of the music itself. It sounds dreamy, but with both feet on the ground. It sounds like a soundtrack with the perfect mix of folk, neo-classical and pop music. The different influences keep the music exciting from beginning to end. It is truly a journey into a beautiful, magical landscape. Untold Stories proves that well thought off story and music don't have to sound artificial. In fact, every tone, every instrument and every note of the beautiful, versatile voice of Liesbeth has a function. Untold Stories is the fantasy, folk album of the year.

Ron SCHOONWATER
15/09/2015


 

Next reviews
STADT • Escalators
DIEMONDS • Never Wanna Die
TEARS FOR FEARS • The Hurting
GLENN KETELEER (RADICAL G.) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
BEBORN BETON • A Worthy Compensation
C-LEKKTOR • 'Radioakktivity' EP
SCHMUTZ • Lipservice
THE TRAIN SET • Never California
NO MORE • Ten Albums That Changed Our Life
LAS'S CRIME • Mesmérique

 

Same genre: ETHEREAL / HEAVENLY VOICES
LISA GERRARD & JULES MAXWELL • Burn
DAEMONIA NYMPHE • Witches' Lullaby
ANTHONY JONES • Farewell To Flesh
AIMA & THE ILLUSION OF SILENCE • Music for certain rituals
AIMAPROJECT • Di AimA Il Segno
AIMA • Haiku Irregolari In Forma Di Musica
DAEMONIA NYMPHE • PSYCHOSTASIA
HEILUNG • Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
PAULINA CASSIDY • Drawing Up A Storm
ANDERS MANGA • Perfectly Stranger

 

Same genre: FANTASY
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
A MIDSUMMER NIGHT'S DREAM • A modern adaption of Shakespeare's comedy play
AN DANZZA • Whispers of the Forest
ELVARON • Ghost Of A Blood Tie
ROLANDO SIMMONS • Magical Crystal
KARSTEN PFLUM • Dode
COLIN TEAGUE • Dragonheart 3: The Sorcerer's Curse
ACCOLADE • Catharsis of Rhetorik
PETER JACKSON • The Hobbit: The Desolation Of Smaug (Extended Edition)
KAREL ZEMAN • A Jester's Tale

 

Same genre: FOLK
THE DEMON RIND • Lonely This Evening
WALTER CELI • Blend
PETER GUNDRY • V Ö L U R
KIM THOMPSETT • The Hollows
COLE VARGAS • Cole Vargas
SEESAYLE • Stamina
LEIF VOLLEBEKK • Twin Solitude
SANGRE DE MUERDAGO • Os Segredos da Raposa Vermella
CANNAERTS & VAN CUTSEM • Mechelen, Theater M/Moonbeat (08/10/2016) CD-presentation
RUMMELSNUFF & ASBACH • Rummelsnuff & Asbach

 

Same genre: NEOCLASSICAL
CAVERNA DELLE ROSE • Elysian Chants
NICHOLAS LENS & NICK CAVE • L.I.T.A.N.I.E.S
PETER BJARGO (ARCANA) • Structures and Downfall
LISA MORGENSTERN • Chameleon
ILLUMININE | WOUTER DEWIT • Cultuurcentrum Mechelen | 27.10.2017
ALICE IN NEVERLAND • L'ile aux Trésors
STERNLUMEN • Sternlumen
ATARAXIA • Deep Blue Firmanent
BRUNO BAVOTA • Out Of The Blue
JO QUAIL • Jo Quail meets Barbara Hepworth in Remagen, 11.08.2016

Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
08
Futurepop Act, Voicecoil Reflects On Strange Days With New Album
14
08
Darkwave Duo, Male Tears Addresses Nightlife Hypocrisy & Abuse With New Single
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 35 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
09
08
Electronic Band She 1 - Him 2 Addresses Breaking Free With New Single
08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

16
08
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
SCHANDMAUL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
ROTERSAND
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
VNV NATION CLASSICAL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
COMBICHRIST
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
15
08
FEUERSCHWANZ
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
15
08
UNZUCHT
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

16
08
0KONTROL
Lullaby
15
08
AUSTRA
Utopia
14
08
THE SMITHS
There Is A Light That Never Goes Out
13
08
DRAB MAJESTY
39 By Design
12
08
COCTEAU TWINS
Hazel
11
08
IN STRICT CONFIDENDE
Somebody Else´s Dream
10
08
DOWNLOAD
Neuron Proper