tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

22/02/2015 : EMMA DANTE - Una Via A Palermo

EMMA DANTE

Una Via A Palermo

Movie
ComedyDrama

[73/100]   

Homescreen
22/02/2015, Didier BECU

EN

Road rage has been the subject of many great films. Famous examples are Trafic (although, it is rather innocent) by Jacques Tati, or if you want it more in a Hollywood style: Changing Lanes by Roger Michell. A film that you can add to this strange category is Una Via A Palermo. Everything happens in Via Castellana Bandiera, a quiet alley where never happens anything. Two cars approach each other and are eventually bumper to bumper. None of the drivers is willing to put the gear in reverse so life can go on. In the Fiat Panda we see the couple Rosa (Emma Dante) and Clara (Alba Rohrwacher, the sister of director Alice who currently made La Meraviglia). Behind the wheel of the other Fiat we see a grandmother (Elena Cotta), who does not want to give an inch away either. There is a lot of honking, many epithets, but neither vehicle moves one inch forward or backward. The neighbourhood intervene: house doors are opened, transient people stop and attend the rage show, while everyone takes sides. What begins as a banal incident, ends in a sharp critique of society; clichés become truth and numerous inconsistencies in contemporary Italy come to the surface. Filmmaker Emma Dante doesn't take the easy option, because she not only directs the film, she also plays the lead role and she wrote the scenario of her own novel Via Castellana Bandiera (which by the way is also the original Italian title of the film). You notice that Dante looks up to the great examples of Italian cinema (anyone said Fellini?), but that is something to be proud of. In a way Una Via a Palermo exposes our own souls, because even though everyone will deny it, we are all a bit of a voyeur. Why else would we watch movies? Una Via a Palermo is funny, but it also shows (sometimes in a painful way) the contradictions of today’s society. And if you think that such an issue will lead to a long-winded story, better put the film in the player.

Una Via A Palermo is now on DVD via Homescreen.

Didier BECU
22/02/2015


NL

Verkeersagressie heeft al vaak voor knappe films gezorgd. Bekende voorbeelden zijn Trafic (alhoewel, eerder speels) van Jacques Tati of indien je het meer op zijn Hollywoods wil: Changing Lanes van Roger Michell. Een film die je aan deze vreemde categorie mag toevoegen is Una Via A Palermo. Alles gebeurt in de Via Castellana Bandiera, een rustig steegje waar eigenlijk nooit wat gebeurt. Twee auto's staan tegenover elkaar, bumper tegen bumper en niet één van de twee die er ook maar een seconde over denkt om de versnelling in achteruit te zetten zodat het leven zijn gang kan gaan. In de Fiat Panda zitten het koppel Rosa (Emma Dante) en Clara (Alba Rohrwacher, zus van regisseuse Alice, van wie nu La Meraviglia in de bioscoop loopt). Achter het stuur van de andere Fiat zit een kranige oma (Elena Cotta), die op haar beurt niet wil plooien. Er wordt veel getoeterd, er vallen veel scheldwoorden, maar geen van beide voertuigen beweegt ook maar één centimeter voor- of achteruit. En ook de buurt begint zich met het voorval te bemoeien. Deuren van huizen gaan open,passrende mensen staan stil en wonen het spektakel bij en vooral: iedereen kiest partij. Wat begint als een banaal voorval, eindigt in een vlijmscherpe maatschappijkritische film, waarin clichés waarheid worden, maar waarin er ook heel wat ongerijmdheden van het hedendaagse Italië boven komen drijven.

De cineaste Emma Dante neemt behoorlijk veel hooi op haar vork. Naast het draaien van de film, speelt zij ook de hoofdrol en schreef zowel het scenario van haar eigen roman Via Castellana Bandiera (trouwens de originele Italiaanse titel van de film). Je merkt wel dat Dante met plezier naar de grote voorbeelden uit de Italiaanse cinema lonkt (riep daar iemand Fellini?), maar daar mag ze eerder trots op zijn dan er zich voor te schamen. Op lichte wijze legt Una Via a Palermo onze eigen ziel bloot, want ook al zal iedereen het ontkennen,we zijn met zijn allen met plezier voyeurs. Tja, waarom zouden we anders naar films kijken? Una Via a Palermo is tegelijkertijd grappig, maar toont ook (op soms een pijnlijke manier) de tegenstellingen in de maatschappij. En indien je zou denken dat zo’n onderwerp alleen maar een langdradig verhaal kan opleveren, moet je de film gewoon maar eens in de lader leggen.

Una Via A Palermo is vanaf nu op dvd uit via Homescreen.

Didier BECU
22/02/2015


22/02/2015 : EMMA DANTE - Una Via A Palermo 22/02/2015 : EMMA DANTE - Una Via A Palermo 22/02/2015 : EMMA DANTE - Una Via A Palermo 22/02/2015 : EMMA DANTE - Una Via A Palermo 22/02/2015 : EMMA DANTE - Una Via A Palermo 22/02/2015 : EMMA DANTE - Una Via A Palermo 22/02/2015 : EMMA DANTE - Una Via A Palermo 22/02/2015 : EMMA DANTE - Una Via A Palermo 22/02/2015 : EMMA DANTE - Una Via A Palermo 22/02/2015 : EMMA DANTE - Una Via A Palermo 22/02/2015 : EMMA DANTE - Una Via A Palermo

 

Next reviews
JORAM LURSEN • Bloedlink
CRACKER • Berkeley to Bakersfield:
WALTER HILL • The Driver
STOCKHOLM MONSTERS • All At Once
ROBERT STROMBERG • Maleficent
PHILIP GLASS • Akhnaten (Antwerpen, Vlaamse Opera, 17/02/2015)
CIVILIAN • The Second
LARRY HEARD • Alien
• The Cazalets -The Complete Series
DENGUE FEVER • The Deepest Lake

 

Same combination of genres: COMEDY + DRAMA
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Nanni Moretti: Mia Madre
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Ole Giæver , Marte Vold: Out of Nature
MARCO FERRERI • La Grande Bouffe
MARC FORSTER • Stranger Than Fiction
CLAUDE SAUTET • Garçon
ANTONY BURNS • Home Sweet Hell
• SILICON VALLEY SEASON 1
PAOLO VIRZI • Il Capitale Umano
THOMAS CAILLEY • Les Combattants
MATTHEW WARCHUS • Pride

 

Same genre: COMEDY
A MIDSUMMER NIGHT'S DREAM • A modern adaption of Shakespeare's comedy play
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Barry Levinson: Rock The Kasbah
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Julian Jarrold: A Royal Night Out
JEFF BAENA • Life After Beth
RAYMOND DE FELITTA • Rob The Mob
JEAN-PAUL RAPPENEAU • Tout Feu, Tout Flamme
MAX LANDIS • American Ultra
ROY ANDERSSON • A Pigeon Sat On A Branch Reflecting On Existence
PHILIPPE LE GUAY • Les Femmes Du 6ième Etage
EDOUARD MOLINARO • Le Téléphone Rose

 

Same genre: DRAMA
NINA GROSSE • Das Wochenende/The Weekend
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Yuriy Bykov: Durak
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Andrew Haigh: 45 Years
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Jayro Bustamante: Ixcanul
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Radu Muntean: One Floor Below
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • László Nemes: Son Of Saul
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Joachim Trier: Louder Than Bombs
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Alejandro Amenábar: Regression
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Thomas Bidegain: Les Cowboys
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Helen Walsh: The Violators

Music reviews

04
12
MERZBOW
Screaming Dove
03
12
CABARET VOLTAIRE
Shadow Of Fear
02
12
DIVE
Where do we go from here
01
12
THE MARS MODEL
Sister Glory / Frozen in Time
26
11
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1
The Dread Files
25
11
FIRST
Restless

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

03
12
This month, 33 years ago Front Line Assembly released The Initial Command.
02
12
This month it’s 36 years ago Canadian industrial act Skinny Puppy released their very first EP Remission.
01
12
Russian Dark Community in search of new blood
01
12
50 years of Ruckzuck with Kraftwerk!
28
11
Today it's exactly 40 years since Siouxsie and the Banshees, released their Christmas single 'Israel'!
27
11
39 years of Don't You Want Me by The Human League

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing
31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

03
12
ALEX SKOLNICK (TESTAMENT, ALEX SKOLNICK TRIO)
'I was as knocked out as I was hearing Van Halen...'
14
11
PROYECTO MIRAGE
I Think We Needed A Break
21
10
DELERITAS
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... Deleritas!
20
10
WULF7
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... WÜLF7!
19
10
LISA GERRARD (DEAD CAN DANCE)
'I love the innocent dangers that can be experienced in musical performance...'

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

04
12
VIOLENCE
Illusions Vives
03
12
ORKESTRA OBSOLETE
Blue Monday
02
12
GROUND NERO
Plethora
01
12
EXIT STRATEGY
Dead Zone
30
11
DIVE
Black Star (Official Music Video)
30
11
POPTONE
Slice Of Life
29
11
CUELEBRE
Fodder for the raven