tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

22/02/2015 : EMMA DANTE - Una Via A Palermo

EMMA DANTE

Una Via A Palermo

Movie
ComedyDrama

[73/100]   

Homescreen
22/02/2015, Didier BECU

EN

Road rage has been the subject of many great films. Famous examples are Trafic (although, it is rather innocent) by Jacques Tati, or if you want it more in a Hollywood style: Changing Lanes by Roger Michell. A film that you can add to this strange category is Una Via A Palermo. Everything happens in Via Castellana Bandiera, a quiet alley where never happens anything. Two cars approach each other and are eventually bumper to bumper. None of the drivers is willing to put the gear in reverse so life can go on. In the Fiat Panda we see the couple Rosa (Emma Dante) and Clara (Alba Rohrwacher, the sister of director Alice who currently made La Meraviglia). Behind the wheel of the other Fiat we see a grandmother (Elena Cotta), who does not want to give an inch away either. There is a lot of honking, many epithets, but neither vehicle moves one inch forward or backward. The neighbourhood intervene: house doors are opened, transient people stop and attend the rage show, while everyone takes sides. What begins as a banal incident, ends in a sharp critique of society; clichés become truth and numerous inconsistencies in contemporary Italy come to the surface. Filmmaker Emma Dante doesn't take the easy option, because she not only directs the film, she also plays the lead role and she wrote the scenario of her own novel Via Castellana Bandiera (which by the way is also the original Italian title of the film). You notice that Dante looks up to the great examples of Italian cinema (anyone said Fellini?), but that is something to be proud of. In a way Una Via a Palermo exposes our own souls, because even though everyone will deny it, we are all a bit of a voyeur. Why else would we watch movies? Una Via a Palermo is funny, but it also shows (sometimes in a painful way) the contradictions of today’s society. And if you think that such an issue will lead to a long-winded story, better put the film in the player.

Una Via A Palermo is now on DVD via Homescreen.

Didier BECU
22/02/2015


NL

Verkeersagressie heeft al vaak voor knappe films gezorgd. Bekende voorbeelden zijn Trafic (alhoewel, eerder speels) van Jacques Tati of indien je het meer op zijn Hollywoods wil: Changing Lanes van Roger Michell. Een film die je aan deze vreemde categorie mag toevoegen is Una Via A Palermo. Alles gebeurt in de Via Castellana Bandiera, een rustig steegje waar eigenlijk nooit wat gebeurt. Twee auto's staan tegenover elkaar, bumper tegen bumper en niet één van de twee die er ook maar een seconde over denkt om de versnelling in achteruit te zetten zodat het leven zijn gang kan gaan. In de Fiat Panda zitten het koppel Rosa (Emma Dante) en Clara (Alba Rohrwacher, zus van regisseuse Alice, van wie nu La Meraviglia in de bioscoop loopt). Achter het stuur van de andere Fiat zit een kranige oma (Elena Cotta), die op haar beurt niet wil plooien. Er wordt veel getoeterd, er vallen veel scheldwoorden, maar geen van beide voertuigen beweegt ook maar één centimeter voor- of achteruit. En ook de buurt begint zich met het voorval te bemoeien. Deuren van huizen gaan open,passrende mensen staan stil en wonen het spektakel bij en vooral: iedereen kiest partij. Wat begint als een banaal voorval, eindigt in een vlijmscherpe maatschappijkritische film, waarin clichés waarheid worden, maar waarin er ook heel wat ongerijmdheden van het hedendaagse Italië boven komen drijven.

De cineaste Emma Dante neemt behoorlijk veel hooi op haar vork. Naast het draaien van de film, speelt zij ook de hoofdrol en schreef zowel het scenario van haar eigen roman Via Castellana Bandiera (trouwens de originele Italiaanse titel van de film). Je merkt wel dat Dante met plezier naar de grote voorbeelden uit de Italiaanse cinema lonkt (riep daar iemand Fellini?), maar daar mag ze eerder trots op zijn dan er zich voor te schamen. Op lichte wijze legt Una Via a Palermo onze eigen ziel bloot, want ook al zal iedereen het ontkennen,we zijn met zijn allen met plezier voyeurs. Tja, waarom zouden we anders naar films kijken? Una Via a Palermo is tegelijkertijd grappig, maar toont ook (op soms een pijnlijke manier) de tegenstellingen in de maatschappij. En indien je zou denken dat zo’n onderwerp alleen maar een langdradig verhaal kan opleveren, moet je de film gewoon maar eens in de lader leggen.

Una Via A Palermo is vanaf nu op dvd uit via Homescreen.

Didier BECU
22/02/2015


22/02/2015 : EMMA DANTE - Una Via A Palermo 22/02/2015 : EMMA DANTE - Una Via A Palermo 22/02/2015 : EMMA DANTE - Una Via A Palermo 22/02/2015 : EMMA DANTE - Una Via A Palermo 22/02/2015 : EMMA DANTE - Una Via A Palermo 22/02/2015 : EMMA DANTE - Una Via A Palermo 22/02/2015 : EMMA DANTE - Una Via A Palermo 22/02/2015 : EMMA DANTE - Una Via A Palermo 22/02/2015 : EMMA DANTE - Una Via A Palermo 22/02/2015 : EMMA DANTE - Una Via A Palermo 22/02/2015 : EMMA DANTE - Una Via A Palermo

 

Next reviews
JORAM LURSEN • Bloedlink
CRACKER • Berkeley to Bakersfield:
WALTER HILL • The Driver
STOCKHOLM MONSTERS • All At Once
ROBERT STROMBERG • Maleficent
PHILIP GLASS • Akhnaten (Antwerpen, Vlaamse Opera, 17/02/2015)
CIVILIAN • The Second
LARRY HEARD • Alien
• The Cazalets -The Complete Series
DENGUE FEVER • The Deepest Lake

 

Same combination of genres: COMEDY + DRAMA
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Nanni Moretti: Mia Madre
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Ole Giæver , Marte Vold: Out of Nature
MARCO FERRERI • La Grande Bouffe
MARC FORSTER • Stranger Than Fiction
CLAUDE SAUTET • Garçon
ANTONY BURNS • Home Sweet Hell
• SILICON VALLEY SEASON 1
PAOLO VIRZI • Il Capitale Umano
THOMAS CAILLEY • Les Combattants
MATTHEW WARCHUS • Pride

 

Same genre: COMEDY
A MIDSUMMER NIGHT'S DREAM • A modern adaption of Shakespeare's comedy play
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Barry Levinson: Rock The Kasbah
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Julian Jarrold: A Royal Night Out
JEFF BAENA • Life After Beth
RAYMOND DE FELITTA • Rob The Mob
JEAN-PAUL RAPPENEAU • Tout Feu, Tout Flamme
MAX LANDIS • American Ultra
ROY ANDERSSON • A Pigeon Sat On A Branch Reflecting On Existence
PHILIPPE LE GUAY • Les Femmes Du 6ième Etage
EDOUARD MOLINARO • Le Téléphone Rose

 

Same genre: DRAMA
NINA GROSSE • Das Wochenende/The Weekend
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Yuriy Bykov: Durak
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Andrew Haigh: 45 Years
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Jayro Bustamante: Ixcanul
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Radu Muntean: One Floor Below
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • László Nemes: Son Of Saul
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Joachim Trier: Louder Than Bombs
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Alejandro Amenábar: Regression
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Thomas Bidegain: Les Cowboys
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Helen Walsh: The Violators

Music reviews

20
09
JE T'AIME
Je T'aime
05
09
FOXY
X-Ray Spex Tribute
04
09
GRENDEL
Ascending The Abyss
03
09
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Hellraiser
03
09
W - FEST, AUG 18TH 2019
24
08
MEAGER BENEFITS
Crawling

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

22
09
Today it’s been exactly 27 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
21
09
Industrial/Metal Band DECENT NEWS Announces The Release Of 'Monolith'
20
09
Warish streaming forthcoming full length debut ahead of release
19
09
Such Beautiful Flowers premières first video from upcoming Wool-E Tapes release.
06
09
KLONE RELEASE NEW SINGLE “HIDDEN PASSENGER” FROM FORTHCOMING ALBUM LE GRAND VOYAGE
05
09
Industrial Rock Band CHMCL STR8JCKT Signs To Cleopatra Records - Wrtchd Thngs Album Details Revealed

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

21
09
BRIAN JAMES(THE DAMNED,THE LORDS OF THE NEW CHURCH)
'If it’s something that comes from your heart – you can do whatever you want do to!'
19
09
CHMCL STR8JCKT
An Interview With Chmcl Str8jckt
11
09
NOTNOTICE
I Like When There Are Noise Collages In The Music
08
09
ALEXA HUNTER(DISTURBED FURNITURE)
'Love or hate us, we are gonna kick out the jams while we still can!'
06
09
DAVID WM.SIMS(UNFACT,THE JESUS LIZARD,SCRATCH ACID)
'We had a great personal chemistry within the band!'

PHOTOS

22
09
WHISPERING SONS
Liege New Wave Festival
22
09
ASH CODE
Liege New Wave Festival
22
09
DARK SIDE EONS
Liege New Wave Festival
21
09
SISTERS OF MERCY
The Roundhouse London
21
09
AMENRA
The Roundhouse London
18
09
NEAR METH EXPERIENCE
Zappa Antwerpen
17
09
WAYNE HUSSEY SALAD DAZE TOUR
Movie Bielefeld

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

23
09
COIL
Bang Bang
22
09
THE AMATORY MURDER
The Deadliest Rose
21
09
AESTHETIC PERFECTION
Love Like Lies
20
09
ROSARUBEA
Window Pain
19
09
THE UNDERTONES
Teenage Kicks
18
09
MIEL NOIR
L’ennemi
17
09
PRECIOUS CHILD
My Little Problem