tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

22/02/2015 : EMMA DANTE - Una Via A Palermo

EMMA DANTE

Una Via A Palermo

Movie
ComedyDrama

[73/100]   

Homescreen
22/02/2015, Didier BECU

EN

Road rage has been the subject of many great films. Famous examples are Trafic (although, it is rather innocent) by Jacques Tati, or if you want it more in a Hollywood style: Changing Lanes by Roger Michell. A film that you can add to this strange category is Una Via A Palermo. Everything happens in Via Castellana Bandiera, a quiet alley where never happens anything. Two cars approach each other and are eventually bumper to bumper. None of the drivers is willing to put the gear in reverse so life can go on. In the Fiat Panda we see the couple Rosa (Emma Dante) and Clara (Alba Rohrwacher, the sister of director Alice who currently made La Meraviglia). Behind the wheel of the other Fiat we see a grandmother (Elena Cotta), who does not want to give an inch away either. There is a lot of honking, many epithets, but neither vehicle moves one inch forward or backward. The neighbourhood intervene: house doors are opened, transient people stop and attend the rage show, while everyone takes sides. What begins as a banal incident, ends in a sharp critique of society; clichés become truth and numerous inconsistencies in contemporary Italy come to the surface. Filmmaker Emma Dante doesn't take the easy option, because she not only directs the film, she also plays the lead role and she wrote the scenario of her own novel Via Castellana Bandiera (which by the way is also the original Italian title of the film). You notice that Dante looks up to the great examples of Italian cinema (anyone said Fellini?), but that is something to be proud of. In a way Una Via a Palermo exposes our own souls, because even though everyone will deny it, we are all a bit of a voyeur. Why else would we watch movies? Una Via a Palermo is funny, but it also shows (sometimes in a painful way) the contradictions of today’s society. And if you think that such an issue will lead to a long-winded story, better put the film in the player.

Una Via A Palermo is now on DVD via Homescreen.

Didier BECU
22/02/2015


NL

Verkeersagressie heeft al vaak voor knappe films gezorgd. Bekende voorbeelden zijn Trafic (alhoewel, eerder speels) van Jacques Tati of indien je het meer op zijn Hollywoods wil: Changing Lanes van Roger Michell. Een film die je aan deze vreemde categorie mag toevoegen is Una Via A Palermo. Alles gebeurt in de Via Castellana Bandiera, een rustig steegje waar eigenlijk nooit wat gebeurt. Twee auto's staan tegenover elkaar, bumper tegen bumper en niet één van de twee die er ook maar een seconde over denkt om de versnelling in achteruit te zetten zodat het leven zijn gang kan gaan. In de Fiat Panda zitten het koppel Rosa (Emma Dante) en Clara (Alba Rohrwacher, zus van regisseuse Alice, van wie nu La Meraviglia in de bioscoop loopt). Achter het stuur van de andere Fiat zit een kranige oma (Elena Cotta), die op haar beurt niet wil plooien. Er wordt veel getoeterd, er vallen veel scheldwoorden, maar geen van beide voertuigen beweegt ook maar één centimeter voor- of achteruit. En ook de buurt begint zich met het voorval te bemoeien. Deuren van huizen gaan open,passrende mensen staan stil en wonen het spektakel bij en vooral: iedereen kiest partij. Wat begint als een banaal voorval, eindigt in een vlijmscherpe maatschappijkritische film, waarin clichés waarheid worden, maar waarin er ook heel wat ongerijmdheden van het hedendaagse Italië boven komen drijven.

De cineaste Emma Dante neemt behoorlijk veel hooi op haar vork. Naast het draaien van de film, speelt zij ook de hoofdrol en schreef zowel het scenario van haar eigen roman Via Castellana Bandiera (trouwens de originele Italiaanse titel van de film). Je merkt wel dat Dante met plezier naar de grote voorbeelden uit de Italiaanse cinema lonkt (riep daar iemand Fellini?), maar daar mag ze eerder trots op zijn dan er zich voor te schamen. Op lichte wijze legt Una Via a Palermo onze eigen ziel bloot, want ook al zal iedereen het ontkennen,we zijn met zijn allen met plezier voyeurs. Tja, waarom zouden we anders naar films kijken? Una Via a Palermo is tegelijkertijd grappig, maar toont ook (op soms een pijnlijke manier) de tegenstellingen in de maatschappij. En indien je zou denken dat zo’n onderwerp alleen maar een langdradig verhaal kan opleveren, moet je de film gewoon maar eens in de lader leggen.

Una Via A Palermo is vanaf nu op dvd uit via Homescreen.

Didier BECU
22/02/2015


22/02/2015 : EMMA DANTE - Una Via A Palermo 22/02/2015 : EMMA DANTE - Una Via A Palermo 22/02/2015 : EMMA DANTE - Una Via A Palermo 22/02/2015 : EMMA DANTE - Una Via A Palermo 22/02/2015 : EMMA DANTE - Una Via A Palermo 22/02/2015 : EMMA DANTE - Una Via A Palermo 22/02/2015 : EMMA DANTE - Una Via A Palermo 22/02/2015 : EMMA DANTE - Una Via A Palermo 22/02/2015 : EMMA DANTE - Una Via A Palermo 22/02/2015 : EMMA DANTE - Una Via A Palermo 22/02/2015 : EMMA DANTE - Una Via A Palermo

 

Next reviews
JORAM LURSEN • Bloedlink
CRACKER • Berkeley to Bakersfield:
WALTER HILL • The Driver
STOCKHOLM MONSTERS • All At Once
ROBERT STROMBERG • Maleficent
PHILIP GLASS • Akhnaten (Antwerpen, Vlaamse Opera, 17/02/2015)
CIVILIAN • The Second
LARRY HEARD • Alien
• The Cazalets -The Complete Series
DENGUE FEVER • The Deepest Lake

 

Same combination of genres: COMEDY + DRAMA
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Nanni Moretti: Mia Madre
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Ole Giæver , Marte Vold: Out of Nature
MARCO FERRERI • La Grande Bouffe
MARC FORSTER • Stranger Than Fiction
CLAUDE SAUTET • Garçon
ANTONY BURNS • Home Sweet Hell
• SILICON VALLEY SEASON 1
PAOLO VIRZI • Il Capitale Umano
THOMAS CAILLEY • Les Combattants
MATTHEW WARCHUS • Pride

 

Same genre: COMEDY
A MIDSUMMER NIGHT'S DREAM • A modern adaption of Shakespeare's comedy play
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Barry Levinson: Rock The Kasbah
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Julian Jarrold: A Royal Night Out
JEFF BAENA • Life After Beth
RAYMOND DE FELITTA • Rob The Mob
JEAN-PAUL RAPPENEAU • Tout Feu, Tout Flamme
MAX LANDIS • American Ultra
ROY ANDERSSON • A Pigeon Sat On A Branch Reflecting On Existence
PHILIPPE LE GUAY • Les Femmes Du 6ième Etage
EDOUARD MOLINARO • Le Téléphone Rose

 

Same genre: DRAMA
NINA GROSSE • Das Wochenende/The Weekend
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Yuriy Bykov: Durak
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Andrew Haigh: 45 Years
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Jayro Bustamante: Ixcanul
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Radu Muntean: One Floor Below
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • László Nemes: Son Of Saul
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Joachim Trier: Louder Than Bombs
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Alejandro Amenábar: Regression
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Thomas Bidegain: Les Cowboys
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Helen Walsh: The Violators

Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
08
Futurepop Act, Voicecoil Reflects On Strange Days With New Album
14
08
Darkwave Duo, Male Tears Addresses Nightlife Hypocrisy & Abuse With New Single
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 35 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
09
08
Electronic Band She 1 - Him 2 Addresses Breaking Free With New Single
08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

17
08
SISTERS OF MERCY
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
17
08
THE MISSION
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
SCHANDMAUL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
ROTERSAND
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
VNV NATION CLASSICAL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
COMBICHRIST
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

19
08
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE
Kali's Tongue
18
08
CASPIAN
Arcs of Command
17
08
FIELDS OF THE NEPHILIM
Moonchild
16
08
0KONTROL
Lullaby
15
08
AUSTRA
Utopia
14
08
THE SMITHS
There Is A Light That Never Goes Out
13
08
DRAB MAJESTY
39 By Design