tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

11/02/2016 : EMOTIKON - Two Of A Kind

EMOTIKON

Two Of A Kind

MusicCD
PopSynth Pop / Electro Pop

[60/100]   

TimeZone
11/02/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Day after day, say hour by hour, we talk about alternative music on our pages. But is there something wrong with pop music? If you're nodding yes, then we recommend you to read the next review right away, because the German synth pop duo Emotikon makes pure pop music! The compositions of Tom Tron and Natalie Malladi Rao have one goal: to make you dance and to give you a melody that lingers in your head, the rest is completely irrelevant.

Emotikon is the musical project of Tom Tron: a music composer for video games. And that's what you get! Do not expect complicated structures. Everything is simple and it is clear that the duo loves commercial synthpop such as Pet Shop Boys or Erasure.

The result has a mixed up quality. Do It Like The Birds is as stupid as The Birdy Song, but Die Alone has the potential to become a hit.

The group has no problem to sound kitschy, and even though Emotikon is less refined, Stereo Total stays a reference. Emotikon’s music will not be to everybody's taste. The songs are a little too simple, but if you’re keen on commercial pop, then you certainly will find some nice songs on Two Of A Kind.

Didier BECU
11/02/2016


NL

Dag in dag uit, zeg maar uur na uur, bespreken we alternatieve muziek. Maar is er iets mis met popmuziek? Als je ja knikt, raden we je aan om maar meteen door te klikken naar de volgende recensie omdat het Duitse synthpopduo Emotikon schaamteloos popmuziek maakt! De composities van Tom Tron en Natalie Malladi-Rao hebben maar één doel: je moet erop dansen en de melodie moet in je hoofd blijven hangen, de rest is van geen enkel belang.

Emotikon is het muzikale project van Tom Tron: een muziekontwerper voor videospelletjes. En dat hoor je in de composities van zijn band. Verwacht geen ingewikkelde structuren, alles is eenvoudig (maar wel vakkundig) en het is duidelijk dat het duo een grote liefde heeft voor commerciële synthpop zoals van Pet Shop Boys of Erasure.

Het resultaat is wat wisselvallig. Een song als Do It Like The Birds is ronduit onnozel en geen haar beter dan de vogeltjesdans van De Electronica’s, maar Die Alone heeft bijv. alle troeven om een hit te worden.

De groep heeft er ook geen probleem mee om kitscherig te klinken, en ook al is Emotikon minder geraffineerd, blijft Stereo Total een referentie. Emotikons muziek zal niet bij iedereen in de smaak vallen, daarvoor zijn de composities net iets te simpel, maar wie dol is op commerciële pop zal op Two Of A Kind zeker en vast een paar leuke songs vinden.

Didier BECU
11/02/2016


Music reviews

10
01
THE MARS MODEL
Primal Urge
10
01
ELM
Penetrator
09
01
THE JUGGERNAUTS
Fear
09
01
DE DELVERS
Hart in neonlicht
20
12
TC75
5th
19
12
THE GODFATHERS
ALPHA BETA GAMMA DELTA (2022)

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

07
02
Johnathan|Christian Addresses Rejection & Resilience With New EP
07
02
Gimme Danger | The Stooges Raw Power Is 50-Today!
06
02
On this day, 41 years ago, the Kraftwerk single ‘The Model’ reached the Top 1 of the UK Singles Chart!
05
02
Plastic Passion | This Day 43 Years Ago, The Cure Release Boys Don’t Cry!
05
02
33 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Lightningman
04
02
Gold Star Punk | The Ramones End Of The Century At 43!

Concert reviews

02
11
AKALOTZ - DREADFOOL - DELERITAS - WULF7
EBM NIGHT IN LIEGE...
05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

22
12
DERISION CULT
An Interview With Dave McAnally of Derision Cult
16
12
OK LION
I didn't convince Patrick Codenys to work with us, it was his idea!
30
11
THE JUGGERNAUTS
Let’s leave the love dramas and (fake) feel good theme to pop music and the brain dead Tik-Tok generation.
28
11
MONSTERGOD
With their most recent release “Ozymandias” Monstergod prove that dark sounds and poetry may go hand in hand to reach the effect that is both mesmerizing and dynamic in the most excellent hard-hitting way.
29
10
PSY'AVIAH
Wanting to have everything under control is problematic, as is wanting to have nothing under control.

PHOTOS

05
02
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Matrix Bochum
05
02
JAN REVOLUTION
Matrix Bochum
30
01
THE RESIDENTS
Botanique Brussel
23
01
NITZER EBB JOIN THE FORCES TOUR 23
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen
23
01
FRONT 242 JOIN THE FORCES TOUR 23
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen
23
01
LIEBKNECHT JOIN THE FORCES TOUR 23
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen
01
01
NNHMN
In Between Days Meschede Stadthalle

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

07
02
SELOFAN
Sto Skotadi
06
02
FRONTMASCHINE
EXP9
05
02
AFFET ROBOT
Fırtına
04
02
DEPECHE MODE
Never Let Me Down again
03
02
SCHULTZ
Rats In The Sewers
02
02
NACHTFALTER
Maschinenklang
01
02
THE KLINIK
Face To Face