tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

11/02/2016 : EMOTIKON - Two Of A Kind

EMOTIKON

Two Of A Kind

MusicCD
PopSynth Pop / Electro Pop

[60/100]   

TimeZone
11/02/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Day after day, say hour by hour, we talk about alternative music on our pages. But is there something wrong with pop music? If you're nodding yes, then we recommend you to read the next review right away, because the German synth pop duo Emotikon makes pure pop music! The compositions of Tom Tron and Natalie Malladi Rao have one goal: to make you dance and to give you a melody that lingers in your head, the rest is completely irrelevant.

Emotikon is the musical project of Tom Tron: a music composer for video games. And that's what you get! Do not expect complicated structures. Everything is simple and it is clear that the duo loves commercial synthpop such as Pet Shop Boys or Erasure.

The result has a mixed up quality. Do It Like The Birds is as stupid as The Birdy Song, but Die Alone has the potential to become a hit.

The group has no problem to sound kitschy, and even though Emotikon is less refined, Stereo Total stays a reference. Emotikon’s music will not be to everybody's taste. The songs are a little too simple, but if you’re keen on commercial pop, then you certainly will find some nice songs on Two Of A Kind.

Didier BECU
11/02/2016


NL

Dag in dag uit, zeg maar uur na uur, bespreken we alternatieve muziek. Maar is er iets mis met popmuziek? Als je ja knikt, raden we je aan om maar meteen door te klikken naar de volgende recensie omdat het Duitse synthpopduo Emotikon schaamteloos popmuziek maakt! De composities van Tom Tron en Natalie Malladi-Rao hebben maar één doel: je moet erop dansen en de melodie moet in je hoofd blijven hangen, de rest is van geen enkel belang.

Emotikon is het muzikale project van Tom Tron: een muziekontwerper voor videospelletjes. En dat hoor je in de composities van zijn band. Verwacht geen ingewikkelde structuren, alles is eenvoudig (maar wel vakkundig) en het is duidelijk dat het duo een grote liefde heeft voor commerciële synthpop zoals van Pet Shop Boys of Erasure.

Het resultaat is wat wisselvallig. Een song als Do It Like The Birds is ronduit onnozel en geen haar beter dan de vogeltjesdans van De Electronica’s, maar Die Alone heeft bijv. alle troeven om een hit te worden.

De groep heeft er ook geen probleem mee om kitscherig te klinken, en ook al is Emotikon minder geraffineerd, blijft Stereo Total een referentie. Emotikons muziek zal niet bij iedereen in de smaak vallen, daarvoor zijn de composities net iets te simpel, maar wie dol is op commerciële pop zal op Two Of A Kind zeker en vast een paar leuke songs vinden.

Didier BECU
11/02/2016


Music reviews

05
07
JAYE JAYLE
PRISYN
03
07
PORTION CONTROL
Head Buried
02
07
AIMA & THE ILLUSION OF SILENCE
Music for certain rituals
28
06
VARIOUS ARTISTS
PERIHELION 2134
24
06
COLD IN MAY
Isolation songs
19
06
UNITCODE:MACHINE
Paper empires

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

07
07
Darkwave Band STYKFAKTOR Reveals New Single, 'Distance' - An Emotional Struggle With Social Distancing
07
07
FRONT 242's Daniel B. celebrate his 66th birthday with the release of 6+6
04
07
Industrial Band RIOTLEGION Announces The Release Of Machine Liberation
03
07
I Wanted To Tell Her by Ministry turns 37 years this month!
15
06
Today it’s exactly 41 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
11
06
29 years of Kraftwerk in The Mix

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

06
07
J.ROBBINS
'When someone has a song and they’re struggling about - what’s the best way to present it...'
04
07
LAIBACH
When they banned Laibach, we said 'great, let's move further'!
27
06
BURTON C.BELL (FEAR FACTORY, ASCENSION OF THE WATCHERS )
'It all comes from my head – whatever I’m feeling, whatever I’m thinking of.'
27
06
RODNEY ORPHEUS / THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
I Think I’m Still As Revolutionary And Opinionated As Ever...
25
06
THE COLOURS OF SILENCE
Isolation Is Good For Art. Embrace It And Use It

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

07
07
KDF
Innocence
06
07
SNOG
Spätzle Machine
06
07
THE HORRORIST
The Horrorist - One Night In New York City (Uncensored)(Chris Liebing Remix)
05
07
GOLDFRAPP
Winter Wonderland
04
07
LORDS OF ACID
I Sit On Acid
03
07
DEAD CAN DANCE
Eleusis
02
07
LIAISONS DANGEREUSES
Los niños del parque