tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

11/02/2016 : EMOTIKON - Two Of A Kind

EMOTIKON

Two Of A Kind

MusicCD
PopSynth Pop / Electro Pop

[60/100]   

TimeZone
11/02/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Day after day, say hour by hour, we talk about alternative music on our pages. But is there something wrong with pop music? If you're nodding yes, then we recommend you to read the next review right away, because the German synth pop duo Emotikon makes pure pop music! The compositions of Tom Tron and Natalie Malladi Rao have one goal: to make you dance and to give you a melody that lingers in your head, the rest is completely irrelevant.

Emotikon is the musical project of Tom Tron: a music composer for video games. And that's what you get! Do not expect complicated structures. Everything is simple and it is clear that the duo loves commercial synthpop such as Pet Shop Boys or Erasure.

The result has a mixed up quality. Do It Like The Birds is as stupid as The Birdy Song, but Die Alone has the potential to become a hit.

The group has no problem to sound kitschy, and even though Emotikon is less refined, Stereo Total stays a reference. Emotikon’s music will not be to everybody's taste. The songs are a little too simple, but if you’re keen on commercial pop, then you certainly will find some nice songs on Two Of A Kind.

Didier BECU
11/02/2016


NL

Dag in dag uit, zeg maar uur na uur, bespreken we alternatieve muziek. Maar is er iets mis met popmuziek? Als je ja knikt, raden we je aan om maar meteen door te klikken naar de volgende recensie omdat het Duitse synthpopduo Emotikon schaamteloos popmuziek maakt! De composities van Tom Tron en Natalie Malladi-Rao hebben maar één doel: je moet erop dansen en de melodie moet in je hoofd blijven hangen, de rest is van geen enkel belang.

Emotikon is het muzikale project van Tom Tron: een muziekontwerper voor videospelletjes. En dat hoor je in de composities van zijn band. Verwacht geen ingewikkelde structuren, alles is eenvoudig (maar wel vakkundig) en het is duidelijk dat het duo een grote liefde heeft voor commerciële synthpop zoals van Pet Shop Boys of Erasure.

Het resultaat is wat wisselvallig. Een song als Do It Like The Birds is ronduit onnozel en geen haar beter dan de vogeltjesdans van De Electronica’s, maar Die Alone heeft bijv. alle troeven om een hit te worden.

De groep heeft er ook geen probleem mee om kitscherig te klinken, en ook al is Emotikon minder geraffineerd, blijft Stereo Total een referentie. Emotikons muziek zal niet bij iedereen in de smaak vallen, daarvoor zijn de composities net iets te simpel, maar wie dol is op commerciële pop zal op Two Of A Kind zeker en vast een paar leuke songs vinden.

Didier BECU
11/02/2016


Music reviews

26
01
FIX8:SED8
The Inevitable Relapse (Limited Edition)
25
01
POUPPEE FABRIKK
Burn Forever
23
01
STURM CAFE
Fernes Land
18
01
DISTANT VOICES
Long Road to Home
17
01
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Mechanical Soul
16
01
IMPLANT
Phantom Pain

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
01
Exactly 43 years ago, Joy Division played their very first concert!
24
01
Today, exactly 30 years ago Front 242 released the album Tyranny ▶For You◀
24
01
Today, 3 years ago, Mark E. Smith, singer of legendary post-punk band The Fall died, aged 60
22
01
On this day, 11 years ago, Nitzer Ebb released their sixth studio album Industrial Complex!
21
01
Today, exactly 28 years ago, Ministry released Just One Fix!
19
01
On this day, 30 years ago (19 January 1991), The Cure performed at The Great British Music Awards!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'
05
12
CEVIN KEY (SKINNY PUPPY, DOWNLOAD)
'It really has been like the formation of a new band in a lot of ways...'
03
12
ALEX SKOLNICK (TESTAMENT, ALEX SKOLNICK TRIO)
'I was as knocked out as I was hearing Van Halen...'
14
11
PROYECTO MIRAGE
I Think We Needed A Break

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

26
01
CHICKS ON SPEED
Utopia
25
01
STRONG PRODUCT
Trolleybus Park
24
01
BUZZ KULL
Last in the club
23
01
KALTE NACHT
Voices in silence
22
01
SYNAPTIC DEFECT
Tacky games
21
01
ROB ZOMBIE
The Triumph of King Freak (A Crypt of Preservation and Superstition)
20
01
NEW ORDER
True Faith