tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

11/02/2016 : EMOTIKON - Two Of A Kind

EMOTIKON

Two Of A Kind

MusicCD
PopSynth Pop / Electro Pop

[60/100]   

TimeZone
11/02/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Day after day, say hour by hour, we talk about alternative music on our pages. But is there something wrong with pop music? If you're nodding yes, then we recommend you to read the next review right away, because the German synth pop duo Emotikon makes pure pop music! The compositions of Tom Tron and Natalie Malladi Rao have one goal: to make you dance and to give you a melody that lingers in your head, the rest is completely irrelevant.

Emotikon is the musical project of Tom Tron: a music composer for video games. And that's what you get! Do not expect complicated structures. Everything is simple and it is clear that the duo loves commercial synthpop such as Pet Shop Boys or Erasure.

The result has a mixed up quality. Do It Like The Birds is as stupid as The Birdy Song, but Die Alone has the potential to become a hit.

The group has no problem to sound kitschy, and even though Emotikon is less refined, Stereo Total stays a reference. Emotikon’s music will not be to everybody's taste. The songs are a little too simple, but if you’re keen on commercial pop, then you certainly will find some nice songs on Two Of A Kind.

Didier BECU
11/02/2016


NL

Dag in dag uit, zeg maar uur na uur, bespreken we alternatieve muziek. Maar is er iets mis met popmuziek? Als je ja knikt, raden we je aan om maar meteen door te klikken naar de volgende recensie omdat het Duitse synthpopduo Emotikon schaamteloos popmuziek maakt! De composities van Tom Tron en Natalie Malladi-Rao hebben maar één doel: je moet erop dansen en de melodie moet in je hoofd blijven hangen, de rest is van geen enkel belang.

Emotikon is het muzikale project van Tom Tron: een muziekontwerper voor videospelletjes. En dat hoor je in de composities van zijn band. Verwacht geen ingewikkelde structuren, alles is eenvoudig (maar wel vakkundig) en het is duidelijk dat het duo een grote liefde heeft voor commerciële synthpop zoals van Pet Shop Boys of Erasure.

Het resultaat is wat wisselvallig. Een song als Do It Like The Birds is ronduit onnozel en geen haar beter dan de vogeltjesdans van De Electronica’s, maar Die Alone heeft bijv. alle troeven om een hit te worden.

De groep heeft er ook geen probleem mee om kitscherig te klinken, en ook al is Emotikon minder geraffineerd, blijft Stereo Total een referentie. Emotikons muziek zal niet bij iedereen in de smaak vallen, daarvoor zijn de composities net iets te simpel, maar wie dol is op commerciële pop zal op Two Of A Kind zeker en vast een paar leuke songs vinden.

Didier BECU
11/02/2016


Music reviews

28
09
THIS VALE OF TEARS
This Vale Of Tears
24
09
KMFDM
Hyena
23
09
DEMI LOVATO
HOLY FVCK
22
09
MISERIA ULTIMA
Witch Heart Apparition
20
09
SYGO CRIES
In Outside Places
19
09
PARADOX OBSCUR
Intercourse

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
09
Today, exactly 35 years ago The Klinik released 'Plague'!
24
09
DIE KRUPPS members' side project, DIE ROBO SAPIENS, launches debut album in October!
23
09
Dark electronic artist SINE addresses alternate reality with new EP, Mantis 2
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 30 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
18
09
Industrial Band 40 Octaves Below Brings Retribution In 'Splintered'
07
09
A Slice Of Life releases new album Tabula Rasa on 23rd September

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

28
09
SHE 1 - HIM 2
Interview with electronic duo, She 1 - Him 2
14
09
LIA HIDE
Lia Hide & The Plato-Inspired New Album - An Interview
08
09
JOSIE PACE
Interview with Josie Pace
05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'

PHOTOS

28
09
FADERHEAD
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen E-Tropolis Festival
27
09
GRENDEL
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen E-Tropolis Festival
27
09
VANGUARD
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen E-Tropolis Festival
27
09
SYNTHATTACK
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen E-Tropolis Festival
27
09
AGENT SIDE GRINDER
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen E-Tropolis Festival
27
09
THE JOKE JAY
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen E-Tropolis Festival
27
09
AESTHETIC PERFECTION
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen E-Tropolis Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

29
09
MYSTERY ART ORCHESTRA
Enjoy The Violence
28
09
BLANCMANGE
Don't Tell Me
27
09
DOWNLOAD
Glassblower (Official music video)
26
09
TAINA
Seelenfresser
25
09
RAMMSTEIN
Sonne
24
09
KRAFTWERK
The Robots (Live, 2004)
23
09
TEARS & MARBLE
Outsiders