tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

11/02/2016 : EMOTIKON - Two Of A Kind

EMOTIKON

Two Of A Kind

MusicCD
PopSynth Pop / Electro Pop

[60/100]   

TimeZone
11/02/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Day after day, say hour by hour, we talk about alternative music on our pages. But is there something wrong with pop music? If you're nodding yes, then we recommend you to read the next review right away, because the German synth pop duo Emotikon makes pure pop music! The compositions of Tom Tron and Natalie Malladi Rao have one goal: to make you dance and to give you a melody that lingers in your head, the rest is completely irrelevant.

Emotikon is the musical project of Tom Tron: a music composer for video games. And that's what you get! Do not expect complicated structures. Everything is simple and it is clear that the duo loves commercial synthpop such as Pet Shop Boys or Erasure.

The result has a mixed up quality. Do It Like The Birds is as stupid as The Birdy Song, but Die Alone has the potential to become a hit.

The group has no problem to sound kitschy, and even though Emotikon is less refined, Stereo Total stays a reference. Emotikon’s music will not be to everybody's taste. The songs are a little too simple, but if you’re keen on commercial pop, then you certainly will find some nice songs on Two Of A Kind.

Didier BECU
11/02/2016


NL

Dag in dag uit, zeg maar uur na uur, bespreken we alternatieve muziek. Maar is er iets mis met popmuziek? Als je ja knikt, raden we je aan om maar meteen door te klikken naar de volgende recensie omdat het Duitse synthpopduo Emotikon schaamteloos popmuziek maakt! De composities van Tom Tron en Natalie Malladi-Rao hebben maar één doel: je moet erop dansen en de melodie moet in je hoofd blijven hangen, de rest is van geen enkel belang.

Emotikon is het muzikale project van Tom Tron: een muziekontwerper voor videospelletjes. En dat hoor je in de composities van zijn band. Verwacht geen ingewikkelde structuren, alles is eenvoudig (maar wel vakkundig) en het is duidelijk dat het duo een grote liefde heeft voor commerciële synthpop zoals van Pet Shop Boys of Erasure.

Het resultaat is wat wisselvallig. Een song als Do It Like The Birds is ronduit onnozel en geen haar beter dan de vogeltjesdans van De Electronica’s, maar Die Alone heeft bijv. alle troeven om een hit te worden.

De groep heeft er ook geen probleem mee om kitscherig te klinken, en ook al is Emotikon minder geraffineerd, blijft Stereo Total een referentie. Emotikons muziek zal niet bij iedereen in de smaak vallen, daarvoor zijn de composities net iets te simpel, maar wie dol is op commerciële pop zal op Two Of A Kind zeker en vast een paar leuke songs vinden.

Didier BECU
11/02/2016


 

Next reviews
RISE • Resilience
BLUTENGEL • Nemesis
THE FALL • Wise Ol' Man
GLENN LOVE • (R)age Electric (EP)
SCHONWALD, WINTER SEVERITY INDEX, STARCONTROL, PHANTOM LOVE, IL PULSIVO • Brussels, Botanique (06/02/2016)
ASH CODE • Posthuman
KARL BARTOS • Communication
ORGAN • Tetro
THOMAS KÖNER • Tiento de la Luz
THE BESNARD LAKES • A Coliseum Complex Museum

 

Other reviews from EMOTIKON
EMOTIKON • Remixes
EMOTIKON • Emotikon

 

Same combination of genres: POP + SYNTH POP / ELECTRO POP
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
PARRALOX • Subculture
CAISARON • Reflection
NINA K. • On Ice
TRUE ZEBRA • True Zebra
ERASURE • Tomorrow's World (Deluxe Edition)
CELLULOIDE • Ordinosaure
WELLE:ERDBALL • Der Kalte Krieg
SILENT CIRCLE • No 1
SECTION 25 • Invicta EP

 

Same genre: POP
LISA MORGENSTERN • Chameleon
TYCHO BRAHE • Triplex [Complete]
FORMER BULLIES • Stranger
NINE MILLION WITCHES • The Rapture
AGNES OBEL • Citizen Of Glass
NOSOUND • Scintilla
GRACE JONES • Warm Leatherette
LEVEL 42 • Mechelen, Maanrock (28/08/2016)
A LINN THING • Mechelen, Maanrock (27/08/2016)
LALALOVER • Rijmenam, Rijmrock (20/08/2016)

 

Same genre: SYNTH POP / ELECTRO POP
HER OWN WORLD • A Different Kind Of Reality
AUGER • Insurgence
UNITCODE:MACHINE • Paper empires
COLD IN MAY • Koma:Redux
SHE HATES EMOTIONS • See The Light (Single)
LUCKY AND LOVE • Transitions
LADYTRON • Ladytron
SIMI NAH • La Terre est Noire
JOHN FOXX • METAMATIC (2018 BOX)
VOGON POETRY • Life, The Universe and Everything

Music reviews

19
10
DREADFOOL
Atoms for peace
18
10
ANNA VON HAUSSWOLFF
All Thoughts Fly Sweden
17
10
FATAL CASUALTIES
Lullaby for Helsinki
16
10
JESU
When I Was Small
12
10
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Mindstrip Redux
09
10
PORTION CONTROL
SEED EP1

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

17
10
Electronic/Alternative Artist CARVR Unleashes Debut Single & Visualizer, 'Erase Me'
16
10
SAMMI DOLL Releases Official Music Video for 'AN OM IE'
09
10
Baby Turns Blue and 38 today!
08
10
'Deathgaze' Band VAZUM Unleashes Halloween-Themed Album, 'Rated V'
07
10
20 years of Mindstrip by Suicide Commando!
06
10
New MOTOR!K album MOTOR!K - 2 - Out Now!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing
31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

19
10
LISA GERRARD(DEAD CAN DANCE)
'I love the innocent dangers that can be experienced in musical performance...'
18
10
SERAPHIM SYSTEM
A Glorious Return To Form
17
10
DREADFOOL
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... DREADFOOL!
16
10
AKALOTZ
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... AKALOTZ!
26
09
THIS ETERNAL DECAY
In The Early Days We Spent More Time Drinking And Partying Rather Than Playing

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

20
10
CHAMELEONS VOX
Swamp Thing
19
10
SALLY DIGE
Holding On
18
10
A DARKER COLOR BRIGHT
Fluorescent
17
10
EYE STEAL
Burn Alive
16
10
PIETER VERMEYEN
Deep Into The Woods
15
10
PLASTIC NOISE EXPERIENCE
Gold (Live at WGT 2014)
14
10
FRONT 242
Headhunter (Live @ AB, Brussels 01.12.2017)