tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd single review

06/11/2015 : EMPORIUM - Gloomy Shadows

EMPORIUM

Gloomy Shadows

MusicCD single
PopPsychedelic

[72/100]   

Whimsical Records
06/11/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

It takes some time before you get used to the music of Emporium. You could describe it as psychedelic pop from the 60s. Ewan McKenzie, who comes from Edinburgh, currently works in London. At the moment he is making a mini album and he’s looking for a band to do gigs with.

On this single we hear the normal and instrumental version. Not that there is much difference between the regular and the single version. The single is just about 40 seconds shorter. It's a nice song with a lot of variety and a catchy melody.

The vocals are typically 60s, as well as the way the instruments are used. Drums, organ and bass sound very vintage. Musically, it's very well done, and although it doesn’t sound really hip, the song stays in your head. A top for lovers of this type of music; the others better stay away from this.

Wim GUILLEMYN
06/11/2015


NL

Het is even wennen aan de muziek van Emporium. Je zou ze kunnen omschrijven als psychedelische pop uit de jaren 60. De uit Edinburgh afkomstige componist en producer Ewan McKenzie werkt tegenwoordig vanuit London. Hij maakt momenteel een mini album en zoekt tevens een band om op te treden.

Op deze single horen we de normale en de instrumentale versie. Niet dat er veel verschil is tussen de reguliere en de singleversie. De single is gewoon iets bondiger en is een 40-tal seconden korter. Het is een fijn nummer met veel afwisseling en een melodie dat vrij opgewekt en catchy klinkt.

De zang is erg in de jaren 60 gedrenkt, alsook de manier waarop het instrumentarium wordt gebruikt. De drums, het orgel en de basklanken klinken heel vintage. Muzikaal zit het wel erg goed in elkaar, en alhoewel het nooit echt hip klinkt, blijft het wel in je hoofd hangen. Een tip voor de liefhebbers van dit soort producties; wat de anderen betreft zou ik zeggen: uit de buurt blijven.

Wim GUILLEMYN
06/11/2015


06/11/2015 : EMPORIUM - Gloomy Shadows 06/11/2015 : EMPORIUM - Gloomy Shadows

Music reviews

14
06
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES
Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
13
06
DEF ROBOT
Makers Of Mountains
04
06
THIS CAN HURT
Worlds Apart
03
06
RADERKRAFT
Smart Control
02
06
MASSIVE EGO
Church For The Malfunctioned
01
06
VUKOVAR
Cremator

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
06
Today it’s exactly 40 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
03
06
Today, 41 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!
29
05
UK's Electronic-Pop Band EMPATHY TEST Announce The Release of EMPTY-HANDED EP
16
05
45 years of Diamond Dogs (David Bowie)
15
05
On this day, 29 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
14
05
'Locating Silver Lake' out on DVD today!

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

15
06
KENNEY JONES
'There's always an element of doubt in anything you do'
23
05
JAKE BURNS (STIFF LITTLE FINGERS)
'We were writing a songs about our own rights'
22
05
TREHA SEKTORI
‘I Have A Feeling Of Constant Dissatisfaction, So I'll Get Back To Work To Make It Better’
10
05
APSURDE
No Matter What We Do, We Will Always Sound Like Depeche Mode
09
05
ANDY GILL (GANG OF FOUR)
'You never expect Gang of Four to be very optimistic.Do you ?'

PHOTOS

16
06
WAPPENBUND
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
16
06
PANTSER FABRIEK
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
RIOTMILOO
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
ASHTORETH
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
FOR GREATER GOOD
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
AGONOIZE
Agra, WGT Leipzig
12
06
VELVET ACID CHRIST
Agra, WGT Leipzig

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

17
06
LEVITIKA
Zombie Barbie
16
06
WHITE ZOMBIE
More Human Than Human
15
06
KARIN PARK
Hurricane
14
06
AUSTRA
I Love You More Than You Love Yourself
13
06
FACTICE FACTORY
L'Aurore
12
06
SOWULU
Ginnungagap
11
06
SHE PAST AWAY
Katarsis