tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd single review

06/11/2015 : EMPORIUM - Gloomy Shadows

EMPORIUM

Gloomy Shadows

MusicCD single
PopPsychedelic

[72/100]   

Whimsical Records
06/11/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

It takes some time before you get used to the music of Emporium. You could describe it as psychedelic pop from the 60s. Ewan McKenzie, who comes from Edinburgh, currently works in London. At the moment he is making a mini album and he’s looking for a band to do gigs with.

On this single we hear the normal and instrumental version. Not that there is much difference between the regular and the single version. The single is just about 40 seconds shorter. It's a nice song with a lot of variety and a catchy melody.

The vocals are typically 60s, as well as the way the instruments are used. Drums, organ and bass sound very vintage. Musically, it's very well done, and although it doesn’t sound really hip, the song stays in your head. A top for lovers of this type of music; the others better stay away from this.

Wim GUILLEMYN
06/11/2015


NL

Het is even wennen aan de muziek van Emporium. Je zou ze kunnen omschrijven als psychedelische pop uit de jaren 60. De uit Edinburgh afkomstige componist en producer Ewan McKenzie werkt tegenwoordig vanuit London. Hij maakt momenteel een mini album en zoekt tevens een band om op te treden.

Op deze single horen we de normale en de instrumentale versie. Niet dat er veel verschil is tussen de reguliere en de singleversie. De single is gewoon iets bondiger en is een 40-tal seconden korter. Het is een fijn nummer met veel afwisseling en een melodie dat vrij opgewekt en catchy klinkt.

De zang is erg in de jaren 60 gedrenkt, alsook de manier waarop het instrumentarium wordt gebruikt. De drums, het orgel en de basklanken klinken heel vintage. Muzikaal zit het wel erg goed in elkaar, en alhoewel het nooit echt hip klinkt, blijft het wel in je hoofd hangen. Een tip voor de liefhebbers van dit soort producties; wat de anderen betreft zou ik zeggen: uit de buurt blijven.

Wim GUILLEMYN
06/11/2015


06/11/2015 : EMPORIUM - Gloomy Shadows 06/11/2015 : EMPORIUM - Gloomy Shadows

Music reviews

16
11
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO
Let's Play (Two girls and a goat)
12
11
TWIN TRIBES
Ceremony
31
10
BLAC KOLOR
Nephi
24
10
ROGER C.REALE & RUE MORGUE
The Collection
23
10
KIM GORDON
No Home Record
19
10
THE BLACK WATCH
Magic Johnson

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

14
11
Today, 30 years The Mind Is A Terrible Thing To Taste by Ministry!
13
11
Today, 41 years ago, Siouxsie & The Banshees released their debut album Scream!
13
11
Today, 38 years ago, New Order released its debut album Movement!
12
11
Exclusive Belgian NITZER EBB clubshow at De Casino - St-Niklaas - B
11
11
THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX released GRENADE 2019 REMASTER
10
11
AMPHI FESTIVAL 2020 releases third band wave with Mesh, Zeromancer & many more

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

02
11
UNDERTHESKIN
Try To Leave The Listener In A Certain Reflection, And Maybe Bring Some Kind Of Relief
01
11
MIKE WATT(JUMPSTARTED PLOWHARDS)
In a way, the project is a total collaboration!
26
10
MICHAEL GIRA(SWANS)
'Having a strong presence of death in your mind all the time is very healthy thing!'
25
10
PAUL Q.KOLDERIE
'There has to be a song that I feel needs to be recorded…'
14
10
JAMES MCGREGOR (THE CLOCKWORKS)
'Our dynamic is genuinely a gang scenario'

PHOTOS

14
11
DEINE LAKAIEN HELIUM VOLA VELJANOV
Christuskirche Bochum
14
11
MORGAN KING
B52 music club
13
11
STORY OFF
B52 music club
13
11
N TALES
B52 music club
11
11
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Magasin 4 Bruxelles
11
11
AMBASSADOR 21
Magasin 4 Bruxelles
11
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH!!
Magasin 4 Bruxelles

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

17
11
ALISON MOYET
Other
16
11
ROSARUBEA
A Blue Bird in a Scarlet Spring
15
11
DER KLINKE
My Frozen Heart
14
11
KELUAR
Volition
13
11
HEILUNG
Krigsgaldr
12
11
STOCKHAUSSEN
Mi siniestro
11
11
FIGURE AND CODE PANDORUM
RedRum