tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd single review

06/11/2015 : EMPORIUM - Gloomy Shadows

EMPORIUM

Gloomy Shadows

MusicCD single
PopPsychedelic

[72/100]   

Whimsical Records
06/11/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

It takes some time before you get used to the music of Emporium. You could describe it as psychedelic pop from the 60s. Ewan McKenzie, who comes from Edinburgh, currently works in London. At the moment he is making a mini album and he’s looking for a band to do gigs with.

On this single we hear the normal and instrumental version. Not that there is much difference between the regular and the single version. The single is just about 40 seconds shorter. It's a nice song with a lot of variety and a catchy melody.

The vocals are typically 60s, as well as the way the instruments are used. Drums, organ and bass sound very vintage. Musically, it's very well done, and although it doesn’t sound really hip, the song stays in your head. A top for lovers of this type of music; the others better stay away from this.

Wim GUILLEMYN
06/11/2015


NL

Het is even wennen aan de muziek van Emporium. Je zou ze kunnen omschrijven als psychedelische pop uit de jaren 60. De uit Edinburgh afkomstige componist en producer Ewan McKenzie werkt tegenwoordig vanuit London. Hij maakt momenteel een mini album en zoekt tevens een band om op te treden.

Op deze single horen we de normale en de instrumentale versie. Niet dat er veel verschil is tussen de reguliere en de singleversie. De single is gewoon iets bondiger en is een 40-tal seconden korter. Het is een fijn nummer met veel afwisseling en een melodie dat vrij opgewekt en catchy klinkt.

De zang is erg in de jaren 60 gedrenkt, alsook de manier waarop het instrumentarium wordt gebruikt. De drums, het orgel en de basklanken klinken heel vintage. Muzikaal zit het wel erg goed in elkaar, en alhoewel het nooit echt hip klinkt, blijft het wel in je hoofd hangen. Een tip voor de liefhebbers van dit soort producties; wat de anderen betreft zou ik zeggen: uit de buurt blijven.

Wim GUILLEMYN
06/11/2015


06/11/2015 : EMPORIUM - Gloomy Shadows 06/11/2015 : EMPORIUM - Gloomy Shadows

Music reviews

28
09
THIS VALE OF TEARS
This Vale Of Tears
24
09
KMFDM
Hyena
23
09
DEMI LOVATO
HOLY FVCK
22
09
MISERIA ULTIMA
Witch Heart Apparition
20
09
SYGO CRIES
In Outside Places
19
09
PARADOX OBSCUR
Intercourse

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
09
Today, exactly 35 years ago The Klinik released 'Plague'!
24
09
DIE KRUPPS members' side project, DIE ROBO SAPIENS, launches debut album in October!
23
09
Dark electronic artist SINE addresses alternate reality with new EP, Mantis 2
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 30 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
18
09
Industrial Band 40 Octaves Below Brings Retribution In 'Splintered'
07
09
A Slice Of Life releases new album Tabula Rasa on 23rd September

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

29
09
KEVORKIAN DEATH CYCLE
An interview with Kevorkian Death Cycle
28
09
SHE 1 - HIM 2
Interview with electronic duo, She 1 - Him 2
14
09
LIA HIDE
Lia Hide & The Plato-Inspired New Album - An Interview
08
09
JOSIE PACE
Interview with Josie Pace
05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music

PHOTOS

01
10
SHE WANTS REVENGE
Into the Dark - Zonhoven
01
10
KORINTHIANS
Into the Dark - Zonhoven
01
10
THE STRANGLERS
Depot Leuven
01
10
SOVJET WAR
Depot Leuven
01
10
PETER HOOK AND THE LIGHT
La Madeleine Brussel
01
10
A SLICE OF LIFE
Djingel Djangel
01
10
CLAN OF XYMOX
Kulttempel Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

04
10
DER BLUTHARSCH AND THE INFINITE CHURCH OF THE LEADING HAND
O Lord
03
10
OAKTREE
La Fin
02
10
SHADOW TAMER
Shadow Tamer
01
10
INNERWOUD
Grashelm
30
09
PROJECT PITCHFORK
Titanes
29
09
MYSTERY ART ORCHESTRA
Enjoy The Violence
28
09
BLANCMANGE
Don't Tell Me