tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd single review

06/11/2015 : EMPORIUM - Gloomy Shadows

EMPORIUM

Gloomy Shadows

MusicCD single
PopPsychedelic

[72/100]   

Whimsical Records
06/11/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

It takes some time before you get used to the music of Emporium. You could describe it as psychedelic pop from the 60s. Ewan McKenzie, who comes from Edinburgh, currently works in London. At the moment he is making a mini album and he’s looking for a band to do gigs with.

On this single we hear the normal and instrumental version. Not that there is much difference between the regular and the single version. The single is just about 40 seconds shorter. It's a nice song with a lot of variety and a catchy melody.

The vocals are typically 60s, as well as the way the instruments are used. Drums, organ and bass sound very vintage. Musically, it's very well done, and although it doesn’t sound really hip, the song stays in your head. A top for lovers of this type of music; the others better stay away from this.

Wim GUILLEMYN
06/11/2015


NL

Het is even wennen aan de muziek van Emporium. Je zou ze kunnen omschrijven als psychedelische pop uit de jaren 60. De uit Edinburgh afkomstige componist en producer Ewan McKenzie werkt tegenwoordig vanuit London. Hij maakt momenteel een mini album en zoekt tevens een band om op te treden.

Op deze single horen we de normale en de instrumentale versie. Niet dat er veel verschil is tussen de reguliere en de singleversie. De single is gewoon iets bondiger en is een 40-tal seconden korter. Het is een fijn nummer met veel afwisseling en een melodie dat vrij opgewekt en catchy klinkt.

De zang is erg in de jaren 60 gedrenkt, alsook de manier waarop het instrumentarium wordt gebruikt. De drums, het orgel en de basklanken klinken heel vintage. Muzikaal zit het wel erg goed in elkaar, en alhoewel het nooit echt hip klinkt, blijft het wel in je hoofd hangen. Een tip voor de liefhebbers van dit soort producties; wat de anderen betreft zou ik zeggen: uit de buurt blijven.

Wim GUILLEMYN
06/11/2015


06/11/2015 : EMPORIUM - Gloomy Shadows 06/11/2015 : EMPORIUM - Gloomy Shadows

Music reviews

20
11
METROLAND
Memorabilia & Memorabilia The Remixes
19
11
THE SISTERS OF MERCY
First And Last And Always
18
11
THE COCKY BITCHES
MERCY
17
11
ALIEN VAMPIRES
Evil Twin Ep
16
11
DAVID J
Crocodile Tears And The Velvet Cosh (Reissue)
15
11
KLANGWELT
The Incident

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

21
11
Dark Entity | In The Flat Field At Thirty-Eight
20
11
Artificial Adolescents | The X-Ray Spex Masterpiece Turns 40
19
11
New PALAIS IDEAL single and video clip with unique choreography by Burning Bridges!
19
11
'Write When You Get Work' in theaters this weekend!
18
11
New album by BORGHESIA - Proti kapitulaciji (Against Capitulation) - Out now!
17
11
Rise Of The Robots | Autobahn Reaches 44-Years

Concert reviews

16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018
24
09
MODELE MARTIAL - AUTOPSIE D'UNE OMBRE - IAMTHESHADOW
B52 - Eernegem - 14/09/2018
14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

19
11
THE NAMES
We're lucky to have everyone still alive and well, unlike many of our friends of Factory records.
17
11
DAVE INOX
I Am Never One Hundred Percent Happy With The Result Of My Works
15
11
RUSSIAN DARK COMMUNITY
New groups are always good, it is better to discover something new than to listen to what is already advertised on every site for the hundredth time.
13
11
HIDDEN FIGURES
Interview with the US newcomers 'Hidden Figures'
11
11
CAUSTIC
The Way America Is At The Moment I Realized I Needed To Say Some Things

PHOTOS

10
11
SIGLO XX
Breaking Barriers, Depot Leuven
02
11
LENE LOVICH BAND
B52 Eernegem
02
11
MORGAN KING
B52 Eernegem
02
11
KIRSTEN MORRISON
B52 Eernegem
23
10
VNV NATION + HOLYGRAM
De Casino - St. Niklaas
16
10
STIN SCATZOR
Le Garage Luik
16
10
DOGANOV
Le Garage Luik

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

21
11
SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES
Halloween
20
11
JO QUAIL
Gold
19
11
DARKHER
Ghost Tears
18
11
BLEIB MODERN
Paper Skin
17
11
PETER BJARGO (ARCANA)
To Replace My Sadness (preview 2016)
16
11
VARSOVIE
Killing Anna
15
11
SRSQ
Permission