tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd single review

06/11/2015 : EMPORIUM - Gloomy Shadows

EMPORIUM

Gloomy Shadows

MusicCD single
PopPsychedelic

[72/100]   

Whimsical Records
06/11/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

It takes some time before you get used to the music of Emporium. You could describe it as psychedelic pop from the 60s. Ewan McKenzie, who comes from Edinburgh, currently works in London. At the moment he is making a mini album and he’s looking for a band to do gigs with.

On this single we hear the normal and instrumental version. Not that there is much difference between the regular and the single version. The single is just about 40 seconds shorter. It's a nice song with a lot of variety and a catchy melody.

The vocals are typically 60s, as well as the way the instruments are used. Drums, organ and bass sound very vintage. Musically, it's very well done, and although it doesn’t sound really hip, the song stays in your head. A top for lovers of this type of music; the others better stay away from this.

Wim GUILLEMYN
06/11/2015


NL

Het is even wennen aan de muziek van Emporium. Je zou ze kunnen omschrijven als psychedelische pop uit de jaren 60. De uit Edinburgh afkomstige componist en producer Ewan McKenzie werkt tegenwoordig vanuit London. Hij maakt momenteel een mini album en zoekt tevens een band om op te treden.

Op deze single horen we de normale en de instrumentale versie. Niet dat er veel verschil is tussen de reguliere en de singleversie. De single is gewoon iets bondiger en is een 40-tal seconden korter. Het is een fijn nummer met veel afwisseling en een melodie dat vrij opgewekt en catchy klinkt.

De zang is erg in de jaren 60 gedrenkt, alsook de manier waarop het instrumentarium wordt gebruikt. De drums, het orgel en de basklanken klinken heel vintage. Muzikaal zit het wel erg goed in elkaar, en alhoewel het nooit echt hip klinkt, blijft het wel in je hoofd hangen. Een tip voor de liefhebbers van dit soort producties; wat de anderen betreft zou ik zeggen: uit de buurt blijven.

Wim GUILLEMYN
06/11/2015


06/11/2015 : EMPORIUM - Gloomy Shadows 06/11/2015 : EMPORIUM - Gloomy Shadows

Music reviews

15
02
QUAL
Cyber Care
14
02
0KONTROL
3RDEYE2NDHAND
12
02
LIEBKNECHT
ICE over Erfurt
11
02
THE SPECIALS
Encore
02
02
PRINCIPE VALIENTE
Choirs of Blessed Youth
20
01
DEAD HIGH WIRE
Pray for us

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
02
This month it’s been 23 years since Ministry released their cover version of Bob Dylan’s ‘Lay Lady Lay’!
15
02
This February, it's 32 years since Kraftwerk released 'The Telephone Call / Der Telefon-Anruf'.
14
02
One year ago Peek-a-Boo and Black Easter founder Ward De Prins passed away...
14
02
Today, exactly 40 years ago, John Peel broadcast the first Peel Sessions, performed by Joy Division
13
02
In The Light | Happy Birthday Peter Hook!
12
02
Producer/composer Phil Western (Download/PlatEAU/...) passed way on Saturday 9 February.

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

16
02
THE ARCH
Living healthy can be pretty stressful
16
02
EVI VINE
'..I am a human being taking one step forward-two steps back like everyone else'
15
02
MORTAJA
It Always Has Been My Dream And I'm Enjoying It A Lot
13
02
MONICA RICHARDS
I always felt out of step with the Modern world, ever since I was a child, I do even more so now.
09
02
SIMON SCOTT (SLOWDIVE)
'We've always wanted to have a say in our production.'

PHOTOS

10
02
LORDS OF ACID
YAP Leopoldsburg
20
12
COVENANT
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
LEAETHER STRIP
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
AGENT SIDE GRINDER
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
GERTRUD STEIN
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
NZ
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
STAHLR
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

16
02
WULFBAND
Gewalt!
15
02
UNDERVIEWER
Nobody But You (Redux)
14
02
CLAN OF XYMOX
Obsession
13
02
CROONA
Bleed For Me (Official Video Mix)
12
02
COMBICHRIST
My Life My Rules
11
02
SLOVENSKA TELEVIZA
Muskiz
11
02
ALVAR
The Fluid