tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

08/08/2011 : EMPUSAE & SHINKIRO - Organic Aural Ornaments

EMPUSAE & SHINKIRO

Organic Aural Ornaments

MusicCD
AmbientFolk / Ethnic / Tribal

[90/100]   
08/08/2011, Chris KONINGS

EN

Most people should have at least heard of Empusae, the ambient tribal project from Nicolas Van Meirhaeghe. Close to celebrating his tenth birthday he made this new album as a collaboration with Shinkiro. Shinkiro (Manabu Hiramoto) finds himself in that same music style with an emphasis on spiritual ambient as opposed to the haunted rhythms of Sal-Ocin. His previous albums (Deep Blue and Way Of The Gods) were released on Athanor and besides Shinkiro he also works under the name of Kotodama with whom he made one solo album and one together with Contagious Orgasm.

Shinkiro is the main contributor here, with mainly cinematographic soundscapes that are sometimes accompanied by rhythm sections. As you would expect from the album title it sounds very organic. Imagine a mild version of Lustmord's Heresy or Aube with his manipulations of nature.

The album is divided into six ornaments, the second one reminding me of the psychedelic ambient of Brainquake. Soft tribal percussion is added on the next composition so that it builds up in such a way that you become completely engulfed. By the time you reach the last song it feels like there's electricity in the air and you need to remember to breathe from time to time, it's that stunning! Very minimal but at the same time a rich sound, less is more... Van Der Rohe's is proven right again.

Salt's artwork is spot on with dewdrops clinging to nearly invisible cobwebs. Imagine being surrounded by the cold touch of that... A truly exquisite album that sticks to your every limb!

Chris KONINGS
08/08/2011


NL

De Nederlandstalige versie vind je hier: Dark Entries Magazine.

Chris KONINGS
08/08/2011


Music reviews

27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment
09
06
CELESTIAL NORTH
When The Gods Dance
12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

29
06
Canadian Label Dem Modest Kids Unveils Into The Coldwave Compilation Highlighting Alberta - Based Alternative Artists
29
06
Dark Pop Artist Lia Hide Addresses Emotional Struggle With Plato-Inspired LP
28
06
Ayria releases new single Irreplaceable on Artoffact Records
28
06
The Number H Explores Loss & Regret With New EP, 'The Conditioning'
16
06
44 years ago Suicide performed their legendary '23 minutes over Brussels'!
15
06
Roobanok: new talent on SkyQode

Concert reviews

14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

29
06
VNV NATION
Sinner's Day Oostende
29
06
PUBLI IMAGE LIMITED
Sinner's Day Oostende
29
06
NITZER EBB
Sinner's Day Oostende
29
06
TALK TO HER
Sinner's Day Oostende
29
06
DIARY OF DREAMS
Sinner's Day Oostende
29
06
DISORIENTATIONS
Sinner's Day Oostende
29
06
IST IST
Sinner's Day Oostende

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

30
06
FIRST HATE
White Heron
29
06
THIS CAN HURT
High Tide
28
06
GUS GUS
Deep Inside
27
06
MOTOR!K
Stunden (Official Visualizer)
27
06
SEA OF SIN
Synchronize
27
06
MERCIFUL NUNS
Lightwaves
26
06
AMBASSADOR21
FUCKALLSYSTEMS