tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

24/06/2012 : EMPUSAE - Symbiosis

EMPUSAE

Symbiosis

MusicCD
Dark AmbientIndustrial

[75/100]   

Ant-Zen
24/06/2012, Chris KONINGS

Merely changing labels was'nt enough for Nicolas Van Meirhaeghe (Empusae), his new album sees more collaborations then he has ever done. He previously worked with Nick Grey and beside him Sal-Ocin now gets assistance from Ordo Rosarius Equilibrio, Arcana, In Slaughter Natives and vocalist Christel Morvan. In the interview I had with him he mentioned he needed a new challenge, maybe the great result with Shinkiro (Organic Aural Ornaments) convinced him to further explore this direction...

First song "One Of The Same" is with both ORE singers, a style I'm not exactly a fan of. The electronics are like his old work with some Shinkiro leftovers for the intro sounds. Nothing to get excited about so far... The silent piano melodies, softer drums and violins give "Deceivious Water" a very intimate character. The dark whispers and voice of Peter Bjärgö and soprano voices of Ann-Mari Thim and Cecilia Bjärgö add that gothic, neoclassical touch. A beautiful song that's not unneccesary long like the previous one.

Now forget about intimacy because next in line is In Slaughter Natives! Frightening whispers and a slow build-up of pitchblack tribal ambient makes your reviewer very happy! I was worried when I heard the first song, but Empusae can still make anyone tremble. Next up is the freezing water of "La Rivière Noire", female whispers, running water, rain on a glass window... I can feel temperatures dropping! We take refuge from the rain in a deserted building, shuffling our way trough years of dust. These sounds you hear on "Seven Types Of Ambiguity" and the gentle piano with Nick Grey's soft voice are perfect for this scenery.

Who would've thought that I would ever here distant Cure guitars on a Empusae album? Well I admit they're very distant, along with soft percussion and other rumblings it's a perfect ending on "Krazilec", the only solo effort on Symbiosis. Maybe it's not as cohesive as "Error 404", but it's a worthy experiment from Empusae. Well I was'nt THAT worried you know... It's still the usual standard of quality.

Chris KONINGS
24/06/2012


 

Next reviews
NEWCLEAR WAVES • Newclear Waves
OYAARSS • Bads
VITA NOCTIS • Against The Rule
MENTALLO & THE FIXER • Associated Projects: Benestrophe, Mainesthai, Polyhedron ‎– A Collection Of Rare, Unreleased & Remastered
SONAR • Cut Us Up
A.S. SWANSKI • Electro Noir
ACCESS TO ARASAKA • Orbitus
MY SHADOW CONSPIRACY • A Cesspool Of Desires
LOST IN DESIRE • Reborn From The Ashes
OLDSCHOOL UNION • Älä ole, elä

 

Other reviews from EMPUSAE
EMPUSAE • Iter In Tenebris
EMPUSAE • Sphere From The Woods

 

Same combination of genres: DARK AMBIENT + INDUSTRIAL
DEUTSCH NEPAL • Dystopian Partycollection II
VERNEY 1826 • The Ghosts Of Yesterday
KOMMANDO • Skull Snake
DEUTSCH NEPAL • Alcohology
SUPERSIMMETRIA • Kosmogonie
MILLIPEDE • A Mist And A Vapor
HYDRONE • Chronos
JOB KARMA • Review of the concert at the BIM Fest in Antwerp on 14 December 2012
EMBERS • Lichtzwart
ISZOLOSCOPE • The Edge Of Certainty

 

Same genre: DARK AMBIENT
PETER BJARGO (ARCANA) • Structures and Downfall
ACRETONGUE • Ghost Nocturne
UNIDENTIFIED MAN • Memento Mori
ANNINA MELISSA • Exhibition of Death
HA:PEOPLE 355 • One Bear, Two Bicycles And One Xylophone
IVANKOVA • Ivankovà EP
NADJA • The Stone is Not Hit By The Sun, Nor Carved With A Knife
NICK CAVE AND THE BAD SEEDS • Skeleton Tree
DARKHER • Realms
GRIMBERGEN • The Passing Of Time

 

Same genre: INDUSTRIAL
BLAC KOLOR • Nephi
AIMAPROJECT • Di AimA Il Segno
GRENDEL • Ascending The Abyss
XTORT • Nothing is real
HOCICO • Artificial Extinction
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
GROOVENOM • Wir müssen reden
NEON ELECTRONICS • Apollo
VARIOUS ARTISTS • A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION
DIVE • Live Maschinenfest 2017

Music reviews

03
12
THE HERESY GENE
La Luz Del Padre
28
11
PETER BJARGO (ARCANA)
Structures and Downfall
27
11
PLASTIKSTROM
Beton Gegen Angst
23
11
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES
AESTUARIUM
19
11
PSY'AVIAH
Soul Searching
17
11
DAGEIST
Sexy

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

11
12
The Mission - The United European Party Tour 2020
10
12
Postpunk pioneers The Membranes and Kitty Lectro team up for stunning 'Nocturnal' EP
10
12
Los Angeles Synth Act More Ephemerol Debuts New Single, 'Cult Classics'
10
12
On this day, 40 years ago John Peel broadcasted Joy Division's 2nd Peel Sessions!
09
12
40 Years Of 20 Jazz Funk Greats!
08
12
Today, 41 years ago, Public Image released its debut album First issue!

Concert reviews

25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

09
12
FIX8:SED8
I Could Talk About The Wonder That Is Skinny Puppy For Hours
29
11
TREVOR DUNN (MR.BUNGLE,FANTOMAS, TRIO-CONVULSANT...)
'The hard thing to do is to keep it simple.'
24
11
DEAD HIGH WIRE
‘Dead High Wire Did Not Like To Be Categorized In One Box’
02
11
UNDERTHESKIN
Try To Leave The Listener In A Certain Reflection, And Maybe Bring Some Kind Of Relief
01
11
MIKE WATT(JUMPSTARTED PLOWHARDS)
In a way, the project is a total collaboration!

PHOTOS

09
12
MARK E MOON
Sportkafee Waregem
06
12
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
04
12
NEAR EARTH ORBIT
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
03
12
DASSWAT
C.C. Palethe Pelt
03
12
DIVE
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
03
12
THE DEVIL AND THE UNIVERSE
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
03
12
CLAN OF XYMOX
Gleiss 22 Münster Germany

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

12
12
AN PIERLE
The Golden Dawn
11
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE
Death by completion
10
12
A SPLIT-SECOND
Mambo Witch
09
12
PROJECT PITCHFORK
Titanes
08
12
REVOLTING COCKS (THE)
Beer, Steers and Queers
07
12
VAST
Touched
07
12
MOTOR!K
Static