tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

24/06/2012 : EMPUSAE - Symbiosis

EMPUSAE

Symbiosis

MusicCD
Dark AmbientIndustrial

[75/100]   

Ant-Zen
24/06/2012, Chris KONINGS

Merely changing labels was'nt enough for Nicolas Van Meirhaeghe (Empusae), his new album sees more collaborations then he has ever done. He previously worked with Nick Grey and beside him Sal-Ocin now gets assistance from Ordo Rosarius Equilibrio, Arcana, In Slaughter Natives and vocalist Christel Morvan. In the interview I had with him he mentioned he needed a new challenge, maybe the great result with Shinkiro (Organic Aural Ornaments) convinced him to further explore this direction...

First song "One Of The Same" is with both ORE singers, a style I'm not exactly a fan of. The electronics are like his old work with some Shinkiro leftovers for the intro sounds. Nothing to get excited about so far... The silent piano melodies, softer drums and violins give "Deceivious Water" a very intimate character. The dark whispers and voice of Peter Bjärgö and soprano voices of Ann-Mari Thim and Cecilia Bjärgö add that gothic, neoclassical touch. A beautiful song that's not unneccesary long like the previous one.

Now forget about intimacy because next in line is In Slaughter Natives! Frightening whispers and a slow build-up of pitchblack tribal ambient makes your reviewer very happy! I was worried when I heard the first song, but Empusae can still make anyone tremble. Next up is the freezing water of "La Rivière Noire", female whispers, running water, rain on a glass window... I can feel temperatures dropping! We take refuge from the rain in a deserted building, shuffling our way trough years of dust. These sounds you hear on "Seven Types Of Ambiguity" and the gentle piano with Nick Grey's soft voice are perfect for this scenery.

Who would've thought that I would ever here distant Cure guitars on a Empusae album? Well I admit they're very distant, along with soft percussion and other rumblings it's a perfect ending on "Krazilec", the only solo effort on Symbiosis. Maybe it's not as cohesive as "Error 404", but it's a worthy experiment from Empusae. Well I was'nt THAT worried you know... It's still the usual standard of quality.

Chris KONINGS
24/06/2012


 

Next reviews
NEWCLEAR WAVES • Newclear Waves
OYAARSS • Bads
VITA NOCTIS • Against The Rule
MENTALLO & THE FIXER • Associated Projects: Benestrophe, Mainesthai, Polyhedron ‎– A Collection Of Rare, Unreleased & Remastered
SONAR • Cut Us Up
A.S. SWANSKI • Electro Noir
ACCESS TO ARASAKA • Orbitus
MY SHADOW CONSPIRACY • A Cesspool Of Desires
LOST IN DESIRE • Reborn From The Ashes
OLDSCHOOL UNION • Älä ole, elä

 

Other reviews from EMPUSAE
EMPUSAE • Sphere From The Woods

 

Same combination of genres: DARK AMBIENT + INDUSTRIAL
DEUTSCH NEPAL • Dystopian Partycollection II
VERNEY 1826 • The Ghosts Of Yesterday
KOMMANDO • Skull Snake
DEUTSCH NEPAL • Alcohology
SUPERSIMMETRIA • Kosmogonie
MILLIPEDE • A Mist And A Vapor
HYDRONE • Chronos
JOB KARMA • Review of the concert at the BIM Fest in Antwerp on 14 December 2012
EMBERS • Lichtzwart
ISZOLOSCOPE • The Edge Of Certainty

 

Same genre: DARK AMBIENT
ACRETONGUE • Ghost Nocturne
UNIDENTIFIED MAN • Memento Mori
ANNINA MELISSA • Exhibition of Death
HA:PEOPLE 355 • One Bear, Two Bicycles And One Xylophone
IVANKOVA • Ivankovà EP
NADJA • The Stone is Not Hit By The Sun, Nor Carved With A Knife
NICK CAVE AND THE BAD SEEDS • Skeleton Tree
DARKHER • Realms
GRIMBERGEN • The Passing Of Time
MORBUS M. • Fight Or Die

 

Same genre: INDUSTRIAL
XTORT • Nothing is real
HOCICO • Artificial Extinction
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
GROOVENOM • Wir müssen reden
NEON ELECTRONICS • Apollo
VARIOUS ARTISTS • A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION
DIVE • Live Maschinenfest 2017
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Eye On You (Feat. Robert Görl)
KLANGWELT • The Incident
FOXXXY MULDER • Heretic

Music reviews

17
08
STATIQBLOOM
Asphyxia
16
08
STAATSEINDE
Dreiheit
15
08
L'AVENIR
Requiem And Live
14
08
PETER GUNDRY
V Ö L U R
13
08
AIMA
Haiku Irregolari In Forma Di Musica
12
08
AUGER
From Now On I

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

14
08
Electro-Industrial artist SPANKTHENUN reveals their MIND CONTROL EP & Leaether Strip Remix Visualizer
13
08
Zeroes, the new single of M73
12
08
Post-Punk Act VAZUM Releases Video For Their Cover of BAUHAUS' 'She's In Parties'
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 32 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
09
08
JO QUAIL LAUNCHES NEW RECORD LABEL ADDERSTONE RECORDS
07
08
CHELSEA announce European Tour in September

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

15
08
SPANKTHENUN
An Interview With Electro-Industrial Artist SPANKTHENUN
13
08
AHMED SALEH ABOUT EXPERIMENTAL/INDUSTRIAL MUSIC IN AFRICA
People Here Can Get Arrested Because Of Something They Posted On Social Media!
12
08
SINTHETIK MESSIAH
An Interview With Industrial Bass Artist SINthetik Messiah
10
08
THE BRUTE:
An Interview With Synthpop Act THE BRUTE:
09
08
VAZUM
An Interview With Dark Rock Act VAZUM

PHOTOS

14
08
SECRET GARDEN
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
13
08
TRISOMIE 21
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
12
08
GRAND BLANC
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
12
08
WE ARE WAVES
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
10
08
MOTOR!K
De Smoutpot Zwijndrecht
09
08
ALLEZ ALLEZ
Fonne Feesten Lokeren
09
08
RED ZEBRA
Fonne Feesten Lokeren

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

21
08
NEW MODEL ARMY
Never Arriving
20
08
FORCED TO MODE
NEVER LET ME DOWN AGAIN
19
08
THE NEON JUDGEMENT
Schyzophrenic Freddy
18
08
DAVE BALL
In Strict Tempo
17
08
MOTOR!K
Static
16
08
ENZO KREFT
Disobedient
15
08
DER KLINKE
CURTAINS