tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

24/06/2012 : EMPUSAE - Symbiosis

EMPUSAE

Symbiosis

MusicCD
Dark AmbientIndustrial

[75/100]   

Ant-Zen
24/06/2012, Chris KONINGS

Merely changing labels was'nt enough for Nicolas Van Meirhaeghe (Empusae), his new album sees more collaborations then he has ever done. He previously worked with Nick Grey and beside him Sal-Ocin now gets assistance from Ordo Rosarius Equilibrio, Arcana, In Slaughter Natives and vocalist Christel Morvan. In the interview I had with him he mentioned he needed a new challenge, maybe the great result with Shinkiro (Organic Aural Ornaments) convinced him to further explore this direction...

First song "One Of The Same" is with both ORE singers, a style I'm not exactly a fan of. The electronics are like his old work with some Shinkiro leftovers for the intro sounds. Nothing to get excited about so far... The silent piano melodies, softer drums and violins give "Deceivious Water" a very intimate character. The dark whispers and voice of Peter Bjärgö and soprano voices of Ann-Mari Thim and Cecilia Bjärgö add that gothic, neoclassical touch. A beautiful song that's not unneccesary long like the previous one.

Now forget about intimacy because next in line is In Slaughter Natives! Frightening whispers and a slow build-up of pitchblack tribal ambient makes your reviewer very happy! I was worried when I heard the first song, but Empusae can still make anyone tremble. Next up is the freezing water of "La Rivière Noire", female whispers, running water, rain on a glass window... I can feel temperatures dropping! We take refuge from the rain in a deserted building, shuffling our way trough years of dust. These sounds you hear on "Seven Types Of Ambiguity" and the gentle piano with Nick Grey's soft voice are perfect for this scenery.

Who would've thought that I would ever here distant Cure guitars on a Empusae album? Well I admit they're very distant, along with soft percussion and other rumblings it's a perfect ending on "Krazilec", the only solo effort on Symbiosis. Maybe it's not as cohesive as "Error 404", but it's a worthy experiment from Empusae. Well I was'nt THAT worried you know... It's still the usual standard of quality.

Chris KONINGS
24/06/2012


 

Next reviews
NEWCLEAR WAVES • Newclear Waves
OYAARSS • Bads
VITA NOCTIS • Against The Rule
MENTALLO & THE FIXER • Associated Projects: Benestrophe, Mainesthai, Polyhedron ‎– A Collection Of Rare, Unreleased & Remastered
SONAR • Cut Us Up
A.S. SWANSKI • Electro Noir
ACCESS TO ARASAKA • Orbitus
MY SHADOW CONSPIRACY • A Cesspool Of Desires
LOST IN DESIRE • Reborn From The Ashes
OLDSCHOOL UNION • Älä ole, elä

 

Other reviews from EMPUSAE
EMPUSAE • Iter In Tenebris
EMPUSAE • Iter In Tenebris
EMPUSAE • Sphere From The Woods

 

Same combination of genres: DARK AMBIENT + INDUSTRIAL
DEUTSCH NEPAL • Dystopian Partycollection II
VERNEY 1826 • The Ghosts Of Yesterday
KOMMANDO • Skull Snake
DEUTSCH NEPAL • Alcohology
SUPERSIMMETRIA • Kosmogonie
MILLIPEDE • A Mist And A Vapor
HYDRONE • Chronos
JOB KARMA • Review of the concert at the BIM Fest in Antwerp on 14 December 2012
EMBERS • Lichtzwart
ISZOLOSCOPE • The Edge Of Certainty

 

Same genre: DARK AMBIENT
COLIN EDWIN • POINTS OF ORIGIN
LUKE LUND • Hopium
EMPUSAE • Iter In Tenebris
PETER BJARGO (ARCANA) • Structures and Downfall
ACRETONGUE • Ghost Nocturne
UNIDENTIFIED MAN • Memento Mori
ANNINA MELISSA • Exhibition of Death
HA:PEOPLE 355 • One Bear, Two Bicycles And One Xylophone
IVANKOVA • Ivankovà EP
NADJA • The Stone is Not Hit By The Sun, Nor Carved With A Knife

 

Same genre: INDUSTRIAL
DIVE • Where do we go from here
SUICIDE COMMANDO • Mindstrip Redux
JESU • When I Was Small
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP1
ALSO • Live in Celovec
SHERAPHIM SYSTEM • Phoenix
PORTION CONTROL • Head Buried
BLACK NEEDLE NOISE • Seed of Evil
THIRD REALM • The Art of Despair
BLAC KOLOR • Nephi

Music reviews

02
12
DIVE
Where do we go from here
01
12
THE MARS MODEL
Sister Glory / Frozen in Time
26
11
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1
The Dread Files
25
11
FIRST
Restless
18
11
AD:KEY
Resonanz
17
11
SWANS
Children Of GodFeel Good Now

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

02
12
This month it’s 36 years ago Canadian industrial act Skinny Puppy released their very first EP Remission.
01
12
50 years of Ruckzuck with Kraftwerk!
28
11
Today it's exactly 40 years since Siouxsie and the Banshees, released their Christmas single 'Israel'!
27
11
39 years of Don't You Want Me by The Human League
27
11
Non-Stop Erotic Cabaret | Untainted With Time - Released 39 years ago!
26
11
38 years of Melting with Siouxsie and the Banshees!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing
31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

14
11
PROYECTO MIRAGE
I Think We Needed A Break
21
10
DELERITAS
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... Deleritas!
20
10
WULF7
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... WÜLF7!
19
10
LISA GERRARD (DEAD CAN DANCE)
'I love the innocent dangers that can be experienced in musical performance...'
18
10
SERAPHIM SYSTEM
A Glorious Return To Form

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

02
12
GROUND NERO
Plethora
01
12
EXIT STRATEGY
Dead Zone
30
11
DIVE
Black Star (Official Music Video)
30
11
POPTONE
Slice Of Life
29
11
CUELEBRE
Fodder for the raven
28
11
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO
I M B E C I L E, My Idiot Lover
27
11
LYAPIS TRUBETSKOY
Lights