tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

24/06/2012 : EMPUSAE - Symbiosis

EMPUSAE

Symbiosis

MusicCD
Dark AmbientIndustrial

[75/100]   

Ant-Zen
24/06/2012, Chris KONINGS

Merely changing labels was'nt enough for Nicolas Van Meirhaeghe (Empusae), his new album sees more collaborations then he has ever done. He previously worked with Nick Grey and beside him Sal-Ocin now gets assistance from Ordo Rosarius Equilibrio, Arcana, In Slaughter Natives and vocalist Christel Morvan. In the interview I had with him he mentioned he needed a new challenge, maybe the great result with Shinkiro (Organic Aural Ornaments) convinced him to further explore this direction...

First song "One Of The Same" is with both ORE singers, a style I'm not exactly a fan of. The electronics are like his old work with some Shinkiro leftovers for the intro sounds. Nothing to get excited about so far... The silent piano melodies, softer drums and violins give "Deceivious Water" a very intimate character. The dark whispers and voice of Peter Bjärgö and soprano voices of Ann-Mari Thim and Cecilia Bjärgö add that gothic, neoclassical touch. A beautiful song that's not unneccesary long like the previous one.

Now forget about intimacy because next in line is In Slaughter Natives! Frightening whispers and a slow build-up of pitchblack tribal ambient makes your reviewer very happy! I was worried when I heard the first song, but Empusae can still make anyone tremble. Next up is the freezing water of "La Rivière Noire", female whispers, running water, rain on a glass window... I can feel temperatures dropping! We take refuge from the rain in a deserted building, shuffling our way trough years of dust. These sounds you hear on "Seven Types Of Ambiguity" and the gentle piano with Nick Grey's soft voice are perfect for this scenery.

Who would've thought that I would ever here distant Cure guitars on a Empusae album? Well I admit they're very distant, along with soft percussion and other rumblings it's a perfect ending on "Krazilec", the only solo effort on Symbiosis. Maybe it's not as cohesive as "Error 404", but it's a worthy experiment from Empusae. Well I was'nt THAT worried you know... It's still the usual standard of quality.

Chris KONINGS
24/06/2012


 

Next reviews
NEWCLEAR WAVES • Newclear Waves
OYAARSS • Bads
VITA NOCTIS • Against The Rule
MENTALLO & THE FIXER • Associated Projects: Benestrophe, Mainesthai, Polyhedron ‎– A Collection Of Rare, Unreleased & Remastered
SONAR • Cut Us Up
A.S. SWANSKI • Electro Noir
ACCESS TO ARASAKA • Orbitus
MY SHADOW CONSPIRACY • A Cesspool Of Desires
LOST IN DESIRE • Reborn From The Ashes
OLDSCHOOL UNION • Älä ole, elä

 

Other reviews from EMPUSAE
EMPUSAE • Iter In Tenebris
EMPUSAE • Iter In Tenebris
EMPUSAE • Sphere From The Woods

 

Same combination of genres: DARK AMBIENT + INDUSTRIAL
DEUTSCH NEPAL • Dystopian Partycollection II
VERNEY 1826 • The Ghosts Of Yesterday
KOMMANDO • Skull Snake
DEUTSCH NEPAL • Alcohology
SUPERSIMMETRIA • Kosmogonie
MILLIPEDE • A Mist And A Vapor
HYDRONE • Chronos
JOB KARMA • Review of the concert at the BIM Fest in Antwerp on 14 December 2012
EMBERS • Lichtzwart
ISZOLOSCOPE • The Edge Of Certainty

 

Same genre: DARK AMBIENT
CAVERNA DELLE ROSE • Elysian Chants
DAEMONIA NYMPHE • Witches' Lullaby
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Mechanical Soul
HA:PEOPLE.3.55 • El Dia de la Bestia, Part 2 : WAR!
COLIN EDWIN • POINTS OF ORIGIN
LUKE LUND • Hopium
EMPUSAE • Iter In Tenebris
PETER BJARGO (ARCANA) • Structures and Downfall
ACRETONGUE • Ghost Nocturne
UNIDENTIFIED MAN • Memento Mori

 

Same genre: INDUSTRIAL
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN • 40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
HOCICO • HyperViolent
MATT HART • Decimate
ANALFABETISM • Rotvälta
MATT HART • TALES OF TERRA & CHAOS RETOLD
300 000VK • Peter Paradox
IMPERATIVE REACTION • Mirror
IMPLANT • Phantom Pain
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP 2
DIVE • Where do we go from here

Music reviews

10
01
THE MARS MODEL
Primal Urge
10
01
ELM
Penetrator
09
01
THE JUGGERNAUTS
Fear
09
01
DE DELVERS
Hart in neonlicht
20
12
TC75
5th
19
12
THE GODFATHERS
ALPHA BETA GAMMA DELTA (2022)

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

05
02
Plastic Passion | This Day 43 Years Ago, The Cure Release Boys Don’t Cry!
05
02
33 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Lightningman
04
02
Gold Star Punk | The Ramones End Of The Century At 43!
03
02
This month, 37 years ago, Front Line Assembly released Corrosion!
02
02
Anarchy And Innocence | Sid Vicious Died 44 Years Ago Today...
01
02
Luna Del Luna Addresses Trauma And Abuse With Debut EP

Concert reviews

02
11
AKALOTZ - DREADFOOL - DELERITAS - WULF7
EBM NIGHT IN LIEGE...
05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

22
12
DERISION CULT
An Interview With Dave McAnally of Derision Cult
16
12
OK LION
I didn't convince Patrick Codenys to work with us, it was his idea!
30
11
THE JUGGERNAUTS
Let’s leave the love dramas and (fake) feel good theme to pop music and the brain dead Tik-Tok generation.
28
11
MONSTERGOD
With their most recent release “Ozymandias” Monstergod prove that dark sounds and poetry may go hand in hand to reach the effect that is both mesmerizing and dynamic in the most excellent hard-hitting way.
29
10
PSY'AVIAH
Wanting to have everything under control is problematic, as is wanting to have nothing under control.

PHOTOS

05
02
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Matrix Bochum
05
02
JAN REVOLUTION
Matrix Bochum
30
01
THE RESIDENTS
Botanique Brussel
23
01
NITZER EBB JOIN THE FORCES TOUR 23
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen
23
01
FRONT 242 JOIN THE FORCES TOUR 23
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen
23
01
LIEBKNECHT JOIN THE FORCES TOUR 23
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen
01
01
NNHMN
In Between Days Meschede Stadthalle

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

05
02
AFFET ROBOT
Fırtına
04
02
DEPECHE MODE
Never Let Me Down again
03
02
SCHULTZ
Rats In The Sewers
02
02
NACHTFALTER
Maschinenklang
01
02
THE KLINIK
Face To Face
31
01
W. PIKE
We were lucky
31
01
MIREXXX
Nine angles