tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

24/10/2011 : ENABLERS - Blown realms and stalled explosions

ENABLERS

Blown realms and stalled explosions

MusicCD
IndieLo-fiNoise

[75/100]   

Exile On Mainstream Records
24/10/2011, Didier BECU

Chances that one day Enablers will be recognized on the streets by lunatic fans are rather small but then again we're pretty sure it has never been one of their goals as all by all, we can easily state that the music from this British band is enriched with a healthy dose of bitterness and not in the least an own approach.
Their first album has been released in 2004 on Neurot Recordings and anyone who is familiar with this label might know that we're dealing with "difficult guitarmusic with an avant-garde touch", whatever that might mean.
You know, the sort of guitar tunes that have no structure and in where (in this case) Pete Simonelli is babbling some words of poetry that will only make sense to those who created it.
An album that has to be skipped out of our mind then?
Did we ever told you this?
If Peelie would have been alive, we're pretty convinced that the tunes of their album would have been included amongst anthems by The Fall, I Ludicrous or the mighty Half Man Half Biscuit.
Music for those who think, for those who dare to ask questions or music for simply those who dare.
World fame is once again out the question but "Blown realms and stalled explosions" is a winner.

Didier BECU
24/10/2011


 

Next reviews
ANTYTHESYS • Over Dose
SCHULTZ • Schultz
KITE • IV
MICHEL HOUELLEBECQ • De kaart en het gebied | The Map and the Territory | Dutch translation by Martin de Haan
LANGUAGE OF LIGHT • Inside The Head Of A Butterfly Dreaming Of Being A Giant Moth Destroying Tokyo ·
THE ARCH • Engine in void
THE BRAINS • Drunk not dead
LANGUAGE OF LIGHT / CROW TONGUE • The Tower/ Wind Chant
CONTAGIOUS ORGASM • Escape
SILENT CIRCLE • No 1

 

Same combination of genres: INDIE + LO-FI + NOISE
THE MEN • New Moon

 

Same genre: INDIE
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
AMY STUDT • Happiest Girl in The Universe
THIS CAN HURT • Worlds Apart
LISA MORGENSTERN • Chameleon
L7 • Scatter The Rats
VUKOVAR • Cremator
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
TINY FIGHTER • Tell Me
DRAGON WELDING • Dragon Welding
ERNEST MOON • Ba-Jesus

 

Same genre: LO-FI
STACIAN • Person L
XOSAR • Xymeria
LUXVID • Trench
SUBHEIM • Foray
MATT ROCK • Get Blank
LOREN NERELL AND MARK SEELIG • Tree Of Life
MONGOLITO • Acedia
DER BLUTHARSCH • Concert at Magasin4 in Brussels on 15th March 2012
GERARD HERMAN • Fêta Justice
SUNDAY BELL RINGERS • Sunday Bell Ringers

 

Same genre: NOISE
THE HEAT INC. • EP
ORPHAN GOGGLES/ ACID MOTHERS TEMPLE & THE MELTING PARAISO U.F.O • Split Single
HA:PEOPLE 355 • One Bear, Two Bicycles And One Xylophone
DIVE • Underneath
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO & ALEXANDER HACKE • Perseverantia
LILIUM SOVA • Lost Between Mounts and Dales/Set Adrift in the Flood of People
MOON WORSHIP • Book of Pops
PUFF • Living In The Partyzone
RICARDO DONOSO • Quintesence
MATMOS • Hasselt, Kunstencentrum België (11/06/2016)

Music reviews

23
02
THE HEAT INC.
EP
23
02
PIG
Pain Is God
22
02
ANTHONY JONES
Farewell To Flesh
18
02
WULF7
Dark Hate
17
02
DEAR DEER / EMBERS
Split
06
02
J:DEAD
A Complicated Genocide

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

08
03
No Time To Cry since 36 years!
08
03
Today, exactly 27 years ago, American industrial band Nine Inch Nails released The Downward Spiral!
07
03
Electronic Act IMBUED VAGARY Releases 6 CD Project – “Hexalogy”
07
03
33 years ago the Drag Queen of the 20th Century, Divine, passed away!
07
03
41 years ago Siouxsie and the Banshees released the single 'Happy House'!
05
03
44 years ago Kraftwerk released Trans Europe Express!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.
07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

09
03
0KONTROL
Gologramma
08
03
FRONT 242
Quite Unusual
07
03
MARSHEAUX
Eyes Without A Face
06
03
ECHO BEATTY
SOLDIER ON FURLOUGH
05
03
THE ARCH
Alien Ann
04
03
MERCIFUL NUNS
Broken Column
03
03
BLOODY KNIVES
Reflection Lies