tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

24/10/2011 : ENABLERS - Blown realms and stalled explosions

ENABLERS

Blown realms and stalled explosions

MusicCD
IndieLo-fiNoise

[75/100]   

Exile On Mainstream Records
24/10/2011, Didier BECU

Chances that one day Enablers will be recognized on the streets by lunatic fans are rather small but then again we're pretty sure it has never been one of their goals as all by all, we can easily state that the music from this British band is enriched with a healthy dose of bitterness and not in the least an own approach.
Their first album has been released in 2004 on Neurot Recordings and anyone who is familiar with this label might know that we're dealing with "difficult guitarmusic with an avant-garde touch", whatever that might mean.
You know, the sort of guitar tunes that have no structure and in where (in this case) Pete Simonelli is babbling some words of poetry that will only make sense to those who created it.
An album that has to be skipped out of our mind then?
Did we ever told you this?
If Peelie would have been alive, we're pretty convinced that the tunes of their album would have been included amongst anthems by The Fall, I Ludicrous or the mighty Half Man Half Biscuit.
Music for those who think, for those who dare to ask questions or music for simply those who dare.
World fame is once again out the question but "Blown realms and stalled explosions" is a winner.

Didier BECU
24/10/2011


 

Next reviews
ANTYTHESYS • Over Dose
SCHULTZ • Schultz
KITE • IV
MICHEL HOUELLEBECQ • De kaart en het gebied | The Map and the Territory | Dutch translation by Martin de Haan
LANGUAGE OF LIGHT • Inside The Head Of A Butterfly Dreaming Of Being A Giant Moth Destroying Tokyo ·
THE ARCH • Engine in void
THE BRAINS • Drunk not dead
LANGUAGE OF LIGHT / CROW TONGUE • The Tower/ Wind Chant
CONTAGIOUS ORGASM • Escape
SILENT CIRCLE • No 1

 

Same combination of genres: INDIE + LO-FI + NOISE
THE MEN • New Moon

 

Same genre: INDIE
SJOBLOM • Tape
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
AMY STUDT • Happiest Girl in The Universe
THIS CAN HURT • Worlds Apart
LISA MORGENSTERN • Chameleon
L7 • Scatter The Rats
VUKOVAR • Cremator
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
TINY FIGHTER • Tell Me
DRAGON WELDING • Dragon Welding

 

Same genre: LO-FI
STACIAN • Person L
XOSAR • Xymeria
LUXVID • Trench
SUBHEIM • Foray
MATT ROCK • Get Blank
LOREN NERELL AND MARK SEELIG • Tree Of Life
MONGOLITO • Acedia
DER BLUTHARSCH • Concert at Magasin4 in Brussels on 15th March 2012
GERARD HERMAN • Fêta Justice
SUNDAY BELL RINGERS • Sunday Bell Ringers

 

Same genre: NOISE
THE HEAT INC. • EP
ORPHAN GOGGLES/ ACID MOTHERS TEMPLE & THE MELTING PARAISO U.F.O • Split Single
HA:PEOPLE 355 • One Bear, Two Bicycles And One Xylophone
DIVE • Underneath
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO & ALEXANDER HACKE • Perseverantia
LILIUM SOVA • Lost Between Mounts and Dales/Set Adrift in the Flood of People
MOON WORSHIP • Book of Pops
PUFF • Living In The Partyzone
RICARDO DONOSO • Quintesence
MATMOS • Hasselt, Kunstencentrum België (11/06/2016)

Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
08
Futurepop Act, Voicecoil Reflects On Strange Days With New Album
14
08
Darkwave Duo, Male Tears Addresses Nightlife Hypocrisy & Abuse With New Single
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 35 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
09
08
Electronic Band She 1 - Him 2 Addresses Breaking Free With New Single
08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

17
08
SISTERS OF MERCY
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
17
08
THE MISSION
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
SCHANDMAUL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
ROTERSAND
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
VNV NATION CLASSICAL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
COMBICHRIST
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

19
08
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE
Kali's Tongue
18
08
CASPIAN
Arcs of Command
17
08
FIELDS OF THE NEPHILIM
Moonchild
16
08
0KONTROL
Lullaby
15
08
AUSTRA
Utopia
14
08
THE SMITHS
There Is A Light That Never Goes Out
13
08
DRAB MAJESTY
39 By Design