tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

01/02/2017 : ENEMY OF REALITY - Arakhne

ENEMY OF REALITY

Arakhne

MusicCD
Female Fronted MetalSymphonic Metal

[80/100]   

FYB Records
01/02/2017, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Arakhne is the second album of Enemy of Reality; a Greek female fronted symphonic metal band. Consequently, the music sounds a bit like the established values ​​of the genre. I think of the Within Temptations, Epicas and Night Wishes of this world. The difference is that this band might sound just a tad less brushed off. But before you think it's some faint clone of former bands; nothing is less true. Enemy of Reality has its own soul and has put together a very decent album. A concept album based on the ancient Greek myth of the origin and creation of the spider. Iliana has a strong singing voice that sounds high, classical and melodic. Just listen to the vocals on for example Nouthetesis. A track on which Jeff Waters (Anhilator) briefly participates. On Reflected Fabio Lione (Rapshody of Fire) does some vocal parts. Nothing seems left to chance and the music sounds fine and with a lot of darkness and variety.

If you like this kind of music you definitely should listen to this release. A dark and entertaining album.

Wim GUILLEMYN
01/02/2017


NL

Arakhne is de tweede plaat van Enemy of Reality; een Griekse female fronted symfonische metalband. De muziek klinkt bijgevolg een beetje zoals de gevestigde waarden van het genre. Ik denk dan aan de Within Temptations, Epica’s, Nightwishes van deze wereld. Met dit verschil dat deze band misschien net een tikkeltje minder afgeborsteld klinkt. Maar voor je denkt dat het een of andere flauwe kloon is van eerst genoemde bands; niets is minder waar. Enemy of Reality heeft een eigen ziel en heeft een heel degelijk album in elkaar gestoken. Een conceptalbum dat gebaseerd is op de oude Griekse mythe van de oorsprong en de schepping van de spin. Iliana heeft een sterke zangstem die hoog, klassiek en melodieus kan klinken. Luister maar eens naar de vocals van bv Nouthetesis. Een track waarop ook Jeff Waters (Anhilator) eventjes komt meedoen. Op Reflected komt Fabio Lione (Rapshody of Fire) meezingen. Niets lijkt aan het toeval overgelaten en de muziek klinkt haarfijn.

Wie van deze soort muziek houdt moet deze release zeker eens leren kennen. Duister en onderhoudend album.

Wim GUILLEMYN
01/02/2017


Music reviews

03
07
PORTION CONTROL
Head Buried
02
07
AIMA & THE ILLUSION OF SILENCE
Music for certain rituals
28
06
VARIOUS ARTISTS
PERIHELION 2134
24
06
COLD IN MAY
Isolation songs
19
06
UNITCODE:MACHINE
Paper empires
18
06
BLACK NEEDLE NOISE
Seed of Evil

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

04
07
Industrial Band RIOTLEGION Announces The Release Of Machine Liberation
03
07
I Wanted To Tell Her by Ministry turns 37 years this month!
15
06
Today it’s exactly 41 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
11
06
29 years of Kraftwerk in The Mix
11
06
Sieben covering David Bowie's Heroes live + new CD album 2020 VISION releases this Friday, 12th June!
10
06
29 years of Family Man!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

27
06
BURTON C.BELL (FEAR FACTORY, ASCENSION OF THE WATCHERS )
'It all comes from my head – whatever I’m feeling, whatever I’m thinking of.'
27
06
RODNEY ORPHEUS / THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
I Think I’m Still As Revolutionary And Opinionated As Ever...
25
06
THE COLOURS OF SILENCE
Isolation Is Good For Art. Embrace It And Use It
13
06
LAST INFLUENCE OF BRAIN
L.I.O.B. Has Always Been Such A Distraction For Us
10
06
THE JUGGERNAUTS
It's striking, in 'mainstream' genres no-one is making a big deal about band's similarities and their possible influences... But oh dear if you dare make EBM!

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

04
07
LORDS OF ACID
I Sit On Acid
03
07
DEAD CAN DANCE
Eleusis
02
07
LIAISONS DANGEREUSES
Los niños del parque
01
07
HORD
Lines
30
06
U.R.A.N.
Geo Logo
29
06
MISS KITTIN
Bassline
28
06
HOCICO
I Abomination