tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2016 : EREB ALTOR - Blot-Ilt-Taut

EREB ALTOR

Blot-Ilt-Taut

MusicCD
Black MetalMetalViking Metal

[75/100]   

Cyclone Empire
09/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

For this album, Ereb Altor has recorded seven songs by Bathory. Blot Ilt-Taut is a kind of tribute album, a bold attempt as Bathory is quite a legendary band with great impact on the black and Viking metal scene. In its 20 years of existence, the band rarely played live. Blot Ilt-Taut is old Swedish for Blood-Fire-Death.

The result sounds less symphonic than the previous album Nattramn (2015). The Ereb Altor-versions sound more polished than the originals by Bathory, mainly because of the recording quality. That's okay, because you hear that this is another band that treats these classics with respect. For the rest, they remain quite faithful to the original versions. No crazy gimmicks here, which results in recognizable songs an no big surprises in the choice of songs as they opted for famous songs such as A Fine Day To Die, Blood Fire Death and Woman of Dark Desires.

This tribute is well made, with great respect for Bathory. The Ereb Altor fans probably will have most fun with this release. Of course the songs are not better than the original ones, they got a different approach.

Wim GUILLEMYN
09/12/2016


NL

Voor dit album hebben de heren van Ereb Altor zeven nummers van Bathory bewerkt. Blot-Ilt-Taut is dus een eigenlijk een tribute. Een gewaagd opzet, want Bathory is natuurlijk niet zo maar de eerste beste. Deze band had een grote invloed op het ontstaan van black- en vikingmetal. Bovendien heeft de band in zijn twintigjarig bestaan bijna nooit live gespeeld. Blot-Ilt-Taut is oud Zweeds en betekent Blood-Fire-Death.

Het resultaat klinkt iets minder symfonisch dan het vorig album Nattramn uit 2015. Ook klinken de Ereb Altor-versies wat meer gepolijst dan die van Bathory door de zang en de opnamekwaliteit. Dat is niet erg omdat je hoort dat het hier om een andere band gaat die met respect een eigen gezicht geeft aan deze songs. Geen gekke spielerei of gimmicks, waardoor de originele songs herkenbaar blijven en je nergens grote verrassingen tegenkomt. Ook niet in de songkeuze, omdat men voor bekende tracks zoals A Fine Day To Die, Blood Fire Death en Woman of Dark Desires koos.

Deze plaat is goed gemaakt en toont groot respect voor Bathory. De Ereb Altor-fans zullen waarschijnlijk het meest plezier beleven aan deze release omdat de songs een andere interpretatie krijgen.

Wim GUILLEMYN
09/12/2016


Music reviews

22
03
TINY FIGHTER
Tell Me
22
03
NEON ELECTRONICS
Apollo
21
03
ART DIKTATOR
Isola
20
03
LADYTRON
Ladytron
19
03
DER KLINKE
Decade
18
03
ORPHAN GOGGLES/ ACID MOTHERS TEMPLE & THE MELTING PARAISO U.F.O
Split Single

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

22
03
Today, exactly 29 years ago, Nine Inch Nails released their second single Head Like a Hole!
21
03
Bone Machine | 31-Years Since The Pixies Surfer Rosa
20
03
Today it’s been 29 years since Nitzer Ebb released their third studio album Showtime!
19
03
Just One Fix | Seventeen Years Since Ministry Unleashed Sphinctour
18
03
Today, 39 years ago, Joy Division released 'Licht und Blindheit'.
17
03
The Ignition Of Irish Punk | The Radiators From Space

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

16
03
STEVE IGNORANT (CRASS)
'I think what drives me is the endless injustice that goes through life.'
11
03
SYNAPSCAPE
A Fascinating Challenge About Bringing New Life Into Old Tracks
10
03
BIG JOHN DUNCAN
'I don't like to copy things, I like to try and be original and always happy!'
09
03
MISSING IN STARS
'This music is for everyone, even my closest metal friends support it...'
08
03
DEAN GARCIA - SPC ECO + CURVE
“..I love recording, it's one of the only things that is completely absorbing for me..”

PHOTOS

10
03
DER KLINKE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
A SLICE OF LIFE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
DEAD HIGH WIRE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
HATCHLING
De Klinker Aarschot
06
03
LAIBACH
Botanique Brussel
27
02
IAMX
La Madeleine Brussel
24
02
WULFBAND
De Casino St Niklaas

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

23
03
EMBER TWIN
I Can't Turn You On
22
03
MYDGAR
We choose to go to the Moon
21
03
JO QUAIL
Gold
20
03
CLAN OF XYMOX
Clan Of Xymox - Vixen In Disguise (Official Video)
19
03
HANTE
Living In A French Movie
18
03
HAUSCHKA
Craco
17
03
DIVE
Sidewalk Sinner - Snakedressed