tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2016 : EREB ALTOR - Blot-Ilt-Taut

EREB ALTOR

Blot-Ilt-Taut

MusicCD
Black MetalMetalViking Metal

[75/100]   

Cyclone Empire
09/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

For this album, Ereb Altor has recorded seven songs by Bathory. Blot Ilt-Taut is a kind of tribute album, a bold attempt as Bathory is quite a legendary band with great impact on the black and Viking metal scene. In its 20 years of existence, the band rarely played live. Blot Ilt-Taut is old Swedish for Blood-Fire-Death.

The result sounds less symphonic than the previous album Nattramn (2015). The Ereb Altor-versions sound more polished than the originals by Bathory, mainly because of the recording quality. That's okay, because you hear that this is another band that treats these classics with respect. For the rest, they remain quite faithful to the original versions. No crazy gimmicks here, which results in recognizable songs an no big surprises in the choice of songs as they opted for famous songs such as A Fine Day To Die, Blood Fire Death and Woman of Dark Desires.

This tribute is well made, with great respect for Bathory. The Ereb Altor fans probably will have most fun with this release. Of course the songs are not better than the original ones, they got a different approach.

Wim GUILLEMYN
09/12/2016


NL

Voor dit album hebben de heren van Ereb Altor zeven nummers van Bathory bewerkt. Blot-Ilt-Taut is dus een eigenlijk een tribute. Een gewaagd opzet, want Bathory is natuurlijk niet zo maar de eerste beste. Deze band had een grote invloed op het ontstaan van black- en vikingmetal. Bovendien heeft de band in zijn twintigjarig bestaan bijna nooit live gespeeld. Blot-Ilt-Taut is oud Zweeds en betekent Blood-Fire-Death.

Het resultaat klinkt iets minder symfonisch dan het vorig album Nattramn uit 2015. Ook klinken de Ereb Altor-versies wat meer gepolijst dan die van Bathory door de zang en de opnamekwaliteit. Dat is niet erg omdat je hoort dat het hier om een andere band gaat die met respect een eigen gezicht geeft aan deze songs. Geen gekke spielerei of gimmicks, waardoor de originele songs herkenbaar blijven en je nergens grote verrassingen tegenkomt. Ook niet in de songkeuze, omdat men voor bekende tracks zoals A Fine Day To Die, Blood Fire Death en Woman of Dark Desires koos.

Deze plaat is goed gemaakt en toont groot respect voor Bathory. De Ereb Altor-fans zullen waarschijnlijk het meest plezier beleven aan deze release omdat de songs een andere interpretatie krijgen.

Wim GUILLEMYN
09/12/2016


Music reviews

22
04
PINK TURNS BLUE
There Must Be So Much More
21
04
POTOCHKINE
Sortilèges
20
04
BLUTENGEL
Fountain of Destiny
19
04
DAEMONIA NYMPHE
Witches' Lullaby
18
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Love Was Lies
16
04
AD:KEY
I can't feel you

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

21
04
Today, 35 years ago, Siouxsie and the Banshees released Tinderbox!
16
04
36 years ago, The Sisters Of Mercy performed No Time To Cry on German TV!
16
04
On this day, 36 years ago, The Sisters Of Mercy performed ‘No Time to Cry’ on German TV
15
04
On this day, 20 years ago, FAD GADGET performed his first legendary come-back show!
14
04
In memorian.... The Punk Empowerment Of Poly Styrene (° 3 July 1957 †25 April 2011)
13
04
34 years MUTE records released 'Let Your Body Learn' by Nitzer Ebb!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

20
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
I ask myself time after time: can love still save us?
15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...
12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.

PHOTOS

15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England
25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

23
04
DAVID BOWIE
Blackstar
22
04
ANNA VON HAUSSWOLFF
Mountains Crave
21
04
SECRETS OF THE MOON
Man Behind The Sun
20
04
VIOLENT VICKIE
Cicle Square
19
04
VUKOVAR
When Rome Falls (Official Video)
19
04
SECRET ZOO
Enslaved
18
04
TROUBLE FAIT'
Beads of Emerald