tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

11/12/2016 : ERIK BLOOD - Lost In Slow Motion

ERIK BLOOD

Lost In Slow Motion

MusicCD
DreampopElectronics

[76/100]   

Homeskillet Records
11/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

On some records you immediately hear that it’ll be something special! The sounds of the first track (When They Are Loving) are hermetic, call it a collage of madness. Dadaism without much sense, even though you will notice that it is done with passion. This is music that digs deep into the soul.

The maker? Erik Blood from Seattle, who is also a producer and who was responsable for Lost Time by the indie band Tacocat. Nowadays we hear more and more producers with quirky, but majestic music. Not so long ago there was John Fryer with Black Needle Noise, and now there’s Erik Blood.

Actually, Fryer is a good reference because this musical project can be compared to This Mortal Coil, even though it is not a copy. Lost In Slow Motion is not another dark wave record we heard too often, but a CD that uses masterful music as a starting point.

Call it a contemporary form of This Mortal Coil, but the danceable Chase The Clouds sounds like James Lavelle with UNKLE, and in Bloused Up you will sujrely hear Kevin Shields guitars, while Covered In Color and Quiet are pure dreampop. Again dreampop that goes outside the lines. Ostrich is quite experimental.

It probably has something to do with his work as a producer, but you can’t put Erik Blood in one category. Fortunately!

Lost In Slow Emotion is ideal for 4AD fans who are looking for groundbreaking sounds.

Didier BECU
11/12/2016


NL

Bij sommige platen weet je het meteen, die zit! De klanken van de eerste track (When They Are Loving) zijn vrij hermetisch, een collage van waanzin. Dadaïsme waar geen touw aan vast te knopen is, ook al merk je meteen dat dit met gevoel is gedaan. Dit is muziek die diep in de ziel graaft.

De maker ervan? Erik Blood uit Seattle, die naast muzikant ook producer is (en bijv. Lost Time van de indieband Tacocat deed). Tegenwoordig horen we wel vaker producers die op de proppen komen met eigenzinnige, magistrale muziek. Niet zo lang geleden hadden we bijv. nog John Fryer met Black Needle Noise, en nu dus Erik Blood.

Eigenlijk is Fryer een goede referentie, want dit muzikaal project kan je vergelijken met This Mortal Coil, zonder dat het er een kopie van is. Lost In Slow Motion is dus niet opnieuw zo’n darkwaveplaat geworden die we net iets te veel hebben gehoord, gewoon een cd die deze meesterlijke muziek als vertrekpunt gebruikt.

Noem het een eigentijdse vorm van This Mortal Coil, maar het dansbare Chase The Clouds lijkt een beetje op wat James Lavelle met UNKLE deed, en in Bloused Up hoor je zonder twijfel de Kevin Shields-gitaren, terwijl Covered In Color en Quiet pure dreampop zijn. Toch is het opnieuw dreampop die buiten de lijntjes kleurt, zo is Ostrich niet vies van wat experiment.

Neen, het zal wel iets met zijn producerswerk te maken hebben, Erik Blood is niet in één hokje te stoppen. Gelukkig maar!

Lost In Slow Emotion is dan ook ideaal platenvoer voor 4AD-fans die hun neus niet ophalen voor grensverleggende geluiden.

Didier BECU
11/12/2016


Music reviews

25
03
UNKNOWN INSTRUCTORS
Unwilling To Explain
24
03
REALITY'S DESPAIR
Human Transitions
23
03
AUTOGRAMM
What R U Waiting 4?
22
03
TINY FIGHTER
Tell Me
22
03
NEON ELECTRONICS
Apollo
21
03
ART DIKTATOR
Isola

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
03
The Soul Walker | Celebrating The Sound Of The Late Scott Walker
22
03
Today, exactly 29 years ago, Nine Inch Nails released their second single Head Like a Hole!
21
03
Bone Machine | 31-Years Since The Pixies Surfer Rosa
20
03
Today it’s been 29 years since Nitzer Ebb released their third studio album Showtime!
19
03
Just One Fix | Seventeen Years Since Ministry Unleashed Sphinctour
18
03
Today, 39 years ago, Joy Division released 'Licht und Blindheit'.

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

25
03
BORGHESIA
Like Every Style Of Music, EBM Also Had A Limited Period Of Duration
16
03
STEVE IGNORANT (CRASS)
'I think what drives me is the endless injustice that goes through life.'
11
03
SYNAPSCAPE
A Fascinating Challenge About Bringing New Life Into Old Tracks
10
03
BIG JOHN DUNCAN
'I don't like to copy things, I like to try and be original and always happy!'
09
03
MISSING IN STARS
'This music is for everyone, even my closest metal friends support it...'

PHOTOS

24
03
RED ZEBRA
De Lux Herenthout
24
03
DE BRASSERS
De Lux Herenthout
10
03
DER KLINKE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
A SLICE OF LIFE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
DEAD HIGH WIRE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
HATCHLING
De Klinker Aarschot
06
03
LAIBACH
Botanique Brussel

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

26
03
HOLE
Celebrity Skin
25
03
FAUNLET
Anatomy
24
03
YOUR LIFE ON HOLD
Phoenix
23
03
EMBER TWIN
I Can't Turn You On
22
03
MYDGAR
We choose to go to the Moon
21
03
JO QUAIL
Gold
20
03
CLAN OF XYMOX
Clan Of Xymox - Vixen In Disguise (Official Video)