tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

11/12/2016 : ERIK BLOOD - Lost In Slow Motion

ERIK BLOOD

Lost In Slow Motion

MusicCD
DreampopElectronics

[76/100]   

Homeskillet Records
11/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

On some records you immediately hear that it’ll be something special! The sounds of the first track (When They Are Loving) are hermetic, call it a collage of madness. Dadaism without much sense, even though you will notice that it is done with passion. This is music that digs deep into the soul.

The maker? Erik Blood from Seattle, who is also a producer and who was responsable for Lost Time by the indie band Tacocat. Nowadays we hear more and more producers with quirky, but majestic music. Not so long ago there was John Fryer with Black Needle Noise, and now there’s Erik Blood.

Actually, Fryer is a good reference because this musical project can be compared to This Mortal Coil, even though it is not a copy. Lost In Slow Motion is not another dark wave record we heard too often, but a CD that uses masterful music as a starting point.

Call it a contemporary form of This Mortal Coil, but the danceable Chase The Clouds sounds like James Lavelle with UNKLE, and in Bloused Up you will sujrely hear Kevin Shields guitars, while Covered In Color and Quiet are pure dreampop. Again dreampop that goes outside the lines. Ostrich is quite experimental.

It probably has something to do with his work as a producer, but you can’t put Erik Blood in one category. Fortunately!

Lost In Slow Emotion is ideal for 4AD fans who are looking for groundbreaking sounds.

Didier BECU
11/12/2016


NL

Bij sommige platen weet je het meteen, die zit! De klanken van de eerste track (When They Are Loving) zijn vrij hermetisch, een collage van waanzin. Dadaïsme waar geen touw aan vast te knopen is, ook al merk je meteen dat dit met gevoel is gedaan. Dit is muziek die diep in de ziel graaft.

De maker ervan? Erik Blood uit Seattle, die naast muzikant ook producer is (en bijv. Lost Time van de indieband Tacocat deed). Tegenwoordig horen we wel vaker producers die op de proppen komen met eigenzinnige, magistrale muziek. Niet zo lang geleden hadden we bijv. nog John Fryer met Black Needle Noise, en nu dus Erik Blood.

Eigenlijk is Fryer een goede referentie, want dit muzikaal project kan je vergelijken met This Mortal Coil, zonder dat het er een kopie van is. Lost In Slow Motion is dus niet opnieuw zo’n darkwaveplaat geworden die we net iets te veel hebben gehoord, gewoon een cd die deze meesterlijke muziek als vertrekpunt gebruikt.

Noem het een eigentijdse vorm van This Mortal Coil, maar het dansbare Chase The Clouds lijkt een beetje op wat James Lavelle met UNKLE deed, en in Bloused Up hoor je zonder twijfel de Kevin Shields-gitaren, terwijl Covered In Color en Quiet pure dreampop zijn. Toch is het opnieuw dreampop die buiten de lijntjes kleurt, zo is Ostrich niet vies van wat experiment.

Neen, het zal wel iets met zijn producerswerk te maken hebben, Erik Blood is niet in één hokje te stoppen. Gelukkig maar!

Lost In Slow Emotion is dan ook ideaal platenvoer voor 4AD-fans die hun neus niet ophalen voor grensverleggende geluiden.

Didier BECU
11/12/2016


Music reviews

31
03
POUPPEE FABRIKK
Armèn
29
03
CHRISTIAN WOLZ
La Fore
28
03
JIMMY SWEENEY
Without You
27
03
FEU FOLLET
Le champ des morts
18
03
MANNEQUIN
From a distance
16
03
OCTOLAB
Mystery Park

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

04
04
14 years ago, Nine Inch Nails released ‘Every Day Is Exactly the Same’.
03
04
On this day, 18 years ago, Frank Tovey / Fad Gadget died at the age of 45.
02
04
41 years of Replicas, unleashed by Gary Numan's Tubeway Army!
01
04
On this day, 23 years ago, Rammstein released Engel!
01
04
On this day, 31 years ago, Front Line Assembly released Gashed Senses & Crossfire!
31
03
Red Zebra releases new single!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

30
03
JOE BOYD
Producer of Pink Floyd, Nick Drake, Nico, R.E.M, talks about the years of experience and his coming book.
29
03
AMBER TEASER
We Also Like Putting Some Strange Elements In Pop Music
19
03
DYLAN WITTROCK
'Sometimes I just write characters’ thoughts, like journal entries.'
17
03
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1
‘I Love The Belgian Scene’
14
03
COMMON EIDER, KING EIDER
‘The Dreams Of Capitalism Are Being Revealed As Smoke And Mirrors...

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

07
04
HAUSCHKA
My Kids Live On Mars
06
04
AFFET ROBOT
Fırtına
05
04
SELOFAN
Sto Skotadi
04
04
UNKNOWN LAND
CATHEDRAL
03
04
GOLDFRAPP
Strict Machine (Live at Glastonbury) [2017]
02
04
DIE KRUPPS
Chinese Black Die Krupps feat. Jyrki69 (Official Music Video)
02
04
DIESEIN
You