tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

11/12/2016 : ERIK BLOOD - Lost In Slow Motion

ERIK BLOOD

Lost In Slow Motion

MusicCD
DreampopElectronics

[76/100]   

Homeskillet Records
11/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

On some records you immediately hear that it’ll be something special! The sounds of the first track (When They Are Loving) are hermetic, call it a collage of madness. Dadaism without much sense, even though you will notice that it is done with passion. This is music that digs deep into the soul.

The maker? Erik Blood from Seattle, who is also a producer and who was responsable for Lost Time by the indie band Tacocat. Nowadays we hear more and more producers with quirky, but majestic music. Not so long ago there was John Fryer with Black Needle Noise, and now there’s Erik Blood.

Actually, Fryer is a good reference because this musical project can be compared to This Mortal Coil, even though it is not a copy. Lost In Slow Motion is not another dark wave record we heard too often, but a CD that uses masterful music as a starting point.

Call it a contemporary form of This Mortal Coil, but the danceable Chase The Clouds sounds like James Lavelle with UNKLE, and in Bloused Up you will sujrely hear Kevin Shields guitars, while Covered In Color and Quiet are pure dreampop. Again dreampop that goes outside the lines. Ostrich is quite experimental.

It probably has something to do with his work as a producer, but you can’t put Erik Blood in one category. Fortunately!

Lost In Slow Emotion is ideal for 4AD fans who are looking for groundbreaking sounds.

Didier BECU
11/12/2016


NL

Bij sommige platen weet je het meteen, die zit! De klanken van de eerste track (When They Are Loving) zijn vrij hermetisch, een collage van waanzin. Dadaïsme waar geen touw aan vast te knopen is, ook al merk je meteen dat dit met gevoel is gedaan. Dit is muziek die diep in de ziel graaft.

De maker ervan? Erik Blood uit Seattle, die naast muzikant ook producer is (en bijv. Lost Time van de indieband Tacocat deed). Tegenwoordig horen we wel vaker producers die op de proppen komen met eigenzinnige, magistrale muziek. Niet zo lang geleden hadden we bijv. nog John Fryer met Black Needle Noise, en nu dus Erik Blood.

Eigenlijk is Fryer een goede referentie, want dit muzikaal project kan je vergelijken met This Mortal Coil, zonder dat het er een kopie van is. Lost In Slow Motion is dus niet opnieuw zo’n darkwaveplaat geworden die we net iets te veel hebben gehoord, gewoon een cd die deze meesterlijke muziek als vertrekpunt gebruikt.

Noem het een eigentijdse vorm van This Mortal Coil, maar het dansbare Chase The Clouds lijkt een beetje op wat James Lavelle met UNKLE deed, en in Bloused Up hoor je zonder twijfel de Kevin Shields-gitaren, terwijl Covered In Color en Quiet pure dreampop zijn. Toch is het opnieuw dreampop die buiten de lijntjes kleurt, zo is Ostrich niet vies van wat experiment.

Neen, het zal wel iets met zijn producerswerk te maken hebben, Erik Blood is niet in één hokje te stoppen. Gelukkig maar!

Lost In Slow Emotion is dan ook ideaal platenvoer voor 4AD-fans die hun neus niet ophalen voor grensverleggende geluiden.

Didier BECU
11/12/2016


Music reviews

19
11
PSY'AVIAH
Soul Searching
17
11
DAGEIST
Sexy
16
11
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO
Let's Play (Two girls and a goat)
12
11
TWIN TRIBES
Ceremony
31
10
BLAC KOLOR
Nephi
24
10
ROGER C.REALE & RUE MORGUE
The Collection

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
11
Disorientations! New band, new single, new video!
14
11
Today, 30 years The Mind Is A Terrible Thing To Taste by Ministry!
13
11
Today, 41 years ago, Siouxsie & The Banshees released their debut album Scream!
13
11
Today, 38 years ago, New Order released its debut album Movement!
12
11
Exclusive Belgian NITZER EBB clubshow at De Casino - St-Niklaas - B
11
11
THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX released GRENADE 2019 REMASTER

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

02
11
UNDERTHESKIN
Try To Leave The Listener In A Certain Reflection, And Maybe Bring Some Kind Of Relief
01
11
MIKE WATT(JUMPSTARTED PLOWHARDS)
In a way, the project is a total collaboration!
26
10
MICHAEL GIRA(SWANS)
'Having a strong presence of death in your mind all the time is very healthy thing!'
25
10
PAUL Q.KOLDERIE
'There has to be a song that I feel needs to be recorded…'
14
10
JAMES MCGREGOR (THE CLOCKWORKS)
'Our dynamic is genuinely a gang scenario'

PHOTOS

17
11
FAUN
Christuskirche Bochum
14
11
DEINE LAKAIEN HELIUM VOLA VELJANOV
Christuskirche Bochum
14
11
MORGAN KING
B52 music club
13
11
STORY OFF
B52 music club
13
11
N TALES
B52 music club
11
11
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Magasin 4 Bruxelles
11
11
AMBASSADOR 21
Magasin 4 Bruxelles

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

19
11
HYPERMOND.
Double
19
11
:OF THE WAND & THE MOON:
Caught In Winters Weave
19
11
NITZER EBB
Llive at Kulttempel in Oberhausen, Germany - 15.11.2019
18
11
OAKTREE
La Fin
17
11
ALISON MOYET
Other
16
11
ROSARUBEA
A Blue Bird in a Scarlet Spring
15
11
DER KLINKE
My Frozen Heart