tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

11/12/2016 : ERIK BLOOD - Lost In Slow Motion

ERIK BLOOD

Lost In Slow Motion

MusicCD
DreampopElectronics

[76/100]   

Homeskillet Records
11/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

On some records you immediately hear that it’ll be something special! The sounds of the first track (When They Are Loving) are hermetic, call it a collage of madness. Dadaism without much sense, even though you will notice that it is done with passion. This is music that digs deep into the soul.

The maker? Erik Blood from Seattle, who is also a producer and who was responsable for Lost Time by the indie band Tacocat. Nowadays we hear more and more producers with quirky, but majestic music. Not so long ago there was John Fryer with Black Needle Noise, and now there’s Erik Blood.

Actually, Fryer is a good reference because this musical project can be compared to This Mortal Coil, even though it is not a copy. Lost In Slow Motion is not another dark wave record we heard too often, but a CD that uses masterful music as a starting point.

Call it a contemporary form of This Mortal Coil, but the danceable Chase The Clouds sounds like James Lavelle with UNKLE, and in Bloused Up you will sujrely hear Kevin Shields guitars, while Covered In Color and Quiet are pure dreampop. Again dreampop that goes outside the lines. Ostrich is quite experimental.

It probably has something to do with his work as a producer, but you can’t put Erik Blood in one category. Fortunately!

Lost In Slow Emotion is ideal for 4AD fans who are looking for groundbreaking sounds.

Didier BECU
11/12/2016


NL

Bij sommige platen weet je het meteen, die zit! De klanken van de eerste track (When They Are Loving) zijn vrij hermetisch, een collage van waanzin. Dadaïsme waar geen touw aan vast te knopen is, ook al merk je meteen dat dit met gevoel is gedaan. Dit is muziek die diep in de ziel graaft.

De maker ervan? Erik Blood uit Seattle, die naast muzikant ook producer is (en bijv. Lost Time van de indieband Tacocat deed). Tegenwoordig horen we wel vaker producers die op de proppen komen met eigenzinnige, magistrale muziek. Niet zo lang geleden hadden we bijv. nog John Fryer met Black Needle Noise, en nu dus Erik Blood.

Eigenlijk is Fryer een goede referentie, want dit muzikaal project kan je vergelijken met This Mortal Coil, zonder dat het er een kopie van is. Lost In Slow Motion is dus niet opnieuw zo’n darkwaveplaat geworden die we net iets te veel hebben gehoord, gewoon een cd die deze meesterlijke muziek als vertrekpunt gebruikt.

Noem het een eigentijdse vorm van This Mortal Coil, maar het dansbare Chase The Clouds lijkt een beetje op wat James Lavelle met UNKLE deed, en in Bloused Up hoor je zonder twijfel de Kevin Shields-gitaren, terwijl Covered In Color en Quiet pure dreampop zijn. Toch is het opnieuw dreampop die buiten de lijntjes kleurt, zo is Ostrich niet vies van wat experiment.

Neen, het zal wel iets met zijn producerswerk te maken hebben, Erik Blood is niet in één hokje te stoppen. Gelukkig maar!

Lost In Slow Emotion is dan ook ideaal platenvoer voor 4AD-fans die hun neus niet ophalen voor grensverleggende geluiden.

Didier BECU
11/12/2016


Music reviews

11
07
CONTAINER 90
Friendship and love
10
07
ENZO KREFT
Control
09
07
HOCICO
Artificial Extinction
04
07
MECHANIMAL
White Flag Single
14
06
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES
Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
13
06
DEF ROBOT
Makers Of Mountains

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
07
Today it’s 31 years since Siouxsie & The Banshees released their single Peek-a-Boo.
18
07
Today, exactly 39 years ago, Joy Division released their second and final studio album, Closer.
17
07
Electronic/Industrial Bass Artist SINthetik Messiah Announces The Release of Their Single 'Black Sheep'
16
07
Electronic Act THE BRUTE: Announces New LONESOME HERO/AND I WANT YOU Split Single & Video
15
07
New Peek-a-Boo Magazine #34 out now!
15
07
PINK TURNS ANNOUNCES REISSUES OF FIRST ALBUMS + TOUR 2019

Concert reviews

14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

16
07
MARK DEUTROM (CLOWN ALLEY/THE MELVINS)
' I felt like I needed to make a solo-record at that time!'
15
07
STEVE DIGGLE (BUZZCOCKS)
'We were writing from the heart and soul!'
08
07
TODD TRAINER (SHELLAC)
'My attitude has always been to be original and unique!'
06
07
BOB BERT (PUSSY GALORE, LYDIA LUNCH RETROVIRUS, EX-SONIC YOUTH,...)
'One man’s noise is another man’s symphony!'
02
07
TEST DEPARTMENT
THE 80s WERE AN AMAZING TIME FOR MUSICAL DEVELOPMENT

PHOTOS

17
07
JOY/DISASTER
Blue Shell Köln
17
07
JOY/DISASTER
Blue Shell Köln
16
07
IAMTHESHADOW
Blue Shell Köln
16
07
IAMTHESHADOW
Blue Shell Köln
16
07
CRYING VESSEL
Blue Shell Köln
10
07
CEPHALGY
Parkhaus Duisburg
10
07
ALIENARE
Parkhaus Duisburg

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

19
07
FIELDS OF THE NEPHILIM
Moonchild
18
07
AMBASSADOR21
FUCKALLSYSTEMS
17
07
THIS CAN HURT
Worlds Apart
16
07
RABIA SORDA
Deaf
15
07
GUS GUS
Deep Inside
14
07
CUBANATE
Kolossus
13
07
DEAD CAN DANCE
Anabasis