tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

11/12/2016 : ERIK BLOOD - Lost In Slow Motion

ERIK BLOOD

Lost In Slow Motion

MusicCD
DreampopElectronics

[76/100]   

Homeskillet Records
11/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

On some records you immediately hear that it’ll be something special! The sounds of the first track (When They Are Loving) are hermetic, call it a collage of madness. Dadaism without much sense, even though you will notice that it is done with passion. This is music that digs deep into the soul.

The maker? Erik Blood from Seattle, who is also a producer and who was responsable for Lost Time by the indie band Tacocat. Nowadays we hear more and more producers with quirky, but majestic music. Not so long ago there was John Fryer with Black Needle Noise, and now there’s Erik Blood.

Actually, Fryer is a good reference because this musical project can be compared to This Mortal Coil, even though it is not a copy. Lost In Slow Motion is not another dark wave record we heard too often, but a CD that uses masterful music as a starting point.

Call it a contemporary form of This Mortal Coil, but the danceable Chase The Clouds sounds like James Lavelle with UNKLE, and in Bloused Up you will sujrely hear Kevin Shields guitars, while Covered In Color and Quiet are pure dreampop. Again dreampop that goes outside the lines. Ostrich is quite experimental.

It probably has something to do with his work as a producer, but you can’t put Erik Blood in one category. Fortunately!

Lost In Slow Emotion is ideal for 4AD fans who are looking for groundbreaking sounds.

Didier BECU
11/12/2016


NL

Bij sommige platen weet je het meteen, die zit! De klanken van de eerste track (When They Are Loving) zijn vrij hermetisch, een collage van waanzin. Dadaïsme waar geen touw aan vast te knopen is, ook al merk je meteen dat dit met gevoel is gedaan. Dit is muziek die diep in de ziel graaft.

De maker ervan? Erik Blood uit Seattle, die naast muzikant ook producer is (en bijv. Lost Time van de indieband Tacocat deed). Tegenwoordig horen we wel vaker producers die op de proppen komen met eigenzinnige, magistrale muziek. Niet zo lang geleden hadden we bijv. nog John Fryer met Black Needle Noise, en nu dus Erik Blood.

Eigenlijk is Fryer een goede referentie, want dit muzikaal project kan je vergelijken met This Mortal Coil, zonder dat het er een kopie van is. Lost In Slow Motion is dus niet opnieuw zo’n darkwaveplaat geworden die we net iets te veel hebben gehoord, gewoon een cd die deze meesterlijke muziek als vertrekpunt gebruikt.

Noem het een eigentijdse vorm van This Mortal Coil, maar het dansbare Chase The Clouds lijkt een beetje op wat James Lavelle met UNKLE deed, en in Bloused Up hoor je zonder twijfel de Kevin Shields-gitaren, terwijl Covered In Color en Quiet pure dreampop zijn. Toch is het opnieuw dreampop die buiten de lijntjes kleurt, zo is Ostrich niet vies van wat experiment.

Neen, het zal wel iets met zijn producerswerk te maken hebben, Erik Blood is niet in één hokje te stoppen. Gelukkig maar!

Lost In Slow Emotion is dan ook ideaal platenvoer voor 4AD-fans die hun neus niet ophalen voor grensverleggende geluiden.

Didier BECU
11/12/2016


Music reviews

09
08
RAT SCABIES
Rat Scabies - P.H.D.
09
08
REACTOR7X
And Chaos Bacame The New Order
01
08
ANNINA MELISSA
Exhibition of Death
31
07
CRIMEN
Silent Animals
26
07
VIOLENCE
Le Flux de la Nature
22
07
SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS
Semiotics Department of Heteronyms

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

10
08
Today, it’s exactly 31 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
08
08
James Ray (The voice from The Sisterhood) returns with brand new album, band and musical style change!
02
08
This month, 35 years ago, Nitzer Ebb recorded their first demo Basic Pain Procedure!
30
07
'Anything' movie: UK digital release on August, 6th!
25
07
Spacelab revisited! ISS calls Kraftwerk from outer Space!
25
07
'Locating Silver Lake' screening at Breckenridge Film Festival in September!

Concert reviews

14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018
16
07
COVENANT W/ STONEBURNER
Live @ Ivy Smokehouse, Washington DC, 15th April 2018
24
05
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
19
03
FEVER RAY
Live @ AB - Brussels - 15.03.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

11
08
MICK HARVEY
Interview with Mick Harvey (The Boys Next Door, The Birthday Party, Crime & the City Solution, Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds, PJ Harvey)
07
08
RAT SCABIES (EX THE DAMNED)
'I never planned to make a solo record... It was something I was doing for fun.'
03
08
LIZARD SMILE
'I still see it as the expression of appreciation par excellence to buy a physical album. It still remains more ‘real’ … one way or another.'
29
07
SN-A
I Also Love Telling Stories Without Words
27
07
STIN SCATZOR
I never could have thought Stin Scatzor would ever release an album on DAFT Records!

PHOTOS

12
08
12
08
GARY NUMAN
Lokerse Feesten
01
08
GRAUSAME TOCHTER
Amphi
01
08
PERSEPHONE
Amphi
01
08
MAD SIN
Amphi
01
08
SOLAR FAKE
Amphi
01
08
GRENDEL
Amphi

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

15
08
SOLAR FAKE
Under Control
14
08
ASHRAM
Maria and the violin's string
13
08
DAVEY SUICIDE
Rise Above
12
08
SHE PAST AWAY
Sanri
11
08
DULAC
Nocturne (Official Music Video)
10
08
NENA
Fragezeichen
09
08
ESSAIE PAS
Lights Out