tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

19/03/2015 : ERIN BERRY - Living Death

ERIN BERRY

Living Death

Movie
Horror

[22/100]   

SONY SPHE
19/03/2015, Didier BECU

EN

If we use too many clichés to describe this horror picture, then that is quite simply because Living Death happens to be an accumulation of clichés. This horror film dates from 2006, and it is an obscure video release, released over here by Sony. You wonder who decides to bore the audience with such an absurdity, because one thing is sure: whether you are a horror freak or not, you will definitely feel cheated. The cover suggests that this film will be a true gore fest, but apart from some cracking bones or tearing some limbs from bodies, there is hardly anything that will interest the average horror fan. He is perhaps deterred by the fact that someone ever dared to make a thing like this. No one can act, not even Kirsty Swanson, who starred in better days in hit movies like Hot Shots! or Pretty In Pink.

Swanson plays the wife of the wealthy Victor Harris (Greg Bryk), who has a strange hobby. He picks up women, and after they fall for his charms, he leads them to his attic, where he has a huge collection of torture machines. Elizabeth can’t take it any longer and she decides to poison her husband with the help from her lawyer Roman (Joshua Peace), who is in love with her. A nice plan, apart from the fact that Roman chooses the wrong poison, because the victim is only paralysed, not dead. The poor guy is buried alive, and of course as you can guess, he will take revenge!

A story that anyone can think of, and it is directed in such a silly, idiotic way, that the entire crew should be ashamed. The film only lasts 80 minutes, but due to the amateurism he seems to take forever. A film to avoid, even if your expectations are not too high.

Didier BECU
19/03/2015


NL

Als we te veel clichés gebruiken om deze horrorprent te beschrijven dan is dat doodgewoon omdat Living Death nu eenmaal een opeenstapeling van clichés is. Deze horrorfilm stamt uit 2006 en alhoewel het om een videofilm gaat, is hij bij ons via Sony uitgebracht. Je vraagt je af wie de beslissingen neemt om het publiek met zo’n onding te vervelen, want één ding is zeker: wie je ook bent, je zal je zeker bekocht voelen. Het hoesje laat vermoeden dat deze film een waar gorefestijn zal worden, maar op wat gekraak van botten en ledematen n die uit een lichaam worden getrokken, valt er nauwelijks iets te bespeuren waarvan de modale horrorliefhebber zal huiveren. Wel zal hij zich een hoedje schrikken bij het aanschouwen van het non-talent dat deze film siert, want niemand in deze prent kan behoorlijk acteren. Ook hoofdrolspeelster Kirsty Swanson niet, iemand die in betere tijden in hits als Hot Shots! of Pretty In Pink mocht spelen.

Swanson speelt de vrouw van de rijke Victor Harris (Greg Bryk), die er een vreemde hobby op na houdt. Hij pikt vrouwen op, voert ze vervolgens naar zijn zolder om ze daar met zijn collectie marteltuigen te folteren. Elizabeth geeft er schoon genoeg van en besluit samen met haar advocaat Roman (Joshua Peace) om haar echtgenoot te vergiftigen. Een leuk plan, alleen kiest Roman het verkeerde vergif, want het slachtoffer is alleen maar verlamd, en dat terwijl men hem al begraven heeft.

Een verhaal dat iedereen kan bedenken en het wordt op zo’n sullige, idiote manier aan de man gebracht, dat de hele crew zich voor dit vehikel zou moeten schamen. De film duurt amper 80 minuten, maar door het amateurisme dat hier wordt tentoongespreid lijkt hij wel een eeuwigheid te duren. Troep om te mijden, zelfs al zijn je verwachtingen niet te hoog.

Didier BECU
19/03/2015


19/03/2015 : ERIN BERRY - Living Death 19/03/2015 : ERIN BERRY - Living Death 19/03/2015 : ERIN BERRY - Living Death 19/03/2015 : ERIN BERRY - Living Death 19/03/2015 : ERIN BERRY - Living Death 19/03/2015 : ERIN BERRY - Living Death 19/03/2015 : ERIN BERRY - Living Death 19/03/2015 : ERIN BERRY - Living Death 19/03/2015 : ERIN BERRY - Living Death 19/03/2015 : ERIN BERRY - Living Death

Music reviews

18
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Love Was Lies
16
04
AD:KEY
I can't feel you
16
04
PORTION CONTROL
SEED EP3
15
04
ABSOLUTE BODY CONTROL
A New Dawn
15
04
IN ABSENTIA
Charnel House Chatterbox (Remastered 2021)
14
04
THE BURYING KIND
The Burying Kind ( EP )

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
04
36 years ago, The Sisters Of Mercy performed No Time To Cry on German TV!
16
04
On this day, 36 years ago, The Sisters Of Mercy performed ‘No Time to Cry’ on German TV
15
04
On this day, 20 years ago, FAD GADGET performed his first legendary come-back show!
14
04
In memorian.... The Punk Empowerment Of Poly Styrene (° 3 July 1957 †25 April 2011)
13
04
34 years MUTE records released 'Let Your Body Learn' by Nitzer Ebb!
07
04
Skinny Puppy’s Cevin Key zoom chat's with à;GRUMH...

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...
12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.
07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing

PHOTOS

15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England
25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

19
04
SECRET ZOO
Enslaved
18
04
TROUBLE FAIT'
Beads of Emerald
17
04
LYNCELIA
Self-Mystery Girl
16
04
COCTEAU TWINS
Carolyn's Fingers
15
04
FAITH AND THE MUSE
Battle Hymn
14
04
MESH
It scares me
13
04
MONOTONE EXPRESSION
Out Of Tune With Life