tempobet yeni adresi
like this concert review

01/12/2013 : ESBEN SVANE - live in Brussels, 30/11/2013

ESBEN SVANE

live in Brussels, 30/11/2013

Concert
AcousticIndieSinger Songwriter

[90/100]   
01/12/2013, Filip VAN MUYLEM

To start with Esben Svane is a nice Danish indie singersongwriter, a true bard with a fab voice that can enchant a crowd. I loved the EP (The Sudden Stop) and now I can say that he's on stage even better!

His gig in Brussels was in a cosy hotel with a lot of youngsters and actually with a few fans who already knew his songs. He is completelyalone, with just his guitar on a small stage and one spot behind his back. Back to basics after playing as a drummer in a Danish popband. As he stated in one of his songs, it wasn't his thing and went out from Kopenhagen to find his true self somewhere in the countryside to write songs, just armed with his guitar and magical voice.

During his set of one hour (with a short break in between to talk to the fans, autographing his ep...) he played two songs from other artists (Gone for good from The Shins & Chelsea Hotel from Leonard Cohen) and succeeded in making them his own pearls. One of the songs I didn't knew from the ep was Forest (a nice one about his mother who had a real bad disease, one that can kill and choose to write about it as if she was a forest). Recreation was a great song to end his first set, a bit more up-tempo and really well fuelled. This one will be the first song on his full cd!

My favorite ones from his ep The Sudden Stop, Anywhere In A Paper Boat (this was the final song of his regular set and great to end with), The World Below My Feet (actually a song about smoking weed at young age) and Girlfriends (this was the encore song) really come up great on stage!

I must say it wasn't always easy for Esben to perform as noise was coming up from the bar that was a bit disturbing, but he did what he could to overwin it and turned this evening into a real campfire moment, a magical night, with romance in the air, some heartbreaking moments...This bard knows his job and does it with all his heart! I hope to see him one day in The Botanique or at some other nice place!

Looking forward to get the full cd & see more of him!

Good job!

My review of the new ep:

http://www.peek-a-boo-magazine.be/en/reviews/esben-svane-the-sudden-stop-ep/?viaadmin=1

Filip VAN MUYLEM
01/12/2013


01/12/2013 : ESBEN SVANE - live in Brussels, 30/11/2013 01/12/2013 : ESBEN SVANE - live in Brussels, 30/11/2013 01/12/2013 : ESBEN SVANE - live in Brussels, 30/11/2013 01/12/2013 : ESBEN SVANE - live in Brussels, 30/11/2013 01/12/2013 : ESBEN SVANE - live in Brussels, 30/11/2013 01/12/2013 : ESBEN SVANE - live in Brussels, 30/11/2013 01/12/2013 : ESBEN SVANE - live in Brussels, 30/11/2013 01/12/2013 : ESBEN SVANE - live in Brussels, 30/11/2013 01/12/2013 : ESBEN SVANE - live in Brussels, 30/11/2013 01/12/2013 : ESBEN SVANE - live in Brussels, 30/11/2013

 

Next reviews
PEOPLE OF NOTHING • A Break To Cry
DELAYKLINIKEN • Air
HONG SANGSOO • In another country
TAPAGE • Overgrown
SHATOO • Floodlight
TOBE HOOPER • Texas Chainsaw Massacre 2
ANABELLE'S GARDEN • Time's no measure 1987-1993
FADERHEAD • FH4
TOBIAS LINDHOLM • Kapringen
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Hera, Protector Of Teddybears Since 2012

 

Other reviews from ESBEN SVANE
ESBEN SVANE • The sudden stop EP

 

Same genre: ACOUSTIC
MERCYFUL HEAVENS • For Now
DEZ MONA & B.O.X • LUCY
SUNDAECRUSH • A Real Sensation
THE DEMON RIND • Lonely This Evening
ARMSTRONG • Under Blue Skies
DAVID J • Thoughts And Prayers
FRED ABONG • Pulsing Ep
DRAGON WELDING • Dragon Welding
PAUL MADDOG AND HIS BAND AISLING • Winter In London
DAVID J • Crocodile Tears And The Velvet Cosh (Reissue)

 

Same genre: INDIE
SJOBLOM • Tape
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
AMY STUDT • Happiest Girl in The Universe
THIS CAN HURT • Worlds Apart
LISA MORGENSTERN • Chameleon
L7 • Scatter The Rats
VUKOVAR • Cremator
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
TINY FIGHTER • Tell Me
ERNEST MOON • Ba-Jesus

 

Same genre: SINGER SONGWRITER
LEIF VOLLEBEKK • Twin Solitude
CANNAERTS & VAN CUTSEM • Mechelen, Theater M/Moonbeat (08/10/2016) CD-presentation
SUZANNE VEGA • Borgerhout, De Roma (06/10/2016)
LIEN SCHOETERS • Rijmenam, Rijmrock (20/08/2016)
EZRA FURMAN • Big Fugitive Life
PETER NORDBERG • Om Man Inte Är Här
THE ANCHORESS + FIONA BRICE • London, Bush Hall (15/06/2016)
LEYLA MCCALLA • A Day for the Hunter, A Day for the Prey
CHRIS COHEN • As If Apart
EYEMER • Temporarily Colourblind

Music reviews

12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue
22
04
DEAD MAN'S HILL
Inner Journeys Through The Living Temples Of Water
20
04
HYDROM LINE
Hydrom Line Edition 2021
19
04
HOCICO
HyperViolent
15
04
DIRK DA DAVO
The Unreal

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

19
05
44 of The Man-Machine!
15
05
On this day, 32 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
13
05
Today it’s exactly 25 years ago Nine Inch Nails released their The Perfect Drug (Versions) EP!
12
05
Witchy Goth Rock Band Metamorph Traverses Darkness With New Single 'Dream Curve'
11
05
Today it’s been 35 years since NITZER EBB released their legendary debut album That Total Age!
08
05
42 years ALAN VEGA · MARTIN REV or THE SECOND SUICIDE ALBUM!

Concert reviews

13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

16
05
THE MULTICOLOURED SHADES
Backyard Club Recklinghausen,Germany
15
05
RED ZEBRA
This is not a dark fest. Lessines
15
05
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS
This is not a dark fest. Lessines
15
05
ULTRA SUNN
This is not a dark fest. Lessines
15
05
PARTIKUL
This is not a dark fest. Lessines
28
04
FAUN
Christuskirche Bochum
24
04
CLAN OF XYMOX
Rockfabrik Uebach-Palenberg

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

19
05
NITZER EBB
Join in the Chant (Burn!)
18
05
ZARDONIC
Pure Power
17
05
DOPE
Blood Money
16
05
THE LUST SYNDICATE
Death moves towards us
15
05
EINSTÜRZENDE NEUBAUTEN
Yü-Gung (Fütter Mein Ego) - (Live Rockpalast 1990)
14
05
KATATONIA
Old Heart Falls
13
05
EVI VINE
Welcome The Dreamled Masses