tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

12/03/2014 : ESR - Time of Fear

ESR

Time of Fear

MusicCD
Cold EBMElectroSynth Pop / Electro Pop

[86/100]   

Advoxya Records
12/03/2014, Filip VAN MUYLEM

'No Tomorrow' has nice beats, a nice voice (computer reworked or via a vocoder), a bit a slow tempo, but the sound is very captivating! Whilst Love the retro sound. 'Time Of Illusions' has a more Suicide Commando sound and dito voice. 'Revolutions' is more synth minded, softer and nice. This song is almost like a VNV Nation song, except for the harsh voice (in the end you also get an extended version)! 'Everything is dead' is a slow one with a hypnotic piano & hypnotic synthwaves in it!
'They play/We lose' is a bit more up-tempo, with a harsher voice. Some Dj's might play this one during a party, love the sound! 'Raise your Fist!' is a great title with great lyrics. My only thing here is that I expected a more aggressive approach, but still: it's a nice song! Maybe an idea for a remix?
'Victory' is the kind of song to skip If you are me, it has no lyrics and is a more synth minded pop song with retro influences à la Technomancer. 'The Killing Game' & 'Instinct Of Survival' are - once again - nice titles, but once again I expected a more aggressive approach & harder beats. I can feel the high potential in it! 'Stand Up Now!' sounds like a mix between Project Pitchfork & Funkervogt! 'Mysterious Ways' is not a U2 song, but simply again just a musical piece, with no vocals (a skipper for me).

This band knows how to write about the not so happy sides of life and the negative sides of humanity!

Another thing that I noticed is the high potential! I think I'll love the next album more, just give them some space and time to evolve...

Filip VAN MUYLEM
12/03/2014


Music reviews

23
02
THE HEAT INC.
EP
23
02
PIG
Pain Is God
22
02
ANTHONY JONES
Farewell To Flesh
18
02
WULF7
Dark Hate
17
02
DEAR DEER / EMBERS
Split
06
02
J:DEAD
A Complicated Genocide

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

08
03
No Time To Cry since 36 years!
08
03
Today, exactly 27 years ago, American industrial band Nine Inch Nails released The Downward Spiral!
07
03
Electronic Act IMBUED VAGARY Releases 6 CD Project – “Hexalogy”
07
03
33 years ago the Drag Queen of the 20th Century, Divine, passed away!
07
03
41 years ago Siouxsie and the Banshees released the single 'Happy House'!
05
03
44 years ago Kraftwerk released Trans Europe Express!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.
07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

08
03
FRONT 242
Quite Unusual
07
03
MARSHEAUX
Eyes Without A Face
06
03
ECHO BEATTY
SOLDIER ON FURLOUGH
05
03
THE ARCH
Alien Ann
04
03
MERCIFUL NUNS
Broken Column
03
03
BLOODY KNIVES
Reflection Lies
02
03
GAVIN FRIDAY
It's All Ahead Of You