tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

23/06/2013 : ESSENCE OF MIND - Escape (EP)

ESSENCE OF MIND

Escape (EP)

MusicCD
Dark PopElectroElectro PopFuturepopPost RockRockSynth Pop / Electro Pop

[89/100]   

Alfa-Matrix
23/06/2013, Filip VAN MUYLEM

Just before the official release, I had the chance to listen to one track and loved it! It's hard to find a niche for the kind of music they make, and that's probably the most interesting part, as it keeps you awake and vivid! the music is somewhat poppy, with metal influences, but also electro-minded... Even the voice varies inbetween semi-grunting over really poppy to even heavenly voice (can I say that when a man sings?). One thing is certain: there is an Linkin Park influence on the voice and guitars in the single edit! Apoptygma Berzerk fans can also be pleased whilst listening to this ep (for sure with the club remix)!

All of the remixes add a different dimension to the original, giving them a chance in the clubs. The Henrick Bäcktröm remix is really into clubland and focusses on the heavy part of the vocals whilst the beats keep going. The Junksista remix gives it a bit of a J-Pop touch as if it was made in Japan.

All by all a nice ep and the way the remixes are placed, it sounds as if you are listening to 4 different tracks, so I can honestly say that I looooved it! This is a great Norwegian quality product!

Filip VAN MUYLEM
23/06/2013


 

Next reviews
VANITY • Occult you
SYNTECH • Trans-Neptunian Objects
AUTODAFEH • Blackout Scenario
BORN FOR BLISS • Innocent (EP)
TECHNOIR • We came for love
THE EDEN HOUSE • Half Life
COVENANT • Last Dance
PSY'AVIAH • Future Past (EP)
.COM/KILL
ENDUSER / NEEDLE SHARING / TEKNOIST, THE • Enduser Shares Needles With The Teknoist

 

Other reviews from ESSENCE OF MIND
ESSENCE OF MIND • Hate EP

 

Same genre: DARK POP
BLUTENGEL • Black
GLAARE • To Deaf and Day
PSYCHE • Youth Of Tomorrow (12'')
BLUTENGEL • Leitbild
TEN AFTER DAWN • Best Of Both Words
X MARKS THE PEDWALK • Secrets
ADORATION DESTROYED • Ritual Damage
THE AGNES CIRCLE • Some Vague Design
BOX AND THE TWINS • Everywhere I Go Is Silence
CHRISTIAN KJELLVANDER • A Village: Natural Light

 

Same genre: ELECTRO
NEGANT • No !
STRUCK9 • Ritual Body Music
LEDERMAN / DE MEYER • A Tribe Of My Own
MIRLAND/LARSEN • Disturbia
THE INVINCIBLE SPIRIT • NEIN! (Single)
DIRK DA DAVO / JEAN -MARIE AERTS • DDDJMX (EP)
BETA EVERS + SPATIAL RELATION • Split EP
FIXMER / MCCARTHY • Chemicals
DIVE • Underneath
ABSURD MINDS • Tempus Fugit

 

Same genre: ELECTRO POP
THE BIPOLAR • Tomorrow everything will get better
TYCHO BRAHE • Triplex [Complete]
LIE DETECTOR • To Fly!
BEBORN BETON • She Cried
SCHEUBER • The Me I See
DEF NEON • Def Neon
CHROM • Peak And Decay
WE THE NORTH • Endemic
JOHN FOXX • 21st Century, A Man, A Woman and a City
CHIRON • We Own The Night

 

Same genre: FUTUREPOP
DARKNESS ON DEMAND • Back To Psychoburbia
PLEASURE TIME • Years About Us
LAS AVES • Die in Shangai
PSY'AVIAH • Seven Sorrows, Seven Stars
CHIRON • Breaking Point EP
MILDREDA • Coward Philosophy
JUNKSISTA • Trust No Bitch
MR.KITTY • Fragments
ANGELS & AGONY • Monument
[:SITD:] • Dunkelziffer

 

Same genre: POST ROCK
MOGWAI • Every Country's Sun
ALESKA • Aleska
WINTER DUST • Thresholds
CHOK TOW NATION • (S/T)
GLERAKUR • Can't You Wait
THORN 1 • The Leave of Leaves
COLLAPSE.REBUILD • Fallen Again, Fallen Better
GRIMBERGEN • The Passing Of Time
MELANIE DE BIASIO • Blackened Cities
THE LOVED DRONES • Good Luck Universe:

 

Same genre: ROCK
THE SLOW SHOW • DREAM DARLING
THE PRETENDERS • Alone
WAREHOUSE • Super Low
NEW MODEL ARMY • Winter
MAIDAVALE • Tales of the Wicked West
EZRA FURMAN • Big Fugitive Life
PETER NORDBERG • Om Man Inte Är Här
DAVID GILMOUR • Tienen, Grote Markt (27/07/2016)
ROXY MUSIC • Manifesto
PAUL MCCARTNEY • Werchter, Rock Werchter (30/06/2016)

 

Same genre: SYNTH POP / ELECTRO POP
JOHN FOXX • METAMATIC (2018 BOX)
VOGON POETRY • Life, The Universe and Everything
REFLECTION • Lumen
SALLY DIGE • Holding On
HELIOPHILE • Permeate
SPECTRA PARIS • Retromachine Betty
PARRALOX • Subculture
DICEPEOPLE • Synthetic
THE HUMAN LEAGUE + EKKOES • Borgerhout, De Roma (16/11/2016)
COVENANT • The Blinding Dark

Music reviews

09
08
RAT SCABIES
Rat Scabies - P.H.D.
09
08
REACTOR7X
And Chaos Bacame The New Order
01
08
ANNINA MELISSA
Exhibition of Death
31
07
CRIMEN
Silent Animals
26
07
VIOLENCE
Le Flux de la Nature
22
07
SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS
Semiotics Department of Heteronyms

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

10
08
Today, it’s exactly 31 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
08
08
James Ray (The voice from The Sisterhood) returns with brand new album, band and musical style change!
02
08
This month, 35 years ago, Nitzer Ebb recorded their first demo Basic Pain Procedure!
30
07
'Anything' movie: UK digital release on August, 6th!
25
07
Spacelab revisited! ISS calls Kraftwerk from outer Space!
25
07
'Locating Silver Lake' screening at Breckenridge Film Festival in September!

Concert reviews

14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018
16
07
COVENANT W/ STONEBURNER
Live @ Ivy Smokehouse, Washington DC, 15th April 2018
24
05
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
19
03
FEVER RAY
Live @ AB - Brussels - 15.03.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

11
08
MICK HARVEY
Interview with Mick Harvey (The Boys Next Door, The Birthday Party, Crime & the City Solution, Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds, PJ Harvey)
07
08
RAT SCABIES (EX THE DAMNED)
'I never planned to make a solo record... It was something I was doing for fun.'
03
08
LIZARD SMILE
'I still see it as the expression of appreciation par excellence to buy a physical album. It still remains more ‘real’ … one way or another.'
29
07
SN-A
I Also Love Telling Stories Without Words
27
07
STIN SCATZOR
I never could have thought Stin Scatzor would ever release an album on DAFT Records!

PHOTOS

16
08
16
08
BAUHAUS
W-Fest Amougies
12
08
12
08
GARY NUMAN
Lokerse Feesten
01
08
GRAUSAME TOCHTER
Amphi
01
08
PERSEPHONE
Amphi
01
08
MAD SIN
Amphi

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

18
08
MARY OCHER
The Android Sea
17
08
THE VISION BLEAK
Into The Unknown
16
08
DE/VISION
Brotherhood Of Man
15
08
SOLAR FAKE
Under Control
15
08
NEW ORDER
Restless
15
08
JO QUAIL
Gold (live)
15
08
SIXTH JUNE
Drowning