tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

20/01/2015 : ETHAN FAWKES - Symptom of Apocalypse

ETHAN FAWKES

Symptom of Apocalypse

MusicCD
Electronics

[97/100]   

I-Traxx Recordings
20/01/2015, Britta Tabrit

The Belgian DJ, producer, remixer, writer and singer Ethan Fawkes releases his new TBM-Noise-Metal album “Symptom of Apocalypse” and leaves me quite thunderstruck. Being a lover of rhythmic techno beats just as much as of metal music and critical lyrics, I really enjoyed listening to this recommendable 16-tracks album.

With the first track “Meat for Vultures”, I immediately tasted the blood and wanted more of it. Metal components, synthie beats and engraving vocals make this song the perfect opener! “Never wake up” feat. Emelie Nicolai, is my personal favorite as it reminds me of some early 90s Stephen King soundtrack to the movie “Pet Sematary II", which I used to watch hundreds of times. “It stays nothing” convinces the listener with fine technoid noise and simple but harsh vocals.

“Nocturnal” feat. Bernard F., is obviously the most surprising song here! With wonderful classic piano elements and almost the feeling of listening to some opera music, the song turns into a kind of epic hymn mixed with danceable old-school elements and metal guitar riffs. “They control, they devide” and “Wizard” stand for the more metal bassy parts of the album, whereas “No more life” and “Wolfman”, with its female vocals, have more in common with the electronic dancefloor influences of Ethan Fawkes’ wild mix of ascendancies.

The songs “Contaminated” and “Kill – Destruction” turn towards the noise/industrial souls among the listeners: fast, hard and completely mechanical. And not easy to grab. A total nuclear blast of hate and devastation. The last original mix “where’s my World” is like a last instrumental attack to destroy the last piece of hope that this album might give you. Be sure, it doesn’t!

The following remixes by Acylum, Krystal System, Aengeldust, Iszoloscope and VV303 fit the theme of the album extraordinarily: loud, noisy, industrial mixes of the songs “Meat for Vultures”, “Kill – Destruction” and “It stays Nothing” round out the dark but inennarable face of “Symptom of Apocalypse”.

Britta Tabrit
20/01/2015


Music reviews

24
08
MEAGER BENEFITS
Crawling
23
08
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1
Harbringer
22
08
NAIROD YARG
Nairod Yarg
17
08
STATIQBLOOM
Asphyxia
16
08
STAATSEINDE
Dreiheit
15
08
L'AVENIR
Requiem And Live

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

22
08
The Cassandra Complex & Die Krupps to headline BIMFEST 2019!
14
08
Electro-Industrial artist SPANKTHENUN reveals their MIND CONTROL EP & Leaether Strip Remix Visualizer
13
08
Zeroes, the new single of M73
12
08
Post-Punk Act VAZUM Releases Video For Their Cover of BAUHAUS' 'She's In Parties'
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 32 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
09
08
JO QUAIL LAUNCHES NEW RECORD LABEL ADDERSTONE RECORDS

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

15
08
SPANKTHENUN
An Interview With Electro-Industrial Artist SPANKTHENUN
13
08
AHMED SALEH ABOUT EXPERIMENTAL/INDUSTRIAL MUSIC IN AFRICA
People Here Can Get Arrested Because Of Something They Posted On Social Media!
12
08
SINTHETIK MESSIAH
An Interview With Industrial Bass Artist SINthetik Messiah
10
08
THE BRUTE:
An Interview With Synthpop Act THE BRUTE:
09
08
VAZUM
An Interview With Dark Rock Act VAZUM

PHOTOS

14
08
SECRET GARDEN
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
13
08
TRISOMIE 21
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
12
08
GRAND BLANC
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
12
08
WE ARE WAVES
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
10
08
MOTOR!K
De Smoutpot Zwijndrecht
09
08
ALLEZ ALLEZ
Fonne Feesten Lokeren
09
08
RED ZEBRA
Fonne Feesten Lokeren

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

24
08
SLEEPING PULSE
War
23
08
LUH
Beneath The Concrete
22
08
NEW ORDER
Blue Monday
21
08
NEW MODEL ARMY
Never Arriving
20
08
FORCED TO MODE
NEVER LET ME DOWN AGAIN
19
08
THE NEON JUDGEMENT
Schyzophrenic Freddy
18
08
DAVE BALL
In Strict Tempo