tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

20/01/2015 : ETHAN FAWKES - Symptom of Apocalypse

ETHAN FAWKES

Symptom of Apocalypse

MusicCD
Electronics

[97/100]   

I-Traxx Recordings
20/01/2015, Britta Tabrit

The Belgian DJ, producer, remixer, writer and singer Ethan Fawkes releases his new TBM-Noise-Metal album “Symptom of Apocalypse” and leaves me quite thunderstruck. Being a lover of rhythmic techno beats just as much as of metal music and critical lyrics, I really enjoyed listening to this recommendable 16-tracks album.

With the first track “Meat for Vultures”, I immediately tasted the blood and wanted more of it. Metal components, synthie beats and engraving vocals make this song the perfect opener! “Never wake up” feat. Emelie Nicolai, is my personal favorite as it reminds me of some early 90s Stephen King soundtrack to the movie “Pet Sematary II", which I used to watch hundreds of times. “It stays nothing” convinces the listener with fine technoid noise and simple but harsh vocals.

“Nocturnal” feat. Bernard F., is obviously the most surprising song here! With wonderful classic piano elements and almost the feeling of listening to some opera music, the song turns into a kind of epic hymn mixed with danceable old-school elements and metal guitar riffs. “They control, they devide” and “Wizard” stand for the more metal bassy parts of the album, whereas “No more life” and “Wolfman”, with its female vocals, have more in common with the electronic dancefloor influences of Ethan Fawkes’ wild mix of ascendancies.

The songs “Contaminated” and “Kill – Destruction” turn towards the noise/industrial souls among the listeners: fast, hard and completely mechanical. And not easy to grab. A total nuclear blast of hate and devastation. The last original mix “where’s my World” is like a last instrumental attack to destroy the last piece of hope that this album might give you. Be sure, it doesn’t!

The following remixes by Acylum, Krystal System, Aengeldust, Iszoloscope and VV303 fit the theme of the album extraordinarily: loud, noisy, industrial mixes of the songs “Meat for Vultures”, “Kill – Destruction” and “It stays Nothing” round out the dark but inennarable face of “Symptom of Apocalypse”.

Britta Tabrit
20/01/2015


Music reviews

14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment
09
06
CELESTIAL NORTH
When The Gods Dance
12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue
22
04
DEAD MAN'S HILL
Inner Journeys Through The Living Temples Of Water

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
06
44 years ago Suicide performed their legendary '23 minutes over Brussels'!
15
06
Roobanok: new talent on SkyQode
15
06
Today it’s exactly 43 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
14
06
Industrial band, The Royal Ritual addresses organized religion ethics with debut LP, /Martyrs/
14
06
TELESKOP releases new EP on Progress Productions
13
06
Toxikk Deception releases new album through DSBP Records

Concert reviews

14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

23
06
THE JESUS & MARY CHAIN
Trix Antwerpen
22
06
MONROE SUPPORT ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
22
06
ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
21
06
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
AB Brussel
19
06
GARY NUMAN
New Waves Day Oberhausen
19
06
PINK TURNS BLUE
New Waves Day Oberhausen
19
06
THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
New Waves Day Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

26
06
AMBASSADOR21
FUCKALLSYSTEMS
25
06
CIRCLE OF DUST
Outside In
24
06
LUH
Beneath The Concrete
23
06
EARTHSET
SO WHAT!?
22
06
DIORAMA
ZSA
21
06
MIEL NOIR
L’ennemi
20
06
POESIE NOIRE
Déjà Vu