tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

20/01/2015 : ETHAN FAWKES - Symptom of Apocalypse

ETHAN FAWKES

Symptom of Apocalypse

MusicCD
Electronics

[97/100]   

I-Traxx Recordings
20/01/2015, Britta Tabrit

The Belgian DJ, producer, remixer, writer and singer Ethan Fawkes releases his new TBM-Noise-Metal album “Symptom of Apocalypse” and leaves me quite thunderstruck. Being a lover of rhythmic techno beats just as much as of metal music and critical lyrics, I really enjoyed listening to this recommendable 16-tracks album.

With the first track “Meat for Vultures”, I immediately tasted the blood and wanted more of it. Metal components, synthie beats and engraving vocals make this song the perfect opener! “Never wake up” feat. Emelie Nicolai, is my personal favorite as it reminds me of some early 90s Stephen King soundtrack to the movie “Pet Sematary II", which I used to watch hundreds of times. “It stays nothing” convinces the listener with fine technoid noise and simple but harsh vocals.

“Nocturnal” feat. Bernard F., is obviously the most surprising song here! With wonderful classic piano elements and almost the feeling of listening to some opera music, the song turns into a kind of epic hymn mixed with danceable old-school elements and metal guitar riffs. “They control, they devide” and “Wizard” stand for the more metal bassy parts of the album, whereas “No more life” and “Wolfman”, with its female vocals, have more in common with the electronic dancefloor influences of Ethan Fawkes’ wild mix of ascendancies.

The songs “Contaminated” and “Kill – Destruction” turn towards the noise/industrial souls among the listeners: fast, hard and completely mechanical. And not easy to grab. A total nuclear blast of hate and devastation. The last original mix “where’s my World” is like a last instrumental attack to destroy the last piece of hope that this album might give you. Be sure, it doesn’t!

The following remixes by Acylum, Krystal System, Aengeldust, Iszoloscope and VV303 fit the theme of the album extraordinarily: loud, noisy, industrial mixes of the songs “Meat for Vultures”, “Kill – Destruction” and “It stays Nothing” round out the dark but inennarable face of “Symptom of Apocalypse”.

Britta Tabrit
20/01/2015


Music reviews

27
01
6TH CROWD
Самозванцы (Samozvantsiy)
18
01
RINGFINGER
Pressure
16
01
SYRENOMILIA
A Rose Shattered
14
01
M73
Tainted
09
01
NEGANT
Schwarz!
08
01
MORE EPHEMEROL
Obituary Templates

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

28
01
ASHRR’S Dark Industrialized New Single, “ALL YOURS ALL MINE (DARKER DAYS MIX)” Is Streaming Now
25
01
Exactly 42 years ago, Joy Division played their very first concert!
24
01
Canadian DJ/Multi-Genre Artist JHNN Reveals New Single And Video 'My Strange Addiction'
24
01
Today, exactly 29 ago years ago Front 242 released the album Tyranny ▶For You◀
24
01
Today, 2 years ago, Mark E. Smith, singer of legendary post-punk band The Fall died, aged 60
23
01
Dirk Da Davo (former The Neon Judgement) and Jean-Marie Aerts (former TC MATIC) announce first joint venture full album!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

24
01
TREY GUNN (KING CRIMSON,TU ,SECURITY PROJECT,...)
'I’m trying to set up an experiential thing...'
20
01
AARON TURNER (SUMAC, ISIS, MAMIFFER...)
'It’s like a dialogue between me and what I’m hearing...'
19
01
IAN EVERETT (SOLID BRONZE)
'had a lot of time to sit with these songs...'
17
01
BROOK
I’ve soaked up a lot of musical genres over the years, and I like to think that maybe this is reflected throughout the Brook album.
15
01
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO
I never thought I’d live to see the day when Ordo Rosarius Equilibrio was mentioned next to Current 93 and Death in June.

PHOTOS

26
01
FIX8:SED8
Oefenbunker Landgraaf
26
01
GRAUSAME TOCHTER
Oefenbunker Landgraaf
26
01
LAPIS EXILIS
Oefenbuker Landgraaf
25
01
ASHBURY HEIGHTS
Rockpalast Matrix Bochum Germany
25
01
MASSIVE EGO
Rockpalast Matrix Bochum Germany
19
01
DAGEIST
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
THE ARCH
Dark Winter Festival Liège

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

28
01
BIG TIME KILL
Again and Again
28
01
DEPECHE MODE
Enjoy The Silence
27
01
GEOMETRIC VISION
Apocalypse Queen
26
01
MASSENHYSTERIE
Weiber regieren die Welt
25
01
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Armored Core
24
01
DE DELVERS
Poolnacht
23
01
GOLDFRAPP
Systemagic