tempobet yeni adresi
like this concert review

18/05/2015 : EUROROCK FEST - Day 1 (15/05/2015)

EUROROCK FEST

Day 1 (15/05/2015)

Concert
Dark ElectroDark PopDark WaveDarkwaveDoomDream MetalEBMElectro PopElectro Rock

[85/100]   
18/05/2015, Peter HESELMANS

Eurorock is back! This cult/ electro /industrial and doom festival returns on the site where it all began in the early days, and sadly ended in 2002. After stopping all activities of the Dutch Summer Darkness crew and the bizarre ending of the Shadowplay Festival, the BENELUX has again his own great place to be for some dark alternative tunes.

The fresh started organization did their very best to put together a great line up with more than 40 bands. Although they said that it was almost sold out, we all had our doubts arriving at the festival site, along with some other, let ‘s say ‘ not so good organized things’, but I will come back to that later.

The first tunes I heard were from STIN SCATZOR started as a one-man-project by Stefan Bens. In 1990 he started out with only one keyboard, creating his own industrial/experimental music. But this band envolved and in 2001 Kris Peeters joined the band. I really liked their unique aggressive industrial sound, and as introduction to the festival it can count. Stefan gave a powerfull performance, but sadly for only a few dozen specators. (rating : 90/100)

Then IMPLANT, the project of Len Lemeire and Jan D’Hooghe, both contributed a lot to the huge Belgian electro scene since 1992 This band gave a nice performance, these guys always innovate modern electronical music by their diverse soundscapes. The mix of modern electronic melodies and industrial dance sounds enriched with some vocals, and they made a good impression with the crowd, and although only midday I saw already some dancing. (rating : 85/100)

Then the Italien ALIEN VAMPIRES, they acted with tons of provocation, but it was still to early for the clubbers to start dancing or jumping around so after a couple of songs it even became quite boring. Maybe this act can survive in a small club after midnight, but here it sounded more like a cheap suicide commando spin of (rating : 65/100)

XMH has built up a strong live reputation, and now it was time to show how the Dutch make a party. The energetic show of XMH never got boring, and from the very first minute singer Benjamin Samson was rampaging the stage like a madman, this guy will do everything to grab your attention! For those not familiar with XMH, their music is a blend of Industrial and EBM with a trancey edge. A pity there was not more audience to enjoy this strong set (rating : 90/100)

During the eighties LUC VAN ACKER was almost everywhere where exciting things happened: he was a member of British bands like Shriekback and Noise Abroad, toured for many years the U.S. with Revolting Cocks, played at Arbeid Adelt and kept there cutting-edge projects. Luc started of directly very strong with ‘The Ship’, and made quite an impression. Finally there were enough people to make this gig the first small highlight of the festival (rating : 95/100)

Followed directly by another Belgian Cult act, A SPLIT SECOND. This band already started its career in the mid-eighties , and was somehow the blueprint for the new beat movement, with of course tracks like ‘Flesh’ or ‘Rigor Mortis’, The guys did a great job, they impressed not only the nostalgia lovers, but also a whole bunch of young people with their energetic and danceable performance. For the first time the ‘Hell stage’ was on fire (rating 90/100)

ARBEID ADELT!, another Belgian cult band, already formed in 1981 by Marcel Vanthilt and Jan Van Roelen, and later joined by Luc Van Acker. Those guys still have it, the energy, power and craziness, with Marcel joking and fooling around. With their ‘hits’, ik sta ascherp en ‘De dag dat het zonlicht niet meer scheen’ they turned the stage into a madhouse, sadly the foreign audience didn’t always understand the Flemish parts and jokes. An absolutely crazy show, I really liked it , but not so sure for the ‘not Flemish’ audience (rating : 85/100)



DIARY OF DREAMS started as a Dark Wave band, and developed its style more to Electro / Synth Pop / Rock. In 1989 founded by front man and singer Adrian Hates, the band gathered with the release of their debut album in 1994 a continuously growing fan base. Nowadays, the Gothic/ Independent scene is unthinkable without this German band. The lyrics are alternately in German and English language. Like always they delivered an energetic set, and know how to impress the audience. I was completely overwhelmed and so was the rest of the audience, everyone started to dance and sing along. It seemed that many of us waited there just to see this band. (rating 95/100)

From this highlight over to THE CRUXSHADOWS and although the band is originally from Florida, USA, they are a well-known member of wave festival line-ups. The synth pop / Wave band with singer Rogue showed a lot of energy on stage and as usually had female dancers to support them. Although his voice is surely not what one might call clear and powerful, the band has a lot of followers and the space in front of the stage was pretty crowded. In my mind, the mix of synth pop with classical sounds by the violin was very new and fresh a decade ago, but now it all sounded far to smooth and commercial. I think this gig was completely on tape, at the end I had the impression I was watching a Eurovision song contest band ( rating : 50/100)

No, then the real thing, and another highlight for me was to see the Belgian project SUICIDE COMMANDO live again. With video projections and the support of a live drummer (Mario Vaerewijck) and keyboarder (Torben Schmidt), mastermind Johan Van Roy presented us an energetic show of Electro / Industrial sound. The mood of the crowd was excellent and thus you could see most of them dancing. Unfortunately there were some knee and voice problems, and sometimes you could even see he was in pain, but Johan did a great job, like always (rating : 90/100)

A performance by VIVE LA FETE is always a visual and attractive show. The electro pop and catchy post-punk tunes they bring are always complemented by the light erotic and cheerful bouncing breasts of front woman Els Pyno. They played a nice professional set whitch we could all enjoy (rating : 85/100)

OOMPH! was founded in Wolfsburg in 1989 and is one of the oldest and most famous German bands.It consists of Dero (vocals, drums), Crap (keyboard, guitar) and Flux (guitars, sampling). On stage, they are supported by Silvestri (drums), Hagen (bass), El Friede (keyboards) and Okusa (percussions). Their music is called “Neue Deutsche Härte”, a powerful mixture of Rock, EBM, Pop and Metal, and has inspired bands like Ramstein. Oomph performed with German precision, a nice solid show that could enjoy a big part of the audience. (rating : 85/100)

The last band I saw on this first festival day was APOPTYGMA BERZERK, and the Norwegians gave their fans what they came for, a kind of greatest hits compilation, at first the atmosphere was really electrifying and it looked as if this was going to be another highlight, but people started leaving after some time so it ended without a climax. (rating : 75/100)

People told me they left because it was too cold in the tent. One of the things that wasn’t good organized, when you install heathers then please use them. More strange things on this festival were the bizarre decision to use the same festival bracelets for the first and second day of the festival , AND the tickets for both days!? It was 10 euro to park your car for the whole festival, but the dayafter they changed their mind and some had to pay again. And then the ‘joke’ that this festival was sold out, I guess on day one maybe 2000 people, certainly not the 6000 they announced. But OK, that are minor problems considering what was going to happen on day 2……

Below you can find a small compilation of most bands. More vids like always on my YouTube channel, numanoid65

Peter HESELMANS
18/05/2015


 

Next reviews
EUROROCK DAY 2 • Neerpelt (16/05/2015)
KORNEL MUNDRUCZO • White God
ANTHONY DONOVAN AND JOHN 3:16 • Of the Hex and its Likenesses
DIE WILDE JAGD • Die Wilde Jagd
VARIOUS ARTISTS • ZTT The Value Of Entertainment
FLORIA SIGISMONDI • The Runaways
DRIES VAN NOTEN • Inspirations (Antwerpen, Modemuseum, until/tot 19/7/2015)
GRACE JONES • Disco
CARTER TUTTI • Carter Tutti Plays Chris & Cosey
MARTIN GORE • MG

 

Same genre: DARK ELECTRO
DREADFOOL • Atoms for peace
TECHNOLORGY • Carnivore
HER OWN WORLD • A Different Kind Of Reality
THIS ETERNAL DECAY • Silence
FEU FOLLET • Le champ des morts
OCTOLAB • Mystery Park
REALITY'S DESPAIR • Melancholic Disposition
MISERIA ULTIMA • Graygarden
REACTOR7X • Are You My Bitch
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1 • Harbringer

 

Same genre: DARK POP
THIRD REALM • The Art of Despair
AMY STUDT • Happiest Girl in The Universe
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
DEZ MONA • Book Of Many
BLUTENGEL • Black
GLAARE • To Deaf and Day
PSYCHE • Youth Of Tomorrow (12'')
BLUTENGEL • Leitbild
TEN AFTER DAWN • Best Of Both Words
X MARKS THE PEDWALK • Secrets

 

Same genre: DARK WAVE
AIMAPROJECT • Di AimA Il Segno
SAIGON BLUE RAIN • Pink Obsession
BLUTENGEL • UN:GOTT
EUROPEAN GHOST • Collections Of Shadows
WANT/ED • Unthinkable
DARK DOOR • Inferno
KIRLIAN CAMERA • Hologram Moon
SILENT RUNNERS • The Directory
MANNEQUIN • Singles/Faction
PARADOX OBSCUR • Artifact

 

Same genre: DARKWAVE
THE MIDNIGHT COMPUTERS • Anxious
HYSTÉRIE • Deuil
MANNEQUIN • From a distance
THE HERESY GENE • La Luz Del Padre
PETER BJARGO (ARCANA) • Structures and Downfall
DAGEIST • Sexy
PLASTIKSTROM • Beton Gegen Angst
JE T'AIME • Je T'aime
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE • Endgame 69:
MANDIVULA • Nonsens

 

Same genre: DOOM
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA • Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
BLACKWOOD • As the World Rots Away
GLERAKUR • Can't You Wait
HIGH FIGHTER • Scars and Crosses
SWITCHBLADE • “2016”
ANTAGONIST ZERO • No Tears
AMBER ASYLUM • Sin Eater
ORGAN • Tetro
VICTORIENT • The Old Curiosity Shop
GJÖLL • The Background of Perpetual Discontent

 

Same genre: DREAM METAL
THE MORGANATICS • We Come From The Stars
ELUVEITIE • Origins
METAL FEMALE VOICES FEST • Day 2, 18/10/2014 | Leaves' Eyes, Sirenia, The Sirens and more...
METAL FEMALE VOICES FEST • Day 1, 17/10/2014 | MFV United, Ayin Aleph and more...
LIV KRISTINE • Vervain
SKEPTICAL MINDS • Run for your live 2014
KALIDIA • LIES DEVICE
DISKELION • Remember Sorrow
SAVN • Savn
XANDRIA • Sacrificum

 

Same genre: EBM
SUICIDE COMMANDO • Mindstrip Redux
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP1
TRUE ZEBRA • Idiorhythmic
SHERAPHIM SYSTEM • Phoenix
TUKT • Tukt
STAATSEINDE • Darüber Reden Wir Nicht
EMERGENCY SEQUENCE • Sharpening The Axe
PORTION CONTROL • Head Buried
UNITCODE:MACHINE • Paper empires
GHOSTING • The Flanders EP

 

Same genre: ELECTRO POP
CAWATANA • In The Silver Light (7')
BOYTRONIC • The Robot Treatment
6TH CROWD • Самозванцы (Samozvantsiy)
UMMAGMA • Compass (Leonard Skully Records)
MASSIVE EGO • Church For The Malfunctioned
LUCKY AND LOVE • Transitions
UMMAGMA • Caravan -Backed With Ty i Ya
LADYTRON • Ladytron
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Wake Up The Coma
BROKEN EGO • Getting Higher

 

Same genre: ELECTRO ROCK
FUTURE PILOT AKA • Orkestra Digitalis
THE BLACKHEART ORCHESTRA • Mesmeranto
YATES AND YOUNG • Splinters Ep
NICK CAVE AND THE BAD SEEDS • Ghosteen (Ghosteen/Bad Seed Ltd.)
I AM A ROCKETSHIP • Mind Grafitti
ARMY OF THE UNIVERSE • Resin EP
YOU, VICIOUS! • You, Vicious!
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH!! • Shatter
DIRK DA DAVO / JEAN -MARIE AERTS • DDDJMX (EP)
LIE DETECTOR • To Fly!

Music reviews

19
10
DREADFOOL
Atoms for peace
18
10
ANNA VON HAUSSWOLFF
All Thoughts Fly Sweden
17
10
FATAL CASUALTIES
Lullaby for Helsinki
16
10
JESU
When I Was Small
12
10
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Mindstrip Redux
09
10
PORTION CONTROL
SEED EP1

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

31
10
36 years ago Ministry released (Every Day Is) Halloween!
30
10
In time for Halloween Heaven and Hell Records resurrect the MORTICIA catalogue.
29
10
Producer & This Mortal Coil co-founder John Fryer releases 'These Mortal Covers' LP!
28
10
43 years Never Mind The Bollocks!
28
10
On this day, 32 years ago, Front 242 released Front By Front!
24
10
Exactly 31 years ago Nitzer Ebb released ‘Control I’m Here’

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing
31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

21
10
DELERITAS
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... Deleritas!
20
10
WULF7
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... WÜLF7!
19
10
LISA GERRARD (DEAD CAN DANCE)
'I love the innocent dangers that can be experienced in musical performance...'
18
10
SERAPHIM SYSTEM
A Glorious Return To Form
17
10
DREADFOOL
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... DREADFOOL!

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

31
10
DIVE
Far Away
30
10
THE MISSION
Tower Of Strength 2020
29
10
VIOLENT VICKIE
Under The Gun
29
10
STACIAN
Telephonix
28
10
PSY'AVIAH
Reboot Reset Relay
27
10
NO MORE
Turnaround
26
10
DEVO
Beautiful World