tempobet yeni adresi
like this concert review

18/05/2015 : EUROROCK FEST - Day 1 (15/05/2015)

EUROROCK FEST

Day 1 (15/05/2015)

Concert
Dark ElectroDark PopDark WaveDarkwaveDoomDream MetalEBMElectro PopElectro Rock

[85/100]   
18/05/2015, Peter HESELMANS

Eurorock is back! This cult/ electro /industrial and doom festival returns on the site where it all began in the early days, and sadly ended in 2002. After stopping all activities of the Dutch Summer Darkness crew and the bizarre ending of the Shadowplay Festival, the BENELUX has again his own great place to be for some dark alternative tunes.

The fresh started organization did their very best to put together a great line up with more than 40 bands. Although they said that it was almost sold out, we all had our doubts arriving at the festival site, along with some other, let ‘s say ‘ not so good organized things’, but I will come back to that later.

The first tunes I heard were from STIN SCATZOR started as a one-man-project by Stefan Bens. In 1990 he started out with only one keyboard, creating his own industrial/experimental music. But this band envolved and in 2001 Kris Peeters joined the band. I really liked their unique aggressive industrial sound, and as introduction to the festival it can count. Stefan gave a powerfull performance, but sadly for only a few dozen specators. (rating : 90/100)

Then IMPLANT, the project of Len Lemeire and Jan D’Hooghe, both contributed a lot to the huge Belgian electro scene since 1992 This band gave a nice performance, these guys always innovate modern electronical music by their diverse soundscapes. The mix of modern electronic melodies and industrial dance sounds enriched with some vocals, and they made a good impression with the crowd, and although only midday I saw already some dancing. (rating : 85/100)

Then the Italien ALIEN VAMPIRES, they acted with tons of provocation, but it was still to early for the clubbers to start dancing or jumping around so after a couple of songs it even became quite boring. Maybe this act can survive in a small club after midnight, but here it sounded more like a cheap suicide commando spin of (rating : 65/100)

XMH has built up a strong live reputation, and now it was time to show how the Dutch make a party. The energetic show of XMH never got boring, and from the very first minute singer Benjamin Samson was rampaging the stage like a madman, this guy will do everything to grab your attention! For those not familiar with XMH, their music is a blend of Industrial and EBM with a trancey edge. A pity there was not more audience to enjoy this strong set (rating : 90/100)

During the eighties LUC VAN ACKER was almost everywhere where exciting things happened: he was a member of British bands like Shriekback and Noise Abroad, toured for many years the U.S. with Revolting Cocks, played at Arbeid Adelt and kept there cutting-edge projects. Luc started of directly very strong with ‘The Ship’, and made quite an impression. Finally there were enough people to make this gig the first small highlight of the festival (rating : 95/100)

Followed directly by another Belgian Cult act, A SPLIT SECOND. This band already started its career in the mid-eighties , and was somehow the blueprint for the new beat movement, with of course tracks like ‘Flesh’ or ‘Rigor Mortis’, The guys did a great job, they impressed not only the nostalgia lovers, but also a whole bunch of young people with their energetic and danceable performance. For the first time the ‘Hell stage’ was on fire (rating 90/100)

ARBEID ADELT!, another Belgian cult band, already formed in 1981 by Marcel Vanthilt and Jan Van Roelen, and later joined by Luc Van Acker. Those guys still have it, the energy, power and craziness, with Marcel joking and fooling around. With their ‘hits’, ik sta ascherp en ‘De dag dat het zonlicht niet meer scheen’ they turned the stage into a madhouse, sadly the foreign audience didn’t always understand the Flemish parts and jokes. An absolutely crazy show, I really liked it , but not so sure for the ‘not Flemish’ audience (rating : 85/100)



DIARY OF DREAMS started as a Dark Wave band, and developed its style more to Electro / Synth Pop / Rock. In 1989 founded by front man and singer Adrian Hates, the band gathered with the release of their debut album in 1994 a continuously growing fan base. Nowadays, the Gothic/ Independent scene is unthinkable without this German band. The lyrics are alternately in German and English language. Like always they delivered an energetic set, and know how to impress the audience. I was completely overwhelmed and so was the rest of the audience, everyone started to dance and sing along. It seemed that many of us waited there just to see this band. (rating 95/100)

From this highlight over to THE CRUXSHADOWS and although the band is originally from Florida, USA, they are a well-known member of wave festival line-ups. The synth pop / Wave band with singer Rogue showed a lot of energy on stage and as usually had female dancers to support them. Although his voice is surely not what one might call clear and powerful, the band has a lot of followers and the space in front of the stage was pretty crowded. In my mind, the mix of synth pop with classical sounds by the violin was very new and fresh a decade ago, but now it all sounded far to smooth and commercial. I think this gig was completely on tape, at the end I had the impression I was watching a Eurovision song contest band ( rating : 50/100)

No, then the real thing, and another highlight for me was to see the Belgian project SUICIDE COMMANDO live again. With video projections and the support of a live drummer (Mario Vaerewijck) and keyboarder (Torben Schmidt), mastermind Johan Van Roy presented us an energetic show of Electro / Industrial sound. The mood of the crowd was excellent and thus you could see most of them dancing. Unfortunately there were some knee and voice problems, and sometimes you could even see he was in pain, but Johan did a great job, like always (rating : 90/100)

A performance by VIVE LA FETE is always a visual and attractive show. The electro pop and catchy post-punk tunes they bring are always complemented by the light erotic and cheerful bouncing breasts of front woman Els Pyno. They played a nice professional set whitch we could all enjoy (rating : 85/100)

OOMPH! was founded in Wolfsburg in 1989 and is one of the oldest and most famous German bands.It consists of Dero (vocals, drums), Crap (keyboard, guitar) and Flux (guitars, sampling). On stage, they are supported by Silvestri (drums), Hagen (bass), El Friede (keyboards) and Okusa (percussions). Their music is called “Neue Deutsche Härte”, a powerful mixture of Rock, EBM, Pop and Metal, and has inspired bands like Ramstein. Oomph performed with German precision, a nice solid show that could enjoy a big part of the audience. (rating : 85/100)

The last band I saw on this first festival day was APOPTYGMA BERZERK, and the Norwegians gave their fans what they came for, a kind of greatest hits compilation, at first the atmosphere was really electrifying and it looked as if this was going to be another highlight, but people started leaving after some time so it ended without a climax. (rating : 75/100)

People told me they left because it was too cold in the tent. One of the things that wasn’t good organized, when you install heathers then please use them. More strange things on this festival were the bizarre decision to use the same festival bracelets for the first and second day of the festival , AND the tickets for both days!? It was 10 euro to park your car for the whole festival, but the dayafter they changed their mind and some had to pay again. And then the ‘joke’ that this festival was sold out, I guess on day one maybe 2000 people, certainly not the 6000 they announced. But OK, that are minor problems considering what was going to happen on day 2……

Below you can find a small compilation of most bands. More vids like always on my YouTube channel, numanoid65

Peter HESELMANS
18/05/2015


 

Next reviews
EUROROCK DAY 2 • Neerpelt (16/05/2015)
KORNEL MUNDRUCZO • White God
ANTHONY DONOVAN AND JOHN 3:16 • Of the Hex and its Likenesses
DIE WILDE JAGD • Die Wilde Jagd
VARIOUS ARTISTS • ZTT The Value Of Entertainment
FLORIA SIGISMONDI • The Runaways
DRIES VAN NOTEN • Inspirations (Antwerpen, Modemuseum, until/tot 19/7/2015)
GRACE JONES • Disco
CARTER TUTTI • Carter Tutti Plays Chris & Cosey
MARTIN GORE • MG

 

Same genre: DARK ELECTRO
MILDREDA • I was never really there
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP3
300 000VK • Peter Paradox
PYRROLINE • Struggling
WULF7 • Dark Hate
FIX8:SED8 • The Inevitable Relapse (Limited Edition)
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Mechanical Soul
IMPLANT • Phantom Pain
PLACEBO EFFECT • Shattered Souls
CAUSENATION • Promises of hope and fear

 

Same genre: DARK POP
DD SANCHEZ • StRaNgE
THIS ETERNAL DECAY • Silence
THIRD REALM • The Art of Despair
AMY STUDT • Happiest Girl in The Universe
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
DEZ MONA • Book Of Many
BLUTENGEL • Black
GLAARE • To Deaf and Day
PSYCHE • Youth Of Tomorrow (12'')
BLUTENGEL • Leitbild

 

Same genre: DARK WAVE
ANTHONY JONES • Farewell To Flesh
OCTOLAB • Mystery Park
AIMAPROJECT • Di AimA Il Segno
SAIGON BLUE RAIN • Pink Obsession
BLUTENGEL • UN:GOTT
EUROPEAN GHOST • Collections Of Shadows
WANT/ED • Unthinkable
DARK DOOR • Inferno
KIRLIAN CAMERA • Hologram Moon
SILENT RUNNERS • The Directory

 

Same genre: DARKWAVE
LA SCALTRA • Cabaret
CARNAL MACHINERY • Cluster A
POTOCHKINE • Sortilèges
TERMINAL SERIOUS • Love Was Lies
BLACK SNOW IN SUMMER • Lost Feelings
THE MIDNIGHT COMPUTERS • Anxious
HYSTÉRIE • Deuil
MANNEQUIN • From a distance
THE HERESY GENE • La Luz Del Padre
PETER BJARGO (ARCANA) • Structures and Downfall

 

Same genre: DOOM
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA • Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
BLACKWOOD • As the World Rots Away
GLERAKUR • Can't You Wait
HIGH FIGHTER • Scars and Crosses
SWITCHBLADE • “2016”
ANTAGONIST ZERO • No Tears
AMBER ASYLUM • Sin Eater
ORGAN • Tetro
VICTORIENT • The Old Curiosity Shop
GJÖLL • The Background of Perpetual Discontent

 

Same genre: DREAM METAL
THE MORGANATICS • We Come From The Stars
ELUVEITIE • Origins
METAL FEMALE VOICES FEST • Day 2, 18/10/2014 | Leaves' Eyes, Sirenia, The Sirens and more...
METAL FEMALE VOICES FEST • Day 1, 17/10/2014 | MFV United, Ayin Aleph and more...
LIV KRISTINE • Vervain
SKEPTICAL MINDS • Run for your live 2014
KALIDIA • LIES DEVICE
DISKELION • Remember Sorrow
SAVN • Savn
XANDRIA • Sacrificum

 

Same genre: EBM
RADERKRAFT • Dust & Debris
INSTITUTE FOR THE CRIMINALLY INSANE • Classic Chevrolet
PESCH • Melba
IN ABSENTIA • Charnel House Chatterbox (Remastered 2021)
AD:KEY • I can't feel you
FRONTMASCHINE • Wrong fate EP
ROUGE • Ultimatum
POUPPEE FABRIKK • Burn Forever
STURM CAFE • Fernes Land
IMPERATIVE REACTION • Mirror

 

Same genre: ELECTRO POP
SJOBLOM • Tape
NUOVO TESTAMENTO • New Earth
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Electropop 18 (Super Deluxe Edition)
THE BURYING KIND • The Burying Kind ( EP )
J:DEAD • A Complicated Genocide
J:DEAD • Feeding on me
TORTURETEKK • Nightfall
ERASURE • THE NEON
TRUE ZEBRA • Idiorhythmic
CAWATANA • In The Silver Light (7')

 

Same genre: ELECTRO ROCK
TECHNOLORGY • Carnivore
FUTURE PILOT AKA • Orkestra Digitalis
THE BLACKHEART ORCHESTRA • Mesmeranto
YATES AND YOUNG • Splinters Ep
NICK CAVE AND THE BAD SEEDS • Ghosteen (Ghosteen/Bad Seed Ltd.)
I AM A ROCKETSHIP • Mind Grafitti
ARMY OF THE UNIVERSE • Resin EP
YOU, VICIOUS! • You, Vicious!
BROKEN EGO • Getting Higher
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH!! • Shatter

Music reviews

08
09
DEZ MONA & B.O.X
LUCY
02
09
SJOBLOM
Tape
01
09
JIHAD
Retrospekt
23
08
LA SCALTRA
Cabaret
14
08
MATT HART
TALES OF TERRA & CHAOS RETOLD
02
08
IMPERATIVE REACTION
Mirror

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

12
09
Goth/Industrial Artist NUDA Brings Light To Mental Health Struggles With New Video
10
09
Industrial Metal Band DERISION CULT Drops Fifteenth Album, 'Charlatans Inc.'
04
09
40 years ago, Soft Cell's version of ‘Tainted Love’ reached the number one position in the British hit parade!
02
09
Czech Gothic Rock Band CATHEDRAL IN FLAMES Bring Darkness & Hope With New Album
01
09
The Utimate Dreamers reveals new kinky synthwave/ebm video
28
08
44 years ago Iggy Pop released Lust for Life (29th August 1977)

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
09
CYBORG AMOK
An Interview With Post-Punk / Gothic Duo, CYBORG AMOK
04
08
THE IMAGINARY SUITCASE
For most of my life, I have behaved the way I thought they wanted me to behave. And this is a scam.
02
08
BLACK ANGEL
Interview With BLACK ANGEL
31
07
ERASURE
'I'm preparing tracks for our up and coming tour' - An exclusive Interview with Vince Clarke
06
06
THE LOST INTERVIEW WITH KELLEY DEAL ( THE BREEDERS )
Peek-a-Boo publishes the interview with Kelley Deal that seemed to get lost for a long period of time - since it was made in 2018...

PHOTOS

12
09
PRAGA KHAN
Rock Monsieur Hamont
12
09
RED ZEBRA
Rock Monsieur Hamont
03
09
JUSTIN SULLIVAN NEW MODEL ARMY SOLO TOUR
Fzw Dortmund Germany
31
08
CLAN OF XYMOX
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany
30
08
DEAR WOLF
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany
30
08
THEN COMES SILENCE
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany
28
08
THE NEON JUDGEMENT
Sinner's Day Special Oostende

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

20
09
VARSOVIE
Killing Anna
19
09
RASTABAN
Hore Dolom
18
09
0KONTROL
Ty Vezde (abstract remix by People Theatre)
17
09
KIRLIAN CAMERA
Black August
16
09
THE VISION BLEAK
Into The Unknown
15
09
DILK
Deprecated (Official Video)
15
09
THE VIOLENT YOUTH
Rabota (my life is a job)