tempobet yeni adresi
like this concert review

18/05/2015 : EUROROCK FEST - Day 1 (15/05/2015)

EUROROCK FEST

Day 1 (15/05/2015)

Concert
Dark ElectroDark PopDark WaveDarkwaveDoomDream MetalEBMElectro PopElectro Rock

[85/100]   
18/05/2015, Peter HESELMANS

Eurorock is back! This cult/ electro /industrial and doom festival returns on the site where it all began in the early days, and sadly ended in 2002. After stopping all activities of the Dutch Summer Darkness crew and the bizarre ending of the Shadowplay Festival, the BENELUX has again his own great place to be for some dark alternative tunes.

The fresh started organization did their very best to put together a great line up with more than 40 bands. Although they said that it was almost sold out, we all had our doubts arriving at the festival site, along with some other, let ‘s say ‘ not so good organized things’, but I will come back to that later.

The first tunes I heard were from STIN SCATZOR started as a one-man-project by Stefan Bens. In 1990 he started out with only one keyboard, creating his own industrial/experimental music. But this band envolved and in 2001 Kris Peeters joined the band. I really liked their unique aggressive industrial sound, and as introduction to the festival it can count. Stefan gave a powerfull performance, but sadly for only a few dozen specators. (rating : 90/100)

Then IMPLANT, the project of Len Lemeire and Jan D’Hooghe, both contributed a lot to the huge Belgian electro scene since 1992 This band gave a nice performance, these guys always innovate modern electronical music by their diverse soundscapes. The mix of modern electronic melodies and industrial dance sounds enriched with some vocals, and they made a good impression with the crowd, and although only midday I saw already some dancing. (rating : 85/100)

Then the Italien ALIEN VAMPIRES, they acted with tons of provocation, but it was still to early for the clubbers to start dancing or jumping around so after a couple of songs it even became quite boring. Maybe this act can survive in a small club after midnight, but here it sounded more like a cheap suicide commando spin of (rating : 65/100)

XMH has built up a strong live reputation, and now it was time to show how the Dutch make a party. The energetic show of XMH never got boring, and from the very first minute singer Benjamin Samson was rampaging the stage like a madman, this guy will do everything to grab your attention! For those not familiar with XMH, their music is a blend of Industrial and EBM with a trancey edge. A pity there was not more audience to enjoy this strong set (rating : 90/100)

During the eighties LUC VAN ACKER was almost everywhere where exciting things happened: he was a member of British bands like Shriekback and Noise Abroad, toured for many years the U.S. with Revolting Cocks, played at Arbeid Adelt and kept there cutting-edge projects. Luc started of directly very strong with ‘The Ship’, and made quite an impression. Finally there were enough people to make this gig the first small highlight of the festival (rating : 95/100)

Followed directly by another Belgian Cult act, A SPLIT SECOND. This band already started its career in the mid-eighties , and was somehow the blueprint for the new beat movement, with of course tracks like ‘Flesh’ or ‘Rigor Mortis’, The guys did a great job, they impressed not only the nostalgia lovers, but also a whole bunch of young people with their energetic and danceable performance. For the first time the ‘Hell stage’ was on fire (rating 90/100)

ARBEID ADELT!, another Belgian cult band, already formed in 1981 by Marcel Vanthilt and Jan Van Roelen, and later joined by Luc Van Acker. Those guys still have it, the energy, power and craziness, with Marcel joking and fooling around. With their ‘hits’, ik sta ascherp en ‘De dag dat het zonlicht niet meer scheen’ they turned the stage into a madhouse, sadly the foreign audience didn’t always understand the Flemish parts and jokes. An absolutely crazy show, I really liked it , but not so sure for the ‘not Flemish’ audience (rating : 85/100)



DIARY OF DREAMS started as a Dark Wave band, and developed its style more to Electro / Synth Pop / Rock. In 1989 founded by front man and singer Adrian Hates, the band gathered with the release of their debut album in 1994 a continuously growing fan base. Nowadays, the Gothic/ Independent scene is unthinkable without this German band. The lyrics are alternately in German and English language. Like always they delivered an energetic set, and know how to impress the audience. I was completely overwhelmed and so was the rest of the audience, everyone started to dance and sing along. It seemed that many of us waited there just to see this band. (rating 95/100)

From this highlight over to THE CRUXSHADOWS and although the band is originally from Florida, USA, they are a well-known member of wave festival line-ups. The synth pop / Wave band with singer Rogue showed a lot of energy on stage and as usually had female dancers to support them. Although his voice is surely not what one might call clear and powerful, the band has a lot of followers and the space in front of the stage was pretty crowded. In my mind, the mix of synth pop with classical sounds by the violin was very new and fresh a decade ago, but now it all sounded far to smooth and commercial. I think this gig was completely on tape, at the end I had the impression I was watching a Eurovision song contest band ( rating : 50/100)

No, then the real thing, and another highlight for me was to see the Belgian project SUICIDE COMMANDO live again. With video projections and the support of a live drummer (Mario Vaerewijck) and keyboarder (Torben Schmidt), mastermind Johan Van Roy presented us an energetic show of Electro / Industrial sound. The mood of the crowd was excellent and thus you could see most of them dancing. Unfortunately there were some knee and voice problems, and sometimes you could even see he was in pain, but Johan did a great job, like always (rating : 90/100)

A performance by VIVE LA FETE is always a visual and attractive show. The electro pop and catchy post-punk tunes they bring are always complemented by the light erotic and cheerful bouncing breasts of front woman Els Pyno. They played a nice professional set whitch we could all enjoy (rating : 85/100)

OOMPH! was founded in Wolfsburg in 1989 and is one of the oldest and most famous German bands.It consists of Dero (vocals, drums), Crap (keyboard, guitar) and Flux (guitars, sampling). On stage, they are supported by Silvestri (drums), Hagen (bass), El Friede (keyboards) and Okusa (percussions). Their music is called “Neue Deutsche Härte”, a powerful mixture of Rock, EBM, Pop and Metal, and has inspired bands like Ramstein. Oomph performed with German precision, a nice solid show that could enjoy a big part of the audience. (rating : 85/100)

The last band I saw on this first festival day was APOPTYGMA BERZERK, and the Norwegians gave their fans what they came for, a kind of greatest hits compilation, at first the atmosphere was really electrifying and it looked as if this was going to be another highlight, but people started leaving after some time so it ended without a climax. (rating : 75/100)

People told me they left because it was too cold in the tent. One of the things that wasn’t good organized, when you install heathers then please use them. More strange things on this festival were the bizarre decision to use the same festival bracelets for the first and second day of the festival , AND the tickets for both days!? It was 10 euro to park your car for the whole festival, but the dayafter they changed their mind and some had to pay again. And then the ‘joke’ that this festival was sold out, I guess on day one maybe 2000 people, certainly not the 6000 they announced. But OK, that are minor problems considering what was going to happen on day 2……

Below you can find a small compilation of most bands. More vids like always on my YouTube channel, numanoid65

Peter HESELMANS
18/05/2015


 

Next reviews
EUROROCK DAY 2 • Neerpelt (16/05/2015)
KORNEL MUNDRUCZO • White God
ANTHONY DONOVAN AND JOHN 3:16 • Of the Hex and its Likenesses
DIE WILDE JAGD • Die Wilde Jagd
VARIOUS ARTISTS • ZTT The Value Of Entertainment
FLORIA SIGISMONDI • The Runaways
DRIES VAN NOTEN • Inspirations (Antwerpen, Modemuseum, until/tot 19/7/2015)
GRACE JONES • Disco
CARTER TUTTI • Carter Tutti Plays Chris & Cosey
MARTIN GORE • MG

 

Same genre: DARK ELECTRO
REACTOR7X • Are You My Bitch
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1 • Harbringer
ACRETONGUE • Ghost Nocturne
ENZO KREFT • Control
STATIQBLOOM • Asphyxia
HOCICO • Artificial Extinction
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
REALITY'S DESPAIR • Human Transitions
UNIDENTIFIED MAN • Memento Mori
MIREXXX • Vault

 

Same genre: DARK POP
AMY STUDT • Happiest Girl in The Universe
DEZ MONA • Book Of Many
BLUTENGEL • Black
GLAARE • To Deaf and Day
PSYCHE • Youth Of Tomorrow (12'')
BLUTENGEL • Leitbild
TEN AFTER DAWN • Best Of Both Words
X MARKS THE PEDWALK • Secrets
ADORATION DESTROYED • Ritual Damage
THE AGNES CIRCLE • Some Vague Design

 

Same genre: DARK WAVE
AIMAPROJECT • Di AimA Il Segno
SAIGON BLUE RAIN • Pink Obsession
BLUTENGEL • UN:GOTT
EUROPEAN GHOST • Collections Of Shadows
WANT/ED • Unthinkable
DARK DOOR • Inferno
KIRLIAN CAMERA • Hologram Moon
SILENT RUNNERS • The Directory
MANNEQUIN • Singles/Faction
PARADOX OBSCUR • Artifact

 

Same genre: DARKWAVE
DAGEIST • Sexy
JE T'AIME • Je T'aime
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE • Endgame 69:
MANDIVULA • Nonsens
DER KLINKE • Decade
ART DIKTATOR • Isola
ANGEL METRO • DARK DAYS BRIGHT LIGHTS
SELOFAN • Vitrioli
EUROPEAN GHOST • Collection Of Shadows
AFTER ABSENCE • Demotape 1

 

Same genre: DOOM
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA • Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
BLACKWOOD • As the World Rots Away
GLERAKUR • Can't You Wait
HIGH FIGHTER • Scars and Crosses
SWITCHBLADE • “2016”
ANTAGONIST ZERO • No Tears
AMBER ASYLUM • Sin Eater
ORGAN • Tetro
VICTORIENT • The Old Curiosity Shop
GJÖLL • The Background of Perpetual Discontent

 

Same genre: DREAM METAL
THE MORGANATICS • We Come From The Stars
ELUVEITIE • Origins
METAL FEMALE VOICES FEST • Day 2, 18/10/2014 | Leaves' Eyes, Sirenia, The Sirens and more...
METAL FEMALE VOICES FEST • Day 1, 17/10/2014 | MFV United, Ayin Aleph and more...
LIV KRISTINE • Vervain
SKEPTICAL MINDS • Run for your live 2014
KALIDIA • LIES DEVICE
DISKELION • Remember Sorrow
SAVN • Savn
XANDRIA • Sacrificum

 

Same genre: EBM
ELM • Death Of The North
GRENDEL • Ascending The Abyss
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES • Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
MASSIVE EGO • Church For The Malfunctioned
SIGNAL AOUT 42 • Insurrection
ZWEITE JUGEND • Elektronische Körpermusik
PARADE GROUND • Life [Live In Frankfurt]
LIEBKNECHT • ICE over Erfurt
RESISTOR • Ice Cold Gold
DIVE • Live Maschinenfest 2017

 

Same genre: ELECTRO POP
UMMAGMA • Compass (Leonard Skully Records)
LUCKY AND LOVE • Transitions
UMMAGMA • Caravan -Backed With Ty i Ya
LADYTRON • Ladytron
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Wake Up The Coma
BROKEN EGO • Getting Higher
WE ARE THE WAY FOR THE COSMOS TO KNOW ITSELF • Flashbacks
DIRK DA DAVO / JEAN -MARIE AERTS • DDDJMX (EP)
THE BIPOLAR • Tomorrow everything will get better
TYCHO BRAHE • Triplex [Complete]

 

Same genre: ELECTRO ROCK
FUTURE PILOT AKA • Orkestra Digitalis
THE BLACKHEART ORCHESTRA • Mesmeranto
YATES AND YOUNG • Splinters Ep
NICK CAVE AND THE BAD SEEDS • Ghosteen (Ghosteen/Bad Seed Ltd.)
I AM A ROCKETSHIP • Mind Grafitti
ARMY OF THE UNIVERSE • Resin EP
YOU, VICIOUS! • You, Vicious!
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH!! • Shatter
LIE DETECTOR • To Fly!
PIG • The Gospel

Music reviews

19
11
PSY'AVIAH
Soul Searching
17
11
DAGEIST
Sexy
16
11
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO
Let's Play (Two girls and a goat)
12
11
TWIN TRIBES
Ceremony
31
10
BLAC KOLOR
Nephi
24
10
ROGER C.REALE & RUE MORGUE
The Collection

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
11
Disorientations! New band, new single, new video!
14
11
Today, 30 years The Mind Is A Terrible Thing To Taste by Ministry!
13
11
Today, 41 years ago, Siouxsie & The Banshees released their debut album Scream!
13
11
Today, 38 years ago, New Order released its debut album Movement!
12
11
Exclusive Belgian NITZER EBB clubshow at De Casino - St-Niklaas - B
11
11
THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX released GRENADE 2019 REMASTER

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

02
11
UNDERTHESKIN
Try To Leave The Listener In A Certain Reflection, And Maybe Bring Some Kind Of Relief
01
11
MIKE WATT(JUMPSTARTED PLOWHARDS)
In a way, the project is a total collaboration!
26
10
MICHAEL GIRA(SWANS)
'Having a strong presence of death in your mind all the time is very healthy thing!'
25
10
PAUL Q.KOLDERIE
'There has to be a song that I feel needs to be recorded…'
14
10
JAMES MCGREGOR (THE CLOCKWORKS)
'Our dynamic is genuinely a gang scenario'

PHOTOS

17
11
FAUN
Christuskirche Bochum
14
11
DEINE LAKAIEN HELIUM VOLA VELJANOV
Christuskirche Bochum
14
11
MORGAN KING
B52 music club
13
11
STORY OFF
B52 music club
13
11
N TALES
B52 music club
11
11
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Magasin 4 Bruxelles
11
11
AMBASSADOR 21
Magasin 4 Bruxelles

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

20
11
COLD CAVE
Villains Of The Moon
19
11
HYPERMOND.
Double
19
11
:OF THE WAND & THE MOON:
Caught In Winters Weave
19
11
NITZER EBB
Llive at Kulttempel in Oberhausen, Germany - 15.11.2019
18
11
OAKTREE
La Fin
17
11
ALISON MOYET
Other
16
11
ROSARUBEA
A Blue Bird in a Scarlet Spring