tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

10/12/2016 : EVA VAN PELT - Zwart

EVA VAN PELT

Zwart

MusicCD
KleinkunstPop

[88/100]   

Self-released
10/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Since her debut, Eva Van Pelt made intimate musical theater productions in which she sang about the ego and the others. The same themes about me, you and us, are explored on Zwart. Her texts are mature, they have a message and they are about the tension between the love you want and the love that you miss. But does not sound sentimental and clichéd as you often hear in the Dutch pop and schlager genre. The lyrics are quite emotional and seem to be very personal. Without the music, the lyrics are outlined poems. Furthermore, Eve has a beautiful voice (listen to the opener Zwart or Meegemaakt) and she proves that Dutch can sound pretty nice.

We hear organs, percussion, synths, drums, bass... In terms of intensity, it is reminiscent of Wende Snijders, but Eva has an unique style. Anders Dan Anders is a very strong track. It contains very fine lyrics and towards the end you hear a nice piece of music. Sometimes, you hear a wry guitar (Suiker) or a separate bass line (Roest). A bit like Beth Hart does, but the strongest part are her lyrics (listen to Liever Alleen). In Vergeef Mij, we hear her sing and reflect about learning and trying, but it does not always work. It is the sound of a woman who grows to adulthood. Wereld and Als Je Gaat are two beautiful and introverted songs that close the album.

An album that is successful in many ways. The cover is a painting by Rob Steeghs. Eva Van Pelt is a lady with a lot of potential and I hope to hear more from her in the future.

Wim GUILLEMYN
10/12/2016


NL

Vóór dit debuutalbum maakte Eva Van Pelt intieme muziektheaterproducties waarin ze zong over het ego en de ander. Op Zwart komen diezelfde thema’s over ik, jij en wij, terug. Via haar teksten brengt ze een volwassen boodschap over het spanningsveld tussen liefde willen, ze bezitten en ze moeten missen, maar dan niet vanuit de sentimentele en clichématige invalshoek die veelal in het Nederlandstalige pop- en schlagergenre de regel is. De teksten zijn emotioneel en lijken heel persoonlijk te zijn. Zonder de muziek zijn het gedichtjes die heel raak en zonder veel tierelantijntjes het onderwerp situeren. Eva heeft een aangename stem en bewijst ze in bijv. de opener Zwart of in Meegemaakt, dat Nederlands goed en vloeiend kan klinken. Op dat vlak zit alles zeker goed.

We horen orgels, percussie, synths, drums, bas… Qua intensiteit doet ze wat denken aan Wende Snijders, maar ze heeft wel een geheel eigen stijl. Anders dan Anders is een heel sterke song met een heel fijne tekst en op het einde een mooi stukje muziek. Soms stopt ze met een wrange gitaar (Suiker) of een aparte baslijn (Roes) ook wat weerhaakjes in haar muziek. Een beetje zoals Beth Hart, maar de meeste weerhaakjes zitten uiteindelijk toch in haar teksten en de manier waarop ze die brengt. Luister maar eens naar Liever Alleen. In Vergeef Mij hoor je haar reflecteren en zingen over het feit dat ze leert en probeert, maar dat het haar nog niet altijd lukt. Een vrouw die naar volwassenheid groeit. Wereld en Als je gaat zijn twee mooie, iets introvertere songs die het album afsluiten.

Een album dat op vele vlakken geslaagd is, met diepgang op muzikaal en tekstueel vlak. De cover is een schilderwerk van Rob Steeghs. Eva Van Pelt is een dame met potentie, van wie ik graag meer wil horen in de toekomst. Benieuwd of Vlaanderen ze ook lust.

Wim GUILLEMYN
10/12/2016


Music reviews

12
11
TWIN TRIBES
Ceremony
31
10
BLAC KOLOR
Nephi
24
10
ROGER C.REALE & RUE MORGUE
The Collection
23
10
KIM GORDON
No Home Record
19
10
THE BLACK WATCH
Magic Johnson
19
10
FUTURE PILOT AKA
Orkestra Digitalis

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

14
11
Today, 30 years The Mind Is A Terrible Thing To Taste by Ministry!
13
11
Today, 41 years ago, Siouxsie & The Banshees released their debut album Scream!
13
11
Today, 38 years ago, New Order released its debut album Movement!
12
11
Exclusive Belgian NITZER EBB clubshow at De Casino - St-Niklaas - B
11
11
THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX released GRENADE 2019 REMASTER
10
11
AMPHI FESTIVAL 2020 releases third band wave with Mesh, Zeromancer & many more

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

02
11
UNDERTHESKIN
Try To Leave The Listener In A Certain Reflection, And Maybe Bring Some Kind Of Relief
01
11
MIKE WATT(JUMPSTARTED PLOWHARDS)
In a way, the project is a total collaboration!
26
10
MICHAEL GIRA(SWANS)
'Having a strong presence of death in your mind all the time is very healthy thing!'
25
10
PAUL Q.KOLDERIE
'There has to be a song that I feel needs to be recorded…'
14
10
JAMES MCGREGOR (THE CLOCKWORKS)
'Our dynamic is genuinely a gang scenario'

PHOTOS

14
11
DEINE LAKAIEN HELIUM VOLA VELJANOV
Christuskirche Bochum
14
11
MORGAN KING
B52 music club
13
11
STORY OFF
B52 music club
13
11
N TALES
B52 music club
11
11
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Magasin 4 Bruxelles
11
11
AMBASSADOR 21
Magasin 4 Bruxelles
11
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH!!
Magasin 4 Bruxelles

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

14
11
KELUAR
Volition
13
11
HEILUNG
Krigsgaldr
12
11
STOCKHAUSSEN
Mi siniestro
11
11
FIGURE AND CODE PANDORUM
RedRum
10
11
JESUS AND MARY CHAIN
Happy When It Rains
09
11
3TEETH
Sell Your Face
08
11
MUSCLE AND MARROW
Ritual