tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

10/12/2016 : EVA VAN PELT - Zwart

EVA VAN PELT

Zwart

MusicCD
KleinkunstPop

[88/100]   

Self-released
10/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Since her debut, Eva Van Pelt made intimate musical theater productions in which she sang about the ego and the others. The same themes about me, you and us, are explored on Zwart. Her texts are mature, they have a message and they are about the tension between the love you want and the love that you miss. But does not sound sentimental and clichéd as you often hear in the Dutch pop and schlager genre. The lyrics are quite emotional and seem to be very personal. Without the music, the lyrics are outlined poems. Furthermore, Eve has a beautiful voice (listen to the opener Zwart or Meegemaakt) and she proves that Dutch can sound pretty nice.

We hear organs, percussion, synths, drums, bass... In terms of intensity, it is reminiscent of Wende Snijders, but Eva has an unique style. Anders Dan Anders is a very strong track. It contains very fine lyrics and towards the end you hear a nice piece of music. Sometimes, you hear a wry guitar (Suiker) or a separate bass line (Roest). A bit like Beth Hart does, but the strongest part are her lyrics (listen to Liever Alleen). In Vergeef Mij, we hear her sing and reflect about learning and trying, but it does not always work. It is the sound of a woman who grows to adulthood. Wereld and Als Je Gaat are two beautiful and introverted songs that close the album.

An album that is successful in many ways. The cover is a painting by Rob Steeghs. Eva Van Pelt is a lady with a lot of potential and I hope to hear more from her in the future.

Wim GUILLEMYN
10/12/2016


NL

Vóór dit debuutalbum maakte Eva Van Pelt intieme muziektheaterproducties waarin ze zong over het ego en de ander. Op Zwart komen diezelfde thema’s over ik, jij en wij, terug. Via haar teksten brengt ze een volwassen boodschap over het spanningsveld tussen liefde willen, ze bezitten en ze moeten missen, maar dan niet vanuit de sentimentele en clichématige invalshoek die veelal in het Nederlandstalige pop- en schlagergenre de regel is. De teksten zijn emotioneel en lijken heel persoonlijk te zijn. Zonder de muziek zijn het gedichtjes die heel raak en zonder veel tierelantijntjes het onderwerp situeren. Eva heeft een aangename stem en bewijst ze in bijv. de opener Zwart of in Meegemaakt, dat Nederlands goed en vloeiend kan klinken. Op dat vlak zit alles zeker goed.

We horen orgels, percussie, synths, drums, bas… Qua intensiteit doet ze wat denken aan Wende Snijders, maar ze heeft wel een geheel eigen stijl. Anders dan Anders is een heel sterke song met een heel fijne tekst en op het einde een mooi stukje muziek. Soms stopt ze met een wrange gitaar (Suiker) of een aparte baslijn (Roes) ook wat weerhaakjes in haar muziek. Een beetje zoals Beth Hart, maar de meeste weerhaakjes zitten uiteindelijk toch in haar teksten en de manier waarop ze die brengt. Luister maar eens naar Liever Alleen. In Vergeef Mij hoor je haar reflecteren en zingen over het feit dat ze leert en probeert, maar dat het haar nog niet altijd lukt. Een vrouw die naar volwassenheid groeit. Wereld en Als je gaat zijn twee mooie, iets introvertere songs die het album afsluiten.

Een album dat op vele vlakken geslaagd is, met diepgang op muzikaal en tekstueel vlak. De cover is een schilderwerk van Rob Steeghs. Eva Van Pelt is een dame met potentie, van wie ik graag meer wil horen in de toekomst. Benieuwd of Vlaanderen ze ook lust.

Wim GUILLEMYN
10/12/2016


Music reviews

05
09
FOXY
X-Ray Spex Tribute
04
09
GRENDEL
Ascending The Abyss
03
09
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Hellraiser
03
09
W - FEST, AUG 18TH 2019
24
08
MEAGER BENEFITS
Crawling
23
08
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1
Harbringer

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

19
09
Such Beautiful Flowers premières first video from upcoming Wool-E Tapes release.
06
09
KLONE RELEASE NEW SINGLE “HIDDEN PASSENGER” FROM FORTHCOMING ALBUM LE GRAND VOYAGE
05
09
Industrial Rock Band CHMCL STR8JCKT Signs To Cleopatra Records - Wrtchd Thngs Album Details Revealed
05
09
38 years ago, Soft Cell's version of ‘Tainted Love’ reached the number one position in the British hit parade!
29
08
42 years ago Iggy Pop released Lust for Life (29th August 1977)
22
08
The Cassandra Complex & Die Krupps to headline BIMFEST 2019!

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

19
09
CHMCL STR8JCKT
An Interview With Chmcl Str8jckt
11
09
NOTNOTICE
I Like When There Are Noise Collages In The Music
08
09
ALEXA HUNTER(DISTURBED FURNITURE)
'Love or hate us, we are gonna kick out the jams while we still can!'
06
09
DAVID WM.SIMS(UNFACT,THE JESUS LIZARD,SCRATCH ACID)
'We had a great personal chemistry within the band!'
15
08
SPANKTHENUN
An Interview With Electro-Industrial Artist SPANKTHENUN

PHOTOS

18
09
NEAR METH EXPERIENCE
Zappa Antwerpen
17
09
WAYNE HUSSEY SALAD DAZE TOUR
Movie Bielefeld
17
09
ASHTON NYTE SALAD DAZE BIELEFED WITH WAYNE HUSSEY
Movie Bielefeld
07
09
THE SPIRITUAL BAT
Le Garage Luik
25
08
BORGHESIA
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
14
08
SECRET GARDEN
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
13
08
TRISOMIE 21
Donkey Rock Festival Selange

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

19
09
THE UNDERTONES
Teenage Kicks
18
09
MIEL NOIR
L’ennemi
17
09
PRECIOUS CHILD
My Little Problem
16
09
PRECIOUS CHILD
Magic is Real
15
09
TAINA
Seelenfresser [Zardonic Remix]
14
09
TALK TALK
It´s My Life
13
09
DRAB MAJESTY
Too Soon To Tell