tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

10/12/2016 : EVA VAN PELT - Zwart

EVA VAN PELT

Zwart

MusicCD
KleinkunstPop

[88/100]   

Self-released
10/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Since her debut, Eva Van Pelt made intimate musical theater productions in which she sang about the ego and the others. The same themes about me, you and us, are explored on Zwart. Her texts are mature, they have a message and they are about the tension between the love you want and the love that you miss. But does not sound sentimental and clichéd as you often hear in the Dutch pop and schlager genre. The lyrics are quite emotional and seem to be very personal. Without the music, the lyrics are outlined poems. Furthermore, Eve has a beautiful voice (listen to the opener Zwart or Meegemaakt) and she proves that Dutch can sound pretty nice.

We hear organs, percussion, synths, drums, bass... In terms of intensity, it is reminiscent of Wende Snijders, but Eva has an unique style. Anders Dan Anders is a very strong track. It contains very fine lyrics and towards the end you hear a nice piece of music. Sometimes, you hear a wry guitar (Suiker) or a separate bass line (Roest). A bit like Beth Hart does, but the strongest part are her lyrics (listen to Liever Alleen). In Vergeef Mij, we hear her sing and reflect about learning and trying, but it does not always work. It is the sound of a woman who grows to adulthood. Wereld and Als Je Gaat are two beautiful and introverted songs that close the album.

An album that is successful in many ways. The cover is a painting by Rob Steeghs. Eva Van Pelt is a lady with a lot of potential and I hope to hear more from her in the future.

Wim GUILLEMYN
10/12/2016


NL

Vóór dit debuutalbum maakte Eva Van Pelt intieme muziektheaterproducties waarin ze zong over het ego en de ander. Op Zwart komen diezelfde thema’s over ik, jij en wij, terug. Via haar teksten brengt ze een volwassen boodschap over het spanningsveld tussen liefde willen, ze bezitten en ze moeten missen, maar dan niet vanuit de sentimentele en clichématige invalshoek die veelal in het Nederlandstalige pop- en schlagergenre de regel is. De teksten zijn emotioneel en lijken heel persoonlijk te zijn. Zonder de muziek zijn het gedichtjes die heel raak en zonder veel tierelantijntjes het onderwerp situeren. Eva heeft een aangename stem en bewijst ze in bijv. de opener Zwart of in Meegemaakt, dat Nederlands goed en vloeiend kan klinken. Op dat vlak zit alles zeker goed.

We horen orgels, percussie, synths, drums, bas… Qua intensiteit doet ze wat denken aan Wende Snijders, maar ze heeft wel een geheel eigen stijl. Anders dan Anders is een heel sterke song met een heel fijne tekst en op het einde een mooi stukje muziek. Soms stopt ze met een wrange gitaar (Suiker) of een aparte baslijn (Roes) ook wat weerhaakjes in haar muziek. Een beetje zoals Beth Hart, maar de meeste weerhaakjes zitten uiteindelijk toch in haar teksten en de manier waarop ze die brengt. Luister maar eens naar Liever Alleen. In Vergeef Mij hoor je haar reflecteren en zingen over het feit dat ze leert en probeert, maar dat het haar nog niet altijd lukt. Een vrouw die naar volwassenheid groeit. Wereld en Als je gaat zijn twee mooie, iets introvertere songs die het album afsluiten.

Een album dat op vele vlakken geslaagd is, met diepgang op muzikaal en tekstueel vlak. De cover is een schilderwerk van Rob Steeghs. Eva Van Pelt is een dame met potentie, van wie ik graag meer wil horen in de toekomst. Benieuwd of Vlaanderen ze ook lust.

Wim GUILLEMYN
10/12/2016


Music reviews

14
06
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES
Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
13
06
DEF ROBOT
Makers Of Mountains
04
06
THIS CAN HURT
Worlds Apart
03
06
RADERKRAFT
Smart Control
02
06
MASSIVE EGO
Church For The Malfunctioned
01
06
VUKOVAR
Cremator

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

20
06
The Joy Thieves Sign To Armalyte Records And Announce ‘THIS WILL KILL THAT’ EP
19
06
Toronto Darkwave Act DOUBLE EYELID Announces The Release Of 'A Means To An End'
18
06
Dependent Records Announces The Release of German Electronic/Industrial Act FIX8 SED8's WARNING SIGNS
15
06
Today it’s exactly 40 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
03
06
Today, 41 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!
29
05
UK's Electronic-Pop Band EMPATHY TEST Announce The Release of EMPTY-HANDED EP

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

21
06
DOUBLE EYELID
An Interview With Toronto's DOUBLE EYELID
20
06
TED PARSONS
'I got back into doing my artwork. And that makes me happy!'
17
06
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO
'I feel connected to other people because they understand the result of my thoughts.'
15
06
KENNEY JONES
'There's always an element of doubt in anything you do'
23
05
JAKE BURNS (STIFF LITTLE FINGERS)
'We were writing a songs about our own rights'

PHOTOS

24
06
MANGELEXEMPLAR SUPPORT SIGLO XX
Kulttempel Oberhausen Germany
24
06
SIGLO XX
Kulttempel Oberhausen Germany
24
06
ROB ZOMBIE
Graspop, Dessel
24
06
MINISTRY
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
STONE TEMPLE PILOTS
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
COMBICHRIST
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
EISBRECHER
Graspop, Dessel

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

26
06
EDITORS
Frankenstein
25
06
REIN
Can't Handle Me
25
06
ZARDONIC
Pure Power
24
06
SAIGON BLUE RAIN
L'Offrande
23
06
SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES
Israel - Live 1981
22
06
KRAFTWERK
The Robots
21
06
NEW ORDER
Restless