tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

10/12/2016 : EVA VAN PELT - Zwart

EVA VAN PELT

Zwart

MusicCD
KleinkunstPop

[88/100]   

Self-released
10/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Since her debut, Eva Van Pelt made intimate musical theater productions in which she sang about the ego and the others. The same themes about me, you and us, are explored on Zwart. Her texts are mature, they have a message and they are about the tension between the love you want and the love that you miss. But does not sound sentimental and clichéd as you often hear in the Dutch pop and schlager genre. The lyrics are quite emotional and seem to be very personal. Without the music, the lyrics are outlined poems. Furthermore, Eve has a beautiful voice (listen to the opener Zwart or Meegemaakt) and she proves that Dutch can sound pretty nice.

We hear organs, percussion, synths, drums, bass... In terms of intensity, it is reminiscent of Wende Snijders, but Eva has an unique style. Anders Dan Anders is a very strong track. It contains very fine lyrics and towards the end you hear a nice piece of music. Sometimes, you hear a wry guitar (Suiker) or a separate bass line (Roest). A bit like Beth Hart does, but the strongest part are her lyrics (listen to Liever Alleen). In Vergeef Mij, we hear her sing and reflect about learning and trying, but it does not always work. It is the sound of a woman who grows to adulthood. Wereld and Als Je Gaat are two beautiful and introverted songs that close the album.

An album that is successful in many ways. The cover is a painting by Rob Steeghs. Eva Van Pelt is a lady with a lot of potential and I hope to hear more from her in the future.

Wim GUILLEMYN
10/12/2016


NL

Vóór dit debuutalbum maakte Eva Van Pelt intieme muziektheaterproducties waarin ze zong over het ego en de ander. Op Zwart komen diezelfde thema’s over ik, jij en wij, terug. Via haar teksten brengt ze een volwassen boodschap over het spanningsveld tussen liefde willen, ze bezitten en ze moeten missen, maar dan niet vanuit de sentimentele en clichématige invalshoek die veelal in het Nederlandstalige pop- en schlagergenre de regel is. De teksten zijn emotioneel en lijken heel persoonlijk te zijn. Zonder de muziek zijn het gedichtjes die heel raak en zonder veel tierelantijntjes het onderwerp situeren. Eva heeft een aangename stem en bewijst ze in bijv. de opener Zwart of in Meegemaakt, dat Nederlands goed en vloeiend kan klinken. Op dat vlak zit alles zeker goed.

We horen orgels, percussie, synths, drums, bas… Qua intensiteit doet ze wat denken aan Wende Snijders, maar ze heeft wel een geheel eigen stijl. Anders dan Anders is een heel sterke song met een heel fijne tekst en op het einde een mooi stukje muziek. Soms stopt ze met een wrange gitaar (Suiker) of een aparte baslijn (Roes) ook wat weerhaakjes in haar muziek. Een beetje zoals Beth Hart, maar de meeste weerhaakjes zitten uiteindelijk toch in haar teksten en de manier waarop ze die brengt. Luister maar eens naar Liever Alleen. In Vergeef Mij hoor je haar reflecteren en zingen over het feit dat ze leert en probeert, maar dat het haar nog niet altijd lukt. Een vrouw die naar volwassenheid groeit. Wereld en Als je gaat zijn twee mooie, iets introvertere songs die het album afsluiten.

Een album dat op vele vlakken geslaagd is, met diepgang op muzikaal en tekstueel vlak. De cover is een schilderwerk van Rob Steeghs. Eva Van Pelt is een dame met potentie, van wie ik graag meer wil horen in de toekomst. Benieuwd of Vlaanderen ze ook lust.

Wim GUILLEMYN
10/12/2016


Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
08
Futurepop Act, Voicecoil Reflects On Strange Days With New Album
14
08
Darkwave Duo, Male Tears Addresses Nightlife Hypocrisy & Abuse With New Single
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 35 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
09
08
Electronic Band She 1 - Him 2 Addresses Breaking Free With New Single
08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

17
08
SISTERS OF MERCY
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
17
08
THE MISSION
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
SCHANDMAUL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
ROTERSAND
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
VNV NATION CLASSICAL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
COMBICHRIST
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

19
08
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE
Kali's Tongue
18
08
CASPIAN
Arcs of Command
17
08
FIELDS OF THE NEPHILIM
Moonchild
16
08
0KONTROL
Lullaby
15
08
AUSTRA
Utopia
14
08
THE SMITHS
There Is A Light That Never Goes Out
13
08
DRAB MAJESTY
39 By Design