tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

10/12/2016 : EVA VAN PELT - Zwart

EVA VAN PELT

Zwart

MusicCD
KleinkunstPop

[88/100]   

Self-released
10/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Since her debut, Eva Van Pelt made intimate musical theater productions in which she sang about the ego and the others. The same themes about me, you and us, are explored on Zwart. Her texts are mature, they have a message and they are about the tension between the love you want and the love that you miss. But does not sound sentimental and clichéd as you often hear in the Dutch pop and schlager genre. The lyrics are quite emotional and seem to be very personal. Without the music, the lyrics are outlined poems. Furthermore, Eve has a beautiful voice (listen to the opener Zwart or Meegemaakt) and she proves that Dutch can sound pretty nice.

We hear organs, percussion, synths, drums, bass... In terms of intensity, it is reminiscent of Wende Snijders, but Eva has an unique style. Anders Dan Anders is a very strong track. It contains very fine lyrics and towards the end you hear a nice piece of music. Sometimes, you hear a wry guitar (Suiker) or a separate bass line (Roest). A bit like Beth Hart does, but the strongest part are her lyrics (listen to Liever Alleen). In Vergeef Mij, we hear her sing and reflect about learning and trying, but it does not always work. It is the sound of a woman who grows to adulthood. Wereld and Als Je Gaat are two beautiful and introverted songs that close the album.

An album that is successful in many ways. The cover is a painting by Rob Steeghs. Eva Van Pelt is a lady with a lot of potential and I hope to hear more from her in the future.

Wim GUILLEMYN
10/12/2016


NL

Vóór dit debuutalbum maakte Eva Van Pelt intieme muziektheaterproducties waarin ze zong over het ego en de ander. Op Zwart komen diezelfde thema’s over ik, jij en wij, terug. Via haar teksten brengt ze een volwassen boodschap over het spanningsveld tussen liefde willen, ze bezitten en ze moeten missen, maar dan niet vanuit de sentimentele en clichématige invalshoek die veelal in het Nederlandstalige pop- en schlagergenre de regel is. De teksten zijn emotioneel en lijken heel persoonlijk te zijn. Zonder de muziek zijn het gedichtjes die heel raak en zonder veel tierelantijntjes het onderwerp situeren. Eva heeft een aangename stem en bewijst ze in bijv. de opener Zwart of in Meegemaakt, dat Nederlands goed en vloeiend kan klinken. Op dat vlak zit alles zeker goed.

We horen orgels, percussie, synths, drums, bas… Qua intensiteit doet ze wat denken aan Wende Snijders, maar ze heeft wel een geheel eigen stijl. Anders dan Anders is een heel sterke song met een heel fijne tekst en op het einde een mooi stukje muziek. Soms stopt ze met een wrange gitaar (Suiker) of een aparte baslijn (Roes) ook wat weerhaakjes in haar muziek. Een beetje zoals Beth Hart, maar de meeste weerhaakjes zitten uiteindelijk toch in haar teksten en de manier waarop ze die brengt. Luister maar eens naar Liever Alleen. In Vergeef Mij hoor je haar reflecteren en zingen over het feit dat ze leert en probeert, maar dat het haar nog niet altijd lukt. Een vrouw die naar volwassenheid groeit. Wereld en Als je gaat zijn twee mooie, iets introvertere songs die het album afsluiten.

Een album dat op vele vlakken geslaagd is, met diepgang op muzikaal en tekstueel vlak. De cover is een schilderwerk van Rob Steeghs. Eva Van Pelt is een dame met potentie, van wie ik graag meer wil horen in de toekomst. Benieuwd of Vlaanderen ze ook lust.

Wim GUILLEMYN
10/12/2016


Music reviews

30
05
THIS ETERNAL DECAY
Silence
29
05
THE MIDNIGHT COMPUTERS
Anxious
03
05
BOYTRONIC
The Robot Treatment
02
05
ARMAGEDDON DILDOS
Heut Nacht
01
05
BLUTENGEL + HOCICO
Obscured
30
04
STRIKKLAND
Predatorial Right

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

28
05
Electro/Synthwave Act GIANT MONSTERS ON THE HORIZON Unleash New Studio Album - Live From Night City
26
05
Happy birthday Wayne Hussey!
24
05
46 years Of Diamond Dogs!
23
05
34 years of 'Let Your Body Learn!'
22
05
39 years Spellbound!
21
05
Electro / EBM pioneers PORTION CONTROL strike hard with new album 'Head Buried'!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

26
05
MARK E MOON
We Know We’re Not Re-Inventing The Wheel!
23
05
JOSH KLINGHOFFER (PLURALONE,RHCP)
“I suddenly found the piano the most exciting instrument to write on.”
19
05
THE HERESY GENE
'The More We Do It, The More Important It Feels.'
01
05
AUTUMN TEARS
An Interview With Autumn Tears
30
04
EMPUSAE
One thing is for sure... I'll never stop making music!

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

31
05
THE JUGGERNAUTS
PURGE
30
05
MERCIFUL NUNS
Live at Amphi, Cologne 23-07-2017
29
05
UNZUCHT
Ein Wort Fliegt Wie Ein Stein
28
05
GOLDEN BOY FEAT. MISS KITTIN
Rittin Kitten (Extended)
27
05
HIDDEN ORCHESTRA
Still
26
05
EX-RZ
I can't live in a living room
25
05
POISON POINT
Imaginary Veil