tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

07/08/2011 : EVI VINE - ...And So The Morning Comes

EVI VINE

...And So The Morning Comes

MusicCD
Ethereal / Heavenly VoicesFolk / Ethnic / Tribal

[86/100]   
07/08/2011, Ward DE PRINS

EN

The British singer/songwriter Evi Vine leads us gently through the ​​dark dream world of her debut album "... And So The Morning Comes".

Quiet, but very strong, the album opens with "For The Dreamers". Against a soundscape of melancholic strings, synthesizer and guitar the fragile voice of Miss Vine tells & sings. She forces me to be quiet and give 100% concentration.

This magical soundscape stretches over the following numbers, with a classic Cocteau Twins-like style that touches you really intensely and deep in your soul. With both high and low voice Evi Vine calls the perfect mood.

"For You" is another highlight where the repetitive lyrics and a soaring voice in a gradually intensifying song create a delicious melancholy.

Actually I should mention all songs, since there are no low points within this album, but this might take too long.

The album ends up as it started: very strong. Spooky sounds in a less obvious song structure form the background against which this lady may recite for the last time her poetry.

If Evi Vine can convey the same intensity during a live performance we have gained a new, wonderful artist. I wonder how her performance will be during Fantastique.Night XXXII.

Ward DE PRINS
07/08/2011


NL

De Britse singer-songwriter Evi Vine leidt ons met zachte hand doorheen haar duistere droomwereld op haar debuutalbum “…And So The Morning Comes”. 

Rustig doch ijzersterk opent het schijfje met “For The Dreamers”. Tegen een melancholisch behang van strijkers, synthesizer en gitaar verhaalt de breekbare stem van Miss Vine. Ze dwingt me tot stilte en 100% concentratie.

Een feeëriek klanklandschap spreidt zich uit over de volgende nummers, waarbij in een klassieke Cocteau Twins-achtige stijl het diepste van je ziel geraakt wordt. Zowel met hoge als lage stem kan Evi Vine een perfecte stemming oproepen.

“For You” is een volgend hoogtepunt waar de repetitieve lyrics en een wederom zweverige ijle stem in een langzaam intensifiërende song een heerlijke melancholie creëren.

Ik zou eigenlijk elke song kunnen opsommen aangezien dit album helemaal geen dieptepunten kent.

Eindigen doen we zoals het schijfje ook begon: ijzersterk. Spokerige geluiden in een minder duidelijke songstructuur vormen de achtergrond waartegen deze dame een laatste maal haar poëzie mag verhalen.

Als Evi Vine live diezelfde intensiteit kan overbrengen hebben we er pracht van een artieste bij. Ik ben benieuwd hoe haar performance zal verlopen tijdens Fantastique.Night XXXII.

Ward DE PRINS
07/08/2011


 

Next reviews
IMPAKT • Resonant Escape
MARK FELL • Multistability
AFUCHE • Highly Publicized Digital Boxing Match
UNITARY • Safe From Harm
NEXT STOP: HORIZON • We know exactly where we are going
SKELETON TREES • Season Of Mist
WINTER SEVERITY INDEX • EP
ASTRID WILLIAMSON • Pulse
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Forms Of Hands 2011
LAWRENCE ENGLISH + STEPHEN VITIELLO • Acute Inbetweens

 

Other reviews from EVI VINE
EVI VINE • Black Light White Dark
EVI VINE • Black Easter 2016
EVI VINE • Give Your Heart To The Hawks

 

Same combination of genres: ETHEREAL / HEAVENLY VOICES + FOLK / ETHNIC / TRIBAL
AIMAPROJECT • Di AimA Il Segno
DAEMONIA NYMPHE • PSYCHOSTASIA
HEILUNG • Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
LET'S EAT GRANDMA • I, Gemini
AMARANTHE • Breaking Point - B-Sides 2011-2015
BIRDS' WAY • Birds' Way
TROLLS ET LÉGENDES • Day 3, 5/4/2015, Mons, Belgium | Corvus Corax, Rastaban, Cuelèbre & Césair
QNTAL • QNTAL VII
FIRST AID KIT • Stay Gold
LISA GERRARD • Twilight Kingdom

 

Same genre: ETHEREAL / HEAVENLY VOICES
AIMA & THE ILLUSION OF SILENCE • Music for certain rituals
AIMA • Haiku Irregolari In Forma Di Musica
PAULINA CASSIDY • Drawing Up A Storm
ANDERS MANGA • Perfectly Stranger
AUTUMN • The Fall
BLACK NEEDLE NOISE • Lost In Reflections
KID KOALA • Music To Draw To (Satellite)
ANNELIES MONSERE • Debris
EILERA • Face Your Demons
GLOBELAMP • The Orange Glow

 

Same genre: FOLK / ETHNIC / TRIBAL
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
DARK POEM • The Fire Lives Inside
JASTREB • Orient And Occident
DOOMSQUAD • Total Time
HERON OBLIVION • Heron Oblivion
THE JOY OF NATURE • A Roda Do Tempo
ORDER OF VICTORY & TSIDMZ • Third Rome / Terza Roma
TROLLS ET LÉGENDES • Day 2, 4/4/2015, Mons, Belgium | Eluveitie, Tanzwut, Huldre & Nook Karavan
TROLLS ET LÉGENDES • Day 1, 3/4/2015, Mons, Belgium | Naheulbeuk, Feuerschwanz and La Horde
TANZWUT • Freitag der 13

Music reviews

18
01
DISTANT VOICES
Long Road to Home
17
01
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Mechanical Soul
16
01
IMPLANT
Phantom Pain
15
01
DD SANCHEZ
StRaNgE
10
01
BLACK SNOW IN SUMMER
Lost Feelings
09
01
CAUSENATION
Promises of hope and fear

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

21
01
Today, exactly 28 years ago, Ministry released Just One Fix!
19
01
On this day, 30 years ago (19 January 1991), The Cure performed at The Great British Music Awards!
18
01
On this day, 41 ago, John Foxx released his first solo project album Metamatic!
17
01
Today, 36 years ago, Alien Sex Fiend recorded Liquid Head in Tokyo!
16
01
26 years Divine Rapture | Celebrating The Siouxsie and the Banshees 1995 and final album!
15
01
Brand new Front Line Assembly album 'Mechanical Soul' out today!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'
05
12
CEVIN KEY (SKINNY PUPPY, DOWNLOAD)
'It really has been like the formation of a new band in a lot of ways...'
03
12
ALEX SKOLNICK (TESTAMENT, ALEX SKOLNICK TRIO)
'I was as knocked out as I was hearing Van Halen...'
14
11
PROYECTO MIRAGE
I Think We Needed A Break

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

21
01
ROB ZOMBIE
The Triumph of King Freak (A Crypt of Preservation and Superstition)
20
01
NEW ORDER
True Faith
19
01
CORDE OBLIQUE
Suono su tela
18
01
KAI SCHUMACHER
The Hug (Rework by Illuminine)
17
01
ELSJE HELEWAUT & RUDOLF HECKE
Let's Not Give A Damn
16
01
PSY'AVIAH
Not What I Expected
15
01
LEATHER STRIP
Strap me down