tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

07/08/2011 : EVI VINE - ...And So The Morning Comes

EVI VINE

...And So The Morning Comes

MusicCD
Ethereal / Heavenly VoicesFolk / Ethnic / Tribal

[86/100]   
07/08/2011, Ward DE PRINS

EN

The British singer/songwriter Evi Vine leads us gently through the ​​dark dream world of her debut album "... And So The Morning Comes".

Quiet, but very strong, the album opens with "For The Dreamers". Against a soundscape of melancholic strings, synthesizer and guitar the fragile voice of Miss Vine tells & sings. She forces me to be quiet and give 100% concentration.

This magical soundscape stretches over the following numbers, with a classic Cocteau Twins-like style that touches you really intensely and deep in your soul. With both high and low voice Evi Vine calls the perfect mood.

"For You" is another highlight where the repetitive lyrics and a soaring voice in a gradually intensifying song create a delicious melancholy.

Actually I should mention all songs, since there are no low points within this album, but this might take too long.

The album ends up as it started: very strong. Spooky sounds in a less obvious song structure form the background against which this lady may recite for the last time her poetry.

If Evi Vine can convey the same intensity during a live performance we have gained a new, wonderful artist. I wonder how her performance will be during Fantastique.Night XXXII.

Ward DE PRINS
07/08/2011


NL

De Britse singer-songwriter Evi Vine leidt ons met zachte hand doorheen haar duistere droomwereld op haar debuutalbum “…And So The Morning Comes”. 

Rustig doch ijzersterk opent het schijfje met “For The Dreamers”. Tegen een melancholisch behang van strijkers, synthesizer en gitaar verhaalt de breekbare stem van Miss Vine. Ze dwingt me tot stilte en 100% concentratie.

Een feeëriek klanklandschap spreidt zich uit over de volgende nummers, waarbij in een klassieke Cocteau Twins-achtige stijl het diepste van je ziel geraakt wordt. Zowel met hoge als lage stem kan Evi Vine een perfecte stemming oproepen.

“For You” is een volgend hoogtepunt waar de repetitieve lyrics en een wederom zweverige ijle stem in een langzaam intensifiërende song een heerlijke melancholie creëren.

Ik zou eigenlijk elke song kunnen opsommen aangezien dit album helemaal geen dieptepunten kent.

Eindigen doen we zoals het schijfje ook begon: ijzersterk. Spokerige geluiden in een minder duidelijke songstructuur vormen de achtergrond waartegen deze dame een laatste maal haar poëzie mag verhalen.

Als Evi Vine live diezelfde intensiteit kan overbrengen hebben we er pracht van een artieste bij. Ik ben benieuwd hoe haar performance zal verlopen tijdens Fantastique.Night XXXII.

Ward DE PRINS
07/08/2011


 

Next reviews
IMPAKT • Resonant Escape
MARK FELL • Multistability
AFUCHE • Highly Publicized Digital Boxing Match
UNITARY • Safe From Harm
NEXT STOP: HORIZON • We know exactly where we are going
SKELETON TREES • Season Of Mist
WINTER SEVERITY INDEX • EP
ASTRID WILLIAMSON • Pulse
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Forms Of Hands 2011
LAWRENCE ENGLISH + STEPHEN VITIELLO • Acute Inbetweens

 

Other reviews from EVI VINE
EVI VINE • Black Light White Dark
EVI VINE • Black Easter 2016
EVI VINE • Give Your Heart To The Hawks

 

Same combination of genres: ETHEREAL / HEAVENLY VOICES + FOLK / ETHNIC / TRIBAL
AIMAPROJECT • Di AimA Il Segno
DAEMONIA NYMPHE • PSYCHOSTASIA
HEILUNG • Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
LET'S EAT GRANDMA • I, Gemini
AMARANTHE • Breaking Point - B-Sides 2011-2015
BIRDS' WAY • Birds' Way
TROLLS ET LÉGENDES • Day 3, 5/4/2015, Mons, Belgium | Corvus Corax, Rastaban, Cuelèbre & Césair
QNTAL • QNTAL VII
FIRST AID KIT • Stay Gold
LISA GERRARD • Twilight Kingdom

 

Same genre: ETHEREAL / HEAVENLY VOICES
LISA GERRARD & JULES MAXWELL • Burn
DAEMONIA NYMPHE • Witches' Lullaby
ANTHONY JONES • Farewell To Flesh
AIMA & THE ILLUSION OF SILENCE • Music for certain rituals
AIMA • Haiku Irregolari In Forma Di Musica
PAULINA CASSIDY • Drawing Up A Storm
ANDERS MANGA • Perfectly Stranger
AUTUMN • The Fall
BLACK NEEDLE NOISE • Lost In Reflections
KID KOALA • Music To Draw To (Satellite)

 

Same genre: FOLK / ETHNIC / TRIBAL
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
DARK POEM • The Fire Lives Inside
JASTREB • Orient And Occident
DOOMSQUAD • Total Time
HERON OBLIVION • Heron Oblivion
THE JOY OF NATURE • A Roda Do Tempo
ORDER OF VICTORY & TSIDMZ • Third Rome / Terza Roma
TROLLS ET LÉGENDES • Day 2, 4/4/2015, Mons, Belgium | Eluveitie, Tanzwut, Huldre & Nook Karavan
TROLLS ET LÉGENDES • Day 1, 3/4/2015, Mons, Belgium | Naheulbeuk, Feuerschwanz and La Horde
TANZWUT • Freitag der 13

Music reviews

27
11
MAGNETIC RUST
Multicolor
26
11
MINUA
Simulacra
25
11
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS
Live Happily While Waiting For Death
23
11
LAPECHE
Blood In The Water
19
11
STAATSEINDE
Crazy Earthlings Collab Tape - Episode II
18
11
DE DELVERS
Hart in neonlicht

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

28
11
IAMNOONE releases 'Dead Season'
28
11
Today it's exactly 41 years since Siouxsie and the Banshees, released their Christmas single 'Israel'!
27
11
MESH prepares an extended live-box for their fans!
27
11
Gothic/Post-Punk Band CYBORG AMOK Unveils New Video for 'Burden Away'
27
11
40 years of Don't You Want Me by The Human League
27
11
Non-Stop Erotic Cabaret | Untainted With Time - Released 40 years ago!

Concert reviews

21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

26
11
WHISPERS IN THE SHADOW
I’m not a conservative songwriter and I’m not interested in the status quo; I’m interested in progress.
25
11
GRAVE JONES
Bringing Rock Back To The Charts
25
10
WINTERSTILLE
There are two contradicting aspects of individualism: the promise that you can achieve anything and the blaming of the individual for not achieving it.
04
10
HANTE
I broke away from the pressure you have as an artist to appeal to a certain type of audience, to create dance floor hits.
30
09
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS
Dimitri from Wool-E Discs had learned that I was part of a band in the 80s and asked me to listen.

PHOTOS

07
11
GARY NUMAN
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
COVENANT
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
AND ALSO THE TREES
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
A SPLIT - SECOND
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
YOUR LIFE ON HOLD
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
LEAETHER STRIP
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
KORINTHIANS
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

28
11
PORTION CONTROL
Still (Short-range missive from SEEDEP3)
27
11
CHRONIC TWILIGHT
Mark of Cain (official lyric video)
26
11
CHELSEA WOLFE
16 Psyche
25
11
CLAN OF XYMOX
A Day
24
11
STRUGGLER
Is It Worth?
23
11
PORTION CONTROL
Amnesia (Live mix)
22
11
PLANETDAMAGE
Hi Rez Lo Life