tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

11/12/2016 : EZRA FURMAN - Big Fugitive Life

EZRA FURMAN

Big Fugitive Life

MusicCD
CountryIndie RockRockSinger Songwriter

[85/100]   

PIAS
11/12/2016, William LIÉNARD

EN

In the review of his album Perpetual Motion People, we told you that the American musician Ezra Furman is able to write perfect rock songs and as a result it will come as no surprise that the album did well in Britain. The sequel is called Big Fugitive Life, an EP with six compositions, the end of a chapter in his musical career.

The first three songs are my vision of rock and roll. A madness that overtakes your mind and body. It's wanting to go somewhere you've never been, knowing you're on your way, Furman writes in the press release. The result is Teddy, I'm Ready, in which the American convinces with a beautiful melody and a fragile voice. Again there is room for a saxophone, which sounds wonderful between the whining guitars and the firm percussion. Yes, Ezra Furman can write beautiful rock songs and this track would not look out of place on an album by Bruce Springsteen!

Haley's Comet is the second track, a rock ballad with metal-like guitars and Furmans pinched voice that fits perfectly: a strong and diverse composition in which various melodies are combined seamlessly. The trio is completed with Little Piece of Trash, a fast and slightly punk rock song that impresses from beginning to end. Again we hear a saxophone, which rages as if life depended on it.

The second half of the EP sounds completely different. Furman puts it this way: an acoustic guitar as an open wound, a troubled mind on display. Emotional in a different way, tender like a bruise. Consequently, Penetrate is a quiet ballad with an acoustic guitar that takes us to lonely cowboys at a smoldering campfire. And he uses the same strategy as before: varied and diverse compositions. In Splash of Light we hear sparse piano sounds, but the acoustic guitar takes the lead, while the voice sound more subdued: a simple and beautiful singer-songwriter ballad with - again - a beautiful melody, full of longing and nostalgia.

The Refugee is dedicated to Furmans grandfather who had to leave Germany during World War II because of the politics of the Nazis. It's my first song entirely dedicated to my Jewish background and the present, Furman says, and he also dedicates the song to all the refugees who are desperately looking for a home. A whining violin creates the dramatic atmosphere and Furmans voice drags through the text like Bob Dylan in his best days: a poignant ballad with a high klezmer content.

This is again a very diverse new release by Ezra Furman and a challenge for the fans, because the American forces us to put aside our prejudices against certain music genres and to open up to what we might never listen to spontaneous.

Tracklist:
1. Teddy, I’m Ready
2. Haley’s Comet
3. Little Piece of Trash
4. Penetrate
5. Splash of Light
6. The Refugee

William LIÉNARD
11/12/2016


NL

In de recensie over zijn album Perpetual Motion People vertelden we je al dat de Amerikaanse muzikant Ezra Furman in staat is om perfecte rocksongs te schrijven en het zal je dan ook niet verbazen dat dat album het uitstekend deed in Groot-Brittannië. De opvolger heet Big Fugitive Life, een ep met zes composities, waarmee Furman naar eigen zeggen een periode in zijn muzikale carrière afsluit.

De eerste drie tracks representeren mijn visie op rock ‘n roll, schrijft Furman in het persbericht, een waanzin die in je lichaam en geest binnendringt. Je wilt ergens heen waar je nog nooit eerder was, wetende dat je onderweg bent. Het resultaat horen we in Teddy, I’m Ready, waarin de Amerikaan overtuigt met een prachtige melodie en een fragiele zangstem. Er is opnieuw ruimte voor een saxofoon en die klinkt wondermooi tussen de jengelende gitaren en het ferme slagwerk. Ja, Ezra Furman kan prachtige rocksongs schrijven en deze zou niet misstaan op een album van Bruce Springsteen!

Ook Haley’s Comet is een rockballade, met metaalachtige gitaren en Furmans afgeknepen stemmetje dar er prima bij past: een forse en gevarieerde compositie waarin verschillende melodieën naadloos worden gecombineerd. The trio wordt afgesloten met Little Piece of Trash, een snelle en lichtjes punkachtige rocksong die opnieuw overtuigt van begin tot einde. Opnieuw wordt er plaats ingeruimd voor de saxofoon en die gaat tekeer alsof het leven ervan afhangt.

In de tweede helft van de ep kiest Ezra Furman voor een zachtere aanpak. Hij verwoordt het zo: een akoestische gitaar als een open wond, een onrustige geest die zich toont, emotioneel op een andere manier, teder als een blauwe plek. In Penetrate wordt m.a.w. gas teruggenomen. Het is een rustige ballade met een akoestische gitaar die ons meeneemt naar eenzame cowboys bij een smeulend kampvuur, waarmee Ezra Furman voor dezelfde aanpak kiest als op z’n eerdere album: gevarieerd en veelzijdig en niet in één vakje te stoppen. In Splash of Light wordt spaarzaam pianogeluid toegevoegd, maar de akoestische gitaar neemt opnieuw de leiding en Ezra Furman klinkt ingetogener dan in de vorige track: een eenvoudige en mooie singer-songwritersballade met – opnieuw – een prachtige melodie vol heimwee en nostalgie.

The Refugee is opgedragen aan Furmans grootvader die tijdens de Tweede Wereldoorlog Duitsland moest verlaten wegens de politiek van de nazi’s. Het is mijn eerste liedje dat helemaal is gewijd aan mijn Joodse achtergrond en aan het heden, zegt Furman daarover, want de compositie draagt hij tegelijk op aan alle vluchtelingen die wanhopig op zoek zijn naar een thuis. Een jankende viool creëert de dramatische sfeer en Furmans stem werkt zich slepend door de tekst zoals Bob Dylan in zijn beste dagen: een indringende ballade met een hoog klezmer-gehalte.

Opnieuw heel divers deze nieuwe release van Ezra Furman en een uitdaging voor de fans, want de Amerikaan verplicht je om je vooroordelen tegen sommige muziekgenres aan de kant te zetten en je open te stellen voor wat je misschien nooit spontaan zou beluisteren. Gedurfd maar uitstekend van kwaliteit.

Tracklist:
1. Teddy, I’m Ready
2. Haley’s Comet
3. Little Piece of Trash
4. Penetrate
5. Splash of Light
6. The Refugee

William LIÉNARD
11/12/2016


 

Next reviews
PETER NORDBERG • Om Man Inte Är Här
MYRKUR • Mausoleum
DEEP PURPLE • Tienen, Suikerrock (29/07/2016)
DAVID GILMOUR • Tienen, Grote Markt (27/07/2016)
THIELEMANS GEBRUERS ANTUNES • Mechelen, Jazzzolder (22/07/2016)
XOTOX • Essentials
THE UNDERGROUND YOUTH • The Perfect Enemy For God
ROLAND BEELEN • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
RICARDO DONOSO • Quintesence
GIUSEPPE TAIBI (EUROPEAN GHOST) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life

 

Other reviews from EZRA FURMAN
EZRA FURMAN • Perpetual Motion People

 

Same genre: COUNTRY
MAD ABOUT MOUNTAINS • Radio Harlaz
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Zeal Records: 15 Years The Essence Of Music
BACKYARD FOLK CLUB • The Broken Spoon
ALELA DIANE & RYAN FRANCESCONI • Cold Moon
YOUTH LAGOON • Savage Hills Ballroom

 

Same genre: INDIE ROCK
DAVID J • The Auteur (Redux / The Starlet's Cut) Ft. Rose McGowan
WHERE WE SLEEP • The Desert
THE RECEIPTS • The Receipts
FONTAINES D.C • Dogrel
TINY FIGHTER • Tell Me
DRAGON WELDING • Dragon Welding
ERNEST MOON • Ba-Jesus
EVI VINE • Black Light White Dark
THE REACTION • The World Cup Of Lies EP
THE EXPLODING BOY • Alarms!

 

Same genre: ROCK
PRINCIPE VALIENTE • Choirs of Blessed Youth
TYCHO BRAHE • Triplex [Complete]
THE SLOW SHOW • DREAM DARLING
THE PRETENDERS • Alone
WAREHOUSE • Super Low
NEW MODEL ARMY • Winter
MAIDAVALE • Tales of the Wicked West
PETER NORDBERG • Om Man Inte Är Här
DAVID GILMOUR • Tienen, Grote Markt (27/07/2016)
ROXY MUSIC • Manifesto

 

Same genre: SINGER SONGWRITER
LEIF VOLLEBEKK • Twin Solitude
CANNAERTS & VAN CUTSEM • Mechelen, Theater M/Moonbeat (08/10/2016) CD-presentation
SUZANNE VEGA • Borgerhout, De Roma (06/10/2016)
LIEN SCHOETERS • Rijmenam, Rijmrock (20/08/2016)
THE ANCHORESS + FIONA BRICE • London, Bush Hall (15/06/2016)
LEYLA MCCALLA • A Day for the Hunter, A Day for the Prey
CHRIS COHEN • As If Apart
EYEMER • Temporarily Colourblind
SWEET BABOO • Dennis
KEVIN MORBY • Singing Saw

Music reviews

17
05
LISA MORGENSTERN
Chameleon
16
05
VEIL OF LIGHT
Inflict
15
05
KIM THOMPSETT
The Hollows
14
05
L7
Scatter The Rats
13
05
SIGNAL AOUT 42
Insurrection
08
05
KRISTIN HERSH
Crooked (Reissue)

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
05
45 years of Diamond Dogs (David Bowie)
15
05
On this day, 29 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
14
05
'Locating Silver Lake' out on DVD today!
13
05
Today it’s exactly 22 years ago Nine Inch Nails released their The Perfect Drug (Versions) EP!
12
05
Legendary Gothic/Death Rock Band CHRISTIAN DEATH Announces Forthcoming European Tour & First Ever Live Video Chat/'Forgiven' Video Premiere
12
05
This month it’s been 41 years since Kraftwerk released Die Roboter / The Robots!

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

10
05
APSURDE
No Matter What We Do, We Will Always Sound Like Depeche Mode
09
05
ANDY GILL (GANG OF FOUR)
'You never expect Gang of Four to be very optimistic.Do you ?'
29
04
STACY COCHRAN
'I didn’t want to write something cruel; I wanted to find the daily fears and even some transcendent pragmatism inside a complicated set of characters...'
28
04
KILL SHELTER
There Is An Inherent Darkness And Sadness In The Music I Create
27
04
VANGUARD
We Had The Concept Of Doing Something That Ties Man And Machine Together

PHOTOS

16
05
ABDOMEN
Poppodium Grenswerk,Venlo
16
05
BOJACKS
Poppodium Grenswerk,Venlo
16
05
THE OTHER
Poppodium Grenswerk,Venlo
16
05
CLAN OF XYMOX
Poppodium Grenswerk,Venlo
12
05
PRAGA KHAN
YAP Leopoldsburg
05
05
DER KLINKE
MysteriA Fantasy-Fair Aarschot
05
05
LA LUNE NOIRE
MysteriA Fantasy-Fair Aarschot

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

19
05
SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES
You're Lost Little Girl
18
05
GROUND NERO
Dark Descent
17
05
JAN SWERTS
Meer Is Er Niet
16
05
IAN MCCULLOCH
Lover Lover Lover
15
05
DELEYAMAN
Secret Treasures
14
05
IN DEATH IT ENDS
the most holy death
13
05
SIXTH JUNE
Drowning