tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

11/12/2016 : EZRA FURMAN - Big Fugitive Life

EZRA FURMAN

Big Fugitive Life

MusicCD
CountryIndie RockRockSinger Songwriter

[85/100]   

PIAS
11/12/2016, William LIÉNARD

EN

In the review of his album Perpetual Motion People, we told you that the American musician Ezra Furman is able to write perfect rock songs and as a result it will come as no surprise that the album did well in Britain. The sequel is called Big Fugitive Life, an EP with six compositions, the end of a chapter in his musical career.

The first three songs are my vision of rock and roll. A madness that overtakes your mind and body. It's wanting to go somewhere you've never been, knowing you're on your way, Furman writes in the press release. The result is Teddy, I'm Ready, in which the American convinces with a beautiful melody and a fragile voice. Again there is room for a saxophone, which sounds wonderful between the whining guitars and the firm percussion. Yes, Ezra Furman can write beautiful rock songs and this track would not look out of place on an album by Bruce Springsteen!

Haley's Comet is the second track, a rock ballad with metal-like guitars and Furmans pinched voice that fits perfectly: a strong and diverse composition in which various melodies are combined seamlessly. The trio is completed with Little Piece of Trash, a fast and slightly punk rock song that impresses from beginning to end. Again we hear a saxophone, which rages as if life depended on it.

The second half of the EP sounds completely different. Furman puts it this way: an acoustic guitar as an open wound, a troubled mind on display. Emotional in a different way, tender like a bruise. Consequently, Penetrate is a quiet ballad with an acoustic guitar that takes us to lonely cowboys at a smoldering campfire. And he uses the same strategy as before: varied and diverse compositions. In Splash of Light we hear sparse piano sounds, but the acoustic guitar takes the lead, while the voice sound more subdued: a simple and beautiful singer-songwriter ballad with - again - a beautiful melody, full of longing and nostalgia.

The Refugee is dedicated to Furmans grandfather who had to leave Germany during World War II because of the politics of the Nazis. It's my first song entirely dedicated to my Jewish background and the present, Furman says, and he also dedicates the song to all the refugees who are desperately looking for a home. A whining violin creates the dramatic atmosphere and Furmans voice drags through the text like Bob Dylan in his best days: a poignant ballad with a high klezmer content.

This is again a very diverse new release by Ezra Furman and a challenge for the fans, because the American forces us to put aside our prejudices against certain music genres and to open up to what we might never listen to spontaneous.

Tracklist:
1. Teddy, I’m Ready
2. Haley’s Comet
3. Little Piece of Trash
4. Penetrate
5. Splash of Light
6. The Refugee

William LIÉNARD
11/12/2016


NL

In de recensie over zijn album Perpetual Motion People vertelden we je al dat de Amerikaanse muzikant Ezra Furman in staat is om perfecte rocksongs te schrijven en het zal je dan ook niet verbazen dat dat album het uitstekend deed in Groot-Brittannië. De opvolger heet Big Fugitive Life, een ep met zes composities, waarmee Furman naar eigen zeggen een periode in zijn muzikale carrière afsluit.

De eerste drie tracks representeren mijn visie op rock ‘n roll, schrijft Furman in het persbericht, een waanzin die in je lichaam en geest binnendringt. Je wilt ergens heen waar je nog nooit eerder was, wetende dat je onderweg bent. Het resultaat horen we in Teddy, I’m Ready, waarin de Amerikaan overtuigt met een prachtige melodie en een fragiele zangstem. Er is opnieuw ruimte voor een saxofoon en die klinkt wondermooi tussen de jengelende gitaren en het ferme slagwerk. Ja, Ezra Furman kan prachtige rocksongs schrijven en deze zou niet misstaan op een album van Bruce Springsteen!

Ook Haley’s Comet is een rockballade, met metaalachtige gitaren en Furmans afgeknepen stemmetje dar er prima bij past: een forse en gevarieerde compositie waarin verschillende melodieën naadloos worden gecombineerd. The trio wordt afgesloten met Little Piece of Trash, een snelle en lichtjes punkachtige rocksong die opnieuw overtuigt van begin tot einde. Opnieuw wordt er plaats ingeruimd voor de saxofoon en die gaat tekeer alsof het leven ervan afhangt.

In de tweede helft van de ep kiest Ezra Furman voor een zachtere aanpak. Hij verwoordt het zo: een akoestische gitaar als een open wond, een onrustige geest die zich toont, emotioneel op een andere manier, teder als een blauwe plek. In Penetrate wordt m.a.w. gas teruggenomen. Het is een rustige ballade met een akoestische gitaar die ons meeneemt naar eenzame cowboys bij een smeulend kampvuur, waarmee Ezra Furman voor dezelfde aanpak kiest als op z’n eerdere album: gevarieerd en veelzijdig en niet in één vakje te stoppen. In Splash of Light wordt spaarzaam pianogeluid toegevoegd, maar de akoestische gitaar neemt opnieuw de leiding en Ezra Furman klinkt ingetogener dan in de vorige track: een eenvoudige en mooie singer-songwritersballade met – opnieuw – een prachtige melodie vol heimwee en nostalgie.

The Refugee is opgedragen aan Furmans grootvader die tijdens de Tweede Wereldoorlog Duitsland moest verlaten wegens de politiek van de nazi’s. Het is mijn eerste liedje dat helemaal is gewijd aan mijn Joodse achtergrond en aan het heden, zegt Furman daarover, want de compositie draagt hij tegelijk op aan alle vluchtelingen die wanhopig op zoek zijn naar een thuis. Een jankende viool creëert de dramatische sfeer en Furmans stem werkt zich slepend door de tekst zoals Bob Dylan in zijn beste dagen: een indringende ballade met een hoog klezmer-gehalte.

Opnieuw heel divers deze nieuwe release van Ezra Furman en een uitdaging voor de fans, want de Amerikaan verplicht je om je vooroordelen tegen sommige muziekgenres aan de kant te zetten en je open te stellen voor wat je misschien nooit spontaan zou beluisteren. Gedurfd maar uitstekend van kwaliteit.

Tracklist:
1. Teddy, I’m Ready
2. Haley’s Comet
3. Little Piece of Trash
4. Penetrate
5. Splash of Light
6. The Refugee

William LIÉNARD
11/12/2016


 

Next reviews
PETER NORDBERG • Om Man Inte Är Här
MYRKUR • Mausoleum
DEEP PURPLE • Tienen, Suikerrock (29/07/2016)
DAVID GILMOUR • Tienen, Grote Markt (27/07/2016)
THIELEMANS GEBRUERS ANTUNES • Mechelen, Jazzzolder (22/07/2016)
XOTOX • Essentials
THE UNDERGROUND YOUTH • The Perfect Enemy For God
ROLAND BEELEN • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
RICARDO DONOSO • Quintesence
GIUSEPPE TAIBI (EUROPEAN GHOST) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life

 

Other reviews from EZRA FURMAN
EZRA FURMAN • Perpetual Motion People

 

Same genre: COUNTRY
MAD ABOUT MOUNTAINS • Radio Harlaz
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Zeal Records: 15 Years The Essence Of Music
BACKYARD FOLK CLUB • The Broken Spoon
ALELA DIANE & RYAN FRANCESCONI • Cold Moon
YOUTH LAGOON • Savage Hills Ballroom

 

Same genre: INDIE ROCK
DEF ROBOT • Makers Of Mountains
THIS CAN HURT • Worlds Apart
DAVID J • The Auteur (Redux / The Starlet's Cut) Ft. Rose McGowan
WHERE WE SLEEP • The Desert
THE RECEIPTS • The Receipts
FONTAINES D.C • Dogrel
TINY FIGHTER • Tell Me
DRAGON WELDING • Dragon Welding
ERNEST MOON • Ba-Jesus
EVI VINE • Black Light White Dark

 

Same genre: ROCK
PRINCIPE VALIENTE • Choirs of Blessed Youth
TYCHO BRAHE • Triplex [Complete]
THE SLOW SHOW • DREAM DARLING
THE PRETENDERS • Alone
WAREHOUSE • Super Low
NEW MODEL ARMY • Winter
MAIDAVALE • Tales of the Wicked West
PETER NORDBERG • Om Man Inte Är Här
DAVID GILMOUR • Tienen, Grote Markt (27/07/2016)
ROXY MUSIC • Manifesto

 

Same genre: SINGER SONGWRITER
LEIF VOLLEBEKK • Twin Solitude
CANNAERTS & VAN CUTSEM • Mechelen, Theater M/Moonbeat (08/10/2016) CD-presentation
SUZANNE VEGA • Borgerhout, De Roma (06/10/2016)
LIEN SCHOETERS • Rijmenam, Rijmrock (20/08/2016)
THE ANCHORESS + FIONA BRICE • London, Bush Hall (15/06/2016)
LEYLA MCCALLA • A Day for the Hunter, A Day for the Prey
CHRIS COHEN • As If Apart
EYEMER • Temporarily Colourblind
SWEET BABOO • Dennis
KEVIN MORBY • Singing Saw

Music reviews

05
09
FOXY
X-Ray Spex Tribute
04
09
GRENDEL
Ascending The Abyss
03
09
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Hellraiser
03
09
W - FEST, AUG 18TH 2019
24
08
MEAGER BENEFITS
Crawling
23
08
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1
Harbringer

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

06
09
KLONE RELEASE NEW SINGLE “HIDDEN PASSENGER” FROM FORTHCOMING ALBUM LE GRAND VOYAGE
05
09
Industrial Rock Band CHMCL STR8JCKT Signs To Cleopatra Records - Wrtchd Thngs Album Details Revealed
05
09
38 years ago, Soft Cell's version of ‘Tainted Love’ reached the number one position in the British hit parade!
29
08
42 years ago Iggy Pop released Lust for Life (29th August 1977)
22
08
The Cassandra Complex & Die Krupps to headline BIMFEST 2019!
14
08
Electro-Industrial Band NEON INSECT Announces The Release Of New Moscow Underground

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

11
09
NOTNOTICE
I Like When There Are Noise Collages In The Music
08
09
ALEXA HUNTER(DISTURBED FURNITURE)
'Love or hate us, we are gonna kick out the jams while we still can!'
06
09
DAVID WM.SIMS(UNFACT,THE JESUS LIZARD,SCRATCH ACID)
'We had a great personal chemistry within the band!'
15
08
SPANKTHENUN
An Interview With Electro-Industrial Artist SPANKTHENUN
13
08
AHMED SALEH ABOUT EXPERIMENTAL/INDUSTRIAL MUSIC IN AFRICA
People Here Can Get Arrested Because Of Something They Posted On Social Media!

PHOTOS

17
09
WAYNE HUSSEY SALAD DAZE TOUR
Movie Bielefeld
17
09
ASHTON NYTE SALAD DAZE BIELEFED WITH WAYNE HUSSEY
Movie Bielefeld
07
09
THE SPIRITUAL BAT
Le Garage Luik
25
08
BORGHESIA
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
14
08
SECRET GARDEN
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
13
08
TRISOMIE 21
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
12
08
GRAND BLANC
Donkey Rock Festival Selange

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

18
09
MIEL NOIR
L’ennemi
17
09
PRECIOUS CHILD
My Little Problem
16
09
PRECIOUS CHILD
Magic is Real
15
09
TAINA
Seelenfresser [Zardonic Remix]
14
09
TALK TALK
It´s My Life
13
09
DRAB MAJESTY
Too Soon To Tell
12
09
NINE INCH NAILS
Burning Bright (Field On Fire)