tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

11/12/2016 : EZRA FURMAN - Big Fugitive Life

EZRA FURMAN

Big Fugitive Life

MusicCD
CountryIndie RockRockSinger Songwriter

[85/100]   

PIAS
11/12/2016, William LIÉNARD

EN

In the review of his album Perpetual Motion People, we told you that the American musician Ezra Furman is able to write perfect rock songs and as a result it will come as no surprise that the album did well in Britain. The sequel is called Big Fugitive Life, an EP with six compositions, the end of a chapter in his musical career.

The first three songs are my vision of rock and roll. A madness that overtakes your mind and body. It's wanting to go somewhere you've never been, knowing you're on your way, Furman writes in the press release. The result is Teddy, I'm Ready, in which the American convinces with a beautiful melody and a fragile voice. Again there is room for a saxophone, which sounds wonderful between the whining guitars and the firm percussion. Yes, Ezra Furman can write beautiful rock songs and this track would not look out of place on an album by Bruce Springsteen!

Haley's Comet is the second track, a rock ballad with metal-like guitars and Furmans pinched voice that fits perfectly: a strong and diverse composition in which various melodies are combined seamlessly. The trio is completed with Little Piece of Trash, a fast and slightly punk rock song that impresses from beginning to end. Again we hear a saxophone, which rages as if life depended on it.

The second half of the EP sounds completely different. Furman puts it this way: an acoustic guitar as an open wound, a troubled mind on display. Emotional in a different way, tender like a bruise. Consequently, Penetrate is a quiet ballad with an acoustic guitar that takes us to lonely cowboys at a smoldering campfire. And he uses the same strategy as before: varied and diverse compositions. In Splash of Light we hear sparse piano sounds, but the acoustic guitar takes the lead, while the voice sound more subdued: a simple and beautiful singer-songwriter ballad with - again - a beautiful melody, full of longing and nostalgia.

The Refugee is dedicated to Furmans grandfather who had to leave Germany during World War II because of the politics of the Nazis. It's my first song entirely dedicated to my Jewish background and the present, Furman says, and he also dedicates the song to all the refugees who are desperately looking for a home. A whining violin creates the dramatic atmosphere and Furmans voice drags through the text like Bob Dylan in his best days: a poignant ballad with a high klezmer content.

This is again a very diverse new release by Ezra Furman and a challenge for the fans, because the American forces us to put aside our prejudices against certain music genres and to open up to what we might never listen to spontaneous.

Tracklist:
1. Teddy, I’m Ready
2. Haley’s Comet
3. Little Piece of Trash
4. Penetrate
5. Splash of Light
6. The Refugee

William LIÉNARD
11/12/2016


NL

In de recensie over zijn album Perpetual Motion People vertelden we je al dat de Amerikaanse muzikant Ezra Furman in staat is om perfecte rocksongs te schrijven en het zal je dan ook niet verbazen dat dat album het uitstekend deed in Groot-Brittannië. De opvolger heet Big Fugitive Life, een ep met zes composities, waarmee Furman naar eigen zeggen een periode in zijn muzikale carrière afsluit.

De eerste drie tracks representeren mijn visie op rock ‘n roll, schrijft Furman in het persbericht, een waanzin die in je lichaam en geest binnendringt. Je wilt ergens heen waar je nog nooit eerder was, wetende dat je onderweg bent. Het resultaat horen we in Teddy, I’m Ready, waarin de Amerikaan overtuigt met een prachtige melodie en een fragiele zangstem. Er is opnieuw ruimte voor een saxofoon en die klinkt wondermooi tussen de jengelende gitaren en het ferme slagwerk. Ja, Ezra Furman kan prachtige rocksongs schrijven en deze zou niet misstaan op een album van Bruce Springsteen!

Ook Haley’s Comet is een rockballade, met metaalachtige gitaren en Furmans afgeknepen stemmetje dar er prima bij past: een forse en gevarieerde compositie waarin verschillende melodieën naadloos worden gecombineerd. The trio wordt afgesloten met Little Piece of Trash, een snelle en lichtjes punkachtige rocksong die opnieuw overtuigt van begin tot einde. Opnieuw wordt er plaats ingeruimd voor de saxofoon en die gaat tekeer alsof het leven ervan afhangt.

In de tweede helft van de ep kiest Ezra Furman voor een zachtere aanpak. Hij verwoordt het zo: een akoestische gitaar als een open wond, een onrustige geest die zich toont, emotioneel op een andere manier, teder als een blauwe plek. In Penetrate wordt m.a.w. gas teruggenomen. Het is een rustige ballade met een akoestische gitaar die ons meeneemt naar eenzame cowboys bij een smeulend kampvuur, waarmee Ezra Furman voor dezelfde aanpak kiest als op z’n eerdere album: gevarieerd en veelzijdig en niet in één vakje te stoppen. In Splash of Light wordt spaarzaam pianogeluid toegevoegd, maar de akoestische gitaar neemt opnieuw de leiding en Ezra Furman klinkt ingetogener dan in de vorige track: een eenvoudige en mooie singer-songwritersballade met – opnieuw – een prachtige melodie vol heimwee en nostalgie.

The Refugee is opgedragen aan Furmans grootvader die tijdens de Tweede Wereldoorlog Duitsland moest verlaten wegens de politiek van de nazi’s. Het is mijn eerste liedje dat helemaal is gewijd aan mijn Joodse achtergrond en aan het heden, zegt Furman daarover, want de compositie draagt hij tegelijk op aan alle vluchtelingen die wanhopig op zoek zijn naar een thuis. Een jankende viool creëert de dramatische sfeer en Furmans stem werkt zich slepend door de tekst zoals Bob Dylan in zijn beste dagen: een indringende ballade met een hoog klezmer-gehalte.

Opnieuw heel divers deze nieuwe release van Ezra Furman en een uitdaging voor de fans, want de Amerikaan verplicht je om je vooroordelen tegen sommige muziekgenres aan de kant te zetten en je open te stellen voor wat je misschien nooit spontaan zou beluisteren. Gedurfd maar uitstekend van kwaliteit.

Tracklist:
1. Teddy, I’m Ready
2. Haley’s Comet
3. Little Piece of Trash
4. Penetrate
5. Splash of Light
6. The Refugee

William LIÉNARD
11/12/2016


 

Next reviews
PETER NORDBERG • Om Man Inte Är Här
MYRKUR • Mausoleum
DEEP PURPLE • Tienen, Suikerrock (29/07/2016)
DAVID GILMOUR • Tienen, Grote Markt (27/07/2016)
THIELEMANS GEBRUERS ANTUNES • Mechelen, Jazzzolder (22/07/2016)
XOTOX • Essentials
THE UNDERGROUND YOUTH • The Perfect Enemy For God
ROLAND BEELEN • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
RICARDO DONOSO • Quintesence
GIUSEPPE TAIBI (EUROPEAN GHOST) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life

 

Other reviews from EZRA FURMAN
EZRA FURMAN • Perpetual Motion People

 

Same genre: COUNTRY
MAD ABOUT MOUNTAINS • Radio Harlaz
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Zeal Records: 15 Years The Essence Of Music
BACKYARD FOLK CLUB • The Broken Spoon
ALELA DIANE & RYAN FRANCESCONI • Cold Moon
YOUTH LAGOON • Savage Hills Ballroom

 

Same genre: INDIE ROCK
DEF ROBOT • Makers Of Mountains
THIS CAN HURT • Worlds Apart
DAVID J • The Auteur (Redux / The Starlet's Cut) Ft. Rose McGowan
WHERE WE SLEEP • The Desert
THE RECEIPTS • The Receipts
FONTAINES D.C • Dogrel
TINY FIGHTER • Tell Me
DRAGON WELDING • Dragon Welding
ERNEST MOON • Ba-Jesus
EVI VINE • Black Light White Dark

 

Same genre: ROCK
STEREOSEAT • Heavenly Creatures
YATES AND YOUNG • Splinters Ep
NICK CAVE AND THE BAD SEEDS • Ghosteen (Ghosteen/Bad Seed Ltd.)
PRINCIPE VALIENTE • Choirs of Blessed Youth
TYCHO BRAHE • Triplex [Complete]
THE SLOW SHOW • DREAM DARLING
THE PRETENDERS • Alone
WAREHOUSE • Super Low
NEW MODEL ARMY • Winter
MAIDAVALE • Tales of the Wicked West

 

Same genre: SINGER SONGWRITER
AMY STUDT • Happiest Girl in The Universe
LEIF VOLLEBEKK • Twin Solitude
CANNAERTS & VAN CUTSEM • Mechelen, Theater M/Moonbeat (08/10/2016) CD-presentation
SUZANNE VEGA • Borgerhout, De Roma (06/10/2016)
LIEN SCHOETERS • Rijmenam, Rijmrock (20/08/2016)
PETER NORDBERG • Om Man Inte Är Här
THE ANCHORESS + FIONA BRICE • London, Bush Hall (15/06/2016)
LEYLA MCCALLA • A Day for the Hunter, A Day for the Prey
CHRIS COHEN • As If Apart
EYEMER • Temporarily Colourblind

Music reviews

03
09
SHERAPHIM SYSTEM
Phoenix
02
09
CAWATANA
In The Silver Light (7')
01
09
MIKE SOPKO, BILL LASWELL, TYSHAWN SOREY
On Common Ground
31
08
TUKT
Tukt
26
08
EMERGENCY SEQUENCE
Sharpening The Axe
21
08
STRUGGLER
Wilma (Determinated Protector)

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

22
09
Today it’s been exactly 28 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
08
09
SUICIDE COMMANDO release a complete 'Dein herz, meine gier' lyric video for the release of the limited club single CD 'Dein herz, meine gier / Bunkerb!tc!
04
09
39 years ago, Soft Cell's version of ‘Tainted Love’ reached the number one position in the British hit parade!
28
08
43 years ago Iggy Pop released Lust for Life (29th August 1977)
12
08
kaRIN FROM COLLIDE AND SHIKHEE FROM ANDROID LUST RELEASE NEW SINGLE ''ARE YOU LISTENING?''
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 33 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

19
09
MORTAR DEVOTIONS
Dystopia Is Just Around The Corner And Orwell Warned Us Already In 1948
16
09
MAT OSMAN (SUEDE)
'I’m always writing short stories...'
15
09
ERASURE
'Music certainly gives us hope' - Erasure talk about their new album 'The Neon'
14
09
WATA (BORIS)
'I will always feel like a rookie...'
12
09
DAWN OF ASHES
‘Covid-19 Is A Gateway To Show Us The True Colors Of The Human Race

PHOTOS

20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

23
09
ANNA VON HAUSSWOLFF
The Mysterious Vanishing of Electra
22
09
BLACK LINE
Snap
21
09
ALPHAMAY
Silence Emotion
20
09
FREISPIELEREI
Fish Muss Schwimmen, Gell
19
09
TRUE ZEBRA
Connection is addiction
19
09
NO!ON
6
18
09
NEOCOMA
Like An Angel