tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

24/07/2015 : EZRA FURMAN - Perpetual Motion People

EZRA FURMAN

Perpetual Motion People

MusicCD
FolkPopRock

[75/100]   

Bella Union
24/07/2015, William LIÉNARD

EN

Perpetual Motion People is the new album by the American musician Ezra Furman. It is recorded in his own Ballistico studio in Chicago with the help of his band The Boyfriends (Jorgen Jorgensen, bass, Ben Joseph, keyboards and guitar; Sam Durkes, drums; Tim Sandusky, saxophone) and it contains 13 nice pop songs, a cross between indie rock from the 90's, West Coast pop from the 80s and a dash of punk from the 70s.Guitars and organ take the lead in Restless Years, on which Furman spreads Beach Boy-like vocals: cheerful and hectic. Lousy Connections gets the same pace, lighthearted, cheerful and carefree, with halfway a beautiful saxophone. The short Hark to the Music! Will certainly do well as a round dance on a year-end party, and Haunted Head is a classic pop song with another interesting intervention of the saxophone and seductive vocals. Hour of Deepest Need gets a slide guitar, emphatic vocals and can be situated near the sound of The Eagles and associates, a quiet folk-rock ballad with a beautiful piano sound and murmuring guitars. A beautiful song.

Wobbly sounds like a ballad from an old-fashioned musical and Ordinary Life, with its 50s choir, acoustic guitar and horseshoe-like percussion, has a beautiful melody with an equally beautiful voice on top. A calm and convincing composition. Tip of a match gets noise and roaring guitars in the intro, and then grows into a solid rock ballad that can barely be compared to the (commercial) trio that started the album. Body Was Made is again lighter, but the playful sax takes the song to a higher level. It is fine to be drunk all weekend, it sounds in Watch You Go By, a lingering ballad with a melancholy saxophone and a beautiful melancholic vocal.
Another excellent composition. Pot Holes gets a jazzy piano, a fifties choir and floats at an attractive pace, again a composition with a high musical level and West Coast influences. Beautiful.

In Can I Sleep in Your Brain?, Ezra Furman sounds like the plaintive John Lennon on the album Imagine, but halfway the song sounds a lot more cheerful. The sober One Day I Will Sin No More, with only an acoustic guitar as accompaniment, could be a composition of Woody Guthrie: folky, dreamy and nostalgic. Very very nice.

Perpetual Motion People is a very diverse album on which Ezra Furman processes a wide range of pop, rock, jazz and folk influences. To our taste, he convinces most in the quiet and less commercial compositions and we can only hope that he chooses that way in the future, for he is clearly capable to write excellent material. We give him the benefit of doubt,
hence the score.

Tracklisting:
1. Restless Year
2. Lousy Connection
3. Hark! to the Music
4. Haunted Head
5. Hour Of Deepest Need
6. Wobbly
7. Ordinary Life
8. Tip of a Match
9. Body Was Made
10. Watch You Go By
11. Pot Holes
12. Can I Sleep In Your Brain?
13. One Day I Will Sin No More

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NDOenFQazrA

William LIÉNARD
24/07/2015


NL

Perpetual Motion People is het nieuwe album van de Amerikaanse muzikant Ezra Furman. Het is opgenomen in zijn eigen Ballistico-studio in Chicago met de hulp van zijn band The Boyfriends (Jorgen Jorgensen, bas; Ben Joseph, keyboards en gitaar; Sam Durkes, drums; Tim Sandusky, saxofoon) en het bevat 13 goed in het oor liggende popsongs die het midden houden tussen indierock uit de jaren 90, westcoastpop uit de jaren 80 en een streepje punk uit de jaren 70. Gitaren en orgel nemen het voortouw in Restless Years, waarover Furman Beach Boy-achtige vocalen uitspreidt: opgewekt en jachtig. Lousy Connections gaat op hetzelfde goed klinkende tempo door, lichtvoetig, vrolijk en zorgeloos, met halfweg een mooie saxofoon. Het korte Hark to the Music! doet het beslist goed als reidans op een eindejaarsfeestje en Haunted Head is een klassieke popsong met opnieuw een interessante tussenkomst van de saxofoon en een verleidelijk koortje. Hour of Deepest Need krijgt een slidegitaar, nadrukkelijke vocalen en situeren we eerder in de buurt van The Eagles en consoorten, een rustige folkrockballade met prachtig pianogeluid en rustig ruisende gitaren. Zonder meer een prachtige song.

Wobbly klinkt als een ballade uit een ouderwetse musical en Ordinary Life, voorzien van een oehoe-koortje, akoestische gitaar en paardenhoefachtige percussie, heeft een prachtige melodie met een al even prachtige stem bovenop. Een rustige en overtuigende compositie. Tip of a Match krijgt noise en ronkende gitaren in de intro en groeit vervolgens uit tot een stevige rockballade die nog nauwelijks overeenkomsten vertoont met het (commerciêle) trio waarmee het album begon. Body Was Made is opnieuw lichtvoetiger, maar de speelse saxofoon tilt de compositie naar een hoger niveau. It is fine to be drunk all weekend, klinkt het in Watch You Go By, een slepende ballade met een weemoedige saxofoon en een prachtige melancholische zanglijn. Opnieuw een excellente compositie. Pot Holes krijgt een jazzy piano, een jarenvijftigkoortje, en dobbert op een aantrekkelijk ritme, opnieuw een compositie met een hoog muzikaal gehalte en westcoastinvloeden. Mooi.

In Can I Sleep in Your Brain? klinkt Ezra Furman aanvankelijk zoals de klagende John Lennon op het album Imagine, maar halfweg wordt een hoger tempo gekozen en klinkt de song een stuk opgewekter. Het sobere One Day I Will Sin no More, met alleen akoestische gitaar als begeleiding, zou een compositie van Woody Guthrie kunnen zijn: folky, dromerig en nostalgisch. Bloedmooi.

Perpetual Motion People is een zeer gevarieerd album waarop Ezra Furman een brede waaier van pop-, rock-, jazz- en folkinvloeden verwerkt. Wat ons betreft overtuigt hij vooral met de rustige en minder commerciële composities en we kunnen alleen maar hopen dat hij in de toekomst die weg kiest, want hij is duidelijk in staat om uitstekend materiaal te schrijven. We geven hem het voordeel van de twijfel, vandaar de score.

William LIÉNARD
24/07/2015


24/07/2015 : EZRA FURMAN - Perpetual Motion People 24/07/2015 : EZRA FURMAN - Perpetual Motion People

 

Next reviews
BANCO DE GAIA • Last Train To Lhasa (deluxe)
GOSPEL • EMPR (PKRP RE-EQ)
CATE SHORTLAND • LORE
OLD HOUSE PLAYGROUND • The Great Escape (EP)
JEAN-PIERRE AMERIS • Marie Heurtin
ASHBURY HEIGHTS • The Looking Glass Society
AJ HOLMES AND THE HACKNEY EMPIRE • Soft Power
DOMINIQUE MOLLARD • Adrift: People Of A Lesser God
POLO ACEVEDO & RAUL MONTELONGO (AMDUSCIA) • Ten Albums That Changed Our Lives
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Scared To Get Happy

 

Other reviews from EZRA FURMAN
EZRA FURMAN • Big Fugitive Life

 

Same combination of genres: FOLK + POP + ROCK
PETER NORDBERG • Om Man Inte Är Här
HANNAH IN THE WARS • Only Wanna Be
KATZENJAMMER • Rockland

 

Same genre: FOLK
PETER GUNDRY • V Ö L U R
KIM THOMPSETT • The Hollows
COLE VARGAS • Cole Vargas
SEESAYLE • Stamina
LEIF VOLLEBEKK • Twin Solitude
SANGRE DE MUERDAGO • Os Segredos da Raposa Vermella
CANNAERTS & VAN CUTSEM • Mechelen, Theater M/Moonbeat (08/10/2016) CD-presentation
RUMMELSNUFF & ASBACH • Rummelsnuff & Asbach
BLACK TAPE FOR A BLUE GIRL • Bike Shop
GLOBELAMP • The Orange Glow

 

Same genre: POP
LISA MORGENSTERN • Chameleon
TYCHO BRAHE • Triplex [Complete]
PARRALOX • Subculture
FORMER BULLIES • Stranger
NINE MILLION WITCHES • The Rapture
AGNES OBEL • Citizen Of Glass
NOSOUND • Scintilla
GRACE JONES • Warm Leatherette
LEVEL 42 • Mechelen, Maanrock (28/08/2016)
A LINN THING • Mechelen, Maanrock (27/08/2016)

 

Same genre: ROCK
PRINCIPE VALIENTE • Choirs of Blessed Youth
THE SLOW SHOW • DREAM DARLING
THE PRETENDERS • Alone
WAREHOUSE • Super Low
NEW MODEL ARMY • Winter
MAIDAVALE • Tales of the Wicked West
EZRA FURMAN • Big Fugitive Life
DAVID GILMOUR • Tienen, Grote Markt (27/07/2016)
ROXY MUSIC • Manifesto
PAUL MCCARTNEY • Werchter, Rock Werchter (30/06/2016)

Music reviews

20
09
JE T'AIME
Je T'aime
05
09
FOXY
X-Ray Spex Tribute
04
09
GRENDEL
Ascending The Abyss
03
09
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Hellraiser
03
09
W - FEST, AUG 18TH 2019
24
08
MEAGER BENEFITS
Crawling

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

22
09
Today it’s been exactly 27 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
21
09
Industrial/Metal Band DECENT NEWS Announces The Release Of 'Monolith'
20
09
Warish streaming forthcoming full length debut ahead of release
19
09
Such Beautiful Flowers premières first video from upcoming Wool-E Tapes release.
06
09
KLONE RELEASE NEW SINGLE “HIDDEN PASSENGER” FROM FORTHCOMING ALBUM LE GRAND VOYAGE
05
09
Industrial Rock Band CHMCL STR8JCKT Signs To Cleopatra Records - Wrtchd Thngs Album Details Revealed

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

21
09
BRIAN JAMES(THE DAMNED,THE LORDS OF THE NEW CHURCH)
'If it’s something that comes from your heart – you can do whatever you want do to!'
19
09
CHMCL STR8JCKT
An Interview With Chmcl Str8jckt
11
09
NOTNOTICE
I Like When There Are Noise Collages In The Music
08
09
ALEXA HUNTER(DISTURBED FURNITURE)
'Love or hate us, we are gonna kick out the jams while we still can!'
06
09
DAVID WM.SIMS(UNFACT,THE JESUS LIZARD,SCRATCH ACID)
'We had a great personal chemistry within the band!'

PHOTOS

22
09
WHISPERING SONS
Liege New Wave Festival
22
09
ASH CODE
Liege New Wave Festival
22
09
DARK SIDE EONS
Liege New Wave Festival
21
09
SISTERS OF MERCY
The Roundhouse London
21
09
AMENRA
The Roundhouse London
18
09
NEAR METH EXPERIENCE
Zappa Antwerpen
17
09
WAYNE HUSSEY SALAD DAZE TOUR
Movie Bielefeld

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

22
09
THE AMATORY MURDER
The Deadliest Rose
21
09
AESTHETIC PERFECTION
Love Like Lies
20
09
ROSARUBEA
Window Pain
19
09
THE UNDERTONES
Teenage Kicks
18
09
MIEL NOIR
L’ennemi
17
09
PRECIOUS CHILD
My Little Problem
16
09
PRECIOUS CHILD
Magic is Real