tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

24/07/2015 : EZRA FURMAN - Perpetual Motion People

EZRA FURMAN

Perpetual Motion People

MusicCD
FolkPopRock

[75/100]   

Bella Union
24/07/2015, William LIÉNARD

EN

Perpetual Motion People is the new album by the American musician Ezra Furman. It is recorded in his own Ballistico studio in Chicago with the help of his band The Boyfriends (Jorgen Jorgensen, bass, Ben Joseph, keyboards and guitar; Sam Durkes, drums; Tim Sandusky, saxophone) and it contains 13 nice pop songs, a cross between indie rock from the 90's, West Coast pop from the 80s and a dash of punk from the 70s.Guitars and organ take the lead in Restless Years, on which Furman spreads Beach Boy-like vocals: cheerful and hectic. Lousy Connections gets the same pace, lighthearted, cheerful and carefree, with halfway a beautiful saxophone. The short Hark to the Music! Will certainly do well as a round dance on a year-end party, and Haunted Head is a classic pop song with another interesting intervention of the saxophone and seductive vocals. Hour of Deepest Need gets a slide guitar, emphatic vocals and can be situated near the sound of The Eagles and associates, a quiet folk-rock ballad with a beautiful piano sound and murmuring guitars. A beautiful song.

Wobbly sounds like a ballad from an old-fashioned musical and Ordinary Life, with its 50s choir, acoustic guitar and horseshoe-like percussion, has a beautiful melody with an equally beautiful voice on top. A calm and convincing composition. Tip of a match gets noise and roaring guitars in the intro, and then grows into a solid rock ballad that can barely be compared to the (commercial) trio that started the album. Body Was Made is again lighter, but the playful sax takes the song to a higher level. It is fine to be drunk all weekend, it sounds in Watch You Go By, a lingering ballad with a melancholy saxophone and a beautiful melancholic vocal.
Another excellent composition. Pot Holes gets a jazzy piano, a fifties choir and floats at an attractive pace, again a composition with a high musical level and West Coast influences. Beautiful.

In Can I Sleep in Your Brain?, Ezra Furman sounds like the plaintive John Lennon on the album Imagine, but halfway the song sounds a lot more cheerful. The sober One Day I Will Sin No More, with only an acoustic guitar as accompaniment, could be a composition of Woody Guthrie: folky, dreamy and nostalgic. Very very nice.

Perpetual Motion People is a very diverse album on which Ezra Furman processes a wide range of pop, rock, jazz and folk influences. To our taste, he convinces most in the quiet and less commercial compositions and we can only hope that he chooses that way in the future, for he is clearly capable to write excellent material. We give him the benefit of doubt,
hence the score.

Tracklisting:
1. Restless Year
2. Lousy Connection
3. Hark! to the Music
4. Haunted Head
5. Hour Of Deepest Need
6. Wobbly
7. Ordinary Life
8. Tip of a Match
9. Body Was Made
10. Watch You Go By
11. Pot Holes
12. Can I Sleep In Your Brain?
13. One Day I Will Sin No More

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NDOenFQazrA

William LIÉNARD
24/07/2015


NL

Perpetual Motion People is het nieuwe album van de Amerikaanse muzikant Ezra Furman. Het is opgenomen in zijn eigen Ballistico-studio in Chicago met de hulp van zijn band The Boyfriends (Jorgen Jorgensen, bas; Ben Joseph, keyboards en gitaar; Sam Durkes, drums; Tim Sandusky, saxofoon) en het bevat 13 goed in het oor liggende popsongs die het midden houden tussen indierock uit de jaren 90, westcoastpop uit de jaren 80 en een streepje punk uit de jaren 70. Gitaren en orgel nemen het voortouw in Restless Years, waarover Furman Beach Boy-achtige vocalen uitspreidt: opgewekt en jachtig. Lousy Connections gaat op hetzelfde goed klinkende tempo door, lichtvoetig, vrolijk en zorgeloos, met halfweg een mooie saxofoon. Het korte Hark to the Music! doet het beslist goed als reidans op een eindejaarsfeestje en Haunted Head is een klassieke popsong met opnieuw een interessante tussenkomst van de saxofoon en een verleidelijk koortje. Hour of Deepest Need krijgt een slidegitaar, nadrukkelijke vocalen en situeren we eerder in de buurt van The Eagles en consoorten, een rustige folkrockballade met prachtig pianogeluid en rustig ruisende gitaren. Zonder meer een prachtige song.

Wobbly klinkt als een ballade uit een ouderwetse musical en Ordinary Life, voorzien van een oehoe-koortje, akoestische gitaar en paardenhoefachtige percussie, heeft een prachtige melodie met een al even prachtige stem bovenop. Een rustige en overtuigende compositie. Tip of a Match krijgt noise en ronkende gitaren in de intro en groeit vervolgens uit tot een stevige rockballade die nog nauwelijks overeenkomsten vertoont met het (commerciêle) trio waarmee het album begon. Body Was Made is opnieuw lichtvoetiger, maar de speelse saxofoon tilt de compositie naar een hoger niveau. It is fine to be drunk all weekend, klinkt het in Watch You Go By, een slepende ballade met een weemoedige saxofoon en een prachtige melancholische zanglijn. Opnieuw een excellente compositie. Pot Holes krijgt een jazzy piano, een jarenvijftigkoortje, en dobbert op een aantrekkelijk ritme, opnieuw een compositie met een hoog muzikaal gehalte en westcoastinvloeden. Mooi.

In Can I Sleep in Your Brain? klinkt Ezra Furman aanvankelijk zoals de klagende John Lennon op het album Imagine, maar halfweg wordt een hoger tempo gekozen en klinkt de song een stuk opgewekter. Het sobere One Day I Will Sin no More, met alleen akoestische gitaar als begeleiding, zou een compositie van Woody Guthrie kunnen zijn: folky, dromerig en nostalgisch. Bloedmooi.

Perpetual Motion People is een zeer gevarieerd album waarop Ezra Furman een brede waaier van pop-, rock-, jazz- en folkinvloeden verwerkt. Wat ons betreft overtuigt hij vooral met de rustige en minder commerciële composities en we kunnen alleen maar hopen dat hij in de toekomst die weg kiest, want hij is duidelijk in staat om uitstekend materiaal te schrijven. We geven hem het voordeel van de twijfel, vandaar de score.

William LIÉNARD
24/07/2015


24/07/2015 : EZRA FURMAN - Perpetual Motion People 24/07/2015 : EZRA FURMAN - Perpetual Motion People

 

Next reviews
BANCO DE GAIA • Last Train To Lhasa (deluxe)
GOSPEL • EMPR (PKRP RE-EQ)
CATE SHORTLAND • LORE
OLD HOUSE PLAYGROUND • The Great Escape (EP)
JEAN-PIERRE AMERIS • Marie Heurtin
ASHBURY HEIGHTS • The Looking Glass Society
AJ HOLMES AND THE HACKNEY EMPIRE • Soft Power
DOMINIQUE MOLLARD • Adrift: People Of A Lesser God
POLO ACEVEDO & RAUL MONTELONGO (AMDUSCIA) • Ten Albums That Changed Our Lives
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Scared To Get Happy

 

Other reviews from EZRA FURMAN
EZRA FURMAN • Big Fugitive Life

 

Same combination of genres: FOLK + POP + ROCK
PETER NORDBERG • Om Man Inte Är Här
HANNAH IN THE WARS • Only Wanna Be
KATZENJAMMER • Rockland

 

Same genre: FOLK
COLE VARGAS • Cole Vargas
SEESAYLE • Stamina
LEIF VOLLEBEKK • Twin Solitude
SANGRE DE MUERDAGO • Os Segredos da Raposa Vermella
CANNAERTS & VAN CUTSEM • Mechelen, Theater M/Moonbeat (08/10/2016) CD-presentation
RUMMELSNUFF & ASBACH • Rummelsnuff & Asbach
BLACK TAPE FOR A BLUE GIRL • Bike Shop
GLOBELAMP • The Orange Glow
1476 • Wildwood/The Nightside
MYRKUR • Mausoleum

 

Same genre: POP
TYCHO BRAHE • Triplex [Complete]
PARRALOX • Subculture
FORMER BULLIES • Stranger
NINE MILLION WITCHES • The Rapture
AGNES OBEL • Citizen Of Glass
NOSOUND • Scintilla
GRACE JONES • Warm Leatherette
LEVEL 42 • Mechelen, Maanrock (28/08/2016)
A LINN THING • Mechelen, Maanrock (27/08/2016)
LALALOVER • Rijmenam, Rijmrock (20/08/2016)

 

Same genre: ROCK
THE SLOW SHOW • DREAM DARLING
THE PRETENDERS • Alone
WAREHOUSE • Super Low
NEW MODEL ARMY • Winter
MAIDAVALE • Tales of the Wicked West
EZRA FURMAN • Big Fugitive Life
DAVID GILMOUR • Tienen, Grote Markt (27/07/2016)
ROXY MUSIC • Manifesto
PAUL MCCARTNEY • Werchter, Rock Werchter (30/06/2016)
NEIL YOUNG+PROMISE OF THE REAL + LAURA MARLING • London, O2 Arena (11/06/2016)

Music reviews

08
12
NEON TZIGANE
Del Wesh
07
12
FROSTTIDE
Decedents – Enshrined
06
12
MIREXXX
Vault
23
11
JO QUAIL
Exsolve
22
11
SADOMANCER
Dystopian Dawn
20
11
METROLAND
Memorabilia & Memorabilia The Remixes

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

09
12
SID VICIOUS, A Christmas Story | 41-Years Ago The Pistols Deliver Christmas
08
12
Today, 40 years ago, Public Image released its debut album First issue!
08
12
Celebration Of The Lizard | Today Is Jim Morrison’s 75th-Birthday
06
12
Ever Fallen In love? | A Tribute To Pete Shelley (17/4/1955-06/12/18)
06
12
BodyBeats announces complete and 100% Swedish line-up for International EBM day!
06
12
'Write When You Get Work': L.A. opening with special Q&A on December 7, 2018!

Concert reviews

16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018
24
09
MODELE MARTIAL - AUTOPSIE D'UNE OMBRE - IAMTHESHADOW
B52 - Eernegem - 14/09/2018
14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
12
NOIRE ANTIDOTE
'Negative etiquette' resemblance the negative sides of human behaviour but more translated into a feeling.
24
11
DOPPELGANGER
'We are goths, and we only remember the sad stories :)'
22
11
PAUL LEARY (THE COCKY BITCHES,BUTTHOLE SURFERS)
'My mind has a jukebox that I cannot unplug.'
19
11
THE NAMES
We're lucky to have everyone still alive and well, unlike many of our friends of Factory records.
17
11
DAVE INOX
I Am Never One Hundred Percent Happy With The Result Of My Works

PHOTOS

03
12
WHISPERING SONS
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
JOHN CALE
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
RED ZEBRA
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
GANG OF FOUR
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
FISCHER Z
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
COCAINE PISS
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
DE BRASSERS
Sinner's Day Genk

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

09
12
0KONTROL
Lullaby
08
12
DICEPEOPLE
Somebody to Love
08
12
RAMPLINGG
Set My Heart
07
12
KATATONIA
Old Heart Falls
06
12
ZANIAS
Aletheia (Official Video)
05
12
LIGHT ASYLUM
Skull Fucked
04
12
BLUTENGEL
Soul Of Ice