tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

03/06/2015 : FABRICE DU WELZ - Alleluia

FABRICE DU WELZ

Alleluia

Movie
CrimeHorror

[86/100]   

O' Brother Distribution
03/06/2015, Didier BECU

EN

It may seem strange, but one of the best films of the moment comes from Belgium. The real film connoiseseurs already know director Fabrice du Welz. In 2004, he tortured a crooner singer in Calvaire (what a good idea!) and also his next film Vinyan performed well internationally. The third one of this Belgian filmmaker is undoubtedly his best so far.

If you watch the film, it seems difficult to believe that this sordid story is based on true events that took place during the 40s in America. Michel (Laurent Lucas, who played the crooner in Calvaire) is a first-rate charlatan who tells women that he is a salesman in shoes, but he just wants their hard-earned money. One of his victims is Gloria (Lola Dueñas). In no time the lady notices that she is one of many deceived women, but her fierce love for him is just too strong. Michel can continue conquering the hearts of the rich females as long as his heart continues to beat for her only. Michel agrees, but he does not know that his lover is actually a heartless killer.

In Alleluia du Welz proves that he has finally found his own style: brutal horror wrapped in arthouse. Indeed, a strange combination, but it works every second, although the filmmaker owes much to his splendid actors. Lola Dueñas might look at first glance as a good housewife, you just do not want to know what she is capable of. There is an enormous amount of blood, even some gruesome scenes with a giallo-touch, but always artistically justified.

Alleluia is released on O'Brother on both DVD and Blu–ray.

Didier BECU
03/06/2015


NL

Het lijken misschien vreemde woorden, maar één van de beste films van dit moment komt uit België. Nu ja, echt verwonderen doet ons dat niet meer, denk maar aan Welp van Jonas Govaerts. Met deze film komen we bij onze zuiderburen terecht. Bij de echte filmkenners hoeft regisseur Fabrice du Welz geen introductie meer. In 2004 zette hij dit landje al eens overhoop door in Calvaire een charmezanger te laten folteren (wat een goed idee zeg!) en ook opvolger Vinyan deed het internationaal uitstekend. Het derde kindje van deze Luikse filmmaker is zonder twijfel zijn beste tot nu toe.

Als je naar de film kijkt, lijkt het moeilijk om te geloven dat dit lugubere verhaal op waargebeurde feiten is gebaseerd en zich tijdens de jaren 40 in Amerika afspeelde. Michel (Laurent Lucas, die ook die charmezanger in Calvaire vertolkte) is een charlatan eerste klas die de vrouwen vertelt dat hij een vertegenwoordiger in schoenen is, maar die eigenlijk alleen maar hun zuurverdiende centen wil. Een van zijn slachtoffers is Gloria (Lola Dueñas). In geen tijd merkt de dame dat zij ook één van de vele bedrogen vrouwen is, maar door haar heftige verliefdheid laat zij zich niet zo maar uit het lood slaan. Michel mag lustig doorgaan met rijke vrouwtjes het hof te maken, zo lang zijn hart maar voor haar blijft slaan. Michel stemt in met het aanbod, maar hij weet niet dat zijn geliefde eigenlijk een harteloze moordenares is.

In Alleluia bewijst du Welz dat hij definitief een eigen stijl heeft gevonden: hondsbrutale horror verpakt in een arthousejasje. Inderdaad, een vreemde combinatie maar het werkt wel iedere seconde, ofschoon de cineast enorm veel aan zijn acteurs heeft te danken. Lola Dueñas ziet er misschien op het eerste gezicht als een brave huisvrouw uit, toch wil je niet weten waartoe ze in staat is. Er vloeit enorm veel bloed, sommige scènes zijn zelfs gruwelijk met een giallo-tintje, maar ze zijn artistiek steeds verantwoord.

O ja, mocht je zo’n filmkijker zijn die het schijfje uit zijn lader haalt eens de eindtitels op het scherm komen, blijf dan voor één keer zitten. Op het einde trakteert du Welz je op een tour de force in pure Refn-stijl, die nog maar zelden is vertoond in de Belgische cinema. Samen met Je Suis A Toi en Welp is Alleluia met voorsprong de beste Belgische film van het jaar!

Alleluia is uitgebracht op O’Brother, zowel op dvd als Blu-ray (het enige label dat deze release op een blauw schijfje uitbrengt).

Didier BECU
03/06/2015


03/06/2015 : FABRICE DU WELZ - Alleluia 03/06/2015 : FABRICE DU WELZ - Alleluia 03/06/2015 : FABRICE DU WELZ - Alleluia 03/06/2015 : FABRICE DU WELZ - Alleluia 03/06/2015 : FABRICE DU WELZ - Alleluia 03/06/2015 : FABRICE DU WELZ - Alleluia 03/06/2015 : FABRICE DU WELZ - Alleluia 03/06/2015 : FABRICE DU WELZ - Alleluia 03/06/2015 : FABRICE DU WELZ - Alleluia 03/06/2015 : FABRICE DU WELZ - Alleluia 03/06/2015 : FABRICE DU WELZ - Alleluia 03/06/2015 : FABRICE DU WELZ - Alleluia 03/06/2015 : FABRICE DU WELZ - Alleluia 03/06/2015 : FABRICE DU WELZ - Alleluia 03/06/2015 : FABRICE DU WELZ - Alleluia

Music reviews

18
01
DISTANT VOICES
Long Road to Home
17
01
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Mechanical Soul
16
01
IMPLANT
Phantom Pain
15
01
DD SANCHEZ
StRaNgE
10
01
BLACK SNOW IN SUMMER
Lost Feelings
09
01
CAUSENATION
Promises of hope and fear

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
01
On this day, 41 ago, John Foxx released his first solo project album Metamatic!
17
01
Today, 36 years ago, Alien Sex Fiend recorded Liquid Head in Tokyo!
16
01
26 years Divine Rapture | Celebrating The Siouxsie and the Banshees 1995 and final album!
15
01
Brand new Front Line Assembly album 'Mechanical Soul' out today!
15
01
The Dreams Will Always Linger | Remembering Dolores O’Riordan - 3 Year Anniversary
14
01
On this night, 42 years ago, Joy Division played at King Kong, Antwerp (B)!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'
05
12
CEVIN KEY (SKINNY PUPPY, DOWNLOAD)
'It really has been like the formation of a new band in a lot of ways...'
03
12
ALEX SKOLNICK (TESTAMENT, ALEX SKOLNICK TRIO)
'I was as knocked out as I was hearing Van Halen...'
14
11
PROYECTO MIRAGE
I Think We Needed A Break

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

18
01
KAI SCHUMACHER
The Hug (Rework by Illuminine)
17
01
ELSJE HELEWAUT & RUDOLF HECKE
Let's Not Give A Damn
16
01
PSY'AVIAH
Not What I Expected
15
01
LEATHER STRIP
Strap me down
14
01
ANATOMIA HUMANA DESMONTABLE
Enfermedad
13
01
MOLLY NILSSON
1995
12
01
COIL
Tattooed Man