tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

25/01/2018 : FACTICE FACTORY - Lines & Parallels

FACTICE FACTORY

Lines & Parallels

MusicCD
Cold WaveMinimalPost Punk

[86/100]   

Wool-E Discs
25/01/2018, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

EN

The French-Swiss band Factice Factory will release, after After The White Days (2014) and !! NADA !! (2015) their third album, Lines & Parallels. Like the previous one, this album is released on vinyl by Wave Tension Records, on CD by Wool-E - Discs and a limited number on tape by Wool-E Tapes.

On this third album a fairly natural evolution is noticeable, without denying the continuity of their sound and the distinct atmosphere that creates it. They have their own unique sound, even their own musical identity if you will, but most certainly not to be categorised as one 'sound' or 'genre'. What is, and remains, their constant trademark is the endless melancholy and gloom that also could be found on their first two albums. Only this time, a bit rougher, sharper with a bit more space for guitars and bass. Also the languages ​​used on this release are diverse: French, German and English are alternated smoothly.

Lines is the opener of this album. Very futuristic sounding, like the announcement of a real apocalypse. The threat in this track is imminent and serious. Another musical gem in the middle of the album is Parallels. But first we are hypnotised by Leuchtturm, a song that fits seamlessly with the Neue Deutsche Welle. A merciless bass line, supported by post-punk guitars, throws a load of gloom over you. Audran is very minimalist and the cold-wave drips-off. With Defeat we get a very deep, pain and suffering tinged, stunner of a song, one of my favourites, without a doubt. This album has a lot of variation to offer, even Eastern influences can be heard in Hatch End. A swinging song in size is Sway. More 80s than this it can’t get! Danceable and so deliciously retro. Here there is the vocal reinforcements by Jeanne Lefebvre, who also contributed to his previous albums as a guest vocalist.

And then another song that fires away, the resulting can only be extinguished with the title itself, Extinguisher. Delightful post-punk and a rhythm that is soothing and intoxicating. Then after all this beauty … we are escorted to the exit by a slow ballad called The Weeping Willow.

I needed a couple of listens before I could fully enjoy this album …. but there is so much diversity, beauty, depth to discover … Factice Factory, knows like no other, how to slowly wrap you in … and this they did successfully with me!

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
25/01/2018


NL

Het Frans-Zwitserse gezelschap Factice Factory brengt, na After The White Days (2014) en !! NADA !! (2015), hun derde uit: Lines & Parallels. Net als het vorige wordt dit album uitgebracht op vinyl (Wave Tension Records), op CD (Wool-E - Discs) en er is een beperkt aantal tapes (Wool-E Tapes).

Op dit derde album is een vrij natuurlijke evolutie merkbaar, zonder de continuïteit in het geluid en de aparte sfeer die dat creëert te verloochenen. Factice Factory heeft een heel eigen geluid, zelfs een eigen muzikale identiteit. Zeker niét te vatten in één ‘sound’ of ‘genre’. Wat wel de constante is en blijft is de eindeloze melancholie en somberheid die ook op de eerste twee albums te ontwaren was. Alleen is het iets ruwer, scherper en de gitaren en bas krijgen meer ruimte. Ook de talen zijn divers: Frans, Duits en Engels worden vlot afgewisseld.

Lines is de muzikale opener van dit album. Heel futuristisch klinkend, de aankondiging van een echte apocalyps. De dreiging in het nummer is ernstig te nemen. Er staat nog zo’n muzikaal kleinood halfweg het album: Parallels.
Aansluitend worden we gehypnotiseerd door Leuchtturm, een nummer dat naadloos aansluit bij de Neue Deutsche Welle. Een genadeloze baslijn die geruggesteund door postpunk-gitaren een lading somberheid over je heen gooit. Audran is heel erg minimalistisch en de coldwave druipt ervan af. Met Defeat krijgen we een heel diepe, met pijn en lijden gearomatiseerde knaller van een song. Eén van mijn favorieten, zonder twijfel. Variatie genoeg op dit album met zelfs Oosterse invloeden als je die wil horen in Hatch End. Een swinger van formaat is Sway. Meer eighties dan dit kan het echt niet worden! Dansbaar en zo heerlijk retro. Er komt vocale versterking van Jeanne Lefebvre, die ook op vorige albums al als gastvocaliste een bijdrage leverde.
En dan een song die vonken geeft, en het ontstane vuur dient geblust met een.. Extinguisher. Heerlijke postpunk en een ritme dat bezwerend en bedwelmend werkt. We worden uitgeleide gedaan door een trage ballade The Weeping Willow.

Ik had een paar luisterbeurten nodig voor ik dit album ten volle kon beleven. Er zit zoveel diversiteit in, schoonheid, diepgang. Factice Factory beheerst als geen ander de kunst van het je langzaam inpakken. En daar zijn ze, bij mij althans met bravoure in geslaagd.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
25/01/2018


 

Next reviews
TJENS MATIC • Middle Finger
THE MARY HART ATTACK • The Falling Sun
MESH • Live At Neues Gewandhaus Leipzig
STRONG PRODUCT • Product III
HOCICO, FROZEN AUTUMN, SUFFOCATING MINDS, SOLITARY EXPERIMENTS, T.O.Y., MANOK, STRONG PRODUCT, UNITY ONE • XV Synthetic Snow Festival Moscow
CONFRONTATIONAL • The Burning Dawn
PARADE GROUND • Sanctuary
TULIOXI • WILD ITALIAN GAZELLE (Part I)
GEORGIO 'THE DOVE' VALENTINO • The Future Lasts A Long Time
MORTAL VOID • Of shadows and mirrors

 

Other reviews from FACTICE FACTORY
FACTICE FACTORY • !Nada!
FACTICE FACTORY • The White Days

 

Same combination of genres: COLD WAVE + MINIMAL + POST PUNK
• Review of the GRAUZONE Festival in Amsterdam on 1st February 2013

 

Same genre: COLD WAVE
MANDIVULA • Nonsens
JESUS LIVES IN VEGAS • Jesus Lives In Vegas
DER KLINKE • Decade
SELOFAN • Vitrioli
WHISPERING SONS • Image
AFTER ABSENCE • Demotape 1
ASTRASONIC • Passengers
ANATOMIA HUMANA DESMONTABLE • Pasajera Pausa EP
MALA HERBA • Demo
PSYCHE • Youth Of Tomorrow (12'')

 

Same genre: MINIMAL
RADERKRAFT • Smart Control
SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS • Semiotics Department of Heteronyms
VIOLENCE • Le Flux de la Nature
CONSPIRACY COVEN • Conspiracy Coven
DARK DOOR • Inferno
PARADOX OBSCUR • Artifact
IVANKOVA • Ivankovà EP
MESSIER 39 • Venus Eclipse
STAATSEINDE • Neue Zyklus
BETA EVERS + SPATIAL RELATION • Split EP

 

Same genre: POST PUNK
VEIL OF LIGHT • Inflict
WHERE WE SLEEP • The Desert
SUBMOTILE • Ghosts Fade On Skylines
THE MEMBRANES • What Nature Gives… Nature Takes Away
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
UNDERTHESKIN • Negative
FONTAINES D.C • Dogrel
FAUST PROJECT • Somewhere between the shadows there’s a place called us
DAVID J • Thoughts And Prayers
XTC • What Do You Call That Noise?

Music reviews

14
06
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES
Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
13
06
DEF ROBOT
Makers Of Mountains
04
06
THIS CAN HURT
Worlds Apart
03
06
RADERKRAFT
Smart Control
02
06
MASSIVE EGO
Church For The Malfunctioned
01
06
VUKOVAR
Cremator

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
06
Dependent Records Announces The Release of German Electronic/Industrial Act FIX8 SED8's WARNING SIGNS
15
06
Today it’s exactly 40 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
03
06
Today, 41 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!
29
05
UK's Electronic-Pop Band EMPATHY TEST Announce The Release of EMPTY-HANDED EP
16
05
45 years of Diamond Dogs (David Bowie)
15
05
On this day, 29 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

17
06
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO
'I feel connected to other people because they understand the result of my thoughts.'
15
06
KENNEY JONES
'There's always an element of doubt in anything you do'
23
05
JAKE BURNS (STIFF LITTLE FINGERS)
'We were writing a songs about our own rights'
22
05
TREHA SEKTORI
‘I Have A Feeling Of Constant Dissatisfaction, So I'll Get Back To Work To Make It Better’
10
05
APSURDE
No Matter What We Do, We Will Always Sound Like Depeche Mode

PHOTOS

16
06
WAPPENBUND
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
16
06
PANTSER FABRIEK
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
RIOTMILOO
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
ASHTORETH
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
FOR GREATER GOOD
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
AGONOIZE
Agra, WGT Leipzig
12
06
VELVET ACID CHRIST
Agra, WGT Leipzig

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

18
06
EVI VINE
Porcelain
17
06
LEVITIKA
Zombie Barbie
16
06
WHITE ZOMBIE
More Human Than Human
15
06
KARIN PARK
Hurricane
14
06
AUSTRA
I Love You More Than You Love Yourself
13
06
FACTICE FACTORY
L'Aurore
12
06
SOWULU
Ginnungagap