tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

25/01/2018 : FACTICE FACTORY - Lines & Parallels

FACTICE FACTORY

Lines & Parallels

MusicCD
Cold WaveMinimalPost Punk

[86/100]   

Wool-E Discs
25/01/2018, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

EN

The French-Swiss band Factice Factory will release, after After The White Days (2014) and !! NADA !! (2015) their third album, Lines & Parallels. Like the previous one, this album is released on vinyl by Wave Tension Records, on CD by Wool-E - Discs and a limited number on tape by Wool-E Tapes.

On this third album a fairly natural evolution is noticeable, without denying the continuity of their sound and the distinct atmosphere that creates it. They have their own unique sound, even their own musical identity if you will, but most certainly not to be categorised as one 'sound' or 'genre'. What is, and remains, their constant trademark is the endless melancholy and gloom that also could be found on their first two albums. Only this time, a bit rougher, sharper with a bit more space for guitars and bass. Also the languages ​​used on this release are diverse: French, German and English are alternated smoothly.

Lines is the opener of this album. Very futuristic sounding, like the announcement of a real apocalypse. The threat in this track is imminent and serious. Another musical gem in the middle of the album is Parallels. But first we are hypnotised by Leuchtturm, a song that fits seamlessly with the Neue Deutsche Welle. A merciless bass line, supported by post-punk guitars, throws a load of gloom over you. Audran is very minimalist and the cold-wave drips-off. With Defeat we get a very deep, pain and suffering tinged, stunner of a song, one of my favourites, without a doubt. This album has a lot of variation to offer, even Eastern influences can be heard in Hatch End. A swinging song in size is Sway. More 80s than this it can’t get! Danceable and so deliciously retro. Here there is the vocal reinforcements by Jeanne Lefebvre, who also contributed to his previous albums as a guest vocalist.

And then another song that fires away, the resulting can only be extinguished with the title itself, Extinguisher. Delightful post-punk and a rhythm that is soothing and intoxicating. Then after all this beauty … we are escorted to the exit by a slow ballad called The Weeping Willow.

I needed a couple of listens before I could fully enjoy this album …. but there is so much diversity, beauty, depth to discover … Factice Factory, knows like no other, how to slowly wrap you in … and this they did successfully with me!

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
25/01/2018


NL

Het Frans-Zwitserse gezelschap Factice Factory brengt, na After The White Days (2014) en !! NADA !! (2015), hun derde uit: Lines & Parallels. Net als het vorige wordt dit album uitgebracht op vinyl (Wave Tension Records), op CD (Wool-E - Discs) en er is een beperkt aantal tapes (Wool-E Tapes).

Op dit derde album is een vrij natuurlijke evolutie merkbaar, zonder de continuïteit in het geluid en de aparte sfeer die dat creëert te verloochenen. Factice Factory heeft een heel eigen geluid, zelfs een eigen muzikale identiteit. Zeker niét te vatten in één ‘sound’ of ‘genre’. Wat wel de constante is en blijft is de eindeloze melancholie en somberheid die ook op de eerste twee albums te ontwaren was. Alleen is het iets ruwer, scherper en de gitaren en bas krijgen meer ruimte. Ook de talen zijn divers: Frans, Duits en Engels worden vlot afgewisseld.

Lines is de muzikale opener van dit album. Heel futuristisch klinkend, de aankondiging van een echte apocalyps. De dreiging in het nummer is ernstig te nemen. Er staat nog zo’n muzikaal kleinood halfweg het album: Parallels.
Aansluitend worden we gehypnotiseerd door Leuchtturm, een nummer dat naadloos aansluit bij de Neue Deutsche Welle. Een genadeloze baslijn die geruggesteund door postpunk-gitaren een lading somberheid over je heen gooit. Audran is heel erg minimalistisch en de coldwave druipt ervan af. Met Defeat krijgen we een heel diepe, met pijn en lijden gearomatiseerde knaller van een song. Eén van mijn favorieten, zonder twijfel. Variatie genoeg op dit album met zelfs Oosterse invloeden als je die wil horen in Hatch End. Een swinger van formaat is Sway. Meer eighties dan dit kan het echt niet worden! Dansbaar en zo heerlijk retro. Er komt vocale versterking van Jeanne Lefebvre, die ook op vorige albums al als gastvocaliste een bijdrage leverde.
En dan een song die vonken geeft, en het ontstane vuur dient geblust met een.. Extinguisher. Heerlijke postpunk en een ritme dat bezwerend en bedwelmend werkt. We worden uitgeleide gedaan door een trage ballade The Weeping Willow.

Ik had een paar luisterbeurten nodig voor ik dit album ten volle kon beleven. Er zit zoveel diversiteit in, schoonheid, diepgang. Factice Factory beheerst als geen ander de kunst van het je langzaam inpakken. En daar zijn ze, bij mij althans met bravoure in geslaagd.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
25/01/2018


 

Next reviews
TJENS MATIC • Middle Finger
THE MARY HART ATTACK • The Falling Sun
MESH • Live At Neues Gewandhaus Leipzig
STRONG PRODUCT • Product III
HOCICO, FROZEN AUTUMN, SUFFOCATING MINDS, SOLITARY EXPERIMENTS, T.O.Y., MANOK, STRONG PRODUCT, UNITY ONE • XV Synthetic Snow Festival Moscow
CONFRONTATIONAL • The Burning Dawn
PARADE GROUND • Sanctuary
TULIOXI • WILD ITALIAN GAZELLE (Part I)
GEORGIO 'THE DOVE' VALENTINO • The Future Lasts A Long Time
MORTAL VOID • Of shadows and mirrors

 

Other reviews from FACTICE FACTORY
FACTICE FACTORY • !Nada!
FACTICE FACTORY • The White Days

 

Same combination of genres: COLD WAVE + MINIMAL + POST PUNK
• Review of the GRAUZONE Festival in Amsterdam on 1st February 2013

 

Same genre: COLD WAVE
WHISPERING SONS • Image
AFTER ABSENCE • Demotape 1
ASTRASONIC • Passengers
ANATOMIA HUMANA DESMONTABLE • Pasajera Pausa EP
MALA HERBA • Demo
PSYCHE • Youth Of Tomorrow (12'')
A.D. MANA • A.D. Mana
LYNCELIA • Forsaken Innocence
RAZORLINE • Razorline
SHE PLEASURES HERSELF • Fetish

 

Same genre: MINIMAL
SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS • Semiotics Department of Heteronyms
VIOLENCE • Le Flux de la Nature
CONSPIRACY COVEN • Conspiracy Coven
DARK DOOR • Inferno
PARADOX OBSCUR • Artifact
IVANKOVA • Ivankovà EP
MESSIER 39 • Venus Eclipse
STAATSEINDE • Neue Zyklus
BETA EVERS + SPATIAL RELATION • Split EP
SUPERNOVA 1006 • Unique World

 

Same genre: POST PUNK
NEON TZIGANE • Del Wesh
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES • Juju
VEDA RAYS • For The Rest To Rest
EUROPEAN GHOST • Collection Of Shadows
THE EXPLODING BOY • Alarms!
A SLICE OF LIFE • Restless
EUROPEAN GHOST • Collections Of Shadows
CRIMEN • Silent Animals
NAUT • Raise The Lights
RITUAL VEIL • Wolf In The Night

Music reviews

08
12
NEON TZIGANE
Del Wesh
07
12
FROSTTIDE
Decedents – Enshrined
06
12
MIREXXX
Vault
23
11
JO QUAIL
Exsolve
22
11
SADOMANCER
Dystopian Dawn
20
11
METROLAND
Memorabilia & Memorabilia The Remixes

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
12
A Date In Camden | The Fall At The Witch Trial
14
12
On this day, exactly 41 years ago, Joy Division recorded their very first EP, 'An Ideal for Living'
14
12
London Calling | The Clash Masterpiece Is 39 Today!
13
12
Horses | Patti Smith’s Debut Masterpiece 43 Years On!
12
12
This weekend, BIMFEST 2018 kicks off with Covenant, Leaether Strip, Light Asylum, Clock Dva & Agent Side Grinder amongst others!
12
12
Out Of Line weekender line-up almost complete!

Concert reviews

16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018
24
09
MODELE MARTIAL - AUTOPSIE D'UNE OMBRE - IAMTHESHADOW
B52 - Eernegem - 14/09/2018
14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

10
12
THE BLADES
Too Late To Stop Now! | The Return Of The Blades - An Interview With Paul Cleary
05
12
NOIRE ANTIDOTE
'Negative etiquette' resemblance the negative sides of human behaviour but more translated into a feeling.
24
11
DOPPELGANGER
'We are goths, and we only remember the sad stories :)'
22
11
PAUL LEARY (THE COCKY BITCHES,BUTTHOLE SURFERS)
'My mind has a jukebox that I cannot unplug.'
19
11
THE NAMES
We're lucky to have everyone still alive and well, unlike many of our friends of Factory records.

PHOTOS

13
12
DIVE
Magasin 4, Brussels, Belgium
13
12
HA;PEOPLE 3 55
Magasin 4, Brussels, Belgium
03
12
WHISPERING SONS
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
JOHN CALE
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
RED ZEBRA
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
GANG OF FOUR
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
FISCHER Z
Sinner's Day Genk

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

15
12
LACRIMOSA
Die Unbekannte Farbe
14
12
OFELIADORME
Hands
13
12
GESAFFELSTEIN
Pursuit (Official Video - Not Blurred)
12
12
E-SOCIETY
E-Society
11
12
FUNKER VOGT
Feel the Pain
10
12
THE VIOLENT YOUTH
Rabota (my life is a job)
09
12
0KONTROL
Lullaby