tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

25/01/2018 : FACTICE FACTORY - Lines & Parallels

FACTICE FACTORY

Lines & Parallels

MusicCD
Cold WaveMinimalPost Punk

[86/100]   

Wool-E Discs
25/01/2018, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

EN

The French-Swiss band Factice Factory will release, after After The White Days (2014) and !! NADA !! (2015) their third album, Lines & Parallels. Like the previous one, this album is released on vinyl by Wave Tension Records, on CD by Wool-E - Discs and a limited number on tape by Wool-E Tapes.

On this third album a fairly natural evolution is noticeable, without denying the continuity of their sound and the distinct atmosphere that creates it. They have their own unique sound, even their own musical identity if you will, but most certainly not to be categorised as one 'sound' or 'genre'. What is, and remains, their constant trademark is the endless melancholy and gloom that also could be found on their first two albums. Only this time, a bit rougher, sharper with a bit more space for guitars and bass. Also the languages ​​used on this release are diverse: French, German and English are alternated smoothly.

Lines is the opener of this album. Very futuristic sounding, like the announcement of a real apocalypse. The threat in this track is imminent and serious. Another musical gem in the middle of the album is Parallels. But first we are hypnotised by Leuchtturm, a song that fits seamlessly with the Neue Deutsche Welle. A merciless bass line, supported by post-punk guitars, throws a load of gloom over you. Audran is very minimalist and the cold-wave drips-off. With Defeat we get a very deep, pain and suffering tinged, stunner of a song, one of my favourites, without a doubt. This album has a lot of variation to offer, even Eastern influences can be heard in Hatch End. A swinging song in size is Sway. More 80s than this it can’t get! Danceable and so deliciously retro. Here there is the vocal reinforcements by Jeanne Lefebvre, who also contributed to his previous albums as a guest vocalist.

And then another song that fires away, the resulting can only be extinguished with the title itself, Extinguisher. Delightful post-punk and a rhythm that is soothing and intoxicating. Then after all this beauty … we are escorted to the exit by a slow ballad called The Weeping Willow.

I needed a couple of listens before I could fully enjoy this album …. but there is so much diversity, beauty, depth to discover … Factice Factory, knows like no other, how to slowly wrap you in … and this they did successfully with me!

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
25/01/2018


NL

Het Frans-Zwitserse gezelschap Factice Factory brengt, na After The White Days (2014) en !! NADA !! (2015), hun derde uit: Lines & Parallels. Net als het vorige wordt dit album uitgebracht op vinyl (Wave Tension Records), op CD (Wool-E - Discs) en er is een beperkt aantal tapes (Wool-E Tapes).

Op dit derde album is een vrij natuurlijke evolutie merkbaar, zonder de continuïteit in het geluid en de aparte sfeer die dat creëert te verloochenen. Factice Factory heeft een heel eigen geluid, zelfs een eigen muzikale identiteit. Zeker niét te vatten in één ‘sound’ of ‘genre’. Wat wel de constante is en blijft is de eindeloze melancholie en somberheid die ook op de eerste twee albums te ontwaren was. Alleen is het iets ruwer, scherper en de gitaren en bas krijgen meer ruimte. Ook de talen zijn divers: Frans, Duits en Engels worden vlot afgewisseld.

Lines is de muzikale opener van dit album. Heel futuristisch klinkend, de aankondiging van een echte apocalyps. De dreiging in het nummer is ernstig te nemen. Er staat nog zo’n muzikaal kleinood halfweg het album: Parallels.
Aansluitend worden we gehypnotiseerd door Leuchtturm, een nummer dat naadloos aansluit bij de Neue Deutsche Welle. Een genadeloze baslijn die geruggesteund door postpunk-gitaren een lading somberheid over je heen gooit. Audran is heel erg minimalistisch en de coldwave druipt ervan af. Met Defeat krijgen we een heel diepe, met pijn en lijden gearomatiseerde knaller van een song. Eén van mijn favorieten, zonder twijfel. Variatie genoeg op dit album met zelfs Oosterse invloeden als je die wil horen in Hatch End. Een swinger van formaat is Sway. Meer eighties dan dit kan het echt niet worden! Dansbaar en zo heerlijk retro. Er komt vocale versterking van Jeanne Lefebvre, die ook op vorige albums al als gastvocaliste een bijdrage leverde.
En dan een song die vonken geeft, en het ontstane vuur dient geblust met een.. Extinguisher. Heerlijke postpunk en een ritme dat bezwerend en bedwelmend werkt. We worden uitgeleide gedaan door een trage ballade The Weeping Willow.

Ik had een paar luisterbeurten nodig voor ik dit album ten volle kon beleven. Er zit zoveel diversiteit in, schoonheid, diepgang. Factice Factory beheerst als geen ander de kunst van het je langzaam inpakken. En daar zijn ze, bij mij althans met bravoure in geslaagd.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
25/01/2018


 

Next reviews
TJENS MATIC • Middle Finger
THE MARY HART ATTACK • The Falling Sun
MESH • Live At Neues Gewandhaus Leipzig
STRONG PRODUCT • Product III
HOCICO, FROZEN AUTUMN, SUFFOCATING MINDS, SOLITARY EXPERIMENTS, T.O.Y., MANOK, STRONG PRODUCT, UNITY ONE • XV Synthetic Snow Festival Moscow
CONFRONTATIONAL • The Burning Dawn
PARADE GROUND • Sanctuary
TULIOXI • WILD ITALIAN GAZELLE (Part I)
GEORGIO 'THE DOVE' VALENTINO • The Future Lasts A Long Time
MORTAL VOID • Of shadows and mirrors

 

Other reviews from FACTICE FACTORY
FACTICE FACTORY • !Nada!
FACTICE FACTORY • The White Days

 

Same combination of genres: COLD WAVE + MINIMAL + POST PUNK
MEAGER BENEFITS • Crawling
• Review of the GRAUZONE Festival in Amsterdam on 1st February 2013

 

Same genre: COLD WAVE
FAUST PROJECT • The Future Comes On Sleeping Pills
THE MIDNIGHT COMPUTERS • Anxious
HYSTÉRIE • Deuil
MANNEQUIN • From a distance
RINGFINGER • Pressure
DAGEIST • Sexy
MOONLIGHT MEADOW • Moonlight Meadow
NAIROD YARG • Nairod Yarg
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE • Endgame 69:
MANDIVULA • Nonsens

 

Same genre: MINIMAL
NICHOLAS LENS & NICK CAVE • L.I.T.A.N.I.E.S
MARTIN L. GORE • The Third Chimpanzee E.P.
STURM CAFE • Fernes Land
SYNTET • Hjärtats slag
RUE OBERKAMPF • Negativraum
CAWATANA • In The Silver Light (7')
COLIN EDWIN • POINTS OF ORIGIN
STAATSEINDE • Darüber Reden Wir Nicht
SHE HATES EMOTIONS • See The Light (Single)
MORE EPHEMEROL • Obituary Templates

 

Same genre: POST PUNK
THE MARS MODEL • Sister Glory / Frozen in Time
STRUGGLER • Wilma (Determinated Protector)
THE MARS MODEL • FrancoBelga
NEW MODEL ARMY • From Here
CABARET VOLTAIRE • Chance Versus Causality
A CERTAIN RATIO • ACR-Box
VEIL OF LIGHT • Inflict
WHERE WE SLEEP • The Desert
SUBMOTILE • Ghosts Fade On Skylines
THE MEMBRANES • What Nature Gives… Nature Takes Away

Music reviews

23
02
THE HEAT INC.
EP
23
02
PIG
Pain Is God
22
02
ANTHONY JONES
Farewell To Flesh
18
02
WULF7
Dark Hate
17
02
DEAR DEER / EMBERS
Split
06
02
J:DEAD
A Complicated Genocide

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
02
Today it's exactly 27 years since Nine Inch Nails released March Of The Pigs!
25
02
Mirror Man | Mourning The Sad Passing Of Talk Talk’s Mark Hollis - 2 ago.
23
02
Today, it’s 43 years ago that renowned BBC DJ John Peel broadcast the second John Peel session by Siouxsie & The Banshees
20
02
This Charming Band | 37 Years Ago, The Smiths Release Their Debut Album
19
02
Gothic Industrial Band BATAVIA Unveils Remix Album, Batavia And Their Friends
18
02
Dissonance's New Single, 'Damage: First Assault' Ft. Melodywhore out NOW

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.
07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

26
02
WILDNORTHE
Swamp
25
02
NEW ORDER
Regret
24
02
MANDIVULA
GHSTNG
23
02
CABARET VOLTAIRE
Nag Nag Nag
22
02
BEBORN BETON
Last Day On Earth
21
02
SCHWEFELGELB
Zu Zweit
20
02
COLD CAVE
People Are Poison