tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

25/01/2018 : FACTICE FACTORY - Lines & Parallels

FACTICE FACTORY

Lines & Parallels

MusicCD
Cold WaveMinimalPost Punk

[86/100]   

Wool-E Discs
25/01/2018, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

EN

The French-Swiss band Factice Factory will release, after After The White Days (2014) and !! NADA !! (2015) their third album, Lines & Parallels. Like the previous one, this album is released on vinyl by Wave Tension Records, on CD by Wool-E - Discs and a limited number on tape by Wool-E Tapes.

On this third album a fairly natural evolution is noticeable, without denying the continuity of their sound and the distinct atmosphere that creates it. They have their own unique sound, even their own musical identity if you will, but most certainly not to be categorised as one 'sound' or 'genre'. What is, and remains, their constant trademark is the endless melancholy and gloom that also could be found on their first two albums. Only this time, a bit rougher, sharper with a bit more space for guitars and bass. Also the languages ​​used on this release are diverse: French, German and English are alternated smoothly.

Lines is the opener of this album. Very futuristic sounding, like the announcement of a real apocalypse. The threat in this track is imminent and serious. Another musical gem in the middle of the album is Parallels. But first we are hypnotised by Leuchtturm, a song that fits seamlessly with the Neue Deutsche Welle. A merciless bass line, supported by post-punk guitars, throws a load of gloom over you. Audran is very minimalist and the cold-wave drips-off. With Defeat we get a very deep, pain and suffering tinged, stunner of a song, one of my favourites, without a doubt. This album has a lot of variation to offer, even Eastern influences can be heard in Hatch End. A swinging song in size is Sway. More 80s than this it can’t get! Danceable and so deliciously retro. Here there is the vocal reinforcements by Jeanne Lefebvre, who also contributed to his previous albums as a guest vocalist.

And then another song that fires away, the resulting can only be extinguished with the title itself, Extinguisher. Delightful post-punk and a rhythm that is soothing and intoxicating. Then after all this beauty … we are escorted to the exit by a slow ballad called The Weeping Willow.

I needed a couple of listens before I could fully enjoy this album …. but there is so much diversity, beauty, depth to discover … Factice Factory, knows like no other, how to slowly wrap you in … and this they did successfully with me!

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
25/01/2018


NL

Het Frans-Zwitserse gezelschap Factice Factory brengt, na After The White Days (2014) en !! NADA !! (2015), hun derde uit: Lines & Parallels. Net als het vorige wordt dit album uitgebracht op vinyl (Wave Tension Records), op CD (Wool-E - Discs) en er is een beperkt aantal tapes (Wool-E Tapes).

Op dit derde album is een vrij natuurlijke evolutie merkbaar, zonder de continuïteit in het geluid en de aparte sfeer die dat creëert te verloochenen. Factice Factory heeft een heel eigen geluid, zelfs een eigen muzikale identiteit. Zeker niét te vatten in één ‘sound’ of ‘genre’. Wat wel de constante is en blijft is de eindeloze melancholie en somberheid die ook op de eerste twee albums te ontwaren was. Alleen is het iets ruwer, scherper en de gitaren en bas krijgen meer ruimte. Ook de talen zijn divers: Frans, Duits en Engels worden vlot afgewisseld.

Lines is de muzikale opener van dit album. Heel futuristisch klinkend, de aankondiging van een echte apocalyps. De dreiging in het nummer is ernstig te nemen. Er staat nog zo’n muzikaal kleinood halfweg het album: Parallels.
Aansluitend worden we gehypnotiseerd door Leuchtturm, een nummer dat naadloos aansluit bij de Neue Deutsche Welle. Een genadeloze baslijn die geruggesteund door postpunk-gitaren een lading somberheid over je heen gooit. Audran is heel erg minimalistisch en de coldwave druipt ervan af. Met Defeat krijgen we een heel diepe, met pijn en lijden gearomatiseerde knaller van een song. Eén van mijn favorieten, zonder twijfel. Variatie genoeg op dit album met zelfs Oosterse invloeden als je die wil horen in Hatch End. Een swinger van formaat is Sway. Meer eighties dan dit kan het echt niet worden! Dansbaar en zo heerlijk retro. Er komt vocale versterking van Jeanne Lefebvre, die ook op vorige albums al als gastvocaliste een bijdrage leverde.
En dan een song die vonken geeft, en het ontstane vuur dient geblust met een.. Extinguisher. Heerlijke postpunk en een ritme dat bezwerend en bedwelmend werkt. We worden uitgeleide gedaan door een trage ballade The Weeping Willow.

Ik had een paar luisterbeurten nodig voor ik dit album ten volle kon beleven. Er zit zoveel diversiteit in, schoonheid, diepgang. Factice Factory beheerst als geen ander de kunst van het je langzaam inpakken. En daar zijn ze, bij mij althans met bravoure in geslaagd.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
25/01/2018


 

Next reviews
TJENS MATIC • Middle Finger
THE MARY HART ATTACK • The Falling Sun
MESH • Live At Neues Gewandhaus Leipzig
STRONG PRODUCT • Product III
HOCICO, FROZEN AUTUMN, SUFFOCATING MINDS, SOLITARY EXPERIMENTS, T.O.Y., MANOK, STRONG PRODUCT, UNITY ONE • XV Synthetic Snow Festival Moscow
CONFRONTATIONAL • The Burning Dawn
PARADE GROUND • Sanctuary
TULIOXI • WILD ITALIAN GAZELLE (Part I)
GEORGIO 'THE DOVE' VALENTINO • The Future Lasts A Long Time
MORTAL VOID • Of shadows and mirrors

 

Other reviews from FACTICE FACTORY
FACTICE FACTORY • !Nada!
FACTICE FACTORY • The White Days

 

Same combination of genres: COLD WAVE + MINIMAL + POST PUNK
MEAGER BENEFITS • Crawling
• Review of the GRAUZONE Festival in Amsterdam on 1st February 2013

 

Same genre: COLD WAVE
SYGO CRIES • In Outside Places
BALVANERA • Courses of Action
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS • Live Happily While Waiting For Death
SYGO CRIES • End Of A Century
FAUST PROJECT • The Future Comes On Sleeping Pills
THE MIDNIGHT COMPUTERS • Anxious
HYSTÉRIE • Deuil
MANNEQUIN • From a distance
RINGFINGER • Pressure
DAGEIST • Sexy

 

Same genre: MINIMAL
STAATSEINDE • Fehlerlinie
PARADOX OBSCUR • Intercourse
RADERKRAFT • Dust & Debris
THE RORSCHACH GARDEN • Dangerous Isolation Site
ABSOLUTE BODY CONTROL • A New Dawn
NICHOLAS LENS & NICK CAVE • L.I.T.A.N.I.E.S
MARTIN L. GORE • The Third Chimpanzee E.P.
STURM CAFE • Fernes Land
SYNTET • Hjärtats slag
RUE OBERKAMPF • Negativraum

 

Same genre: POST PUNK
THE GODFATHERS • ALPHA BETA GAMMA DELTA (2022)
DE DELVERS • Hart in neonlicht
FEATHER TRADE • Dead Boy
A SLICE OF LIFE • Tabula Rasa
KILL SHELTER • Asylum
TERMINAL SERIOUS • Gift For You
SYGO CRIES • Talking about walls
DARK • Nightmare
DE DELVERS • Hart in neonlicht
SJOBLOM • Tape

Music reviews

10
01
THE MARS MODEL
Primal Urge
10
01
ELM
Penetrator
09
01
THE JUGGERNAUTS
Fear
09
01
DE DELVERS
Hart in neonlicht
20
12
TC75
5th
19
12
THE GODFATHERS
ALPHA BETA GAMMA DELTA (2022)

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

05
02
Plastic Passion | This Day 43 Years Ago, The Cure Release Boys Don’t Cry!
05
02
33 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Lightningman
04
02
Gold Star Punk | The Ramones End Of The Century At 43!
03
02
This month, 37 years ago, Front Line Assembly released Corrosion!
02
02
Anarchy And Innocence | Sid Vicious Died 44 Years Ago Today...
01
02
Luna Del Luna Addresses Trauma And Abuse With Debut EP

Concert reviews

02
11
AKALOTZ - DREADFOOL - DELERITAS - WULF7
EBM NIGHT IN LIEGE...
05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

22
12
DERISION CULT
An Interview With Dave McAnally of Derision Cult
16
12
OK LION
I didn't convince Patrick Codenys to work with us, it was his idea!
30
11
THE JUGGERNAUTS
Let’s leave the love dramas and (fake) feel good theme to pop music and the brain dead Tik-Tok generation.
28
11
MONSTERGOD
With their most recent release “Ozymandias” Monstergod prove that dark sounds and poetry may go hand in hand to reach the effect that is both mesmerizing and dynamic in the most excellent hard-hitting way.
29
10
PSY'AVIAH
Wanting to have everything under control is problematic, as is wanting to have nothing under control.

PHOTOS

05
02
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Matrix Bochum
05
02
JAN REVOLUTION
Matrix Bochum
30
01
THE RESIDENTS
Botanique Brussel
23
01
NITZER EBB JOIN THE FORCES TOUR 23
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen
23
01
FRONT 242 JOIN THE FORCES TOUR 23
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen
23
01
LIEBKNECHT JOIN THE FORCES TOUR 23
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen
01
01
NNHMN
In Between Days Meschede Stadthalle

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

05
02
AFFET ROBOT
Fırtına
04
02
DEPECHE MODE
Never Let Me Down again
03
02
SCHULTZ
Rats In The Sewers
02
02
NACHTFALTER
Maschinenklang
01
02
THE KLINIK
Face To Face
31
01
W. PIKE
We were lucky
31
01
MIREXXX
Nine angles