tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

25/01/2018 : FACTICE FACTORY - Lines & Parallels

FACTICE FACTORY

Lines & Parallels

MusicCD
Cold WaveMinimalPost Punk

[86/100]   

Wool-E Discs
25/01/2018, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

EN

The French-Swiss band Factice Factory will release, after After The White Days (2014) and !! NADA !! (2015) their third album, Lines & Parallels. Like the previous one, this album is released on vinyl by Wave Tension Records, on CD by Wool-E - Discs and a limited number on tape by Wool-E Tapes.

On this third album a fairly natural evolution is noticeable, without denying the continuity of their sound and the distinct atmosphere that creates it. They have their own unique sound, even their own musical identity if you will, but most certainly not to be categorised as one 'sound' or 'genre'. What is, and remains, their constant trademark is the endless melancholy and gloom that also could be found on their first two albums. Only this time, a bit rougher, sharper with a bit more space for guitars and bass. Also the languages ​​used on this release are diverse: French, German and English are alternated smoothly.

Lines is the opener of this album. Very futuristic sounding, like the announcement of a real apocalypse. The threat in this track is imminent and serious. Another musical gem in the middle of the album is Parallels. But first we are hypnotised by Leuchtturm, a song that fits seamlessly with the Neue Deutsche Welle. A merciless bass line, supported by post-punk guitars, throws a load of gloom over you. Audran is very minimalist and the cold-wave drips-off. With Defeat we get a very deep, pain and suffering tinged, stunner of a song, one of my favourites, without a doubt. This album has a lot of variation to offer, even Eastern influences can be heard in Hatch End. A swinging song in size is Sway. More 80s than this it can’t get! Danceable and so deliciously retro. Here there is the vocal reinforcements by Jeanne Lefebvre, who also contributed to his previous albums as a guest vocalist.

And then another song that fires away, the resulting can only be extinguished with the title itself, Extinguisher. Delightful post-punk and a rhythm that is soothing and intoxicating. Then after all this beauty … we are escorted to the exit by a slow ballad called The Weeping Willow.

I needed a couple of listens before I could fully enjoy this album …. but there is so much diversity, beauty, depth to discover … Factice Factory, knows like no other, how to slowly wrap you in … and this they did successfully with me!

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
25/01/2018


NL

Het Frans-Zwitserse gezelschap Factice Factory brengt, na After The White Days (2014) en !! NADA !! (2015), hun derde uit: Lines & Parallels. Net als het vorige wordt dit album uitgebracht op vinyl (Wave Tension Records), op CD (Wool-E - Discs) en er is een beperkt aantal tapes (Wool-E Tapes).

Op dit derde album is een vrij natuurlijke evolutie merkbaar, zonder de continuïteit in het geluid en de aparte sfeer die dat creëert te verloochenen. Factice Factory heeft een heel eigen geluid, zelfs een eigen muzikale identiteit. Zeker niét te vatten in één ‘sound’ of ‘genre’. Wat wel de constante is en blijft is de eindeloze melancholie en somberheid die ook op de eerste twee albums te ontwaren was. Alleen is het iets ruwer, scherper en de gitaren en bas krijgen meer ruimte. Ook de talen zijn divers: Frans, Duits en Engels worden vlot afgewisseld.

Lines is de muzikale opener van dit album. Heel futuristisch klinkend, de aankondiging van een echte apocalyps. De dreiging in het nummer is ernstig te nemen. Er staat nog zo’n muzikaal kleinood halfweg het album: Parallels.
Aansluitend worden we gehypnotiseerd door Leuchtturm, een nummer dat naadloos aansluit bij de Neue Deutsche Welle. Een genadeloze baslijn die geruggesteund door postpunk-gitaren een lading somberheid over je heen gooit. Audran is heel erg minimalistisch en de coldwave druipt ervan af. Met Defeat krijgen we een heel diepe, met pijn en lijden gearomatiseerde knaller van een song. Eén van mijn favorieten, zonder twijfel. Variatie genoeg op dit album met zelfs Oosterse invloeden als je die wil horen in Hatch End. Een swinger van formaat is Sway. Meer eighties dan dit kan het echt niet worden! Dansbaar en zo heerlijk retro. Er komt vocale versterking van Jeanne Lefebvre, die ook op vorige albums al als gastvocaliste een bijdrage leverde.
En dan een song die vonken geeft, en het ontstane vuur dient geblust met een.. Extinguisher. Heerlijke postpunk en een ritme dat bezwerend en bedwelmend werkt. We worden uitgeleide gedaan door een trage ballade The Weeping Willow.

Ik had een paar luisterbeurten nodig voor ik dit album ten volle kon beleven. Er zit zoveel diversiteit in, schoonheid, diepgang. Factice Factory beheerst als geen ander de kunst van het je langzaam inpakken. En daar zijn ze, bij mij althans met bravoure in geslaagd.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
25/01/2018


 

Next reviews
TJENS MATIC • Middle Finger
THE MARY HART ATTACK • The Falling Sun
MESH • Live At Neues Gewandhaus Leipzig
STRONG PRODUCT • Product III
HOCICO, FROZEN AUTUMN, SUFFOCATING MINDS, SOLITARY EXPERIMENTS, T.O.Y., MANOK, STRONG PRODUCT, UNITY ONE • XV Synthetic Snow Festival Moscow
CONFRONTATIONAL • The Burning Dawn
PARADE GROUND • Sanctuary
TULIOXI • WILD ITALIAN GAZELLE (Part I)
GEORGIO 'THE DOVE' VALENTINO • The Future Lasts A Long Time
MORTAL VOID • Of shadows and mirrors

 

Other reviews from FACTICE FACTORY
FACTICE FACTORY • !Nada!
FACTICE FACTORY • The White Days

 

Same combination of genres: COLD WAVE + MINIMAL + POST PUNK
• Review of the GRAUZONE Festival in Amsterdam on 1st February 2013

 

Same genre: COLD WAVE
ANATOMIA HUMANA DESMONTABLE • Pasajera Pausa EP
MALA HERBA • Demo
PSYCHE • Youth Of Tomorrow (12'')
A.D. MANA • A.D. Mana
LYNCELIA • Forsaken Innocence
RAZORLINE • Razorline
SHE PLEASURES HERSELF • Fetish
O VEUX • O Veux
WINTER SEVERITY INDEX • Human Taxonomy
NORMA LOY • Baphomet

 

Same genre: MINIMAL
DARK DOOR • Inferno
PARADOX OBSCUR • Artifact
IVANKOVA • Ivankovà EP
MESSIER 39 • Venus Eclipse
STAATSEINDE • Neue Zyklus
BETA EVERS + SPATIAL RELATION • Split EP
SUPERNOVA 1006 • Unique World
PHALLUS DEI • Black Dawn
PEINE PERDUE • Histoire d'une Âme
BLACK SPIDER CLAN • Metamorphosis

 

Same genre: POST PUNK
CRYING VESSEL • A Beautiful Curse
SILENT RUNNERS • The Directory
THE MARY HART ATTACK • The Falling Sun
PARADE GROUND • Sanctuary
STRUGGLER • The Gap
PRINCIPE VALIENTE • Oceans
DISCO INFERNO • In Debt 91/92
DRAB MAJESTY • The Demonstration
XTC • Skylarking
KILLING JOKE • London, Brixton O2 Academy (04/11/2016)

Music reviews

20
04
ABYSS X
Pleasures Of The Bull
19
04
APSURDE
See Me Coming
18
04
ANDERS MANGA
Perfectly Stranger
17
04
DARKNESS ON DEMAND
Back To Psychoburbia
16
04
VIKTOR KALIMA
Club Muscle
15
04
PSY'AVIAH
Lightflare

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

24
04
Rummelsnuff releases double album / best of - “Salzig schmeckt der Wind”
23
04
The Mexican-German band Rabia Sorda has recorded its hardest album to date “The World Ends Today
21
04
Christina Plays Viola teaser for upcoming EP
16
04
Hatchling release their new single 'Holly'
15
04
Vogue.Noir release Strange.Days
14
04
Mourners release their first songs!

Concert reviews

19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
19
03
FEVER RAY
Live @ AB - Brussels - 15.03.2018
14
03
DER KLINKE - STORY OFF
De Kelk, Brugge - 9 maart 2018
12
03
DISTORTED RETROSPECT
Distorted Retrospect - 6th March 2018 - Charlottesville, VA (USA)
11
03
ERASURE
Erasure “World Be Gone” 2018 tour: Guildford performance at G Live on 20 February, UK
10
03
DRAB MAJESTY
Drab Majesty London show review

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

21
04
SHEDIR
‘I Always Think I’m Gonna Die Tomorrow’
20
04
ADAM USI
You know, art, music and visuals are the package, they are one big thing, they belong to each other. I try to find the jigsaw pieces to paint a all in all picture.
17
04
BYSENSES
We are Just 'People', Not A Superrace
26
03
MANINKARI
‘Sound Has Also A Place In A Process Of Spiritual Healing’
23
03
IRKLIS
‘INDUSTRIAL MUSIC WAS NEVER MADE TO PLEASE ANYBODY’

PHOTOS

16
04
SPARK!
Darkest Night 2018, Jk2470, Retie, Belgium
16
04
LESCURE 13
Darkest Night 2018, Jk2470, Retie, Belgium
16
04
ELM
Darkest Night 2018, Jk2470, Retie, Belgium
16
04
DOGANOV
Darkest Night 2018, Jk2470, Retie, Belgium
08
04
EVANESCENCE
Paleis 12 Brussel
08
04
TRUE ZEBRA
Nachtvlindersfestival Oostmalle
08
04
DARK POEM
Nachtvlindersfestival Oostmalle

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

24
04
ECHO AND THE BUNNYMEN
Lips Like Sugar
23
04
HOW TO DESTROY ANGELS
The Space In Between
22
04
NINE INCH NAILS
Only
21
04
HUMINOIDA
Ghosts on Photos
21
04
FRONT 242
Quite Unusual
20
04
MIDAS FALL
Glue
19
04
0KONTROL
Limbo