tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd (ep) review

17/09/2015 : FADING RAIN - Winter Ballads

FADING RAIN

Winter Ballads

MusicCD (EP)
Gothic RockPost Punk

[75/100]   

mislealia records
17/09/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Fading Rain was formed in 2013 in Brindisi (Italy). Already from the start it was obvious that they had a love for post punk and wave, and that's what you hear on this EP. Due to some internal problems and personnel changes things got silent. But once these problems were solved, they had time to write songs. Fading Rain was included on the compilation 'Voices From Mislealia volume 1"on the Milealia label.

Delirium Tremens is influenced by the 80s with a touch of post punk and the early U2-sound. Killer Strikes Again has its roots in the dark wave of the early Cure and Joy Division, although this song didn’t convince me. Winter Ballad is a stronger one with lots of post punk influences.

A nice debut EP with a DIY-sound, and I hope they will grow a bit so we get even stronger and better releases in the future.

Wim GUILLEMYN
17/09/2015


NL

Fading Rain is ergens begin 2013 in Brindisi (Italië) ontstaan. Vanaf het begin was het duidelijk dat ze een voorliefde voor postpunk en wave hadden, en dat is ook wat we op deze EP horen. Door wat interne problemen en personeelswissels viel alles wat stil. Toen dat was opgelost hadden ze tijd om songs te schrijven. Fading Rain kwam op de compilatie ‘Voices From Mislealia volume 1’ terecht, die door het Milealia label terecht. Delirium Tremens is sterk door de jaren 80 beïnvloed met een paar zinderende post punk licks en het vroege U2-geluid. Killer Strikes Again heeft dan weer zijn wortels in de dark wave van de vroegere Cure en Joy Division, alhoewel deze song mij niet echt kan overtuigen. Winter Ballad is een sterkere song met veel postpunkinvloeden.

Een aardige debuut EP die DIY klinkt, en waarvan ik hoop dat ze nog wat zullen groeien zodat we in de toekomst nog sterkere en betere releases krijgen.

Wim GUILLEMYN
17/09/2015


 

Next reviews
ME THE TIGER • Vitriolic
HENRY HOBSON • Maggie
JOHN LINDQWISTER (MACHINISTA) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
MR.KITTY • Fragments
LUSTS • Moutwash
SOLAR FAKE • All The Things You Say
APRIL FOOLS • EVERYBODY TALKS
BLAINE L. REININGER • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
NOU ENLE • Seasons
ELVYA • Untold Stories

 

Same combination of genres: GOTHIC ROCK + POST PUNK
NAUT • Raise The Lights
RAZORLINE • Razorline
BEYOND SOUL • Passion Black Dimension
VICTORIENT • The Old Curiosity Shop
MASQUERADE • Blood is the New Black
CRIMSON SCARLET • Collection: 2011-2014
BABY FIRE • The Red Robe
THEN COMES SILENCE • Then Comes Silence II
TERMINAL GODS • Machine Beat Messiah
ULTERIOR • Review of the concert and interview at the BIM Fest in Antwerp on 15 December 2012

 

Same genre: GOTHIC ROCK
DAVID J • The Auteur (Redux / The Starlet's Cut) Ft. Rose McGowan
WISBORG • From the Cradle to the Coffin
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
WISBORG • From the Cradle to the Coffin
PALE BLUE MOON • Supernatural
THE SISTERS OF MERCY • First And Last And Always
BEAUTY IN CHAOS • Finding Beauty In Chaos
BAUHAUS • Bela Lugosi’s Dead
LIZARD SMILE • Wandering in Mirrors
WANT/ED • Unthinkable

 

Same genre: POST PUNK
VEIL OF LIGHT • Inflict
WHERE WE SLEEP • The Desert
SUBMOTILE • Ghosts Fade On Skylines
THE MEMBRANES • What Nature Gives… Nature Takes Away
UNDERTHESKIN • Negative
JESUS LIVES IN VEGAS • Jesus Lives In Vegas
FONTAINES D.C • Dogrel
FAUST PROJECT • Somewhere between the shadows there’s a place called us
DAVID J • Thoughts And Prayers
XTC • What Do You Call That Noise?

Music reviews

11
07
CONTAINER 90
Friendship and love
10
07
ENZO KREFT
Control
09
07
HOCICO
Artificial Extinction
04
07
MECHANIMAL
White Flag Single
14
06
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES
Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
13
06
DEF ROBOT
Makers Of Mountains

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
07
New Peek-a-Boo Magazine #34 out now!
15
07
PINK TURNS ANNOUNCES REISSUES OF FIRST ALBUMS + TOUR 2019
14
07
'Hidden Figures' release their first single this August - debut album in progress!
13
07
Exclusive BEAUTY IN THE SUFFERING Performance Featured In New Horror Film, CLOWN MOTEL
08
07
A SPLIT-SECOND headline at GENTSE FEESTEN (Walter De Buckplein) on Sunday July 21st
05
07
Israeli Dark Electronic Act LIYA Reveals Her New Video 'No Meaning'

Concert reviews

14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

15
07
STEVE DIGGLE (BUZZCOCKS)
'We were writing from the heart and soul!'
08
07
TODD TRAINER (SHELLAC)
'My attitude has always been to be original and unique!'
06
07
BOB BERT (PUSSY GALORE, LYDIA LUNCH RETROVIRUS, EX-SONIC YOUTH,...)
'One man’s noise is another man’s symphony!'
02
07
TEST DEPARTMENT
THE 80s WERE AN AMAZING TIME FOR MUSICAL DEVELOPMENT
01
07
0KONTROL
We Apply The Old Soviet Tradition Where Lyrics Are Taking More Importance, Than The Music

PHOTOS

10
07
CEPHALGY
Parkhaus Duisburg
10
07
ALIENARE
Parkhaus Duisburg
10
07
THE SAINT PAUL
Parkhaus Duisburg
08
07
CYTO
Parkhaus Duisburg
08
07
ALPHAMAY
Parkhaus Duisburg
02
07
TORUL
Fetish Café Antwerpen
02
07
LLUMEN
Fetish Café Antwerpen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

16
07
RABIA SORDA
Deaf
15
07
GUS GUS
Deep Inside
14
07
CUBANATE
Kolossus
13
07
DEAD CAN DANCE
Anabasis
12
07
DIE KRUPPS
Goldfinger
11
07
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE
Kali's Tongue
10
07
MARCIA BAILA
LES RITA MITSOUKO