tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd (ep) review

17/09/2015 : FADING RAIN - Winter Ballads

FADING RAIN

Winter Ballads

MusicCD (EP)
Gothic RockPost Punk

[75/100]   

mislealia records
17/09/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Fading Rain was formed in 2013 in Brindisi (Italy). Already from the start it was obvious that they had a love for post punk and wave, and that's what you hear on this EP. Due to some internal problems and personnel changes things got silent. But once these problems were solved, they had time to write songs. Fading Rain was included on the compilation 'Voices From Mislealia volume 1"on the Milealia label.

Delirium Tremens is influenced by the 80s with a touch of post punk and the early U2-sound. Killer Strikes Again has its roots in the dark wave of the early Cure and Joy Division, although this song didn’t convince me. Winter Ballad is a stronger one with lots of post punk influences.

A nice debut EP with a DIY-sound, and I hope they will grow a bit so we get even stronger and better releases in the future.

Wim GUILLEMYN
17/09/2015


NL

Fading Rain is ergens begin 2013 in Brindisi (Italië) ontstaan. Vanaf het begin was het duidelijk dat ze een voorliefde voor postpunk en wave hadden, en dat is ook wat we op deze EP horen. Door wat interne problemen en personeelswissels viel alles wat stil. Toen dat was opgelost hadden ze tijd om songs te schrijven. Fading Rain kwam op de compilatie ‘Voices From Mislealia volume 1’ terecht, die door het Milealia label terecht. Delirium Tremens is sterk door de jaren 80 beïnvloed met een paar zinderende post punk licks en het vroege U2-geluid. Killer Strikes Again heeft dan weer zijn wortels in de dark wave van de vroegere Cure en Joy Division, alhoewel deze song mij niet echt kan overtuigen. Winter Ballad is een sterkere song met veel postpunkinvloeden.

Een aardige debuut EP die DIY klinkt, en waarvan ik hoop dat ze nog wat zullen groeien zodat we in de toekomst nog sterkere en betere releases krijgen.

Wim GUILLEMYN
17/09/2015


 

Next reviews
ME THE TIGER • Vitriolic
HENRY HOBSON • Maggie
JOHN LINDQWISTER (MACHINISTA) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
MR.KITTY • Fragments
LUSTS • Moutwash
SOLAR FAKE • All The Things You Say
APRIL FOOLS • EVERYBODY TALKS
BLAINE L. REININGER • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
NOU ENLE • Seasons
ELVYA • Untold Stories

 

Same combination of genres: GOTHIC ROCK + POST PUNK
THE MARS MODEL • FrancoBelga
NAUT • Raise The Lights
RAZORLINE • Razorline
BEYOND SOUL • Passion Black Dimension
VICTORIENT • The Old Curiosity Shop
MASQUERADE • Blood is the New Black
CRIMSON SCARLET • Collection: 2011-2014
BABY FIRE • The Red Robe
THEN COMES SILENCE • Then Comes Silence II
TERMINAL GODS • Machine Beat Messiah

 

Same genre: GOTHIC ROCK
MONO INC. • The Book Of Fire
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
DAVID J • The Auteur (Redux / The Starlet's Cut) Ft. Rose McGowan
WISBORG • From the Cradle to the Coffin
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
WISBORG • From the Cradle to the Coffin
PALE BLUE MOON • Supernatural
THE SISTERS OF MERCY • First And Last And Always
BEAUTY IN CHAOS • Finding Beauty In Chaos
BAUHAUS • Bela Lugosi’s Dead

 

Same genre: POST PUNK
RINGFINGER • Pressure
NEW MODEL ARMY • From Here
CABARET VOLTAIRE • Chance Versus Causality
MOONLIGHT MEADOW • Moonlight Meadow
NAIROD YARG • Nairod Yarg
A CERTAIN RATIO • ACR-Box
MEAGER BENEFITS • Crawling
VEIL OF LIGHT • Inflict
WHERE WE SLEEP • The Desert
SUBMOTILE • Ghosts Fade On Skylines

Music reviews

06
02
HARRY CLOUD
The Pig And The Machine
03
02
MISERIA ULTIMA
Graygarden
01
02
MONO INC.
The Book Of Fire
30
01
THE MARS MODEL
FrancoBelga
27
01
6TH CROWD
Самозванцы (Samozvantsiy)
18
01
RINGFINGER
Pressure

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
02
Today, exactly 17 years ago, American Industrial Metal band Ministry released Animositisomina!
17
02
On this day, 6 years ago, DEVO guitarist Bob Casale (61) died.
15
02
LEPROUS – Launch drum playthrough video for “The Sky Is Red”
15
02
This February, it's 33 AGO Kraftwerk released 'The Telephone Call / Der Telefon-Anruf'.
14
02
Today, exactly 41 years ago, John Peel broadcast the first Peel Sessions, performed by Joy Division
09
02
German Electronic/Synthpop Act SEA OF SIN Presents Their Single & Video Release For 'YOU'

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

17
02
H.R. (THE BAD BRAINS)
'I always wanted to play reggae!'
11
02
NICKY GARRATT (UK SUBS, HEDERSLEBEN)
'Putting a krautrock band together I always wanted this fearlessness.' (Interview Part 2)
10
02
NICKY GARRATT (UK SUBS, HEDERSLEBEN): PART II
'In punk, I found the vehicle for skepticism.' (Interview Part 1)
07
02
DOUGLAS P. (DEATH IN JUNE)
'Words/lyrics are continuously coming to me, everywhere and anywhere...'
02
02
CHRIS CUTLER (HENRY COW)
'We all shared a common concern with extending the vocabulary of rock...'

PHOTOS

12
02
MONSTERMAGNET
FZW Dortmund,Germany
12
02
SAINT AGNES SUPPORT MONSTERMAGNET
FZW Dortmund,Germany
26
01
FIX8:SED8
Oefenbunker Landgraaf
26
01
GRAUSAME TOCHTER
Oefenbunker Landgraaf
26
01
LAPIS EXILIS
Oefenbuker Landgraaf
25
01
ASHBURY HEIGHTS
Rockpalast Matrix Bochum Germany
25
01
MASSIVE EGO
Rockpalast Matrix Bochum Germany

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

23
02
DAVID BOWIE
No Plan
22
02
EIGTH WONDER
I'm Not Scared
21
02
PETER BRODERICK
Up Niek Mountain
20
02
ROGER WATERS
Wait for Her
19
02
X MARKS THE PEDWALK
Secrets
18
02
THE MISSION
Love Me To Death
17
02
CLAN OF XYMOX
Imagination