tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd (ep) review

17/09/2015 : FADING RAIN - Winter Ballads

FADING RAIN

Winter Ballads

MusicCD (EP)
Gothic RockPost Punk

[75/100]   

mislealia records
17/09/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Fading Rain was formed in 2013 in Brindisi (Italy). Already from the start it was obvious that they had a love for post punk and wave, and that's what you hear on this EP. Due to some internal problems and personnel changes things got silent. But once these problems were solved, they had time to write songs. Fading Rain was included on the compilation 'Voices From Mislealia volume 1"on the Milealia label.

Delirium Tremens is influenced by the 80s with a touch of post punk and the early U2-sound. Killer Strikes Again has its roots in the dark wave of the early Cure and Joy Division, although this song didn’t convince me. Winter Ballad is a stronger one with lots of post punk influences.

A nice debut EP with a DIY-sound, and I hope they will grow a bit so we get even stronger and better releases in the future.

Wim GUILLEMYN
17/09/2015


NL

Fading Rain is ergens begin 2013 in Brindisi (Italië) ontstaan. Vanaf het begin was het duidelijk dat ze een voorliefde voor postpunk en wave hadden, en dat is ook wat we op deze EP horen. Door wat interne problemen en personeelswissels viel alles wat stil. Toen dat was opgelost hadden ze tijd om songs te schrijven. Fading Rain kwam op de compilatie ‘Voices From Mislealia volume 1’ terecht, die door het Milealia label terecht. Delirium Tremens is sterk door de jaren 80 beïnvloed met een paar zinderende post punk licks en het vroege U2-geluid. Killer Strikes Again heeft dan weer zijn wortels in de dark wave van de vroegere Cure en Joy Division, alhoewel deze song mij niet echt kan overtuigen. Winter Ballad is een sterkere song met veel postpunkinvloeden.

Een aardige debuut EP die DIY klinkt, en waarvan ik hoop dat ze nog wat zullen groeien zodat we in de toekomst nog sterkere en betere releases krijgen.

Wim GUILLEMYN
17/09/2015


 

Next reviews
ME THE TIGER • Vitriolic
HENRY HOBSON • Maggie
JOHN LINDQWISTER (MACHINISTA) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
MR.KITTY • Fragments
LUSTS • Moutwash
SOLAR FAKE • All The Things You Say
APRIL FOOLS • EVERYBODY TALKS
BLAINE L. REININGER • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
NOU ENLE • Seasons
ELVYA • Untold Stories

 

Same combination of genres: GOTHIC ROCK + POST PUNK
NAUT • Raise The Lights
RAZORLINE • Razorline
BEYOND SOUL • Passion Black Dimension
VICTORIENT • The Old Curiosity Shop
MASQUERADE • Blood is the New Black
CRIMSON SCARLET • Collection: 2011-2014
BABY FIRE • The Red Robe
THEN COMES SILENCE • Then Comes Silence II
TERMINAL GODS • Machine Beat Messiah
ULTERIOR • Review of the concert and interview at the BIM Fest in Antwerp on 15 December 2012

 

Same genre: GOTHIC ROCK
DAVID J • The Auteur (Redux / The Starlet's Cut) Ft. Rose McGowan
WISBORG • From the Cradle to the Coffin
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
WISBORG • From the Cradle to the Coffin
PALE BLUE MOON • Supernatural
THE SISTERS OF MERCY • First And Last And Always
BEAUTY IN CHAOS • Finding Beauty In Chaos
BAUHAUS • Bela Lugosi’s Dead
LIZARD SMILE • Wandering in Mirrors
WANT/ED • Unthinkable

 

Same genre: POST PUNK
MOONLIGHT MEADOW • Moonlight Meadow
NAIROD YARG • Nairod Yarg
A CERTAIN RATIO • ACR-Box
MEAGER BENEFITS • Crawling
VEIL OF LIGHT • Inflict
WHERE WE SLEEP • The Desert
SUBMOTILE • Ghosts Fade On Skylines
THE MEMBRANES • What Nature Gives… Nature Takes Away
UNDERTHESKIN • Negative
JESUS LIVES IN VEGAS • Jesus Lives In Vegas

Music reviews

15
10
DAVID J HASKINS
Missive To An Angel From The Halls Of Infamy And Allure
15
10
ARMSTRONG
Under Blue Skies
14
10
MOONLIGHT MEADOW
Moonlight Meadow
14
10
IN DEED
Everest - Expanded Edition
13
10
REACTOR7X
Are You My Bitch
13
10
WALTER CELI
Blend

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

10
10
29 years ago Nine Inch Nails released 'Sin'
09
10
The Arch releases new album 'XII'
08
10
Eclectic Artist Addie Brik Releases New Single
07
10
YOVA - Debut Single 'Moondog' (featuring members of PJ Harvey / Grumbling Fur / Cameron Craig)
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 27 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
21
09
Industrial/Metal Band DECENT NEWS Announces The Release Of 'Monolith'

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

14
10
JAMES MCGREGOR (THE CLOCKWORKS)
'Our dynamic is genuinely a gang scenario'
12
10
NEON INSECT
A Conversation With Neon Insect
11
10
ENZO KREFT
Many tracks from 'Control' are about the relationship between humans and technology and the dangerous consequences of this in the near future.
10
10
AMY STUDT
'It’ll be alright in the end and if it isn’t alright, it isn’t yet the end.'
09
10
STALINGRAD VALKYRIE
The old world will be collapsing pretty soon!

PHOTOS

06
10
GROUND NERO
De Klinker Aarschot
06
10
GROUND NERO
De Klinker Aarschot
06
10
GROUND NERO
De Klinker Aarschot
04
10
SLAVE SEPERATION VS KNK
Fetish Café Antwerpen
04
10
LEAETHER STRIP
Fetish Café Antwerpen
22
09
WHISPERING SONS
Liege New Wave Festival
22
09
ASH CODE
Liege New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

15
10
RYUICHI SAKAMOTO
Merry Christmas Mr Lawrence
14
10
DELERIUM
Keep on Dreaming (featuring Jaël)
13
10
SAIGON BLUE RAIN
Queen Ephemeria / live in Hamburg
12
10
THE FROZEN AUTUMN
Static Cold
11
10
BALTIMORE
Sunglasses
10
10
PET SHOP BOYS
Domino Dancing (Extended Version)
09
10
ALISON MOYET
Is This Love