tempobet yeni adresi
like this concert review

07/03/2012 : FANTASTIQUE NIGHTS - Mona Mur & En Esch; Katz Kab; Le Baron 5

FANTASTIQUE NIGHTS

Mona Mur & En Esch; Katz Kab; Le Baron 5

Concert
Cold WaveDark WaveIndustrialMetalSynth Pop / Electro PopUnclassifiable

[99/100]   
07/03/2012, Jeremy Thomas

Baron 5

Les Fantastiques always have a local act on first, and this time, it's Le Baron 5. Tried and tested indie rock trio - lead/vocals with a drum & bass backing, except - err - no guitar?

Nope - Cheezy synths instead. They even dare to throw in an instrumental with long whacky solos on what looks like a Crumar DS2. It's a real pleasure to hear something with such a strong synth focus which is done totally live.

Overall, I thought very Devo, in both sound and attitude, with a healthy dose of Magazine and The Associates thrown in. Great tunes, great vibe. Tops!

 

Katz Kab

French, judging from the accent and the carful posing. And I haven't seen that sort of themed look since Bow Wow Wow or Adam Ant. The thing that baffles me about this 4-piece is why they need to use a laptop. It seems to constrain the drums, bass and guitar, and that's not helped by the same intervals reoccurring regularly, and the giggling behind the mike.

Think Siouxie and the Banshees. Without the pounding drums, the vocal gymnastics, the sparse angular guitar or the driving bass. On the positive side, half the songs seem to be about alcohol, and they have made an effort on the merchandizing. Not bad, by any means, and sometimes quite entertaining, but after the exuberance of Baron 5, it just fell a bit flat.

 

Mona Mur and En Esch

Spitting out class and attitude right from the first bar! The faces in the crowd instantly transform from quiet reserve to either huge grins or utter bewilderment.

Mona Mur has all the allure of a dominatrix, yielding the microphone like a whip. En Esch, her crazed slave yielding his instrument like a chainsaw of pleasure. The backing band consists of a laptop and a drummer who hits things VERY hard.

The German language is so beautifully cold, precise, angular and expressive. And coming out of Mona's lips, it is the most rivetting thing one could listen to. Not that she hasn't met her match in Esch's guitar. Subtle and delicate, it is not. It is pure, way over-the-top omnipresent metal, worthy of bands at who's name I would normally cringe. The laptop is also a source of awe and amazement, as it vomits out some of the most extreme digital sounds at times.

Candy Kane takes the extremes of metal and gothic cabaret clichés and annihilates them into sublinimity. Rather than looking for past influences, I find I'm looking for new words to suitably describe the experience.

Even after 60 years of combined careers, these two haven't lost their edge or passion. The passion, I was expecting, but to come up with something new that draws so much from the past, different because it abuses clichés without becoming clichéed itself, maaaagh-pop-kaachl (words fail - overload). And the chemistry on stage is simply ecclectissimal.

This is my rifle

This is my gun

One is for killing

The other is for fun

Yes, Mona Mur, please. Do with me what you want!

Jeremy Thomas
07/03/2012


 

Next reviews
ALBERTO MORAVIA • Contempt | De minachting
JOHN FOXX AND THE MATHS • Concert in Aarschot on 25th October 2012
DER NOIR • A Dead Summer
CHAOS ALL STARS • I Need It All
THE BEAUTY OF GEMINA • Iscariot Blues
:OF THE WAND & THE MOON: • The Lone Descent
NEON ELECTRONICS • Keylogger
SOPHYA • Words & Sounds
THE EDEN HOUSE • Timeflows
WINTERKÄLTE • Disturbance

 

Other reviews from FANTASTIQUE NIGHTS
FANTASTIQUE NIGHTS • Fantastique Nights (Rome, Evi Vine, Mongolito)

 

Same genre: COLD WAVE
MANDIVULA • Nonsens
JESUS LIVES IN VEGAS • Jesus Lives In Vegas
DER KLINKE • Decade
SELOFAN • Vitrioli
WHISPERING SONS • Image
AFTER ABSENCE • Demotape 1
ASTRASONIC • Passengers
ANATOMIA HUMANA DESMONTABLE • Pasajera Pausa EP
FACTICE FACTORY • Lines & Parallels
MALA HERBA • Demo

 

Same genre: DARK WAVE
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
BLUTENGEL • UN:GOTT
EUROPEAN GHOST • Collections Of Shadows
WANT/ED • Unthinkable
DARK DOOR • Inferno
KIRLIAN CAMERA • Hologram Moon
SILENT RUNNERS • The Directory
MANNEQUIN • Singles/Faction
PARADOX OBSCUR • Artifact
DRAB MAJESTY • The Demonstration

 

Same genre: INDUSTRIAL
GROOVENOM • Wir müssen reden
NEON ELECTRONICS • Apollo
VARIOUS ARTISTS • A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION
DIVE • Live Maschinenfest 2017
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Eye On You (Feat. Robert Görl)
KLANGWELT • The Incident
FOXXXY MULDER • Heretic
KAISER IMAGO • The Whisper Of Darkness
KNK • Dead Body Music III
ALVAR • I Sew A Blanket Of All The Broken Clouds

 

Same genre: METAL
COMBICHRIST • Hate Like Me
FROSTTIDE • Decedents – Enshrined
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
VARIOUS • ALCATRAZ METAL FESTIVAL 2018 10-12th August, Kortrijk, Belgium
GHOST • Popestar
SWITCHBLADE • “2016”
WILDHEART • WILDHEART
NERVOSA • Agony
ASP • Verfallen Folge 2: Fassaden
PSYCHO GENERATION + OST+FRONT • Eernegem, B52 (22/04/2016)

 

Same genre: SYNTH POP / ELECTRO POP
LUCKY AND LOVE • Transitions
LADYTRON • Ladytron
SIMI NAH • La Terre est Noire
JOHN FOXX • METAMATIC (2018 BOX)
VOGON POETRY • Life, The Universe and Everything
REFLECTION • Lumen
SALLY DIGE • Holding On
PSYCHE • Youth Of Tomorrow (12'')
HELIOPHILE • Permeate
BETA EVERS + SPATIAL RELATION • Split EP

 

Same genre: UNCLASSIFIABLE
RUMMELSNUFF & ASBACH • Rummelsnuff & Asbach
FANTASTIQUE.NIGHT XLVII • MOLLY NILSSON, MARY OCHER, MENAGE A TROIS, RODOLPHE COSTER
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Ni D'Eve Ni D'Adam
MONSTER YOUTH • Lost Dream, Cool Fire
TUXEDOMOON • CLASSICS: At Twilight
THE THE • CLASSICS : Soul Mining
XTC • CLASSICS: Skylarking (Corrected)
THE FALL • Creative Distortion
BROWN REINIGER BODSON • Clear Tears, Troubled Waters
APHEX TWIN • Syro

Music reviews

17
05
LISA MORGENSTERN
Chameleon
16
05
VEIL OF LIGHT
Inflict
15
05
KIM THOMPSETT
The Hollows
14
05
L7
Scatter The Rats
13
05
SIGNAL AOUT 42
Insurrection
08
05
KRISTIN HERSH
Crooked (Reissue)

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
05
45 years of Diamond Dogs (David Bowie)
15
05
On this day, 29 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
14
05
'Locating Silver Lake' out on DVD today!
13
05
Today it’s exactly 22 years ago Nine Inch Nails released their The Perfect Drug (Versions) EP!
12
05
Legendary Gothic/Death Rock Band CHRISTIAN DEATH Announces Forthcoming European Tour & First Ever Live Video Chat/'Forgiven' Video Premiere
12
05
This month it’s been 41 years since Kraftwerk released Die Roboter / The Robots!

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

10
05
APSURDE
No Matter What We Do, We Will Always Sound Like Depeche Mode
09
05
ANDY GILL (GANG OF FOUR)
'You never expect Gang of Four to be very optimistic.Do you ?'
29
04
STACY COCHRAN
'I didn’t want to write something cruel; I wanted to find the daily fears and even some transcendent pragmatism inside a complicated set of characters...'
28
04
KILL SHELTER
There Is An Inherent Darkness And Sadness In The Music I Create
27
04
VANGUARD
We Had The Concept Of Doing Something That Ties Man And Machine Together

PHOTOS

21
05
PETER HOOK
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
GANG OF FOUR
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
CHAMELEONS VOX
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
AND ALSO THE TREES
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
PINK TURNS BLUE
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
IN2THESOUND
New Waves Day,Turbinenhalle Oberhausen
21
05
THEN COMES SILENCE
New Waves Day,Turbinenhalle Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

22
05
NEW MODEL ARMY
Winter
21
05
NUMB
Lies
20
05
LUCIFER'S DREAM
Elixir of Isis
19
05
SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES
You're Lost Little Girl
18
05
GROUND NERO
Dark Descent
17
05
JAN SWERTS
Meer Is Er Niet
16
05
IAN MCCULLOCH
Lover Lover Lover