tempobet yeni adresi
like this concert review

07/03/2012 : FANTASTIQUE NIGHTS - Mona Mur & En Esch; Katz Kab; Le Baron 5

FANTASTIQUE NIGHTS

Mona Mur & En Esch; Katz Kab; Le Baron 5

Concert
Cold WaveDark WaveIndustrialMetalSynth Pop / Electro PopUnclassifiable

[99/100]   
07/03/2012, Jeremy Thomas

Baron 5

Les Fantastiques always have a local act on first, and this time, it's Le Baron 5. Tried and tested indie rock trio - lead/vocals with a drum & bass backing, except - err - no guitar?

Nope - Cheezy synths instead. They even dare to throw in an instrumental with long whacky solos on what looks like a Crumar DS2. It's a real pleasure to hear something with such a strong synth focus which is done totally live.

Overall, I thought very Devo, in both sound and attitude, with a healthy dose of Magazine and The Associates thrown in. Great tunes, great vibe. Tops!

 

Katz Kab

French, judging from the accent and the carful posing. And I haven't seen that sort of themed look since Bow Wow Wow or Adam Ant. The thing that baffles me about this 4-piece is why they need to use a laptop. It seems to constrain the drums, bass and guitar, and that's not helped by the same intervals reoccurring regularly, and the giggling behind the mike.

Think Siouxie and the Banshees. Without the pounding drums, the vocal gymnastics, the sparse angular guitar or the driving bass. On the positive side, half the songs seem to be about alcohol, and they have made an effort on the merchandizing. Not bad, by any means, and sometimes quite entertaining, but after the exuberance of Baron 5, it just fell a bit flat.

 

Mona Mur and En Esch

Spitting out class and attitude right from the first bar! The faces in the crowd instantly transform from quiet reserve to either huge grins or utter bewilderment.

Mona Mur has all the allure of a dominatrix, yielding the microphone like a whip. En Esch, her crazed slave yielding his instrument like a chainsaw of pleasure. The backing band consists of a laptop and a drummer who hits things VERY hard.

The German language is so beautifully cold, precise, angular and expressive. And coming out of Mona's lips, it is the most rivetting thing one could listen to. Not that she hasn't met her match in Esch's guitar. Subtle and delicate, it is not. It is pure, way over-the-top omnipresent metal, worthy of bands at who's name I would normally cringe. The laptop is also a source of awe and amazement, as it vomits out some of the most extreme digital sounds at times.

Candy Kane takes the extremes of metal and gothic cabaret clichés and annihilates them into sublinimity. Rather than looking for past influences, I find I'm looking for new words to suitably describe the experience.

Even after 60 years of combined careers, these two haven't lost their edge or passion. The passion, I was expecting, but to come up with something new that draws so much from the past, different because it abuses clichés without becoming clichéed itself, maaaagh-pop-kaachl (words fail - overload). And the chemistry on stage is simply ecclectissimal.

This is my rifle

This is my gun

One is for killing

The other is for fun

Yes, Mona Mur, please. Do with me what you want!

Jeremy Thomas
07/03/2012


 

Next reviews
ALBERTO MORAVIA • Contempt | De minachting
JOHN FOXX AND THE MATHS • Concert in Aarschot on 25th October 2012
DER NOIR • A Dead Summer
CHAOS ALL STARS • I Need It All
THE BEAUTY OF GEMINA • Iscariot Blues
:OF THE WAND & THE MOON: • The Lone Descent
NEON ELECTRONICS • Keylogger
SOPHYA • Words & Sounds
THE EDEN HOUSE • Timeflows
WINTERKÄLTE • Disturbance

 

Other reviews from FANTASTIQUE NIGHTS
FANTASTIQUE NIGHTS • Fantastique Nights (Rome, Evi Vine, Mongolito)

 

Same genre: COLD WAVE
FAUST PROJECT • The Future Comes On Sleeping Pills
THE MIDNIGHT COMPUTERS • Anxious
HYSTÉRIE • Deuil
MANNEQUIN • From a distance
RINGFINGER • Pressure
DAGEIST • Sexy
MOONLIGHT MEADOW • Moonlight Meadow
NAIROD YARG • Nairod Yarg
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE • Endgame 69:
MEAGER BENEFITS • Crawling

 

Same genre: DARK WAVE
THIS ETERNAL DECAY • Silence
OCTOLAB • Mystery Park
AIMAPROJECT • Di AimA Il Segno
SAIGON BLUE RAIN • Pink Obsession
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
BLUTENGEL • UN:GOTT
EUROPEAN GHOST • Collections Of Shadows
WANT/ED • Unthinkable
DARK DOOR • Inferno
KIRLIAN CAMERA • Hologram Moon

 

Same genre: INDUSTRIAL
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Mechanical Soul
IMPLANT • Phantom Pain
HA:PEOPLE.3.55 • El Dia de la Bestia, Part 2 : WAR!
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP 2
DIVE • Where do we go from here
SUICIDE COMMANDO • Mindstrip Redux
JESU • When I Was Small
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP1
ALSO • Live in Celovec
SHERAPHIM SYSTEM • Phoenix

 

Same genre: METAL
GROOVENOM • Wir müssen reden
COMBICHRIST • Hate Like Me
FROSTTIDE • Decedents – Enshrined
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
VARIOUS • ALCATRAZ METAL FESTIVAL 2018 10-12th August, Kortrijk, Belgium
GHOST • Popestar
SWITCHBLADE • “2016”
WILDHEART • WILDHEART
NERVOSA • Agony
ASP • Verfallen Folge 2: Fassaden

 

Same genre: SYNTH POP / ELECTRO POP
DD SANCHEZ • StRaNgE
ERASURE • THE NEON
HER OWN WORLD • A Different Kind Of Reality
AUGER • Insurgence
UNITCODE:MACHINE • Paper empires
COLD IN MAY • Koma:Redux
SHE HATES EMOTIONS • See The Light (Single)
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
LUCKY AND LOVE • Transitions
LADYTRON • Ladytron

 

Same genre: UNCLASSIFIABLE
RUMMELSNUFF & ASBACH • Rummelsnuff & Asbach
FANTASTIQUE.NIGHT XLVII • MOLLY NILSSON, MARY OCHER, MENAGE A TROIS, RODOLPHE COSTER
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Ni D'Eve Ni D'Adam
MONSTER YOUTH • Lost Dream, Cool Fire
TUXEDOMOON • CLASSICS: At Twilight
THE THE • CLASSICS : Soul Mining
XTC • CLASSICS: Skylarking (Corrected)
THE FALL • Creative Distortion
BROWN REINIGER BODSON • Clear Tears, Troubled Waters
APHEX TWIN • Syro

Music reviews

18
01
DISTANT VOICES
Long Road to Home
17
01
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Mechanical Soul
16
01
IMPLANT
Phantom Pain
15
01
DD SANCHEZ
StRaNgE
10
01
BLACK SNOW IN SUMMER
Lost Feelings
09
01
CAUSENATION
Promises of hope and fear

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

21
01
Today, exactly 28 years ago, Ministry released Just One Fix!
19
01
On this day, 30 years ago (19 January 1991), The Cure performed at The Great British Music Awards!
18
01
On this day, 41 ago, John Foxx released his first solo project album Metamatic!
17
01
Today, 36 years ago, Alien Sex Fiend recorded Liquid Head in Tokyo!
16
01
26 years Divine Rapture | Celebrating The Siouxsie and the Banshees 1995 and final album!
15
01
Brand new Front Line Assembly album 'Mechanical Soul' out today!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'
05
12
CEVIN KEY (SKINNY PUPPY, DOWNLOAD)
'It really has been like the formation of a new band in a lot of ways...'
03
12
ALEX SKOLNICK (TESTAMENT, ALEX SKOLNICK TRIO)
'I was as knocked out as I was hearing Van Halen...'
14
11
PROYECTO MIRAGE
I Think We Needed A Break

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

21
01
ROB ZOMBIE
The Triumph of King Freak (A Crypt of Preservation and Superstition)
20
01
NEW ORDER
True Faith
19
01
CORDE OBLIQUE
Suono su tela
18
01
KAI SCHUMACHER
The Hug (Rework by Illuminine)
17
01
ELSJE HELEWAUT & RUDOLF HECKE
Let's Not Give A Damn
16
01
PSY'AVIAH
Not What I Expected
15
01
LEATHER STRIP
Strap me down