tempobet yeni adresi
like this digital review

15/05/2018 : FERAL BODY - Chain Ritual

FERAL BODY

Chain Ritual

MusicDigital
DarkwaveElectronicsPost Industrial

[90/100]   

Self-released
15/05/2018, Gustavo A. ROSELINSKY

First things first: I owe it to the brilliant website I Die: You Die the discovery of this rather obscure band. Feral Body is an all male three-piece from Detroit, USA, and this 'Chain Ritual' EP is only the band's second relase so far. Yet the sound of these three tracks, just like the three tracks in their previous EP, appears to be fully-formed and very clear right from the start.

The idea is fairly simple: complex beats, atmospheric keyboards, and ghostly vocals. The beats have a post-techno and post-industrial feel to them in terms of the sound itself but are never straightforward. You won't hear a single four-to-the-floor kick drum here, and that's extremely refreshing. The beats are masterfully crafted, with the right balance of distortion and use of space between them. The structure and the intermingling with the keyboards/synths are superb.

On top of this we hear those eerie vocals, drenched in reverb and at the same time clear in their delivery. It feels almost like a disembodied singer floating around the band, haunting the other two members. Still, for all its murkiness and intensity, the band never loses its sense of structure. Fever Cry, the last track, is almost pop. This is what sets Feral Body apart from many of the artists using similar elements nowadays. It's a sound that well deserves a full-length album.

Gustavo A. ROSELINSKY
15/05/2018


15/05/2018 : FERAL BODY - Chain Ritual 15/05/2018 : FERAL BODY - Chain Ritual 15/05/2018 : FERAL BODY - Chain Ritual

Music reviews

13
10
COMBICHRIST
Compliance
05
10
SONNY VINCENT
Shake Pit Therapy
04
10
MERCYFUL HEAVENS
For Now
08
09
DEZ MONA & B.O.X
LUCY
02
09
SJOBLOM
Tape
01
09
JIHAD
Retrospekt

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

23
10
41 of Subhuman and Adrenalin!
21
10
The Ignition Of Irish Punk | 44 years ago, Radiators From Space released their debut album 'TV Tube Heart'
09
10
Baby Turns Blue and 39 today!
06
10
Electro-Pop Artist EVA X Drops New Video 'Machine'
30
09
Amy Koppelman's novel adaption 'A Mouthful Of Air' coming to theaters October 29th!
29
09
Canadian Industrial Act DI AUGER Takes Raw Anger To Government Tyranny with 'Piss & Vinegar'

Concert reviews

21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

04
10
HANTE
I broke away from the pressure you have as an artist to appeal to a certain type of audience, to create dance floor hits.
30
09
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS
Dimitri from Wool-E Discs had learned that I was part of a band in the 80s and asked me to listen.
29
09
UNITCODE:MACHINE
An Interview With unitcode:machine
07
09
CYBORG AMOK
An Interview With Post-Punk / Gothic Duo, CYBORG AMOK
04
08
THE IMAGINARY SUITCASE
For most of my life, I have behaved the way I thought they wanted me to behave. And this is a scam.

PHOTOS

23
10
FRONT 242
Depot Leuven
23
10
RADICAL G
Depot Leuven
03
10
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS
Cali Club Drogenbos
03
10
PARTIKUL
Cali Club Drogenbos
27
09
SCHILLER
Strandkorb Openair Bochum Kemnader See
25
09
LEBANON HANOVER
Les Nuits Botanique
25
09
SELOFAN
Les Nuits Botanique

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

23
10
ZANIAS
Follow the Body
22
10
AFTER ABSENCE
Collide
21
10
SCHULTZ
I hate You
20
10
HAPAX
Hands (Official Video)
19
10
PRECIOUS CHILD
Hollow
18
10
LIGHT ASYLUM
Skull Fucked
17
10
SELOFAN
Sto Skotadi