tempobet yeni adresi
like this digital review

15/05/2018 : FERAL BODY - Chain Ritual

FERAL BODY

Chain Ritual

MusicDigital
DarkwaveElectronicsPost Industrial

[90/100]   

Self-released
15/05/2018, Gustavo A. ROSELINSKY

First things first: I owe it to the brilliant website I Die: You Die the discovery of this rather obscure band. Feral Body is an all male three-piece from Detroit, USA, and this 'Chain Ritual' EP is only the band's second relase so far. Yet the sound of these three tracks, just like the three tracks in their previous EP, appears to be fully-formed and very clear right from the start.

The idea is fairly simple: complex beats, atmospheric keyboards, and ghostly vocals. The beats have a post-techno and post-industrial feel to them in terms of the sound itself but are never straightforward. You won't hear a single four-to-the-floor kick drum here, and that's extremely refreshing. The beats are masterfully crafted, with the right balance of distortion and use of space between them. The structure and the intermingling with the keyboards/synths are superb.

On top of this we hear those eerie vocals, drenched in reverb and at the same time clear in their delivery. It feels almost like a disembodied singer floating around the band, haunting the other two members. Still, for all its murkiness and intensity, the band never loses its sense of structure. Fever Cry, the last track, is almost pop. This is what sets Feral Body apart from many of the artists using similar elements nowadays. It's a sound that well deserves a full-length album.

Gustavo A. ROSELINSKY
15/05/2018


15/05/2018 : FERAL BODY - Chain Ritual 15/05/2018 : FERAL BODY - Chain Ritual 15/05/2018 : FERAL BODY - Chain Ritual

Music reviews

22
10
VEDA RAYS
For The Rest To Rest
20
10
PHANTOM OF THE BLACK HILLS
Scalped
19
10
CHRIS WATSON
Locations Processed
18
10
COLE VARGAS
Cole Vargas
16
10
DAVID BOWIE
Low, Heroes, Lodger
15
10
ALVAR
I Sew A Blanket Of All The Broken Clouds

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

20
10
CHRISTIAN DEATH Announces Headlining USA East Coast Tour Dates
19
10
Ancient Greek folk ensemble DAEMONIA NYMPHE have announced the re-release of acclaimed album Psychostasia!
18
10
Dive re-releases his fourth studio album 'Snakedressed' on double vinyl
18
10
'Write When You Get Work' screening at Philadelphia Film Festival this weekend - watch the trailer here!
17
10
Belgian post-punk outfit Whispering Sons has announced their long-awaited debut album 'Image'!
16
10
KOLLAPS ANNOUNCES EUROPEAN TOUR 2018

Concert reviews

24
09
MODELE MARTIAL - AUTOPSIE D'UNE OMBRE - IAMTHESHADOW
B52 - Eernegem - 14/09/2018
14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018
16
07
COVENANT W/ STONEBURNER
Live @ Ivy Smokehouse, Washington DC, 15th April 2018
24
05
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

22
10
DAVID J
Interview with David J
20
10
TRASH DEITY
Trash Dialog: An Interview With Groovie Mann & John Norton of Trash Deity
19
10
SONOLOGYST
A ‘Vertical’ Approach To Music
18
10
MERZBOW
Interview with Masami Akita (Merzbow)
17
10
ALVAR
The trend of 2018 has been 303´s - we sold ours!

PHOTOS

16
10
STIN SCATZOR
Le Garage Luik
16
10
DOGANOV
Le Garage Luik
09
10
NEON ELECTRONICS
JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
09
10
APPARAAT
JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
20
09
PERSEPHONE
Théâtre Mercelis Brussels
23
08
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
SHE PAST AWAY
W-Fest Amougies

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

22
10
ADULT.
Heartbreak (Live @ MOOGFEST SOUND LAB)
21
10
WE NEVER MET
Come Play With Fire
20
10
RROYCE
The Principle Of Grace
19
10
DEATH KOOLAID
Kids
18
10
PRECIOUS CHILD
Hollow
17
10
VNV NATION
When is the Future?
17
10
WARDRUNA
Raido