tempobet yeni adresi
like this digital review

15/05/2018 : FERAL BODY - Chain Ritual

FERAL BODY

Chain Ritual

MusicDigital
DarkwaveElectronicsPost Industrial

[90/100]   

Self-released
15/05/2018, Gustavo A. ROSELINSKY

First things first: I owe it to the brilliant website I Die: You Die the discovery of this rather obscure band. Feral Body is an all male three-piece from Detroit, USA, and this 'Chain Ritual' EP is only the band's second relase so far. Yet the sound of these three tracks, just like the three tracks in their previous EP, appears to be fully-formed and very clear right from the start.

The idea is fairly simple: complex beats, atmospheric keyboards, and ghostly vocals. The beats have a post-techno and post-industrial feel to them in terms of the sound itself but are never straightforward. You won't hear a single four-to-the-floor kick drum here, and that's extremely refreshing. The beats are masterfully crafted, with the right balance of distortion and use of space between them. The structure and the intermingling with the keyboards/synths are superb.

On top of this we hear those eerie vocals, drenched in reverb and at the same time clear in their delivery. It feels almost like a disembodied singer floating around the band, haunting the other two members. Still, for all its murkiness and intensity, the band never loses its sense of structure. Fever Cry, the last track, is almost pop. This is what sets Feral Body apart from many of the artists using similar elements nowadays. It's a sound that well deserves a full-length album.

Gustavo A. ROSELINSKY
15/05/2018


15/05/2018 : FERAL BODY - Chain Ritual 15/05/2018 : FERAL BODY - Chain Ritual 15/05/2018 : FERAL BODY - Chain Ritual

Music reviews

14
06
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES
Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
13
06
DEF ROBOT
Makers Of Mountains
04
06
THIS CAN HURT
Worlds Apart
03
06
RADERKRAFT
Smart Control
02
06
MASSIVE EGO
Church For The Malfunctioned
01
06
VUKOVAR
Cremator

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
06
Today it’s exactly 40 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
03
06
Today, 41 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!
29
05
UK's Electronic-Pop Band EMPATHY TEST Announce The Release of EMPTY-HANDED EP
16
05
45 years of Diamond Dogs (David Bowie)
15
05
On this day, 29 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
14
05
'Locating Silver Lake' out on DVD today!

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

17
06
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO
'I feel connected to other people because they understand the result of my thoughts.'
15
06
KENNEY JONES
'There's always an element of doubt in anything you do'
23
05
JAKE BURNS (STIFF LITTLE FINGERS)
'We were writing a songs about our own rights'
22
05
TREHA SEKTORI
‘I Have A Feeling Of Constant Dissatisfaction, So I'll Get Back To Work To Make It Better’
10
05
APSURDE
No Matter What We Do, We Will Always Sound Like Depeche Mode

PHOTOS

16
06
WAPPENBUND
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
16
06
PANTSER FABRIEK
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
RIOTMILOO
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
ASHTORETH
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
FOR GREATER GOOD
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
AGONOIZE
Agra, WGT Leipzig
12
06
VELVET ACID CHRIST
Agra, WGT Leipzig

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

18
06
EVI VINE
Porcelain
17
06
LEVITIKA
Zombie Barbie
16
06
WHITE ZOMBIE
More Human Than Human
15
06
KARIN PARK
Hurricane
14
06
AUSTRA
I Love You More Than You Love Yourself
13
06
FACTICE FACTORY
L'Aurore
12
06
SOWULU
Ginnungagap