tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

10/12/2016 : FIELD MUSIC - Commontime

FIELD MUSIC

Commontime

MusicCD
Indie

[90/100]   

Memphis Industries
10/12/2016, Paul PLEDGER

The Brewis brothers have spent the past decade crafting angular off-centre albums for boutique indie Memphis Industries. Pitching somewhere around XTC, Talking Heads, Television and the like, Sunderland's cerebral raconteurs can now include Prince as a reference point. Recent single The Noisy Days Are Over - the lead track included here on this, their sixth studio album - struck a chord with the Purple wonder who tweeted its allure to all and sundry who would listen.

And it isn't surprising that Prince Rogers Nelson warmed to the song's charms - The Noisy Days Are Over is deftly simple, a head-nodding street-walking groove, sweet harmonies and an insanely catchy refrain should register approval from most sane music fans. Commontime proves that this six-minute slice of syncopated joy isn't a one-off. There's Disappointed (which is even catchier), But Not For You, Don't You Want To Know What's Wrong? and How Should I Know If You've Changed?, all of which demonstrate an element of funk that isn't quite Sly Stone but isn't entirely without a certain amount of hip-wiggling kudos either.

More familiar off-kilter rhythms propel Indeed It Is and and I'm Glad, but it's the more reflective songs that show just how Field Music have advanced since earlier long-players such as Tones of Town. The Morning Is Waiting For You is perhaps their prettiest song since Measure's elegiac centrepiece Precious Plans. Reminiscent of The Beatles' Golden Slumbers or XTC's most string-driven Apple Venus cuts, here is a song that gently weeps without succumbing to mawkish lyrics or over-pomposity. It's a song to drink in, Commontime's elixir, its eau de vie.

Engaging, thoughtful, skilful and intelligent, Commontime is easily Field Music's best since 2010's Measure and 57 minutes well-spent. Best clear some space on that mantelpiece lads.

This review also appeared on Flipside Reviews

Paul PLEDGER
10/12/2016


Music reviews

08
12
NEON TZIGANE
Del Wesh
07
12
FROSTTIDE
Decedents – Enshrined
06
12
MIREXXX
Vault
23
11
JO QUAIL
Exsolve
22
11
SADOMANCER
Dystopian Dawn
20
11
METROLAND
Memorabilia & Memorabilia The Remixes

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

10
12
On this day, 39 years ago John Peel broadcasted Joy Division's 2nd Peel Sessions!
09
12
SID VICIOUS, A Christmas Story | 41-Years Ago The Pistols Deliver Christmas
08
12
Today, 40 years ago, Public Image released its debut album First issue!
08
12
Celebration Of The Lizard | Today Is Jim Morrison’s 75th-Birthday
06
12
Ever Fallen In love? | A Tribute To Pete Shelley (17/4/1955-06/12/18)
06
12
BodyBeats announces complete and 100% Swedish line-up for International EBM day!

Concert reviews

16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018
24
09
MODELE MARTIAL - AUTOPSIE D'UNE OMBRE - IAMTHESHADOW
B52 - Eernegem - 14/09/2018
14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

10
12
THE BLADES
Too Late To Stop Now! | The Return Of The Blades - An Interview With Paul Cleary
05
12
NOIRE ANTIDOTE
'Negative etiquette' resemblance the negative sides of human behaviour but more translated into a feeling.
24
11
DOPPELGANGER
'We are goths, and we only remember the sad stories :)'
22
11
PAUL LEARY (THE COCKY BITCHES,BUTTHOLE SURFERS)
'My mind has a jukebox that I cannot unplug.'
19
11
THE NAMES
We're lucky to have everyone still alive and well, unlike many of our friends of Factory records.

PHOTOS

03
12
WHISPERING SONS
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
JOHN CALE
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
RED ZEBRA
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
GANG OF FOUR
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
FISCHER Z
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
COCAINE PISS
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
DE BRASSERS
Sinner's Day Genk

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

10
12
THE VIOLENT YOUTH
Rabota (my life is a job)
09
12
0KONTROL
Lullaby
08
12
DICEPEOPLE
Somebody to Love
08
12
RAMPLINGG
Set My Heart
07
12
KATATONIA
Old Heart Falls
06
12
ZANIAS
Aletheia (Official Video)
05
12
LIGHT ASYLUM
Skull Fucked