tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

10/12/2016 : FIELD MUSIC - Commontime

FIELD MUSIC

Commontime

MusicCD
Indie

[90/100]   

Memphis Industries
10/12/2016, Paul PLEDGER

The Brewis brothers have spent the past decade crafting angular off-centre albums for boutique indie Memphis Industries. Pitching somewhere around XTC, Talking Heads, Television and the like, Sunderland's cerebral raconteurs can now include Prince as a reference point. Recent single The Noisy Days Are Over - the lead track included here on this, their sixth studio album - struck a chord with the Purple wonder who tweeted its allure to all and sundry who would listen.

And it isn't surprising that Prince Rogers Nelson warmed to the song's charms - The Noisy Days Are Over is deftly simple, a head-nodding street-walking groove, sweet harmonies and an insanely catchy refrain should register approval from most sane music fans. Commontime proves that this six-minute slice of syncopated joy isn't a one-off. There's Disappointed (which is even catchier), But Not For You, Don't You Want To Know What's Wrong? and How Should I Know If You've Changed?, all of which demonstrate an element of funk that isn't quite Sly Stone but isn't entirely without a certain amount of hip-wiggling kudos either.

More familiar off-kilter rhythms propel Indeed It Is and and I'm Glad, but it's the more reflective songs that show just how Field Music have advanced since earlier long-players such as Tones of Town. The Morning Is Waiting For You is perhaps their prettiest song since Measure's elegiac centrepiece Precious Plans. Reminiscent of The Beatles' Golden Slumbers or XTC's most string-driven Apple Venus cuts, here is a song that gently weeps without succumbing to mawkish lyrics or over-pomposity. It's a song to drink in, Commontime's elixir, its eau de vie.

Engaging, thoughtful, skilful and intelligent, Commontime is easily Field Music's best since 2010's Measure and 57 minutes well-spent. Best clear some space on that mantelpiece lads.

This review also appeared on Flipside Reviews

Paul PLEDGER
10/12/2016


Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

14
08
Darkwave Duo, Male Tears Addresses Nightlife Hypocrisy & Abuse With New Single
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 35 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
09
08
Electronic Band She 1 - Him 2 Addresses Breaking Free With New Single
08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album
06
08
Post-Punk Artist Daniel Ouellette Brings Life To A Haunted House With New Album

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

13
08
BLUTENGEL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
LORD OF THE LOST ENSEMBLE
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
SOLITARY EXPERIMENTS
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
LACRIMAS PROFUNDERE
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
10
08
TYSKKE LUDER
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
10
08
OSTFRONT
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
10
08
NOISUF-X
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

14
08
THE SMITHS
There Is A Light That Never Goes Out
13
08
DRAB MAJESTY
39 By Design
12
08
COCTEAU TWINS
Hazel
11
08
IN STRICT CONFIDENDE
Somebody Else´s Dream
10
08
DOWNLOAD
Neuron Proper
09
08
WE NEVER MET
Come Play With Fire
08
08
ROSARUBEA
Window Pain