tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd (ep) review

09/12/2016 : FIELDS OF TROY - Hardship

FIELDS OF TROY

Hardship

MusicCD (EP)
Hard RockMetalprogressive metal

[85/100]   

Self-released
09/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Fields of Troy is a West Flemish band (Torhout) and has finished a new EP. That’s good news for fans of Alter Bridge or Mastodon, because this band, formed since 2011, has similarities with the aforementioned bands.

The intro of the album is an impressionistic and atmospheric instrumental track. With Cold Eyes, the band starts strong. The riffs are groovy and the chorus is catchy. 402 is even a lot stronger and more pungent because of the fantastic drumming. Here and there, some space is left for other components. A top song.

Chapel of Hate starts with a great riff. The track is between nu-metal and hard rock. The quality is just slightly less than the previous two songs. Copper Shores is situated in the musical universe of Audioslave or Velvet Revolver, or in other words: between grunge and hard rock. The Passage is a short instrumental interlude with piano and acoustic guitar, in which the band proves it can do other styles as well.

The voice of Louis Soenens rocks and reminds me of Chris Cornell or Troy Sanders. By Now is a ballad in which Mayke Hoessen (The Voice) sings. A decent ballad, well-built and with a sensible text. Bonus track Static Flow closes the EP with a decent, but slightly less refined song.

Hardship contains 9 songs and two short instrumental interludes. An excellent EP that is recorded at the Oceanside Studio by Ace Zec and mastered by Jacob Bredahl in his Dead Rat Studio in Denmark.

Wim GUILLEMYN
09/12/2016


NL

Fields of Troy uit het West-Vlaamse Torhout heeft een nieuwe ep klaar. Goed nieuws voor liefhebbers van bands zoals Alterbridge of Mastodon, want de band maakt sedert 2011 muziek die ook wat gelijkenissen met genoemde bands vertoont.

De intro van het album is een impressionistische instrumentale track, een atmosferische opwarmer voordat het echte werk begint. Met Cold Eyes gaat de band meteen sterk van start. De riffs zijn lekker groovy en het refrein is ferm en catchy. 402 is nog een stuk sterker en vinniger vanwege o.a. het fantastische drumwerk en gelukkig wordt niet alles dichtgemetseld. Hier en daar wordt wat ruimte gelaten waardoor een aantal andere onderdelen wordt versterkt. Een topsong.

Chapel of Hate start met een heerlijke riff. De track slingert wat heen en weer tussen nu-metal en hardrock. Hij is net iets minder sterk dan de twee vorige songs. Copper Shores situeren we ergens in het muzikale universum waar ook Audioslave of Velvet Revolver rondwaren: tussen grunge en hardrock. The Passage is een kort instrumentaal tussenstukje met piano en akoestische gitaar, waarin de band aantoont dat hij ook nog andere stijlen aan kan, ev. in een progressieve richting. De stem van Louis Soenens is ferm rockerig en doet wat aan Chris Cornell of Troy Sanders denken. By Now is een ballad waarin Mayke Hoessen (The Voice) ondersteuning biedt, met een mooie wisselwerking tussen beide stemmen als resultaat. Een degelijke ballad: goed opgebouwd en met een zinnige tekst. Bonustrack Static Flow sluit de ep af. Opnieuw een degelijke, maar iets minder uitgepuurde song, maar daarom niet minder goed of aangenaam om naar te luisteren.

Hardship bevat 9 songs waaronder twee korte instrumentale intermezzo’s. Een geslaagde en goed klinkende ep, opgenomen in de Ocean Side Studio door Ace Zec en gemastered door Jacob Bredahl in zijn Dead Rat Studio in Denemarken.

Wim GUILLEMYN
09/12/2016


Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
08
Futurepop Act, Voicecoil Reflects On Strange Days With New Album
14
08
Darkwave Duo, Male Tears Addresses Nightlife Hypocrisy & Abuse With New Single
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 35 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
09
08
Electronic Band She 1 - Him 2 Addresses Breaking Free With New Single
08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

16
08
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
SCHANDMAUL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
ROTERSAND
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
VNV NATION CLASSICAL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
COMBICHRIST
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
15
08
FEUERSCHWANZ
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
15
08
UNZUCHT
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

16
08
0KONTROL
Lullaby
15
08
AUSTRA
Utopia
14
08
THE SMITHS
There Is A Light That Never Goes Out
13
08
DRAB MAJESTY
39 By Design
12
08
COCTEAU TWINS
Hazel
11
08
IN STRICT CONFIDENDE
Somebody Else´s Dream
10
08
DOWNLOAD
Neuron Proper