tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

16/10/2015 : FILMFEST GHENT 2015 - Adil El Arbi & Bilall Fallah: Black

FILMFEST GHENT 2015

Adil El Arbi & Bilall Fallah: Black

Movie


[77/100]   

Filmfest Gent
16/10/2015, Didier BECU

EN

Somehow I have difficulties with the films by Adil El Arbi and Bilall Fallah. Cinematic wise they’re brilliant, but do we have to be happy with the fact that Brussels seems to be the ideal decor for tough gangster dramas without asking ourselves whether it is realistic or not? Everyone knows it is. And then there is the additional fact that this duo makes extremely realistic films. They do not use clichés, because the young people are brats who can’t be trusted and whose path you better not cross when you walk around in the Belgian capital.

Anyway, this is about film and at that level Black is a huge step forward. In their debut Image we saw some flaws, but their new one is just perfect. Even more, the two may stand next to Spike Lee without blushing.

Black is about the impossible love between Mavela and Marwan. She is a black girl, he is a Moroccan. Nothing stands in the way of their love, except the two rival gangs to which they belong, and that is another matter…

Black will undoubtedly be, and rightly so, the breakthrough of Adil El Arbi and Bilall Fallah. See it, and feel pity for Brussels! 

 

Didier BECU
16/10/2015


NL

Ergens heb ik het een beetje moeilijk met de films van Adil El Arbi en Bilall Fallah. Het blijven cinematografisch knallers, maar moeten we er nu echt blij om zijn dat Brussel tegenwoordig dienstdoet als decor voor keiharde gangsterdrama’s zonder dat we ons de vraag hoeven te stellen of het realistisch is of niet? Iedereen weet dat het kan. En dan is er nog het bijkomende feit dat dit duo uiterst realistisch filmt. Het gebruiikt geen clichés, want neen, de jongelui in hun film zijn snotapen die voor geen haar te vertrouwen zijn en wier pad je beter niet kruist als je in de Belgische hoofdstad rondwandelt.

Maar goed, het gaat om film en op dat vlak is Black een hele stap vooruit. Zagen we in hun debuut Image nog wat schoonheidsfoutjes, dan is daar in hun nieuweling absoluut geen enkele sprake meer van. Meer zelfs, de twee mogen zonder blozen naast Spike Lee staan.

In Black gaat het om de onmogelijke liefde tussen Mavela en Marwan. Zij is een zwart meisje, hij een Marokkaan. Niets staat hun liefde in de weg, behalve de twee rivaliserende bendes waartoe zij behoren en dat wordt een zeer harde noot om te kraken.

Black zal zonder twijfel, en terecht, de grote doorbraak van Adil El Arbi en Bilall Fallah betekenen. Hondsbrutaal, zelfs een tikkeltje choquerend, maar desalniettemin subliem.

Didier BECU
16/10/2015


Music reviews

27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment
09
06
CELESTIAL NORTH
When The Gods Dance
12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
06
44 years ago Suicide performed their legendary '23 minutes over Brussels'!
15
06
Roobanok: new talent on SkyQode
15
06
Today it’s exactly 43 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
14
06
Industrial band, The Royal Ritual addresses organized religion ethics with debut LP, /Martyrs/
14
06
TELESKOP releases new EP on Progress Productions
13
06
Toxikk Deception releases new album through DSBP Records

Concert reviews

14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

27
06
THE MISSION
Live am See Meschede Germany
23
06
THE JESUS & MARY CHAIN
Trix Antwerpen
22
06
MONROE SUPPORT ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
22
06
ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
21
06
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
AB Brussel
19
06
GARY NUMAN
New Waves Day Oberhausen
19
06
PINK TURNS BLUE
New Waves Day Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

27
06
MOTOR!K
Stunden (Official Visualizer)
27
06
SEA OF SIN
Synchronize
27
06
MERCIFUL NUNS
Lightwaves
26
06
AMBASSADOR21
FUCKALLSYSTEMS
25
06
CIRCLE OF DUST
Outside In
24
06
LUH
Beneath The Concrete
23
06
EARTHSET
SO WHAT!?