tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

16/10/2015 : FILMFEST GHENT 2015 - Adil El Arbi & Bilall Fallah: Black

FILMFEST GHENT 2015

Adil El Arbi & Bilall Fallah: Black

Movie


[77/100]   

Filmfest Gent
16/10/2015, Didier BECU

EN

Somehow I have difficulties with the films by Adil El Arbi and Bilall Fallah. Cinematic wise they’re brilliant, but do we have to be happy with the fact that Brussels seems to be the ideal decor for tough gangster dramas without asking ourselves whether it is realistic or not? Everyone knows it is. And then there is the additional fact that this duo makes extremely realistic films. They do not use clichés, because the young people are brats who can’t be trusted and whose path you better not cross when you walk around in the Belgian capital.

Anyway, this is about film and at that level Black is a huge step forward. In their debut Image we saw some flaws, but their new one is just perfect. Even more, the two may stand next to Spike Lee without blushing.

Black is about the impossible love between Mavela and Marwan. She is a black girl, he is a Moroccan. Nothing stands in the way of their love, except the two rival gangs to which they belong, and that is another matter…

Black will undoubtedly be, and rightly so, the breakthrough of Adil El Arbi and Bilall Fallah. See it, and feel pity for Brussels! 

 

Didier BECU
16/10/2015


NL

Ergens heb ik het een beetje moeilijk met de films van Adil El Arbi en Bilall Fallah. Het blijven cinematografisch knallers, maar moeten we er nu echt blij om zijn dat Brussel tegenwoordig dienstdoet als decor voor keiharde gangsterdrama’s zonder dat we ons de vraag hoeven te stellen of het realistisch is of niet? Iedereen weet dat het kan. En dan is er nog het bijkomende feit dat dit duo uiterst realistisch filmt. Het gebruiikt geen clichés, want neen, de jongelui in hun film zijn snotapen die voor geen haar te vertrouwen zijn en wier pad je beter niet kruist als je in de Belgische hoofdstad rondwandelt.

Maar goed, het gaat om film en op dat vlak is Black een hele stap vooruit. Zagen we in hun debuut Image nog wat schoonheidsfoutjes, dan is daar in hun nieuweling absoluut geen enkele sprake meer van. Meer zelfs, de twee mogen zonder blozen naast Spike Lee staan.

In Black gaat het om de onmogelijke liefde tussen Mavela en Marwan. Zij is een zwart meisje, hij een Marokkaan. Niets staat hun liefde in de weg, behalve de twee rivaliserende bendes waartoe zij behoren en dat wordt een zeer harde noot om te kraken.

Black zal zonder twijfel, en terecht, de grote doorbraak van Adil El Arbi en Bilall Fallah betekenen. Hondsbrutaal, zelfs een tikkeltje choquerend, maar desalniettemin subliem.

Didier BECU
16/10/2015


Music reviews

20
03
LADYTRON
Ladytron
19
03
DER KLINKE
Decade
18
03
ORPHAN GOGGLES/ ACID MOTHERS TEMPLE & THE MELTING PARAISO U.F.O
Split Single
14
03
DEZ MONA
Book Of Many
13
03
DAVID J
Thoughts And Prayers
11
03
FRED ABONG
Pulsing Ep

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

20
03
Today it’s been 29 years since Nitzer Ebb released their third studio album Showtime!
19
03
Just One Fix | Seventeen Years Since Ministry Unleashed Sphinctour
18
03
Today, 39 years ago, Joy Division released 'Licht und Blindheit'.
17
03
The Ignition Of Irish Punk | The Radiators From Space
17
03
A Darker Shade Of Green | The Virgin Prunes On Saint Patrick’s Day
16
03
Today, 35 years ago, Siousxie And The Banshees released the single Swimming Horses!

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

16
03
STEVE IGNORANT (CRASS)
'I think what drives me is the endless injustice that goes through life.'
11
03
SYNAPSCAPE
A Fascinating Challenge About Bringing New Life Into Old Tracks
10
03
BIG JOHN DUNCAN
'I don't like to copy things, I like to try and be original and always happy!'
09
03
MISSING IN STARS
'This music is for everyone, even my closest metal friends support it...'
08
03
DEAN GARCIA - SPC ECO + CURVE
“..I love recording, it's one of the only things that is completely absorbing for me..”

PHOTOS

10
03
DER KLINKE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
A SLICE OF LIFE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
DEAD HIGH WIRE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
HATCHLING
De Klinker Aarschot
06
03
LAIBACH
Botanique Brussel
27
02
IAMX
La Madeleine Brussel
24
02
WULFBAND
De Casino St Niklaas

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

21
03
JO QUAIL
Gold
20
03
CLAN OF XYMOX
Clan Of Xymox - Vixen In Disguise (Official Video)
19
03
HANTE
Living In A French Movie
18
03
HAUSCHKA
Craco
17
03
DIVE
Sidewalk Sinner - Snakedressed
16
03
CHRONIC TWILIGHT
Mark of Cain (official lyric video)
15
03
THE YOUNG GODS
Figure sans nom