tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

16/10/2015 : FILMFEST GHENT 2015 - Adil El Arbi & Bilall Fallah: Black

FILMFEST GHENT 2015

Adil El Arbi & Bilall Fallah: Black

Movie


[77/100]   

Filmfest Gent
16/10/2015, Didier BECU

EN

Somehow I have difficulties with the films by Adil El Arbi and Bilall Fallah. Cinematic wise they’re brilliant, but do we have to be happy with the fact that Brussels seems to be the ideal decor for tough gangster dramas without asking ourselves whether it is realistic or not? Everyone knows it is. And then there is the additional fact that this duo makes extremely realistic films. They do not use clichés, because the young people are brats who can’t be trusted and whose path you better not cross when you walk around in the Belgian capital.

Anyway, this is about film and at that level Black is a huge step forward. In their debut Image we saw some flaws, but their new one is just perfect. Even more, the two may stand next to Spike Lee without blushing.

Black is about the impossible love between Mavela and Marwan. She is a black girl, he is a Moroccan. Nothing stands in the way of their love, except the two rival gangs to which they belong, and that is another matter…

Black will undoubtedly be, and rightly so, the breakthrough of Adil El Arbi and Bilall Fallah. See it, and feel pity for Brussels! 

 

Didier BECU
16/10/2015


NL

Ergens heb ik het een beetje moeilijk met de films van Adil El Arbi en Bilall Fallah. Het blijven cinematografisch knallers, maar moeten we er nu echt blij om zijn dat Brussel tegenwoordig dienstdoet als decor voor keiharde gangsterdrama’s zonder dat we ons de vraag hoeven te stellen of het realistisch is of niet? Iedereen weet dat het kan. En dan is er nog het bijkomende feit dat dit duo uiterst realistisch filmt. Het gebruiikt geen clichés, want neen, de jongelui in hun film zijn snotapen die voor geen haar te vertrouwen zijn en wier pad je beter niet kruist als je in de Belgische hoofdstad rondwandelt.

Maar goed, het gaat om film en op dat vlak is Black een hele stap vooruit. Zagen we in hun debuut Image nog wat schoonheidsfoutjes, dan is daar in hun nieuweling absoluut geen enkele sprake meer van. Meer zelfs, de twee mogen zonder blozen naast Spike Lee staan.

In Black gaat het om de onmogelijke liefde tussen Mavela en Marwan. Zij is een zwart meisje, hij een Marokkaan. Niets staat hun liefde in de weg, behalve de twee rivaliserende bendes waartoe zij behoren en dat wordt een zeer harde noot om te kraken.

Black zal zonder twijfel, en terecht, de grote doorbraak van Adil El Arbi en Bilall Fallah betekenen. Hondsbrutaal, zelfs een tikkeltje choquerend, maar desalniettemin subliem.

Didier BECU
16/10/2015


Music reviews

01
09
A SLICE OF LIFE
Restless
31
08
DICEPEOPLE
One From Many
30
08
VARIOUS
ALCATRAZ METAL FESTIVAL 2018 10-12th August, Kortrijk, Belgium
28
08
LEAETHER STRIP
World Molæster
27
08
EUROPEAN GHOST
Collections Of Shadows
09
08
RAT SCABIES
Rat Scabies - P.H.D.

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

22
09
Today it’s been exactly 26 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
21
09
Today: Russian dark-electro over Brussels!
16
09
Diane Grace releases first of three videos, 'Wedding', taken from their new EP 'Pan!c'!
15
09
Dead High Wire release their debut single ‘Pray For Us’!
14
09
HOLYGRAM as support for VNV NATION - NOIR TOUR
04
09
Two new DAFT RECORDS releases upcoming!

Concert reviews

14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018
16
07
COVENANT W/ STONEBURNER
Live @ Ivy Smokehouse, Washington DC, 15th April 2018
24
05
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
19
03
FEVER RAY
Live @ AB - Brussels - 15.03.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

06
09
STRONG PRODUCT, 0KONTROL
What RUSSIAN EBM and ATOMWAVE are all about
04
09
SOPHYA
Luckily The Human Being Is Bored Easily And Vinyl Saved The Day
01
09
DEAD ASTROPILOTS
There Is Also Something Related To Decay That We Love With Vinyl Records
11
08
MICK HARVEY
Interview with Mick Harvey (The Boys Next Door, The Birthday Party, Crime & the City Solution, Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds, PJ Harvey)
07
08
RAT SCABIES (EX THE DAMNED)
'I never planned to make a solo record... It was something I was doing for fun.'

PHOTOS

20
09
PERSEPHONE
Théâtre Mercelis Brussels
23
08
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
SHE PAST AWAY
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
ASH CODE
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
DAGEIST
W-Fest Amougies
22
08
KIM WILDE
W-Fest Amougies

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

22
09
UNZUCHT
Neuntöter
21
09
CASPIAN
Rioseco
20
09
LOVELESSLUT
AntiYouth
19
09
ERIC13
Devil's Highway
18
09
THE NAMES
Nightshift
17
09
SELOFAN
Sto Skotadi
16
09
SCHWEFELGELB
Bis zum Nächsten Tag