tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

16/10/2015 : FILMFEST GHENT 2015 - Adil El Arbi & Bilall Fallah: Black

FILMFEST GHENT 2015

Adil El Arbi & Bilall Fallah: Black

Movie


[77/100]   

Filmfest Gent
16/10/2015, Didier BECU

EN

Somehow I have difficulties with the films by Adil El Arbi and Bilall Fallah. Cinematic wise they’re brilliant, but do we have to be happy with the fact that Brussels seems to be the ideal decor for tough gangster dramas without asking ourselves whether it is realistic or not? Everyone knows it is. And then there is the additional fact that this duo makes extremely realistic films. They do not use clichés, because the young people are brats who can’t be trusted and whose path you better not cross when you walk around in the Belgian capital.

Anyway, this is about film and at that level Black is a huge step forward. In their debut Image we saw some flaws, but their new one is just perfect. Even more, the two may stand next to Spike Lee without blushing.

Black is about the impossible love between Mavela and Marwan. She is a black girl, he is a Moroccan. Nothing stands in the way of their love, except the two rival gangs to which they belong, and that is another matter…

Black will undoubtedly be, and rightly so, the breakthrough of Adil El Arbi and Bilall Fallah. See it, and feel pity for Brussels! 

 

Didier BECU
16/10/2015


NL

Ergens heb ik het een beetje moeilijk met de films van Adil El Arbi en Bilall Fallah. Het blijven cinematografisch knallers, maar moeten we er nu echt blij om zijn dat Brussel tegenwoordig dienstdoet als decor voor keiharde gangsterdrama’s zonder dat we ons de vraag hoeven te stellen of het realistisch is of niet? Iedereen weet dat het kan. En dan is er nog het bijkomende feit dat dit duo uiterst realistisch filmt. Het gebruiikt geen clichés, want neen, de jongelui in hun film zijn snotapen die voor geen haar te vertrouwen zijn en wier pad je beter niet kruist als je in de Belgische hoofdstad rondwandelt.

Maar goed, het gaat om film en op dat vlak is Black een hele stap vooruit. Zagen we in hun debuut Image nog wat schoonheidsfoutjes, dan is daar in hun nieuweling absoluut geen enkele sprake meer van. Meer zelfs, de twee mogen zonder blozen naast Spike Lee staan.

In Black gaat het om de onmogelijke liefde tussen Mavela en Marwan. Zij is een zwart meisje, hij een Marokkaan. Niets staat hun liefde in de weg, behalve de twee rivaliserende bendes waartoe zij behoren en dat wordt een zeer harde noot om te kraken.

Black zal zonder twijfel, en terecht, de grote doorbraak van Adil El Arbi en Bilall Fallah betekenen. Hondsbrutaal, zelfs een tikkeltje choquerend, maar desalniettemin subliem.

Didier BECU
16/10/2015


Music reviews

18
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Love Was Lies
16
04
AD:KEY
I can't feel you
16
04
PORTION CONTROL
SEED EP3
15
04
ABSOLUTE BODY CONTROL
A New Dawn
15
04
IN ABSENTIA
Charnel House Chatterbox (Remastered 2021)
14
04
THE BURYING KIND
The Burying Kind ( EP )

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
04
36 years ago, The Sisters Of Mercy performed No Time To Cry on German TV!
16
04
On this day, 36 years ago, The Sisters Of Mercy performed ‘No Time to Cry’ on German TV
15
04
On this day, 20 years ago, FAD GADGET performed his first legendary come-back show!
14
04
In memorian.... The Punk Empowerment Of Poly Styrene (° 3 July 1957 †25 April 2011)
13
04
34 years MUTE records released 'Let Your Body Learn' by Nitzer Ebb!
07
04
Skinny Puppy’s Cevin Key zoom chat's with à;GRUMH...

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...
12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.
07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing

PHOTOS

15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England
25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

19
04
SECRET ZOO
Enslaved
18
04
TROUBLE FAIT'
Beads of Emerald
17
04
LYNCELIA
Self-Mystery Girl
16
04
COCTEAU TWINS
Carolyn's Fingers
15
04
FAITH AND THE MUSE
Battle Hymn
14
04
MESH
It scares me
13
04
MONOTONE EXPRESSION
Out Of Tune With Life