tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

16/10/2015 : FILMFEST GHENT 2015 - Adil El Arbi & Bilall Fallah: Black

FILMFEST GHENT 2015

Adil El Arbi & Bilall Fallah: Black

Movie


[77/100]   

Filmfest Gent
16/10/2015, Didier BECU

EN

Somehow I have difficulties with the films by Adil El Arbi and Bilall Fallah. Cinematic wise they’re brilliant, but do we have to be happy with the fact that Brussels seems to be the ideal decor for tough gangster dramas without asking ourselves whether it is realistic or not? Everyone knows it is. And then there is the additional fact that this duo makes extremely realistic films. They do not use clichés, because the young people are brats who can’t be trusted and whose path you better not cross when you walk around in the Belgian capital.

Anyway, this is about film and at that level Black is a huge step forward. In their debut Image we saw some flaws, but their new one is just perfect. Even more, the two may stand next to Spike Lee without blushing.

Black is about the impossible love between Mavela and Marwan. She is a black girl, he is a Moroccan. Nothing stands in the way of their love, except the two rival gangs to which they belong, and that is another matter…

Black will undoubtedly be, and rightly so, the breakthrough of Adil El Arbi and Bilall Fallah. See it, and feel pity for Brussels! 

 

Didier BECU
16/10/2015


NL

Ergens heb ik het een beetje moeilijk met de films van Adil El Arbi en Bilall Fallah. Het blijven cinematografisch knallers, maar moeten we er nu echt blij om zijn dat Brussel tegenwoordig dienstdoet als decor voor keiharde gangsterdrama’s zonder dat we ons de vraag hoeven te stellen of het realistisch is of niet? Iedereen weet dat het kan. En dan is er nog het bijkomende feit dat dit duo uiterst realistisch filmt. Het gebruiikt geen clichés, want neen, de jongelui in hun film zijn snotapen die voor geen haar te vertrouwen zijn en wier pad je beter niet kruist als je in de Belgische hoofdstad rondwandelt.

Maar goed, het gaat om film en op dat vlak is Black een hele stap vooruit. Zagen we in hun debuut Image nog wat schoonheidsfoutjes, dan is daar in hun nieuweling absoluut geen enkele sprake meer van. Meer zelfs, de twee mogen zonder blozen naast Spike Lee staan.

In Black gaat het om de onmogelijke liefde tussen Mavela en Marwan. Zij is een zwart meisje, hij een Marokkaan. Niets staat hun liefde in de weg, behalve de twee rivaliserende bendes waartoe zij behoren en dat wordt een zeer harde noot om te kraken.

Black zal zonder twijfel, en terecht, de grote doorbraak van Adil El Arbi en Bilall Fallah betekenen. Hondsbrutaal, zelfs een tikkeltje choquerend, maar desalniettemin subliem.

Didier BECU
16/10/2015


Music reviews

25
01
POUPPEE FABRIKK
Burn Forever
23
01
STURM CAFE
Fernes Land
18
01
DISTANT VOICES
Long Road to Home
17
01
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Mechanical Soul
16
01
IMPLANT
Phantom Pain
15
01
DD SANCHEZ
StRaNgE

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
01
Exactly 43 years ago, Joy Division played their very first concert!
24
01
Today, exactly 30 years ago Front 242 released the album Tyranny ▶For You◀
24
01
Today, 3 years ago, Mark E. Smith, singer of legendary post-punk band The Fall died, aged 60
22
01
On this day, 11 years ago, Nitzer Ebb released their sixth studio album Industrial Complex!
21
01
Today, exactly 28 years ago, Ministry released Just One Fix!
19
01
On this day, 30 years ago (19 January 1991), The Cure performed at The Great British Music Awards!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'
05
12
CEVIN KEY (SKINNY PUPPY, DOWNLOAD)
'It really has been like the formation of a new band in a lot of ways...'
03
12
ALEX SKOLNICK (TESTAMENT, ALEX SKOLNICK TRIO)
'I was as knocked out as I was hearing Van Halen...'
14
11
PROYECTO MIRAGE
I Think We Needed A Break

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

25
01
STRONG PRODUCT
Trolleybus Park
24
01
BUZZ KULL
Last in the club
23
01
KALTE NACHT
Voices in silence
22
01
SYNAPTIC DEFECT
Tacky games
21
01
ROB ZOMBIE
The Triumph of King Freak (A Crypt of Preservation and Superstition)
20
01
NEW ORDER
True Faith
19
01
CORDE OBLIQUE
Suono su tela