tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

14/10/2015 : FILMFEST GHENT 2015 - Andrew Cividino: Sleeping Giant

FILMFEST GHENT 2015

Andrew Cividino: Sleeping Giant

Movie
Coming Of AgeDrama

[77/100]   

Filmfest Gent
14/10/2015, Didier BECU

EN

Sleeping Giant by the Canadian director Andrew Cividino, was one of the highlights of this year’s Cannes Festival. Reviewers came up with references such as Stand By Me or The Lord of the Flies, but the only thing this coming-of-age film has in common with these two movies, is that the story is also about adolescents who are struggling with their identity, and that the movie is as good as those classics.

Three young guys spend their holiday at Lake Superior in Ontario. There's nothing to do for Adam, Riley and Nate, and so they seek fun in some pranks. It starts quite innocently with throwing eggs, but when the boredom (and the frustrations) increase, their actions are getting more dangerous too.

Director Andrew Cividino made a very contemporary and original film, and just like Harmony Korine (Spring Breakers) he doesn’t avoid the destroying nihilism that is typical of today's youth (yeah, these are the writings of a 47-year-old reviewer!).

Stylistically, Cividino floats between classic arthouse and a modern teen movie without falling into silly Hollywood clichés. Sleeping Giant is therefore a perfect debut, and a film that has all the assets to make it in the theatres. In the future you better pay attention to your film agenda as this one is not to be missed!

Didier BECU
14/10/2015


NL

Sleeping Giant van de Canadese regisseur Andrew Cividino was één van de hoogtepunten in Cannes. De recensenten goochelden met namen als Stand By Me en Lord of the Flies, maar het enige wat deze coming-of-age met deze twee klassiekers gemeen heeft, is dat het hier ook om adolescenten draait die met zichzelf in de knoop liggen, en dat hij minstens even goed is.

Drie jonge kerels die de vakantie aan Lake Superior in Ontario doorbrengen trekken dagelijks met elkaar op. Er valt niets te beleven voor Adam, Riley en Nate, en dus zoeken ze maar het plezier van de kwajongensstreken op. Het begint vrij onschuldig met het gooien van wat eieren, maar naarmate de verveling (en frustraties) toenemen worden hun daden alsmaar gevaarlijker.

Regisseur Andrew Cividino heeft misschien wel een paar keer naar Rob Reiner’s klassieker gekeken, gelukkig heeft hij er iets eigentijds en origineels van gemaakt en schuwt hij net als Harmony Korine (Spring Breakers) het nihilisme niet dat kenmerkend is voor de hedendaagse jeugd (ja, en dat schrijft een 47-jarige recensent!).

Qua stijl zweeft Cividino wat tussen klassieke arthouse en de moderne jeugdfilm zonder dat men in onnozele Hollywoodclichés vervalt. Sleeping Giant is dan ook een debuut dat kan tellen, en een film die alle troeven heeft om naast een bestaan op de filmfestivals ook de reguliere zalen te sieren. In de toekomst hou je dus maar beter je filmagenda bij!

Didier BECU
14/10/2015


 

Next reviews
BORN FOR BLISS • Falling Back To Never
ETHAN FAWKES • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
YABANCI • Chaoss
SHE PAST AWAY • B52, Eernegem (11/10/2015)
SKINDRED • Volume
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Robert Zemeckis: The Walk
ANGÉLINE • Back To Pike Place
MIKE KEIRSBILCK (CONSOULING SOUNDS/9000 RECORDS) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
BORN FOR BLISS • Diary of recording an album
STEVE MOORE • Welp/Cub OST

 

Other reviews from FILMFEST GHENT 2015
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Yuriy Bykov: Durak
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Nanni Moretti: Mia Madre
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Andrew Haigh: 45 Years
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Ole Giæver , Marte Vold: Out of Nature
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Jayro Bustamante: Ixcanul
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Radu Muntean: One Floor Below
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Barry Levinson: Rock The Kasbah
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • László Nemes: Son Of Saul
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Kent Jones: Hitchcock/Truffaut
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Hou Hsiao-hsien: The Assassin

 

Same combination of genres: COMING OF AGE + DRAMA
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Joachim Trier: Louder Than Bombs
LONE SCHERFIG • THe Riot Club
JERZY SKOLIMOWSKI • Deep end
MARCO FERRERI • Storia Di Piera
RICHARD LINKLATER • Boyhood
SUDABEH MORTEZAI • Macondo (FilmFest Ghent 2014)
JOHN KROKIDAS • Kill Your Darlings
JEAN BECKER • L'été meurtrier
LARS VON TRIER • Nymphomaniac
SOFIA COPPOLA • The Bling Ring

 

Same genre: COMING OF AGE
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Marielle Heller: The Diary Of A Teenage Girl
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Larry Clark: The Smell Of Us
REBECCA ZLOTOWSKI • Belle Epine
LUKAS MOODYSSON • We Are The Best
RICHARD BENJAMIN • Mermaids
DANIEL BORGMAN • The Weight Of Elephants
FERNANDO EIMBCKE • Club Sandwich
DAVID WNENDT • Feuchtgebiete
JIM ABRAHAMS • Welcome Home Roxy Carmichael
GREGG ARAKI • White Bird In A Blizzard (FilmFest Ghent 2014)

 

Same genre: DRAMA
NINA GROSSE • Das Wochenende/The Weekend
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Yuriy Bykov: Durak
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Nanni Moretti: Mia Madre
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Andrew Haigh: 45 Years
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Ole Giæver , Marte Vold: Out of Nature
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Jayro Bustamante: Ixcanul
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Radu Muntean: One Floor Below
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • László Nemes: Son Of Saul
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Alejandro Amenábar: Regression
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Thomas Bidegain: Les Cowboys

Music reviews

18
01
DISTANT VOICES
Long Road to Home
17
01
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Mechanical Soul
16
01
IMPLANT
Phantom Pain
15
01
DD SANCHEZ
StRaNgE
10
01
BLACK SNOW IN SUMMER
Lost Feelings
09
01
CAUSENATION
Promises of hope and fear

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

19
01
On this day, 30 years ago (19 January 1991), The Cure performed at The Great British Music Awards!
18
01
On this day, 41 ago, John Foxx released his first solo project album Metamatic!
17
01
Today, 36 years ago, Alien Sex Fiend recorded Liquid Head in Tokyo!
16
01
26 years Divine Rapture | Celebrating The Siouxsie and the Banshees 1995 and final album!
15
01
Brand new Front Line Assembly album 'Mechanical Soul' out today!
15
01
The Dreams Will Always Linger | Remembering Dolores O’Riordan - 3 Year Anniversary

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'
05
12
CEVIN KEY (SKINNY PUPPY, DOWNLOAD)
'It really has been like the formation of a new band in a lot of ways...'
03
12
ALEX SKOLNICK (TESTAMENT, ALEX SKOLNICK TRIO)
'I was as knocked out as I was hearing Van Halen...'
14
11
PROYECTO MIRAGE
I Think We Needed A Break

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

19
01
CORDE OBLIQUE
Suono su tela
18
01
KAI SCHUMACHER
The Hug (Rework by Illuminine)
17
01
ELSJE HELEWAUT & RUDOLF HECKE
Let's Not Give A Damn
16
01
PSY'AVIAH
Not What I Expected
15
01
LEATHER STRIP
Strap me down
14
01
ANATOMIA HUMANA DESMONTABLE
Enfermedad
13
01
MOLLY NILSSON
1995