tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

18/10/2015 : FILMFEST GHENT 2015 - Eli Roth : The Green Inferno

FILMFEST GHENT 2015

Eli Roth : The Green Inferno

Movie
Horror

[79/100]   

Filmfest Gent
18/10/2015, Didier BECU

EN

As horror fans we know that there's a lot of trash in the genre. It is so bad that even a true fan always has the remote control within reach, as fast forwarding is more than once necessary! But when Eli Roth stands behind the camera, you know you’re in good hands. And yes, the creator of creepy horror films like Hostel and Cabin Fever is back and how!

The Green Inferno isn’t very original, because you see that Tarantino’s friend has watched Cannibal Holocaust by Ruggero Deodato a million times before shooting his own modern exploitation film, but the result is amazing and after 90 minutes you know that this film is destined to become a cult classic of the highest caliber.

The story is simple (and even a bit stupid), but that's beside the point, because the fans want to see blood and they get it! A group of student activists wants to protect a forest in Peru. They chain themselves to the trees to stop the bulldozers, but on their way back their plane crashes and they are captured by cannibals.

This information should actually suffice. If you are fond of the exploitation genre, then you will crown Eli Roth as the new king, and if this is not the case, then you're probably already reading the next review. Right, not?

Didier BECU
18/10/2015


NL

Als horrorfans kunnen we het weten: er zit zeer veel rommel in het genre. Het is zelfs zo erg dat een doorgewinterde fan steeds de afstandsbediening binnen handbereik heeft, kwestie van door te kunnen spoelen! Maar als Eli Roth achter de camera staat, zit je natuurlijk gebeiteld. En jawel, de maker van creepy griezelprenten als Hostel en Cabin Fever is terug en hoe!

Zeer origineel is The Green Inferno wel niet, want het vriendje van Tarantino heeft gewoon een dertigtal keer naar Cannibal Holocaust van Ruggero Deodato gekeken alvorens aan zijn moderne exploitationfilm te maken, maar het resultaat is verbluffend en na anderhalf uur weet je dat deze film is voorbestemd om een cultklassieker van het allergrootste kaliber te worden.

Het verhaal is simpel (en zelfs een beetje idioot), maar dat is naast de kwestie omdat de liefhebber bloed wil zien en dat krijgt hij in overvloed! Een groep studentenactivisten wil in Peru een woud beschermen. Ze ketenen zich vast aan de bomen om zo de bulldozers tegen te houden, maar op de weg terug crasht hun vliegtuig en belanden ze bij een stam van kannibalen.

Deze informatie zou eigenlijk moeten volstaan. Ben je gek van het exploitationgenre, dan kroon je Eli Roth zonder te twijfelen tot de nieuwe koning, en als dit niks voor jou is, dan ben je waarschijnlijk al de volgende recensie aan het lezen. Juist, niet?

Didier BECU
18/10/2015


Music reviews

05
10
A SLICE OF LIFE
Tabula Rasa
28
09
THIS VALE OF TEARS
This Vale Of Tears
24
09
KMFDM
Hyena
23
09
DEMI LOVATO
HOLY FVCK
22
09
MISERIA ULTIMA
Witch Heart Apparition
20
09
SYGO CRIES
In Outside Places

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
09
Today, exactly 35 years ago The Klinik released 'Plague'!
24
09
DIE KRUPPS members' side project, DIE ROBO SAPIENS, launches debut album in October!
23
09
Dark electronic artist SINE addresses alternate reality with new EP, Mantis 2
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 30 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
18
09
Industrial Band 40 Octaves Below Brings Retribution In 'Splintered'
07
09
A Slice Of Life releases new album Tabula Rasa on 23rd September

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

29
09
KEVORKIAN DEATH CYCLE
An interview with Kevorkian Death Cycle
28
09
SHE 1 - HIM 2
Interview with electronic duo, She 1 - Him 2
14
09
LIA HIDE
Lia Hide & The Plato-Inspired New Album - An Interview
08
09
JOSIE PACE
Interview with Josie Pace
05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music

PHOTOS

01
10
SHE WANTS REVENGE
Into the Dark - Zonhoven
01
10
KORINTHIANS
Into the Dark - Zonhoven
01
10
THE STRANGLERS
Depot Leuven
01
10
SOVJET WAR
Depot Leuven
01
10
PETER HOOK AND THE LIGHT
La Madeleine Brussel
01
10
A SLICE OF LIFE
Djingel Djangel
01
10
CLAN OF XYMOX
Kulttempel Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

06
10
CHRISTIAN DEATH
deathwish
05
10
THE AMATORY MURDER
The Deadliest Rose
04
10
DER BLUTHARSCH AND THE INFINITE CHURCH OF THE LEADING HAND
O Lord
03
10
OAKTREE
La Fin
02
10
SHADOW TAMER
Shadow Tamer
01
10
INNERWOUD
Grashelm
30
09
PROJECT PITCHFORK
Titanes