tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

18/10/2015 : FILMFEST GHENT 2015 - Eli Roth : The Green Inferno

FILMFEST GHENT 2015

Eli Roth : The Green Inferno

Movie
Horror

[79/100]   

Filmfest Gent
18/10/2015, Didier BECU

EN

As horror fans we know that there's a lot of trash in the genre. It is so bad that even a true fan always has the remote control within reach, as fast forwarding is more than once necessary! But when Eli Roth stands behind the camera, you know you’re in good hands. And yes, the creator of creepy horror films like Hostel and Cabin Fever is back and how!

The Green Inferno isn’t very original, because you see that Tarantino’s friend has watched Cannibal Holocaust by Ruggero Deodato a million times before shooting his own modern exploitation film, but the result is amazing and after 90 minutes you know that this film is destined to become a cult classic of the highest caliber.

The story is simple (and even a bit stupid), but that's beside the point, because the fans want to see blood and they get it! A group of student activists wants to protect a forest in Peru. They chain themselves to the trees to stop the bulldozers, but on their way back their plane crashes and they are captured by cannibals.

This information should actually suffice. If you are fond of the exploitation genre, then you will crown Eli Roth as the new king, and if this is not the case, then you're probably already reading the next review. Right, not?

Didier BECU
18/10/2015


NL

Als horrorfans kunnen we het weten: er zit zeer veel rommel in het genre. Het is zelfs zo erg dat een doorgewinterde fan steeds de afstandsbediening binnen handbereik heeft, kwestie van door te kunnen spoelen! Maar als Eli Roth achter de camera staat, zit je natuurlijk gebeiteld. En jawel, de maker van creepy griezelprenten als Hostel en Cabin Fever is terug en hoe!

Zeer origineel is The Green Inferno wel niet, want het vriendje van Tarantino heeft gewoon een dertigtal keer naar Cannibal Holocaust van Ruggero Deodato gekeken alvorens aan zijn moderne exploitationfilm te maken, maar het resultaat is verbluffend en na anderhalf uur weet je dat deze film is voorbestemd om een cultklassieker van het allergrootste kaliber te worden.

Het verhaal is simpel (en zelfs een beetje idioot), maar dat is naast de kwestie omdat de liefhebber bloed wil zien en dat krijgt hij in overvloed! Een groep studentenactivisten wil in Peru een woud beschermen. Ze ketenen zich vast aan de bomen om zo de bulldozers tegen te houden, maar op de weg terug crasht hun vliegtuig en belanden ze bij een stam van kannibalen.

Deze informatie zou eigenlijk moeten volstaan. Ben je gek van het exploitationgenre, dan kroon je Eli Roth zonder te twijfelen tot de nieuwe koning, en als dit niks voor jou is, dan ben je waarschijnlijk al de volgende recensie aan het lezen. Juist, niet?

Didier BECU
18/10/2015


Music reviews

18
11
AD:KEY
Resonanz
17
11
SWANS
Children Of GodFeel Good Now
16
11
ERASURE
THE NEON
14
11
ASSEMBLAGE 23
Mourn
19
10
DREADFOOL
Atoms for peace
18
10
ANNA VON HAUSSWOLFF
All Thoughts Fly Sweden

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

23
11
The Public’s Image Of Metal Box | The PiL Classic 41-Years On
21
11
The Last Beat of My Heart by Siouxsie and the Banshees was released 32 years ago!
21
11
Isn't Anything (album) by My Bloody Valentine turns 32 today!
17
11
40 years of Grotesque by The Fall
17
11
Lord Of The Lost release Fears - 10th Anniversary Edition -
13
11
Today, 39 years ago, New Order released its debut album Movement!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing
31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

14
11
PROYECTO MIRAGE
I Think We Needed A Break
21
10
DELERITAS
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... Deleritas!
20
10
WULF7
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... WÜLF7!
19
10
LISA GERRARD (DEAD CAN DANCE)
'I love the innocent dangers that can be experienced in musical performance...'
18
10
SERAPHIM SYSTEM
A Glorious Return To Form

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

23
11
FOETUS
Here Comes The Rain
22
11
A SPLIT-SECOND
Flesh
21
11
LIEF HALL
Roses for Ruins
20
11
FEAR FACTORY
Expiration Date
19
11
WULFBAND
Kalt Blut
18
11
NINE INCH NAILS
Closer
17
11
BLACK NAIL CABARET
My Casual God