tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL

18/10/2015 : FILMFEST GHENT 2015 - Eli Roth : The Green Inferno

FILMFEST GHENT 2015

Eli Roth : The Green Inferno

Movie
Horror

[79/100]   

Filmfest Gent
18/10/2015, Didier BECU

EN

As horror fans we know that there's a lot of trash in the genre. It is so bad that even a true fan always has the remote control within reach, as fast forwarding is more than once necessary! But when Eli Roth stands behind the camera, you know you’re in good hands. And yes, the creator of creepy horror films like Hostel and Cabin Fever is back and how!

The Green Inferno isn’t very original, because you see that Tarantino’s friend has watched Cannibal Holocaust by Ruggero Deodato a million times before shooting his own modern exploitation film, but the result is amazing and after 90 minutes you know that this film is destined to become a cult classic of the highest caliber.

The story is simple (and even a bit stupid), but that's beside the point, because the fans want to see blood and they get it! A group of student activists wants to protect a forest in Peru. They chain themselves to the trees to stop the bulldozers, but on their way back their plane crashes and they are captured by cannibals.

This information should actually suffice. If you are fond of the exploitation genre, then you will crown Eli Roth as the new king, and if this is not the case, then you're probably already reading the next review. Right, not?

Didier BECU
18/10/2015


NL

Als horrorfans kunnen we het weten: er zit zeer veel rommel in het genre. Het is zelfs zo erg dat een doorgewinterde fan steeds de afstandsbediening binnen handbereik heeft, kwestie van door te kunnen spoelen! Maar als Eli Roth achter de camera staat, zit je natuurlijk gebeiteld. En jawel, de maker van creepy griezelprenten als Hostel en Cabin Fever is terug en hoe!

Zeer origineel is The Green Inferno wel niet, want het vriendje van Tarantino heeft gewoon een dertigtal keer naar Cannibal Holocaust van Ruggero Deodato gekeken alvorens aan zijn moderne exploitationfilm te maken, maar het resultaat is verbluffend en na anderhalf uur weet je dat deze film is voorbestemd om een cultklassieker van het allergrootste kaliber te worden.

Het verhaal is simpel (en zelfs een beetje idioot), maar dat is naast de kwestie omdat de liefhebber bloed wil zien en dat krijgt hij in overvloed! Een groep studentenactivisten wil in Peru een woud beschermen. Ze ketenen zich vast aan de bomen om zo de bulldozers tegen te houden, maar op de weg terug crasht hun vliegtuig en belanden ze bij een stam van kannibalen.

Deze informatie zou eigenlijk moeten volstaan. Ben je gek van het exploitationgenre, dan kroon je Eli Roth zonder te twijfelen tot de nieuwe koning, en als dit niks voor jou is, dan ben je waarschijnlijk al de volgende recensie aan het lezen. Juist, niet?

Didier BECU
18/10/2015


Music reviews

19
01
MESH
Live At Neues Gewandhaus Leipzig
17
12
STRONG PRODUCT
Product III
11
12
CONFRONTATIONAL
The Burning Dawn
09
12
PARADE GROUND
Sanctuary
08
12
TULIOXI
WILD ITALIAN GAZELLE (Part I)
07
12
GEORGIO 'THE DOVE' VALENTINO
The Future Lasts A Long Time

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
01
OMD, MIDGE URE and more confirmed at XIV. AMPHI FESTIVAL 2018
17
01
no:carrier drops 'Lovesong' video, a cover of The Cure hit in collaboration with Mills and Nadia S.
31
12
Today 26 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Godhead!
27
12
Belgian EBM band Pro Patria is back after 20 years with a new album Back to Basics!
24
12
A Christmas gift... From Seadrake... to you!
23
12
Exactly one year ago Nine Inch Nails released 'Not the Actual Events'.

Concert reviews

14
12
HOCICO, FROZEN AUTUMN, SUFFOCATING MINDS, SOLITARY EXPERIMENTS, T.O.Y., MANOK, STRONG PRODUCT, UNITY ONE
XV Synthetic Snow Festival Moscow
19
11
ORCHESTRAL MANOEUVRES IN THE DARK
OMD's 2017 tour: Guildford performance at G Live, 11. November 2017
10
11
DIE SELEKTION - STORY OFF
Zondag 17 september - B52 Eernegem
02
11
ILLUMININE | WOUTER DEWIT
Cultuurcentrum Mechelen | 27.10.2017
24
10
GARY NUMAN
Gary Numan’s 'Savage' 2017 Tour: Brighton performance at Brighton Dome, UK
27
09
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Front Line Assembly @ O2 Academy Islington, London, 24/8/2017

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

28
12
NERVENBEISSER
‘WE'RE DOING OUR THING AND WE'LL KEEP IT THAT WAY’
26
12
MILDREDA
'It's is very nice feeling to let dark bombastic music hit an audience'
23
12
DER HIMMEL UBER BERLIN
‘EVERYTHING IS FASCINATING IN DARKNESS’
21
12
SCANNER
‘FAILURE IS ALSO AN ESSENTIAL PART OF ANY SUCCESS’
19
12
GEORGIO 'THE DOVE' VALENTINO
'Everything I've learned I know from records... (though I often misheard the words)'

PHOTOS

12
01
DANIEL.B.PROTHESE
CC Het Gasthuis, Aarschot, Belgium
12
01
NOTHING BUT NOISE
CC Het Gasthuis, Aarschot, Belgium
06
01
TB FRANK & BAUSTEIN
The Backpacker Bar Brussel
02
01
SALVATION
O2 Forum Kentish Town, London, UK
02
01
SKELETAL FAMILY
O2 Forum Kentish Town, London, UK
02
01
FIELDS OF THE NEPHILIM
O2 Forum Kentish Town, London, UK
22
12
TJENS MATIC
@ C-Mine Genk

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

19
01
IN DEATH IT ENDS
Pomba Gira
18
01
GARY OLDMAN
The Man Who Sold The World
17
01
WOUTER DEWIT
La durée. - Strings Version
16
01
NO!ON
6
15
01
JAPAN SUICIDE
Circle
14
01
COIL
Tattooed Man
13
01
VIIII
Fury