tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

18/10/2015 : FILMFEST GHENT 2015 - Eli Roth : The Green Inferno

FILMFEST GHENT 2015

Eli Roth : The Green Inferno

Movie
Horror

[79/100]   

Filmfest Gent
18/10/2015, Didier BECU

EN

As horror fans we know that there's a lot of trash in the genre. It is so bad that even a true fan always has the remote control within reach, as fast forwarding is more than once necessary! But when Eli Roth stands behind the camera, you know you’re in good hands. And yes, the creator of creepy horror films like Hostel and Cabin Fever is back and how!

The Green Inferno isn’t very original, because you see that Tarantino’s friend has watched Cannibal Holocaust by Ruggero Deodato a million times before shooting his own modern exploitation film, but the result is amazing and after 90 minutes you know that this film is destined to become a cult classic of the highest caliber.

The story is simple (and even a bit stupid), but that's beside the point, because the fans want to see blood and they get it! A group of student activists wants to protect a forest in Peru. They chain themselves to the trees to stop the bulldozers, but on their way back their plane crashes and they are captured by cannibals.

This information should actually suffice. If you are fond of the exploitation genre, then you will crown Eli Roth as the new king, and if this is not the case, then you're probably already reading the next review. Right, not?

Didier BECU
18/10/2015


NL

Als horrorfans kunnen we het weten: er zit zeer veel rommel in het genre. Het is zelfs zo erg dat een doorgewinterde fan steeds de afstandsbediening binnen handbereik heeft, kwestie van door te kunnen spoelen! Maar als Eli Roth achter de camera staat, zit je natuurlijk gebeiteld. En jawel, de maker van creepy griezelprenten als Hostel en Cabin Fever is terug en hoe!

Zeer origineel is The Green Inferno wel niet, want het vriendje van Tarantino heeft gewoon een dertigtal keer naar Cannibal Holocaust van Ruggero Deodato gekeken alvorens aan zijn moderne exploitationfilm te maken, maar het resultaat is verbluffend en na anderhalf uur weet je dat deze film is voorbestemd om een cultklassieker van het allergrootste kaliber te worden.

Het verhaal is simpel (en zelfs een beetje idioot), maar dat is naast de kwestie omdat de liefhebber bloed wil zien en dat krijgt hij in overvloed! Een groep studentenactivisten wil in Peru een woud beschermen. Ze ketenen zich vast aan de bomen om zo de bulldozers tegen te houden, maar op de weg terug crasht hun vliegtuig en belanden ze bij een stam van kannibalen.

Deze informatie zou eigenlijk moeten volstaan. Ben je gek van het exploitationgenre, dan kroon je Eli Roth zonder te twijfelen tot de nieuwe koning, en als dit niks voor jou is, dan ben je waarschijnlijk al de volgende recensie aan het lezen. Juist, niet?

Didier BECU
18/10/2015


Music reviews

25
04
RITUAL VEIL
Wolf In The Night
20
04
ABYSS X
Pleasures Of The Bull
19
04
APSURDE
See Me Coming
18
04
ANDERS MANGA
Perfectly Stranger
17
04
DARKNESS ON DEMAND
Back To Psychoburbia
16
04
VIKTOR KALIMA
Club Muscle

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

26
04
Dive releases Let Me In 12' vinyl on Out Of Line
25
04
Suicide Commando returns with a hard-hitting club EP release. “Death Will Find You”!
24
04
Rummelsnuff releases double album / best of - “Salzig schmeckt der Wind”
23
04
The Mexican-German band Rabia Sorda has recorded its hardest album to date “The World Ends Today
21
04
Christina Plays Viola teaser for upcoming EP
16
04
Hatchling release their new single 'Holly'

Concert reviews

19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
19
03
FEVER RAY
Live @ AB - Brussels - 15.03.2018
14
03
DER KLINKE - STORY OFF
De Kelk, Brugge - 9 maart 2018
12
03
DISTORTED RETROSPECT
Distorted Retrospect - 6th March 2018 - Charlottesville, VA (USA)
11
03
ERASURE
Erasure “World Be Gone” 2018 tour: Guildford performance at G Live on 20 February, UK
10
03
DRAB MAJESTY
Drab Majesty London show review

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

21
04
SHEDIR
‘I Always Think I’m Gonna Die Tomorrow’
20
04
ADAM USI
You know, art, music and visuals are the package, they are one big thing, they belong to each other. I try to find the jigsaw pieces to paint a all in all picture.
17
04
BYSENSES
We are Just 'People', Not A Superrace
26
03
MANINKARI
‘Sound Has Also A Place In A Process Of Spiritual Healing’
23
03
IRKLIS
‘INDUSTRIAL MUSIC WAS NEVER MADE TO PLEASE ANYBODY’

PHOTOS

16
04
SPARK!
Darkest Night 2018, Jk2470, Retie, Belgium
16
04
LESCURE 13
Darkest Night 2018, Jk2470, Retie, Belgium
16
04
ELM
Darkest Night 2018, Jk2470, Retie, Belgium
16
04
DOGANOV
Darkest Night 2018, Jk2470, Retie, Belgium
08
04
EVANESCENCE
Paleis 12 Brussel
08
04
TRUE ZEBRA
Nachtvlindersfestival Oostmalle
08
04
DARK POEM
Nachtvlindersfestival Oostmalle

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

27
04
LADYTRON
Destroy Everything You Touch
26
04
GUNMAKER
Trust Me Or Lie
26
04
VIOLENCE
Illusions Vives
25
04
DIVE
Bloodmoney
24
04
ECHO AND THE BUNNYMEN
Lips Like Sugar
23
04
HOW TO DESTROY ANGELS
The Space In Between
22
04
NINE INCH NAILS
Only