tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

18/10/2015 : FILMFEST GHENT 2015 - Eli Roth : The Green Inferno

FILMFEST GHENT 2015

Eli Roth : The Green Inferno

Movie
Horror

[79/100]   

Filmfest Gent
18/10/2015, Didier BECU

EN

As horror fans we know that there's a lot of trash in the genre. It is so bad that even a true fan always has the remote control within reach, as fast forwarding is more than once necessary! But when Eli Roth stands behind the camera, you know you’re in good hands. And yes, the creator of creepy horror films like Hostel and Cabin Fever is back and how!

The Green Inferno isn’t very original, because you see that Tarantino’s friend has watched Cannibal Holocaust by Ruggero Deodato a million times before shooting his own modern exploitation film, but the result is amazing and after 90 minutes you know that this film is destined to become a cult classic of the highest caliber.

The story is simple (and even a bit stupid), but that's beside the point, because the fans want to see blood and they get it! A group of student activists wants to protect a forest in Peru. They chain themselves to the trees to stop the bulldozers, but on their way back their plane crashes and they are captured by cannibals.

This information should actually suffice. If you are fond of the exploitation genre, then you will crown Eli Roth as the new king, and if this is not the case, then you're probably already reading the next review. Right, not?

Didier BECU
18/10/2015


NL

Als horrorfans kunnen we het weten: er zit zeer veel rommel in het genre. Het is zelfs zo erg dat een doorgewinterde fan steeds de afstandsbediening binnen handbereik heeft, kwestie van door te kunnen spoelen! Maar als Eli Roth achter de camera staat, zit je natuurlijk gebeiteld. En jawel, de maker van creepy griezelprenten als Hostel en Cabin Fever is terug en hoe!

Zeer origineel is The Green Inferno wel niet, want het vriendje van Tarantino heeft gewoon een dertigtal keer naar Cannibal Holocaust van Ruggero Deodato gekeken alvorens aan zijn moderne exploitationfilm te maken, maar het resultaat is verbluffend en na anderhalf uur weet je dat deze film is voorbestemd om een cultklassieker van het allergrootste kaliber te worden.

Het verhaal is simpel (en zelfs een beetje idioot), maar dat is naast de kwestie omdat de liefhebber bloed wil zien en dat krijgt hij in overvloed! Een groep studentenactivisten wil in Peru een woud beschermen. Ze ketenen zich vast aan de bomen om zo de bulldozers tegen te houden, maar op de weg terug crasht hun vliegtuig en belanden ze bij een stam van kannibalen.

Deze informatie zou eigenlijk moeten volstaan. Ben je gek van het exploitationgenre, dan kroon je Eli Roth zonder te twijfelen tot de nieuwe koning, en als dit niks voor jou is, dan ben je waarschijnlijk al de volgende recensie aan het lezen. Juist, niet?

Didier BECU
18/10/2015


Music reviews

05
07
JAYE JAYLE
PRISYN
03
07
PORTION CONTROL
Head Buried
02
07
AIMA & THE ILLUSION OF SILENCE
Music for certain rituals
28
06
VARIOUS ARTISTS
PERIHELION 2134
24
06
COLD IN MAY
Isolation songs
19
06
UNITCODE:MACHINE
Paper empires

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

07
07
Darkwave Band STYKFAKTOR Reveals New Single, 'Distance' - An Emotional Struggle With Social Distancing
07
07
FRONT 242's Daniel B. celebrate his 66th birthday with the release of 6+6
04
07
Industrial Band RIOTLEGION Announces The Release Of Machine Liberation
03
07
I Wanted To Tell Her by Ministry turns 37 years this month!
15
06
Today it’s exactly 41 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
11
06
29 years of Kraftwerk in The Mix

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

06
07
J.ROBBINS
'When someone has a song and they’re struggling about - what’s the best way to present it...'
04
07
LAIBACH
When they banned Laibach, we said 'great, let's move further'!
27
06
BURTON C.BELL (FEAR FACTORY, ASCENSION OF THE WATCHERS )
'It all comes from my head – whatever I’m feeling, whatever I’m thinking of.'
27
06
RODNEY ORPHEUS / THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
I Think I’m Still As Revolutionary And Opinionated As Ever...
25
06
THE COLOURS OF SILENCE
Isolation Is Good For Art. Embrace It And Use It

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

08
07
RYUICHI SAKAMOTO & DAVID SYLVIAN
Life, Life
07
07
KDF
Innocence
06
07
SNOG
Spätzle Machine
06
07
THE HORRORIST
The Horrorist - One Night In New York City (Uncensored)(Chris Liebing Remix)
05
07
GOLDFRAPP
Winter Wonderland
04
07
LORDS OF ACID
I Sit On Acid
03
07
DEAD CAN DANCE
Eleusis