tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

21/10/2015 : FILMFEST GHENT 2015 - Hou Hsiao-hsien: The Assassin

FILMFEST GHENT 2015

Hou Hsiao-hsien: The Assassin

Movie
Martial Arts

[70/100]   

Filmfest Gent
21/10/2015, Didier BECU

EN

The days in which we could praise an Asian movie every week are gone, but that does not mean that fans of the genre can’t see anything. During the last Film festival of Cannes, the Taiwanese maestro Hou Hsiao-hsien won the prize for Best Director, and after the first seconds it becomes clear why.

The first images (in black and white) are pure Akira Kurosawa, and even if the movie becomes a color film in all its splendor after a few minutes, the spirit of the Japanese master always dominates. We write martial arts, and according to the rules of the game it is, but The Assasin, based on a Chinese short story, is foremost a film that gets his strength from the stunning photography and not from the violence (which by the way only appears in a few scenes, and even in a subtle way). This film tells the story of a woman (Shu Qi) who is trained to be a killing machine, so she can murder a general later.

As a result of its slow approach, The Assassin might not be suitable for every viewer (Hou Hsiao-hsien really does take his time for his shots), but if you adore this kind of cinema, then this Tawainese movie will end up high in your list of 2015.

Didier BECU
21/10/2015


NL

De dagen waarin we iedere week een Aziatische prent konden aanprijzen zijn ondertussen al een paar jaren achter de rug, alhoewel dat geenszins betekent dat de liefhebbers van het genre niet meer op hun wenken worden bediend. Tijdens het afgelopen Filmfestival van Cannes kreeg de Taiwanese maestro Hou Hsiao-hsien de prijs voor Beste Regisseur, en tja, vanaf de eerste seconden wordt het duidelijk waarom.

De eerste beelden (in zwart-wit) zijn Akira Kurosawa pur sang, en ook al krijg je na een paar minuten een kleurenfilm in al zijn pracht en praal te zien, blijft de geest van de Japanse grootmeester altijd deze prent domineren. We schrijven wel martial arts, en dat is het ook volgens de regel van het spel, maar The Assasin dat is gebaseerd op een Chinees kortverhaal, is in de eerste plaats een film die zijn kracht put uit de adembenemende fotografie, en niet uit het geweld (dat trouwens maar in een paar scènes voorkomt, en dan nog wel op een subtiele manier). Deze film vertelt het verhaal over een vrouw (Qi Shu) die wordt opgeleid tot moordenares zodat ze later een generaal kan vermoorden.

The Assassin is door zijn trage aanpak misschien niet geschikt voor iedere kijker (Hou Hsiao-hsien neemt echt wel zijn tijd voor zijn shots), maar wie van dit soort cinema houdt, zal deze Tawainese prent een hoge plaats in zijn eindejaarslijstje gunnen.

Didier BECU
21/10/2015


Music reviews

05
07
JAYE JAYLE
PRISYN
03
07
PORTION CONTROL
Head Buried
02
07
AIMA & THE ILLUSION OF SILENCE
Music for certain rituals
28
06
VARIOUS ARTISTS
PERIHELION 2134
24
06
COLD IN MAY
Isolation songs
19
06
UNITCODE:MACHINE
Paper empires

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

04
07
Industrial Band RIOTLEGION Announces The Release Of Machine Liberation
03
07
I Wanted To Tell Her by Ministry turns 37 years this month!
15
06
Today it’s exactly 41 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
11
06
29 years of Kraftwerk in The Mix
11
06
Sieben covering David Bowie's Heroes live + new CD album 2020 VISION releases this Friday, 12th June!
10
06
29 years of Family Man!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

06
07
J.ROBBINS
'When someone has a song and they’re struggling about - what’s the best way to present it...'
04
07
LAIBACH
When they banned Laibach, we said 'great, let's move further'!
27
06
BURTON C.BELL (FEAR FACTORY, ASCENSION OF THE WATCHERS )
'It all comes from my head – whatever I’m feeling, whatever I’m thinking of.'
27
06
RODNEY ORPHEUS / THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
I Think I’m Still As Revolutionary And Opinionated As Ever...
25
06
THE COLOURS OF SILENCE
Isolation Is Good For Art. Embrace It And Use It

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

07
07
KDF
Innocence
06
07
SNOG
Spätzle Machine
06
07
THE HORRORIST
The Horrorist - One Night In New York City (Uncensored)(Chris Liebing Remix)
05
07
GOLDFRAPP
Winter Wonderland
04
07
LORDS OF ACID
I Sit On Acid
03
07
DEAD CAN DANCE
Eleusis
02
07
LIAISONS DANGEREUSES
Los niños del parque