tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

21/10/2015 : FILMFEST GHENT 2015 - Hou Hsiao-hsien: The Assassin

FILMFEST GHENT 2015

Hou Hsiao-hsien: The Assassin

Movie
Martial Arts

[70/100]   

Filmfest Gent
21/10/2015, Didier BECU

EN

The days in which we could praise an Asian movie every week are gone, but that does not mean that fans of the genre can’t see anything. During the last Film festival of Cannes, the Taiwanese maestro Hou Hsiao-hsien won the prize for Best Director, and after the first seconds it becomes clear why.

The first images (in black and white) are pure Akira Kurosawa, and even if the movie becomes a color film in all its splendor after a few minutes, the spirit of the Japanese master always dominates. We write martial arts, and according to the rules of the game it is, but The Assasin, based on a Chinese short story, is foremost a film that gets his strength from the stunning photography and not from the violence (which by the way only appears in a few scenes, and even in a subtle way). This film tells the story of a woman (Shu Qi) who is trained to be a killing machine, so she can murder a general later.

As a result of its slow approach, The Assassin might not be suitable for every viewer (Hou Hsiao-hsien really does take his time for his shots), but if you adore this kind of cinema, then this Tawainese movie will end up high in your list of 2015.

Didier BECU
21/10/2015


NL

De dagen waarin we iedere week een Aziatische prent konden aanprijzen zijn ondertussen al een paar jaren achter de rug, alhoewel dat geenszins betekent dat de liefhebbers van het genre niet meer op hun wenken worden bediend. Tijdens het afgelopen Filmfestival van Cannes kreeg de Taiwanese maestro Hou Hsiao-hsien de prijs voor Beste Regisseur, en tja, vanaf de eerste seconden wordt het duidelijk waarom.

De eerste beelden (in zwart-wit) zijn Akira Kurosawa pur sang, en ook al krijg je na een paar minuten een kleurenfilm in al zijn pracht en praal te zien, blijft de geest van de Japanse grootmeester altijd deze prent domineren. We schrijven wel martial arts, en dat is het ook volgens de regel van het spel, maar The Assasin dat is gebaseerd op een Chinees kortverhaal, is in de eerste plaats een film die zijn kracht put uit de adembenemende fotografie, en niet uit het geweld (dat trouwens maar in een paar scènes voorkomt, en dan nog wel op een subtiele manier). Deze film vertelt het verhaal over een vrouw (Qi Shu) die wordt opgeleid tot moordenares zodat ze later een generaal kan vermoorden.

The Assassin is door zijn trage aanpak misschien niet geschikt voor iedere kijker (Hou Hsiao-hsien neemt echt wel zijn tijd voor zijn shots), maar wie van dit soort cinema houdt, zal deze Tawainese prent een hoge plaats in zijn eindejaarslijstje gunnen.

Didier BECU
21/10/2015


Music reviews

08
12
NEON TZIGANE
Del Wesh
07
12
FROSTTIDE
Decedents – Enshrined
06
12
MIREXXX
Vault
23
11
JO QUAIL
Exsolve
22
11
SADOMANCER
Dystopian Dawn
20
11
METROLAND
Memorabilia & Memorabilia The Remixes

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

10
12
On this day, 39 years ago John Peel broadcasted Joy Division's 2nd Peel Sessions!
09
12
SID VICIOUS, A Christmas Story | 41-Years Ago The Pistols Deliver Christmas
08
12
Today, 40 years ago, Public Image released its debut album First issue!
08
12
Celebration Of The Lizard | Today Is Jim Morrison’s 75th-Birthday
06
12
Ever Fallen In love? | A Tribute To Pete Shelley (17/4/1955-06/12/18)
06
12
BodyBeats announces complete and 100% Swedish line-up for International EBM day!

Concert reviews

16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018
24
09
MODELE MARTIAL - AUTOPSIE D'UNE OMBRE - IAMTHESHADOW
B52 - Eernegem - 14/09/2018
14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

10
12
THE BLADES
Too Late To Stop Now! | The Return Of The Blades - An Interview With Paul Cleary
05
12
NOIRE ANTIDOTE
'Negative etiquette' resemblance the negative sides of human behaviour but more translated into a feeling.
24
11
DOPPELGANGER
'We are goths, and we only remember the sad stories :)'
22
11
PAUL LEARY (THE COCKY BITCHES,BUTTHOLE SURFERS)
'My mind has a jukebox that I cannot unplug.'
19
11
THE NAMES
We're lucky to have everyone still alive and well, unlike many of our friends of Factory records.

PHOTOS

03
12
WHISPERING SONS
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
JOHN CALE
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
RED ZEBRA
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
GANG OF FOUR
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
FISCHER Z
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
COCAINE PISS
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
DE BRASSERS
Sinner's Day Genk

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

11
12
FUNKER VOGT
Feel the Pain
10
12
THE VIOLENT YOUTH
Rabota (my life is a job)
09
12
0KONTROL
Lullaby
08
12
DICEPEOPLE
Somebody to Love
08
12
RAMPLINGG
Set My Heart
07
12
KATATONIA
Old Heart Falls
06
12
ZANIAS
Aletheia (Official Video)