tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

21/10/2015 : FILMFEST GHENT 2015 - Hou Hsiao-hsien: The Assassin

FILMFEST GHENT 2015

Hou Hsiao-hsien: The Assassin

Movie
Martial Arts

[70/100]   

Filmfest Gent
21/10/2015, Didier BECU

EN

The days in which we could praise an Asian movie every week are gone, but that does not mean that fans of the genre can’t see anything. During the last Film festival of Cannes, the Taiwanese maestro Hou Hsiao-hsien won the prize for Best Director, and after the first seconds it becomes clear why.

The first images (in black and white) are pure Akira Kurosawa, and even if the movie becomes a color film in all its splendor after a few minutes, the spirit of the Japanese master always dominates. We write martial arts, and according to the rules of the game it is, but The Assasin, based on a Chinese short story, is foremost a film that gets his strength from the stunning photography and not from the violence (which by the way only appears in a few scenes, and even in a subtle way). This film tells the story of a woman (Shu Qi) who is trained to be a killing machine, so she can murder a general later.

As a result of its slow approach, The Assassin might not be suitable for every viewer (Hou Hsiao-hsien really does take his time for his shots), but if you adore this kind of cinema, then this Tawainese movie will end up high in your list of 2015.

Didier BECU
21/10/2015


NL

De dagen waarin we iedere week een Aziatische prent konden aanprijzen zijn ondertussen al een paar jaren achter de rug, alhoewel dat geenszins betekent dat de liefhebbers van het genre niet meer op hun wenken worden bediend. Tijdens het afgelopen Filmfestival van Cannes kreeg de Taiwanese maestro Hou Hsiao-hsien de prijs voor Beste Regisseur, en tja, vanaf de eerste seconden wordt het duidelijk waarom.

De eerste beelden (in zwart-wit) zijn Akira Kurosawa pur sang, en ook al krijg je na een paar minuten een kleurenfilm in al zijn pracht en praal te zien, blijft de geest van de Japanse grootmeester altijd deze prent domineren. We schrijven wel martial arts, en dat is het ook volgens de regel van het spel, maar The Assasin dat is gebaseerd op een Chinees kortverhaal, is in de eerste plaats een film die zijn kracht put uit de adembenemende fotografie, en niet uit het geweld (dat trouwens maar in een paar scènes voorkomt, en dan nog wel op een subtiele manier). Deze film vertelt het verhaal over een vrouw (Qi Shu) die wordt opgeleid tot moordenares zodat ze later een generaal kan vermoorden.

The Assassin is door zijn trage aanpak misschien niet geschikt voor iedere kijker (Hou Hsiao-hsien neemt echt wel zijn tijd voor zijn shots), maar wie van dit soort cinema houdt, zal deze Tawainese prent een hoge plaats in zijn eindejaarslijstje gunnen.

Didier BECU
21/10/2015


Music reviews

14
06
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES
Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
13
06
DEF ROBOT
Makers Of Mountains
04
06
THIS CAN HURT
Worlds Apart
03
06
RADERKRAFT
Smart Control
02
06
MASSIVE EGO
Church For The Malfunctioned
01
06
VUKOVAR
Cremator

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

20
06
The Joy Thieves Sign To Armalyte Records And Announce ‘THIS WILL KILL THAT’ EP
19
06
Toronto Darkwave Act DOUBLE EYELID Announces The Release Of 'A Means To An End'
18
06
Dependent Records Announces The Release of German Electronic/Industrial Act FIX8 SED8's WARNING SIGNS
15
06
Today it’s exactly 40 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
03
06
Today, 41 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!
29
05
UK's Electronic-Pop Band EMPATHY TEST Announce The Release of EMPTY-HANDED EP

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

21
06
DOUBLE EYELID
An Interview With Toronto's DOUBLE EYELID
20
06
TED PARSONS
'I got back into doing my artwork. And that makes me happy!'
17
06
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO
'I feel connected to other people because they understand the result of my thoughts.'
15
06
KENNEY JONES
'There's always an element of doubt in anything you do'
23
05
JAKE BURNS (STIFF LITTLE FINGERS)
'We were writing a songs about our own rights'

PHOTOS

24
06
MANGELEXEMPLAR SUPPORT SIGLO XX
Kulttempel Oberhausen Germany
24
06
SIGLO XX
Kulttempel Oberhausen Germany
24
06
ROB ZOMBIE
Graspop, Dessel
24
06
MINISTRY
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
STONE TEMPLE PILOTS
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
COMBICHRIST
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
EISBRECHER
Graspop, Dessel

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

24
06
SAIGON BLUE RAIN
L'Offrande
23
06
SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES
Israel - Live 1981
22
06
KRAFTWERK
The Robots
21
06
NEW ORDER
Restless
20
06
RUMOURS
Cover
19
06
MEAGER BENEFITS
No Regrets
19
06
CREMATORY
Haus Mit Garten