tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

21/10/2015 : FILMFEST GHENT 2015 - Hou Hsiao-hsien: The Assassin

FILMFEST GHENT 2015

Hou Hsiao-hsien: The Assassin

Movie
Martial Arts

[70/100]   

Filmfest Gent
21/10/2015, Didier BECU

EN

The days in which we could praise an Asian movie every week are gone, but that does not mean that fans of the genre can’t see anything. During the last Film festival of Cannes, the Taiwanese maestro Hou Hsiao-hsien won the prize for Best Director, and after the first seconds it becomes clear why.

The first images (in black and white) are pure Akira Kurosawa, and even if the movie becomes a color film in all its splendor after a few minutes, the spirit of the Japanese master always dominates. We write martial arts, and according to the rules of the game it is, but The Assasin, based on a Chinese short story, is foremost a film that gets his strength from the stunning photography and not from the violence (which by the way only appears in a few scenes, and even in a subtle way). This film tells the story of a woman (Shu Qi) who is trained to be a killing machine, so she can murder a general later.

As a result of its slow approach, The Assassin might not be suitable for every viewer (Hou Hsiao-hsien really does take his time for his shots), but if you adore this kind of cinema, then this Tawainese movie will end up high in your list of 2015.

Didier BECU
21/10/2015


NL

De dagen waarin we iedere week een Aziatische prent konden aanprijzen zijn ondertussen al een paar jaren achter de rug, alhoewel dat geenszins betekent dat de liefhebbers van het genre niet meer op hun wenken worden bediend. Tijdens het afgelopen Filmfestival van Cannes kreeg de Taiwanese maestro Hou Hsiao-hsien de prijs voor Beste Regisseur, en tja, vanaf de eerste seconden wordt het duidelijk waarom.

De eerste beelden (in zwart-wit) zijn Akira Kurosawa pur sang, en ook al krijg je na een paar minuten een kleurenfilm in al zijn pracht en praal te zien, blijft de geest van de Japanse grootmeester altijd deze prent domineren. We schrijven wel martial arts, en dat is het ook volgens de regel van het spel, maar The Assasin dat is gebaseerd op een Chinees kortverhaal, is in de eerste plaats een film die zijn kracht put uit de adembenemende fotografie, en niet uit het geweld (dat trouwens maar in een paar scènes voorkomt, en dan nog wel op een subtiele manier). Deze film vertelt het verhaal over een vrouw (Qi Shu) die wordt opgeleid tot moordenares zodat ze later een generaal kan vermoorden.

The Assassin is door zijn trage aanpak misschien niet geschikt voor iedere kijker (Hou Hsiao-hsien neemt echt wel zijn tijd voor zijn shots), maar wie van dit soort cinema houdt, zal deze Tawainese prent een hoge plaats in zijn eindejaarslijstje gunnen.

Didier BECU
21/10/2015


Music reviews

23
02
THE HEAT INC.
EP
23
02
PIG
Pain Is God
22
02
ANTHONY JONES
Farewell To Flesh
18
02
WULF7
Dark Hate
17
02
DEAR DEER / EMBERS
Split
06
02
J:DEAD
A Complicated Genocide

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

01
03
SEX GANG CHILDREN PREMIERE NEW SINGLE - DEATH MASK MUSSOLINI
28
02
35 years ago Siouxsie and The Banshees released the single Candyman!
25
02
Today it's exactly 27 years since Nine Inch Nails released March Of The Pigs!
25
02
Mirror Man | Mourning The Sad Passing Of Talk Talk’s Mark Hollis - 2 ago.
23
02
Today, it’s 43 years ago that renowned BBC DJ John Peel broadcast the second John Peel session by Siouxsie & The Banshees
20
02
This Charming Band | 37 Years Ago, The Smiths Release Their Debut Album

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.
07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

01
03
THE BREATH OF LIFE
CRIME PASSIONNEL
28
02
LCN (LE CHOCOLAT NOIR)
N'Écoutez Pas Tous Les Conseils De Vos Amis (Official Music Video)
27
02
ANTIPOLE
Part Deux
26
02
WILDNORTHE
Swamp
25
02
NEW ORDER
Regret
24
02
MANDIVULA
GHSTNG
23
02
CABARET VOLTAIRE
Nag Nag Nag