tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

21/10/2015 : FILMFEST GHENT 2015 - Hou Hsiao-hsien: The Assassin

FILMFEST GHENT 2015

Hou Hsiao-hsien: The Assassin

Movie
Martial Arts

[70/100]   

Filmfest Gent
21/10/2015, Didier BECU

EN

The days in which we could praise an Asian movie every week are gone, but that does not mean that fans of the genre can’t see anything. During the last Film festival of Cannes, the Taiwanese maestro Hou Hsiao-hsien won the prize for Best Director, and after the first seconds it becomes clear why.

The first images (in black and white) are pure Akira Kurosawa, and even if the movie becomes a color film in all its splendor after a few minutes, the spirit of the Japanese master always dominates. We write martial arts, and according to the rules of the game it is, but The Assasin, based on a Chinese short story, is foremost a film that gets his strength from the stunning photography and not from the violence (which by the way only appears in a few scenes, and even in a subtle way). This film tells the story of a woman (Shu Qi) who is trained to be a killing machine, so she can murder a general later.

As a result of its slow approach, The Assassin might not be suitable for every viewer (Hou Hsiao-hsien really does take his time for his shots), but if you adore this kind of cinema, then this Tawainese movie will end up high in your list of 2015.

Didier BECU
21/10/2015


NL

De dagen waarin we iedere week een Aziatische prent konden aanprijzen zijn ondertussen al een paar jaren achter de rug, alhoewel dat geenszins betekent dat de liefhebbers van het genre niet meer op hun wenken worden bediend. Tijdens het afgelopen Filmfestival van Cannes kreeg de Taiwanese maestro Hou Hsiao-hsien de prijs voor Beste Regisseur, en tja, vanaf de eerste seconden wordt het duidelijk waarom.

De eerste beelden (in zwart-wit) zijn Akira Kurosawa pur sang, en ook al krijg je na een paar minuten een kleurenfilm in al zijn pracht en praal te zien, blijft de geest van de Japanse grootmeester altijd deze prent domineren. We schrijven wel martial arts, en dat is het ook volgens de regel van het spel, maar The Assasin dat is gebaseerd op een Chinees kortverhaal, is in de eerste plaats een film die zijn kracht put uit de adembenemende fotografie, en niet uit het geweld (dat trouwens maar in een paar scènes voorkomt, en dan nog wel op een subtiele manier). Deze film vertelt het verhaal over een vrouw (Qi Shu) die wordt opgeleid tot moordenares zodat ze later een generaal kan vermoorden.

The Assassin is door zijn trage aanpak misschien niet geschikt voor iedere kijker (Hou Hsiao-hsien neemt echt wel zijn tijd voor zijn shots), maar wie van dit soort cinema houdt, zal deze Tawainese prent een hoge plaats in zijn eindejaarslijstje gunnen.

Didier BECU
21/10/2015


Music reviews

19
04
APSURDE
See Me Coming
18
04
ANDERS MANGA
Perfectly Stranger
17
04
DARKNESS ON DEMAND
Back To Psychoburbia
16
04
VIKTOR KALIMA
Club Muscle
15
04
PSY'AVIAH
Lightflare
14
04
MINISTRY
Amerikkkant

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
04
Hatchling release their new single 'Holly'
15
04
Vogue.Noir release Strange.Days
14
04
Mourners release their first songs!
13
04
Empirion sign with Dependent
12
04
Nox Interna will release their EP 'A Minor Road' in May 2018
11
04
VOODOMA releases new video 'High Again' (acoustic version)

Concert reviews

19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
19
03
FEVER RAY
Live @ AB - Brussels - 15.03.2018
14
03
DER KLINKE - STORY OFF
De Kelk, Brugge - 9 maart 2018
12
03
DISTORTED RETROSPECT
Distorted Retrospect - 6th March 2018 - Charlottesville, VA (USA)
11
03
ERASURE
Erasure “World Be Gone” 2018 tour: Guildford performance at G Live on 20 February, UK
10
03
DRAB MAJESTY
Drab Majesty London show review

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

17
04
BYSENSES
We are Just 'People', Not A Superrace
26
03
MANINKARI
‘Sound Has Also A Place In A Process Of Spiritual Healing’
23
03
IRKLIS
‘INDUSTRIAL MUSIC WAS NEVER MADE TO PLEASE ANYBODY’
13
03
PSY'AVIAH
'For me, music was important, because I can lose myself in it and find comfort in it.'
08
03
SOFT RIOT
Jack Duckworth talks about Soft Riot

PHOTOS

16
04
SPARK!
Darkest Night 2018, Jk2470, Retie, Belgium
16
04
LESCURE 13
Darkest Night 2018, Jk2470, Retie, Belgium
16
04
ELM
Darkest Night 2018, Jk2470, Retie, Belgium
16
04
DOGANOV
Darkest Night 2018, Jk2470, Retie, Belgium
08
04
EVANESCENCE
Paleis 12 Brussel
08
04
TRUE ZEBRA
Nachtvlindersfestival Oostmalle
08
04
DARK POEM
Nachtvlindersfestival Oostmalle

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

20
04
MIDAS FALL
Glue
19
04
0KONTROL
Limbo
18
04
CHRISTINE PLAYS VIOLA
Sentenced to fall
17
04
LANA DEL RABIES
Vicious End
16
04
DIAMOND BLACK
Ghost in the Glass
15
04
HATCHLING
Holly
14
04
THE ARCH
Dark Room