tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

19/10/2015 : FILMFEST GHENT 2015 - Laurent Van Lancker: Fallow (Brak)

FILMFEST GHENT 2015

Laurent Van Lancker: Fallow (Brak)

Movie
Drama

[66/100]   

Filmfest Gent
19/10/2015, Didier BECU

EN

We definitely should think more about it and we put it too often in a wrong perspective, but you don’t choose to become a refugee. A refugee is on the run out of fear and the flight is nothing more than the basic human instinct to survive. In the novel De Ontelbaren by Aroma Di Amora's Elvis Peeters, it can happen to everyone, even to the Westerners who too often think that they will be spared from such a disaster, a brief look at the past reveals the opposite.

In this apocalyptic film (made in the Belgian ghost village of Doel, located near a nuclear plant) by Laurent Van Lancker, the western world has become a mess. All people flee, but the ones who can go to “the north” are those with money, even if they have to sell their soul for it.

Brak, also titled Fallow, is a very intimate movie without one glimmer of hope, let alone a better future, and it forces the viewer to think about the refugee problem. The soundtrack is composed by Front 242's Patrick Codenys and you’ll recognize some Flemish starts like Sam Louwyck.

Brak is not an easy film, but an apocalyptic and very black parable. It adorns the Flemish film world that it dares to come up with such a movie in times, ruled by commercial cinema!

Didier BECU
19/10/2015


NL

We denken er veel te weinig over na, of we plaatsen het te vaak in een fout perspectief, maar een vluchteling word je niet zo maar. Het is niet iets waarvoor je zelf kiest, je bent op de vlucht. Vaak uit angst, en de vlucht is niet meer dan de primaire menselijke drift om te overleven. In de roman De Ontelbaren van Aroma Di Amora's Elvis Peeters kan het met iedereen gebeuren, zelfs met de westerlingen die net iets te vaak arrogant denken dat ze van dit onheil zullen gespaard blijven, een korte blik in het verleden verraadt het omgekeerde.

In deze apocalyptische film (opgenomen in de spookstad Doel) van Laurent Van Lancker is de westerse wereld één puinhoop geworden. Alle mensen vluchten weg, maar het zijn alleen degenen die over wat poen beschikken (ook al moeten zij daarvoor hun ziel verkopen) die met een boot “naar het noorden” kunnen.

Brak die ook al de titel Fallow kreeg, is een zeer intimistische prent zonder ook maar een sprankeltje hoop, laat staan dat er een betere toekomst is, en die de kijker dwingt om na te denken over het vluchtelingprobleem. Naast een soundtrack van Front 242's Patrick Codenys, zie je ook een paar bekende Vlaamse koppen zoals bijv. Sam Louwyck.

Brak is geen gemakkelijke film, wel een apocalyptische, gitzwarte parabel. Het siert de Vlaamse filmwereld dat het dit soort producties durft te maken!

Didier BECU
19/10/2015


 

Next reviews
BLACK EGG • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
ARCHITECT • Neon
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Marielle Heller: The Diary Of A Teenage Girl
JOHN LEMKE • Nomad Frequencies
THE SLOW READERS CLUB • Plant The Seed
KRAMIES • Forêts Antiques (live EP)
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Julian Jarrold: A Royal Night Out
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Eli Roth : The Green Inferno
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Dito Montiel: Boulevard
BRUNO BAVOTA • Ten Albums That Changed My Life

 

Other reviews from FILMFEST GHENT 2015
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Yuriy Bykov: Durak
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Nanni Moretti: Mia Madre
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Andrew Haigh: 45 Years
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Ole Giæver , Marte Vold: Out of Nature
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Jayro Bustamante: Ixcanul
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Radu Muntean: One Floor Below
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Barry Levinson: Rock The Kasbah
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • László Nemes: Son Of Saul
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Kent Jones: Hitchcock/Truffaut
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Hou Hsiao-hsien: The Assassin

 

Same genre: DRAMA
NINA GROSSE • Das Wochenende/The Weekend
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Yuriy Bykov: Durak
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Nanni Moretti: Mia Madre
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Andrew Haigh: 45 Years
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Ole Giæver , Marte Vold: Out of Nature
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Jayro Bustamante: Ixcanul
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Radu Muntean: One Floor Below
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • László Nemes: Son Of Saul
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Joachim Trier: Louder Than Bombs
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Alejandro Amenábar: Regression

Music reviews

23
02
THE HEAT INC.
EP
23
02
PIG
Pain Is God
22
02
ANTHONY JONES
Farewell To Flesh
18
02
WULF7
Dark Hate
17
02
DEAR DEER / EMBERS
Split
06
02
J:DEAD
A Complicated Genocide

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

05
03
44 years ago Kraftwerk released Trans Europe Express!
04
03
Electro/Industrial Artist I YA TOYAH Unleashes New Single & Video, 'Out Of Order'
04
03
Firestarter | Celebrating The Sound Of The Prodigy And The Impact Of Keith Flint who past away 2 years ago.
03
03
MATHLOVSKY ANNOUNCES NEWEST SINGLE AND LP
02
03
DINOSAUR JR. ANNOUCE NEWEST LP TO BE RELEASED IN APRIL
02
03
Through The Looking Glass | The Siouxsie & The Banshees Masterpiece Released 34 Years Ago Today!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.
07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

06
03
ECHO BEATTY
SOLDIER ON FURLOUGH
05
03
THE ARCH
Alien Ann
04
03
MERCIFUL NUNS
Broken Column
03
03
BLOODY KNIVES
Reflection Lies
02
03
GAVIN FRIDAY
It's All Ahead Of You
01
03
THE BREATH OF LIFE
CRIME PASSIONNEL
28
02
LCN (LE CHOCOLAT NOIR)
N'Écoutez Pas Tous Les Conseils De Vos Amis (Official Music Video)