tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL

19/10/2015 : FILMFEST GHENT 2015 - Laurent Van Lancker: Fallow (Brak)

FILMFEST GHENT 2015

Laurent Van Lancker: Fallow (Brak)

Movie
Drama

[66/100]   

Filmfest Gent
19/10/2015, Didier BECU

EN

We definitely should think more about it and we put it too often in a wrong perspective, but you don’t choose to become a refugee. A refugee is on the run out of fear and the flight is nothing more than the basic human instinct to survive. In the novel De Ontelbaren by Aroma Di Amora's Elvis Peeters, it can happen to everyone, even to the Westerners who too often think that they will be spared from such a disaster, a brief look at the past reveals the opposite.

In this apocalyptic film (made in the Belgian ghost village of Doel, located near a nuclear plant) by Laurent Van Lancker, the western world has become a mess. All people flee, but the ones who can go to “the north” are those with money, even if they have to sell their soul for it.

Brak, also titled Fallow, is a very intimate movie without one glimmer of hope, let alone a better future, and it forces the viewer to think about the refugee problem. The soundtrack is composed by Front 242's Patrick Codenys and you’ll recognize some Flemish starts like Sam Louwyck.

Brak is not an easy film, but an apocalyptic and very black parable. It adorns the Flemish film world that it dares to come up with such a movie in times, ruled by commercial cinema!

Didier BECU
19/10/2015


NL

We denken er veel te weinig over na, of we plaatsen het te vaak in een fout perspectief, maar een vluchteling word je niet zo maar. Het is niet iets waarvoor je zelf kiest, je bent op de vlucht. Vaak uit angst, en de vlucht is niet meer dan de primaire menselijke drift om te overleven. In de roman De Ontelbaren van Aroma Di Amora's Elvis Peeters kan het met iedereen gebeuren, zelfs met de westerlingen die net iets te vaak arrogant denken dat ze van dit onheil zullen gespaard blijven, een korte blik in het verleden verraadt het omgekeerde.

In deze apocalyptische film (opgenomen in de spookstad Doel) van Laurent Van Lancker is de westerse wereld één puinhoop geworden. Alle mensen vluchten weg, maar het zijn alleen degenen die over wat poen beschikken (ook al moeten zij daarvoor hun ziel verkopen) die met een boot “naar het noorden” kunnen.

Brak die ook al de titel Fallow kreeg, is een zeer intimistische prent zonder ook maar een sprankeltje hoop, laat staan dat er een betere toekomst is, en die de kijker dwingt om na te denken over het vluchtelingprobleem. Naast een soundtrack van Front 242's Patrick Codenys, zie je ook een paar bekende Vlaamse koppen zoals bijv. Sam Louwyck.

Brak is geen gemakkelijke film, wel een apocalyptische, gitzwarte parabel. Het siert de Vlaamse filmwereld dat het dit soort producties durft te maken!

Didier BECU
19/10/2015


 

Next reviews
BLACK EGG • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
ARCHITECT • Neon
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Marielle Heller: The Diary Of A Teenage Girl
JOHN LEMKE • Nomad Frequencies
THE SLOW READERS CLUB • Plant The Seed
KRAMIES • Forêts Antiques (live EP)
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Julian Jarrold: A Royal Night Out
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Eli Roth : The Green Inferno
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Dito Montiel: Boulevard
BRUNO BAVOTA • Ten Albums That Changed My Life

 

Other reviews from FILMFEST GHENT 2015
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Yuriy Bykov: Durak
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Nanni Moretti: Mia Madre
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Andrew Haigh: 45 Years
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Ole Giæver , Marte Vold: Out of Nature
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Jayro Bustamante: Ixcanul
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Radu Muntean: One Floor Below
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Barry Levinson: Rock The Kasbah
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • László Nemes: Son Of Saul
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Kent Jones: Hitchcock/Truffaut
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Hou Hsiao-hsien: The Assassin

 

Same genre: DRAMA
NINA GROSSE • Das Wochenende/The Weekend
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Yuriy Bykov: Durak
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Nanni Moretti: Mia Madre
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Andrew Haigh: 45 Years
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Ole Giæver , Marte Vold: Out of Nature
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Jayro Bustamante: Ixcanul
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Radu Muntean: One Floor Below
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • László Nemes: Son Of Saul
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Joachim Trier: Louder Than Bombs
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Alejandro Amenábar: Regression

Music reviews

19
01
MESH
Live At Neues Gewandhaus Leipzig
17
12
STRONG PRODUCT
Product III
11
12
CONFRONTATIONAL
The Burning Dawn
09
12
PARADE GROUND
Sanctuary
08
12
TULIOXI
WILD ITALIAN GAZELLE (Part I)
07
12
GEORGIO 'THE DOVE' VALENTINO
The Future Lasts A Long Time

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
01
OMD, MIDGE URE and more confirmed at XIV. AMPHI FESTIVAL 2018
17
01
no:carrier drops 'Lovesong' video, a cover of The Cure hit in collaboration with Mills and Nadia S.
31
12
Today 26 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Godhead!
27
12
Belgian EBM band Pro Patria is back after 20 years with a new album Back to Basics!
24
12
A Christmas gift... From Seadrake... to you!
23
12
Exactly one year ago Nine Inch Nails released 'Not the Actual Events'.

Concert reviews

14
12
HOCICO, FROZEN AUTUMN, SUFFOCATING MINDS, SOLITARY EXPERIMENTS, T.O.Y., MANOK, STRONG PRODUCT, UNITY ONE
XV Synthetic Snow Festival Moscow
19
11
ORCHESTRAL MANOEUVRES IN THE DARK
OMD's 2017 tour: Guildford performance at G Live, 11. November 2017
10
11
DIE SELEKTION - STORY OFF
Zondag 17 september - B52 Eernegem
02
11
ILLUMININE | WOUTER DEWIT
Cultuurcentrum Mechelen | 27.10.2017
24
10
GARY NUMAN
Gary Numan’s 'Savage' 2017 Tour: Brighton performance at Brighton Dome, UK
27
09
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Front Line Assembly @ O2 Academy Islington, London, 24/8/2017

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

28
12
NERVENBEISSER
‘WE'RE DOING OUR THING AND WE'LL KEEP IT THAT WAY’
26
12
MILDREDA
'It's is very nice feeling to let dark bombastic music hit an audience'
23
12
DER HIMMEL UBER BERLIN
‘EVERYTHING IS FASCINATING IN DARKNESS’
21
12
SCANNER
‘FAILURE IS ALSO AN ESSENTIAL PART OF ANY SUCCESS’
19
12
GEORGIO 'THE DOVE' VALENTINO
'Everything I've learned I know from records... (though I often misheard the words)'

PHOTOS

12
01
DANIEL.B.PROTHESE
CC Het Gasthuis, Aarschot, Belgium
12
01
NOTHING BUT NOISE
CC Het Gasthuis, Aarschot, Belgium
06
01
TB FRANK & BAUSTEIN
The Backpacker Bar Brussel
02
01
SALVATION
O2 Forum Kentish Town, London, UK
02
01
SKELETAL FAMILY
O2 Forum Kentish Town, London, UK
02
01
FIELDS OF THE NEPHILIM
O2 Forum Kentish Town, London, UK
22
12
TJENS MATIC
@ C-Mine Genk

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

19
01
IN DEATH IT ENDS
Pomba Gira
18
01
GARY OLDMAN
The Man Who Sold The World
17
01
WOUTER DEWIT
La durée. - Strings Version
16
01
NO!ON
6
15
01
JAPAN SUICIDE
Circle
14
01
COIL
Tattooed Man
13
01
VIIII
Fury