tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

19/10/2015 : FILMFEST GHENT 2015 - Laurent Van Lancker: Fallow (Brak)

FILMFEST GHENT 2015

Laurent Van Lancker: Fallow (Brak)

Movie
Drama

[66/100]   

Filmfest Gent
19/10/2015, Didier BECU

EN

We definitely should think more about it and we put it too often in a wrong perspective, but you don’t choose to become a refugee. A refugee is on the run out of fear and the flight is nothing more than the basic human instinct to survive. In the novel De Ontelbaren by Aroma Di Amora's Elvis Peeters, it can happen to everyone, even to the Westerners who too often think that they will be spared from such a disaster, a brief look at the past reveals the opposite.

In this apocalyptic film (made in the Belgian ghost village of Doel, located near a nuclear plant) by Laurent Van Lancker, the western world has become a mess. All people flee, but the ones who can go to “the north” are those with money, even if they have to sell their soul for it.

Brak, also titled Fallow, is a very intimate movie without one glimmer of hope, let alone a better future, and it forces the viewer to think about the refugee problem. The soundtrack is composed by Front 242's Patrick Codenys and you’ll recognize some Flemish starts like Sam Louwyck.

Brak is not an easy film, but an apocalyptic and very black parable. It adorns the Flemish film world that it dares to come up with such a movie in times, ruled by commercial cinema!

Didier BECU
19/10/2015


NL

We denken er veel te weinig over na, of we plaatsen het te vaak in een fout perspectief, maar een vluchteling word je niet zo maar. Het is niet iets waarvoor je zelf kiest, je bent op de vlucht. Vaak uit angst, en de vlucht is niet meer dan de primaire menselijke drift om te overleven. In de roman De Ontelbaren van Aroma Di Amora's Elvis Peeters kan het met iedereen gebeuren, zelfs met de westerlingen die net iets te vaak arrogant denken dat ze van dit onheil zullen gespaard blijven, een korte blik in het verleden verraadt het omgekeerde.

In deze apocalyptische film (opgenomen in de spookstad Doel) van Laurent Van Lancker is de westerse wereld één puinhoop geworden. Alle mensen vluchten weg, maar het zijn alleen degenen die over wat poen beschikken (ook al moeten zij daarvoor hun ziel verkopen) die met een boot “naar het noorden” kunnen.

Brak die ook al de titel Fallow kreeg, is een zeer intimistische prent zonder ook maar een sprankeltje hoop, laat staan dat er een betere toekomst is, en die de kijker dwingt om na te denken over het vluchtelingprobleem. Naast een soundtrack van Front 242's Patrick Codenys, zie je ook een paar bekende Vlaamse koppen zoals bijv. Sam Louwyck.

Brak is geen gemakkelijke film, wel een apocalyptische, gitzwarte parabel. Het siert de Vlaamse filmwereld dat het dit soort producties durft te maken!

Didier BECU
19/10/2015


 

Next reviews
BLACK EGG • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
ARCHITECT • Neon
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Marielle Heller: The Diary Of A Teenage Girl
JOHN LEMKE • Nomad Frequencies
THE SLOW READERS CLUB • Plant The Seed
KRAMIES • Forêts Antiques (live EP)
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Julian Jarrold: A Royal Night Out
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Eli Roth : The Green Inferno
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Dito Montiel: Boulevard
BRUNO BAVOTA • Ten Albums That Changed My Life

 

Other reviews from FILMFEST GHENT 2015
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Yuriy Bykov: Durak
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Nanni Moretti: Mia Madre
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Andrew Haigh: 45 Years
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Ole Giæver , Marte Vold: Out of Nature
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Jayro Bustamante: Ixcanul
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Radu Muntean: One Floor Below
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Barry Levinson: Rock The Kasbah
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • László Nemes: Son Of Saul
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Kent Jones: Hitchcock/Truffaut
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Hou Hsiao-hsien: The Assassin

 

Same genre: DRAMA
NINA GROSSE • Das Wochenende/The Weekend
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Yuriy Bykov: Durak
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Nanni Moretti: Mia Madre
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Andrew Haigh: 45 Years
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Ole Giæver , Marte Vold: Out of Nature
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Jayro Bustamante: Ixcanul
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Radu Muntean: One Floor Below
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • László Nemes: Son Of Saul
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Joachim Trier: Louder Than Bombs
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Alejandro Amenábar: Regression

Music reviews

14
06
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES
Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
13
06
DEF ROBOT
Makers Of Mountains
04
06
THIS CAN HURT
Worlds Apart
03
06
RADERKRAFT
Smart Control
02
06
MASSIVE EGO
Church For The Malfunctioned
01
06
VUKOVAR
Cremator

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
06
Today it’s exactly 40 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
03
06
Today, 41 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!
29
05
UK's Electronic-Pop Band EMPATHY TEST Announce The Release of EMPTY-HANDED EP
16
05
45 years of Diamond Dogs (David Bowie)
15
05
On this day, 29 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
14
05
'Locating Silver Lake' out on DVD today!

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

17
06
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO
'I feel connected to other people because they understand the result of my thoughts.'
15
06
KENNEY JONES
'There's always an element of doubt in anything you do'
23
05
JAKE BURNS (STIFF LITTLE FINGERS)
'We were writing a songs about our own rights'
22
05
TREHA SEKTORI
‘I Have A Feeling Of Constant Dissatisfaction, So I'll Get Back To Work To Make It Better’
10
05
APSURDE
No Matter What We Do, We Will Always Sound Like Depeche Mode

PHOTOS

16
06
WAPPENBUND
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
16
06
PANTSER FABRIEK
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
RIOTMILOO
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
ASHTORETH
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
FOR GREATER GOOD
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
AGONOIZE
Agra, WGT Leipzig
12
06
VELVET ACID CHRIST
Agra, WGT Leipzig

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

17
06
LEVITIKA
Zombie Barbie
16
06
WHITE ZOMBIE
More Human Than Human
15
06
KARIN PARK
Hurricane
14
06
AUSTRA
I Love You More Than You Love Yourself
13
06
FACTICE FACTORY
L'Aurore
12
06
SOWULU
Ginnungagap
11
06
SHE PAST AWAY
Katarsis