tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

19/10/2015 : FILMFEST GHENT 2015 - Laurent Van Lancker: Fallow (Brak)

FILMFEST GHENT 2015

Laurent Van Lancker: Fallow (Brak)

Movie
Drama

[66/100]   

Filmfest Gent
19/10/2015, Didier BECU

EN

We definitely should think more about it and we put it too often in a wrong perspective, but you don’t choose to become a refugee. A refugee is on the run out of fear and the flight is nothing more than the basic human instinct to survive. In the novel De Ontelbaren by Aroma Di Amora's Elvis Peeters, it can happen to everyone, even to the Westerners who too often think that they will be spared from such a disaster, a brief look at the past reveals the opposite.

In this apocalyptic film (made in the Belgian ghost village of Doel, located near a nuclear plant) by Laurent Van Lancker, the western world has become a mess. All people flee, but the ones who can go to “the north” are those with money, even if they have to sell their soul for it.

Brak, also titled Fallow, is a very intimate movie without one glimmer of hope, let alone a better future, and it forces the viewer to think about the refugee problem. The soundtrack is composed by Front 242's Patrick Codenys and you’ll recognize some Flemish starts like Sam Louwyck.

Brak is not an easy film, but an apocalyptic and very black parable. It adorns the Flemish film world that it dares to come up with such a movie in times, ruled by commercial cinema!

Didier BECU
19/10/2015


NL

We denken er veel te weinig over na, of we plaatsen het te vaak in een fout perspectief, maar een vluchteling word je niet zo maar. Het is niet iets waarvoor je zelf kiest, je bent op de vlucht. Vaak uit angst, en de vlucht is niet meer dan de primaire menselijke drift om te overleven. In de roman De Ontelbaren van Aroma Di Amora's Elvis Peeters kan het met iedereen gebeuren, zelfs met de westerlingen die net iets te vaak arrogant denken dat ze van dit onheil zullen gespaard blijven, een korte blik in het verleden verraadt het omgekeerde.

In deze apocalyptische film (opgenomen in de spookstad Doel) van Laurent Van Lancker is de westerse wereld één puinhoop geworden. Alle mensen vluchten weg, maar het zijn alleen degenen die over wat poen beschikken (ook al moeten zij daarvoor hun ziel verkopen) die met een boot “naar het noorden” kunnen.

Brak die ook al de titel Fallow kreeg, is een zeer intimistische prent zonder ook maar een sprankeltje hoop, laat staan dat er een betere toekomst is, en die de kijker dwingt om na te denken over het vluchtelingprobleem. Naast een soundtrack van Front 242's Patrick Codenys, zie je ook een paar bekende Vlaamse koppen zoals bijv. Sam Louwyck.

Brak is geen gemakkelijke film, wel een apocalyptische, gitzwarte parabel. Het siert de Vlaamse filmwereld dat het dit soort producties durft te maken!

Didier BECU
19/10/2015


 

Next reviews
BLACK EGG • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
ARCHITECT • Neon
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Marielle Heller: The Diary Of A Teenage Girl
JOHN LEMKE • Nomad Frequencies
THE SLOW READERS CLUB • Plant The Seed
KRAMIES • Forêts Antiques (live EP)
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Julian Jarrold: A Royal Night Out
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Eli Roth : The Green Inferno
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Dito Montiel: Boulevard
BRUNO BAVOTA • Ten Albums That Changed My Life

 

Other reviews from FILMFEST GHENT 2015
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Yuriy Bykov: Durak
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Nanni Moretti: Mia Madre
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Andrew Haigh: 45 Years
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Ole Giæver , Marte Vold: Out of Nature
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Jayro Bustamante: Ixcanul
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Radu Muntean: One Floor Below
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Barry Levinson: Rock The Kasbah
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • László Nemes: Son Of Saul
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Kent Jones: Hitchcock/Truffaut
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Hou Hsiao-hsien: The Assassin

 

Same genre: DRAMA
NINA GROSSE • Das Wochenende/The Weekend
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Yuriy Bykov: Durak
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Nanni Moretti: Mia Madre
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Andrew Haigh: 45 Years
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Ole Giæver , Marte Vold: Out of Nature
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Jayro Bustamante: Ixcanul
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Radu Muntean: One Floor Below
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • László Nemes: Son Of Saul
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Joachim Trier: Louder Than Bombs
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Alejandro Amenábar: Regression

Music reviews

25
04
RITUAL VEIL
Wolf In The Night
20
04
ABYSS X
Pleasures Of The Bull
19
04
APSURDE
See Me Coming
18
04
ANDERS MANGA
Perfectly Stranger
17
04
DARKNESS ON DEMAND
Back To Psychoburbia
16
04
VIKTOR KALIMA
Club Muscle

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

26
04
Dive releases Let Me In 12' vinyl on Out Of Line
25
04
Suicide Commando returns with a hard-hitting club EP release. “Death Will Find You”!
24
04
Rummelsnuff releases double album / best of - “Salzig schmeckt der Wind”
23
04
The Mexican-German band Rabia Sorda has recorded its hardest album to date “The World Ends Today
21
04
Christina Plays Viola teaser for upcoming EP
16
04
Hatchling release their new single 'Holly'

Concert reviews

19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
19
03
FEVER RAY
Live @ AB - Brussels - 15.03.2018
14
03
DER KLINKE - STORY OFF
De Kelk, Brugge - 9 maart 2018
12
03
DISTORTED RETROSPECT
Distorted Retrospect - 6th March 2018 - Charlottesville, VA (USA)
11
03
ERASURE
Erasure “World Be Gone” 2018 tour: Guildford performance at G Live on 20 February, UK
10
03
DRAB MAJESTY
Drab Majesty London show review

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

21
04
SHEDIR
‘I Always Think I’m Gonna Die Tomorrow’
20
04
ADAM USI
You know, art, music and visuals are the package, they are one big thing, they belong to each other. I try to find the jigsaw pieces to paint a all in all picture.
17
04
BYSENSES
We are Just 'People', Not A Superrace
26
03
MANINKARI
‘Sound Has Also A Place In A Process Of Spiritual Healing’
23
03
IRKLIS
‘INDUSTRIAL MUSIC WAS NEVER MADE TO PLEASE ANYBODY’

PHOTOS

16
04
SPARK!
Darkest Night 2018, Jk2470, Retie, Belgium
16
04
LESCURE 13
Darkest Night 2018, Jk2470, Retie, Belgium
16
04
ELM
Darkest Night 2018, Jk2470, Retie, Belgium
16
04
DOGANOV
Darkest Night 2018, Jk2470, Retie, Belgium
08
04
EVANESCENCE
Paleis 12 Brussel
08
04
TRUE ZEBRA
Nachtvlindersfestival Oostmalle
08
04
DARK POEM
Nachtvlindersfestival Oostmalle

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

27
04
LADYTRON
Destroy Everything You Touch
26
04
GUNMAKER
Trust Me Or Lie
26
04
VIOLENCE
Illusions Vives
25
04
DIVE
Bloodmoney
24
04
ECHO AND THE BUNNYMEN
Lips Like Sugar
23
04
HOW TO DESTROY ANGELS
The Space In Between
22
04
NINE INCH NAILS
Only