tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

19/10/2015 : FILMFEST GHENT 2015 - Laurent Van Lancker: Fallow (Brak)

FILMFEST GHENT 2015

Laurent Van Lancker: Fallow (Brak)

Movie
Drama

[66/100]   

Filmfest Gent
19/10/2015, Didier BECU

EN

We definitely should think more about it and we put it too often in a wrong perspective, but you don’t choose to become a refugee. A refugee is on the run out of fear and the flight is nothing more than the basic human instinct to survive. In the novel De Ontelbaren by Aroma Di Amora's Elvis Peeters, it can happen to everyone, even to the Westerners who too often think that they will be spared from such a disaster, a brief look at the past reveals the opposite.

In this apocalyptic film (made in the Belgian ghost village of Doel, located near a nuclear plant) by Laurent Van Lancker, the western world has become a mess. All people flee, but the ones who can go to “the north” are those with money, even if they have to sell their soul for it.

Brak, also titled Fallow, is a very intimate movie without one glimmer of hope, let alone a better future, and it forces the viewer to think about the refugee problem. The soundtrack is composed by Front 242's Patrick Codenys and you’ll recognize some Flemish starts like Sam Louwyck.

Brak is not an easy film, but an apocalyptic and very black parable. It adorns the Flemish film world that it dares to come up with such a movie in times, ruled by commercial cinema!

Didier BECU
19/10/2015


NL

We denken er veel te weinig over na, of we plaatsen het te vaak in een fout perspectief, maar een vluchteling word je niet zo maar. Het is niet iets waarvoor je zelf kiest, je bent op de vlucht. Vaak uit angst, en de vlucht is niet meer dan de primaire menselijke drift om te overleven. In de roman De Ontelbaren van Aroma Di Amora's Elvis Peeters kan het met iedereen gebeuren, zelfs met de westerlingen die net iets te vaak arrogant denken dat ze van dit onheil zullen gespaard blijven, een korte blik in het verleden verraadt het omgekeerde.

In deze apocalyptische film (opgenomen in de spookstad Doel) van Laurent Van Lancker is de westerse wereld één puinhoop geworden. Alle mensen vluchten weg, maar het zijn alleen degenen die over wat poen beschikken (ook al moeten zij daarvoor hun ziel verkopen) die met een boot “naar het noorden” kunnen.

Brak die ook al de titel Fallow kreeg, is een zeer intimistische prent zonder ook maar een sprankeltje hoop, laat staan dat er een betere toekomst is, en die de kijker dwingt om na te denken over het vluchtelingprobleem. Naast een soundtrack van Front 242's Patrick Codenys, zie je ook een paar bekende Vlaamse koppen zoals bijv. Sam Louwyck.

Brak is geen gemakkelijke film, wel een apocalyptische, gitzwarte parabel. Het siert de Vlaamse filmwereld dat het dit soort producties durft te maken!

Didier BECU
19/10/2015


 

Next reviews
BLACK EGG • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
ARCHITECT • Neon
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Marielle Heller: The Diary Of A Teenage Girl
JOHN LEMKE • Nomad Frequencies
THE SLOW READERS CLUB • Plant The Seed
KRAMIES • Forêts Antiques (live EP)
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Julian Jarrold: A Royal Night Out
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Eli Roth : The Green Inferno
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Dito Montiel: Boulevard
BRUNO BAVOTA • Ten Albums That Changed My Life

 

Other reviews from FILMFEST GHENT 2015
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Yuriy Bykov: Durak
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Nanni Moretti: Mia Madre
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Andrew Haigh: 45 Years
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Ole Giæver , Marte Vold: Out of Nature
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Jayro Bustamante: Ixcanul
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Radu Muntean: One Floor Below
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Barry Levinson: Rock The Kasbah
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • László Nemes: Son Of Saul
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Kent Jones: Hitchcock/Truffaut
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Hou Hsiao-hsien: The Assassin

 

Same genre: DRAMA
NINA GROSSE • Das Wochenende/The Weekend
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Yuriy Bykov: Durak
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Nanni Moretti: Mia Madre
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Andrew Haigh: 45 Years
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Ole Giæver , Marte Vold: Out of Nature
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Jayro Bustamante: Ixcanul
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Radu Muntean: One Floor Below
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • László Nemes: Son Of Saul
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Joachim Trier: Louder Than Bombs
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Alejandro Amenábar: Regression

Music reviews

10
01
THE MARS MODEL
Primal Urge
10
01
ELM
Penetrator
09
01
THE JUGGERNAUTS
Fear
09
01
DE DELVERS
Hart in neonlicht
20
12
TC75
5th
19
12
THE GODFATHERS
ALPHA BETA GAMMA DELTA (2022)

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

07
02
Gimme Danger | The Stooges Raw Power Is 50-Today!
06
02
On this day, 41 years ago, the Kraftwerk single ‘The Model’ reached the Top 1 of the UK Singles Chart!
05
02
Plastic Passion | This Day 43 Years Ago, The Cure Release Boys Don’t Cry!
05
02
33 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Lightningman
04
02
Gold Star Punk | The Ramones End Of The Century At 43!
03
02
This month, 37 years ago, Front Line Assembly released Corrosion!

Concert reviews

02
11
AKALOTZ - DREADFOOL - DELERITAS - WULF7
EBM NIGHT IN LIEGE...
05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

22
12
DERISION CULT
An Interview With Dave McAnally of Derision Cult
16
12
OK LION
I didn't convince Patrick Codenys to work with us, it was his idea!
30
11
THE JUGGERNAUTS
Let’s leave the love dramas and (fake) feel good theme to pop music and the brain dead Tik-Tok generation.
28
11
MONSTERGOD
With their most recent release “Ozymandias” Monstergod prove that dark sounds and poetry may go hand in hand to reach the effect that is both mesmerizing and dynamic in the most excellent hard-hitting way.
29
10
PSY'AVIAH
Wanting to have everything under control is problematic, as is wanting to have nothing under control.

PHOTOS

05
02
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Matrix Bochum
05
02
JAN REVOLUTION
Matrix Bochum
30
01
THE RESIDENTS
Botanique Brussel
23
01
NITZER EBB JOIN THE FORCES TOUR 23
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen
23
01
FRONT 242 JOIN THE FORCES TOUR 23
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen
23
01
LIEBKNECHT JOIN THE FORCES TOUR 23
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen
01
01
NNHMN
In Between Days Meschede Stadthalle

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

07
02
SELOFAN
Sto Skotadi
06
02
FRONTMASCHINE
EXP9
05
02
AFFET ROBOT
Fırtına
04
02
DEPECHE MODE
Never Let Me Down again
03
02
SCHULTZ
Rats In The Sewers
02
02
NACHTFALTER
Maschinenklang
01
02
THE KLINIK
Face To Face