tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

16/10/2015 : FILMFEST GHENT 2015 - Manu Riche: Problemski Hotel

FILMFEST GHENT 2015

Manu Riche: Problemski Hotel

Movie


[79/100]   

Filmfest Gent
16/10/2015, Didier BECU

EN

A feelgood film about the refugee problem, haven’t we seen that beforer? Yes, Samba with Charlotte Gainsbourg was such a film, but the film debut of the former documentary maker Manu Riche (Tempo of a Restless Soul) is based on the book by Dimitri Verhulst and shows something entirely different.

You can’t say it’s a blessing in disguise, but when Riche made his film, he could not know that the refugee problem would be the topic of thes year about which everyone has an opinion.

Riche is fairly neutral, but shows in a light-hearted way (the classical laughter and tears) that in 2015 someone can be unwanted on our planet because he has to deal with prejudices, and especially as he is not able to show a scrap of paper.

The cultural contradictions are funny and might cause misunderstandings, but they are never a brake on solidarity.

The film suffers from a somewhat stupid title, but is certainly not the political statement of a leftie, rather an intelligent comedy that shows that every asylum seeker experiences his own drama.

Didier BECU
16/10/2015


NL

Een feelgoodfilm over het vluchtelingprobleem, hebben we dat dit jaar al niet eens eerder gehad? Jazeker, Samba met Charlotte Gainsbourg was ook zo’n film, toch tapt de voormalige documentairemaker Manu Riche (Tempo of a Restless Soul) met de verfilming van het gelijknamige boek van Dimitri Verhulst uit een heel ander vaatje.

Een geluk bij een ongeluk kun je het natuurlijk niet noemen, maar toen Riche zijn film draaide, kon hij natuurlijk niet weten dat het vluchtelingenprobleem de topic van dit jaar zou worden waarover iedereen wel een mening heeft.

Riche is vrij neutraal, maar toont op een luchtige manier (de klassieke lach en traan) dat iemand anno 2015 ongewenst kan zijn op onze planeet omdat hij af te rekenen heeft met vooroordelen, en vooral omdat hij niet in staat is om een vodje papier voor te leggen.

Het zijn vooral de culturele tegenstellingen die grappig zijn, ze zorgen misschien voor misverstanden, maar ze zijn nooit een rem op de solidariteit.

De film die wat gebukt gaat onder een iewat ongelukkige titel is dus zeker geen politiek statement van een linkse rakker, eerder een intelligente komedie die toont dat iedere asielzoeker een drama meesleept.

Didier BECU
16/10/2015


Music reviews

27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment
09
06
CELESTIAL NORTH
When The Gods Dance
12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
06
44 years ago Suicide performed their legendary '23 minutes over Brussels'!
15
06
Roobanok: new talent on SkyQode
15
06
Today it’s exactly 43 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
14
06
Industrial band, The Royal Ritual addresses organized religion ethics with debut LP, /Martyrs/
14
06
TELESKOP releases new EP on Progress Productions
13
06
Toxikk Deception releases new album through DSBP Records

Concert reviews

14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

27
06
THE MISSION
Live am See Meschede Germany
23
06
THE JESUS & MARY CHAIN
Trix Antwerpen
22
06
MONROE SUPPORT ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
22
06
ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
21
06
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
AB Brussel
19
06
GARY NUMAN
New Waves Day Oberhausen
19
06
PINK TURNS BLUE
New Waves Day Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

27
06
MOTOR!K
Stunden (Official Visualizer)
27
06
SEA OF SIN
Synchronize
27
06
MERCIFUL NUNS
Lightwaves
26
06
AMBASSADOR21
FUCKALLSYSTEMS
25
06
CIRCLE OF DUST
Outside In
24
06
LUH
Beneath The Concrete
23
06
EARTHSET
SO WHAT!?