tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

16/10/2015 : FILMFEST GHENT 2015 - Manu Riche: Problemski Hotel

FILMFEST GHENT 2015

Manu Riche: Problemski Hotel

Movie


[79/100]   

Filmfest Gent
16/10/2015, Didier BECU

EN

A feelgood film about the refugee problem, haven’t we seen that beforer? Yes, Samba with Charlotte Gainsbourg was such a film, but the film debut of the former documentary maker Manu Riche (Tempo of a Restless Soul) is based on the book by Dimitri Verhulst and shows something entirely different.

You can’t say it’s a blessing in disguise, but when Riche made his film, he could not know that the refugee problem would be the topic of thes year about which everyone has an opinion.

Riche is fairly neutral, but shows in a light-hearted way (the classical laughter and tears) that in 2015 someone can be unwanted on our planet because he has to deal with prejudices, and especially as he is not able to show a scrap of paper.

The cultural contradictions are funny and might cause misunderstandings, but they are never a brake on solidarity.

The film suffers from a somewhat stupid title, but is certainly not the political statement of a leftie, rather an intelligent comedy that shows that every asylum seeker experiences his own drama.

Didier BECU
16/10/2015


NL

Een feelgoodfilm over het vluchtelingprobleem, hebben we dat dit jaar al niet eens eerder gehad? Jazeker, Samba met Charlotte Gainsbourg was ook zo’n film, toch tapt de voormalige documentairemaker Manu Riche (Tempo of a Restless Soul) met de verfilming van het gelijknamige boek van Dimitri Verhulst uit een heel ander vaatje.

Een geluk bij een ongeluk kun je het natuurlijk niet noemen, maar toen Riche zijn film draaide, kon hij natuurlijk niet weten dat het vluchtelingenprobleem de topic van dit jaar zou worden waarover iedereen wel een mening heeft.

Riche is vrij neutraal, maar toont op een luchtige manier (de klassieke lach en traan) dat iemand anno 2015 ongewenst kan zijn op onze planeet omdat hij af te rekenen heeft met vooroordelen, en vooral omdat hij niet in staat is om een vodje papier voor te leggen.

Het zijn vooral de culturele tegenstellingen die grappig zijn, ze zorgen misschien voor misverstanden, maar ze zijn nooit een rem op de solidariteit.

De film die wat gebukt gaat onder een iewat ongelukkige titel is dus zeker geen politiek statement van een linkse rakker, eerder een intelligente komedie die toont dat iedere asielzoeker een drama meesleept.

Didier BECU
16/10/2015


Music reviews

25
04
RITUAL VEIL
Wolf In The Night
20
04
ABYSS X
Pleasures Of The Bull
19
04
APSURDE
See Me Coming
18
04
ANDERS MANGA
Perfectly Stranger
17
04
DARKNESS ON DEMAND
Back To Psychoburbia
16
04
VIKTOR KALIMA
Club Muscle

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

26
04
Dive releases Let Me In 12' vinyl on Out Of Line
25
04
Suicide Commando returns with a hard-hitting club EP release. “Death Will Find You”!
24
04
Rummelsnuff releases double album / best of - “Salzig schmeckt der Wind”
23
04
The Mexican-German band Rabia Sorda has recorded its hardest album to date “The World Ends Today
21
04
Christina Plays Viola teaser for upcoming EP
16
04
Hatchling release their new single 'Holly'

Concert reviews

19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
19
03
FEVER RAY
Live @ AB - Brussels - 15.03.2018
14
03
DER KLINKE - STORY OFF
De Kelk, Brugge - 9 maart 2018
12
03
DISTORTED RETROSPECT
Distorted Retrospect - 6th March 2018 - Charlottesville, VA (USA)
11
03
ERASURE
Erasure “World Be Gone” 2018 tour: Guildford performance at G Live on 20 February, UK
10
03
DRAB MAJESTY
Drab Majesty London show review

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

21
04
SHEDIR
‘I Always Think I’m Gonna Die Tomorrow’
20
04
ADAM USI
You know, art, music and visuals are the package, they are one big thing, they belong to each other. I try to find the jigsaw pieces to paint a all in all picture.
17
04
BYSENSES
We are Just 'People', Not A Superrace
26
03
MANINKARI
‘Sound Has Also A Place In A Process Of Spiritual Healing’
23
03
IRKLIS
‘INDUSTRIAL MUSIC WAS NEVER MADE TO PLEASE ANYBODY’

PHOTOS

16
04
SPARK!
Darkest Night 2018, Jk2470, Retie, Belgium
16
04
LESCURE 13
Darkest Night 2018, Jk2470, Retie, Belgium
16
04
ELM
Darkest Night 2018, Jk2470, Retie, Belgium
16
04
DOGANOV
Darkest Night 2018, Jk2470, Retie, Belgium
08
04
EVANESCENCE
Paleis 12 Brussel
08
04
TRUE ZEBRA
Nachtvlindersfestival Oostmalle
08
04
DARK POEM
Nachtvlindersfestival Oostmalle

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

27
04
LADYTRON
Destroy Everything You Touch
26
04
GUNMAKER
Trust Me Or Lie
26
04
VIOLENCE
Illusions Vives
25
04
DIVE
Bloodmoney
24
04
ECHO AND THE BUNNYMEN
Lips Like Sugar
23
04
HOW TO DESTROY ANGELS
The Space In Between
22
04
NINE INCH NAILS
Only