tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

16/10/2015 : FILMFEST GHENT 2015 - Manu Riche: Problemski Hotel

FILMFEST GHENT 2015

Manu Riche: Problemski Hotel

Movie


[79/100]   

Filmfest Gent
16/10/2015, Didier BECU

EN

A feelgood film about the refugee problem, haven’t we seen that beforer? Yes, Samba with Charlotte Gainsbourg was such a film, but the film debut of the former documentary maker Manu Riche (Tempo of a Restless Soul) is based on the book by Dimitri Verhulst and shows something entirely different.

You can’t say it’s a blessing in disguise, but when Riche made his film, he could not know that the refugee problem would be the topic of thes year about which everyone has an opinion.

Riche is fairly neutral, but shows in a light-hearted way (the classical laughter and tears) that in 2015 someone can be unwanted on our planet because he has to deal with prejudices, and especially as he is not able to show a scrap of paper.

The cultural contradictions are funny and might cause misunderstandings, but they are never a brake on solidarity.

The film suffers from a somewhat stupid title, but is certainly not the political statement of a leftie, rather an intelligent comedy that shows that every asylum seeker experiences his own drama.

Didier BECU
16/10/2015


NL

Een feelgoodfilm over het vluchtelingprobleem, hebben we dat dit jaar al niet eens eerder gehad? Jazeker, Samba met Charlotte Gainsbourg was ook zo’n film, toch tapt de voormalige documentairemaker Manu Riche (Tempo of a Restless Soul) met de verfilming van het gelijknamige boek van Dimitri Verhulst uit een heel ander vaatje.

Een geluk bij een ongeluk kun je het natuurlijk niet noemen, maar toen Riche zijn film draaide, kon hij natuurlijk niet weten dat het vluchtelingenprobleem de topic van dit jaar zou worden waarover iedereen wel een mening heeft.

Riche is vrij neutraal, maar toont op een luchtige manier (de klassieke lach en traan) dat iemand anno 2015 ongewenst kan zijn op onze planeet omdat hij af te rekenen heeft met vooroordelen, en vooral omdat hij niet in staat is om een vodje papier voor te leggen.

Het zijn vooral de culturele tegenstellingen die grappig zijn, ze zorgen misschien voor misverstanden, maar ze zijn nooit een rem op de solidariteit.

De film die wat gebukt gaat onder een iewat ongelukkige titel is dus zeker geen politiek statement van een linkse rakker, eerder een intelligente komedie die toont dat iedere asielzoeker een drama meesleept.

Didier BECU
16/10/2015


Music reviews

20
01
DEAD HIGH WIRE
Pray for us
19
01
DIVE
Live Maschinenfest 2017
16
01
EVI VINE
Black Light White Dark
08
01
DAEMONIA NYMPHE
PSYCHOSTASIA
28
12
MISS CHAMBERTALE
Berries and Tales
22
12
PAUL MADDOG AND HIS BAND AISLING
Winter In London

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

22
01
On this day, exactly 9 years ago, Nitzer Ebb released their sixth studio album Industrial Complex on Major Records!
22
01
This month 47 years ago KRAFTWERK released their second studio album KRAFTWERK 2
21
01
Today, exactly 26 years ago, Ministry released Just One Fix!
19
01
CANADIAN DUO FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY TO RELEASE NEW ALBUM 'WAKE UP THE COMA'
18
01
Israeli Dark Synthpop Artist LIYA Announces The Release Of LISTEN
17
01
MY LIFE WITH THE THRILL KILL KULT Reveal New Single, 'The Chains of Fame' Off Upcoming LP

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
01
WULFBAND
If you feel that guitars would destroy whatever you think Wulfband is about, stay at home
17
01
ANY SECOND
The Eighth Sin Is The Human Himself
31
12
SIMI NAH
Balancing between the 'normal' world and the 'artistic' world was frustrating, but perhaps led us to make our best record ever!
27
12
ALIEN SEX FIEND
Alien Sex Fiend Is A State Of Mind And Not A Choreographed Or Rehearsed Thing
24
12
SIEBEN
The European Union are kinder overlords than the ones we may well inherit, out on our own, pretending we are not part of the world.

PHOTOS

20
12
COVENANT
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
LEAETHER STRIP
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
AGENT SIDE GRINDER
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
GERTRUD STEIN
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
NZ
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
STAHLR
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
AMNISTIA
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

22
01
MILA MAR
Haime
21
01
THE CURE
Pictures Of You, Live in Antwerp, 2016
20
01
SOPHIA (S)
Herbstwerk
19
01
OY
A New Planet Is Born
18
01
HEIMATAERDE
Hoch hinaus
17
01
CENT ANS DE SOLITUDE
The unacceptable face of beauty
16
01
PLANETDAMAGE
Hi Rez Lo Life