tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

16/10/2015 : FILMFEST GHENT 2015 - Manu Riche: Problemski Hotel

FILMFEST GHENT 2015

Manu Riche: Problemski Hotel

Movie


[79/100]   

Filmfest Gent
16/10/2015, Didier BECU

EN

A feelgood film about the refugee problem, haven’t we seen that beforer? Yes, Samba with Charlotte Gainsbourg was such a film, but the film debut of the former documentary maker Manu Riche (Tempo of a Restless Soul) is based on the book by Dimitri Verhulst and shows something entirely different.

You can’t say it’s a blessing in disguise, but when Riche made his film, he could not know that the refugee problem would be the topic of thes year about which everyone has an opinion.

Riche is fairly neutral, but shows in a light-hearted way (the classical laughter and tears) that in 2015 someone can be unwanted on our planet because he has to deal with prejudices, and especially as he is not able to show a scrap of paper.

The cultural contradictions are funny and might cause misunderstandings, but they are never a brake on solidarity.

The film suffers from a somewhat stupid title, but is certainly not the political statement of a leftie, rather an intelligent comedy that shows that every asylum seeker experiences his own drama.

Didier BECU
16/10/2015


NL

Een feelgoodfilm over het vluchtelingprobleem, hebben we dat dit jaar al niet eens eerder gehad? Jazeker, Samba met Charlotte Gainsbourg was ook zo’n film, toch tapt de voormalige documentairemaker Manu Riche (Tempo of a Restless Soul) met de verfilming van het gelijknamige boek van Dimitri Verhulst uit een heel ander vaatje.

Een geluk bij een ongeluk kun je het natuurlijk niet noemen, maar toen Riche zijn film draaide, kon hij natuurlijk niet weten dat het vluchtelingenprobleem de topic van dit jaar zou worden waarover iedereen wel een mening heeft.

Riche is vrij neutraal, maar toont op een luchtige manier (de klassieke lach en traan) dat iemand anno 2015 ongewenst kan zijn op onze planeet omdat hij af te rekenen heeft met vooroordelen, en vooral omdat hij niet in staat is om een vodje papier voor te leggen.

Het zijn vooral de culturele tegenstellingen die grappig zijn, ze zorgen misschien voor misverstanden, maar ze zijn nooit een rem op de solidariteit.

De film die wat gebukt gaat onder een iewat ongelukkige titel is dus zeker geen politiek statement van een linkse rakker, eerder een intelligente komedie die toont dat iedere asielzoeker een drama meesleept.

Didier BECU
16/10/2015


Music reviews

29
05
THE MIDNIGHT COMPUTERS
Anxious
03
05
BOYTRONIC
The Robot Treatment
02
05
ARMAGEDDON DILDOS
Heut Nacht
01
05
BLUTENGEL + HOCICO
Obscured
30
04
STRIKKLAND
Predatorial Right
29
04
THIRD REALM
The Art of Despair

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

28
05
Electro/Synthwave Act GIANT MONSTERS ON THE HORIZON Unleash New Studio Album - Live From Night City
26
05
Happy birthday Wayne Hussey!
24
05
46 years Of Diamond Dogs!
23
05
34 years of 'Let Your Body Learn!'
22
05
39 years Spellbound!
21
05
Electro / EBM pioneers PORTION CONTROL strike hard with new album 'Head Buried'!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

26
05
MARK E MOON
We Know We’re Not Re-Inventing The Wheel!
23
05
JOSH KLINGHOFFER (PLURALONE,RHCP)
“I suddenly found the piano the most exciting instrument to write on.”
19
05
THE HERESY GENE
'The More We Do It, The More Important It Feels.'
01
05
AUTUMN TEARS
An Interview With Autumn Tears
30
04
EMPUSAE
One thing is for sure... I'll never stop making music!

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

30
05
MERCIFUL NUNS
Live at Amphi, Cologne 23-07-2017
29
05
UNZUCHT
Ein Wort Fliegt Wie Ein Stein
28
05
GOLDEN BOY FEAT. MISS KITTIN
Rittin Kitten (Extended)
27
05
HIDDEN ORCHESTRA
Still
26
05
EX-RZ
I can't live in a living room
25
05
POISON POINT
Imaginary Veil
24
05
GRAUZONE
Eisbaer