tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

16/10/2015 : FILMFEST GHENT 2015 - Manu Riche: Problemski Hotel

FILMFEST GHENT 2015

Manu Riche: Problemski Hotel

Movie


[79/100]   

Filmfest Gent
16/10/2015, Didier BECU

EN

A feelgood film about the refugee problem, haven’t we seen that beforer? Yes, Samba with Charlotte Gainsbourg was such a film, but the film debut of the former documentary maker Manu Riche (Tempo of a Restless Soul) is based on the book by Dimitri Verhulst and shows something entirely different.

You can’t say it’s a blessing in disguise, but when Riche made his film, he could not know that the refugee problem would be the topic of thes year about which everyone has an opinion.

Riche is fairly neutral, but shows in a light-hearted way (the classical laughter and tears) that in 2015 someone can be unwanted on our planet because he has to deal with prejudices, and especially as he is not able to show a scrap of paper.

The cultural contradictions are funny and might cause misunderstandings, but they are never a brake on solidarity.

The film suffers from a somewhat stupid title, but is certainly not the political statement of a leftie, rather an intelligent comedy that shows that every asylum seeker experiences his own drama.

Didier BECU
16/10/2015


NL

Een feelgoodfilm over het vluchtelingprobleem, hebben we dat dit jaar al niet eens eerder gehad? Jazeker, Samba met Charlotte Gainsbourg was ook zo’n film, toch tapt de voormalige documentairemaker Manu Riche (Tempo of a Restless Soul) met de verfilming van het gelijknamige boek van Dimitri Verhulst uit een heel ander vaatje.

Een geluk bij een ongeluk kun je het natuurlijk niet noemen, maar toen Riche zijn film draaide, kon hij natuurlijk niet weten dat het vluchtelingenprobleem de topic van dit jaar zou worden waarover iedereen wel een mening heeft.

Riche is vrij neutraal, maar toont op een luchtige manier (de klassieke lach en traan) dat iemand anno 2015 ongewenst kan zijn op onze planeet omdat hij af te rekenen heeft met vooroordelen, en vooral omdat hij niet in staat is om een vodje papier voor te leggen.

Het zijn vooral de culturele tegenstellingen die grappig zijn, ze zorgen misschien voor misverstanden, maar ze zijn nooit een rem op de solidariteit.

De film die wat gebukt gaat onder een iewat ongelukkige titel is dus zeker geen politiek statement van een linkse rakker, eerder een intelligente komedie die toont dat iedere asielzoeker een drama meesleept.

Didier BECU
16/10/2015


Music reviews

14
04
THE BURYING KIND
The Burying Kind ( EP )
05
04
VARIOUS ARTISTS
Electropop 18 (Super Deluxe Edition)
23
03
300 000VK
Peter Paradox
10
03
PYRROLINE
Struggling
23
02
THE HEAT INC.
EP
23
02
PIG
Pain Is God

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

14
04
In memorian.... The Punk Empowerment Of Poly Styrene(° 3 July 1957 †25 April 2011)
13
04
34 years MUTE records released 'Let Your Body Learn' by Nitzer Ebb!
07
04
Skinny Puppy’s Cevin Key zoom chat's with à;GRUMH...
04
04
15 years ago, Nine Inch Nails released ‘Every Day Is Exactly the Same’.
03
04
On this day, 19 years ago, Frank Tovey / Fad Gadget died at the age of 45.
02
04
SYNAPTIC DEFECT sends teaser into the world

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.
07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

14
04
MESH
It scares me
13
04
MONOTONE EXPRESSION
Out Of Tune With Life
12
04
LAID BACK
White Horse
11
04
VOK
Waterfall
10
04
SVEN VATH VS. ANTHONY ROTHER
Komm
09
04
THIS CAN HURT
IF YOU GO
08
04
THE SISTERS OF MERCY
Lucretia, My Reflection