tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

16/10/2015 : FILMFEST GHENT 2015 - Rufus Norris : London Road

FILMFEST GHENT 2015

Rufus Norris : London Road

Movie
Musical

[51/100]   

Filmfest Gent
16/10/2015, Didier BECU

EN

In times that no one wants to see alternative movies, some filmmakers still come up with the most daring film projects. It adorns their courage (and also their arrogance), you only wonder whether someone wants to see this type of movies.

A better example than London Road is almost inconceivable. Because, let us be honest, what do you think of a musical about a serial killer in Ipswich? And no, it is not another weird Tim Burton adventure or a Disney tale like Into The Woods, but a musical with sung dialogues that literally come from the interviews with the local residents.

London Road is suddenly startled by a criminal who strangled five prostitutes in 2006. The neighborhood is in total panic, and even though they first dislike the acts, pretty soon you hear some neighbors say that this guy deserves a medal for his deeds as he cleaned up the town.

Such an unusual musical may work in a theater (what director Rufus Norris did indeed), but on the big screen it is no more than a curiosity. You see a lot of famous Britons (who can’t sing), including Tom Hardy as a taxi driver. Daring? Certainly. Worth the effort? Well, no.

Didier BECU
16/10/2015


NL

In tijden dat geen kat meer naar de betere film gaat, durven sommige filmmakers het nog aan om met de meest gewaagde filmprojecten op de proppen te komen. Het siert hun moed (en ook een beetje hun arrogantie), alleen vraag je je af of dit soort producties uiteindelijk veel oplevert.

Een mooier voorbeeld dan London Road is bijna ondenkbaar. Wat zeg nu zelf, een musical over een seriemoordenaar uit Ipswich? En neen, het is geen uit de hand gelopen Tim Burton-avontuurtje of een Disney-adaptie, maar wel een musical waarvan de gezongen dialogen letterlijk uit de interviews komen die zijn afgenomen van de buurtbewoners. Het ooit zo gezellige (nou ja) London Road wordt plots opgeschrikt door een crimineel die in 2006 vijf hoertjes wurgde. De buurt is er eventjes niet goed van, en ook al is er eerst afkeer, hoor je vrij vlug dat sommige buren van mening zijn dat deze kerel een medaille voor zijn daden verdient.

Zo’n ongewone musical werkt misschien wel in een theaterzaal (wat regisseur Rufus Norris trouwens daarvoor ook deed), maar op het witte doek blijft het uiteindelijk niet meer dan een curiositeit. In de cast zie je een heleboel bekende Britten (die geen noot kunnen zingen), met o.a. Tom Hardy als taxichauffeur. Gedurfd? Jazeker. De moeite waard? Nou, neen.

Didier BECU
16/10/2015


Music reviews

18
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Love Was Lies
16
04
AD:KEY
I can't feel you
16
04
PORTION CONTROL
SEED EP3
15
04
ABSOLUTE BODY CONTROL
A New Dawn
15
04
IN ABSENTIA
Charnel House Chatterbox (Remastered 2021)
14
04
THE BURYING KIND
The Burying Kind ( EP )

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
04
36 years ago, The Sisters Of Mercy performed No Time To Cry on German TV!
16
04
On this day, 36 years ago, The Sisters Of Mercy performed ‘No Time to Cry’ on German TV
15
04
On this day, 20 years ago, FAD GADGET performed his first legendary come-back show!
14
04
In memorian.... The Punk Empowerment Of Poly Styrene (° 3 July 1957 †25 April 2011)
13
04
34 years MUTE records released 'Let Your Body Learn' by Nitzer Ebb!
07
04
Skinny Puppy’s Cevin Key zoom chat's with à;GRUMH...

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...
12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.
07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing

PHOTOS

15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England
25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

19
04
SECRET ZOO
Enslaved
18
04
TROUBLE FAIT'
Beads of Emerald
17
04
LYNCELIA
Self-Mystery Girl
16
04
COCTEAU TWINS
Carolyn's Fingers
15
04
FAITH AND THE MUSE
Battle Hymn
14
04
MESH
It scares me
13
04
MONOTONE EXPRESSION
Out Of Tune With Life