tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

16/10/2015 : FILMFEST GHENT 2015 - Rufus Norris : London Road

FILMFEST GHENT 2015

Rufus Norris : London Road

Movie
Musical

[51/100]   

Filmfest Gent
16/10/2015, Didier BECU

EN

In times that no one wants to see alternative movies, some filmmakers still come up with the most daring film projects. It adorns their courage (and also their arrogance), you only wonder whether someone wants to see this type of movies.

A better example than London Road is almost inconceivable. Because, let us be honest, what do you think of a musical about a serial killer in Ipswich? And no, it is not another weird Tim Burton adventure or a Disney tale like Into The Woods, but a musical with sung dialogues that literally come from the interviews with the local residents.

London Road is suddenly startled by a criminal who strangled five prostitutes in 2006. The neighborhood is in total panic, and even though they first dislike the acts, pretty soon you hear some neighbors say that this guy deserves a medal for his deeds as he cleaned up the town.

Such an unusual musical may work in a theater (what director Rufus Norris did indeed), but on the big screen it is no more than a curiosity. You see a lot of famous Britons (who can’t sing), including Tom Hardy as a taxi driver. Daring? Certainly. Worth the effort? Well, no.

Didier BECU
16/10/2015


NL

In tijden dat geen kat meer naar de betere film gaat, durven sommige filmmakers het nog aan om met de meest gewaagde filmprojecten op de proppen te komen. Het siert hun moed (en ook een beetje hun arrogantie), alleen vraag je je af of dit soort producties uiteindelijk veel oplevert.

Een mooier voorbeeld dan London Road is bijna ondenkbaar. Wat zeg nu zelf, een musical over een seriemoordenaar uit Ipswich? En neen, het is geen uit de hand gelopen Tim Burton-avontuurtje of een Disney-adaptie, maar wel een musical waarvan de gezongen dialogen letterlijk uit de interviews komen die zijn afgenomen van de buurtbewoners. Het ooit zo gezellige (nou ja) London Road wordt plots opgeschrikt door een crimineel die in 2006 vijf hoertjes wurgde. De buurt is er eventjes niet goed van, en ook al is er eerst afkeer, hoor je vrij vlug dat sommige buren van mening zijn dat deze kerel een medaille voor zijn daden verdient.

Zo’n ongewone musical werkt misschien wel in een theaterzaal (wat regisseur Rufus Norris trouwens daarvoor ook deed), maar op het witte doek blijft het uiteindelijk niet meer dan een curiositeit. In de cast zie je een heleboel bekende Britten (die geen noot kunnen zingen), met o.a. Tom Hardy als taxichauffeur. Gedurfd? Jazeker. De moeite waard? Nou, neen.

Didier BECU
16/10/2015


Music reviews

27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment
09
06
CELESTIAL NORTH
When The Gods Dance
12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
06
44 years ago Suicide performed their legendary '23 minutes over Brussels'!
15
06
Roobanok: new talent on SkyQode
15
06
Today it’s exactly 43 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
14
06
Industrial band, The Royal Ritual addresses organized religion ethics with debut LP, /Martyrs/
14
06
TELESKOP releases new EP on Progress Productions
13
06
Toxikk Deception releases new album through DSBP Records

Concert reviews

14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

27
06
THE MISSION
Live am See Meschede Germany
23
06
THE JESUS & MARY CHAIN
Trix Antwerpen
22
06
MONROE SUPPORT ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
22
06
ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
21
06
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
AB Brussel
19
06
GARY NUMAN
New Waves Day Oberhausen
19
06
PINK TURNS BLUE
New Waves Day Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

27
06
MOTOR!K
Stunden (Official Visualizer)
27
06
SEA OF SIN
Synchronize
27
06
MERCIFUL NUNS
Lightwaves
26
06
AMBASSADOR21
FUCKALLSYSTEMS
25
06
CIRCLE OF DUST
Outside In
24
06
LUH
Beneath The Concrete
23
06
EARTHSET
SO WHAT!?