tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

07/09/2015 : FLESH WORLD - The Wild Animals in my Life

FLESH WORLD

The Wild Animals in my Life

MusicCD
HardcorePost PunkRock

[70/100]   

Black Lung
07/09/2015, William LIÉNARD

EN

Flesh World is a new band from San Francisco, a collaboration of vocalist/guitarist Jess Scott (from the indie pop band Brilliant Colors) and guitarist/synthesist Scott Moore (from the hardcore and queercore band Limp Wrist). The Wild Animals in my Life – the title of a National Geographic documentary about a zoo owner, according to Jesse Scott - is their first joint release (with ex-Brillant Colors Diane Anastasio on drums), an album at the crossroads of power pop, dream pop, post-punk and rock.

The songs on the album all have a sizable base of distorted guitars and gusts of bare percussion, over which Jess Scott spreads her androgynous vocals. Sometimes she sounds like Siouxsie (of Siouxsie and the Banshees), at other times as Nico. To Lose Me gets a large portion of guitar noise, solid drumming and dreamy, emphatic vocals on an attractive and hunting melody. In Just to Tear Me Down the high pace is maintained. It’s a similar track, with room for intricate guitar work between the noise, and again appealing vocals and a catchy melody. Excellent track. The Animals in My Life sounds like the third part of a trilogy, but that is not necessarily a disadvantage, for guitar and voice weave a charming and intoxicating soundscape that holds the attention. Jesse Scott’s voice hums softly through the track, supported by bell-like guitars and rustling drums.

In Shaved Head the tempo is raised, with emphatic guitar echoes and a stomping rhythm, while Poolside Boys goes in the other direction with Jesse Scott disguised as Siouxsie for the vocal part of the track. The guitars are roaring and rustling, the percussion is short-tempered, and the tension remains. Strawberry Bomber and Your Love is Like a House go on a punk tour, with frenetic guitars and resp. fast and dreamy vocals, bell-like guitars and noise in between. Here in the Dark closes the album. Guitars and drums are more in the background and they sound less monotonous, while the whole has a much wider power pop feel.

Only downside of this album is the fact that the songs sound all a bit alike (in terms of musical content), which is inevitable if we are talking about punk and post-punk. An album for people who like to wallow in heavy music and songs about alienation and a blurred self-image.

Track listing:
1. To Lose Me
2. Just To Tear Me down
3. The Wild Animals in My Life
4. Shaved Head
5. Poolside Boys
6. Your Love is Like a House
7. Here in the Dark

Flesh World | Tumblr
Flesh World | Facebook
Flesh World | Bandcamp
Iron Lung Records

William LIÉNARD
07/09/2015


NL

Flesh World is een nieuwe band, geboren in San Francisco en boven de doopvont gehouden door vocaliste/guitariste Jess Scott (van de indiepop band Brillant Colors) en gitarist/synthesist Scott Moore (van de hardcore en queercore band Limp Wrist). The Wild Animals in my Life – volgens Jesse Scott de titel van een National Geographic-documentaire over een dierentuineigenaar -- is hun eerste gezamenlijke release (met ex-Brillant Colors Diane Anastasio op drums), een album op het kruispunt tussen power pop, dream pop, post-punk en rock.

De songs op het album krijgen allemaal een flinke basis van distorted gitaren en vlagen kale percussie, waarover Jess Scott haar endrogyne vocalen spreidt. Soms klinkt ze als Siouxsie (van Siouxsie and the Banshees), andere keren als Nico. To Lose Me barst meteen los met een flinke portie gitaarnoise, stevig drumwerk en een dromerige, zij het nadrukkelijke zanglijn op een aantrekkelijk en jagende melodie. In Just to Tear Me Down wordt het hoge tempo aangehouden voor een gelijksoortige compositie, met tussen de noise ruimte voor fijnmazig gitaarwerk en opnieuw aantrekkelijke vocalen en een aanstekelijke melodie. Uitstekende track. The Animals in My Life klinkt als het derde deel van een trilogie, maar dat is niet per se een nadeel, want gitaren en stem weven een charmant en bedwelmend soundscape dat de aandacht vasthoudt. Jesse Scotts stem zoemt zachtjes door de track, gesteund door belachtige gitaarwerk en ruisende drums.

In Shaved Head gaat het tempo flink de hoogte in, met nadrukkelijke gitaarecho’s en een stampend tempo, terwijl Poolside Boys net de andere richting kiest en Jesse Scott zich als Siouxsie vermomt voor het vocale onderdeel van de track. De gitaren ruisen en suizen, de percussie is kort aangebonden, maar de spanning blijft overeind. Strawberry Bomber en Your Love is like a House gaan helemaal de punktoer op met jachtig gitaargeluid en resp. snelle en dromerige vocalen, belachtige gitaren en noise tussendoor. Here in the Dark sluit het album af. De gitaren en de drums zitten tijdens de zangpartij meer op de achtergrond, de gitaren klinken minder monotoon en het geheel heeft een veel ruimere powerpopfeel.

Enige minpuntje van dit album is wellicht het feit dat de songs allemaal een beetje op elkaar lijken (qua muzikale invulling), maar dat is onvermijdelijk als we het over punk en post-punk hebben. Met een totale tijdsduur van net geen 30 minuten, is dat trouwens geen probleem voor wie zich graag wentelt in stevige muziek en songs over vervreemding en een wazig zelfbeeld.

William LIÉNARD
07/09/2015


Music reviews

05
09
FOXY
X-Ray Spex Tribute
04
09
GRENDEL
Ascending The Abyss
03
09
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Hellraiser
03
09
W - FEST, AUG 18TH 2019
24
08
MEAGER BENEFITS
Crawling
23
08
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1
Harbringer

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

06
09
KLONE RELEASE NEW SINGLE “HIDDEN PASSENGER” FROM FORTHCOMING ALBUM LE GRAND VOYAGE
05
09
Industrial Rock Band CHMCL STR8JCKT Signs To Cleopatra Records - Wrtchd Thngs Album Details Revealed
05
09
38 years ago, Soft Cell's version of ‘Tainted Love’ reached the number one position in the British hit parade!
29
08
42 years ago Iggy Pop released Lust for Life (29th August 1977)
22
08
The Cassandra Complex & Die Krupps to headline BIMFEST 2019!
14
08
Electro-Industrial Band NEON INSECT Announces The Release Of New Moscow Underground

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

11
09
NOTNOTICE
I Like When There Are Noise Collages In The Music
08
09
ALEXA HUNTER(DISTURBED FURNITURE)
'Love or hate us, we are gonna kick out the jams while we still can!'
06
09
DAVID WM.SIMS(UNFACT,THE JESUS LIZARD,SCRATCH ACID)
'We had a great personal chemistry within the band!'
15
08
SPANKTHENUN
An Interview With Electro-Industrial Artist SPANKTHENUN
13
08
AHMED SALEH ABOUT EXPERIMENTAL/INDUSTRIAL MUSIC IN AFRICA
People Here Can Get Arrested Because Of Something They Posted On Social Media!

PHOTOS

07
09
THE SPIRITUAL BAT
Le Garage Luik
25
08
BORGHESIA
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
14
08
SECRET GARDEN
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
13
08
TRISOMIE 21
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
12
08
GRAND BLANC
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
12
08
WE ARE WAVES
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
10
08
MOTOR!K
De Smoutpot Zwijndrecht

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

16
09
PRECIOUS CHILD
Magic is Real
15
09
TAINA
Seelenfresser [Zardonic Remix]
14
09
TALK TALK
It´s My Life
13
09
DRAB MAJESTY
Too Soon To Tell
12
09
NINE INCH NAILS
Burning Bright (Field On Fire)
11
09
PJ HARVEY
The Orange Monkey
10
09
AUSTRA
Utopia