tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

07/09/2015 : FLESH WORLD - The Wild Animals in my Life

FLESH WORLD

The Wild Animals in my Life

MusicCD
HardcorePost PunkRock

[70/100]   

Black Lung
07/09/2015, William LIÉNARD

EN

Flesh World is a new band from San Francisco, a collaboration of vocalist/guitarist Jess Scott (from the indie pop band Brilliant Colors) and guitarist/synthesist Scott Moore (from the hardcore and queercore band Limp Wrist). The Wild Animals in my Life – the title of a National Geographic documentary about a zoo owner, according to Jesse Scott - is their first joint release (with ex-Brillant Colors Diane Anastasio on drums), an album at the crossroads of power pop, dream pop, post-punk and rock.

The songs on the album all have a sizable base of distorted guitars and gusts of bare percussion, over which Jess Scott spreads her androgynous vocals. Sometimes she sounds like Siouxsie (of Siouxsie and the Banshees), at other times as Nico. To Lose Me gets a large portion of guitar noise, solid drumming and dreamy, emphatic vocals on an attractive and hunting melody. In Just to Tear Me Down the high pace is maintained. It’s a similar track, with room for intricate guitar work between the noise, and again appealing vocals and a catchy melody. Excellent track. The Animals in My Life sounds like the third part of a trilogy, but that is not necessarily a disadvantage, for guitar and voice weave a charming and intoxicating soundscape that holds the attention. Jesse Scott’s voice hums softly through the track, supported by bell-like guitars and rustling drums.

In Shaved Head the tempo is raised, with emphatic guitar echoes and a stomping rhythm, while Poolside Boys goes in the other direction with Jesse Scott disguised as Siouxsie for the vocal part of the track. The guitars are roaring and rustling, the percussion is short-tempered, and the tension remains. Strawberry Bomber and Your Love is Like a House go on a punk tour, with frenetic guitars and resp. fast and dreamy vocals, bell-like guitars and noise in between. Here in the Dark closes the album. Guitars and drums are more in the background and they sound less monotonous, while the whole has a much wider power pop feel.

Only downside of this album is the fact that the songs sound all a bit alike (in terms of musical content), which is inevitable if we are talking about punk and post-punk. An album for people who like to wallow in heavy music and songs about alienation and a blurred self-image.

Track listing:
1. To Lose Me
2. Just To Tear Me down
3. The Wild Animals in My Life
4. Shaved Head
5. Poolside Boys
6. Your Love is Like a House
7. Here in the Dark

Flesh World | Tumblr
Flesh World | Facebook
Flesh World | Bandcamp
Iron Lung Records

William LIÉNARD
07/09/2015


NL

Flesh World is een nieuwe band, geboren in San Francisco en boven de doopvont gehouden door vocaliste/guitariste Jess Scott (van de indiepop band Brillant Colors) en gitarist/synthesist Scott Moore (van de hardcore en queercore band Limp Wrist). The Wild Animals in my Life – volgens Jesse Scott de titel van een National Geographic-documentaire over een dierentuineigenaar -- is hun eerste gezamenlijke release (met ex-Brillant Colors Diane Anastasio op drums), een album op het kruispunt tussen power pop, dream pop, post-punk en rock.

De songs op het album krijgen allemaal een flinke basis van distorted gitaren en vlagen kale percussie, waarover Jess Scott haar endrogyne vocalen spreidt. Soms klinkt ze als Siouxsie (van Siouxsie and the Banshees), andere keren als Nico. To Lose Me barst meteen los met een flinke portie gitaarnoise, stevig drumwerk en een dromerige, zij het nadrukkelijke zanglijn op een aantrekkelijk en jagende melodie. In Just to Tear Me Down wordt het hoge tempo aangehouden voor een gelijksoortige compositie, met tussen de noise ruimte voor fijnmazig gitaarwerk en opnieuw aantrekkelijke vocalen en een aanstekelijke melodie. Uitstekende track. The Animals in My Life klinkt als het derde deel van een trilogie, maar dat is niet per se een nadeel, want gitaren en stem weven een charmant en bedwelmend soundscape dat de aandacht vasthoudt. Jesse Scotts stem zoemt zachtjes door de track, gesteund door belachtige gitaarwerk en ruisende drums.

In Shaved Head gaat het tempo flink de hoogte in, met nadrukkelijke gitaarecho’s en een stampend tempo, terwijl Poolside Boys net de andere richting kiest en Jesse Scott zich als Siouxsie vermomt voor het vocale onderdeel van de track. De gitaren ruisen en suizen, de percussie is kort aangebonden, maar de spanning blijft overeind. Strawberry Bomber en Your Love is like a House gaan helemaal de punktoer op met jachtig gitaargeluid en resp. snelle en dromerige vocalen, belachtige gitaren en noise tussendoor. Here in the Dark sluit het album af. De gitaren en de drums zitten tijdens de zangpartij meer op de achtergrond, de gitaren klinken minder monotoon en het geheel heeft een veel ruimere powerpopfeel.

Enige minpuntje van dit album is wellicht het feit dat de songs allemaal een beetje op elkaar lijken (qua muzikale invulling), maar dat is onvermijdelijk als we het over punk en post-punk hebben. Met een totale tijdsduur van net geen 30 minuten, is dat trouwens geen probleem voor wie zich graag wentelt in stevige muziek en songs over vervreemding en een wazig zelfbeeld.

William LIÉNARD
07/09/2015


Music reviews

26
09
TRUE ZEBRA
Idiorhythmic
25
09
KMFDM
In Dub
03
09
SHERAPHIM SYSTEM
Phoenix
02
09
CAWATANA
In The Silver Light (7')
01
09
MIKE SOPKO, BILL LASWELL, TYSHAWN SOREY
On Common Ground
31
08
TUKT
Tukt

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

26
09
A CERTAIN RATIO are back with a new album, ACR Loco!
25
09
Today, exactly 33 years ago The Klinik released 'Plague'!
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 28 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
08
09
SUICIDE COMMANDO release a complete 'Dein herz, meine gier' lyric video for the release of the limited club single CD 'Dein herz, meine gier / Bunkerb!tc!
04
09
39 years ago, Soft Cell's version of ‘Tainted Love’ reached the number one position in the British hit parade!
28
08
43 years ago Iggy Pop released Lust for Life (29th August 1977)

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing
31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

26
09
THIS ETERNAL DECAY
In The Early Days We Spent More Time Drinking And Partying Rather Than Playing
19
09
MORTAR DEVOTIONS
Dystopia Is Just Around The Corner And Orwell Warned Us Already In 1948
16
09
MAT OSMAN (SUEDE)
'I’m always writing short stories...'
15
09
ERASURE
'Music certainly gives us hope' - Erasure talk about their new album 'The Neon'
14
09
WATA (BORIS)
'I will always feel like a rookie...'

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

26
09
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Virus
25
09
HYPERMOND.
Paranoia
25
09
PSY'AVIAH
Aftermath
24
09
RYUICHI SAKAMOTO
Merry Christmas, Mr Lawrence
23
09
ANNA VON HAUSSWOLFF
The Mysterious Vanishing of Electra
22
09
BLACK LINE
Snap
21
09
ALPHAMAY
Silence Emotion