tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

07/09/2015 : FLESH WORLD - The Wild Animals in my Life

FLESH WORLD

The Wild Animals in my Life

MusicCD
HardcorePost PunkRock

[70/100]   

Black Lung
07/09/2015, William LIÉNARD

EN

Flesh World is a new band from San Francisco, a collaboration of vocalist/guitarist Jess Scott (from the indie pop band Brilliant Colors) and guitarist/synthesist Scott Moore (from the hardcore and queercore band Limp Wrist). The Wild Animals in my Life – the title of a National Geographic documentary about a zoo owner, according to Jesse Scott - is their first joint release (with ex-Brillant Colors Diane Anastasio on drums), an album at the crossroads of power pop, dream pop, post-punk and rock.

The songs on the album all have a sizable base of distorted guitars and gusts of bare percussion, over which Jess Scott spreads her androgynous vocals. Sometimes she sounds like Siouxsie (of Siouxsie and the Banshees), at other times as Nico. To Lose Me gets a large portion of guitar noise, solid drumming and dreamy, emphatic vocals on an attractive and hunting melody. In Just to Tear Me Down the high pace is maintained. It’s a similar track, with room for intricate guitar work between the noise, and again appealing vocals and a catchy melody. Excellent track. The Animals in My Life sounds like the third part of a trilogy, but that is not necessarily a disadvantage, for guitar and voice weave a charming and intoxicating soundscape that holds the attention. Jesse Scott’s voice hums softly through the track, supported by bell-like guitars and rustling drums.

In Shaved Head the tempo is raised, with emphatic guitar echoes and a stomping rhythm, while Poolside Boys goes in the other direction with Jesse Scott disguised as Siouxsie for the vocal part of the track. The guitars are roaring and rustling, the percussion is short-tempered, and the tension remains. Strawberry Bomber and Your Love is Like a House go on a punk tour, with frenetic guitars and resp. fast and dreamy vocals, bell-like guitars and noise in between. Here in the Dark closes the album. Guitars and drums are more in the background and they sound less monotonous, while the whole has a much wider power pop feel.

Only downside of this album is the fact that the songs sound all a bit alike (in terms of musical content), which is inevitable if we are talking about punk and post-punk. An album for people who like to wallow in heavy music and songs about alienation and a blurred self-image.

Track listing:
1. To Lose Me
2. Just To Tear Me down
3. The Wild Animals in My Life
4. Shaved Head
5. Poolside Boys
6. Your Love is Like a House
7. Here in the Dark

Flesh World | Tumblr
Flesh World | Facebook
Flesh World | Bandcamp
Iron Lung Records

William LIÉNARD
07/09/2015


NL

Flesh World is een nieuwe band, geboren in San Francisco en boven de doopvont gehouden door vocaliste/guitariste Jess Scott (van de indiepop band Brillant Colors) en gitarist/synthesist Scott Moore (van de hardcore en queercore band Limp Wrist). The Wild Animals in my Life – volgens Jesse Scott de titel van een National Geographic-documentaire over een dierentuineigenaar -- is hun eerste gezamenlijke release (met ex-Brillant Colors Diane Anastasio op drums), een album op het kruispunt tussen power pop, dream pop, post-punk en rock.

De songs op het album krijgen allemaal een flinke basis van distorted gitaren en vlagen kale percussie, waarover Jess Scott haar endrogyne vocalen spreidt. Soms klinkt ze als Siouxsie (van Siouxsie and the Banshees), andere keren als Nico. To Lose Me barst meteen los met een flinke portie gitaarnoise, stevig drumwerk en een dromerige, zij het nadrukkelijke zanglijn op een aantrekkelijk en jagende melodie. In Just to Tear Me Down wordt het hoge tempo aangehouden voor een gelijksoortige compositie, met tussen de noise ruimte voor fijnmazig gitaarwerk en opnieuw aantrekkelijke vocalen en een aanstekelijke melodie. Uitstekende track. The Animals in My Life klinkt als het derde deel van een trilogie, maar dat is niet per se een nadeel, want gitaren en stem weven een charmant en bedwelmend soundscape dat de aandacht vasthoudt. Jesse Scotts stem zoemt zachtjes door de track, gesteund door belachtige gitaarwerk en ruisende drums.

In Shaved Head gaat het tempo flink de hoogte in, met nadrukkelijke gitaarecho’s en een stampend tempo, terwijl Poolside Boys net de andere richting kiest en Jesse Scott zich als Siouxsie vermomt voor het vocale onderdeel van de track. De gitaren ruisen en suizen, de percussie is kort aangebonden, maar de spanning blijft overeind. Strawberry Bomber en Your Love is like a House gaan helemaal de punktoer op met jachtig gitaargeluid en resp. snelle en dromerige vocalen, belachtige gitaren en noise tussendoor. Here in the Dark sluit het album af. De gitaren en de drums zitten tijdens de zangpartij meer op de achtergrond, de gitaren klinken minder monotoon en het geheel heeft een veel ruimere powerpopfeel.

Enige minpuntje van dit album is wellicht het feit dat de songs allemaal een beetje op elkaar lijken (qua muzikale invulling), maar dat is onvermijdelijk als we het over punk en post-punk hebben. Met een totale tijdsduur van net geen 30 minuten, is dat trouwens geen probleem voor wie zich graag wentelt in stevige muziek en songs over vervreemding en een wazig zelfbeeld.

William LIÉNARD
07/09/2015


Music reviews

31
03
POUPPEE FABRIKK
Armèn
29
03
CHRISTIAN WOLZ
La Fore
28
03
JIMMY SWEENEY
Without You
27
03
FEU FOLLET
Le champ des morts
18
03
MANNEQUIN
From a distance
16
03
OCTOLAB
Mystery Park

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

29
03
UK Electro-Industrial band BIOMECHANIMAL announces the release of 'Waves': split single with MECHANICAL VEIN
29
03
On this day, 40 years ago, Kraftwerk performed Das Model on German TV.
28
03
On this day, 15 years ago, Nine Inch Nails released 'The Hands That Feeds' single
27
03
Electro-Industrial Artist I YA TOYAH Reveals Latest Video: 'Motion (SKOLD Remix)'
22
03
Today, exactly 31 years ago, Nine Inch Nails released their second single Head Like a Hole!
21
03
No-One Driving since 1980! John Foxx released his second 7' 40 years ago!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

30
03
JOE BOYD
Producer of Pink Floyd, Nick Drake, Nico, R.E.M, talks about the years of experience and his coming book.
29
03
AMBER TEASER
We Also Like Putting Some Strange Elements In Pop Music
19
03
DYLAN WITTROCK
'Sometimes I just write characters’ thoughts, like journal entries.'
17
03
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1
‘I Love The Belgian Scene’
14
03
COMMON EIDER, KING EIDER
‘The Dreams Of Capitalism Are Being Revealed As Smoke And Mirrors...

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

31
03
DIVE
Underneath
30
03
NEAR EARTH ORBIT
INTERSTELLAR
29
03
MAYFLOWER MADAME
Vultures (official video)
28
03
EROTIC ELK
Watching You (featuring Karin My)
28
03
DES AMES LIBRES
Enemy
27
03
THE RITUALISTS
I'm With The Painted People (Official Music Video)
26
03
SEGBROEK
Hungry Eyes