tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

14/04/2013 : FOLK NOIR - Songs From Home

FOLK NOIR

Songs From Home

MusicCD
Folk / Ethnic / TribalMedieval

[99/100]   

Self-released
14/04/2013, Filip VAN MUYLEM

I'm just back from Trolls et Légendes, where Folk Noir also played, and I am still a bit under influence of the energy and the great vibe. This is not a happy EP. You can feel the emotional, campfire atmosphere, very clearly. Oliver sings really good and creates the right mood, assisted perfectly by Kaat.

'You should have seen me there' could be the phrase about their gig in Mons, in front of 3.000 people (and that was only their 5th gig ever). Oliver & Kaat have so much talent and experience that they can produce any music they want... so much is clear. 'The songs in maries-hands' is a very melancholic and sad song and that's for sure because Oliver puts all his emotion/sadness into it. Some might know or resemble 'She moves through the fair' from the re-used guitar riff from Bon Jovi’s 'Blaze of glory'. 'The ragged wood' is one of those songs that i can still remember from their performance. It has something magical, something you simply can't explain. I love the acoustic guitar and it blends in perfectly with Oliver's voice. 'The road' is really begging for a homecoming, it's so sad and yet so sweet. The combination of both voices and the acoustic guitar ask for more of this.

Unfortunately, this release is only an EP. So we (need to) beg for more, we are already so hungry for more and keep pushing the repeat button repeatedly!

 

www.folk-noir.com

www.peek-a-boo-magazine.be/en/reviews/saltatio-mortis-daemonia-nymphe-folk-noir-asynje-trolls-et-legendes-30-3-2013-at-mons-belgium/

www.peek-a-boo-magazine.be/en/interviews/folk-noir/

Filip VAN MUYLEM
14/04/2013


 

Next reviews
DIRTY SOUND MAGNET • What lies beneath
SHINESKI • Leave you in the dark ep
L.E.A.F. • L.E.A.F.
ROAR UTHAUG • COLD PREY BOX
HENKE • & Aroma di Amore & Dark Poem @ JCC Zappa, Antwerp, April 6th 2013
SUICIDE COMMANDO, SOMAN, AESTHETIC PERFECTION, SAM, XP8, C-LEKKTOR & SURGYN • Vampireparty Live, 6/4/2013, Petrol, Antwerpen, Belgium
ASCETIC • Self Initiation
PAVLOV'S DOG • At the sound of the bell
INKUBUS SUKKUBUS • Review of the concert at the Café Bizarre in Dentergem on 30th March 2013
ALEXANDR VATAGIN • Serza

 

Same combination of genres: FOLK / ETHNIC / TRIBAL + MEDIEVAL
TROLLS ET LÉGENDES • Day 3, 5/4/2015, Mons, Belgium | Corvus Corax, Rastaban, Cuelèbre & Césair
VARIOUS ARTISTS • La Guilde Folk - Wild Folk Pagan VOL III
CORVUS CORAX • Gimlie
QNTAL • QNTAL VII
CUéLEBRE • Oinos
THE MOON AND THE NIGHTSPIRIT • Holdrejtek
EGIDA AUREA • Live a Parigi
FAUN • Luna
HULDRE • Intet Menneskebarn
HEIMATAERDE • Kaltwaerts

 

Same genre: FOLK / ETHNIC / TRIBAL
HEILUNG • Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
DARK POEM • The Fire Lives Inside
LET'S EAT GRANDMA • I, Gemini
JASTREB • Orient And Occident
DOOMSQUAD • Total Time
HERON OBLIVION • Heron Oblivion
THE JOY OF NATURE • A Roda Do Tempo
AMARANTHE • Breaking Point - B-Sides 2011-2015
ORDER OF VICTORY & TSIDMZ • Third Rome / Terza Roma
BIRDS' WAY • Birds' Way

 

Same genre: MEDIEVAL
SERPENTYNE • European Tour 2018
IVANKOVA • Ivankovà EP
HEIMATAERDE • Aerdenbrand
MYRKUR • Mausoleum
AN DANZZA • Whispers of the Forest
EPHYRA • Along The Path
INKUBUS SUKKUBUS • Mother Moon
SCHWARZBLUT • Judas EP
TROLLS ET LÉGENDES • Day 2, 4/4/2015, Mons, Belgium | Eluveitie, Tanzwut, Huldre & Nook Karavan
TROLLS ET LÉGENDES • Day 1, 3/4/2015, Mons, Belgium | Naheulbeuk, Feuerschwanz and La Horde

Music reviews

08
12
NEON TZIGANE
Del Wesh
07
12
FROSTTIDE
Decedents – Enshrined
06
12
MIREXXX
Vault
23
11
JO QUAIL
Exsolve
22
11
SADOMANCER
Dystopian Dawn
20
11
METROLAND
Memorabilia & Memorabilia The Remixes

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
12
'Vampire' - new Blutengel single
15
12
A Date In Camden | The Fall At The Witch Trial
14
12
On this day, exactly 41 years ago, Joy Division recorded their very first EP, 'An Ideal for Living'
14
12
London Calling | The Clash Masterpiece Is 39 Today!
13
12
Horses | Patti Smith’s Debut Masterpiece 43 Years On!
12
12
This weekend, BIMFEST 2018 kicks off with Covenant, Leaether Strip, Light Asylum, Clock Dva & Agent Side Grinder amongst others!

Concert reviews

16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018
24
09
MODELE MARTIAL - AUTOPSIE D'UNE OMBRE - IAMTHESHADOW
B52 - Eernegem - 14/09/2018
14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

10
12
THE BLADES
Too Late To Stop Now! | The Return Of The Blades - An Interview With Paul Cleary
05
12
NOIRE ANTIDOTE
'Negative etiquette' resemblance the negative sides of human behaviour but more translated into a feeling.
24
11
DOPPELGANGER
'We are goths, and we only remember the sad stories :)'
22
11
PAUL LEARY (THE COCKY BITCHES,BUTTHOLE SURFERS)
'My mind has a jukebox that I cannot unplug.'
19
11
THE NAMES
We're lucky to have everyone still alive and well, unlike many of our friends of Factory records.

PHOTOS

13
12
DIVE
Magasin 4, Brussels, Belgium
13
12
HA;PEOPLE 3 55
Magasin 4, Brussels, Belgium
03
12
WHISPERING SONS
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
JOHN CALE
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
RED ZEBRA
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
GANG OF FOUR
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
FISCHER Z
Sinner's Day Genk

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

16
12
THE SPECTORS
Clyde & Bonnie
15
12
LACRIMOSA
Die Unbekannte Farbe
14
12
OFELIADORME
Hands
13
12
GESAFFELSTEIN
Pursuit (Official Video - Not Blurred)
12
12
E-SOCIETY
E-Society
11
12
FUNKER VOGT
Feel the Pain
10
12
THE VIOLENT YOUTH
Rabota (my life is a job)