tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL

10/02/2017 : FOR ALL THE EMPTINESS - MT

FOR ALL THE EMPTINESS

MT

MusicCD (EP)
Dark ElectroEBM

[84/100]   
10/02/2017, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

EN

For All The Emptiness is the brainchild of singer/composer Jonathan Kaplan. After watching the Apoptygma Berzerk live DVD APBL98 and meeting frontman Stephan Groth in the audience after a show it became clear how much music influenced him and how obvious it was that music can contribute to a better world.

The debut album Axioms was released in 2011. Produced by Yone of Decoded Feedback it was the base of everything. Axioms was quite minimalistic and anti-religion-themed. The new EP MT is produced by Sebastian Komor (Icon of Coil).

With this EP For All The Emptiness brings a mix of dark electro, EBM and IDM. Seduced By A Disease could be by Apoptygma Berzerk. Musically, atmosperically and style wise. But the vocals are deeper.

We find more EBM in You Hurt. After a minute-long intro we are presented with a quite danceable song.

I'll Remember, the third song, reminds us a bit more of synthpop. Nice vocals. Jonathan's voice fits the genre perfectly. Not grotesque but varied enough to captivate attention. And the EP finally takes off with Hearts Against Minds. Up-tempo darkbeats and for sure a dancefloor killer. And, after all bodies have been warmed up properly, the final song of this EP Stronger Than Before is proper EBM as we know and love it by for example VNV Nation.

Conclusion: MT is a good EP. More in the accessible range but still worth listening to. The songs have enough variation and the band bleeds from several different tunes. Which is a blessing.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
10/02/2017


NL

For All The Emptiness ontsproot aan het brein van zanger / componist Jonathan Kaplan. Na het bekijken van Apoptygma Berzerk's live DVD APBL98 en het ontmoeten van frontman Stephan Groth in het publiek na een optreden werd helemaal duidelijk hoe de muziek hem beïnvloede en hoe duidelijk plots werd dat muziek kan bijdragen aan een betere wereld.
In 2011 verscheen het debuutalbum Axioms. Het werd geproduced door Yone van Decoded Feedback en het diende als basis voor alles te komen. Axioms was vrij minimalistisch en speelde in het thema van anti-religie. De nieuwe EP MT is geproduced door Sebastian Komor (Icon Of Coil).

For All The Emptiness brengt op deze EP een mix van dark electro, EBM en IDM. Seduced By A Disease zou van Apoptygma Berzerk kunnen zijn. Qua muzikaliteit, sfeer en stijl. Maar de vocalen zijn iets dieper.

We ontwaren iets meer EBM in You Hurt. Na een minuut durende intro krijgen we een vrij dansbare song voorgeschoteld.

Met I’ll Remember een derde song die iets meer aan synthpop doet denken. Vocaal heel lekker. Jonathan heeft ook een stem die perfect in het genre past. Niet grotesk, maar voldoende divers om boeiend te blijven. En dan komt een démarrage met Heart Against Minds. Uptempo darkbeats en zeker een dancefloorkiller. En nu alle lichamen opgewarmd zijn krijgen we als uitsmijter van deze EP Stronger Than Before, die dan echt te categoriseren valt onder EBM zoals we die kennen van bijvoorbeeld VNV Nation.

Conclusie: MT is een goede EP. In de eerder meer toegankelijke kant van het spectrum, maar zeker het beluisteren waard. De nummers zijn gevarieerd genoeg en de band tapt uit verschillende vaten, wat een rijkdom is.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
10/02/2017


10/02/2017 : FOR ALL THE EMPTINESS - MT 10/02/2017 : FOR ALL THE EMPTINESS - MT 10/02/2017 : FOR ALL THE EMPTINESS - MT

 

Next reviews
NIGHT RIDERS • Meta
BETA EVERS • Delusion
ARKAN • Kelem
ADORATION DESTROYED • Ritual Damage
ENEMY OF REALITY • Arakhne
SHE PLEASURES HERSELF • Fetish
RAZORLINE • Razorline
PETER HOOK & THE LIGHT • Playing Substance by New Order / Playing Substance by Joy Division @ Het Depot - Leuven - B - 27.01.2017
FORMER BULLIES • Stranger
THE INSIGHT • The Other Side

 

Same combination of genres: DARK ELECTRO + EBM
HOCICO, FROZEN AUTUMN, SUFFOCATING MINDS, SOLITARY EXPERIMENTS, T.O.Y., MANOK, STRONG PRODUCT, UNITY ONE • XV Synthetic Snow Festival Moscow
MORTAL VOID • Of shadows and mirrors
CEPHALGY • Gott Maschine Vaterland
HEIMATAERDE • Aerdenbrand
HEDERA HELIX • Pastiche
DECODED FEEDBACK • Dark Passenger
HEIMATAERDE • Hick Hack Hackebeil
MILDREDA • Coward Philosophy
EISFABRIK • Walking Towards The Sun
RECTOR SCANNER • Herzschlag

 

Same genre: DARK ELECTRO
PSYCHE • Youth Of Tomorrow (12'')
BOY HARSHER • Country Girl
X MARKS THE PEDWALK • Secrets
CYGNOSIC • Siren
NEO SATAN • Black Mass Prophecy
DATACODE DIVISION • Dissections
THE INSIGHT • The Other Side
COVENANT • The Blinding Dark
MONOLITH • Domination
13TH MONKEY • Live at Forms of Hands 15

 

Same genre: EBM
STRONG PRODUCT • Product III
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH!! • Shatter
RESISTOR • Ice Cold Gold
HEXHEART • Midnight on a Moonless Night
FIXMER / MCCARTHY • Chemicals
DIVE • Underneath
ABSURD MINDS • Tempus Fugit
ELM • Kampftrinker
THE FORCE DIMENSION • Machine Sex
SYNTHS VERSUS ME • 1987 12'

Music reviews

17
12
STRONG PRODUCT
Product III
11
12
CONFRONTATIONAL
The Burning Dawn
09
12
PARADE GROUND
Sanctuary
08
12
TULIOXI
WILD ITALIAN GAZELLE (Part I)
07
12
GEORGIO 'THE DOVE' VALENTINO
The Future Lasts A Long Time
06
12
MORTAL VOID
Of shadows and mirrors

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
01
OMD, MIDGE URE and more confirmed at XIV. AMPHI FESTIVAL 2018
17
01
no:carrier drops 'Lovesong' video, a cover of The Cure hit in collaboration with Mills and Nadia S.
31
12
Today 26 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Godhead!
27
12
Belgian EBM band Pro Patria is back after 20 years with a new album Back to Basics!
24
12
A Christmas gift... From Seadrake... to you!
23
12
Exactly one year ago Nine Inch Nails released 'Not the Actual Events'.

Concert reviews

14
12
HOCICO, FROZEN AUTUMN, SUFFOCATING MINDS, SOLITARY EXPERIMENTS, T.O.Y., MANOK, STRONG PRODUCT, UNITY ONE
XV Synthetic Snow Festival Moscow
19
11
ORCHESTRAL MANOEUVRES IN THE DARK
OMD's 2017 tour: Guildford performance at G Live, 11. November 2017
10
11
DIE SELEKTION - STORY OFF
Zondag 17 september - B52 Eernegem
02
11
ILLUMININE | WOUTER DEWIT
Cultuurcentrum Mechelen | 27.10.2017
24
10
GARY NUMAN
Gary Numan’s 'Savage' 2017 Tour: Brighton performance at Brighton Dome, UK
27
09
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Front Line Assembly @ O2 Academy Islington, London, 24/8/2017

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

28
12
NERVENBEISSER
‘WE'RE DOING OUR THING AND WE'LL KEEP IT THAT WAY’
26
12
MILDREDA
'It's is very nice feeling to let dark bombastic music hit an audience'
23
12
DER HIMMEL UBER BERLIN
‘EVERYTHING IS FASCINATING IN DARKNESS’
21
12
SCANNER
‘FAILURE IS ALSO AN ESSENTIAL PART OF ANY SUCCESS’
19
12
GEORGIO 'THE DOVE' VALENTINO
'Everything I've learned I know from records... (though I often misheard the words)'

PHOTOS

12
01
DANIEL.B.PROTHESE
CC Het Gasthuis, Aarschot, Belgium
12
01
NOTHING BUT NOISE
CC Het Gasthuis, Aarschot, Belgium
06
01
TB FRANK & BAUSTEIN
The Backpacker Bar Brussel
02
01
SALVATION
O2 Forum Kentish Town, London, UK
02
01
SKELETAL FAMILY
O2 Forum Kentish Town, London, UK
02
01
FIELDS OF THE NEPHILIM
O2 Forum Kentish Town, London, UK
22
12
TJENS MATIC
@ C-Mine Genk

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

19
01
IN DEATH IT ENDS
Pomba Gira
18
01
GARY OLDMAN
The Man Who Sold The World
17
01
WOUTER DEWIT
La durée. - Strings Version
16
01
NO!ON
6
15
01
JAPAN SUICIDE
Circle
14
01
COIL
Tattooed Man
13
01
VIIII
Fury