tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd (ep) review

10/02/2017 : FOR ALL THE EMPTINESS - MT

FOR ALL THE EMPTINESS

MT

MusicCD (EP)
Dark ElectroEBM

[84/100]   
10/02/2017, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

EN

For All The Emptiness is the brainchild of singer/composer Jonathan Kaplan. After watching the Apoptygma Berzerk live DVD APBL98 and meeting frontman Stephan Groth in the audience after a show it became clear how much music influenced him and how obvious it was that music can contribute to a better world.

The debut album Axioms was released in 2011. Produced by Yone of Decoded Feedback it was the base of everything. Axioms was quite minimalistic and anti-religion-themed. The new EP MT is produced by Sebastian Komor (Icon of Coil).

With this EP For All The Emptiness brings a mix of dark electro, EBM and IDM. Seduced By A Disease could be by Apoptygma Berzerk. Musically, atmosperically and style wise. But the vocals are deeper.

We find more EBM in You Hurt. After a minute-long intro we are presented with a quite danceable song.

I'll Remember, the third song, reminds us a bit more of synthpop. Nice vocals. Jonathan's voice fits the genre perfectly. Not grotesque but varied enough to captivate attention. And the EP finally takes off with Hearts Against Minds. Up-tempo darkbeats and for sure a dancefloor killer. And, after all bodies have been warmed up properly, the final song of this EP Stronger Than Before is proper EBM as we know and love it by for example VNV Nation.

Conclusion: MT is a good EP. More in the accessible range but still worth listening to. The songs have enough variation and the band bleeds from several different tunes. Which is a blessing.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
10/02/2017


NL

For All The Emptiness ontsproot aan het brein van zanger / componist Jonathan Kaplan. Na het bekijken van Apoptygma Berzerk's live DVD APBL98 en het ontmoeten van frontman Stephan Groth in het publiek na een optreden werd helemaal duidelijk hoe de muziek hem beïnvloede en hoe duidelijk plots werd dat muziek kan bijdragen aan een betere wereld.
In 2011 verscheen het debuutalbum Axioms. Het werd geproduced door Yone van Decoded Feedback en het diende als basis voor alles te komen. Axioms was vrij minimalistisch en speelde in het thema van anti-religie. De nieuwe EP MT is geproduced door Sebastian Komor (Icon Of Coil).

For All The Emptiness brengt op deze EP een mix van dark electro, EBM en IDM. Seduced By A Disease zou van Apoptygma Berzerk kunnen zijn. Qua muzikaliteit, sfeer en stijl. Maar de vocalen zijn iets dieper.

We ontwaren iets meer EBM in You Hurt. Na een minuut durende intro krijgen we een vrij dansbare song voorgeschoteld.

Met I’ll Remember een derde song die iets meer aan synthpop doet denken. Vocaal heel lekker. Jonathan heeft ook een stem die perfect in het genre past. Niet grotesk, maar voldoende divers om boeiend te blijven. En dan komt een démarrage met Heart Against Minds. Uptempo darkbeats en zeker een dancefloorkiller. En nu alle lichamen opgewarmd zijn krijgen we als uitsmijter van deze EP Stronger Than Before, die dan echt te categoriseren valt onder EBM zoals we die kennen van bijvoorbeeld VNV Nation.

Conclusie: MT is een goede EP. In de eerder meer toegankelijke kant van het spectrum, maar zeker het beluisteren waard. De nummers zijn gevarieerd genoeg en de band tapt uit verschillende vaten, wat een rijkdom is.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
10/02/2017


10/02/2017 : FOR ALL THE EMPTINESS - MT 10/02/2017 : FOR ALL THE EMPTINESS - MT 10/02/2017 : FOR ALL THE EMPTINESS - MT

 

Next reviews
NIGHT RIDERS • Meta
BETA EVERS • Delusion
ARKAN • Kelem
ADORATION DESTROYED • Ritual Damage
ENEMY OF REALITY • Arakhne
SHE PLEASURES HERSELF • Fetish
RAZORLINE • Razorline
PETER HOOK & THE LIGHT • Playing Substance by New Order / Playing Substance by Joy Division @ Het Depot - Leuven - B - 27.01.2017
FORMER BULLIES • Stranger
THE INSIGHT • The Other Side

 

Same combination of genres: DARK ELECTRO + EBM
LEDERMAN / DE MEYER • A Tribe Of My Own
HOCICO, FROZEN AUTUMN, SUFFOCATING MINDS, SOLITARY EXPERIMENTS, T.O.Y., MANOK, STRONG PRODUCT, UNITY ONE • XV Synthetic Snow Festival Moscow
MORTAL VOID • Of shadows and mirrors
THE INVINCIBLE SPIRIT • NEIN! (Single)
CEPHALGY • Gott Maschine Vaterland
HEIMATAERDE • Aerdenbrand
HEDERA HELIX • Pastiche
DECODED FEEDBACK • Dark Passenger
HEIMATAERDE • Hick Hack Hackebeil
MILDREDA • Coward Philosophy

 

Same genre: DARK ELECTRO
ANDERS MANGA • Perfectly Stranger
WANT/ED • Unthinkable
MISERIA ULTIMA • Phospor
METAL DISCO • Devil Explicit
PSYCHE • Youth Of Tomorrow (12'')
BOY HARSHER • Country Girl
X MARKS THE PEDWALK • Secrets
CYGNOSIC • Siren
NEO SATAN • Black Mass Prophecy
DATACODE DIVISION • Dissections

 

Same genre: EBM
DARKNESS ON DEMAND • Back To Psychoburbia
STIN SCATZOR • Industranquilizer
VIKTOR KALIMA • Club Muscle
STRONG PRODUCT • Product III
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH!! • Shatter
RESISTOR • Ice Cold Gold
HEXHEART • Midnight on a Moonless Night
FIXMER / MCCARTHY • Chemicals
DIVE • Underneath
ABSURD MINDS • Tempus Fugit

Music reviews

25
04
RITUAL VEIL
Wolf In The Night
20
04
ABYSS X
Pleasures Of The Bull
19
04
APSURDE
See Me Coming
18
04
ANDERS MANGA
Perfectly Stranger
17
04
DARKNESS ON DEMAND
Back To Psychoburbia
16
04
VIKTOR KALIMA
Club Muscle

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

26
04
Dive releases Let Me In 12' vinyl on Out Of Line
25
04
Suicide Commando returns with a hard-hitting club EP release. “Death Will Find You”!
24
04
Rummelsnuff releases double album / best of - “Salzig schmeckt der Wind”
23
04
The Mexican-German band Rabia Sorda has recorded its hardest album to date “The World Ends Today
21
04
Christina Plays Viola teaser for upcoming EP
16
04
Hatchling release their new single 'Holly'

Concert reviews

19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
19
03
FEVER RAY
Live @ AB - Brussels - 15.03.2018
14
03
DER KLINKE - STORY OFF
De Kelk, Brugge - 9 maart 2018
12
03
DISTORTED RETROSPECT
Distorted Retrospect - 6th March 2018 - Charlottesville, VA (USA)
11
03
ERASURE
Erasure “World Be Gone” 2018 tour: Guildford performance at G Live on 20 February, UK
10
03
DRAB MAJESTY
Drab Majesty London show review

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

21
04
SHEDIR
‘I Always Think I’m Gonna Die Tomorrow’
20
04
ADAM USI
You know, art, music and visuals are the package, they are one big thing, they belong to each other. I try to find the jigsaw pieces to paint a all in all picture.
17
04
BYSENSES
We are Just 'People', Not A Superrace
26
03
MANINKARI
‘Sound Has Also A Place In A Process Of Spiritual Healing’
23
03
IRKLIS
‘INDUSTRIAL MUSIC WAS NEVER MADE TO PLEASE ANYBODY’

PHOTOS

16
04
SPARK!
Darkest Night 2018, Jk2470, Retie, Belgium
16
04
LESCURE 13
Darkest Night 2018, Jk2470, Retie, Belgium
16
04
ELM
Darkest Night 2018, Jk2470, Retie, Belgium
16
04
DOGANOV
Darkest Night 2018, Jk2470, Retie, Belgium
08
04
EVANESCENCE
Paleis 12 Brussel
08
04
TRUE ZEBRA
Nachtvlindersfestival Oostmalle
08
04
DARK POEM
Nachtvlindersfestival Oostmalle

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

27
04
LADYTRON
Destroy Everything You Touch
26
04
GUNMAKER
Trust Me Or Lie
26
04
VIOLENCE
Illusions Vives
25
04
DIVE
Bloodmoney
24
04
ECHO AND THE BUNNYMEN
Lips Like Sugar
23
04
HOW TO DESTROY ANGELS
The Space In Between
22
04
NINE INCH NAILS
Only