tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd (ep) review

10/02/2017 : FOR ALL THE EMPTINESS - MT

FOR ALL THE EMPTINESS

MT

MusicCD (EP)
Dark ElectroEBM

[84/100]   
10/02/2017, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

EN

For All The Emptiness is the brainchild of singer/composer Jonathan Kaplan. After watching the Apoptygma Berzerk live DVD APBL98 and meeting frontman Stephan Groth in the audience after a show it became clear how much music influenced him and how obvious it was that music can contribute to a better world.

The debut album Axioms was released in 2011. Produced by Yone of Decoded Feedback it was the base of everything. Axioms was quite minimalistic and anti-religion-themed. The new EP MT is produced by Sebastian Komor (Icon of Coil).

With this EP For All The Emptiness brings a mix of dark electro, EBM and IDM. Seduced By A Disease could be by Apoptygma Berzerk. Musically, atmosperically and style wise. But the vocals are deeper.

We find more EBM in You Hurt. After a minute-long intro we are presented with a quite danceable song.

I'll Remember, the third song, reminds us a bit more of synthpop. Nice vocals. Jonathan's voice fits the genre perfectly. Not grotesque but varied enough to captivate attention. And the EP finally takes off with Hearts Against Minds. Up-tempo darkbeats and for sure a dancefloor killer. And, after all bodies have been warmed up properly, the final song of this EP Stronger Than Before is proper EBM as we know and love it by for example VNV Nation.

Conclusion: MT is a good EP. More in the accessible range but still worth listening to. The songs have enough variation and the band bleeds from several different tunes. Which is a blessing.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
10/02/2017


NL

For All The Emptiness ontsproot aan het brein van zanger / componist Jonathan Kaplan. Na het bekijken van Apoptygma Berzerk's live DVD APBL98 en het ontmoeten van frontman Stephan Groth in het publiek na een optreden werd helemaal duidelijk hoe de muziek hem beïnvloede en hoe duidelijk plots werd dat muziek kan bijdragen aan een betere wereld.
In 2011 verscheen het debuutalbum Axioms. Het werd geproduced door Yone van Decoded Feedback en het diende als basis voor alles te komen. Axioms was vrij minimalistisch en speelde in het thema van anti-religie. De nieuwe EP MT is geproduced door Sebastian Komor (Icon Of Coil).

For All The Emptiness brengt op deze EP een mix van dark electro, EBM en IDM. Seduced By A Disease zou van Apoptygma Berzerk kunnen zijn. Qua muzikaliteit, sfeer en stijl. Maar de vocalen zijn iets dieper.

We ontwaren iets meer EBM in You Hurt. Na een minuut durende intro krijgen we een vrij dansbare song voorgeschoteld.

Met I’ll Remember een derde song die iets meer aan synthpop doet denken. Vocaal heel lekker. Jonathan heeft ook een stem die perfect in het genre past. Niet grotesk, maar voldoende divers om boeiend te blijven. En dan komt een démarrage met Heart Against Minds. Uptempo darkbeats en zeker een dancefloorkiller. En nu alle lichamen opgewarmd zijn krijgen we als uitsmijter van deze EP Stronger Than Before, die dan echt te categoriseren valt onder EBM zoals we die kennen van bijvoorbeeld VNV Nation.

Conclusie: MT is een goede EP. In de eerder meer toegankelijke kant van het spectrum, maar zeker het beluisteren waard. De nummers zijn gevarieerd genoeg en de band tapt uit verschillende vaten, wat een rijkdom is.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
10/02/2017


10/02/2017 : FOR ALL THE EMPTINESS - MT 10/02/2017 : FOR ALL THE EMPTINESS - MT 10/02/2017 : FOR ALL THE EMPTINESS - MT

 

Next reviews
NIGHT RIDERS • Meta
BETA EVERS • Delusion
ARKAN • Kelem
ADORATION DESTROYED • Ritual Damage
ENEMY OF REALITY • Arakhne
SHE PLEASURES HERSELF • Fetish
RAZORLINE • Razorline
PETER HOOK & THE LIGHT • Playing Substance by New Order / Playing Substance by Joy Division @ Het Depot - Leuven - B - 27.01.2017
FORMER BULLIES • Stranger
THE INSIGHT • The Other Side

 

Same combination of genres: DARK ELECTRO + EBM
MISERIA ULTIMA • Graygarden
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1 • Harbringer
REALITY'S DESPAIR • Human Transitions
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Eye On You (Feat. Robert Görl)
SADOMANCER • Dystopian Dawn
KNK • Dead Body Music III
ALVAR • I Sew A Blanket Of All The Broken Clouds
LEDERMAN / DE MEYER • A Tribe Of My Own
HOCICO, FROZEN AUTUMN, SUFFOCATING MINDS, SOLITARY EXPERIMENTS, T.O.Y., MANOK, STRONG PRODUCT, UNITY ONE • XV Synthetic Snow Festival Moscow
MORTAL VOID • Of shadows and mirrors

 

Same genre: DARK ELECTRO
REACTOR7X • Are You My Bitch
ACRETONGUE • Ghost Nocturne
ENZO KREFT • Control
STATIQBLOOM • Asphyxia
HOCICO • Artificial Extinction
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
UNIDENTIFIED MAN • Memento Mori
MIREXXX • Vault
ALIEN VAMPIRES • Evil Twin Ep
FOXXXY MULDER • Heretic

 

Same genre: EBM
M73 • Tainted
PLASTIKSTROM • Beton Gegen Angst
ELM • Death Of The North
GRENDEL • Ascending The Abyss
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES • Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
MASSIVE EGO • Church For The Malfunctioned
SIGNAL AOUT 42 • Insurrection
ZWEITE JUGEND • Elektronische Körpermusik
PARADE GROUND • Life [Live In Frankfurt]
LIEBKNECHT • ICE over Erfurt

Music reviews

06
02
HARRY CLOUD
The Pig And The Machine
03
02
MISERIA ULTIMA
Graygarden
01
02
MONO INC.
The Book Of Fire
30
01
THE MARS MODEL
FrancoBelga
27
01
6TH CROWD
Самозванцы (Samozvantsiy)
18
01
RINGFINGER
Pressure

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
02
Today, exactly 17 years ago, American Industrial Metal band Ministry released Animositisomina!
17
02
On this day, 6 years ago, DEVO guitarist Bob Casale (61) died.
15
02
LEPROUS – Launch drum playthrough video for “The Sky Is Red”
15
02
This February, it's 33 AGO Kraftwerk released 'The Telephone Call / Der Telefon-Anruf'.
14
02
Today, exactly 41 years ago, John Peel broadcast the first Peel Sessions, performed by Joy Division
09
02
German Electronic/Synthpop Act SEA OF SIN Presents Their Single & Video Release For 'YOU'

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

17
02
H.R. (THE BAD BRAINS)
'I always wanted to play reggae!'
11
02
NICKY GARRATT (UK SUBS, HEDERSLEBEN)
'Putting a krautrock band together I always wanted this fearlessness.' (Interview Part 2)
10
02
NICKY GARRATT (UK SUBS, HEDERSLEBEN): PART II
'In punk, I found the vehicle for skepticism.' (Interview Part 1)
07
02
DOUGLAS P. (DEATH IN JUNE)
'Words/lyrics are continuously coming to me, everywhere and anywhere...'
02
02
CHRIS CUTLER (HENRY COW)
'We all shared a common concern with extending the vocabulary of rock...'

PHOTOS

12
02
MONSTERMAGNET
FZW Dortmund,Germany
12
02
SAINT AGNES SUPPORT MONSTERMAGNET
FZW Dortmund,Germany
26
01
FIX8:SED8
Oefenbunker Landgraaf
26
01
GRAUSAME TOCHTER
Oefenbunker Landgraaf
26
01
LAPIS EXILIS
Oefenbuker Landgraaf
25
01
ASHBURY HEIGHTS
Rockpalast Matrix Bochum Germany
25
01
MASSIVE EGO
Rockpalast Matrix Bochum Germany

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

19
02
X MARKS THE PEDWALK
Secrets
18
02
THE MISSION
Love Me To Death
17
02
CLAN OF XYMOX
Imagination
16
02
GERTRUD STEIN
The Void
15
02
MINISTRY
Same Old Madness
14
02
POLICE DES MOEURS
Première neige
13
02
THE UNDERGROUND YOUTH
Alice