tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd (ep) review

10/02/2017 : FOR ALL THE EMPTINESS - MT

FOR ALL THE EMPTINESS

MT

MusicCD (EP)
Dark ElectroEBM

[84/100]   
10/02/2017, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

EN

For All The Emptiness is the brainchild of singer/composer Jonathan Kaplan. After watching the Apoptygma Berzerk live DVD APBL98 and meeting frontman Stephan Groth in the audience after a show it became clear how much music influenced him and how obvious it was that music can contribute to a better world.

The debut album Axioms was released in 2011. Produced by Yone of Decoded Feedback it was the base of everything. Axioms was quite minimalistic and anti-religion-themed. The new EP MT is produced by Sebastian Komor (Icon of Coil).

With this EP For All The Emptiness brings a mix of dark electro, EBM and IDM. Seduced By A Disease could be by Apoptygma Berzerk. Musically, atmosperically and style wise. But the vocals are deeper.

We find more EBM in You Hurt. After a minute-long intro we are presented with a quite danceable song.

I'll Remember, the third song, reminds us a bit more of synthpop. Nice vocals. Jonathan's voice fits the genre perfectly. Not grotesque but varied enough to captivate attention. And the EP finally takes off with Hearts Against Minds. Up-tempo darkbeats and for sure a dancefloor killer. And, after all bodies have been warmed up properly, the final song of this EP Stronger Than Before is proper EBM as we know and love it by for example VNV Nation.

Conclusion: MT is a good EP. More in the accessible range but still worth listening to. The songs have enough variation and the band bleeds from several different tunes. Which is a blessing.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
10/02/2017


NL

For All The Emptiness ontsproot aan het brein van zanger / componist Jonathan Kaplan. Na het bekijken van Apoptygma Berzerk's live DVD APBL98 en het ontmoeten van frontman Stephan Groth in het publiek na een optreden werd helemaal duidelijk hoe de muziek hem beïnvloede en hoe duidelijk plots werd dat muziek kan bijdragen aan een betere wereld.
In 2011 verscheen het debuutalbum Axioms. Het werd geproduced door Yone van Decoded Feedback en het diende als basis voor alles te komen. Axioms was vrij minimalistisch en speelde in het thema van anti-religie. De nieuwe EP MT is geproduced door Sebastian Komor (Icon Of Coil).

For All The Emptiness brengt op deze EP een mix van dark electro, EBM en IDM. Seduced By A Disease zou van Apoptygma Berzerk kunnen zijn. Qua muzikaliteit, sfeer en stijl. Maar de vocalen zijn iets dieper.

We ontwaren iets meer EBM in You Hurt. Na een minuut durende intro krijgen we een vrij dansbare song voorgeschoteld.

Met I’ll Remember een derde song die iets meer aan synthpop doet denken. Vocaal heel lekker. Jonathan heeft ook een stem die perfect in het genre past. Niet grotesk, maar voldoende divers om boeiend te blijven. En dan komt een démarrage met Heart Against Minds. Uptempo darkbeats en zeker een dancefloorkiller. En nu alle lichamen opgewarmd zijn krijgen we als uitsmijter van deze EP Stronger Than Before, die dan echt te categoriseren valt onder EBM zoals we die kennen van bijvoorbeeld VNV Nation.

Conclusie: MT is een goede EP. In de eerder meer toegankelijke kant van het spectrum, maar zeker het beluisteren waard. De nummers zijn gevarieerd genoeg en de band tapt uit verschillende vaten, wat een rijkdom is.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
10/02/2017


10/02/2017 : FOR ALL THE EMPTINESS - MT 10/02/2017 : FOR ALL THE EMPTINESS - MT 10/02/2017 : FOR ALL THE EMPTINESS - MT

 

Next reviews
NIGHT RIDERS • Meta
BETA EVERS • Delusion
ARKAN • Kelem
ADORATION DESTROYED • Ritual Damage
ENEMY OF REALITY • Arakhne
SHE PLEASURES HERSELF • Fetish
RAZORLINE • Razorline
PETER HOOK & THE LIGHT • Playing Substance by New Order / Playing Substance by Joy Division @ Het Depot - Leuven - B - 27.01.2017
FORMER BULLIES • Stranger
THE INSIGHT • The Other Side

 

Same combination of genres: DARK ELECTRO + EBM
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Eye On You (Feat. Robert Görl)
SADOMANCER • Dystopian Dawn
KNK • Dead Body Music III
ALVAR • I Sew A Blanket Of All The Broken Clouds
LEDERMAN / DE MEYER • A Tribe Of My Own
HOCICO, FROZEN AUTUMN, SUFFOCATING MINDS, SOLITARY EXPERIMENTS, T.O.Y., MANOK, STRONG PRODUCT, UNITY ONE • XV Synthetic Snow Festival Moscow
MORTAL VOID • Of shadows and mirrors
THE INVINCIBLE SPIRIT • NEIN! (Single)
CEPHALGY • Gott Maschine Vaterland
HEIMATAERDE • Aerdenbrand

 

Same genre: DARK ELECTRO
MIREXXX • Vault
ALIEN VAMPIRES • Evil Twin Ep
FOXXXY MULDER • Heretic
DICEPEOPLE • One From Many
ANDERS MANGA • Perfectly Stranger
WANT/ED • Unthinkable
MISERIA ULTIMA • Phospor
METAL DISCO • Devil Explicit
PSYCHE • Youth Of Tomorrow (12'')
BOY HARSHER • Country Girl

 

Same genre: EBM
RESISTOR • Ice Cold Gold
DIVE • Live Maschinenfest 2017
EMPIRION • I Am Electronic / Red Noise
NEGANT • No !
STRUCK9 • Ritual Body Music
DARKNESS ON DEMAND • Back To Psychoburbia
STIN SCATZOR • Industranquilizer
VIKTOR KALIMA • Club Muscle
STRONG PRODUCT • Product III
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH!! • Shatter

Music reviews

20
01
DEAD HIGH WIRE
Pray for us
19
01
DIVE
Live Maschinenfest 2017
16
01
EVI VINE
Black Light White Dark
08
01
DAEMONIA NYMPHE
PSYCHOSTASIA
28
12
MISS CHAMBERTALE
Berries and Tales
22
12
PAUL MADDOG AND HIS BAND AISLING
Winter In London

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

22
01
On this day, exactly 9 years ago, Nitzer Ebb released their sixth studio album Industrial Complex on Major Records!
22
01
This month 47 years ago KRAFTWERK released their second studio album KRAFTWERK 2
21
01
Today, exactly 26 years ago, Ministry released Just One Fix!
19
01
CANADIAN DUO FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY TO RELEASE NEW ALBUM 'WAKE UP THE COMA'
18
01
Israeli Dark Synthpop Artist LIYA Announces The Release Of LISTEN
17
01
MY LIFE WITH THE THRILL KILL KULT Reveal New Single, 'The Chains of Fame' Off Upcoming LP

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
01
WULFBAND
If you feel that guitars would destroy whatever you think Wulfband is about, stay at home
17
01
ANY SECOND
The Eighth Sin Is The Human Himself
31
12
SIMI NAH
Balancing between the 'normal' world and the 'artistic' world was frustrating, but perhaps led us to make our best record ever!
27
12
ALIEN SEX FIEND
Alien Sex Fiend Is A State Of Mind And Not A Choreographed Or Rehearsed Thing
24
12
SIEBEN
The European Union are kinder overlords than the ones we may well inherit, out on our own, pretending we are not part of the world.

PHOTOS

20
12
COVENANT
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
LEAETHER STRIP
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
AGENT SIDE GRINDER
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
GERTRUD STEIN
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
NZ
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
STAHLR
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
AMNISTIA
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

22
01
MILA MAR
Haime
21
01
THE CURE
Pictures Of You, Live in Antwerp, 2016
20
01
SOPHIA (S)
Herbstwerk
19
01
OY
A New Planet Is Born
18
01
HEIMATAERDE
Hoch hinaus
17
01
CENT ANS DE SOLITUDE
The unacceptable face of beauty
16
01
PLANETDAMAGE
Hi Rez Lo Life