tempobet yeni adresi
like this concert review

29/04/2014 : FORMS OF HANDS 14 - Forms Of Hands Festival (26/04/2014)

FORMS OF HANDS 14

Forms Of Hands Festival (26/04/2014)

Concert
AmbientAnalogue SynthDark ElectroElectronicsIndustrial

[90/100]   

Hands Productions
29/04/2014, Peter HESELMANS

April 26th, Bönen Germany, a very special venue, the ‘Förderturm’, a kind of old colliery tower in the centre of the grey Ruhr-area. And so, a perfect location for this industrial Forms Of Hands Festival

Opening with the French band ‘Cacophoneuses’, already saw them at last years Maschinenfest, and for me one of the highlights then. This techno noise band was formed in France in 2011 by Sandra and Josephine. With their heavy beats and distortions accompanied by melodic electronic sequences they impressed me another time. This set had lots of tracks from their brand new album ‘The Myth Of Lorelei’ (review will follow). Brillant opening act for Saturday FOH14.

Second band was ‘Hezzel’, an industrial alter-ego of the ambient project Macabro, formed in Riga, Latvia. This project was started in 2008 and features a mixture of various elements of hardcore electronics, and music between melodic passages to danceable beats. Although the set started with some technical problems, this act surprised me most. The brilliant heavy distorted beats brought on stage made the venue really shake. Lots of tracks on the setlist from his new album ‘Exposure’ (review will follow)

Third band was ‘Libido Formandi’, which means the desire to create new forms. This ‘Hands’ band is known for a sound that is dominated by remarkably versatile rhythms, alluring shuffle beats in the lower BPM range that are consequently broken up and twisted, sometimes even distorted into digital abstraction. The result is an atmospheric and electronic sound that keeps you entertained. The Greek band members Manos Chrisoergis and Panayiotis Kouretas did their best to create a special atmosphere. - Rating : 75%

Cervello Electronico was next, this band was formed in 2001 in Los Angeles. Brainchild is producer David Christian. His sophisticated and intelligent electro minimalism is really a revelation on scene for every industrial lover. Great performance

Then the power electronics from Ambassador21, already founded in 2001 in Minsk by Natasha A Twentyone and Alexey Protasov, both on vocals and electronics. They brought some rough digital hardcore with powerful lyrics in both English and Russian. The hardest act of the evening, and with some attention for the new album ‘Riot Generation’. Every time I see a gig from this duo, I think that it is impossible to get more ‘noise’ out of a drum machine then this. You love it or you leave after a few minutes, and most of us really liked this performance (I did). Also the first act of the evening with real vocals and where actually something happened on stage.

Already midnight and now some time to dance with the Belgian Monolith, this is a solo project of electro music producer Eric Van Wonterghem (Sonar, ABC, Insekt..), and well known for his electronic music arrangements witch speak to both body and mind. Monolith brought us beats, repetitive loops, and danceable electro through the industrial landscapes, using vocal samples and even some exotic elements. This was a completely new set, based on his new album ‘Crashed’ (review will follow). Eric was even called back for a ‘zugabe’, and with Disco Buddha, the roof almost came of the building.

Headliner of this great evening full of beats, loops, digital harcore tunes, ambient stuff, and much more industrial techniques was ‘Proyecto Mirage’. Difficult to come after Monolith, most people danced the whole set and after 2 days of festival, I had the impression that everyone became somewhat tired. But Proyecto Mirage played a great set. This band was already founded in 1990 in Madrid, with band members Alicia H. Willen and Francesco Planellas. And probably one of the most well know bands from the ‘Hands’ Label. So the festival finished with again some hard electronic beats, even sampled now with some drum ‘ n bass, techno influences.

This festival is a must for every industrial lover, and as can be expected very well organized. So hope to see you all back at FOH15. Maybe some more visuals can be added on stage and then it would be perfect.

Click here for Monolith.
Click here to see Ambassador 21.
Here you can see Cacophoneuses.
And finally here you can see some Proyecto Mirage.

Peter HESELMANS
29/04/2014


29/04/2014 : FORMS OF HANDS 14 - Forms Of Hands Festival (26/04/2014) 29/04/2014 : FORMS OF HANDS 14 - Forms Of Hands Festival (26/04/2014) 29/04/2014 : FORMS OF HANDS 14 - Forms Of Hands Festival (26/04/2014) 29/04/2014 : FORMS OF HANDS 14 - Forms Of Hands Festival (26/04/2014) 29/04/2014 : FORMS OF HANDS 14 - Forms Of Hands Festival (26/04/2014) 29/04/2014 : FORMS OF HANDS 14 - Forms Of Hands Festival (26/04/2014) 29/04/2014 : FORMS OF HANDS 14 - Forms Of Hands Festival (26/04/2014) 29/04/2014 : FORMS OF HANDS 14 - Forms Of Hands Festival (26/04/2014) 29/04/2014 : FORMS OF HANDS 14 - Forms Of Hands Festival (26/04/2014) 29/04/2014 : FORMS OF HANDS 14 - Forms Of Hands Festival (26/04/2014) 29/04/2014 : FORMS OF HANDS 14 - Forms Of Hands Festival (26/04/2014) 29/04/2014 : FORMS OF HANDS 14 - Forms Of Hands Festival (26/04/2014)

 

Next reviews
EDGAR REITZ • Die andere Heimat
KULT OF RED PYRAMID • Broken Mirror
NOMIN • Long Live The King
NIMON • The King Is Dead
HEIMSTATT YIPOTASH • Mecanismos De Control
DOUGLAS HICKOX • Theatre Of Blood
EX-RZ • Bankers will never be Beggars
CLASS OF KILL'EM HIGH! • Enjoy
HOLOGRAM_ • Geometrical Keys
SHRINE • AETHER EP

 

Other reviews from FORMS OF HANDS 14
FORMS OF HANDS 14 • Forms Of Hands Compilation

 

Same genre: AMBIENT
CELESTIAL NORTH • When The Gods Dance
ANALFABETISM • Rotvälta
LISA GERRARD & JULES MAXWELL • Burn
CRIPPLED BLACK PHOENIX • Ellengæng
COLIN EDWIN • POINTS OF ORIGIN
LUKE LUND • Hopium
VARIOUS ARTISTS • PERIHELION 2134
CLASS M PLANETS • Ravenswood
FUTURE PILOT AKA • Orkestra Digitalis
ROSE MCDOWALL AND SHAWN PINCHBECK • Far From The Apple Tree

 

Same genre: ANALOGUE SYNTH
JOHN FOXX • METAMATIC (2018 BOX)
SINE SILEX • Schachmatt
VARIOUS ARISTS • Liasons Dangereuses
EL GUERRILLERO ROJO • Manifiesto LP 1983-1984
SCHONWALD • Between Parallel Lights
METAL DISCO • Unearthly Vices
CLAUS FOVEA • Cyanide/King Ludd
NÖVÖ • Zeitgeist
ALLES • Post
VOID VISION • Sub Rosa

 

Same genre: DARK ELECTRO
TRAGIC IMPULSE • Distant Worlds
SAMHAIN • Experiment
DIRK DA DAVO • The Unreal
HOCICO • HyperViolent
MATT HART • Decimate
COMBICHRIST • Compliance
MILDREDA • I was never really there
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP3
300 000VK • Peter Paradox
PYRROLINE • Struggling

 

Same genre: ELECTRONICS
WULF7 • Dark Hate
DEAR DEER / EMBERS • Split
FIRST • Restless
GHOSTING • The Flanders EP
THE BLACKHEART ORCHESTRA • Mesmeranto
STATIQBLOOM • Asphyxia
MECHANIMAL • White Flag Single
PAS MUSIQUE • The Phoenix
RADIOAKTIVISTS • Radioakt One
METROLAND • Memorabilia & Memorabilia The Remixes

 

Same genre: INDUSTRIAL
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN • 40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
MATT HART • TALES OF TERRA & CHAOS RETOLD
IMPERATIVE REACTION • Mirror
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Mechanical Soul
IMPLANT • Phantom Pain
HA:PEOPLE.3.55 • El Dia de la Bestia, Part 2 : WAR!
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP 2
DIVE • Where do we go from here
SUICIDE COMMANDO • Mindstrip Redux
JESU • When I Was Small

Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

09
08
Electronic Band She 1 - Him 2 Addresses Breaking Free With New Single
08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album
06
08
Post-Punk Artist Daniel Ouellette Brings Life To A Haunted House With New Album
05
08
Industrial bass artist SINthetik Messiah addresses violence in The Vatican with new single
05
08
NOISE UNIT is back in full force!

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

08
08
NEW MODEL ARMY
Rockfabrik Uebach-Palenberg
05
08
RAMMSTEIN
Park De Nieuwe Koers Oostende
02
08
SHE PAST AWAY
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
FROZEN PLASMA
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
MONO INC.
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
[:SITD:]
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
MESH
Amphi Festival Keulen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

09
08
WE NEVER MET
Come Play With Fire
08
08
ROSARUBEA
Window Pain
07
08
CREMATORY
Haus Mit Garten
06
08
K-X-P
Space Precious Time
05
08
MONICA JEFFRIES
In Circles
04
08
ILLUMININE
For What It's Worth (Live at Sundlaugin Studio)
03
08
THE CURE
A Forest (Live in Paris 1979)