tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cinema review

21/11/2014 : FRANCIS LAWRENCE - The Hunger Games: Mockingjay - Part 1

FRANCIS LAWRENCE

The Hunger Games: Mockingjay - Part 1

MovieCinema
Adventure
Belga Films
21/11/2014, Didier BECU

EN

Two months ago the disappointing The Maze Runner was shown in the cinema: with this new franchise 20th Century Fox hopes to take profit of the ever-growing young adult trend. Meanwhile, this vehicle is already forgotten and here is the real thing: the Hunger Games!, because Jennifer Lawrence already has shown that she’s more than just Katniss Everdeen. The makers play on safe and split the final chapter into two parts. Officially because viewers get a migraine from such long movies, but everyone knows that it's just the logic that says that one plus one is still two!

In its opening weekend The Hunger Games Mockingjay - Part 1 smashed all year records. Whether the audience will be happy is another question, because when leaving the dark cinema theatre you know you just saw a long-stretched starter.

Just as Harry Potter, The Hunger Games has become darker. Seeing the previous part Catching Fire is almost mandatory if you all want to follow. Katniss has ended up in District 13: the part of Panem that has rebelled against the tyrannical President Snow (Donald Sutherland). Plutarch Heavensbee (Philip Seymour Hoffman) sees Katniss as the ideal showcase for the revolution. President Alma Coin (Julianne Moore) agrees and along with a video crew Katniss shows the people what a cruel villain Snow is. And what happened to her sweetheart Peeta (Josh Hutcherson)? Well, this brave boy is left in the Capitol and is used by Snow (well, actually misused) to convince Katniss that she is wrong.

It seems strange, but we actually have written down the essence of the story, there are even no spoilers told. However, we weren’t bored and we didn’t pick up the phone once to see what time it is. There is of course that beautiful Jennifer Lawrence, but the whole cast does a splendid job, at least if you delete Liam Hemsworth from the list. With the death of Philip Seymour Hoffman director Francis Lawrence loses one of his strengths, but the ending shows that the final part of Mockingjay will be one of the best blockbusters of 2015. We hope we’re soon a year older!

Didier BECU
21/11/2014


NL

Twee maanden geleden kwam de ontgoochelende The Maze Runner in de bioscoopzaal: de nieuwe franchise van 20th Century Fox waarmee de studio hoopt om ook een graantje mee te kunnen pikken van de alsmaar groeiende youngadult-trend. Ondertussen zijn we dit vehikel al lang vergeten, want hier is de enige echte Hunger Games. Omdat Jennifer Lawrence ondertussen al lang heeft bewezen dat ze tot meer in staat is dan het eeuwig vertolken van Katniss Everdeen, hebben de makers op veilig gespeeld en het laatste luik in twee delen opgesplitst. Officieel doen ze dat om de kijker geen migraine te bezorgen, maar iedereen weet dat het gewoon de logica is dat één plus één nog altijd twee is!

En reken maar, dat dat het geval zal zijn! In zijn openingsweekend verpulverde The Hunger Games: Mockingjay - Part 1 alle jaarrecords. Of het publiek tevreden is blijft een andere vraag, want als je na twee uur de donkere bioscoop verlaat, weet je dat je eigenlijk gewoon naar een lang uitgerekt voorgerecht hebt gekeken.

Net zoals Harry Potter is ook The Hunger Games donkerder geworden. Wie het vorige deel Catching Fire zag (bijna verplicht als je het allemaal wil volgen) weet dat het eigenlijk niet meer om de hongerspelen gaat. Katniss is immers in District 13 terechtgekomen: het deel van Panem dat in opstand is gekomen tegen de tirannieke president Snow (Donald Sutherland). Plutarch Heavensbee (Philip Seymour Hoffman) beschouwt Katniss als het ideale uithangbord van de revolutie. President Alma Coin (Julianne Moore) stemt toe en samen met een videoploeg gaat Katniss op pad om de bevolking te tonen wat voor een wreedaard die Snow wel is. En wat is er met haar liefje Peeta (Josh Hutcherson) gebeurd? Wel, deze brave jongen is in het Kapitool achtergebleven en wordt door Snow gebruikt (nou ja, misbruikt) om Katniss ervan te overtuigen dat ze fout bezig is.

Het klinkt vreemd, maar eigenlijk hebben we hiermee de essentie van het verhaal neergepend. Er zijn zelfs geen spoilers weggegeven, want op het slot na, dat je wellicht nooit zal vergeten, gebeurt er niks. Toch hebben we geen enkele keer het mobieltje bovengehaald om te kijken hoe laat het is. Er is natuurlijk die prachtige Jennifer Lawrence, maar ondanks de leegte hebben we ons geen seconde verveeld en dat komt natuurlijk hoofdzakelijk door de ijzersterke vertolkingen, ten minste als je Liam Hemsworth uit het lijstje schrapt. Door het overlijden van Philip Seymour Hoffman verliest regisseur Francis Lawrence (neen, niet de papa van) één van zijn troeven, maar de finale opent wel de weg naar wat waarschijnlijk één van de beste blockbusters uit 2015 wordt. Dat we maar rap een jaartje ouder worden, want nu hebben ze ons gewoon maar nieuwsgierig gemaakt!

Didier BECU
21/11/2014


21/11/2014 : FRANCIS LAWRENCE - The Hunger Games: Mockingjay - Part 1 21/11/2014 : FRANCIS LAWRENCE - The Hunger Games: Mockingjay - Part 1 21/11/2014 : FRANCIS LAWRENCE - The Hunger Games: Mockingjay - Part 1 21/11/2014 : FRANCIS LAWRENCE - The Hunger Games: Mockingjay - Part 1 21/11/2014 : FRANCIS LAWRENCE - The Hunger Games: Mockingjay - Part 1 21/11/2014 : FRANCIS LAWRENCE - The Hunger Games: Mockingjay - Part 1 21/11/2014 : FRANCIS LAWRENCE - The Hunger Games: Mockingjay - Part 1 21/11/2014 : FRANCIS LAWRENCE - The Hunger Games: Mockingjay - Part 1 21/11/2014 : FRANCIS LAWRENCE - The Hunger Games: Mockingjay - Part 1 21/11/2014 : FRANCIS LAWRENCE - The Hunger Games: Mockingjay - Part 1 21/11/2014 : FRANCIS LAWRENCE - The Hunger Games: Mockingjay - Part 1 21/11/2014 : FRANCIS LAWRENCE - The Hunger Games: Mockingjay - Part 1 21/11/2014 : FRANCIS LAWRENCE - The Hunger Games: Mockingjay - Part 1 21/11/2014 : FRANCIS LAWRENCE - The Hunger Games: Mockingjay - Part 1 21/11/2014 : FRANCIS LAWRENCE - The Hunger Games: Mockingjay - Part 1 21/11/2014 : FRANCIS LAWRENCE - The Hunger Games: Mockingjay - Part 1

Music reviews

12
04
HACKEDEPICCIOTTO
Menetekel
04
04
GROOVENOM
Wir müssen reden
03
04
THE RECEIPTS
The Receipts
02
04
FONTAINES D.C
Dogrel
01
04
FRAGRANCE
Now That I'm Real
31
03
PARADE GROUND
Life [Live In Frankfurt]

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
04
New Peek-a-Boo Magazine #33 out now!
14
04
Blindness Vocalist Beth Rettig Announces Debut EP ''The Desert'' From New Project Where We Sleep
13
04
Watch a new trailer for an upcoming documentary on Canadian synthpunk innovator, Nash The Slash!
12
04
Coil Release 150 minutes Of Music Entitled ''SWANYARD''
11
04
Tomorrow! Double concert Neon Electronics + Simi Nah - Win a free album!
10
04
THRILLSVILLE Releases Dark Electronic Single, 'Second Sleep'

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

16
04
GNOSTIC GORILLA
WAKE UP! We are really in deep shit if we don’t snap out of this siege mentality and we need to stop killing the earth!
12
04
ERNEST MOON
“Our interest in the literary arts is equal to that of music.”
11
04
51 PEG
Breaking A 14-Year Absence: An Interview With 51 Peg
10
04
JO QUAIL
'I guess I’m a bit difficult to categorize!'
08
04
LAIBACH
'In reality, nobody really wants to solve a Korean problem.'

PHOTOS

18
04
DATE AT MIDNIGHT
Dark Skies over Witten V Werkstatt Witten Germany
18
04
AUGER
Dark Skies over Witten V Wekstatt Witten Germany
06
04
PERSEPHONE
@ A Mourning hall concert Gelsenkirchen
24
03
RED ZEBRA
De Lux Herenthout
24
03
DE BRASSERS
De Lux Herenthout
10
03
DER KLINKE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
A SLICE OF LIFE
De Klinker Aarschot

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

18
04
UNDERTHESKIN
Borderline
18
04
EINSTÜRZENDE NEUBAUTEN
Yü-Gung (Fütter Mein Ego) - (Live Rockpalast 1990)
17
04
NACHTFALTER
Maschinenklang
16
04
ANNI HOGAN
Angels Of Romance (featuring Gavin Friday
15
04
DOWNLOAD
Glassblower (Official music video)
15
04
JO QUAIL
The Falconer
14
04
SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS
Tell Them