tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

21/10/2014 : FRANCOIS OZON - Une Nouvelle Amie (FilmFest Ghent 2014)

FRANCOIS OZON

Une Nouvelle Amie (FilmFest Ghent 2014)

Movie
ComedyDrama
Filmfest Gent
21/10/2014, Didier BECU

EN

You definitely can say that François Ozon has all the right reasons to consider himself as the true successor from François Truffaut. Ozon also almost delivers every year a movie, gives them a delicious French stamp and just like Truffaut he uses all different styles.

Last year Ozon told the touching story of a teen prostitute in Jeune & Jolie, and with his newest movie he also seeks the side of society that is considered by some as not normal. This time the French director tells us the story of a transvestite (an excellent casting for Romain Duris) and especially the way his friends and neighborhood handle this. Ozon doesn’t opt for the usual clichés we know from that type of movies, but wraps this drama in an almost modern Tim Burton-fairy tale. The pastiche colors could come right out of Potiche with Catherine Deneuve. Even if there’s a lot of inner tension in the script that’s been based upon a novel by British writer Ruth Rendell, the movie never feels that way. Apart from an astonishing Romain Duris (never thought I would write that!), there’s also the charming excellence from new star Anaïs Demoustier who performs the role of Claire, the girl who tries to help her friend over his identity crisis.

The sixteenth movie from Ozon is another winner and you can bet your money on it that Une Nouvelle Amie will end up high in our list of 2014.

Didier BECU
21/10/2014


NL

Je zou gerust kunnen stellen dat François Ozon meer en meer de waardige opvolger wordt van naamgenoot François Truffaut. Ozon levert bijna ieder jaar een film af, drukt daarop een heerlijke Franse stempel en goochelt net als Truffaut met allerlei stijlen.

Vorig jaar bracht Ozon het ontroerende relaas over een tienerprostituee in Jeune & Jolie, en met zijn nieuwste prent marcheert hij wederom aan de rand van de maatschappij. Deze keer gaat het om een travestie (eigenlijk een meer dan ideale rol voor Romain Duris) en vooral hoe de maatschappij daarmee omgaat. Ozon verkoos niet de ondertussen net iets te platgetreden clichés van de holebifilms, maar verpakt de dramatische hoogtepunten in een modern sprookje die bijna in een Tim Burton-sfeertje baden. De pastiche kleuren kunnen zo uit Potiche komen en ook al zit er enorm veel drama in het scenario verwerkt (dat trouwens losjes is gebaseerd op een verhaal van de Britse schrijfster Ruth Rendell) lijkt het allemaal eerder luchtig. Naast een bijna geniale Romain Duris schittert ook Anaïs Demoustier als Claire die probeert haar vriend zijn identiteitscrisis te doen overwinnen.

De zestiende film van Ozon is wederom een schot in de roos en nu al voorbestemd om zeer hoog in het lijstje van 2014 te belanden.

Didier BECU
21/10/2014


21/10/2014 : FRANCOIS OZON - Une Nouvelle Amie (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 21/10/2014 : FRANCOIS OZON - Une Nouvelle Amie (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 21/10/2014 : FRANCOIS OZON - Une Nouvelle Amie (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 21/10/2014 : FRANCOIS OZON - Une Nouvelle Amie (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 21/10/2014 : FRANCOIS OZON - Une Nouvelle Amie (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 21/10/2014 : FRANCOIS OZON - Une Nouvelle Amie (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 21/10/2014 : FRANCOIS OZON - Une Nouvelle Amie (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 21/10/2014 : FRANCOIS OZON - Une Nouvelle Amie (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 21/10/2014 : FRANCOIS OZON - Une Nouvelle Amie (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 21/10/2014 : FRANCOIS OZON - Une Nouvelle Amie (FilmFest Ghent 2014)

 

Next reviews
JEAN-LUC GODARD • Adieu Au Langage 3D (FilmFest Ghent 2014)
ABEL FERRARA • Pasolini (FilmFest Ghent 2014)
HILLA MEDALIA • The Go-Go Boys: The Inside Story Of Cannon Films (FilmFest Ghent 2014)
TYSKE LUDDER • THE BIM-FILES: Tyske Ludder
SOL INVICTUS • Once Upon A Time
XAVIER DOLAN • Tom A La Ferme
TED V. MIKELS • Girl In Gold Boots
ZAK HILDITCH • These Final Hours (FilmFest Ghent 2014)
PHIL LORD & CHRIS MILLER • 22 Jump Street
NEONSOL • Ecliptic

 

Other reviews from FRANCOIS OZON
FRANCOIS OZON • Jeune & Jolie

 

Same combination of genres: COMEDY + DRAMA
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Nanni Moretti: Mia Madre
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Ole Giæver , Marte Vold: Out of Nature
MARCO FERRERI • La Grande Bouffe
MARC FORSTER • Stranger Than Fiction
CLAUDE SAUTET • Garçon
ANTONY BURNS • Home Sweet Hell
• SILICON VALLEY SEASON 1
PAOLO VIRZI • Il Capitale Umano
THOMAS CAILLEY • Les Combattants
EMMA DANTE • Una Via A Palermo

 

Same genre: COMEDY
A MIDSUMMER NIGHT'S DREAM • A modern adaption of Shakespeare's comedy play
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Barry Levinson: Rock The Kasbah
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Julian Jarrold: A Royal Night Out
JEFF BAENA • Life After Beth
RAYMOND DE FELITTA • Rob The Mob
JEAN-PAUL RAPPENEAU • Tout Feu, Tout Flamme
MAX LANDIS • American Ultra
ROY ANDERSSON • A Pigeon Sat On A Branch Reflecting On Existence
PHILIPPE LE GUAY • Les Femmes Du 6ième Etage
EDOUARD MOLINARO • Le Téléphone Rose

 

Same genre: DRAMA
NINA GROSSE • Das Wochenende/The Weekend
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Yuriy Bykov: Durak
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Andrew Haigh: 45 Years
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Jayro Bustamante: Ixcanul
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Radu Muntean: One Floor Below
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • László Nemes: Son Of Saul
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Joachim Trier: Louder Than Bombs
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Alejandro Amenábar: Regression
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Thomas Bidegain: Les Cowboys
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Helen Walsh: The Violators

Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
08
Futurepop Act, Voicecoil Reflects On Strange Days With New Album
14
08
Darkwave Duo, Male Tears Addresses Nightlife Hypocrisy & Abuse With New Single
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 35 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
09
08
Electronic Band She 1 - Him 2 Addresses Breaking Free With New Single
08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

16
08
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
SCHANDMAUL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
ROTERSAND
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
VNV NATION CLASSICAL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
COMBICHRIST
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
15
08
FEUERSCHWANZ
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
15
08
UNZUCHT
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

16
08
0KONTROL
Lullaby
15
08
AUSTRA
Utopia
14
08
THE SMITHS
There Is A Light That Never Goes Out
13
08
DRAB MAJESTY
39 By Design
12
08
COCTEAU TWINS
Hazel
11
08
IN STRICT CONFIDENDE
Somebody Else´s Dream
10
08
DOWNLOAD
Neuron Proper