tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cult movies review

04/08/2014 : FRED WALTON - April Fool's Day

FRED WALTON

April Fool's Day

MovieCult movies
Horror

[69/100]   

Universal Pictures
04/08/2014, Didier BECU

EN

In our fine (yeah, even if we say it ourselves) series that feature horror movies that no one remembers we digged up April Fool’s Day from 1986. Mind you, the movie is not a masterpiece, but certainly deserves its place next to those other famous slasher movies from the 80’s. The movie was an idea from Paramount Pictures. In those days A Nightmare on Elm Street was the ultimate horror hit and it really looked like if the public didn’t care about all those sequels from Friday The 13th. Producer Frank Mancuso Jr understood this as he was after all the man who pumped money in the disaster that Friday the 13th Part V: A New Beginning was. Scriptwriter Danilo Bach (the man who came up with the Beverly Hills Cop–films) had a brilliant idea: a whodunnit-movie that looked like a horror satire!


Agreed, something like this looks ridiculous on paper, but due to the enthusiastic cast and decent directing from Fred Walton (who already hade made the horrorhit When a Stranger Calls with Charles Durning and an episode from Miami Vice) April Fool’s Day turned out to be a (now kind of forgotten) horror classic that deserves to be (re)discovered by every fan.


It’s a bit of a shame that the title reveals the plot, but apart from that, Walton succeeds in fooling the viewer. The effects are standard, but decent though. The girls are absolutely gorgeous (especially Deborah Foreman and Deborah Goodrich) and the dialogues very funny. Among the boys you’ll notice Griffin O’Neal (the son from superstar Ryan) who ended up a year later in jail because he was responsible for an accident on a sailing boat that caused the death of Gian-Carlo Coppola (indeed, also the son from). Strange enough a similar accident was included in this movie….


Ten years later Frank Mancuso Jr thought it was necessary to produce a remake, but we keep it to the first one. Originals always do taste better, not?

Didier BECU
04/08/2014


NL

In de reeks “horrorfilms die geen kat meer kent” halen we graag nog eens April Fool’s Day uit 1986 vanonder het stof. De film is zeker geen meesterwerk, maar mag gerust naast het bekendere slasherwerk uit de jaren 80 pronken. De film is een bedenksel van de Paramount Pictures. A Nightmare on Elm Street was ondertussen de horrorhit van het moment geworden en producer Frank Mancuso Jr had het al lang door dat het bioscooppubliek niet meer naar de sequels van Friday The 13th kwam kijken. En hij kon het als geen ander weten, want hij was de man die een jaartje eerder geld in het fiasco Friday the 13th Part V: A New Beginning had gestoken. Het was scenarioschrijver Danilo Bach (bedenker van de Beverly Hills Cop–films) die met een nieuw idee op de proppen kwam. Een whodunnit-film die er als een horrorsatire uitzag!

Op papier klopt zoiets natuurlijk voor geen meter, maar dankzij de enthousiaste cast en de onderhoudende regie van Fred Walton (die daarvoor al de horrorhit When a Stranger Calls met veteraan Charles Durning en zelfs een aflevering uit Miami Vice had gedraaid) is April Fool’s Day een vergeten horrorklassieker geworden die iedere griezelfanaat moet hebben gezien.

Jammer genoeg verraadt de titel tevens de plot, maar dat neemt toch niet weg dat Walton erin slaagt om de kijker een uur in het ooitje te nemen. De schrikeffecten zijn standaard, maar van een zeer degelijk niveau. De meiden zijn superknap (vooral Deborah Foreman en Deborah Goodrich) en de dialogen meer dan onderhoudend. Tussen de jongens herken je ook Griffin O’Neal (zoon van superster Ryan) die een jaar later in de nor belandde omdat hij verantwoordelijk was voor een zeilbootongeluk waarbij Gian-Carlo Coppola (zoon van!) om het leven kwam. En vreemd genoeg gebeurt er in deze film iets gelijkaardigs…

Meer dan tien jaar later vond Frank Mancuso Jr het nodig om ook de remake te produceren, maar wij houden het op het origineel. Dat smaakt altijd beter, niet?

Didier BECU
04/08/2014


04/08/2014 : FRED WALTON - April Fool's Day 04/08/2014 : FRED WALTON - April Fool's Day 04/08/2014 : FRED WALTON - April Fool's Day 04/08/2014 : FRED WALTON - April Fool's Day 04/08/2014 : FRED WALTON - April Fool's Day 04/08/2014 : FRED WALTON - April Fool's Day 04/08/2014 : FRED WALTON - April Fool's Day 04/08/2014 : FRED WALTON - April Fool's Day 04/08/2014 : FRED WALTON - April Fool's Day 04/08/2014 : FRED WALTON - April Fool's Day 04/08/2014 : FRED WALTON - April Fool's Day 04/08/2014 : FRED WALTON - April Fool's Day 04/08/2014 : FRED WALTON - April Fool's Day 04/08/2014 : FRED WALTON - April Fool's Day 04/08/2014 : FRED WALTON - April Fool's Day

Music reviews

14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment
09
06
CELESTIAL NORTH
When The Gods Dance
12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue
22
04
DEAD MAN'S HILL
Inner Journeys Through The Living Temples Of Water

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
06
44 years ago Suicide performed their legendary '23 minutes over Brussels'!
15
06
Roobanok: new talent on SkyQode
15
06
Today it’s exactly 43 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
14
06
Industrial band, The Royal Ritual addresses organized religion ethics with debut LP, /Martyrs/
14
06
TELESKOP releases new EP on Progress Productions
13
06
Toxikk Deception releases new album through DSBP Records

Concert reviews

14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

23
06
THE JESUS & MARY CHAIN
Trix Antwerpen
22
06
MONROE SUPPORT ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
22
06
ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
21
06
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
AB Brussel
19
06
GARY NUMAN
New Waves Day Oberhausen
19
06
PINK TURNS BLUE
New Waves Day Oberhausen
19
06
THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
New Waves Day Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

25
06
CIRCLE OF DUST
Outside In
24
06
LUH
Beneath The Concrete
23
06
EARTHSET
SO WHAT!?
22
06
DIORAMA
ZSA
21
06
MIEL NOIR
L’ennemi
20
06
POESIE NOIRE
Déjà Vu
19
06
SLITHERUM
Godbox Suicide