tempobet yeni adresi
like this concert review

25/05/2014 : FRONT242 + RADICAL G - live at Vooruit, Ghent, Belgium, 24/5/2014

FRONT242 + RADICAL G

live at Vooruit, Ghent, Belgium, 24/5/2014

Concert
Cold EBMEBMElectro

[99/100]   
25/05/2014, Filip VAN MUYLEM

I hope you all know the great venue where one of our all-time heroes performed one of their best sets so far! I love De Vooruit, a great place, with great sound and nicely renovated! This one smells great musical history!

Warm up was served by a guy who did it a lot in the past (at least the gigs I saw). This time I could see him from really close and noticed his funny ears (very pointy, as if he's an elf, together with his very sharp and long nose). I'm sorry, I have just seen the first season of Grimm and am still under influence of the episode where a rat monster was playing the killer DJ... It reminded me of that! Well, the guy launched his beats, slowly building up the tension. You can call his music cold EBM on rave! What else did I see: a laptop, some kind of live synth and a microphone that he used to fire up the audience and launch some vocals now and then. The end came somehow too fast, the audience was awake and getting along very well with his music. For me it could have lasted a bit more and that is always a good thing! Now up to the long awaited gig!

The Vooruit was getting properly filled (sadly unsure if it was finally sold out or not). The first thing I notice is that they start with another sound (not the typical 'Happiness’) and with new visuals! From the start I'm getting sucked up by the music, losing myself in their beats, movements, dancing, jumping, running, firing up the audience... It was all powered up, maxed up! These guys are in better shape than me (and I’m actually younger)! 'Moldavia' is a great opener, but it is strange that they didn't play that one. 'Body to Body' knocked us all out and it only started! It was for sure 'A Lovely Day'! The next 2 songs are not so well known, but it's good that they take some risks! 'Headhunter' was a real headshot! The audience loved it and reacted as totally in ecstasy! Next big hits are 'U-Men' and 'Funkhadafi' all in a new version! It's great that they keep on reinventing themselves after all those years, instead of simply playing the same stuff over and over! This is what makes the difference with all the other clones of theirs! They prove once more why they are our all-time favorites in this genre! We all dance, jump and shadow fight all along! People started screaming for 'Welcome to Paradise', but had to wait until just after another master hit 'Im Rhythmus Bleiben'! This was our passage in EBM heaven! This was also the end of the regular set, no doubt that the people wanted more and they made it very clear!

I must say that the live version from Underviewer is a more dramatic version, but this one is not bad either. 'Punish Your Machine' was another highlight!

Still the audience wanted more, the band doubted, the sound of the microphones was even already cut out, but the right vibe was there! Richard23 fooled a bit around and joked. He fired up the fans and everybody got the ultimate Front242 track! 'No Shuffle' is an evergreen, no matter in what kind of version they bring it! It was a bomb and the crowd shouted a long until the song was done and the band decided to leave the stage for good! Even outside I still heard the people singing the song! It was for sure a great night! Thank you Filip Delens and Happy Birthday!

  1. Moldavia

  2. Body to Body

  3. Lovely Day

  4. Together

  5. 7Rain

  6. Headhunter

  7. Take One

  8. Circling Overland

  9. Triple X Girlfriend

  10. Quite Unusual

  11. U-Men

  12. Funkahdafi

  13. Commando Mix

  14. Melt

  15. Im Rhythmus Bleiben

  16. Welcome to Paradise

    Encore:

  17. Kampfbereit

  18. Punish Your Machine

    Encore 2:

  19. No Shuffle

Underviewer interview

Filip VAN MUYLEM
25/05/2014


25/05/2014 : FRONT242 + RADICAL G - live at Vooruit, Ghent, Belgium, 24/5/2014 25/05/2014 : FRONT242 + RADICAL G - live at Vooruit, Ghent, Belgium, 24/5/2014 25/05/2014 : FRONT242 + RADICAL G - live at Vooruit, Ghent, Belgium, 24/5/2014 25/05/2014 : FRONT242 + RADICAL G - live at Vooruit, Ghent, Belgium, 24/5/2014 25/05/2014 : FRONT242 + RADICAL G - live at Vooruit, Ghent, Belgium, 24/5/2014 25/05/2014 : FRONT242 + RADICAL G - live at Vooruit, Ghent, Belgium, 24/5/2014 25/05/2014 : FRONT242 + RADICAL G - live at Vooruit, Ghent, Belgium, 24/5/2014 25/05/2014 : FRONT242 + RADICAL G - live at Vooruit, Ghent, Belgium, 24/5/2014 25/05/2014 : FRONT242 + RADICAL G - live at Vooruit, Ghent, Belgium, 24/5/2014 25/05/2014 : FRONT242 + RADICAL G - live at Vooruit, Ghent, Belgium, 24/5/2014 25/05/2014 : FRONT242 + RADICAL G - live at Vooruit, Ghent, Belgium, 24/5/2014 25/05/2014 : FRONT242 + RADICAL G - live at Vooruit, Ghent, Belgium, 24/5/2014 25/05/2014 : FRONT242 + RADICAL G - live at Vooruit, Ghent, Belgium, 24/5/2014 25/05/2014 : FRONT242 + RADICAL G - live at Vooruit, Ghent, Belgium, 24/5/2014 25/05/2014 : FRONT242 + RADICAL G - live at Vooruit, Ghent, Belgium, 24/5/2014 25/05/2014 : FRONT242 + RADICAL G - live at Vooruit, Ghent, Belgium, 24/5/2014

 

Next reviews
AVATAR • Hail The Apocalypse
DOUGLAS AARNIOKOSKI • Nurse 3D
CLICK CLICK • Those Nervous Surgeons
SPENCER MOODY • SINGLE CAR ACIDENT
ROMAN POLANSKI • Venus In Fur
BLACK ANVIL • Hail Death
STILLE VOLK • La Peira Negra
JOSS WHEDON • Much ado about nothing
YOLANDE MOREAU • Henri
CODY CAMERON & KRIS PEARN • Cloudy with a chance of meatballs 2

 

Same combination of genres: COLD EBM + EBM + ELECTRO
SYNTHS VERSUS ME • 1987 12'
LESCURE 13 • Too Much Motherf***ckers
UNDERVIEWER, CRUISE CTRL & MARIA • live at TAG, BRUSSELS, 21/09/2013

 

Same genre: COLD EBM
METAL DISCO • Devil Explicit
ORTROTASCE • Ortrotasce
ALLES • Post
[SNUFF] • [SNUFF] EP
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Transmission Nord Waves 80-13
INVASION OF FEMALE LOGIC • Alternativlos
VARIOUS ARTISTS • CAGE 21
PRETTY ADDICTED • It All Stems From Childhood
AKALOTZ • Shift to Evil
ETHAN FAWKES • ALL YOUR LIES

 

Same genre: EBM
PLASTIKSTROM • Beton Gegen Angst
ELM • Death Of The North
GRENDEL • Ascending The Abyss
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1 • Harbringer
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES • Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
MASSIVE EGO • Church For The Malfunctioned
SIGNAL AOUT 42 • Insurrection
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
ZWEITE JUGEND • Elektronische Körpermusik
PARADE GROUND • Life [Live In Frankfurt]

 

Same genre: ELECTRO
MASSIVE ATTACK • Massive Attack vs Mad Professor Part II | Mezzanine Remix Tapes
STAATSEINDE • Dreiheit
CHEMICAL BROTHERS • No Geography
STATIQBLOOM • Asphyxia
UMMAGMA • Caravan -Backed With Ty i Ya
VARIOUS ARTISTS • A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Wake Up The Coma
PAS MUSIQUE • The Phoenix
UNIDENTIFIED MAN • Memento Mori
DIVE • Live Maschinenfest 2017

Music reviews

03
12
THE HERESY GENE
La Luz Del Padre
28
11
PETER BJARGO (ARCANA)
Structures and Downfall
27
11
PLASTIKSTROM
Beton Gegen Angst
23
11
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES
AESTUARIUM
19
11
PSY'AVIAH
Soul Searching
17
11
DAGEIST
Sexy

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

08
12
Today, 41 years ago, Public Image released its debut album First issue!
08
12
76 Years Ago JIM MORRISON WAS BORN!
07
12
27 years ago NINE INCH NAILS released the FIXED (EP)
06
12
Ever Fallen In love? | A Tribute To Pete Shelley (17/4/1955-06/12/18)
05
12
43 Years Ago Oxygene Was Released!
04
12
This month it’s 35 years ago Canadian industrial act Skinny Puppy released their very first EP Remission.

Concert reviews

25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

29
11
TREVOR DUNN (MR.BUNGLE,FANTOMAS, TRIO-CONVULSANT...)
'The hard thing to do is to keep it simple.'
24
11
DEAD HIGH WIRE
‘Dead High Wire Did Not Like To Be Categorized In One Box’
02
11
UNDERTHESKIN
Try To Leave The Listener In A Certain Reflection, And Maybe Bring Some Kind Of Relief
01
11
MIKE WATT(JUMPSTARTED PLOWHARDS)
In a way, the project is a total collaboration!
26
10
MICHAEL GIRA (SWANS)
'Having a strong presence of death in your mind all the time is very healthy thing!'

PHOTOS

06
12
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
04
12
NEAR EARTH ORBIT
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
03
12
DASSWAT
C.C. Palethe Pelt
03
12
DIVE
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
03
12
THE DEVIL AND THE UNIVERSE
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
03
12
CLAN OF XYMOX
Gleiss 22 Münster Germany
03
12
PALAIS IDEAL
Gleiss 22 Münster Germany

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

07
12
VAST
Touched
07
12
MOTOR!K
Static
06
12
MASSIVE EGO
Let Go
05
12
JOHN ROX & OXYDION FT. ELENA ALICE FOSSI
Social Lovers
04
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
Crime Passionel
03
12
SIXTH JUNE
Night Before
02
12
LEBANON HANOVER
Gallowdance