tempobet yeni adresi
like this concert review

25/05/2014 : FRONT242 + RADICAL G - live at Vooruit, Ghent, Belgium, 24/5/2014

FRONT242 + RADICAL G

live at Vooruit, Ghent, Belgium, 24/5/2014

Concert
Cold EBMEBMElectro

[99/100]   
25/05/2014, Filip VAN MUYLEM

I hope you all know the great venue where one of our all-time heroes performed one of their best sets so far! I love De Vooruit, a great place, with great sound and nicely renovated! This one smells great musical history!

Warm up was served by a guy who did it a lot in the past (at least the gigs I saw). This time I could see him from really close and noticed his funny ears (very pointy, as if he's an elf, together with his very sharp and long nose). I'm sorry, I have just seen the first season of Grimm and am still under influence of the episode where a rat monster was playing the killer DJ... It reminded me of that! Well, the guy launched his beats, slowly building up the tension. You can call his music cold EBM on rave! What else did I see: a laptop, some kind of live synth and a microphone that he used to fire up the audience and launch some vocals now and then. The end came somehow too fast, the audience was awake and getting along very well with his music. For me it could have lasted a bit more and that is always a good thing! Now up to the long awaited gig!

The Vooruit was getting properly filled (sadly unsure if it was finally sold out or not). The first thing I notice is that they start with another sound (not the typical 'Happiness’) and with new visuals! From the start I'm getting sucked up by the music, losing myself in their beats, movements, dancing, jumping, running, firing up the audience... It was all powered up, maxed up! These guys are in better shape than me (and I’m actually younger)! 'Moldavia' is a great opener, but it is strange that they didn't play that one. 'Body to Body' knocked us all out and it only started! It was for sure 'A Lovely Day'! The next 2 songs are not so well known, but it's good that they take some risks! 'Headhunter' was a real headshot! The audience loved it and reacted as totally in ecstasy! Next big hits are 'U-Men' and 'Funkhadafi' all in a new version! It's great that they keep on reinventing themselves after all those years, instead of simply playing the same stuff over and over! This is what makes the difference with all the other clones of theirs! They prove once more why they are our all-time favorites in this genre! We all dance, jump and shadow fight all along! People started screaming for 'Welcome to Paradise', but had to wait until just after another master hit 'Im Rhythmus Bleiben'! This was our passage in EBM heaven! This was also the end of the regular set, no doubt that the people wanted more and they made it very clear!

I must say that the live version from Underviewer is a more dramatic version, but this one is not bad either. 'Punish Your Machine' was another highlight!

Still the audience wanted more, the band doubted, the sound of the microphones was even already cut out, but the right vibe was there! Richard23 fooled a bit around and joked. He fired up the fans and everybody got the ultimate Front242 track! 'No Shuffle' is an evergreen, no matter in what kind of version they bring it! It was a bomb and the crowd shouted a long until the song was done and the band decided to leave the stage for good! Even outside I still heard the people singing the song! It was for sure a great night! Thank you Filip Delens and Happy Birthday!

  1. Moldavia

  2. Body to Body

  3. Lovely Day

  4. Together

  5. 7Rain

  6. Headhunter

  7. Take One

  8. Circling Overland

  9. Triple X Girlfriend

  10. Quite Unusual

  11. U-Men

  12. Funkahdafi

  13. Commando Mix

  14. Melt

  15. Im Rhythmus Bleiben

  16. Welcome to Paradise

    Encore:

  17. Kampfbereit

  18. Punish Your Machine

    Encore 2:

  19. No Shuffle

Underviewer interview

Filip VAN MUYLEM
25/05/2014


25/05/2014 : FRONT242 + RADICAL G - live at Vooruit, Ghent, Belgium, 24/5/2014 25/05/2014 : FRONT242 + RADICAL G - live at Vooruit, Ghent, Belgium, 24/5/2014 25/05/2014 : FRONT242 + RADICAL G - live at Vooruit, Ghent, Belgium, 24/5/2014 25/05/2014 : FRONT242 + RADICAL G - live at Vooruit, Ghent, Belgium, 24/5/2014 25/05/2014 : FRONT242 + RADICAL G - live at Vooruit, Ghent, Belgium, 24/5/2014 25/05/2014 : FRONT242 + RADICAL G - live at Vooruit, Ghent, Belgium, 24/5/2014 25/05/2014 : FRONT242 + RADICAL G - live at Vooruit, Ghent, Belgium, 24/5/2014 25/05/2014 : FRONT242 + RADICAL G - live at Vooruit, Ghent, Belgium, 24/5/2014 25/05/2014 : FRONT242 + RADICAL G - live at Vooruit, Ghent, Belgium, 24/5/2014 25/05/2014 : FRONT242 + RADICAL G - live at Vooruit, Ghent, Belgium, 24/5/2014 25/05/2014 : FRONT242 + RADICAL G - live at Vooruit, Ghent, Belgium, 24/5/2014 25/05/2014 : FRONT242 + RADICAL G - live at Vooruit, Ghent, Belgium, 24/5/2014 25/05/2014 : FRONT242 + RADICAL G - live at Vooruit, Ghent, Belgium, 24/5/2014 25/05/2014 : FRONT242 + RADICAL G - live at Vooruit, Ghent, Belgium, 24/5/2014 25/05/2014 : FRONT242 + RADICAL G - live at Vooruit, Ghent, Belgium, 24/5/2014 25/05/2014 : FRONT242 + RADICAL G - live at Vooruit, Ghent, Belgium, 24/5/2014

 

Next reviews
AVATAR • Hail The Apocalypse
DOUGLAS AARNIOKOSKI • Nurse 3D
CLICK CLICK • Those Nervous Surgeons
SPENCER MOODY • SINGLE CAR ACIDENT
ROMAN POLANSKI • Venus In Fur
BLACK ANVIL • Hail Death
STILLE VOLK • La Peira Negra
JOSS WHEDON • Much ado about nothing
YOLANDE MOREAU • Henri
CODY CAMERON & KRIS PEARN • Cloudy with a chance of meatballs 2

 

Same combination of genres: COLD EBM + EBM + ELECTRO
SYNTHS VERSUS ME • 1987 12'
LESCURE 13 • Too Much Motherf***ckers
UNDERVIEWER, CRUISE CTRL & MARIA • live at TAG, BRUSSELS, 21/09/2013

 

Same genre: COLD EBM
BALVANERA • Courses of Action
JIHAD • Retrospekt
GHOSTING • The Flanders EP
METAL DISCO • Devil Explicit
ORTROTASCE • Ortrotasce
ALLES • Post
[SNUFF] • [SNUFF] EP
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Transmission Nord Waves 80-13
INVASION OF FEMALE LOGIC • Alternativlos
VARIOUS ARTISTS • CAGE 21

 

Same genre: EBM
WULF7 • I don't want (Anymore)
TRAGIC IMPULSE • Distant Worlds
STAATSEINDE • Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
SAMHAIN • Experiment
MICHAEL ZODOROZNY • Other Side
ARMAGEDDON DILDOS • Desctruction
RHYS FULBER • Brutal Nature
ORANGE SECTOR • Alles wird Gold
HERRNIA • Takkewereld
STAATSEINDE • Crazy Earthlings Collab Tape - Episode II

 

Same genre: ELECTRO
ADULT. • Becoming Undone
J:DEAD • Tearing me apart
MILDREDA • I was never really there
LISA GERRARD & JULES MAXWELL • Burn
POTOCHKINE • Sortilèges
BLUTENGEL • Fountain of Destiny
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Electropop 18 (Super Deluxe Edition)
300 000VK • Peter Paradox
MARTIN L. GORE • The Third Chimpanzee E.P.
HA:PEOPLE.3.55 • El Dia de la Bestia, Part 2 : WAR!

Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album
06
08
Post-Punk Artist Daniel Ouellette Brings Life To A Haunted House With New Album
05
08
Industrial bass artist SINthetik Messiah addresses violence in The Vatican with new single
05
08
NOISE UNIT is back in full force!
05
08
Industrial artist, Nuda addresses past trauma & mental illness with 'Trigger'
05
08
Darkwave Duo Sever The Servants Drop Apocalyptic Debut LP

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

05
08
RAMMSTEIN
Park De Nieuwe Koers Oostende
02
08
SHE PAST AWAY
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
FROZEN PLASMA
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
MONO INC.
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
[:SITD:]
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
MESH
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
ROME
Amphi Festival Keulen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

07
08
CREMATORY
Haus Mit Garten
06
08
K-X-P
Space Precious Time
05
08
MONICA JEFFRIES
In Circles
04
08
ILLUMININE
For What It's Worth (Live at Sundlaugin Studio)
03
08
THE CURE
A Forest (Live in Paris 1979)
02
08
DIE KRUPPS
Goldfinger
01
08
ZARDONIC
Revelation