tempobet yeni adresi
like this concert review

25/05/2014 : FRONT242 + RADICAL G - live at Vooruit, Ghent, Belgium, 24/5/2014

FRONT242 + RADICAL G

live at Vooruit, Ghent, Belgium, 24/5/2014

Concert
Cold EBMEBMElectro

[99/100]   
25/05/2014, Filip VAN MUYLEM

I hope you all know the great venue where one of our all-time heroes performed one of their best sets so far! I love De Vooruit, a great place, with great sound and nicely renovated! This one smells great musical history!

Warm up was served by a guy who did it a lot in the past (at least the gigs I saw). This time I could see him from really close and noticed his funny ears (very pointy, as if he's an elf, together with his very sharp and long nose). I'm sorry, I have just seen the first season of Grimm and am still under influence of the episode where a rat monster was playing the killer DJ... It reminded me of that! Well, the guy launched his beats, slowly building up the tension. You can call his music cold EBM on rave! What else did I see: a laptop, some kind of live synth and a microphone that he used to fire up the audience and launch some vocals now and then. The end came somehow too fast, the audience was awake and getting along very well with his music. For me it could have lasted a bit more and that is always a good thing! Now up to the long awaited gig!

The Vooruit was getting properly filled (sadly unsure if it was finally sold out or not). The first thing I notice is that they start with another sound (not the typical 'Happiness’) and with new visuals! From the start I'm getting sucked up by the music, losing myself in their beats, movements, dancing, jumping, running, firing up the audience... It was all powered up, maxed up! These guys are in better shape than me (and I’m actually younger)! 'Moldavia' is a great opener, but it is strange that they didn't play that one. 'Body to Body' knocked us all out and it only started! It was for sure 'A Lovely Day'! The next 2 songs are not so well known, but it's good that they take some risks! 'Headhunter' was a real headshot! The audience loved it and reacted as totally in ecstasy! Next big hits are 'U-Men' and 'Funkhadafi' all in a new version! It's great that they keep on reinventing themselves after all those years, instead of simply playing the same stuff over and over! This is what makes the difference with all the other clones of theirs! They prove once more why they are our all-time favorites in this genre! We all dance, jump and shadow fight all along! People started screaming for 'Welcome to Paradise', but had to wait until just after another master hit 'Im Rhythmus Bleiben'! This was our passage in EBM heaven! This was also the end of the regular set, no doubt that the people wanted more and they made it very clear!

I must say that the live version from Underviewer is a more dramatic version, but this one is not bad either. 'Punish Your Machine' was another highlight!

Still the audience wanted more, the band doubted, the sound of the microphones was even already cut out, but the right vibe was there! Richard23 fooled a bit around and joked. He fired up the fans and everybody got the ultimate Front242 track! 'No Shuffle' is an evergreen, no matter in what kind of version they bring it! It was a bomb and the crowd shouted a long until the song was done and the band decided to leave the stage for good! Even outside I still heard the people singing the song! It was for sure a great night! Thank you Filip Delens and Happy Birthday!

  1. Moldavia

  2. Body to Body

  3. Lovely Day

  4. Together

  5. 7Rain

  6. Headhunter

  7. Take One

  8. Circling Overland

  9. Triple X Girlfriend

  10. Quite Unusual

  11. U-Men

  12. Funkahdafi

  13. Commando Mix

  14. Melt

  15. Im Rhythmus Bleiben

  16. Welcome to Paradise

    Encore:

  17. Kampfbereit

  18. Punish Your Machine

    Encore 2:

  19. No Shuffle

Underviewer interview

Filip VAN MUYLEM
25/05/2014


25/05/2014 : FRONT242 + RADICAL G - live at Vooruit, Ghent, Belgium, 24/5/2014 25/05/2014 : FRONT242 + RADICAL G - live at Vooruit, Ghent, Belgium, 24/5/2014 25/05/2014 : FRONT242 + RADICAL G - live at Vooruit, Ghent, Belgium, 24/5/2014 25/05/2014 : FRONT242 + RADICAL G - live at Vooruit, Ghent, Belgium, 24/5/2014 25/05/2014 : FRONT242 + RADICAL G - live at Vooruit, Ghent, Belgium, 24/5/2014 25/05/2014 : FRONT242 + RADICAL G - live at Vooruit, Ghent, Belgium, 24/5/2014 25/05/2014 : FRONT242 + RADICAL G - live at Vooruit, Ghent, Belgium, 24/5/2014 25/05/2014 : FRONT242 + RADICAL G - live at Vooruit, Ghent, Belgium, 24/5/2014 25/05/2014 : FRONT242 + RADICAL G - live at Vooruit, Ghent, Belgium, 24/5/2014 25/05/2014 : FRONT242 + RADICAL G - live at Vooruit, Ghent, Belgium, 24/5/2014 25/05/2014 : FRONT242 + RADICAL G - live at Vooruit, Ghent, Belgium, 24/5/2014 25/05/2014 : FRONT242 + RADICAL G - live at Vooruit, Ghent, Belgium, 24/5/2014 25/05/2014 : FRONT242 + RADICAL G - live at Vooruit, Ghent, Belgium, 24/5/2014 25/05/2014 : FRONT242 + RADICAL G - live at Vooruit, Ghent, Belgium, 24/5/2014 25/05/2014 : FRONT242 + RADICAL G - live at Vooruit, Ghent, Belgium, 24/5/2014 25/05/2014 : FRONT242 + RADICAL G - live at Vooruit, Ghent, Belgium, 24/5/2014

 

Next reviews
AVATAR • Hail The Apocalypse
DOUGLAS AARNIOKOSKI • Nurse 3D
CLICK CLICK • Those Nervous Surgeons
SPENCER MOODY • SINGLE CAR ACIDENT
ROMAN POLANSKI • Venus In Fur
BLACK ANVIL • Hail Death
STILLE VOLK • La Peira Negra
JOSS WHEDON • Much ado about nothing
YOLANDE MOREAU • Henri
CODY CAMERON & KRIS PEARN • Cloudy with a chance of meatballs 2

 

Same combination of genres: COLD EBM + EBM + ELECTRO
SYNTHS VERSUS ME • 1987 12'
LESCURE 13 • Too Much Motherf***ckers
UNDERVIEWER, CRUISE CTRL & MARIA • live at TAG, BRUSSELS, 21/09/2013

 

Same genre: COLD EBM
JIHAD • Retrospekt
GHOSTING • The Flanders EP
METAL DISCO • Devil Explicit
ORTROTASCE • Ortrotasce
ALLES • Post
[SNUFF] • [SNUFF] EP
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Transmission Nord Waves 80-13
INVASION OF FEMALE LOGIC • Alternativlos
VARIOUS ARTISTS • CAGE 21
PRETTY ADDICTED • It All Stems From Childhood

 

Same genre: EBM
ARMAGEDDON DILDOS • Desctruction
RHYS FULBER • Brutal Nature
ORANGE SECTOR • Alles wird Gold
HERRNIA • Takkewereld
STAATSEINDE • Crazy Earthlings Collab Tape - Episode II
MILDREDA • I was never really there
RADERKRAFT • Dust & Debris
INSTITUTE FOR THE CRIMINALLY INSANE • Classic Chevrolet
PESCH • Melba
IN ABSENTIA • Charnel House Chatterbox (Remastered 2021)

 

Same genre: ELECTRO
J:DEAD • Tearing me apart
LISA GERRARD & JULES MAXWELL • Burn
POTOCHKINE • Sortilèges
BLUTENGEL • Fountain of Destiny
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Electropop 18 (Super Deluxe Edition)
300 000VK • Peter Paradox
MARTIN L. GORE • The Third Chimpanzee E.P.
HA:PEOPLE.3.55 • El Dia de la Bestia, Part 2 : WAR!
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Electrostorm vol. 9
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP 2

Music reviews

19
01
THE PULSEBEATS
LOOKIN’ OUT
18
01
ANALFABETISM
Rotvälta
17
01
ARMAGEDDON DILDOS
Desctruction
23
12
SYGO CRIES
Talking about walls
22
12
DIRK DA DAVO
King Of Fools
21
12
RHYS FULBER
Brutal Nature

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
01
Exactly 44 years ago, Joy Division played their very first concert!
24
01
Today, 4 years ago, Mark E. Smith, singer of legendary post-punk band The Fall died, aged 60
24
01
Today, exactly 31 years ago Front 242 released the album Tyranny ▶For You◀
23
01
46 years with David Bowie from Station To Station.
22
01
On this day, 12 years ago, Nitzer Ebb released their sixth studio album Industrial Complex!
21
01
The Jesus and Mary Chain have signed to London-based independent label Fuzz Club Records.

Concert reviews

21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

09
01
25 YEARS OF AHRAYEPH
Everything I do, right or wrong, is being determined by my autism
17
12
SOPHIA LUCIA
Blurring Boundaries
11
12
JAH WOBBLE
'Bass was considered being among dying instruments for years. Dub pushed it to the front...'
05
12
MOVMENT
Finding Truth Through Dakness
26
11
WHISPERS IN THE SHADOW
I’m not a conservative songwriter and I’m not interested in the status quo; I’m interested in progress.

PHOTOS

24
01
DUCTAPE
Dark Winter Liège Festival - Le Garage
07
11
GARY NUMAN
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
COVENANT
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
AND ALSO THE TREES
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
A SPLIT - SECOND
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
YOUR LIFE ON HOLD
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
LEAETHER STRIP
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

25
01
FRONT 242
Controversy Between
24
01
ELVYA DULCIMER
Spring Dance
23
01
DIVE
Sidewalk Sinner - Snakedressed
22
01
IAN MCCULLOCH
Lover Lover Lover
21
01
DAVID BOWIE
Fashion
20
01
FAUNLET
Anatomy
19
01
PSY'AVIAH FT MARIEKE LIGHTBAND
The Great Disconnect