tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2016 : FUFANU - Few More Days To Go

FUFANU

Few More Days To Go

MusicCD
Post Punk

[79/100]   

One Little indian
09/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Close your eyes and mention without much thought two acts that you associate with Iceland.We bet that you will come up with Björk and Sigur Rós. But would you ever think of post-punk from Iceland? No, unless you are familiar with the music of the duo Cactus Einarsson and Gulli Einarsson.

Fufanu, on One Little Indian, was featured regularly in the British press because Damon Albarn was impressed with its sound and he even asked the band to open for Blur, although the band has anything in common with the Britpop legend.

It has taken a while, but finally the debut of Fufanu is a fact: a record that grabs both in the 70s and the 80s. You clearly hear the influences of bands like early Roxy Music and Television, as well as the 80's sound of acts like Bauhaus or (if you still remember) Crime & The City Solution.

Few More Days To Go is an aural delight. The only thing that is missing to make this band big, is the fact that the CD is not enough radio friendly (there are no ready-made hits included). The pair flirts with both avant-garde goth rock of Virgin Prunes as the ice cold Joy Division-sound, without lacking individuality.

Indeed, the 80s are back, including the misery, but as long as it produces fine tunes we do not complain!

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


NL

Sluit je ogen en noem zonder veel nadenken twee acts op die je met IJsland associeert. We willen er heel wat geld op verwedden dat je met Björk en Sigur Rós op de proppen komt. Maar zou je ook aan post-punk uit IJsland denken? Neen dus, tenzij je vertrouwd bent met de muziek van het duo Cactus Einarsson en Gulli Einarsson.

Fufanu, dat op One Little Indian zit, kwam regelmatig in de Britse pers omdat Damon Albarn tamelijk onder de indruk was van hun geluid en zelfs vroeg om te openen voor Blur, niet dat de twee ook maar één seconde muziek met de Britpoplegende gemeen hebben.

Het heeft wel een tijdje geduurd, maar eindelijk is het debuut van Fufanu een feit: een plaat die zowel in de jaren 70 als 80 graait. Je hoort overduidelijk de invloeden van bands als de vroegere Roxy Music en Television, maar ook het dreigende jarentachtiggeluid van zowel Bauhaus als bijv. (mocht je ze nog kennen) Crime & The City Solution.

Few More Days To Go is een auditief genot. Het enige wat ontbreekt om echt door te breken is wellicht het feit dat de cd niet radiovriendelijk genoeg is (er zijn geen kant-en-klare hitjes te bespeuren). Het duo flirt zowel met de avant-garde gothrock van Virgin Prunes als met het kille Joy Division-geluid, zonder dat het aan eigenheid inboet.

De jaren 80 zijn inderdaad helemaal terug, inclusief de miserie, maar zo lang dat fijne muziekjes oplevert klagen we niet!

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


Music reviews

18
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Love Was Lies
16
04
AD:KEY
I can't feel you
16
04
PORTION CONTROL
SEED EP3
15
04
ABSOLUTE BODY CONTROL
A New Dawn
15
04
IN ABSENTIA
Charnel House Chatterbox (Remastered 2021)
14
04
THE BURYING KIND
The Burying Kind ( EP )

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
04
36 years ago, The Sisters Of Mercy performed No Time To Cry on German TV!
16
04
On this day, 36 years ago, The Sisters Of Mercy performed ‘No Time to Cry’ on German TV
15
04
On this day, 20 years ago, FAD GADGET performed his first legendary come-back show!
14
04
In memorian.... The Punk Empowerment Of Poly Styrene (° 3 July 1957 †25 April 2011)
13
04
34 years MUTE records released 'Let Your Body Learn' by Nitzer Ebb!
07
04
Skinny Puppy’s Cevin Key zoom chat's with à;GRUMH...

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...
12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.
07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing

PHOTOS

15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England
25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

18
04
TROUBLE FAIT'
Beads of Emerald
17
04
LYNCELIA
Self-Mystery Girl
16
04
COCTEAU TWINS
Carolyn's Fingers
15
04
FAITH AND THE MUSE
Battle Hymn
14
04
MESH
It scares me
13
04
MONOTONE EXPRESSION
Out Of Tune With Life
12
04
LAID BACK
White Horse