tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2016 : FUFANU - Few More Days To Go

FUFANU

Few More Days To Go

MusicCD
Post Punk

[79/100]   

One Little indian
09/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Close your eyes and mention without much thought two acts that you associate with Iceland.We bet that you will come up with Björk and Sigur Rós. But would you ever think of post-punk from Iceland? No, unless you are familiar with the music of the duo Cactus Einarsson and Gulli Einarsson.

Fufanu, on One Little Indian, was featured regularly in the British press because Damon Albarn was impressed with its sound and he even asked the band to open for Blur, although the band has anything in common with the Britpop legend.

It has taken a while, but finally the debut of Fufanu is a fact: a record that grabs both in the 70s and the 80s. You clearly hear the influences of bands like early Roxy Music and Television, as well as the 80's sound of acts like Bauhaus or (if you still remember) Crime & The City Solution.

Few More Days To Go is an aural delight. The only thing that is missing to make this band big, is the fact that the CD is not enough radio friendly (there are no ready-made hits included). The pair flirts with both avant-garde goth rock of Virgin Prunes as the ice cold Joy Division-sound, without lacking individuality.

Indeed, the 80s are back, including the misery, but as long as it produces fine tunes we do not complain!

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


NL

Sluit je ogen en noem zonder veel nadenken twee acts op die je met IJsland associeert. We willen er heel wat geld op verwedden dat je met Björk en Sigur Rós op de proppen komt. Maar zou je ook aan post-punk uit IJsland denken? Neen dus, tenzij je vertrouwd bent met de muziek van het duo Cactus Einarsson en Gulli Einarsson.

Fufanu, dat op One Little Indian zit, kwam regelmatig in de Britse pers omdat Damon Albarn tamelijk onder de indruk was van hun geluid en zelfs vroeg om te openen voor Blur, niet dat de twee ook maar één seconde muziek met de Britpoplegende gemeen hebben.

Het heeft wel een tijdje geduurd, maar eindelijk is het debuut van Fufanu een feit: een plaat die zowel in de jaren 70 als 80 graait. Je hoort overduidelijk de invloeden van bands als de vroegere Roxy Music en Television, maar ook het dreigende jarentachtiggeluid van zowel Bauhaus als bijv. (mocht je ze nog kennen) Crime & The City Solution.

Few More Days To Go is een auditief genot. Het enige wat ontbreekt om echt door te breken is wellicht het feit dat de cd niet radiovriendelijk genoeg is (er zijn geen kant-en-klare hitjes te bespeuren). Het duo flirt zowel met de avant-garde gothrock van Virgin Prunes als met het kille Joy Division-geluid, zonder dat het aan eigenheid inboet.

De jaren 80 zijn inderdaad helemaal terug, inclusief de miserie, maar zo lang dat fijne muziekjes oplevert klagen we niet!

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


Music reviews

17
10
THE BLACKHEART ORCHESTRA
Mesmeranto
17
10
ROSE MCDOWALL AND SHAWN PINCHBECK
Far From The Apple Tree
16
10
CABARET VOLTAIRE
Chance Versus Causality
16
10
MASSIVE ATTACK
Massive Attack vs Mad Professor Part II | Mezzanine Remix Tapes
15
10
DAVID J HASKINS
Missive To An Angel From The Halls Of Infamy And Allure
15
10
ARMSTRONG
Under Blue Skies

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

10
10
29 years ago Nine Inch Nails released 'Sin'
09
10
The Arch releases new album 'XII'
08
10
Eclectic Artist Addie Brik Releases New Single
07
10
YOVA - Debut Single 'Moondog' (featuring members of PJ Harvey / Grumbling Fur / Cameron Craig)
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 27 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
21
09
Industrial/Metal Band DECENT NEWS Announces The Release Of 'Monolith'

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

14
10
JAMES MCGREGOR (THE CLOCKWORKS)
'Our dynamic is genuinely a gang scenario'
12
10
NEON INSECT
A Conversation With Neon Insect
11
10
ENZO KREFT
Many tracks from 'Control' are about the relationship between humans and technology and the dangerous consequences of this in the near future.
10
10
AMY STUDT
'It’ll be alright in the end and if it isn’t alright, it isn’t yet the end.'
09
10
STALINGRAD VALKYRIE
The old world will be collapsing pretty soon!

PHOTOS

06
10
GROUND NERO
De Klinker Aarschot
06
10
GROUND NERO
De Klinker Aarschot
06
10
GROUND NERO
De Klinker Aarschot
04
10
SLAVE SEPERATION VS KNK
Fetish Café Antwerpen
04
10
LEAETHER STRIP
Fetish Café Antwerpen
22
09
WHISPERING SONS
Liege New Wave Festival
22
09
ASH CODE
Liege New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

18
10
MONICA JEFFRIES
In Circles
17
10
AZAR SWAN
Over
16
10
ILLUMININE
For What It's Worth (Live at Sundlaugin Studio)
15
10
RYUICHI SAKAMOTO
Merry Christmas Mr Lawrence
14
10
DELERIUM
Keep on Dreaming (featuring Jaël)
13
10
SAIGON BLUE RAIN
Queen Ephemeria / live in Hamburg
12
10
THE FROZEN AUTUMN
Static Cold