tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd (ep) review

25/12/2014 : FUTURE OLD PEOPLE ARE WIZARDS - Fauxpaw

FUTURE OLD PEOPLE ARE WIZARDS

Fauxpaw

MusicCD (EP)


[85/100]   

Zeal Records
25/12/2014, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

After Sweet Little Mojo and Sunday Bell Ringers Zeal Records comes up with the latest release by Future Old People Are Wizards. It has become another interesting album, showing that the people of Zeal records have a nose for talent.

The band was formed after Drums For Parade was put on hold for some time. This trio includes Piet Dierickx (Drums For Parade) , Nele Gussem (Maya 's Moving Castle) and Stijn Vanmarsenille, who played in both Drums For Parade and Maya 's Moving Castle.

This album is musically a bit more extravagant than Sweet Little Mojo. Everything about this album screams for attention. The cover is beautiful: pyramids in a stormy sea, a bit like Synrise by Goose. And then there’s of course the music that attracts our attention, it surely is no background music.

Opener Teenage Hospital starts with a sweet synth and evolves into a kind of post-rock/psychedelic guitar part. I hear you think: is this not too chaotic to listen to? No, that 's not the case. At first listen maybe, but once you are used to their way of playing and discover the structure of the song, they begin to grow every time.

The first song is representative of the entire album: original songs with a progressive structure. The basic ingredients are: a strong rhythm section that has some metal/hard rock guitars with structures that resemble to A Brand, Queen of the Stone Age or Mastodon.

The endpoint is Cotton Sheep that is more ambient, but still very good after those previous ten pieces of dynamite.

Future Old People Are Wizards made a magnificent debut and deserves to be heard. I am wondering how this sounds live, just overwhelming, I guess.

Wim GUILLEMYN
25/12/2014


NL

Na Sweet Little Mojo en Sunday Bell Ringers komt Zeal Records met de nieuwste van Future Old People Are Wizards op de proppen. Het is wederom een interessante release geworden, met een pluim voor de mensen van Zeal records die blijkbaar een neus hebben om talentvolle en originele bands te strikken.

De band werd opgericht nadat Drums For Parade voor onbepaalde tijd was stilgelegd. Dit trio bestaat uit Piet Dierickx (Drums For Parade), Nele De Gussem (Maya’s Moving Castle) en Stijn Vanmarsenille, die zowel bij Drums For Parade als Maya’s Moving Castle speelde.

Deze plaat is muzikaal wel wat extravaganter dan bijv. Sweet Little Mojo. Alles aan dit album schreeuwt om aandacht. Om te beginnen is de hoes prachtig: piramides in een stormachtige zee, een beetje in de stijl van Synrise van Goose. En de muziek trekt sowieso de aandacht. Het is beslist geen achtergrondmuziek.

Opener Teenage Hospital begint met een lieflijke synth om over te gaan naar een gitaarriff en daarna te ontaarden in een soort van postrock/psychedelische gitaarpartij. Ik hoor je al denken: is dit niet te chaotisch om naar te luisteren? Neen, dat valt best mee. Bij de eerste luisterbeurt misschien wel, maar je moet hun manier van spelen eerst wat gewoon worden. Nadat je de structuur in de song hebt ontdekt, begint het nummer bij elke beluistering te groeien.

De eerste song is representatief voor het gehele album. Dit trio brengt geen doordeweekse muziek. Wel boeiende, originele songs met een afwijkende progressieve structuur. De basisingrediënten zijn: een stevige ritmesectie met een naar metal/hardrock neigende gitaar. Gitaarstructuren die soms op die van A Brand, Queen of the Stone Age of Mastodont lijken. De zang zorgt bij momenten voor wat rust.

Eindpunt is Cotton Sheep dat eerder op verontrustende ambient lijkt, maar toch heel goed na de vorige tien stukken dynamiet past. Net als je denkt dat de song gedaan is krijgen we er nog wat zang bij…

Future Old People Are Wizards heeft een magnifiek debuut gemaakt en verdient om te worden gehoord. Benieuwd hoe dit alles live klinkt, overdonderend, denk ik.

Wim GUILLEMYN
25/12/2014


Music reviews

20
01
DEAD HIGH WIRE
Pray for us
19
01
DIVE
Live Maschinenfest 2017
16
01
EVI VINE
Black Light White Dark
08
01
DAEMONIA NYMPHE
PSYCHOSTASIA
28
12
MISS CHAMBERTALE
Berries and Tales
22
12
PAUL MADDOG AND HIS BAND AISLING
Winter In London

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

24
01
On this day, only one years ago, Mark E. Smith, singer of legendary post-punk band The Fall died, aged 60.
22
01
On this day, exactly 9 years ago, Nitzer Ebb released their sixth studio album Industrial Complex on Major Records!
22
01
This month 47 years ago KRAFTWERK released their second studio album KRAFTWERK 2
21
01
Today, exactly 26 years ago, Ministry released Just One Fix!
19
01
CANADIAN DUO FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY TO RELEASE NEW ALBUM 'WAKE UP THE COMA'
18
01
Israeli Dark Synthpop Artist LIYA Announces The Release Of LISTEN

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
01
WULFBAND
If you feel that guitars would destroy whatever you think Wulfband is about, stay at home
17
01
ANY SECOND
The Eighth Sin Is The Human Himself
31
12
SIMI NAH
Balancing between the 'normal' world and the 'artistic' world was frustrating, but perhaps led us to make our best record ever!
27
12
ALIEN SEX FIEND
Alien Sex Fiend Is A State Of Mind And Not A Choreographed Or Rehearsed Thing
24
12
SIEBEN
The European Union are kinder overlords than the ones we may well inherit, out on our own, pretending we are not part of the world.

PHOTOS

20
12
COVENANT
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
LEAETHER STRIP
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
AGENT SIDE GRINDER
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
GERTRUD STEIN
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
NZ
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
STAHLR
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
AMNISTIA
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

24
01
DIVINE SHADE
Something Bad (In The Dust | Part 1)
23
01
MIREXXX
Death Angel
23
01
YAZOO
Situation
22
01
MILA MAR
Haime
21
01
THE CURE
Pictures Of You, Live in Antwerp, 2016
20
01
SOPHIA (S)
Herbstwerk
19
01
OY
A New Planet Is Born