tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd (ep) review

25/12/2014 : FUTURE OLD PEOPLE ARE WIZARDS - Fauxpaw

FUTURE OLD PEOPLE ARE WIZARDS

Fauxpaw

MusicCD (EP)


[85/100]   

Zeal Records
25/12/2014, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

After Sweet Little Mojo and Sunday Bell Ringers Zeal Records comes up with the latest release by Future Old People Are Wizards. It has become another interesting album, showing that the people of Zeal records have a nose for talent.

The band was formed after Drums For Parade was put on hold for some time. This trio includes Piet Dierickx (Drums For Parade) , Nele Gussem (Maya 's Moving Castle) and Stijn Vanmarsenille, who played in both Drums For Parade and Maya 's Moving Castle.

This album is musically a bit more extravagant than Sweet Little Mojo. Everything about this album screams for attention. The cover is beautiful: pyramids in a stormy sea, a bit like Synrise by Goose. And then there’s of course the music that attracts our attention, it surely is no background music.

Opener Teenage Hospital starts with a sweet synth and evolves into a kind of post-rock/psychedelic guitar part. I hear you think: is this not too chaotic to listen to? No, that 's not the case. At first listen maybe, but once you are used to their way of playing and discover the structure of the song, they begin to grow every time.

The first song is representative of the entire album: original songs with a progressive structure. The basic ingredients are: a strong rhythm section that has some metal/hard rock guitars with structures that resemble to A Brand, Queen of the Stone Age or Mastodon.

The endpoint is Cotton Sheep that is more ambient, but still very good after those previous ten pieces of dynamite.

Future Old People Are Wizards made a magnificent debut and deserves to be heard. I am wondering how this sounds live, just overwhelming, I guess.

Wim GUILLEMYN
25/12/2014


NL

Na Sweet Little Mojo en Sunday Bell Ringers komt Zeal Records met de nieuwste van Future Old People Are Wizards op de proppen. Het is wederom een interessante release geworden, met een pluim voor de mensen van Zeal records die blijkbaar een neus hebben om talentvolle en originele bands te strikken.

De band werd opgericht nadat Drums For Parade voor onbepaalde tijd was stilgelegd. Dit trio bestaat uit Piet Dierickx (Drums For Parade), Nele De Gussem (Maya’s Moving Castle) en Stijn Vanmarsenille, die zowel bij Drums For Parade als Maya’s Moving Castle speelde.

Deze plaat is muzikaal wel wat extravaganter dan bijv. Sweet Little Mojo. Alles aan dit album schreeuwt om aandacht. Om te beginnen is de hoes prachtig: piramides in een stormachtige zee, een beetje in de stijl van Synrise van Goose. En de muziek trekt sowieso de aandacht. Het is beslist geen achtergrondmuziek.

Opener Teenage Hospital begint met een lieflijke synth om over te gaan naar een gitaarriff en daarna te ontaarden in een soort van postrock/psychedelische gitaarpartij. Ik hoor je al denken: is dit niet te chaotisch om naar te luisteren? Neen, dat valt best mee. Bij de eerste luisterbeurt misschien wel, maar je moet hun manier van spelen eerst wat gewoon worden. Nadat je de structuur in de song hebt ontdekt, begint het nummer bij elke beluistering te groeien.

De eerste song is representatief voor het gehele album. Dit trio brengt geen doordeweekse muziek. Wel boeiende, originele songs met een afwijkende progressieve structuur. De basisingrediënten zijn: een stevige ritmesectie met een naar metal/hardrock neigende gitaar. Gitaarstructuren die soms op die van A Brand, Queen of the Stone Age of Mastodont lijken. De zang zorgt bij momenten voor wat rust.

Eindpunt is Cotton Sheep dat eerder op verontrustende ambient lijkt, maar toch heel goed na de vorige tien stukken dynamiet past. Net als je denkt dat de song gedaan is krijgen we er nog wat zang bij…

Future Old People Are Wizards heeft een magnifiek debuut gemaakt en verdient om te worden gehoord. Benieuwd hoe dit alles live klinkt, overdonderend, denk ik.

Wim GUILLEMYN
25/12/2014


Music reviews

06
02
HARRY CLOUD
The Pig And The Machine
03
02
MISERIA ULTIMA
Graygarden
01
02
MONO INC.
The Book Of Fire
30
01
THE MARS MODEL
FrancoBelga
27
01
6TH CROWD
Самозванцы (Samozvantsiy)
18
01
RINGFINGER
Pressure

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
02
Today, exactly 17 years ago, American Industrial Metal band Ministry released Animositisomina!
17
02
On this day, 6 years ago, DEVO guitarist Bob Casale (61) died.
15
02
LEPROUS – Launch drum playthrough video for “The Sky Is Red”
15
02
This February, it's 33 AGO Kraftwerk released 'The Telephone Call / Der Telefon-Anruf'.
14
02
Today, exactly 41 years ago, John Peel broadcast the first Peel Sessions, performed by Joy Division
09
02
German Electronic/Synthpop Act SEA OF SIN Presents Their Single & Video Release For 'YOU'

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

17
02
H.R. (THE BAD BRAINS)
'I always wanted to play reggae!'
11
02
NICKY GARRATT (UK SUBS, HEDERSLEBEN)
'Putting a krautrock band together I always wanted this fearlessness.' (Interview Part 2)
10
02
NICKY GARRATT (UK SUBS, HEDERSLEBEN): PART II
'In punk, I found the vehicle for skepticism.' (Interview Part 1)
07
02
DOUGLAS P. (DEATH IN JUNE)
'Words/lyrics are continuously coming to me, everywhere and anywhere...'
02
02
CHRIS CUTLER (HENRY COW)
'We all shared a common concern with extending the vocabulary of rock...'

PHOTOS

12
02
MONSTERMAGNET
FZW Dortmund,Germany
12
02
SAINT AGNES SUPPORT MONSTERMAGNET
FZW Dortmund,Germany
26
01
FIX8:SED8
Oefenbunker Landgraaf
26
01
GRAUSAME TOCHTER
Oefenbunker Landgraaf
26
01
LAPIS EXILIS
Oefenbuker Landgraaf
25
01
ASHBURY HEIGHTS
Rockpalast Matrix Bochum Germany
25
01
MASSIVE EGO
Rockpalast Matrix Bochum Germany

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

22
02
EIGTH WONDER
I'm Not Scared
21
02
PETER BRODERICK
Up Niek Mountain
20
02
ROGER WATERS
Wait for Her
19
02
X MARKS THE PEDWALK
Secrets
18
02
THE MISSION
Love Me To Death
17
02
CLAN OF XYMOX
Imagination
16
02
GERTRUD STEIN
The Void