tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd (ep) review

25/12/2014 : FUTURE OLD PEOPLE ARE WIZARDS - Fauxpaw

FUTURE OLD PEOPLE ARE WIZARDS

Fauxpaw

MusicCD (EP)


[85/100]   

Zeal Records
25/12/2014, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

After Sweet Little Mojo and Sunday Bell Ringers Zeal Records comes up with the latest release by Future Old People Are Wizards. It has become another interesting album, showing that the people of Zeal records have a nose for talent.

The band was formed after Drums For Parade was put on hold for some time. This trio includes Piet Dierickx (Drums For Parade) , Nele Gussem (Maya 's Moving Castle) and Stijn Vanmarsenille, who played in both Drums For Parade and Maya 's Moving Castle.

This album is musically a bit more extravagant than Sweet Little Mojo. Everything about this album screams for attention. The cover is beautiful: pyramids in a stormy sea, a bit like Synrise by Goose. And then there’s of course the music that attracts our attention, it surely is no background music.

Opener Teenage Hospital starts with a sweet synth and evolves into a kind of post-rock/psychedelic guitar part. I hear you think: is this not too chaotic to listen to? No, that 's not the case. At first listen maybe, but once you are used to their way of playing and discover the structure of the song, they begin to grow every time.

The first song is representative of the entire album: original songs with a progressive structure. The basic ingredients are: a strong rhythm section that has some metal/hard rock guitars with structures that resemble to A Brand, Queen of the Stone Age or Mastodon.

The endpoint is Cotton Sheep that is more ambient, but still very good after those previous ten pieces of dynamite.

Future Old People Are Wizards made a magnificent debut and deserves to be heard. I am wondering how this sounds live, just overwhelming, I guess.

Wim GUILLEMYN
25/12/2014


NL

Na Sweet Little Mojo en Sunday Bell Ringers komt Zeal Records met de nieuwste van Future Old People Are Wizards op de proppen. Het is wederom een interessante release geworden, met een pluim voor de mensen van Zeal records die blijkbaar een neus hebben om talentvolle en originele bands te strikken.

De band werd opgericht nadat Drums For Parade voor onbepaalde tijd was stilgelegd. Dit trio bestaat uit Piet Dierickx (Drums For Parade), Nele De Gussem (Maya’s Moving Castle) en Stijn Vanmarsenille, die zowel bij Drums For Parade als Maya’s Moving Castle speelde.

Deze plaat is muzikaal wel wat extravaganter dan bijv. Sweet Little Mojo. Alles aan dit album schreeuwt om aandacht. Om te beginnen is de hoes prachtig: piramides in een stormachtige zee, een beetje in de stijl van Synrise van Goose. En de muziek trekt sowieso de aandacht. Het is beslist geen achtergrondmuziek.

Opener Teenage Hospital begint met een lieflijke synth om over te gaan naar een gitaarriff en daarna te ontaarden in een soort van postrock/psychedelische gitaarpartij. Ik hoor je al denken: is dit niet te chaotisch om naar te luisteren? Neen, dat valt best mee. Bij de eerste luisterbeurt misschien wel, maar je moet hun manier van spelen eerst wat gewoon worden. Nadat je de structuur in de song hebt ontdekt, begint het nummer bij elke beluistering te groeien.

De eerste song is representatief voor het gehele album. Dit trio brengt geen doordeweekse muziek. Wel boeiende, originele songs met een afwijkende progressieve structuur. De basisingrediënten zijn: een stevige ritmesectie met een naar metal/hardrock neigende gitaar. Gitaarstructuren die soms op die van A Brand, Queen of the Stone Age of Mastodont lijken. De zang zorgt bij momenten voor wat rust.

Eindpunt is Cotton Sheep dat eerder op verontrustende ambient lijkt, maar toch heel goed na de vorige tien stukken dynamiet past. Net als je denkt dat de song gedaan is krijgen we er nog wat zang bij…

Future Old People Are Wizards heeft een magnifiek debuut gemaakt en verdient om te worden gehoord. Benieuwd hoe dit alles live klinkt, overdonderend, denk ik.

Wim GUILLEMYN
25/12/2014


Music reviews

19
03
DER KLINKE
Decade
18
03
ORPHAN GOGGLES/ ACID MOTHERS TEMPLE & THE MELTING PARAISO U.F.O
Split Single
14
03
DEZ MONA
Book Of Many
13
03
DAVID J
Thoughts And Prayers
11
03
FRED ABONG
Pulsing Ep
08
03
DRAGON WELDING
Dragon Welding

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

19
03
Just One Fix | Seventeen Years Since Ministry Unleashed Sphinctour
18
03
Today, 39 years ago, Joy Division released 'Licht und Blindheit'.
17
03
The Ignition Of Irish Punk | The Radiators From Space
17
03
A Darker Shade Of Green | The Virgin Prunes On Saint Patrick’s Day
16
03
Today, 35 years ago, Siousxie And The Banshees released the single Swimming Horses!
15
03
New album and video by UK Goth rockers Children On Stun! Win - Win - Win

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

16
03
STEVE IGNORANT (CRASS)
'I think what drives me is the endless injustice that goes through life.'
11
03
SYNAPSCAPE
A Fascinating Challenge About Bringing New Life Into Old Tracks
10
03
BIG JOHN DUNCAN
'I don't like to copy things, I like to try and be original and always happy!'
09
03
MISSING IN STARS
'This music is for everyone, even my closest metal friends support it...'
08
03
DEAN GARCIA - SPC ECO + CURVE
“..I love recording, it's one of the only things that is completely absorbing for me..”

PHOTOS

10
03
DER KLINKE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
A SLICE OF LIFE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
DEAD HIGH WIRE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
HATCHLING
De Klinker Aarschot
06
03
LAIBACH
Botanique Brussel
27
02
IAMX
La Madeleine Brussel
24
02
WULFBAND
De Casino St Niklaas

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

20
03
CLAN OF XYMOX
Clan Of Xymox - Vixen In Disguise (Official Video)
19
03
HANTE
Living In A French Movie
18
03
HAUSCHKA
Craco
17
03
DIVE
Sidewalk Sinner - Snakedressed
16
03
CHRONIC TWILIGHT
Mark of Cain (official lyric video)
15
03
THE YOUNG GODS
Figure sans nom
14
03
PSY'AVIA
Dream Fever