tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd (ep) review

25/12/2014 : FUTURE OLD PEOPLE ARE WIZARDS - Fauxpaw

FUTURE OLD PEOPLE ARE WIZARDS

Fauxpaw

MusicCD (EP)


[85/100]   

Zeal Records
25/12/2014, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

After Sweet Little Mojo and Sunday Bell Ringers Zeal Records comes up with the latest release by Future Old People Are Wizards. It has become another interesting album, showing that the people of Zeal records have a nose for talent.

The band was formed after Drums For Parade was put on hold for some time. This trio includes Piet Dierickx (Drums For Parade) , Nele Gussem (Maya 's Moving Castle) and Stijn Vanmarsenille, who played in both Drums For Parade and Maya 's Moving Castle.

This album is musically a bit more extravagant than Sweet Little Mojo. Everything about this album screams for attention. The cover is beautiful: pyramids in a stormy sea, a bit like Synrise by Goose. And then there’s of course the music that attracts our attention, it surely is no background music.

Opener Teenage Hospital starts with a sweet synth and evolves into a kind of post-rock/psychedelic guitar part. I hear you think: is this not too chaotic to listen to? No, that 's not the case. At first listen maybe, but once you are used to their way of playing and discover the structure of the song, they begin to grow every time.

The first song is representative of the entire album: original songs with a progressive structure. The basic ingredients are: a strong rhythm section that has some metal/hard rock guitars with structures that resemble to A Brand, Queen of the Stone Age or Mastodon.

The endpoint is Cotton Sheep that is more ambient, but still very good after those previous ten pieces of dynamite.

Future Old People Are Wizards made a magnificent debut and deserves to be heard. I am wondering how this sounds live, just overwhelming, I guess.

Wim GUILLEMYN
25/12/2014


NL

Na Sweet Little Mojo en Sunday Bell Ringers komt Zeal Records met de nieuwste van Future Old People Are Wizards op de proppen. Het is wederom een interessante release geworden, met een pluim voor de mensen van Zeal records die blijkbaar een neus hebben om talentvolle en originele bands te strikken.

De band werd opgericht nadat Drums For Parade voor onbepaalde tijd was stilgelegd. Dit trio bestaat uit Piet Dierickx (Drums For Parade), Nele De Gussem (Maya’s Moving Castle) en Stijn Vanmarsenille, die zowel bij Drums For Parade als Maya’s Moving Castle speelde.

Deze plaat is muzikaal wel wat extravaganter dan bijv. Sweet Little Mojo. Alles aan dit album schreeuwt om aandacht. Om te beginnen is de hoes prachtig: piramides in een stormachtige zee, een beetje in de stijl van Synrise van Goose. En de muziek trekt sowieso de aandacht. Het is beslist geen achtergrondmuziek.

Opener Teenage Hospital begint met een lieflijke synth om over te gaan naar een gitaarriff en daarna te ontaarden in een soort van postrock/psychedelische gitaarpartij. Ik hoor je al denken: is dit niet te chaotisch om naar te luisteren? Neen, dat valt best mee. Bij de eerste luisterbeurt misschien wel, maar je moet hun manier van spelen eerst wat gewoon worden. Nadat je de structuur in de song hebt ontdekt, begint het nummer bij elke beluistering te groeien.

De eerste song is representatief voor het gehele album. Dit trio brengt geen doordeweekse muziek. Wel boeiende, originele songs met een afwijkende progressieve structuur. De basisingrediënten zijn: een stevige ritmesectie met een naar metal/hardrock neigende gitaar. Gitaarstructuren die soms op die van A Brand, Queen of the Stone Age of Mastodont lijken. De zang zorgt bij momenten voor wat rust.

Eindpunt is Cotton Sheep dat eerder op verontrustende ambient lijkt, maar toch heel goed na de vorige tien stukken dynamiet past. Net als je denkt dat de song gedaan is krijgen we er nog wat zang bij…

Future Old People Are Wizards heeft een magnifiek debuut gemaakt en verdient om te worden gehoord. Benieuwd hoe dit alles live klinkt, overdonderend, denk ik.

Wim GUILLEMYN
25/12/2014


Music reviews

03
09
SHERAPHIM SYSTEM
Phoenix
02
09
CAWATANA
In The Silver Light (7')
01
09
MIKE SOPKO, BILL LASWELL, TYSHAWN SOREY
On Common Ground
31
08
TUKT
Tukt
26
08
EMERGENCY SEQUENCE
Sharpening The Axe
21
08
STRUGGLER
Wilma (Determinated Protector)

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

08
09
SUICIDE COMMANDO release a complete 'Dein herz, meine gier' lyric video for the release of the limited club single CD 'Dein herz, meine gier / Bunkerb!tc!
04
09
39 years ago, Soft Cell's version of ‘Tainted Love’ reached the number one position in the British hit parade!
28
08
43 years ago Iggy Pop released Lust for Life (29th August 1977)
12
08
kaRIN FROM COLLIDE AND SHIKHEE FROM ANDROID LUST RELEASE NEW SINGLE ''ARE YOU LISTENING?''
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 33 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
08
08
Post-Punk Band THE FUNHOUSE COLLECTIVE Unleashes Cover Of GOLDEN EARRING's 'Twilight Zone'

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

19
09
MORTAR DEVOTIONS
Dystopia Is Just Around The Corner And Orwell Warned Us Already In 1948
16
09
MAT OSMAN (SUEDE)
'I’m always writing short stories...'
15
09
ERASURE
'Music certainly gives us hope' - Erasure talk about their new album 'The Neon'
14
09
WATA (BORIS)
'I will always feel like a rookie...'
12
09
DAWN OF ASHES
‘Covid-19 Is A Gateway To Show Us The True Colors Of The Human Race

PHOTOS

20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

21
09
ALPHAMAY
Silence Emotion
20
09
FREISPIELEREI
Fish Muss Schwimmen, Gell
19
09
TRUE ZEBRA
Connection is addiction
19
09
NO!ON
6
18
09
NEOCOMA
Like An Angel
17
09
SYDNEY VALETTE
Précipice
16
09
HELDMACHINE
Die Braut, das Meer